Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Great National Hotel Ballina 4 stars

Dublin Road, Ballina, Ireland

#10 of 17 hotels in Ballina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1139 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Helpful information if you are disabled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a disabled mobility scooter client automatic front door and door to bedroom corridor would have been helpful. Also an automatic door to disabled groubd floor toilet. A non slip surface in the wet room bathroom as they had to give us towels to wipe the floor although we did ask for a mop

    The reception staff bedroom meals were excellent. The lifts for my scooter. Easy car parking. The seat in the wet room helpful for my disability

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    The reception staff couldnt have been nicer and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the restaurant were not very friendly...the food wasnt satisfactory and tables at breakfast were dirty and all sticky

    The reception staff couldnt have been nicer and the room was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    very pleasant indeed easy access and parking fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found property difficult to locate and a bit of a way from Ballina you could not realistically walk it for an evening out

    Great room lots of space all facilities in room were fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall my stay was very comfortable and the staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the bedroom a little grubby.

    The bed was very comfortable and the tea and coffee were very good had lovely wee biscuits. Was glad to find an iron in the room also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    The look of the hotel and friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable, would have liked a proper double bed, but apart from that everything was good.

    The look of the hotel and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff warm and friendly, lovely surrounding grounds especially the rose garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my first night stay there was entertainment

    My son really enjoyed the swimming pool. It was a lovely walk to the town centre and the people are really friendly and welcome. The staff in the hotel catered to my every need. The food was gorgeous especially the chicken stuffed with black pudding. My son really enjoyed the BBQ wings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Great stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds s little bit hard for me

    Staff very friendly, check in was fast kids received a kids club welcome bag on arrival (kids club t shirt, colours etc) pool was a good size and changing rooms clean, Nice hot shower after swimming. Nice shower in rooms & room size was big we had king bed & single bed plus camp bed & stil plenty of space. Hotel is just outside the town so 5 minutes drive & roughly 15/20 minutes walk. Good food in the bar we ate dinner twice both times we enjoyed & breakfast was nice. Kids club was a real hit & staff really friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    We had a great time in the Grand National, would highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great, nothing I would change

    The staff were really lovely, helpful and welcoming. The food was great, the room was gorgeous and the pool was great too. Would definitely go back again 🤗🤗

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Room was spacious with a very comfy super-king size bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No signage at main entrance..easy to drive past without noticing the entrance. White lines needed at the entrance to divide it into left and right..very dangerous as it is. Wash-basin in room chipped in two places

    Room was spacious with a very comfy super-king size bed. Lots of parking space. Pleasant walk to town. Breakfast good. Staff friendly and helpful. Relaxed atmosphere Swimming pool and facilities good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Lacking in character. Poor atmosphere in bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel 3.5km out of town. No atmosphere in bar area despite it being the weekend. Felt place was very lacking in character

    Clean rooms. Decent food. Staff helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    My room window looked out onto a blank wall of the leisure...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room window looked out onto a blank wall of the leisure centre which building runs parallel to the bedrooms so little air and no view... Also the room was beside the fire doors which were quite noisy... very few TV channels...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if the pool and gym opened earlier on the weekends- 9am is a little bit late. 8am woupd be perfect. A shuttle bus from the hotel to ballina would be great.

    The staff were lovely. The food was really nice. Hotel was extremely luxurious and fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was fine for what we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find...out of town, room was very hot with no air conditioning and airless during a very hot summer!

    Easy to park, friendly staff, good size, clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable, relaxing and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost all the hot trays were empty when we came down for breakfast at 10:40, breakfast was suppose to be till 11.

    Everything was clean, rooms and beds & bathroom were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Got appointment in spa within an hour of arrival which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room was stained. . It was probably clean but didn't look great. Door in hall beside our room was opening and closing all night. Again this is a fire door so maybe a bit of oil might sort it

    Got appointment in spa within an hour of arrival which was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location just outside of Ballina city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happened to stay during a very warm time in Ireland. Air conditioning was listed in the hotel description, however the rooms do not have air conditioning.

    Fantastic location just outside of Ballina city center. The hotel restaurant is amazing with great staff. Location makes for quiet nights. Would definitely stay here again for the next family trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    It was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked it all.

    We liked the spaciousness and airiness of the hotel and the food was excellent. The pool and spa facilities are a real bonus. We will definitely return to the hotel. Its location allows you to travel to lots of beautiful world class sites where the scenery is unparalleled.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Rooms spacious.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room for Single Occupancy.
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a humming noise coming from the fuse box.

    Rooms spacious. Great shower. Tasty breakfast. Friendly check in. Great value for money. Loads of free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor ventilation, the windows are completely disaster, no ayr in the rooms, i left the place with one day early bicos my partner can't stay any more, my weekend was a disaster

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.2
    Unfriendly staff who made us feel like we were bothering them just by being there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like housekeeping thinking it was good enough to leave filthy cups in our room - this was the second day. Also, we hadn't booked breakfast until we arrived at the hotel. The following morning we were only half way through breakfast and were asked twice if we wanted to pay now. This hotel has gone down hill a lot.

    Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Great National - Ballina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some guests arrived about 10.30pm with kids running up & down the hallway and doors slamming & banging until about 2am. The tables in the di ing room were all sticky even after the waitress wiped ours down.

    Very good value for money and not too far from Ballina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Ideal place for buisness stay over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was off for two hours then when it can back on it was a brown/yellow colour from the Taps. This was resolved after a while but the stench that you get in bathrooms when on holidays was all thag was left!

    Staff were friendly and food in the bar that evening was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Very open and Spacious Hotel, quiet good value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Occupancy.
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The middle-aged lady at the Reception when checking out was not really friendly, no smile or eye contact and barely a thank you, maybe just having a bad morning but I would expect better from a 4star Hotel

    Very open and Spacious Hotel, quiet good value for money with the Leisure and Spa facilities. Was very close to the town 5-10 min walk and upon arriving was greeted very well by a young lady at the reception who was very courtious and friendly, a credit to the Hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    The extremely comfortable queen size bed was amazing, we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Sunday nights the pool closed early so unfortunately we missed the chance to enjoy this facility

    The extremely comfortable queen size bed was amazing, we had the best sleep.. very clean room and the staff were very helpful and pleasant..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed early for kids (7pm) so we didn't get to use it after we checked in. We were hoping to use it early in the morning but it didn't open until 9am which was very late, as most hotel pools open around 7am. We were told swimming lessons were on from 10-11am and we could only use the baby pool at this time. We had to leave early so didn't get to use the pool at all which my daughter was looking forward to using.

    We visited for the Irish Dancing Feis over the weekend, very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Restaurant was lovely and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Ballina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Reception & management were excellent. We had an issue with the location of the room and were moved immediately, query with internet was resolved immediately and when we arrived back to the hotel after restaurant had closed reception arranged for room service - excellent service, most helpful & friendly. Room was modern, clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very spacious bedrooms, and clean. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi were a nice relaxing end to the day. Good breakfast and restaurant/bar. Staff very helpful. 10 mins from Ballina center and only 4 euro in a taxi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Terrible service will not be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was broke and the way in which it was delt with by the staff was dreadful. Ended up sleeping on a old double mattress on a kingsize base with the bed linen thrown on by tbe barman they got to bring down the 'new' mattress. Not even a sincere apology or anything in return was given for the dreadful nights stay.

    The pool to help with the back pain from the poor nights sleep!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    I would return to stay in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very slow, water temperature fluctuated from hot to cold while being in the shower

    Room was very clean and comfortable. The right location for the business trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    A friendly hotel after a long day's driving
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obscure direction signage approaching from Ballina, crying babies in the bar after 7pm and maybe the shower could have been better.

    The friendly staff, the exceptionally large room (just for me!), somebody wheeling a bicycle down the third floor bedroom corridor, camaraderie in the bar, great food (the salmon was delicious) and undisturbed sleep in the comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and restaurant needs to be brought into the 21st. century. Very poor seating. Terrible old fashioned timber floor in bar and restaurant. This area lets down an otherwise lovely hotel. Meal small and not value for money. Very limited menu for coeliacs

    Friendly staff. Very large bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall we had a great stay, unfortunately too worse for...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the bar could be better, maybe more experienced staff

    Overall we had a great stay, unfortunately too worse for wear to enjoy all the facilities but there's always next time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    We had a wonderfully short stay and we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that we didn’t like it, but the receptionist could have looked a bit more presentable. She looked a bit messy and not put together. She did a very good job checking us in and out, however I feel she is the first face you meet in the hotel so she should be well presented.

    The bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Most Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really liked this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and clean. The pool in the leisure centre is a good size and all amenities were working perfectly unlike many places. The food is very good. Overall great value for a mini break !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was wounderful. Breakfast was fantastic and great value. Rooms were clean big beds very comfortable. Staff very Friendly and very helpful. . Evening meal was fabulous. Very good value. 😃 Lesure Centre was spotless. Pool at lovely temperature. Everything works. Had a body treatment from Sara. She is a credit and very pleasant. The treatment rooms are so nice and she made you feel so relaxed. Well done !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Quick visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside ballina town but was perfect location for us as was attending wedding in Mount Falcon just down the road.

    Great value. Nice swimming pool. Friendly staff. Plenty free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel - a pleasant collection of knowledgeable and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall satisfied with the Hotel - The Best Thing Was the Staff Were Lovely. A special mention for Raphelle and Kirsti not forgetting Keenan - these people looked after us and were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellant break great hotel, friendly staff, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellant hotel, staff very friendly, we were upgraded to a bigger room which was great, beds very comfortable, lovely swimming pool, great location its near to the town, breakfast excellant everything you could ask for. would highly recommend this hotel one of the best ive stayed in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay despite the noise at 5am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately on the Sat night, were were woken by a large loud group of people in the next room at 5am. I’m not sure how many people but it wasn’t a couple. We are not light sleepers, the doors were continually banging - most likely as they are fire doors which cannot be helped. I called the reception (it’s unattended) after a certain time it seems. The guy said he would send someone up, after maybe 30 minutes it quietened down. A pity really as I couldn’t fault anything else in the hotel. I would stay here again despite this.

    Staff were extremely friendly and we’re very helpful in organising taxis when required, bar staff were attentive and the food was good. Great selection at breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Excellent holiday destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff in this hotel were excellent and attended to all our needs with a smile and good humour. A special word of thanks to Kathleen who worked on our floor and turned what could have been a disaster into a triumph. She was an amazing ambassador for the hotel. The restaurant was 5 star with a variety of meals to suit everyone. I certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent from start to finish
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was there for family wedding Everything from start was excellent great communication and excellent friendly staff. Have to compliment the cleaning there friendly attitude and smile while completing there duties

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent Value for money / ample parking / rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was only okay - had to ask for tea/coffee. Toaster not working Wifi in the room was only okay and had to go near the window to get coverage.

    Excellent Value for money / ample parking / rooms very quiet and good temperture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Ballina stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    McShanes restuarant wasnt the best. The service was awful, i felt for the one staff member on her own. Food wasnt the best and i had to wait for 5-8 mins to order a pi t and it took over 10mins for it to get to my table.

    The hotel is set just outside the town. Quite peaceful and nice setting. Easy access to main roads for travelling to othrr tourist attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    staff very friendly but ill informed about kids club at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pub menu same as restaurent!!!carpet in room dirty.....staff could mot be more helpful.

    staff very friendly but ill informed about kids club at reception ....2 evenings we ate in hotel.both nites they forgot about our drinks order.. Also first night waiting up to 1 hour for food!...staff really friendly but reall y short staffed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    An excellent choice- in an extremely comfortable hotel-no complaints at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In house entertainment would have capped the stay....we would not have gone into town!

    ALL staff-Receptionist, Waiting staff and Housekeepers were excellent, polite and very helpful. Beds extremely comfortable and the food was delicious and real value for money. Highly recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Spacious rooms and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisiness of the bedroom doors especially at night time. More attention needed to cleanliness in restaurant.

    Spacious rooms and comfy bed. Location was good. Friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.4
    Go with your buddies and not your partner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of bar staff were rude particularly dark haired young lad.the hotel was full of groups of men not really an ideal place to bring your partner . place had no atmosphere whatsoever was like going to morrissey stag do . 2nd time stayed here and was the same more life in a morgue TBH .

    N/A

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    A seamless stay in a beautiful part of Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had a relaxing atmosphere and all staff were friendly and helpful. Bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, the food extremely tasty and well presented and it was great to retreat to the swimming pool at the end of the day. An excellent place to stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful spot to relax in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception we got from Kristi was amazing she was so friendly we noticed from a far she excellent with children as there was a family reunion on. The hotel is beautiful and very well kept. The food was also lovely. Will go back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    We have stayed in this hotel in the past on a number of occasions while visiting Ballina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining room is dark, furniture walls etc. Could do with some brightening up.

    For some reason the room was very warm during the night despite the window being open and the radiator turned off, my wife and I found it difficult to sleep as a consequence.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value. Comfortable rooms with friendly staff and good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lockers in the gym/pool could have been better for residents.

    Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The afternoon tea and pampering package was wonderful and great quality for money. We had such a relaxing stay. Lovely food!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Room was really nice, especially the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in the room needs to be bigger, couldn’t really see it properly from the bed. Food was okay, but nothing special. Not in a good location to eat elsewhere.

    Room was really nice, especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Just returned from a 2 night stay in the hotel with my 8...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just returned from a 2 night stay in the hotel with my 8 year old son. Was such a lovely place to stay. Staff so friendly, rooms spacious and comfortable, pool, steam room, Jacuzzi all brilliant. The selection of breakfast was brilliant, my son especially happy with the fresh pancake machine :) We will definitely return. thank you for a lovely weekend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Gluten free options would be nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten Free options for breakfast other than toast ? So I had fruit and yogurt & toast, scrambled eggs & rashers looked terrible

    Nice & friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Really relaxing, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We experienced a hiccup with our spa treatments, however the hotel manager on duty handled it brilliantly and treated us with the utmost respect.

    The staff were really helpful, the food was beautiful, the room was massive, ample parking, good WiFi and Ballina itself was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not hot Evening meal in the bistro was poor Plates cold no dressing or veg served with mains -very disappointing

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Kids club was great, staff were friendly, hotel overall hotel doesnt deserve a 4 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chaos at check in, smelly room, our booked spa treatment was just cancelled with to apologie or alternative arrangement, very poor furniture in reception area, rat trap in visible in reception area, while building needs a refurb, this hotel does'nt deserve a 4 star rating

    Kids club

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Very nice friendly staff when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean but attention to detail needed in cleaning services. There was a big stain on carpet under the table. There was also complementary packets of tea & biscuits in the room which were already open.

    Very nice friendly staff when we arrived. Very good resturant with good food & plenty of choice. Good pool area for kids.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellant, will be back, had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could fine no faults, except maybe turn the heating down a touch, i found it very warm, but then that could suit alot of people ,i just dont like too much

    lovely room, super king size bed, very comfy. Excellant breakfast. very friendly staff. Great pool. Id highly recommend this hotel. We'll return again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was spotless however shower head needs replaced, breakfast was terrible the first morning the bread was stale, coffee was cold but the second morning it was just beautiful.

    Huge room, staff were brilliant, rooms very clean, leisure centre was lovely, the lady working there was so lovely and very helpful. Great location. Beds are very comfy. Travel cot was waiting in the room when we arrived and it had a great mattress. Definitely would return

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant place to stay with good food, nice staff and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The breakfast was hot and freshly cooked. Wheaten bread a bit overcooked and hard. Rooms quiet and comfortable. Leisure facilities very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely comfortable room, clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area very under-whelming. Not cosy or welcoming. For a Friday evening, only a handful of people in and no atmosphere at all.

    Lovely comfortable room, clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. The Beauty Spot spa was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel with spa on the outskirts of Ballina. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were quite colourless. As my stay was at the weekend and my room was located near reception, I could hear a bit noise through the night.

    Large room and en suite, comfortable bed. Good to have a spa on site.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location when you arrive by bus and you have to walk it in the rain. Still, it was worth it.

    Great value for money during the week. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely comfy hotel and staff. Will stay there again.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no complimentary drink or anything in lieu of lack of facilities.

    There was a power outage when we arrived at the hotel so no leisure facilities but the staff were very friendly and helpful under the circumstances. The restaurant closed early due to hotel running on emergency power so we did not get to dine but we were informed of this on arrival. However, our stay was comfortable and power was restored to the area in the early hours of the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money and very enjoyable for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Occupancy.
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor in the swimming pool is ruff concrete, and is not nice for the feet. The pool it self is very clean, but I found it a little too warm for some lane swimming. The layout of the bar is strange and unpractical

    Close to Ballina's centre, the hotel provides a great location. However there is the low charge during the week that really attracted me to choose the Great National Hotel. The staff are very friendly and I found the waitress in the restaurant extremely attentive and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    The room met my requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room met my requirements. Unfortunately, breakfast was a bit cold, had to wait for fried food to be replaced. I got burnt on toaster. Now having said that the staff were very nice and obliging so any issue we all had was dealt with promptly. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.8
    Okay for an overnight.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable as mattress too soft. No electricity when we arrived and lights went out again when using the bathroom so had to find my way out of it in the dark. Couldn’t use the facilities of the pool as that area was closed also.

    Staff very friendly in the dining room and st reception especially the Moldovan lady on breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, nice food and truly great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were brilliant and especially the Reception staff. My wife is pregnant and found the mattress to be a little soft, so we just asked was there anything that could be done. The receptionist said to leave it with her and she would see what she could do. An hour later a porter knocked on the door and said he would bring us to another room to see if the mattress would suit. Turns out it was the Bridal Suite and the mattress was perfect. Made a an already great stay into something very special. Many thanks to them all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    such lovely staff, gorgeous area and brilliant price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The leisure centre was lovely and has everything and was kept clean, its just a bit dated/old looking

    The staff were so lovely! So helpful across the board, front desk, bar and leisure centre :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    It was very easy to find and when we checked in the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very easy to find and when we checked in the staff were so welcoming. We found the pool facilities excellent as everything was working perfectly and it was open right up to 10 o'clock.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    Served its purpose but attention needed in areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in Restaurant very poor standard. TVs in rooms are far to small and ancient. Pool area needs an overhaul serious attention needed in changing areas and end wall of building is seriously corroded, not a pleasant site.

    Nice chilled atmosphere,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner food wasn't good came out cold for the three nights there. Tables in restaurant was always sticky

    Swimming pool was great Loved the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.3
    awfull
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no water in taps not enough to brush teeth even never mind shave or shower , when i mentioned this at checkout at 12 i was told this had occurred only in the last half hour . other guests said this had been the case all morning . when there was no mention of rate reduction in the circumstances i said i said i hoped bill would reflect this it was reduced by €30 to € 69 i think 50% would have been more appropriate. i wont be back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    radiators off on certain hours .also day curtains were so dirty..stained...breakfast not great either.accomodation girls take off the light card of after service.we left our phones to charge and fridge was on !

    warm water in swimming pool .kids club twice a day .great for kids!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75