Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Portree Guesthouse - Ireland 2 stars

10-11 Mary St., Waterford, Ireland

#20 of 28 hotels in Waterford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 812 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, about a 10 min walk to the Viking Triangle. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable. We had the hot breakfast one morning and it was yum. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room would have been greatly improved by some basic maintenance. The lamps didn’t work, the toilet seat was loose, the broken second TV was still in the room. The ‘Full Irish Breakfast ‘ was expensive at €9 for what it was.

    Great location, reasonably priced for an expensive area. Coffee/Tea facilities available in the lounge room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a bit more of a hostel feel (although very nice in that regard) and the parking lot is very small and a tight fit.

    The staff was very welcoming and helpful. There is a great community atmosphere. The back yard is a nice bonus. Lucy the dog is adorable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing great enjoyed the staff were so friendly and very helpfull

    Everything, the staff couldn't do enough for you. The room was very clean not the most modern but I'd def stay again. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was completely happy. I have nothing to add here.

    The staff are friendly and welcoming and made us feel completely at home. I slept like a baby in the comfortable beds and enjoyed the lounge area for a relaxing cup of tea and chat with the other holiday makers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt like a back-packer hostel, with facilities to match. Shabby bedding and cramped conditions. The bathroom wasn’t too bad, although small. Our room was floodlit all night from the distillery next door, which could have been avoided by proper drapes. I can only comment on our room, a triple, not knowing the state of the other rooms.

    Magdalena was so kind and considerate when we had some issues with our room, she was very supportive and understanding, which was appreciated. The breakfast was adequate in a nice dining room. The position of the hotel was very handy to the city and the car park was very good, considering we are in Ireland, where parking seems to be a problem in the cities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the shower was a little small, it was adequate and the water was hot. Sink hot tap needs securing and tightening

    Excellent breakfasts with good choices. Friendly and helpful staff. Good free off street parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found everything meeting our expectations

    Room was spacious. Portable heater for the chilly nights. Parking available in a private lot and also on the street in front of the building. Pubs within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect.

    Great welcome from manager David. Staff excellent. Superb breakfast open until 10 am cooked to order by Christian. Great central location. Easy walking distance to pubs hotels and restaurants. Free parking in hotel car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access from carpark & no tea or coffee in room. Couldn't make our own in morning as door to lounge was locked. Milk was off later that day and caught the lady just pouring it in another jug. We went out for all meals. Noise levels were up a little from street below.

    Easy walk to town area. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water device/controls of the shower were a bit difficult to regulate but manageable.

    Friendly staff, good accommodations, nice breakfast. Looks like a good place, and a good town, to spend some time at; unfortunately we had a plan already set up and only stayed for 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just the bed seemed a little to firm for my liking but I think that's how the beds are in Europe

    Location is excellent. The entire staff here is excellent! Happy to help with any questions or concerns.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in Waterford for two nights. We used it to have a little time of before countinuing with your roadtrip. The hostel gave us a great oppertunity to rest for a day. The Staff was friendly and helped us whenever we had a question. They have a kitchen you can use, it comes with all the things you need to cook yourself a meal. So its a good way to safe some money since there is a supermarkt nearby. We had a really great stay, the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When showering, an unpleasant noisy fan also turns on.

    Very kind, caring and helpfull staff ! Lounge with free tea, coffee, books, ... . Own and free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being ground floor, expect a bit of noise in the early morning. Not too much anyway.

    The hotel is no more than ten minutes walking from the centre of Waterford and even less from nice restaurants around Apple Market area. Breakfast was so good and everyone in there very nice. The room was ground floor, clean and big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Great hospitality, nice atmosphere. We were invited to a BBQ when we checked in as the weather was exceptionally warm for Ireland, so they were celebrating the sun Shine ! Had a great time meeting people from all over the world. Rooms where just what we needed for a one night stay, and suited us well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The linen was old and the curtains very thin so the light from outside (street lamps) wasn't blocked well. The bathroom was rudimentary and the shower so old that it didn't offer much - we skipped our shower for our next accommodation.

    Portree Guesthouse is in a good location in a quiet area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and relatively comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were running late for our booking, and the manager kindly waited on an extra hour to let us in. Was very convenient location from the bus stop and close to all amenities and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs in the property and no lift that I could see. No tea making facilities in the room, you had to go down stairs. No shower gel in the room only hand wash.

    Close proximity to the city and very close to the train and bus stations. Very enjoyable breakfast, absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No direct entry from car park to building, had walk around very narrow street to get to entrance, auckward with cases in tow.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Some of the guests who used the kitchen were sometimes lazy about cleaning their mess.

    There are kitchen facilities for guests to use; coffee and tea available 24 hours. The location is close to transit and the Waterford Greenway. The house dog, Lucy,(who is not allowed inside for health regulations) helped with me missing my own dogs at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe if we had a car with us I don't think there would be good parking. On the edge of town so would have to be careful when walking home late as area it is locates in is dreary and dark.

    Very clean acommadation.Very central.Staff very nice and friendly.Rooms were clean and pretty.I would stay here again if I was staying in Waterford. Its cheap and has the essentials.Not luxurious but was perfect for us as we were sightseeing and looking for a cheap getaway. Also the breakfast in mornings were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Condensation on the windows when closed-poor quality double glazing that doesn't block street noises. Needs black out curtains as room is too bright during night time. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, felt the springs. No central heating, a stand alone heater in room is not good enough really for a guest house in 2018.

    Staff were courteous. Bathroom facilities were good. Bed clothes nice and clean, and room itself very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower with poor and noisy water flow.

    Homely, lovely friendly staff. Breakfast service coukd be a bit more organised, but plenty to eat and nicely cooked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room No.7 needs window repair in bathroom.

    Staff was extra friendly and very welcoming, breakfast was excellent, atmosphere is very warm and cozy, and a guard dog Lucy is so nice and cute :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with access to a hairdryer and some shampoo (even if it was available at reception)

    the breakfast was brilliant especially as they didn't blink when we said we were vegetarian and wanted a cooked breakfast without meat - they just went and bought veggie sausages and made sure they cooked all our food in a clean meat free pan with no cross contamination

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above. Also would've liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room itself.

    I was a solo traveller given a double room. I would've preferred a single room if it had been located away from the main hallway all the guests used because the hallway was noisy late at night and early in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent communication .Excellent staff very friendly all weekend . lovely breakfast and very relaxed atmosphere. Warmest of welcomes .. Thanks for a great weekend...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, stayed two nights.

    Staff was great, continental breakfast (5 euro) was very good and well worth the money.room was plain but comfortable (well worth the money)1 block off main Street.Use Grattan bar and biestro for lunch/dinner , wonderful food and drinks for a great price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't complain about anything really as it was good value for money!

    I had a single room. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and as a result there was a lovely atmosphere the minute I arrived in the lobby!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kept awake all night by the slamming of a door. Whether it was our rooms position near the front door or not, we weren't sure - but it did mean we slept pretty badly. And why anyone was coming and going and leaving doors to slam at 2am, we don't know

    Very friendly welcome and a good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly and welcoming stuff. Lovely room. Cozy dining\tea room. Cool stairs. Overall the feeling of the place is warm and nice. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold when we arrive as window was left open, the storage heater in the room supplied very little heat

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, really nice home from home enviornment and close to pubs, restraunts etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard but that was fine for a night or two

    Super friendly staff, we checked in 20 minutes before reception closed and she was very accommodating and gave us a great room. Quiet, good location and free parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't have anything to say about that question

    Where it was located it was easy access to and from the guesthouse to the shops and social amenities clubs,pubs etc,very friendly staff and people of Waterford were nice and made me feel at home

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The staff were very obliging and informative. The location was great and it was a clean place to stay for a good price. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Cosy room for 02 pax, well heated by the electric heaters in December. The location was within walking distance to the attractions. Breakfast served was sufficient to last till mid afternoon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door. Extra hidden charges. No safety measure on bathroom window.

    It was warm and very convenient for the purpose of my trip. Did not like that there was an extra charge for breakfast ! It's listed as a B/B. Bathroom door not closing and dangerous window opening out on to the street with no barrier to prevent a child falling several floors down , also no fire escape from back. Felt very vulnerable if there was an emergency also not wheel chair accessible. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely! Very helpful and polite. They were willing to go the extra mile to help from taking luggage up to your room to sites in the area. Always making sure you were comfortable and happy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room ,freezing cold only a small heater that ran for 10 minutes? winter time?drinking water full of lime no filtration system obviously.bed had no head board and mattress was to big for the bed,so when i sat on the end i fell over.Draughty as bed was up against window.even for this type of property it was poor.

    location and staff were fine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Room was basic rug at the bedside was crumpled up couldn't open the wardrobe had to try and move the rug which was difficult as the bed was on top of it.

    Accomodation was basic but clean. Very friendly staff and lovely full Irish breakfast. Good parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing. O, yes, I didn't get to see the garden in full bloom, so maybe my next visit

    The team. As Tina Turner would, "Simply The Best'.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Couldn`t stay longer.

    Lovely guest house great location, Staff were very friendly and helpful in fact couldn`t do enough for guests. Lovely clean comfy room, the bed was great. Bathroom excellent newly decorated. Already booking for next trip and will recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for breakfasts normal practices where we have stayed is included in the booking price

    Staff went out of their way to help if anything went wrong and it was done immediately.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little warm for me during the night. That said, my partner had no complaints.

    Room was clean, and a good size. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Area was nice and quiet during the night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the price for the continental breakfast is a little high, but not that bad. Everything else was good.

    Very friendly stuff, nice and generous breakfast. Very quite location but very local. The room was big enough, very clean bathroom and towels. We also liked that it was always possible to drink a cup of tee in the living room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor in the room was not good. Curtains were shabby. Carpet in room was stained. Tea stains along locker. Black mould on roof of shower. Furniture in room was dated and not in good condition.

    Comfortable bed and warm room. Breakfast was very nice. Good tea/coffee making facilities and good wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The hotel is only 2 stars but that means its not got any unesseciary luxuries the bed was comfortable room was good the breakfast excellent staff were really friendly aswell they dont have a kettle in the room but instead use a communal area and have cooking facilities for guests to use themselves which is fine tbh also have safe parking facilities for the price it really is excellent value for money a cross between b and b and hotel .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room I was in was noisy. Next to stairs and above main door so noise from all directions. Dreadful shower head. Really poor water flow from shower head, could really only wash one limb at a time. Although we labelled our food in the communal kitchen it was eaten by other guests and as such left us short of food. Little respect shown by other guests for things that weren't theirs to have.

    Clean tidy rooms. Bath towels refreshed after 2 days

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle badly needed upgrading as water pressure very poor and the general condition of the shower head needed attention.

    Location suited our needs and the room was large. Breakfast was adequate but should have been included in the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing cold, there was extra blankets but no heater/radiator. Tv either had picture no sound or sound no picture. Room smelled of damp. Very small and tight space for the €69 I paid. Handle on bathroom door was very dodgy was afraid to close it incase we got locked in.

    Staff were very friendly. Tea/coffee in lounge was much appreciated although would have preferred these facilities in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom ansd bathroom could do with a good make-over.

    The location was convenient for public transport - and the overall experience was of no-frills. Breakfast was hearty enough, and staff were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for older people going up a lot of stairs and breakfast not inculded in the price the shower was very small I wouldn't stay again

    The staff were very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could use a bigger dose of bleach. Earplugs may be helpful as the walls are thin.

    Off the busy thoroughfare and the staff were very helpful especially Magda. Close to the bus station for those who are carless.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms and decor need updating, too many beds crammed into room ( we had a family room)

    location nice and quite and only a few mins walk from main square

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was filthy , cigarette burns in non smoking room , windows , toilets , floor all filthy. Asked to sign a waiver to pay for blood stains on bedding ?? Really ... Booking.com need to ask themselves why this is on their website

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedding seemed like it was bought from the Tesco basic range, not very comfortable.

    A basic 'hostel' type accommodation, The room was clean but tired looking .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was shabby with some rather bashed furniture, curtains and mattresses grubby in appearance, leaking shower, rough towels. Very limited space to move around beds and inadequate number of rails/hooks to hang wet towels. Only basic soap available in bathroom (no other toiletries). Only two bed lights for three people and the bulb of one lamp was gone when we arrived (this kind of detail was obviously not checked by staff when the room was being prepared).

    Warm and helpful staff. Great location - very central with local attractions and train station easily accessible on foot. Good and plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The B& B was however tired, and more like a Hostel than a B & B Breakfast was not included in the price but an extra.

    The B & B was spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The building is also fairly central. Parking was free at the rear. The breakfast fry was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    A very friendly, clean and perfectly located place to stay. I would recommend it to anybody looking for a good place to stay in Waterford.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat in room 16 was loose or broken on our arrival. Things like that should be sorted prior to guests arriving

    Good place to stay on a budget.rooms were clean staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only mild negatives Little bit higgledy-piggledy, lot of rooms jammed into old house... (might be quaint to some) A bit creaky and noisy if other tenants bound about late at night or whatever they do to shake the walls (!) - but generally quiet. No shampoo in bathroom (I guess bring your own) Parking at back is limited and if full when you may have to go elsewhere and possibly pay or park on street nearby. Parking is tight too so you might find yourself blocked in. Requirement for photo ID which was a bit unusual in an Irish venue ... maybe it's a new thing generally.

    Easy to get to coming from the M9 - straight into city, over the bridge and it's c 50 m off to the right, then an immediate left, behind the distillery Staff were pleasant, relaxed and unfussy. Room was a reasonable size and clean if a bit tired. Has a spacious sitting room downstairs. Breakfast seemed to be on a par with anything anywhere else Other guests seemed to be happy to be there & on good terms with the staff :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very bad only had a few spaces and all surrounding roads had double yellow lines

    Bed was comfortable and very close to shops, restaraunts and pubs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got up too late for the breakfast...

    Close to the Quay in Waterford. Great location. Room was comfortable, and I dont know how but they managed to have Lux soap in the bathroom! As a South African that was so awesome to see something from home. Staff was very friendly and nice. There was even a cute doggie at reception when I got there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was very small (but good besides that). It's essentially like a single room in a hostel and not like a B &B, rooms are quite old (but comfortable).

    Really close to bus & train stops, very central. lovely location. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way over priced at €170 per night, We could of got a hotel with a pool for €130 for the night but we weren't allowed cancel without loosing out money, Bathroom very dirty sewerage pipes running down the walls terrible racket when the toilets upstairs were flushed, Would not recommend it to anyone, Staff were very nice but that's about it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clearly it is good for young travelers on a tight budget who care less about safety and cleanliness. The staff was quick to book us into our rooms before we had a chance to measure the situation. That was my mistake. Should have followed my gut and walked out as soon as I walked in.

    There was nothing about this property that suited my family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't the cleanest and a bit overpriced for what it was. Also booked a triple room what we got was bunk beds.

    Good location walking distance to city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This did not have anything to do with the guesthouse, but the actual town of Waterford left a lot to be desired. Not much to do with a family. :(

    Everyone at Portree was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise outside from buildings nearby the next morning which interrupted sleep however this is nothing to do with the place we stayed, we just happened to stay when there was nearby renovations going on.

    The staff were super friendly and always willing to help.My room was clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Great value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Loose toilet seat Dangerous light switch Bin looked like it had been used by a steel band Needed binoculars to see tv Very dirty in corners, even a month old receipt

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    honesty ,NOTHING wrong with the hotel. !!!!!!

    The hotel was, simple for our feet via walking from train station,after a nice 2 hour train ride from,dublin. On arrival, we were greeted,nice and friendly. and polite. we were ,informed of everything onsite, Free hot drinks, the kitchen for our own cooking, if not wanting to go to local LOADS of pubs and resuarants.. the double bedroom, was plenty good size. Clean shower. nice bed,smelt clean in room. worth making a 11 hour trip, from UK. !!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website did not state it was a hostel also. Kids partying all night long,got no sleep at all, We had to checkout next morning one day early and did not got refund for second night that we did not stay. It was very rundown also. Very dissappointing stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be an issue if everyone came by car. Car park was very tight to get in and out of. Bathroom was rather basic and could have done with a fresh coat of paint and tiles on the shower had seen better days. Only a net curtain covering bathroom window. Tucked away behind Waterford Distillery.

    A good City Centre location. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower took a while to regulate (either too hot or too cold!).

    We were 4 females in a quadruple room for one night before doing the greenway cycle to Dungarvan. It was basic but spotless and beds wee very comfortable. Excellent value for money and great location. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: