Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Great National Mulranny Park Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Westport, Mulranny, Ireland

#2 of 4 hotels in Mulranny

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have experience of this hotel before .Service in bar a little slow .I was of the openion that the carpet in bedroom had not been hoovered or bathroom floor swept .Blue bottles and cobwebs by front window and curtain area .We have visited this hotel for a number of years and have always enjoyed our stay .This report is hoped to be helpful rather than complaint.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    The food in the restaurant was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toaster at breakfast didn't toast the bread enough and when one then put the bread in a second time, it became slightly burnt.

    The food in the restaurant was very good. The breakfast was very nice, plenty of variety. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were very friendly and courteous. However, our bar food order and several other orders near us were not delivered for over 1 hour. There were no updates regarding the delays. This is a management and system issue, not staff. Hope service management can improve because it's not a low cost hotel.

    Friendly staff, beautiful setting. Greenway for cycling is fantastic for all ages. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.5
    Stunning views, friendly staff just a shame about the uncomfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room small and very hot I asked for a fan on arrival, a member of staff came to room and suggested we open the windows a bit more! He said he would try to find a fan... He didnt! This did affect our stay as both nights were generally sleepless

    Amazing views Enjoyed cycle on Greenway to Achill Staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (4-5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been informed in advance that we would have to turn on a switch for hot water. Wasn’t very clear how to use it either as there were no instructions

    Excellent views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Superb stay in superb location and looked after by superb staff. Will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4-5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved everything!

    Our family of 3 adults and 2 kids stayed in one of the apartments. It was spacious, spotless and well equipped with a balcony. The food in the hotel was very good - the sole was delicious and the breakfast was plentiful. The staff were exceptional right across the board. The hotel is located right on the greenway which is why we chose it as we cycled the greenway which was fabulous. You can hire bikes right outside the apartments and we got discount because we were hotel guests. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    The location is just spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing was there was stairs up to our room and we had to carry the pram up and down every time we came and went but I shouldn’t of stayed this when booking so was my fault

    The location is just spectacular

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    6.7
    The view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Location

    The view was amazing. staff lovely. Restaurant very expensive. €30 for beef dinner.€9 cheapest starter which was soup..Room very small. Not even 2ft between bed and dressing table.Had to close curtains n room during the day as no privacy. Wedding guess walking buy and looking in.so not worth €160 b&b.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    4.2
    Hotel has lovely views. However it is hugely overpriced for the service offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beans had to be ordered as a separate item. On a Thursday we were told that this was "not available because of the Bank holiday"!! Surely this is not acceptable in a 4 * hotel. Staff could have been a bit more attentive.

    Good selection of food. Nice view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.1
    Magnifnicent scenery.our room was overlooking the beach.tranquill no rush, fuss.Weather did make it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Midge bites...

    Weather beautiful which enhanced our stay..shower temp in room was difficult to regulate.midges in bar ad we had to leave it the night the music.which was disappointing i mention it when we were checking out ad the receptionist said they have to deal with that on a calm day..MUST BE SOMETHING CAN BE DONE FOR STAFF AND GUEST..??

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    The location is idyllic and the accommodation was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4-5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really disappointed with the bar food. .. only vegetarian option was goats cheese ... why no sea food platter with all your lovely options in mayo? .. cheese boards as you have local cheese from aroubd as well. Only tonic is club. .. no nice tonic? On checkout I got billed for a pint of beer. ..only a 5 euro but it was put on out room tab by someone else. ...suggest you take a name as well as the room number with bar orders on tabs.

    The location is idyllic and the accommodation was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.9
    A good point to stay for a day or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general the building is too hot, admittedly we were in the middle of a heatwave (25/26 C), but windows which cannot be opened more than 40mm is poor, I do know the logic behind this, but there are other ways of preventing anyone getting out of the window. Room facilities (in my room) were not what I would expect either. Having to take a kettle from a shelf and plug it in next to a TV is not good practice. Now to Breakfast...........The advertised time was 08.00am, no problem. My party and I arrive at the dining room at 08.00am............No one around. So find a table or two, get some cereal and wait and wait. Then a Head Waiter comes to ask us our room numbers, happy days. No it wasn't, as he then informed us the hot breakfast was not ready yet. So about 08.25, the hot items arrived, unless you wanted baked beans with your breakfast, which we were informed, were special order only !! In general, the hotel is pretty good, but needs more attention to detail e.g. if cold b/fast at 08.00am and hot at 08.30am, no problem, just state beforehand.

    The hotel was pretty good, not the best I have ever stayed in, but for what we were doing, it was a good fit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    4.6
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold breakfast smoke in reception for an open fire just horrible smell bar food middle of the road overall very disappointed because had heard so much about the place

    Apartment we were put in because room was not to our liking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Accessibility of hotel was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4-5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked into an apartment for 5 but was equipped for 4 people and for some reason there were no spoons. Also the heating was turned up to the maximum. We were supplied with a cot but unfortunately no high seat which caused some inconvience

    Accessibility of hotel was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Wonderfully relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderfully relaxing place to stay, with all the amenities you need. From good food, to lovely pool facilities and the greenway right out back. Safe storage of bikes out back to keep them safe from the weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.9
    Classy hotel, warm, friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Broadband reception was truly terrible; don't depend on it!

    We really liked the style of this hotel - it's classy without being fussy. The bedrooms are plain but we felt they were in keeping with the building. We liked the very comfortable foyer where there was always a roaring fire and it was really pleasant to sit there and read or take in the spectacular view. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious, though pricey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Staff made it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many notices all over the place about what you can’t do. E.g don’t play piano, hand in key card, plus many more. No need for them . Notices should only be about what the customer can do .

    Staff incredible. Had coffee passing and received such a great welcome and experience from Ann in the bar , we decided to book in for the night. Well done Ann

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Incredible views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom could do with a revamp!

    Beautiful hotel in fab setting. Amazing views onto clew bay. Lovely walk to a blue flag beach. Food was good. Leisure center very nice but closed at 8pm !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect escape to nature in cozy surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed the table d'hôte dinner on our second night, the menu offered a great selection with several fresh fish options. My only criticism is that I found the food to be somewhat overseasoned and a little too salty. Otherwise the quality, cooking and presentation were great.

    Selection at breakfast was great with the option to choose freshly poached or scrambled eggs. Quality of the sausages rashers and pudding excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The views from the Nephin Restaurant of the Atlantic are captivating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay with friendly welcome and lovely food.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable stay. Beds very comfy, room warm with large bathroom. Had food in the lounge area and it was very tasty. As was the breakfast. My sisters also stayed in the hotel. It was a lovely stay considering we all had travelled to Mulranny for a very sad occasion (funeral of a young woman). It made a very sad occasion a little easier having somewhere lovely to put down our heads on Sunday night. Well done Mulranny Park Hotel. Keep up the good work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to rest on our journey up the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They put a lot of ice in the glasses for cider at the bar. It's not a big deal, but it was strange.

    The sheep were very fun to watch! Also the walk down on the water was one of the most beautiful locations on our trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel. Got a room with a view as i had asked for. Staff all lovely and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though the bar area was too big and no atmosphere but maybe that is only because it was early March. Think it would be better in holiday season. Lovely lady behind the bar who was very nice to me.

    Loved the hotel spa. The views from the room i was allocated was really lovely. Staff both on reception and at breakfast were so nice also

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Beautiful location, right on the Greenway. Really friendly helpful staff. Great leisure centre. Huge breakfast every morning and the restaurant in the evening is just amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.2
    We had a nice round trip near the The Wild Atlantic Way in Mayo, the hotel was a good base for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room was a bit noisy because of the old wooden floor.

    - Staff was kind and helpful. - Wellness was excellent. - There was a wild selection of Irish food in the Breakfast. - Room was quite big and cosy. - Check in was easy and we had the option to do this earlier. - The place overall is quite relaxed. - The view and location of this hotel really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed getting away for a few days and good location for walks in Achill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was so hot, we had window wide open all night. Couldn't sleep properly. Room hadn't been cleaned properly. A block sock hanging on radiator in bathroom. Someone's hair brush under bed - we were looking for room card which we mislaid and moved the bed slightly - Francis Brennan would not like all that dust. While the food for dinner was very good, I'm sorry to say the breakfast was dried out eggs and rubbery bacon, pudding. Not good.

    Open fire in reception area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    6.7
    a 3 star experience at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    few points to note here 1. outdoor hot tub overlooking car park and storage area. could do with panelling to make this more appealing. very dirty window exterior makes place look grubby.gym area was very noisy really loud music being played 2. would not recommend spa. run as a busy hair salon mainly..noisy and not relaxing..no explanation of treatment process..scratchy towels. accessed through rear carpark and no signage. 3.pathways to beach not maintained across the road.

    lovely comfortable room with a fabulous view over Clew Bay.staff were very friendly efficient and accomodating. pool sauna and steam room were adequate as was outdoor hot tub. large buffet breakfast selection in Nephin Restaurant each morning with lovely views over Clew Bay. lovely bar staff and bar food also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    Want to thank Mullraney for A superb service.We Loved the Apatrments and the Food.Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one thing to mention here.Their was a leak in Apartment 404.Just over the Tv And we left the towel in place to Ensure it didn't saturate the floor.Twas sat nt the 10 th February just past .Twas a very stormy night.Not sure if my Husband mentioned this .Its obvious over the TV .Their is a mark their and would need to be sealed.

    The Apartments .The View.The Peace & Quiet.The Food.The Pool.Overall a really lovely time their.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed with the stay, had to go to bed at 10pm to get warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area was freezing cold, we had to move 3 times to get to a warmer spot beside a small stove, 2 other couples who came into the bar area after us had there food order taken before us and even then we had to go up to the bar counter and ask to give our order, menu on website is not what the menu is at the hotel, windows in room do not stay open, we had to use the information folder to hold it open, no air con, very slow service

    Big room, comfortable bed, nice view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    10
    The size of the family room was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the family room was amazing! Great, comfortable beds and such stunning scenery. The breakfast was exceptional with such a wide choice. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend this hotel, we’ll definitely be returning soon!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    10
    Very good hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suppose the view could have been better. It was a back entrance to the hotel and it was head height, so people walking towards the hotel along the path could look directly into the bedroom.

    Room was large, with a bath in the bathroom. Plenty of tea and coffee, including decaf.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Exceptionally peaceful location with warm and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the end of a long hall meaning the water took ages to get hot. Once it did though, it was fine.

    Exceptional location and staff. The quality and attention to detail of the breakfast was notable and the staff were really warm and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    Mulranny Good for the Soul!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The location is stunning looking across Clew Bay from your bedroom and see Croagh Patrick emerging from the clouds at sunrise is just a scene you will never forget. The Hotel was excellent from staff to food and accommodation couldn't fault it. Definitely is a place you didn't want to leave. A place that was good for the soul.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Great value in a beautiful location with friendly staff and top class facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small complaint it's only a personal thing and I'm probably just used to cold houses but the heating was so so hot😂🙈

    Loved all the facilities, such a fantastic location and the staff were lovely too. Nice music in the evening in the bar was just a great escape.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    9.2
    Connemara is a rough place in deep winter and they cope with it well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the public areas and especially the main bar is a bit dated and needs to be more child and visitor friendly. Drink prices very reasonable for a hotel of this grade.

    Friendly staff and prompt action to overcome power cuts due to exceptional storms and later heating faults.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, beautiful location & great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4-5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cooking facilities could be improved to include an oven.

    Breakfast was very tasty & plenty to choose from in the buffet. Staff were very welcoming & friendly with all the family, greenway cycle path is on the doorstep so fantastic for any cyclists planning to head out. An oven could be added to the equipment, other than that we were very happy with the facilities. We will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    9.6
    Great spot, great staff, would definitely recommend it for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dining room was too warm on the Friday night but this was probably only a technical issue as his was rectified on the Saturday.

    Staff were brilliant, nothing was a problem, place had a very relaxed atmosphere for a winter getaway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.5
    I would hesitate in recommending the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were allocated a HUGE family room which looked like a dormitory and was cold. We were told no double rooms available so finally we were given a smaller family room with three beds. It was not what we booked. One of the towels in the bathroom wasn't clean. Breakfast was served until 10.30, we were there at 9.55 am and at that stage they had "run out" of some breads, fruit and yogurts.

    The staff were very helpful and professional. Dinner was excellent. Hotel was warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.8
    Fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small, little headspace, bathroom too compact.only restaurant food available on sat night which was too fancy. Cant understand why bar food was not being served in the bar area as advertised online. We had to eat elsewhere.

    pool facilities were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.6
    A really well run hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was in wrong position to allow you room to move back from it. It should be at the top of the bath. Should get rid of shower curtains. Rooms were far too hot for comfort.

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent and plentiful. There was a great selection at the breakfast buffet. A really well run hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location, great place to completely switch off and with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar area isn't as cosy as you'd expect - seats need replacing and are covered with duck tape for rips, but food, drink and staff are great. However there are pubs in the village that are good.

    Complimentary breakfast was delicious, with very attentive staff. The views out at breakfast were amazing and just a very tranquil area to stay. Beds are very comfy, and room very clean. The whole stay was very relaxing and the open fire in the reception was great to relax around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was quite disappointed by this hotel. Firstly the parking a a pretty long walk from the hotel and then when you come in the back entrance it was like a maze finding your way to reception. I was on business and booked a single room. The room was the smallest room I have ever staying in! You had to swing the door open full to get past the desk in the room! It was pretty basic. The breakfast was 5/10. The staff we pretty friendly but overall the hotel disappointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. They couldn't do enough for us. New receptionist Marian was so lovely when we arrived. Hotel room was beautiful and the bed was really comfortable. The meal we had in the bar was delicious. The breakfast was amazing and there was an amazing variety to choose from. We really enjoyed the leisure centre especially the outdoor hot tub. The hotel is in an amazing location. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    5.4
    Good location for cycling or walking holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff in reception were lovely, very welcoming but we found the rest of the staff grumpy and unhelpful there didn't seem to be any system for eating in the bar and we felt the staff were weary from dealing with the amount of guests and the staff at breakfast were the same. We stayed for two nights and while the room was cleaned the toiletries were not replaced and for a four star hotel this was not good enough. We didn't see a Manager during our stay and we felt the staff needed a bit of direction and these issues would be resolved.

    Nice clean hotel in a good location for cycling the greenway and exploring Mayo

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.8
    Could have been lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Got very little sleep. Put in room 106 next to exit/entrance to apartments. Small children running in and out from very early. Also used by staff for supplies in and out. Extremely noisy. Ruined what could have been a lovely stay.

    Bed was comfy and room itself was nice. Staff fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    just fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't really like was the bar layout and lack of ambiance. Could do with feeling less cafe-like. Doesn't feel like a bar in a hotel should feel like. Could be cozier.

    All round excellence. Amazing view; staff very friendly; nice selection of breakfast food; leisure centre gorgeous - outdoor jacuzzi phenomenal; bar food lovely...just great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    7.1
    The location and views from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom decor is tired and needs updating.

    The location and views from the hotel. Situated on the Western Greenway and close to Achill Island.w Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Bar food was good and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is located near Achill Island and about 20 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's not that we didn't like it but we would have expected our room to be a bit fancier and better located for the price paid. We booked late and we understand that this could be the reason we were appointed the room we got but it felt a little bit too cosy. A quirky room but unexpected I guess given the pictures featured online.

    The hotel is located near Achill Island and about 20 minutes from Westport, which was convenient for all the tourist spots. We booked this hotel as we were looking for something near the sea and more quiet and the hotel provided just that. It's right across from the sea and has a lovely path leading to the seaside (and beaches). Our room was nice but it was the first one in when entering the corridor so noise from other guests could easily be heard, which can be annoying for light sleepers. It was however cosy and well appointed with all one would expect in Irish hotels these days. We had breakfast as part of our booking and it was very nice. It takes place in the restaurant, which is truly lovely as it is brightly lit thanks to the multiple French windows that give onto the beautiful sea and mountain views. The buffet choices (continental and Irish) were good and tasty. The breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful. Special shout out to the bar staff (especially one of the young girls)! We arrived later than expected on our first night and made it into the bar at 9pm after a long drive (service was stopping at 9). They tried their best to still accommodate some food for us as we had not been able to have any while on our way to the hotel. Excellent customer service there!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    8.3
    5* welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs to my room (241) were pretry dirty (I would say not just from 1 day). As if the two rooms under the roof wouldn't be used very much. After sauna you absolutely need a place to lie down!

    Great food (restaurant) and wonderful staff (reception and restaurant). I felt very welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    friendliness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to leave!

    friendliness of staff. view from room. menu in bar was excellent value. location to local walks, facilities. peacefulness and space in reception area. breakfast was tasty, good variety, helpfull staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    The staff were very helpful The pool area was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The radiator when fully heated and situated against the toilet was uncomfortable. The placing of the kettle in the bedroom did not make sense and could be dangerous in use.

    The staff were very helpful The pool area was very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel. Lovely staff and food. Room view and noise from boiler not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from our room was the roof of lower part of the building. And there was a noise that came on at intervals like a boiler or something.very annoying!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing and definitely not 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frozen vegetables in the a la carte restaurant. Warm prosecco from bar - didn't offer to change it. Huge room not suitable for two. Squeaky floor boards/bathroom door. Noise from external extraction fans and fridge in room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    7.5
    Good overall but improvements could be made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access to the front entrance door did not have signs to show there was a ramp at the side and hence we carried suitcases up lots of steps. Other visitors commented on that as well. Very few sockets in the room with none beside the beds. Wi-Fi didn't work despite being given a second code. Shower over bath in wrong position i.e. over middle of bath which was very awkward and in fact creates a risk of slipping. Dinner in the bar was very poor i.e no flavour and the veg were from a frozen pack.

    Views across the bay were amazing. The breakfast selection was good and cooked perfectly. Lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    4.6
    This Hotel is very run down and need to be totally renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms were a big disappointment. The paint on walls was flaking, black fungus around window, blinds broken and hem of curtains falling down. The furniture was well worn and the whole room was very poor for a 4 star hotel. Housekeeping wasn't great and floor sticky underfoot. The toilets in the leisure centre were also poor with black fungus on tiles near floor and the door warped and peeling. It was not worth the price of room and I would definitely not go back.

    The staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    3.8
    unsatisfactory: disapointing: would not recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television didn't work. No bath -only shower kettle was not clean. View outside was of no interest Staff not really interested in our complaint - why don't you put this in writing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location and the hotel have been beautifully modernised. Our room was very big with fridge TV and tea / coffee facilities. We also had a massive 4 poster bed and large bathroom with bath.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    6.3
    Four Star Food but not much else.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was poor. Not enough complimentary shower gel etc for two persons x two showers. Part of room deal so didn't bring any then we did not have enough. Had to ask for extra toilet paper to be dropped to room. Toilet was chipped. Tiles were broken on front top edge of bath and shoddy plaster work done to fix this. Toilet floor was dirty with a white film of paint dust or similar. Air vent not working in bathroom or no instruction on how to use it. Window in room would only open a small bit. Not enough fresh air in room. Wedding on that night and had persons ouside our window on front lawn shouting and screaming around 3.00am. Similar shouting and noise from other guests as they were going along corridor to rooms in early hours. Sheep poo on front lawns of hotel and dog poo on steps up from main road. Front of hotel was untidy in appearance. This is supposed to be a four star hotel. I expected better standard of cleaniness than we experienced both inside and outside our room. We had a relatively sleepless night as a result of the wedding guests and although I got the room last minute on a special deal it was not relayed a wedding would be on and there could be sleep disturbance as a result.

    The food was excellent standard both at evening meal and breakfast. The staff were very attentive and helpful throughout both sittings. View from room out into bay was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.9
    A nice stop before Achill Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant is a bit overpriced for what it is.

    The location is amazing. We had a sea view room. You can easily rent bicycles and enjoy the greenway. We checked out early in the morning and off to Achill Island all the way to Keem Bay :) it took us around an hour from the hotel to do Achill Island. The breakfast 👌 Bed 👌

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.8
    Brillant,relaxing and good times with freinds and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price i paid €41more then my friends family that had the same amount off adults and child.

    Beatuful beaches,walks and cycling for all the family and swimming pool,sauna and beauty therapy really relaxing hoilday

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.1
    Spectular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed in 4 star hotel,plunge pool out of action, breakfast was ok..cereal served out of boxes, hot breakfast was luke warm.Nephin restaurant was overpriced.

    The views are spectacular, staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    GN Mulranny Park Hotel: a great place for an enjoyable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing adverse on our trip.

    The hotel is very accessible. The scenery is wonderful. We went bicycling and the bike hire shop is right beside the hotel. Very handy as it made the experience all the more pleasant. Music in the lounge was most enjoyable and the musicians were very entertaining. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly without being intrusive. We will go back. Lovely spot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    8.8
    Mid Week break in Mulranny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a little dust in our bathroom. The tiles are those which look as though they could be dirty but on inspection they were. I ordered a medium to well done steak in the bar and it certainly could have done with a few more minutes. It was rare in parts. That said everything else was fine.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Leisure Centre was very bright, clean and had everything you could want. The hot tub was fabulous. The atmosphere in the hotel bar was friendly and jolly and everyone was happy. The view from our room was beautiful and we had a lovely time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    9.2
    Staff and location were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4-5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be better to be announced that some dishes could be ordered at the table at the breakfast. I didn't know that omelet and the others could be ordered...

    Staff and location were excellent!! Some cows were in the garden...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic views, really friendly staff, generally a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed made of two mattresses one of which was very uncomfortable, there was big gap in middle of bed where mattresses joined.

    Fantastic views, really friendly staff, generally a nice atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    10
    I loved the decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was A very good size and the bath which also provided a shower overhead was hard to use because it was relatively narrow and had a huge hand rail which protruded from the wall onto the meagre space tKong up about eight inches of the available space. I think that handrail is poorly placed. I had to have a bath because using the bath as a shower was very awkward. It seemed to me that there is plenty of space to put this right.

    I loved the decor. I loved the seafood chowder in the bar. I loved the outlook from the dining room at breakfast. I enjoyed the pool. I borrowed a book from their library which is a nice idea. The bedroom was a very good size.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, on the greenway, and the sea, is perfect. The staff were lovely and helpful when we needed bottles filled for our baby. Definitely going back again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2017

    3.8
    Not 4 star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived to hotel it was very tired looking with little parking.reception staff was pleasant.hotel was very quite also and felt like we were only guests staying which dampened mood. Arrived up to room and was less than impressed. Yes had a sea view room which i asked for however roman blind was broke. The windows vety dirty and had dead instects inside. Carpet underbed was also dirty.the room was tired looking and didnt strike me as a 4 star hotel more b&b. We got a refund and went else were that night. We travelled 2 hours 30mins to stay here. It was disappointing. As my husband put it we didnt come away to stay somewere less clean and up to date than our own house.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced. Needs major improvement Wish I didn't waste 200 euro for that getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service for our meal was awful ! We will not stay here ever again. Our simple order took forever. Couldn't get a glass of water forever. Our bill was someone else's ..... obviously a bad time for staff too ! Children were running around unattended .... toys all over the floor. the parents or ? Should be more responsible I'm all for family dining but it was very difficult to relax and eat. The price for such a noisy noisy room. Ridiculous!

    Bed was very comfortable. Linens were very nice. The area is of course beautiful. ! Nature lovers paradise !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    7.1
    location good, service needs to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    service in restaurant was very slow, food isn't at standard to warrant the relatively high price. staff in the bar could cheer up a little! at breakfast, you've to go out of your way to order breakfast from the menu, nobody seems to call over to take your order!

    location is fantastic

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no place to relax after dinner, only a few seats in the lobby and the bar was very much geared towards food wasn't at all a place for a cosy relaxed drink. Bar food was average at best and service poor. While children were welcome in the restaurant, and rightly so, a buffet was provided which really left a lot to be desired. Dried up beans the only "veg" on offer for them. Could have had one or two child sized portions on the main menu for them

    Excellent location and wonderful staff. Food in restaurant was wonderful. Nice leisure centre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely ambience, staff very friendly/helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one shampoo/shower gel in room for two people (we forgot our own), not restocked on 2nd day. Drinking water was not refreshed on 2nd day. Spa is located in a separate building to the leisure centre/main hotel.

    Lovely ambience, staff very friendly/helpful. Wonderful views. Lovely room in the main hotel. Fantastic dinner in the restaurant. Nice pool/facilities. Easy access to the Greenway.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing time away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few repairs needed in the leisure area...tiles etc. Some painting/repairs were being carried out while we were there.

    The bed was extremely comfortable & the view from our room was amazing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    9.6
    A Huge improvement !
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar food, salmon not available Sunday Monday , Tuesday, resorted to fish and chips. Too much of a disparity between bar food and the restaurant! Eat in the restraunt last night, superb!

    We have been staying in the hotel or using the leisure centre, dining in both the restraunt and bar food, for over at least forty years! This is a huge improvement!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect retreat for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything. Wi fi was only fair but that's no bad thing sometimes.

    One of the best hotels in the west of Ireland. Gets the balance between a relaxed atmosphere and a professional service just right. Fabulous views of the coast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some disappointing small things began to mount up . Shower not working properly , very limited menu for vegetarians considering the price, bar staff not very helpful in trying to sort an alternative

    Great hotel and loved staying there in the past

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: