Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Skellig Ring House Hostel

Skellig Ring Road, Portmagee, Ireland

#6 of 8 hotels in Portmagee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 505 hostel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoy our stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower will have the water stock on the floor nearthe toilet and they don’t have own toilet in the room for the family..Accomodation wise is very good..

    Property is very close to the village..Accommodation is very comfortable..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Good location, close to the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, close to the harbour. It was very clean. As we had to arrive a bit later, the staff left some instructions on how to get to our room and use the place, which were very clear and organized. Overall, a great place to stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean and well stocked kitchen with utensils.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Clean and well stocked kitchen with utensils. Some other guests have left their cooking ingredients which we can use. The time we visited the hostel there were only us and another guests. The manager was kind enough to put us into separate house so that we could have our privacy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    NIce place and nice staff. Confortable bed and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man in reception was kind and helpful. I lost my phone and he allowed me to use his laptop to send some messages and solve some problems with my sim card. The place is great. A clean room, a clean and confortable living room where I could have a nice chats with other guests in there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Great Location. Communal areas clean. Bedding questionable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite room. Bedding had ALLOT of ‘Hairs’. Did wonder if they had been changed! Heater was restricted to medium setting so room was like warm.

    Good value for money. Good locations for Skellig trips. Good kitchen facilities which Appeared clean. Ensuite bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Great for Skellig Michael trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WC water tank filled up painfully slowly and loudly in our bathroom.

    Booked it for the night before our Skellig Michael trip. The hostel is cheap, yet very clean and has new-looking furniture. We booekd a room with a bedroom, but we used the shared bathroom as well, as it was also very clean. Everything was as we expected. We left our car in the hostel car park and it was OK, nobody said anything about it. You can pay by cash or card. Great value for money and good for a night before Skellig trips! The marina is 5 minutes on foot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    The location was great as it was close to the harbour for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great as it was close to the harbour for the boat tour we were taking in the morning. Kitchen had good supply of utensils, etc for us to make our meals. Sitting room was very cozy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Average hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive for a hostel. The building was clearly built by a farmer to turn a profit so don't expect to feel much love here.

    Good location and a bit of a view out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Bare basics but clean and cheap hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has very small rooms. There is no extra accommodations. There is wifi but it is only accessible in the common rooms which are open from 9am - 11pm.

    This is a clean simple and cheap hostel. The communal bathroom was clean albeit a little small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient when visiting Skellig
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was missing some toiletaires and hair dryer but not a big deal. Very cold in the bathroom. No wifi. It was supposed to be some, but didnt work.

    The place was ok, clean. I like the cooperation with staff because we arrived after the reception closed. The rooms are clean and beds are comfy. Great location. I would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    perfect location, clean and comfortable hostel ! l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower!! so noisy (machine for hot water in the cabin) and without flow! impossible to wash your hair ! so long for rinse the body too! we had to use the common bathroom bath on the stair landing (without noise but light flow again...) what a pity it would have been perfect

    ALL! except the shower!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception should be kept open a bit longer, we arrived at 8:30 pm and left the day after at 8:30 am, so we never met the receptionist, even if everything was perfecly arranged for us.

    Great position, 500 m from the Marina (boarding area for the Skellig Islands). Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 6 was directly above the wash room and any time I returned to the bedroom you could hear washing machines and dryers operating loudly which prevented any peace for sleep. It was impossible to complain about this over 2 nights stay because there was never anyone at reception. The bed was very uncomfortable and old and there was only a tiny mirror in the bathroom no full length. Locks on the door don’t comply with current safety procedures.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a little thin and you can hear everything around the hostel, but it really didn't bother us.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was bright and warm. The manager ,Alex, went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed and were as comfy as possible.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    We loved how close this place was to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can easily hear your neighbors. Ours were up until 2 am. Luckily we only heard them come into the building then and talking quietly in there room.

    We loved how close this place was to town. The staff were very helpful and kind. Check in was a breeze.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room in a hostel like complex with shared access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room in a hostel like complex with shared access to communal rooms and kitchen. We found it to be quiet and well located for Portmagee, just a short walk (five mins) to the town and a couple of local pubs that serve food. Plenty of off road parking. Convenient for trips to Skellig (book well in advance) and the Tetrapod trackway on Valentia Island.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Location - kitchen facilities and it's cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable - too soft - also for security reasons would have expected the main door to be locked at night and everyone have a key for it.

    Location - kitchen facilities and it's cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    Clean rooms, functional, spacious kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need enclosed showers so that entire room doesn't get wet. Floors and walls need dampening. Anyone walking can be heard in the entire building. You wake up whenever anyone is walking Should have quiet hours enforced, otherwise your sleep is at someone else's mercy.

    Clean rooms, functional, spacious kitchen

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    August 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came to check in at 3. Manager told us to return at 4 even though he was on the premises. After us sitting in the rain for 15 mins he changed his mind. Gruff. No towels provided. Small bit out from village. Not massively clean or welcoming.

    Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    double room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was small, bed too small, no breakfast, not pre-informed to buy our own in advance. wifi was also a problem. not sure about staff availability during odd hours.

    double room was clean. place is at a fine location. i was late for check-in. the person called and waited for me to arrive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    The kitchen is well equipped, and everything is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers are terrible. On the second floor you can't stand up in them because of the slanting ceiling, the water pressure is extremely low, and it's almost impossible to adjust the temperature - prepare to be burned. Considering that there is only wifi in the living room, it's very small and crowded.

    The kitchen is well equipped, and everything is clean. Basic, but comfortable. Good beds! Great location, walking distance to restaurants and the boats to Skellig.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice accommodation in Portmagee , a bridge away from Valentia Island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Adjoining bathrooms are noisy due to extractor fans and showers. Doesn't provide towels (these can be rented). Need to bring your own food for breakfast (but very good kitchen facilities).

    A short walk (10 minutes) to Portmagee village where there are good restaurants, pubs and a small convenience shop. There is also the marina for boat trips to Skellig Michael. There are some good walking trails (Bray Head and Geokaun Mountain). Also close to Ballinskelligs and other scenic sights and walking trails. Value for money. Good kitchen facilities. Has what it says in the tin. It is a hostel rather than a hotel and provides exactly what a good hostel should provide. Basic but clean sleeping accommodation, shared but clean bathrooms and shower facilities, parking facilities and well located on the fringe of the village. Would definitely consider this as an option when we next visit this wonderful area of Kerry.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Good position for Skellings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Check in time is too early. When you plan to visit Ireland in July, especially if you are so lucky to find a beautiful sunny day, you would like to spend more time to walk in the nature. Check in at 7 is too early!!!

    Good communication with the host. We arrived on late and this guy did all it possible to help us. Room and bathroom were very cleaned, bed was confortable too. Any breakfast included but there are two cafes in Portmagee. A very good position if you want to go on Skellings. Unfortunately we couldn't do that because it rained. I Recomend it if you are able to arrive before 7 pm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location and wonderful sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not very good sound protection in rooms

    Beautiful location and wonderful sights Facilities were kept spotless and I was able to leave all of my shopping in communal areas without it going missing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable. Made friends with other guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not relevant

    Clean, comfortable and close to town. The kitchen was clean, was stocked with all you need including left overs from previous guests. I didn’t need to buy all that pasta!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and room. Bathroom facilities inadequate for number of people expected to use them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one bathroom on our floor with the loo in the bathroom. We were unable to get into the loo in the morning as it was monopolised by a group of young people opposite. My grand daughter had to go looking for an empty bathroom in another block. The loo should be separate.

    Room OK, breakfast room good. Check in staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Great affordable option- safe, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there are guests in neighboring rooms You may hear them talking or going out to the bathroom. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The room with a double bed and bunk beds was fine for us and our two teens. The door handle made a loud noise though so it would wake me up anytime someone went In the hall to use the restroom. Bring your own. They have towels but bring your own washcloth.

    Great affordable place to stay with basic amenities. Rooms are a little stark but clean and comfortable. Kitchen is nicer than it looks in the photos. Nice location to check out cliffs of Kerry, portmagee or drive over to Valentia (definitely check out the docks at Valentia if you have kids or teens. Lots of water activities and you can rent wetsuits)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation in the heart of Kerry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could possibly mention, it would be good to put mirrors in the bedrooms. With shared bathrooms, it can be hard to get your make-up/hair done when other guests are showering in the morning.

    Location is fantastic if you’re heading for the Skellig Tour! 5 minute walk to the boat departure point! Cleanliness is excellent for a hostel. Shared bathrooms are cleaned every day. Nice common room and full kitchen, staff great! Would highly recommend, totally fantastic budget accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Charming modern property in a proper Irish fishing town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great stay. It was advertised as a hostel, but it felt more like a hotel. The entire property was immaculate, and the rooms modern, clean and comfortable. Just a short walk from the local restaurants and the store, so you can cook for yourself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located above the dining room so very noisy with every movement being heard!!

    Excellent location and extremely clean. Value for money, you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Easy convenient clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the noise from someone constantly coming in and out of building and slamming doors. Clearly one of the guests not respecting the big sign on doors asking to be quiet.

    Everything was great. Starting from a very good communication before my stay, great welcoming by member of staff and nice clean bed! It was great that I could leave my car at their parking place and go take my boat trip to Skelligs. When i came back I could use the shower room to get changed before travelling back to airport. Can honestly recommend it and would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    it's one of very few options available that are not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    one big issue I had is that the internet quality was too unstable, and most of time are not possible to access.

    it's one of very few options available that are not super pricy, and thought it would be a good backup plan if we can't find anything else. it was extremely basic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great value. You have great location, clean, safe and activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect.

    Staff was amazing. They will do your laundry. The facility is clean. They have activities room with pool table etc. A couple of blocks to the water and shops. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Portmagee is probably one of my favourite places in Ireland! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff... great view from my room, very quiet. Had a shared bathroom but had it all to myself next to my room. :) Portmagee is stunning... saw beautiful sunrises & sunsets, went to Skellig Michael, beautiful hikes on Valentia Island!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location right in Port Magee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location right in Port Magee! Very clean and comfortable room with excellent Wi-Fi and well arranged kitchen facility. Staff was friendly and helpful. Best spot to stay to see Cliffs of Kerry and to do Skellig Michael!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet didn't flush that well and the fan was very loud (2 of our group slept in the room next to the bathroom and could hear it quite loudly).

    We arrived late at night and even though the reception was closed, they made sure we'd get in and find the room. The rooms were nice and clean. We didn't have time to enjoy common rooms, but it seemed like they were very comfy and nice. Parking was easy (they have a backyard with lots of space for the cars). Overall, great value for the price!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Well-equipped kitchen and bright cheerful wooden and white...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin and could easily hear others in neighboring rooms and the games room downstairs

    Well-equipped kitchen and bright cheerful wooden and white interior design.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very noisy! Our house was empty, but could hear the people in the neighbouring house like they were right outside our room.

    It's cheap! Good enough to sleep in for a night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Overnight on way to Skelligs. Ideal place to stay. Five minutes walk to the Pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the Pier. Quiet area, clean, neat, tidy, and informed that pressure in an upstair bathroom not great and that the one downstairs was better. Honesty appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    A quiet, charming port
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aleks welcomed us warmly and took us on a tour of the hostel. Because it was a hostel, we were expecting bare-bones accommodations but were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were comfortable, and the bathrooms were clean and updated. The kitchen and lounge spaces were large and well-equipped. We enjoyed a nice breakfast before we headed out on our boat adventure. Just a short walk to the pier and the local restaurant, The Fisherman's Bar. Great for families or groups!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean Hostel, needs better Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible Wifi...only in the public lounges but even them it was super slow. Shower had no pressure.

    Very clean, great price, convenient to Skellig Michael.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a hostel with very good value for money. We were happy to park our car at the hostel and walk to the main street for dinner and drinks. The hostel is simple, nice and clean. Staff is kind. I would recommend this place. They don't do breakfasts but there is a kitchen where you can cook your own breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Visiting Portmagee at off peak season end Apr feels heavenly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The GPS didn’t register Portmagee for some reason but the route is pretty straight forward though.

    Visiting Portmagee at off peak season end Apr feels heavenly without the crowd and the house hostel has few occupants. Great room and kitchen facilities, although i don’t think the room heater was working, but all’s good with the down blanket. A little store 10min walk down near the harbour sells basic necessities but if you aren’t tired, drive up to Cahirsiveen town some 12km away to the Supervalu market to stock up. Nice drive up to see the Kerry Cliffs for an entrance fee of 4E where Skellig islands hail in the background. Go during May -Jul for boat rides esp to the islands.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay, would have been nicer had there been more considerate guests!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a group of student who were staying at the hostel while on a diving weekend. They took over kitchen and dining area completely and stayed up drinking until 3.30 each night of our stay. They were extremely noisy and inconsiderate of other guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.8
    Amazing place for Party Animals!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived for the check-in and the person at the reception took us to the room. So far so good. When arrived to the room he mentioned that "there are 30 divers and they'll have dinner here so this evening it may be a bit noisy. Sorry about that since you are just above the kitchen". What he didn't mention is that the "evening" ended up at 4am in the morning when we got out the room to ask to the other drunk guests to go to sleep. The hostel policy forbids parties and on the kitchen's door it's clarly stated to stop any noise from 11pm to 9am. The "divers" where students who got drunk, shout, and slammed doors, hit walls all night. No supervision at all. Nobody from the hostel to control. We have also called the number they left in case of emergency but - of course - nobody picked up. I have been a Booking customer for years and this is so far the worse experience ever.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is unlocked during the night and we did not see any night guards or staff. The room doors are very thin so it was a little bit scary to leave our luggage and sleep during the night. It would be nice to have a hairdryer in the room as we traveled a long way and it was rainy all day. The hairdryers are available at the reception but no one was there at that time of the day. We had to rush to check-in because the check-in time is till 7PM which we did not know. Toilets at the kitchen/sitting room area would be nice.

    The Hostel is very big and has a lot of parking spaces. The area is very tidy and clean. It should look very cozy in the summer. Rooms were OK. We liked the kitchen as it was fully equipped and the sitting area was nice. The manager was very polite and friendly even though we checked-in late. Very good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Best place to stay on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's the best place to stay in Portage if you're traveling on a budget. Everything is clean, the staff is very nice and the surrounding area is breathtakingly beautiful. Whether you're planing on hiking or biking or maybe taking a boat to the Skelligs, this is a great place to lay down your head at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    great hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be great to have breakfast included too, but I understand it is not possible at the moment. Instead you can cook your own in a spacious kitchen if needed.

    They were really proactive with our late check in. Staff was friendly and rooms are nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Aquilas Irish Adventures
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it.

    Great place. Got free upgrade to room with private ensuite. Well laidout property. Kitchen & communal areas great. Within walking distance to pubs, restaurants, shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended. Comfortable, well equipped, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great facilities in an excellent location. Clean and comfortable. Our ensuite double room was great. Loved the kitchen and dining room facilities also. Alex was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Cannot wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot find any faults. It's a quiet little village with only one shop so plan carefully if you need supplies..

    The hostel is ideally located a short walk from the pubs and harbour. The place is clean and tidy and has great facilities for self-catering. Alex and his partner are very pleasant,welcoming and provided excellent local information (we arrived late which he prepared for and no issues) It's the ideal place to stay to access the Skellig Michael ferry service - the island is amazing to visit if you are lucky enough with the weather.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Adequate but no personal touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    To me, it was too clinical & no one there to greet me, just a note stuck on the door to tell me my room number and where to find a key, even though it was only 7pm.

    beds were fine, very clean place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    the facility was nice, the cleanliness was good enough and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the door kept banging around during the whole night (double bed room) and the shower was broken (double bed room), the other share shower temperature was unstable and hard to take a good shower.

    the facility was nice, the cleanliness was good enough and the staff was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellant premises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners could do with investing a little in the kitchen equipment and cookers. Less & less each year.

    Excellant premises. Very clean, convenient & friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room,Bed and Bedding were extremely basic. But so was the price.

    I liked that guests were friendly. It was close to the village and 4/5 minute walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    We didn't stay second night as we'd have to backtrack to accommodation, no fault to them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was probably everything a hostel should offer.

    It served our purpose, price was right and it was within easy reach for early departure for our trip to skellig michael.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Basic but spotlessly clean accommodation in the tranquil village of Portmagee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spent two nights here with a friend whilst exploring Valentia Island and the beautiful Ring of Kerry. Honestly can't say much bad about the place. We were in a twin room. The room was small with not much furniture beyond a wardrobe and locker but we had everything we needed. The bathroom was right beside us and shared with about three other rooms. This was not a problem. I never had to queue and the facilities were spotlessly maintained. There is a communal kitchen shared with other residents. This was well-equipped and also very clean. They also have a common room with a tv and pool table for residents. If I were to be very picky, I would say that the arrangement of the building is a bit odd. Reception is only opened for a few hours in the evening. We arrived after 8 so they had left a sign on the reception door with directions to our room with the key left in the door. This wasn't a massive problem by any means but coming from a hospitality background, I think having someone there to welcome guests creates a better impression of an establishment. Nevertheless, it was well located, quiet, peaceful and clean. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed are short for a tall guy like me.

    We feel like at home. The girl of the staff is really helpfull and kind. The place is nice and clean. Possibility to put bikes in a secure place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable stay with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mirror in the room. The wifi was a bit slow but I was expecting that due to the remote location.

    I liked the location of the hostel. There was lots of parking available outside the hostel and the manager kindly let me park my car there the next day when I went on the Skellig Michael boat trip. Portmagee is a great little village in a stunning part of Ireland. Go to Skellig Michael, the cliffs & Valentia Island!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Good for a one-night stay in the lovely Portmagee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear the other people in the house (arguing at night and leaving loudly the morning after) as if they were in our room...

    Ideally located, just a few minutes walk from the harbour. We didn't have the use of all the amenities (TV room, kitchen,...) but they are a great plus for people staying longer than 1 night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    beautiful, calm, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was very bad

    The hostel was very clean, even though we had a shared bathroom, it was cleaned every morning. The rooms are basic, but there are very comfortable common areas with tv, kitchen, couches etc. The house is calm and clean, located in a very beautiful place, not far, but not too close to noisy pubs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Useful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No information about the kitchen when we booked (unless we've missed it). My bed was OK, the three others seem to have been so-so. Due to the lack of any kind of partitions around the bath, it's quite difficult to have a shower without spilling water in the bathroom (I choosed not to have a shower)

    At the west end of the Inveragh peninsula where there no so many accomodations available. Cheap and clean. Had we know that there was a kitchen, we could have had our breakfast on the premises.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Great location for visiting Skellig Michael and lots of free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Locks on the door...rooms not very secure. Wouldn't leave anything valuable in the room. Should put better locks on the rooms. Got a room with a private bathroom, but the other two rooms across the hall were very noisy all night long using their shared bathroom. Internet doesn't work in the rooms. They told us this checking in but that isn't clear when booking. For a budget accommodation it would have been fine, if it was budget. It was the cheapest in Portmagee when we looked anyway, but I've stayed in hotels for 60 a night that include breakfast, TV, tea in the room etc. so it isn't really value for money.

    Great location for visiting Skellig Michael and lots of free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are old fashioned upstairs. Rooms are very basic. Check in very late in afternoon.

    Location and price were great. Accommodation was basic but fine. Good base for exploring the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Cosy and quiet hostel in Portmagee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to pubs and the harbour (but nothing is really far away in Portmagee). Clean kitchen and bathroom, good dining area, parking spaces just in front of the hostel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice property, well kept, in the centre of a fabulous contryside, here you can stay and discover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Last year I noticed that the stoves needed replaceent. That problem persists

    Skellig Ring House: In the centre of beautiful countryside, near Finnean bay, Valentia Island and in walking distance from Portmagee with it´s fishing harbour. The property clean, nice guests, good beds functioning internet and TV-room. A caring host always at hand.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Ideal for a visit to the World Heritage site on Skellig Michael.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are thin. Noisy neighbours.

    This is a 'no frills' hostel type arrangement. Location is ideal for a visit to the World Heritage site on Skellig Michael.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Easy, relaxing, and close to beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door of the bedroom was loose so was making noise at night and not properly insulated to give you a privacy feel

    Close to the town and Valencia Island Quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    A Little Noise Goes a Long Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically, the noise. I don't mean noisy guests - there wasn't any the night I stayed. I mean every sound travels through the place - every floorboard creak, every cough, every shower, every toilet flush. Unfortunately I don't think there is anything that can be done as it is down to the way the place was built. No sound insulation whatsoever. Noises from the common room and kitchen travel upstairs to the bedrooms. I was fortunate in that it was mainly families staying the night I was there so no rowdiness. Hate to think what it would be like with a noisy crowd. It was also a bit on the dear side for what was essentially a private room in a hostel.

    Clean place. Very tidy. Friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities. Very handy for Skellig boat (my reason for staying).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.3
    Not satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shops near by, no towels or toiletries available. We didn't know that it was self catering, couldn't cook as there were no shops open when we reached there

    Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Stay in the Skelligs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a one night stay I don't think I could have asked for anything more, prehaps better weather next time though haha!

    Booked a nights stay at Skellig Ring House on my round trip of Ireland, It was my first time using a hostel so wasn't sure what to expect. Greeted with an absolutely huge room and a generous sized clean shared bathroom. The bed was extremely comfy and just what was needed after a night under canvas the night before. Had a pretty much perfect nights sleep with no noise or disturbances. Only used the kitchen facilities the next morning to full up and wash my water bottles but it looked well stocked of equipment to use should I have decided to use them. Will definitely use again if I'm in the area. Lots of space to park and only a short stroll into the village of Portmagee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Great night before Skellig Michael
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We opened the window but our room was still warm. We also didn't have any towels.

    Perfect walking distance from the marina, shops and pubs. We arrived later than planned but the wonder receptionist told us not to worry and that he would help us out. Great one-night stay! Big kitchen and common rooms. Bring your own food for breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom facilities could be better. The faucet in the bathroom was only for hot water, it was really really hot.

    Good value for money Clean Parking spot in the premises Good location - 5 min walk to Portmagee marina

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    The Skelligs. . .Monastic, Magical and Mystic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not find any faults.

    The hostel is located only minutes walking distance from the quaint and tranquil fishing village of Portmagee and within easy access to the ferries for the Skelligs. It is excellent value for money and an ideal place to stay when visiting the very unique Skellig Islands. A landing visit, to Skellig Michael is highly recommended and not to be missed. It is truly a very very special experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Great Location and Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice, good value place to stay if you want to explore the area or take a trip to Skellig Michael. Good clean cooking facilities, bedrooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: