Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of O'Donnabhain's 3 stars

Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland

#19 of 36 B&Bs and Inns in Kenmare

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 534 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly , bed comfy , breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had the air conditioning units for the building outside the window so was loud. And the music was on til late but it was a pub so you expect that

    Staff were very friendly , bed comfy , breakfast good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Lovly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all

    We rented the 2 room apartment which was spacious, clean and well furnished. Staff was very accommodating as we arrived early and were able to get in and take a much new nap after flying all night. Good and music in the pub was also excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Sleep in quiet comfort above a pub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't have any complaints about our stay.

    We loved our large room, which was very quiet despite being over a pub in the middle of the action in Kenmare. The location was great! The bed was comfortable and we both had reading lights for reading (my pet peeve is that some places have no reading lights or only one!). The breakfasts were fantastic and the servers were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant surprise for a bar location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were lucky to get a parking spot on the street close to the bar, but it could be a problem.

    Room has been modernized. It was much larger than expected. The entrance right at the bar had us concerned, but it turned out just fine. It is located right in the heart of Kenmare so it is close to all the shops, bars and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay , comfortable bed and excellent breakfast . Owners very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    Staff were very friendly and helpful . Room was spacious and comfortable. Location was very central with on-street parking. Live music in bar and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint is the showers were super small! Oh and just a suggestion, American travelers like ice. Unfortunately, the bar only had one wine chiller that we could request for a bucket of ice.

    This small town had everything you want from Ireland - friendly locals, great food, and very comfortable accommodations. Check-in was super easy, just ring the bell by the side door of the bar. We didn't see an elevator so climbing two sets of stairs may be difficult for some. The rooms were spacious and offered soft and clean linens. The mattress was slightly on the soft side but we had a pretty good night sleep. Best food both for dinner and breakfast. Would highly recommend and definitely would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic atmosphere. Felt welcomed from the moment we stepped through the front door. Rooms were cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was served with a smile and was very hearty! Bar staff and waitressing staff were exceptional. Stayed two nights and ate and drank there both nights. Hadn't planned to but the first night was so good we did the same the second evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water a bit slow to come on.

    Speedy service with a smile at breakfast . No noise from pub downstairs - no music that w/e and pub quiet after mealtime was over. Spacious room and ensuite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    If they could fix fix the sofa bed we are all in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed mattress was the worst...we both sunk into the middle and made sleeping uncomfortable...otherwise the unit was perfect!

    Location is great...Right downtown and the unit itself was awesome!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Don't judge this book by its cover...this place is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is amazing...don't judge this book by its cover...the room was huge, clean, and well appointed. The staff was great, as were the food and the music. Will stay here again!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing it was perfect.

    right in the centre of town.perfect location. at breakfast we were asked if we wanted more toast and tea,they could,nt do enough . would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely Irish pub right in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Irish pub right in centre of town. Quite old so don’t expect modern hotel. No lift so need to carry up bags. Good pub meal. Staff great. Only downside music from downstairs at night is noisy. It did keep us awake. If you want a modern quiet place to stay this is not hotel for you, if you want to be part of the experience of the town stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    GREAT LOCATION,VERY QUIET CONSIDERING PROPERTY ON MAIN...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    GREAT LOCATION,VERY QUIET CONSIDERING PROPERTY ON MAIN STREET.BEDS AND PILLOWS VERY COMFORTABLE .WAITRESS AT BREAKFAST ON BOTH MORNINGS EXTREMELY PLEASANT AND HELPFUL.WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO FRIENDS.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Over all I would recommend it to friends & family as everything else was fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was disappointing was the car park was full so we had to park in super value car park

    Everything was great , and we also had some dinner in the bar and I'm gluten & dairy free and they looked after me really well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property dosnt have onsite parking. Although the room was comfortable we found the shower cubicle quite small & could do with a good scrub with bleach or cleaner round the bottom of the shower tray where the doors close. We had also advised staff that our little girl had been sick on the carpet between 2 beds & that we had cleaned it up as best we could but there didn’t appear to have been any attempt by staff to give the carpet a better clean etc as there was still quite a smell in room when we arrived back later that evening. It was quite expensive to stay here compared to other places we stayed but I’m assuming this is because it is on part of the ring of Kerry route. We probably wouldn’t stay here again

    We liked that the property was central and ok to find. Staff were friendly & food was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Overall it was very good , very nice accommodation,great location , we would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During the day and up to 9.30pm they play Irish music through the sound system,. that's fine but its very loud ( you can here it clearly in the street ). So we were put off eating there for lunch or dinner as it was so loud we couldn't have had a conversation without shouting . Shame as the food looked good ! We ate well elsewhere in the town but would have liked one meal at the bar .

    Spacious comfortable room , well insulated from the noisy bar so we were not disturbed, friendly efficient staff , great location , good live music in bar each evening . although the kitchen fans were very audible from our room they were turned off around 9.30 pm so it wasn't a problem .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wait staff and bartenders fine, if not the most friendly. It was a bit noisy at night given the outdoor seating areas below the sleeping area.

    Location. Room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Really liked that the pub was there with outdoor seating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 3 rooms and wanted to see that that they were suitable for the 3 parties. Staff seemed to think they were all the same. Luckily we didn't unpack until we settled which rooms had which accommodations.

    Really liked that the pub was there with outdoor seating. Rooms were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Great B&B over a fun pub that served up good food, music and drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head sprayer holder was cracked and in need of replacement.

    Breakfast was hearty & delicious. Great bed layout for our family of 4 with two singles and a double in between. Appreciated the 3 skylight windows - was nice & light and made it feel so much bigger. Loved that the pub was just down stairs yet never heard any noise from our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved it, would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of an issue but we used the public car park about 5 minutes away. It was free and proved a safe place to leave the car. Only problem was in moving our luggage. The Accomodation has no lift so you have to be pretty fit to get your luggage up 2 flights.

    Bright, airy, spacious, modern room. Very comfortable and pleasantly furnished. A surprising contrast to the traditional pub downstairs. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the food, a good choice available for breakfast and, of course, the bar/ restaurant available at night. Great central position in Kenmare

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    We had the studio appartment reserved for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The appartments and the studio appartment are in a different, though close, building that completely missed any charme.

    We had the studio appartment reserved for 2 nights. However, we did not like it e.g. because of the pull-out sofa bed and other aspects. The staff was friendly enough to offer us for thew same price one of the appartments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Rooms did not reflect description - no parking - staff did there best to assist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been cleaner and were not inviting at all. Windows opened out beside kitchen ventilators which made a lot of noise. They were turned off late but started again early. We had advised beforehand that parking was available and had checked same beforehand via email however there was no parking on arrival - anyone can park in their carpark and there is no control. A barman did help us with the bags from the parking spot we eventually found. I would not stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place for real Irish experience, good pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was average, bed could have been more comfortable. Family room a little small for luggage.

    The pub itself was good, good food and atmosphere. Breakfast was good and staff great to deal with.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was perfect, it was really quiet despite being so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, it was really quiet despite being so central and having music downstairs, it's clearly soundproofed. I'd highly recommend it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Great location and friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room atop a pub right in town. My spouse was concerned that it may be noisy but even though this is a very popular pub, the noise level in the room we stayed in was minimal. room was clean. Bartender that greeted us was friendly and the woman serving breakfast greeted me with a big smile and quick service despite the room being busy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Centrally located pub with rooms upstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High stairwells made carrying luggage to room a definite challenge. The room was supposed to sleep 3 adults and 2 children and there were not enough beds.

    Excellent and courteous staff. Breakfast was delicious. Good location. Live music downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect location to explore this beautiful town...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of an issue but we managed.

    Absolutely perfect location to explore this beautiful town by foot. Fantastic staff. Breakfast was outstanding. Can’t wait to return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Location and a big bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding street parking was a challenge and then lugging all your luggage through the streets.

    Location and a big bathroom. Our room had a breakout lounge and tv area that was shared with one other room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was only fair didn't get the basics right eg a well done steak served medium rare an was of a tough texture overall disappointed in the restaurant and the server was indifferent even when highlighted

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved the Irish Pub Experience and the Great Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the location, the room, the staff, and the music. If you don't want the music at night (it is loud), ask for a quiet room at the back of the pub/hotel.

    We stayed for 3 nights in twin room #11 which is located in the front of the building and 2 floors above the pub. There were only 2 rooms in this location and we shared the use of a lounge just outside our door. The room was large, very comfortable, and overlooked the main street (a one way, one lane street). Check in and check out is done through the ground floor pub. Staff were very responsive and friendly. Parking on site is limited, but street parking was always available. We had a very good dinner in the pub on our arrival. We had superb service at breakfast with an attentive and welcoming hostess and excellent food. There is no elevator and we walked up 2 flights of stairs to our room - no problem for us as we take carry on luggage. We loved the location of the room, but be aware, there is live music in the evening in the pub below the room and it can be heard in the room as it is also broadcast outside, as do other pubs. We really enjoyed falling asleep listening to the Irish music, however, for some people this could be a problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Enjoy the breakfast too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, right in the middle of the action. Breakfast was excellent and service was prompt and friendly. More like a hotel. Nice accommodations and clean. Pub just below and so many to choose from around. Excellent restaurants within walking distance. Can’t go wrong!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    This is Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, room size, staff, bar, food and of course the Guinness was all great. I travelled from Australia last summer and stayed here while cycling the Ring of Kerry. I’ve returned to Ireland for a week for a wedding in Dublin but made the effort to get down to Kerry for a few days because it was such a beautiful part of Ireland.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Just go to the pub to eat and drink, and stay somewhere quieter if you want a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back, dark and tired decor, and we had two large extractor fans outside our windows which were very noisy. Told on checking in that there were no other rooms and that they would be switched off at 9.30 but it was closer to 11.30 each night before it was quiet enough to go to sleep, ok if you are young and like to party, but not for us. You would be better staying in a quieter place and then just visit the pub. Parking was also tricky and most guests have to find a space on the road.

    Lovely town, lots of bars and restaurants. Pub food was good, staff were friendly. Lovely lady who does the breakfast which was good. It’s worth walking to th3 park and then stopping for coffee at the lovely elegant Park Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.5
    Sorry we didn’t book direct with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked through booking.com but when I got there and checked the price in their guest information book I realized booking.com was much more expensive . I paid €250 for two nights B & B through booking.com when their book said €46 per person sharing including breakfast, that would have been €184. Some difference!!!

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    The town of Kenmare is very picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds could have been more comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and of all the meals in our 11 day trip, the Irish Stew was the most mediocre.

    The bartender was friendly and there was live music in the pub. We never met an owner so it is not the normal B&B more like an Inn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Great spot in the heart of Kenmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely place to stay, right in the centre of town. The twin room was spacious and comfortable and being on the second floor we weren't disturbed by the live music in the evening. The breakfast was of a high standard and the service was friendly. We easily found parking on a street nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great Inn in the heart of Kenmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is on busy Henry Street so it was a little loud in the evening, but really calmed down by 11pm. I had to call them to learn where to park (off their back alley) because Henry Street was too busy to stop the car.

    Huge room, huge bathroom, super clean and comfy, perfect location in the heart of Kenmare.Strong wifi. I like parking the car then walking to shops and restaurants. I loved going down two floors to have a beer and listen to music in their pub. Excellent Full Irish breakfast the next day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    lovely accomadation - perfectly located in a great buzzing little town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was at the top of the building so there were some stairs!.

    perfect location, just off the main street which is the centre piece of the town! parking was no problem and the apartment was spacious, clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Pub music was NOT Irish trad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub music was NOT Irish trad. The place feels more like a hotel than a B&B, as the staff were busy serving food and drinks and didn’t have time for personal interactions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Excellent BandB with exceptional staff in a beautiful small town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were exceptional and very friendly. The bartender Jan was very friendly and enjoyed joking around with us. The waitress in the breakfast room was also very friendly, pleasant and extremely hard worker. She also doubled as checkout person as well. The breakfast was exceptional and the food in the pub/restaurant was wonderful. I am looking forward to staying there again sometime in the future. I would also highly recommend it, as well as the town of Kenmare.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay. In the heart of town with excellent atmosphere.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were really friendly & were happy to help with any of our requests. In the evening the entertainment & atmosphere in the bar were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room, and you could hear the music at the back from a pub down the road untill late at night.

    Staff very friendly, location, Breakfast very good.Lady serving breakfast lovely and very helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everyone was great. Had dinner at the restaurant it was fantastic. The lady who ran the breakfast and checking us out was especially nice. I don't know what she earns, but hey should give her a raise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place from which to explore the National Park and Ring of Kerry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust allergies were slightly triggered, but not terribly

    The bed was nice and firm, great breakfast options, helpful staff. Overall it’s very charming and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location and the food was excellent in the pub! We loved our meal here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was sort of confusing that you just check in at the pub bar. This is where we checked out too. But it was still fine and quick and easy! One night of our two nights the room was freezing cold . The other night was fine. There was not a thermostat in our room. The bath is fine. The sink shower were very small.

    The room was a walk up and pretty big for a triple. It is a great location. We had a car and found street parking and never even used the parking lot. Breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay over the pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and restaurant were fantastic. Allowed us to park behind the restaurant since we arrived late. Room basic - nice bathroom / shower. As expected for being over the pub. Would definitely stay again!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfasts and beautiful accommodation in a fun location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only negative experience was the WiFi signal in my room was very poor. WiFi in the breakfast room was excellent.

    The breakfasts were very generous. The central location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant midweek break, would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms dont have a view, and are dark, looking out a wall but I knew that before travelling as we stayed there before. Decor in the room was beautiful and very comfortable

    Breakfasts fabulous, staff very helpful and welcoming. Very central location with parking to rear

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    I like my corn flakes with warm milk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If i should mention something, it is the view. That could have been better. But it was only for one night and i asked for a room which was quiet, because i am a light sleeper. So the view did not really bother me. Fruit could have been fresher. The orange and melon parts were great. The apples were wrinkeled and soft.

    I like my corn flakes with warm milk. That was no problem. It was taken care off immediatly. Also the food in the bar was great. The room was roomy and clean. It looked nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    It was a birthday celebration of sorts and succeeded handsomely. In a large part, thanks to my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm really trying to unearth a negative but absolutely none. The weather - but I can't blame the proprietors for the constant downpour outside!

    Location was perfect, right in the centre of town. Complete with nice bar/restaurant, good food, nice relaxed ambience, expertly chosen traditional Irish music in the background. The best of musical entertainment and convivial company just across the street. What's not to like about O Donna gains. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    We loved our stay at O’Donnabhains, lovely comfortable room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at O’Donnabhains, lovely comfortable room (we were in a daily room so loads of space for just the two of us!) in a central location - you couldn’t get better on the Main Street in Kenmare! Will definitely be back just hope there’s more car spaces next time but that’s the only little thing everything else was fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Not so wild wild West
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    300miles from home

    Central yet quiet free car parking,huge breakfast with home made extras,live music evening, bistro, really cordial atmosphere, family run by 3rd gen of ownership

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Cool location right in the center of Kenmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating either wasn't working or was barely working. This wasn't ideal given that temperatures were around 0 celsius/32 farenheit at night. This made for a very uncomfortable night/morning despite the comfortable room and nice location.

    Cool location right in the center of Kenmare. Bar was great with fireplace and Christmas decorations for the holiday season that made a great place to have drinks before heading up to the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location, clean apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a sofa bed and was not the most comfortable.

    Free parking right near the property was very helpful given that it is a busy area. Walkable to shops and food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    Ok. Service in restaurant is very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sat for 15 minutes wanting to order dinner. They just ignored us. We went elsewhere!

    Big room. Good breakfast with very nice girl helping in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay -huge bedrooms, excellent breakfast served by lovely Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised live music in tge bar area was cancelled without prior nice.

    Huge rooms right in the Centre of town. Meals excellent -breakfast lady extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location to stay while travelling around Kerry. Great food, Great helpful staff and Great entertaining music at night. Room was very quite. Cant wait to go back again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.8
    Nice location and unit. Staffing caused me to rate lower than I normally would.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is a problem trying to keep the Bar (where you check in) managed and then trying to run across the street to quickly show you the unit. They were so rushed it didn't make me feel welcome. They should have a separate staff member to check you in not a Bartender. There was an electrical problem and so there was no hot water in 1 of the 2 bathrooms for a day.

    The unit was quite and nicely updated. It was a very good location for easy walking to many restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking wasn't great

    Staff was very nice. Entertainment was great. We were a little concerned about noise level by being above a bar but it wasn't a problem for our room (we were at the very back of the building).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    All ok but not accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in studio apartment. Pull out sofa for bed. It was small and sank in the middle. Got no sleep. Partner sat in armchair all night. Disgraceful for what we paid. No breakfast included.

    Location. Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Great Irish experience in cosy B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water didn't feel hot enough

    I enjoyed the Irish feel of the place and great to have the pub downstairs which served a very tasty Guinness and beef stew. I didn't hear any noise from the room. Breakfast was lovely and staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    staff very friendly, excellent breakfast, wonderful bed, charming interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating in the bathroom didn't work (no heat), the "view" from the room was onto the roofed alleyway between the buildings and to the windows of other rooms, the live music in the bar was clearly audible, unfortunately...

    The breakfast was absolutely lovely, bed very comfortable, room clean and inviting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and value for a family of four adults travelling in Ireland. It was great to have live entertainment in the bar area. Our room was quiet and the noise of the bar did not travel to our room. Breakfast was hearty and efficient. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    asked for a spacious room on first floor and thats exactly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    was not impressed with kenmare itself, nothing in it. very small. not worth the five hour drive from dunlaoghaire.

    asked for a spacious room on first floor and thats exactly what we got. very quiet this time of year. cant fault the property or staff at o`donnabhainns. lovely bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Location was good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was good; close walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. The pub on site was a good choice for food, drink and entertainment. Very popular. Room was comfortable and noise was not a problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice location with great pub food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could hear the music from downstairs but it wasn't terrible. The parking was a little limited. The first night was no problem but the second night there was no room and where they suggested we park had my car located in the middle of a vendor stall the next morning. So get clear info on where to park safely.

    The location was right in the center of town with easy access to shopping and dining. They have a great pub on site and a nice breakfast room. They were kind enough to allow us a little extra time to check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Central, room and bathroom spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, noisy, noisy. Expected some traffic noise as it's on a main Street but our room was over the front door so there was ceaseless generic Oirish music piped out into the street until 11pm, then passersby treated us to two hours of ballads. The traffic then started before 6am. I did not get much sleep. Ask for a room at the back when you are booking - I think it would have made a world of difference to our stay. Or bring headphones. I think Kenmare is Expensive in comparison to other places in Kerry.

    Central, room and bathroom spotless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Would defintely return to this charming location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking available only on street

    A perfectly quaint, lovely location! Staff was very helpful and gracious. We checked in after a very long day and everything was easy, relaxing, and clean. Food/pub were good and just right downstairs. Everything you need to enjoy Kenmare is located just right outside the door!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay. We would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no tea/coffeee making facilities in the room even though we were told there was.

    Located smack bank in the centre of Kenmare. though a little chaotic, there was parking to the rear. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location in Kenmare town, surrounded by a variety of shops and restaurants. Accommodations were simple, clean, and comfortable. It was nice that they had rooms that could sleep 4. Breakfast options were delicious. We did not mind that we could hear the music from the pub below and it did not run too late (finished by midnight).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Stayed in the studio room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very narrow. Kept banging elbows and such when showering. Not a deal breaker, but not ideal.

    Stayed in the studio room. Very comfortable. All the needed appliances, and more. Direct access to your room regardless of TOD etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Kenmare was a highlight of my trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and clean rooms, great bar downstairs and friendly staff and patrons. Had a great night sitting at the bar with some random Americans.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic place, very central with a great atmosphere, highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was very difficult to find with not much signage to instruct us where to park, but it was fine and secure once we found it.

    The location was fantastic, it could not have been anymore central, the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere in the pub was brilliant with live music on, definately recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall, it fit our needs fine. We wanted an affordable place in town where we could cook meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction right outside was VERY loud. One morning construction started at 6:30am. The oven mit provided was thin and worn and caused my husband's fingers to burn and blister badly. The sofa bed was uncomfortable for two people. We ended up taking the mattress off and putting it on the floor for more comfort.

    Location was great. Staff was friendly and kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Lovely B&B with great rooms/breakfast and true Irish hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A strong smell of cooking when we checked into the room but by the evening the smell had gone. As we were in the back of the premises near the extraction fans.

    Nice room with a lovely breakfast with true Irish hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: