Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Weir Lodge 4 stars

Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland

#6 of 64 B&Bs and Inns in Killarney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1283 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect except the pillows. They were very hard and kept waking up with sore ears.

    Clean, took pride in the lodge. Breakfast was beautiful and the staff were lovely and helpful. Great location. 5 minute walk to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really stiflingly hot on the first night, and unfortunately there is no air con (I suppose it would only be needed a few times a year!).

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and made our stay very enjoyable. One of them very efficiently brought us a fan to the room at 0230 on a really warm night, which was just another reflection of their willingness to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was a wonderful place to stay.

    Awesome place to stay! Staff was extremely friendly, rooms were incredible and breakfast was fabulous! We loved this place!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely porridge! Have it with the Baileys they offer as a treat...yes for breakfast. It’s delicious. Had kippers for the first time - delicious with the herb butter and lemon. Fabulous location. Delightful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the tap water had a really bad smell and the shower had an inconvenient placement, where you had to lean into the shower curtains to get some water. For some reasion, we only got three towels for two people (each a shower towel, one shared for the hands and none extra?). The overall impression is of a hotel which has its best days behind itself and is a bit old fashioned (e.g. doors can't be locked from the inside but are unlocked from the outside). At breakfast, we had the impression that the staff was a bit overwhelmed with catering to guests. The orange juice ran out and wasn't filled up, it took some time to be served by staff, the eggs arrived cold, ... Maybe it would be better to only have a (bigger) buffet and not serve hot breakfast if that's too much. Overall, the price just doesn't match the service.

    Warm welcome by the owner who provided us with tips for visiting Killarney National Park and Ring of Kerry. Parking was complimentary. Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 85 during the days we were there, so the room was very warm, but the fan helped. Not much the staff could do about that.

    Everything was perfect. Location, Staff, Room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was I couldn’t open the window for some fresh air— something about a security issue.

    It was a beautiful hotel, nice people and a lovely breakfast. The room was spacious, clean and top notch 😃

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we were out all morning, back by 2pm and our rooms were not cleaned, that was a little disappointing, but everything else was great.

    The fresh scones at breakfast were amazing! The staff were extremely attentive and friendly. Very accommodating with children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, attentive, informative and fun at reception and breakfast. Everything was really clean. It was also a perfect 10k run there and back through the bush to Muckross House which was nice before breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is wobbly and the pillows a bit hard, but all this is not a negative, the rest of our stay well compensated for this small inconvenience!!!

    The friendliness of the staff is excellent. It is family run and that makes all the difference!! All questions were answered with kindness and knowledge about the area! Their recommendations are 100% trustworthy. This hotel is well worth a visit when in Kerry!!! We would come back any time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOTHING

    I don't think it's possible to praise this hotel enough. It's not just the hotel itself that is superb; it's all that goes into making it such an amazing experience ~ the owners, the breakfasts, the staff, the cozy bar, the sheets, the pillows as well as the location. WOW!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Lodge is gorgeous and so quaint and homey. Our room was beautiful with all the amenities you would want. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.....very nice dining room. Was a short walk to town. We regrettably were only there for one night. Proprietors were very welcoming and gracious and very informative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location only a ten minute walk into the town centre. Family run hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Room was really spacious and comfy beds with a great breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly & helpful. Just fantastic. I thought the walk to Killarney center might be far but it was an easy and pleasant walk, especially after a meal. Would definitely return here. Great launching point for Ring of Kerry or Dingle Peninsula excursions. Tour Bus pickup at hotel but self drive was better if you’re up for an adventure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing , uncooked porridge, no mushrooms, tomatoes cold, service slow, pity as the guest house is fab and the brothers running it delightful

    Staff were brilliant , rooms great , all you could want

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I emailed with some questions about restaurants and road closures and received very quick and helpful response. The staff in the dining room remembered my daughter's name when we went there for breakfast the second morning and made us feel very welcomed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to complain about.

    Charming Lodge with great breakfast, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. Good location to sights and the town. Restaurants in close walking distance or a 20 minutes walk in town. It was worth every cent. I recommend Ross Castle with it's very interesting guided tour (2km away).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was clean and comfortable. There was a lift to the rooms. The breakfast was wonderful, great variety of fresh produce. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff were so helpful and friendly, especially Niall on Reception. Location was perfect as were facilities. Large airy room with very comfortable bed. Would not hesitate to book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great spot! The rooms were large and very nice. A nice plus was USB ports in the rooms for charging your electronics. The breakfast was great. The location was very convenient to the city center and the Ring of Kerry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The kitchen seemed to be unwilling to cook my eggs as requested. They seemed to believe I should eat eggs "over easy" and were unwilling to cook to my preference. The rest of breakfast was delicious

    The room was lovely and clean. Very comfortable and great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our corner room was noisey at times due to street traffiic, also noise from next door accommodation of back packers etc. large buses of tourists etc - we would have also liked an earlier option for breakfast - however, overall our stay was pleasant and relaxing.

    The location is perfect, it’s placed on the busy Muckross road into Killarney, and it’s a short walk into town. The room was spacious, bed comfortable along with an amazingly powerful shower! All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were freshly made and offered large variety each day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the oyster room, the smallest room in the hotel. Very tight accommodations with very small bathroom.

    Loved the staff, very welcoming, helpful and informative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our favorite stay in Ireland because of the proximity to town (walkable), so much to see in the area (Dingle, Ring of Kerry, Muckross House and Abbey), great shopping and dining, and especially the service at the hotel. We asked the front desk so many questions and they were so helpful and pleasant and really knew the area. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice small hotel with great room. Close to center of town with a number of restaurants within walking distance. Got recommendation from staff for a place to eat dinner along with information about touring the Ring of Kerry. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was a little dated, but very clean and rooms were big. Also was in a good spot. No complaints.

    Staff were very helpful and happy to provide recommendations for things to do in Killarney.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking a bit limited for large cars.

    Location was excellent, a short walk from town center. Great facilities, friendly staff will come back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Everything was just great. 10 minute walk to town. Couldn't find anything bad to say about the property - the staff - the breakfast - the location or the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report all good

    Comfy large bed, large spacious room, ice machine in the corridor and bottle opener next to sink for beers, wine ect. Location to town about eight min walk. Staff lovely and very attentive. Would stay here again 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike here

    Beautiful rooms clean comfortable , friendly staff best breakfast in Ireland staff friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about the area of killarney and Ring of Kerry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly family staff Room very spacious Breakfast area very nice Breakfast food & arrangement was very nice Very calm & relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent (10 min walk to city center), the lodge had a nice inn feel (decor, ambience) which we loved. I would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. Old Weir Lodge is the gem of Killarney

    Fantastic bathrooms. Breakfast was splendid surpassed only by the incredibly attentive staff at the breakfast room. Ice machines too ! Special mention for Niles who was fantastic checking us in and ever ready with information of the property and its surroundings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with all our questions. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Great location to walk around town and to dinner. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old Weir was a comfortable site. We even extended our stay another day because it was such a nice place. Just a short walk from town, we parked our car an away we went. We checked in early and they were helpful with suggestions until our room was ready.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May be too far a walk to the pubs for some!

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. If you've got some free time, ask them what to do! We traveled on a budget and this is the best hotel that we stayed at in Ireland. The breakfast was very good- full service and buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was nothing we didn't like

    breakfast was excellent selection of food was excellent staff were excellent all in all we had a brilliant stay i would highly recommend old weir lodge close to everything i will definitely return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every aspect of our stay was high quality at a very reasonable price. The Irish breakfast was the best I've had and the front desk staff was very helpful answering all my questions. Superb shower and I enjoyed getting a little work down in the room off to the left of the lobby. We have young children (4 and 2) and they loved the place too. I wish we stayed another night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    super friendly people, great breakfast and very good service, helpful about tips around killarney and it‘s only 15 min walk to the city. they recommend good restaurants and parking is available. the rooms are clean and super cute.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs to be lifted a little/ while it is a well oiled machine - it’s a little lacking on new ideas- e.g coffee is brewed and was terrible- coffee machine required - scrambled eggs done in microwave they were flat- the croissants were from a packet- however little be the cleanliness The doors in the bed rooms need changing and perhaps while the furniture is good it also needs a lift

    Friendly, convenient, large room, value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has a bit of a generic chain hotel feel. Nothing about it feels 'Irish' or has much character. And being on the outskirts of the town, it just feels like you could be anywhere in the world, not Killarney. Faucets in bathrooms are also not ideal as they are separate hot and cold (sinks and tubs), so it makes doing anything with 'warm' water (washing your face, brushing teeth, etc.) virtually impossible because you can't put your hand under the hot! That being said, would definitely stay again!

    Great find *just* on the outskirts of Killarney (about a mile into downtown). Quick easy drive into town for exploring and meals- plenty of parking options, so no problem taking car. Property makes a good impression- very clean, lots of little touches. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Free parking on site was such a treat!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great

    We had the family room and it was spacious for 4 adults to feel comfortable. The breakfast was awesome and the lodge is very close to the city center. Staff were very nice and welcoming throughout our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the individual items in the breakfast could have been better. The room was cold when we arrived, but we were early and it was a cold day. The room was warm when we returned after the evening out.

    Nice greeting on arrival. Friendly staff. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For one night's stay I can't think of anything

    Night porter was a lovely man and very attentive. He made out stay very enjoyable. The place was beautifully decorated. The server for the breakfast was very nice. They were nice to let us keep out luggage there after checkout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full Irish breakfast was basic and have to make your own toast.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast plenty choices. Room was nice with a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a taxi for 6.45am,it didn't show,40 minutes later still no show.maybe the hotel should look at a more reliable source.overall could not fault the hotel.

    Very luxurious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accommodation fantastic value for money. Fantastic rooms extremely comfortable. The breakfast is the best I’ve had the variety and quality is amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, lovely staff, very comfortable. Breakfast is also excellent. We thought the Old Weir lodge offered excellent value for money and would definetly return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast staff was not particularly friendly. The hotel is outdated and felt a little dark and dingy. The rooms could use a face-lift, particularly for the price, although it did add to the charm.

    The front desk staff at the hotel was awesome. So kind and helpful. The hotel is very charming and quaint. It is walking distance to downtown and the national park and a made to order breakfast was included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived for breakfast at 10.10am and was refused. I understood I was a little late but others arrived after me who were obviously known to kitchen staff and got served a breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great no complaints.

    The room was decorated beautifully and warm. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The staff were friendly .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located in Killarney not far from Mucross House, Lakes of Killarney etc. The property is spotless. Lovely breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed for 1 night only. Was given a huge room with 1 single bed and 1 double bed on the ground floor. The bathroom is big as well. Ample parking lots at the premise. The staff was very hospitable and helpful especially in recommending places of interest and places for food. Overall, it was a restful and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was perfect!

    The location was perfect! The ring of Kerry starts at the hotel and then ends right back at it. It is a short walk to downtown shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They offered adapters and umbrellas... the necessities in Ireland! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Oh and the breakfast was a great start to the day!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was huge and very quiet. Location is very convenient for the INEC. The breakfast is huge with a selection or hot breakfasts and the usual continental choice with lovely homemade scones!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was by order and the food was well prepared. The beverage and breads had a good selection. We happened to be there when the hurricane passed over Ireland and the staff did an excellent job of caring for the visitors and prepared a soup lunch which was not part of the standard stay. The visits with the staff were always pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was large and comfortable. The gentlemen at the front desk were extremely kind and helpful. It is located right on the edge of Killarney town center and we were easily able to drive or even walk to everywhere we wanted to go. Love the area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    We loved staying here. Quaint like a bed and breakfast but bigger and with more room. The owners were very helpful and recommended a hike in the national park that was really amazing and one of the highlights of our trip. Free parking and walking distance to town. Breakfast was nice also. Really enjoyed staying here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is complement I think they should serve maybe lunch or an evening meal and do a package.

    Very nice hotel staff excellent felt like home from home , great breakfast & catered superbly for people who suffer with gluten☺

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't say antrying I didn't like

    Location was excellent, nice quiet relaxing, staff were friendly, room spotless with everything to make our stay home from home

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is just perfect. It exceeded my expectations. From check in to breakfast just perfect. This hotel is so clean and a great location just a couple minutes walk to city center. I felt safe and at home here. The staff could not do enough to please us. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft it hurt my back every morning. I tried sleeping on the floor on our last night and woke up without any back pains.

    Just a short walk to downtown area. The staff are nice and helpful. The room was very clean. They have a small cosy room that you can relax and enjoy a drink in peace. Would recommend this place to otbers if they would mind sleeping in a soft bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really lovely and extremely helpful,couldn’t believe how many guests were actually staying there when we went down for breakfast as it was so quiet .Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels, need bigger ones.

    Friendly proprietors and staff, lovely quite room and very comfortable bed. Great breakfast. Great location for the town centre and the INEC.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge downstairs accommodated larger groups (8) in a relaxed manner. Location within walking distance of downtown Killarny and easily accessible by car. Staff were very accommodating and informative. Rooms were spacious in comparison to other accommodations in Ireland. Breakfast was extensive and varied.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing except for the weather!

    We had the pleasure of staying at the Old Weir before, during and after Hurricane Ophelia. We would like to thank you for looking after us so well when we were delayed in Killarney due to the hurricane. The staff were extremely pleasant, the service was excellent and the extra help, especially on the day of the hurricane, was very thoughtful and considerate. If we were to come back to Killarney, Old Weir is on the top of our list.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Expecional value for money. Old weir was more of a hotel than a B&B. Rooms were spacious, bathrooms were clean-everything was a high standard. Tea making facilities in the room. Breakfast was delishous (choice of eggs, waffles, full irish, porridge etc alongside a buffet) staff were extremely helpful and friendly! Perfectly located half way between town center and the INEC. Would definitely recommend a stay here! 10/10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't stay longer!

    Family owned and operated with excellent personalized service! We actually called from the road and booked an extra day before and an extra day after our planned stay. Such friendly greetings as you walked in the door ......Rory always seemed to be working and had the most pleasant personality. Beds were comfortable....bathrooms big and had everything we needed. Towel warmers were a nice touch....just don't turn off the switch outside the bathroom before you go out or go to bed! Very quiet, yet extremely convenient walk to downtown and to driving to Ross Castle and Muckross House and Torc Waterfall. Great recommendations for places to tour, eat, drive. Definitely would stay here for an extended stay in the future and just have Killarney as our home base.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was very little hot water and very little water pressure in the shower, they ran out of croissants at breakfast with no substitute offered, and they would not let us sit at the breakfast table we wanted to (even though it appeared to be available.)

    Huge rooms, nice facility overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice property, within few minute walk to centre of Killarney. Staff was really nice and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms big and clean. Breakfast was very good, loads of options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    could hear the sound when next door guests got up very early in the morning and took a shower at 6am

    liked it very much and the staff at the reception was very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All the facilities were clean and very comfortable. Ryan was exceptional good. He gave us directions as to where we could go for dinner, tourist spots with opening times and directions, and he had a very pleasant attitude. Many thanks Ryan because we were from another country, who didn't know the essential information to enjoy our stay.He made it very enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a family run business. They are very attentive to any of your needs. Someone is always present. Breakfast was lovely. Our room was on the street side but we were not bothered with street noise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel close to the city centre. Very friendly and attentive staff. Wonderful breakfast buffet and wide selection of cooked breakfast. We'll be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was just adequate and certainly not same as what's shown in the picture. When there is not much difference in cost of single and double rooms it's expected to be at least of similar dimensions and a big window and good views, which was not the case. No telephone provided, which was a surprise. Overall not worth the price.

    Proprietors/ front desk were friendly and gave good overview of the location and suggestions on what to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: