Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Ground Hotel 4 stars

O' Connell Street, Ennis Ennis, Ireland

#3 of 21 hotels in Ennis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 549 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We asked for another room because ours was situated beside the lift. We were given what was probably the quietest room in the hotel within 5 minutes. Fantastic breakfast in a gorgeous room. Many options in the line of cooked foods other than the ubiquitous full Irish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel had old world atmosphere that was very welcoming. The staff went out of their way to provide us with an air conditioned room that we later requested. The grounds are spacious & the hotel is in the heart of this small town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful redone, historic hotel in downtown Ennis Big comfortable beds. Huge bathtub, even a small sun porch sitting area

    Everything. We wanted to stay longer but had to move on. The restaurant was great also

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constantly dripping shower was reported, a man sent up, but it was never fixed. TV not working properly, but we didn’t care so didn’t report. Windows didn’t open and room ventilation had only 1 noisy speed, so room got stuffy.

    Very clean, and lovely lounges for sitting. Great breakfast! Fresh fruit & yoghurts and many cooked options. Comfortable bed and friendly, helpful staff. Larger room than most.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can’t think of anything we didn’t like. Evening shower wasn’t the hottest water but hubby said his was great in the morning!

    Just a delight. Wish it could have been longer. Staff was exceptional and we loved reading in the garden. Room was comfy,clean and roomy. Old Town restaurant was lovely tho the portions were way too much. And Poets Corner was fun. Nice to have 2 options. Ride to Shannon to fly home was easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right at the bottom of the stairs, so it was noisy as other guests went up and down the stairs

    Convenient, very close to the city centre and easy to find; the owners are super friendly; the self parking on the property was easy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is there not to like??!!!!

    Visited the Ground Hotel over 15 years ago. Still an excellent facility. Staff so very helpful and courteous. Room overlooked the lovely garden and church. Patio is wonderful to have served drinks. This location is excellent for southwest Ireland. Short drives to North and West coasts in county Claire ... also to drive south to see the beautiful countryside. Only 15 minutes from Dromoland Castle (a must to have high tea!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bells of the cathedral toll on the hour from early morning. Ask for a quiet room if you think this would impact on your sleep.

    We had a beautifully appointed and newly refurbished room looking out over the cathedral. The staff were exceptional. Sitting beside the fire with a gin and tonic before lunch was a real treat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm even though I opened the window and turned off the heating. The radiator in the room gurgled and chugged all night which made for a poor night's sleep.

    The food, evening meal and breakfast were fantastic. The service was brilliant and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A broken safe in the room, some light bulbs were not working in the lamps and the radiator system was shaking and making a lot of noise. We had to move rooms.

    Great bar, which could not be heard from the room and an excellent location, on the high street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was completely overfull and had to park in the school down the road. Room had what looked to be a huge boiler with chimney just outside our window that was very noisy throughout the night. Breakfast was ok but finished at 10am on a weekend.

    Huge room with a lovely comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I/We were perfectly happy with the entire situation. There was absolutely nothing to dislike.

    The hotel was warm, comfortable, staff were excellent, friendly, efficient and made us feel very special as we celebrated our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    at breakfast my chair was bumped into twice by staff, without apology, which necessitated a move on my part

    room was very clean and decor was fresh and current looking, bedlinen was of high standard and pillows were excellent, towels were thick, staff were very friendly particularly our waitress in the bar whom we encountered twice that day, helpful and smiling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bottled water supplied in room. Very sparse offerings of tea/ coffe/biscuits in room. Room v nice but in need of a fresh lick of paint and bathroom in need of repair (casing coming away from edge of bath)

    Location was great, right in centre of town. Overall style very appealing and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the Old Ground hotel to be a very comfortable, non pretentious hotel with excellent facilities and courteous, friendly staff. The hotel is situated in a convenient location with easy access to the beautiful town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better parking facilities required. More signage to direct you towards rooms, toilets, restaurant.

    Breakfast was lovely, room was very comfortable and the hotel in general is very old fashioned in terms of furniture and fittings, antique styled. Lovely food and great craic in the bar/restaurant also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key did not work on 3 occasions. The reception on the television for the news was dreadful fading on and off. There was confusion over what I owed when checking out.

    The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was large and well-appointed. We found the room to be attractive, comfortable, and peaceful. The bathroom was also nice. We had lunch and dinner at the hotel's pub. We loved the interior of the pub, and the food was very good. Also, we stayed at the hotel during the Christmas season and really enjoyed the decorations and the cheery fires in the lobby areas. Staff members were helpful in answering questions we had about touring the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt staff serving Breakfast were not too happy. Except for the French Waiter who is helpful and friendly. Not a Big issue

    Love this Hotel - the Room was beautiful and all the staff in Reception were fantastic. The Hotel is in the perfect spot. The staff also in the Town Hall were absolutely top class and the food there was beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could find nothing I didn't like.

    Most comfortable bed and pillows I ever slept on. Lovely polite and helpful staff. Love the couches and open fire. Amazing food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have used coffee or tea in the room, and also internet in the room was almost nonexistent. Fine in the public areas.

    Really lovely rooms in a great location right across from the Cathedral and walking distance to the bus and train station. Lots of parking. Very very comfortable beds and spacious. Nice front desk staff and breakfast wait staff, as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say.

    Excellent front of house and waiting staff. Great atmosphere in the several lounges. Always a roaring log fire - a BIG + Food excellent - great books to read - lovely paintings everywhere as well. I couldn't recommend it more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving....

    Loved it so much I booked a second night. Beds were so comfortable and all facilities and amenities were top quality. Ambience in the hotel was sublime and the food amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt of smoke. I think there was a smoking area outside our window and also a lot of people talking.

    I loved the lounge areas with lovely fires. The rooms are a great size and the food in the restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked our room for the 28th but turns out we were actually booked in for the 29th thankfully they had a room, the water in the bath was a bit green

    The room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not asked at check-in if we wanted to dine in the hotel which we did. When we went to book we were told there would be at least a 40 minute wait and we would have to eat in the bar.

    Resident's Lounge was a lovely place to meet up and have tea, coffee, drinks etc. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was too warm.The staff at dinner were if anything too efficient. We had food just finished when our plates were taken away.

    The hotel was nice and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed unexpectedly and at very short notice to extend our stay. This was no trouble. We were then upgraded to a bigger room which we appreciated. Staff clearly well trained, courteous, and helpful. Cosy seating areas, tastefully decorated for Christmas. Really going away from hotel saying "we have to come back"!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ambience and room is grand but food only ok...given white toast I dont eat, porraige was fine but my rashers never arrived at all so cant comment on them!

    Relaxing foyer and sitting room. Great bar food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is starting to look a bit tired and the noise of the heating woke me up in the early hours on both mornings while it didn't work very well in the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the heating boiler which sounded like it was situated right below our bedroom window was a bit annoying at times.

    I have stayed at this hotel many times. It is my favorite hotel. There is always a warm welcome and a big open fire. You can meet the locals in the bar and listen to some top quality traditional music. It’s location in the town centre is perfect as you can leave your car and ramble on foot.it is a lovely mix of traditional and modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to a misunderstanding breakfast wasn't included. We didn't realize this until after we had eaten breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast was very good but perhaps a little bit expensive and had we known we would have gone out for breakfast.

    The hotel was beautiful, the customer service particularly at the front desk was excellent, the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind. Loved it all.

    Old world delight and welcome. Beautiful setting and garden. Very tasteful with wonderful sculptures and paintings etc. Faultless and spotless.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dank dirty rag smell from a the bathroom, which permeated into the bedroom in spite of efforts to cover up with air freshener. The bathroom needs to be renovated as it was old and clearly harbouring unsafe material. The bedroom itself was nice but too hot.

    The room was uncomfortably hot. Normally, I am a cold person. But the room was way too hot. No air conditioning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the pillows a little too high. Supplying one of different depths would allow guests to select the perfect height for sleeping. Though it's a minor gripe.

    Location perfect , a stately looking hotel with a beautiful cathedral across the road. Lovely atmosphere at night from outside lights on hotel and cathedral. Hotel is in a quiet location, yet a short walk to the gentle hustle and bustle of Ennis town. The hotel has adjoining buildings which contain a lovely traditional bar, then a restaurant. So, all needs are catered for. The traditional Irish music session in the hotel's Poet's Bar is a nice bonus to the overall experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    We ended up storm stayed in Ennis during the hurricane, this was a last minute booking that was probably one of our best hotels for the trip!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the junior suite hoping for some additional features. Essentially it was a larger room with a second double bed and certainly would not be considered a suite. All very basic and in need of some upgrading. Disappointing! No luxury in the "Suite"

    The location was very central and the bar had a good atmosphere. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, although comfortable, was ground-level overlooking the parking lot.

    A very comfortable bed in a clean, generously-sized room. We ate in the dining room and had a delicious meal. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was large with a separate sitting area and bedroom. It was very quiet at the back of the hotel. The music in the Poet's Corner bar was excellent - 10 or so musicians playing excellent Irish fiddle tunes, etc. It was very informal and fun.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thr room was large comfortable and clean. The shower powerful. The staff were friendly and helpful felt like nothing was too much effort. A great place to stay .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was kind of dark, especially the bathroom for putting on make up. No outlet near mirror where a woman can style her hair, plug in hairdryer, curling iron etc.

    The room was lovely, location is close to Shannon airport, the Poet's Pub was great. really good food and live music that was not too loud like many places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was last night of our trip and did not leave enough time to explore the town.

    Nice historic hotel with a lot of historic past. Our room was unique, special and very roomy. The breakfast was very well served, the reception very hospitable and comfort level high. Very convenient to Shannon airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The LIGHTS in the room!!!! We could NOT figure out how to rurn them OFF!!!! Too many lights. No directions. Had to end up unplugging things! Bathroom opens to room next to me ne of the beds, so if one person gets up early, it disturbs others.

    Lovely decor. Very cozy sitting areas in historic hotel. Nice breakfast in beautiful room. Restaurant on site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 422. There was a constant humming in one side of the room, like a motor running. Slight smell in the bathroom, like bad drains. We were in the older part of the hotel so that could account for the smell

    Location. Very comfortable and cosy accommodation. Staff very friendly, Lovely hotel to stay in. Great for touring around the sights of Co Clare

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants in area stop serving food at 9:00.

    Restaurant on premises excellent both the bar, restaurant and breakfast area. Very accommodating. Lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was too congested. Tables are too close together and buffet is a bit cramped. Orange juice was not good.

    Location is perfect and having parking on site and included in rate is a big bonus. Bright rooms and very comfortable beds. Walk in shower was a huge plus for us. Maria at reception was very accommodating and efficient. Housekeeping lady on our floor was super friendly and helpful. Dinner in the Town Hall restaurant was delicious with a variety of fresh fish choices among others. Overall a great choice. We will be back for sure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue/concern was that booking.com screwed up my reservation, I had ordered my room to include breakfast, and by the time i had completed all the changes i needed to make, the breakfast came off the reservation.

    the history of the castle itself. The garden out front was neat. Couldn't get lost it was directly across the street from the cathedral. Adorable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I was given at first was lovely, BUT it had a horrible-looking bathroom, with no bathtub and a wheelchair sitting in the shower! I work on an archaeological dig every summer and look forward to my time at the Old Ground to relax after 3 weeks of hard, dirty work. I was not happy about this bathroom situation for many reasons, and it was only after I became quite persistent about changing rooms that someone (with apparently more authority than the desk clerk) heard my request and found a different room for me. Booking a disabled room for a customer without telling them that is not appropriate, especially for a customer that has stayed at the Old Ground for years.

    The Old Ground is a lovely property, with lovely rooms, comfy beds and wonderful food!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a foot rail at the bar

    Dined both nights in O'reagans restaurant first night I ordered a T bone steak only to be presented with sea bass!! It was taken away and after apologising reassured me it be out in a few minutes...well it wasn't, my wife had finished eating by the time it arrived. This spoiled the whole dining experience, apart from that the food is excellent and the following night was just perfect. My who is coeliac was very impressed and would highly reccomend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. We were only there one night.

    Lovely old hotel in the centre of Ennis. Clean, comfortable, spacious room with a king bed. Large car park with free parking. Nice breakfast included in the rate. We also enjoyed our meal in the attached pub. Free Wifi throughout. Nice sitting areas around the hotel. We were there so we could visit the Cliffs of Moher which were a 45 min drive away. There is not a lot to do in Ennis. Galway would probably have been a better choice but if you have a reason to be in Ennis, the Old Ground Hotel is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only lift is too small - inadequate for a hotel of this size. Navigating around Ennis was very difficult, with unpredictable one-way streets, but the hotel is not difficult to find once you learn some landmarks.

    Public rooms are lovely. The bar is very popular and crowded, but staff manage it well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    very comfortable sitting areas in lobby serving great complimentary coffee and cappuccino. Adjoining Town Hall restaurant was excellent. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on an in-between floor with no elevator access, which meant lugging our suitcases up a flight of stairs, not what we were expecting when we were booking a hotel versus a B&B or a guest house.

    This was a great old hotel with a pub/restaurant attached to it that served excellent food. It was packed with both guests and locals who frequented it. The room itself was very nice and breakfast was terrific, and served quickly, even though the dining room was packed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty hard to find fault with folks that treat you this special!

    We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary on this trip. When we arrived at the hotel, I parked the car and my wife and Benny, of the hotel staff, delivered our luggage to the room. A special "shout out" to Benny as he was always there when we needed assistance and guidance! When I arrived at the room, I found my wife enjoying the luxury of one of the hotels suites! I immediately visited the reception area to discover that the hotel had upgraded us to a suite as a congratulatory gift for our anniversary! Wow! The entire hotel staff treated us with great respect. The hotel sits in the City Centre and overlooks downtown and the beautiful hotel courtyard, and sits next door to a marvelous cathedral. What a wonderful way to start the day in Ennis! The old hotel features a guest sitting room, cozy bar and wonderful restaurant. That evening the hotel hosted a traditional Irish band with music for your enjoyment. Feeling a bit spoiled as of this writing, but I would definitely return to this outstanding hotel even without the perks!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was not really in the hotel, but at the pub, where the waiter/manager was extremely rude to me when we asked for a table close to their closing time.

    Excellent hotel! Beautiful place, great service, nice staff. It was lovely to stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was fantastic; room was extremely clean and comfortable; staff was friendly and anxious to share their information about the hotel; breakfast was delicious. Parking was "busy" to the side of the hotel. Some parking spots were dificult to fit into, but it was great, off-street parking. (The photo atttached is only one wing -- shared this as a "landmark" in case you are driving. When entering parking, the first gate is for exit; enter the second opening.)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not Air Conditioned. When we said the AC was not working in our room they said "oh, you must have one of the non AC rooms!!! We will send up 2 fans. "When we got back there was 1 small fan in our room. It was extremely hot and windows didn't open very much. Ruined the stay, since it did not cool down during the night! Our confirmation said AC and I believe king bed. We had a queen and a single bed.

    Lobby was nice--and cool!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pub could have stayed open later and had a last call. Not a big deal great place!!.

    Really liked the pub. Food was great, staff great, had tradition Irish music in the pub which was good. Pub seemed to close a little early with a fairly full bar, staff basically left the pub but it was a Thurs night. Still a great place where I would go again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the rooms we had was a bit stuffy-couldn't open the windows much or figure out how to turn the radiator heat down (we stayed in April), but the beds were incredibly comfortable and bathroom facilities impeccable (so that made up for it).

    We met the owner of the hotel, (Mr. Flynn) and he was so gracious in helping us re-route our trip to stay in Kinsale, (not Cork). He helped us with directions to the ferry to save time (instead of driving through Limerick). He was incredible-and he even met us at the desk the following morning to make sure we were all set. The hotel/pub/restaurant were all top-notch, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay here. Beautifully decorated rooms, (really large too) and antiques in the hotel. I would HIGHLY recommend a stay here. Breakfast was fantastic too...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged an extra €20 for a child's breakfast even though I had booked a junior suite for 4 people and there were only three of us in it ...

    Staff, particularly restaurant staff, were lovely. Comfortable beds , excellent breakfast. Orla Kiely toiletries in bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only one night porter, who seemed to man the desk whenever he felt like it. I searched for him for about 20 minutes the first night, and when he eventually appeared he said he'd seen me from the room behind the desk on camera walking around. Said he thought i was just going for a walk. Who goes "for a walk" in a hotel at 1.20 am? He was most unhelpful.

    We were upgraded on arrival from a double standard to a king suite. We later discovered that the hotel was being set upon by a group of tourists en route to shannnon and a rugby party so it was probably to appease us! The view from the window was of a church. There was no water in the room but they brought us some bottled water free.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    We booked about an hour before arrival. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a larger room without asking. The receptionist was very, very nice. The room was comfortable and had all of the amenities that we needed. There is a bar within the hotel. It's old and quaint. Free Parking onsite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a fab hotel....gorgeous spacious room, great coffee facilities in room. Loved the 'old world' feel of the hotel. Dinner in restaurant fabulous. All staff so attentive, professional, friendly & helpful. Will definitely return with my family/friends. Location brilliant for shopping & no need to worry about parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry but the traditional Irish music in the bar was very disappointing!

    Very friendly and efficient staff, excellent location, very clean and comfortable, will definitely return 😄

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue all weekend was an error. The staff cleaning our room left our room door open which meant anyone could walk in. Also they had left a bin liner with used towels in the room. Clearly this would have been an error and the staff member must have left the room in a hurry. I had left valuables in the room. Other than this mishap the weekend there was to be recommended.

    I loved the restaurant called the town hall which is part of this hotel. We had dinner in there on arrival, great selection to choose from. Really good food. Also breakfastvwas really good both morning and very relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit warm when we got there, but was fixed immediately by very attentive staff.

    Beautiful Hotel with gracious, helpful staff. Beautiful town of Ennis. I wish we had more time there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't happy with the room allocated to me. It was a basement room with a car park right outside the window, as a result, I had to leave the blinds closed and the lights on...I wasn't happy about that, I like my privacy, but I like being able to look out at something and not people getting in and out of their cars right outside the window, not private at all. But if I'm staying here again, I will specify not a basement room!

    The bed was very comfortable, the food was amazing in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very very classy place, perfectly located and exceptionally accommodating. Food was excellent, as well as the live Irish music sessions in their pub. Can't speak highly enough about the Old Ground!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poached eggs were hard and the hollandaise sauce had too much vinegar.

    Delighted with the upgrade.Super comfortable beds. I wouldn't have the poached egg choice for breakfast again but everything else was really lovely

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't have liked a room on the side of the hotel overlooking the car park, no soap dish or toilet brush in the bathroom, minor but irritating!!

    Staff extremely helpful, comfortable hotel with great food!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were condescending. Just based on that, I would never return and would share my impressions with my family, friends and colleagues. Highly overrated It was very crowded in the Dining room and pub. We had to go elsewhere for our meals.

    The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food below par. Poor standard. Chips clearly from frozen and relatively cold. Pepper sauce one of the poorest tasted. No garnish in the burger. Burger overly cooked.

    Staff very polite and we'll trainrd. Eager to assist.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really was nothing that could have been improved!

    The entire experience at the Old Ground was outstanding. Staff was friendly, accommodating and professional. Our room was outstanding - huge, clean, bright. We had dinner at the Bistro, and the food was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the deluxe room was beautifully decorated, I felt there could have been a little more furnishings added to it

    The food is always excellent at the Old Ground Hotel and the rooms were extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated (Deluxe room)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more in room in the line of colourful cushions

    The staff were wonderful great service everywhere.upgraded to a lovely big room.I requested a room with bath and Got it. Great breakfast and a surprise of tasty plaice on breakfast menu

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Old Ground Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: