Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Racket Hall Country House Golf & Conference Hotel 3 stars

Dublin Road, Roscrea, Ireland

#2 of 2 hotels in Roscrea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 180 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front door was locked on (late-ish) arrival and a lengthy search was involved in identifying the small bell to draw attantion

    Generally helpful staff - but could have smiled more. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very "old" style hotel. Dreadful food - thrown on to plate with no presentation. same food choice each lunch, no vegetarian option, chips under cooked, fish under cooked. No recommendation for any food experienced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very surprised when I asked what cocktails were served in the bar and was told: none. In this and other ways the hotel seems a bit outdated.

    Comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service very poor. Had to ask staff to take away dinner plates even though they were standing around talking. We weren't the only table that had to ask. Was going to get desert but was an hour waiting at that stage didn't bother. No apology from floor manager who eventually took away our plates. The function we were at later glasses stacked up on tables no body clearing them all night.

    It was clean and function was near the bedrooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed you could not sleep in it at all it was so uncomfortable a day hard eather or even of us got any sleep very disappointing

    Beautiful place stayed there before and it was lovely but this time it was very uncomfortable did not sleep at all bed was like a rock

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived on a Saturday evening (not very late, about 8pm) and reception desk was not staffed. Took more than ten mins of ringing the bell and waiting until we eventually managed to get the busy bar man to call for the receptionist. they did have a live music event on in a separate room but don't think this was taking up the receptionist's time. Also a mix up over the price on our booking but they did rectify it OK.

    Very comfortable room with nice, 'real' solid wood furniture. Good location to break our journey from Rosslare Port over to the west coast. Looked like it was a popular place with live music the night we stayed (Saturday) and lots of other events advertised. Bar was nice. Really good breakfast served in the bar (shame the tables near the window were cordoned off though so it felt a bit dark) - hot food cooked to order and was really good. Good selection on the buffet too, including scones the size of my head! Would return if we were passing again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in darkness when we arrived. Felt a little bleek. Would recommend a lamp on to make cosier. Staff were a little on the slow side

    The beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating in the hotel The room was not warm, there was no control for heating (i.e radiator valves missing so we could not turn the temperature up or down). When I contacted reception about this, they supplied a heater for us to use for our stay. They said they could do nothing about the heat in the hotel as it was at a set temperature and was on a timer. The whole hotel needs a bit more heat. Also, only one pillow each provided and it was not a particularly comfortable one. No toiletries in the bathroom just a shower gel/shampoo dispenser. Very old TV, not a flat screen.

    Staff & lovely room. Breakfast was excellent, I asked for hash browns to go with mine, they did not have them, but very kindly did fried potatoes instead, which were delicious. There was good choice on the breakfast menu also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only point I can say as a 'negative' is that my room had a 'old fashioned' TV and I do like to listen to the radio when I wake up, which you can do on a modern TV.

    In 40+ years of travelling, this Hotel has to be one of the nicest Hotels and 'single' rooms I have ever stayed in - for the price which included breakfast, it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was below the ground level and it was very cold. There was no heating no heating in the room and staff explained it only comes on if the temperature drops below 15C and supplied a small electric blow heater. When doing little activity in the hotel room or using the bathroom, that temperature of 15C is not adequate and particularly when you get up in the morning! The shower had a leak below the bath and the water run out all over the floor... there was evidence of this being repaired before, so maintenance must be lax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad phone reception

    The staff were amazing and friendly. We attended a wedding also on our stay and as I don't drink they were very accommodating to my needs and allowed and served non alcoholic wine I provided on the day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The biggest thing that lets this hotel down seriously is that lack of choice on the menu in the restaurant in the evening. If you are a vegetarian or someone who may prefer not to eat meat, then you will find zero options on the menu. I know you can ask for alterations, but at least there should be one or two options there.

    The hotel has extremely generous on site car parking. Whilst the room I was in was adequate, the tv could do with an update. I can't remember the last time I saw a tube type tv in a hotel room but at least you could get a decent BBC channel :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not well set up for Gluten Free and staff did not understand the dietary needs. Evening food was not good. Staff we ok but lots of room for improvement in customer service.

    Good fresh breakfast selection. Quiet rooms so good nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was bank holiday would have liked some music even if it was just in bar

    We loved everything about this hotel had great time next time we go for the music heard great bands there not to far to travel enjoyed our time there

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Diner was roughly equivalent to (not particularly fresh) cubed chicken in cream of mushroom soup served on a store-bought flakey pastry. Ever entre, even the stir-fry of a woman sitting next to us, came accompanied by an unrequested half-kilo of chips. Front desk particularly clueless; one staffer didn't know that, except for the weekend, the bar and restaurant food are synonymous. Initial push from shower dangerously hot.

    Beautiful garden view from our spacious, quiet room. Lattes at breakfast were very good, server pleasant and efficient. Screaming fast internet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiny and shower terrible. Tv was from the dark ages. Nice modern flat screen on the wall and get rid of the huge tv and unit and you have the perfect room.

    Room was very clean and comfortable. Food top class.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Staff very friendly. Can't recommend this hotel enough. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault was The televisions in the bedroom is a bit dated. Could do with a few more channels.

    Couldn't fault the hotel at all. The rooms were spotless, the bed was unbelievable comfortable and the bathroom was quite spacious. The bar very nice great atmosphere. The food in the restaurant was superb. We really enjoyed ourselfs. The staff were very friendly also. The wifi is good, a bit patchy in areas. And the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were left waiting for a menu and our drinks. Food was over priced for the quality and quantity. Charged for our meal even though we paid in the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    mattress not very comfy. Duvet thin not warming. Needed extra blankets. Room very dark and specifically asked for "large bright room as I'm claustrophobic" .

    quiet peaceful country area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea & coffee facilities in the room would be good. First hotel I've stayed at in a long time that didn't have them.

    Comfortable old-world surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was an issue with room having been cancelled by accident by a member of staff. However the girl on reception did her upmost to accommodate us on a very busy weekend.

    The staff were pleasant and did everything possible to make the trip enjoyable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The constant having to re-activate the key card was frustrating. It was kept separate from mobile and any other card.

    The Rackett Hall was perfect for our needs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very nice albeit the service was a tad slow.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was travelling with my parents and had to take a double room as there were no singles left but there was no concession of any sort whereas other establishments might deduct the price of the second breakfast at least. Otherwise, it was lovely.

    The rooms and decor are very comfortable and had some of the character of a stately home.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the things promised on the web site weren't available, like bathrobe and hairdryer in the room. Also there were no tissues in the room. It felt like false advertising.

    We did like the accomodation and the food and comfort. We were given free use of a DVD player when we asked for it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything from the old time look with all the wood, the food was outstanding on both nights and breakfast, the staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair dryer available, but not a given in the room, had to ask and leave deposit.. Breakfast, could have expanded on the choice of hot food available.

    Decor excellent. Bed comfortable Staff very helpful and friendly. Carvery lunch good value. I would stay there again despite the minor issues flagged.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain reception staff could be more understanding/professional.

    Friendly, mainly helpful staff. Lovely interior and setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old tv in the room...

    Nice hotel with friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing very ignorent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 breakfasts one excellent service one poor service

    Bed very comfy nice view out window room fresh

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great environment beautiful accommodation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Very comfortable hotel room and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner disgusting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could be more comfortable, bathrooms a little outdated.

    Good value for money, good bar music and food, otherwise a pretty average hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a suberb hotel. Lovely rooms and staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do think you have to much furniture in the bedrooms a much simpler approach and they wouldn't look so cluttered.

    The food I had was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi signal

    Always a great place to stay can't fault it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had poor lighting. And felt dark and gloomy

    All perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more fruit and yugort for breakfast.Water in sink only lukewarm

    Bathroom a little small but bed just like home

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stake at dunner

    We liked everything the stake could of been better

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service a bit slow, but was worth the wait.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Great value for money and great entertainment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    two faults fire alarm at 1.15 am and 1.30am. does not lend itself to a good night sleep.

    staff , food, room and bed very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow to get served at bar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Friendly, beautiful, clean, lovely food, great staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming staff...friendly but unobtrusive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have booked a room further away from function area

    Bed not comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and qmbiance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was cold for dinner. The rooms aren't any way modern

    The rooms were basic but clean and a good size

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast as had appointment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 bath towel provided. Shower head slipping down. Room inadequately heated.

    Nice atmosphere in dining area and bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, tv and room were dated and bar had no Guinness.

    Good value for money, was clean and comfortable and the food was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was excellent from start to finish

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cracked hand basin in bedroom

    Tranquil setting Age friendly parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in room dirty, didn't like the dirty cushions and runner on the bed

    Breakfast was nice if ordering a cooked breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much around the hotel

    Extremely helpful staff, very accommodating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and very helpful staff, facilities good, close proximity to town,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain fell down just felt some staff a bit last.barstaff were friendly

    Nice and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendlessness, cleanliness, homely, comfortable, brilliant babysitting staff and nothing a problem, will be back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all lovely people but sure could do with serious training in service.

    Nice hotel .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the main bar at evening and nightime was to be honest absolutely awful

    The food was excellent the staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were doors thumping shut which could be heard in the room.

    The hotel was quite grand and spacious and new.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff and service will come again I hope

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    We have stayed in the hotel on numerous occasions , we were over From England for granddaughter communion

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom could have been warmer and more up to date TVs and better choice of channels

    Location and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room beds were lovely changed every day lovely choice of breakfasts will book here again very good hotel even the weather was good!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly hotel very clean food fab and reasonably priced

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered a take away sandwich which was poorly made and not very appetising.

    Bed was nice and room was nice and warm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises in room all night Bed very uncomfortable Very old fashioned Stains and marks in room

    Very nice food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were lovely staff very helpful and food was lovelt

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last orders in restaurant at 9 pm

    Spacious room

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: