Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carnbeg Hotel 4 stars

Carnbeg, Armagh Road, Dundalk, Ireland

#16 of 17 hotels in Dundalk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1774 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    I would tell my friends about this lovely hotel keep up the great work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing about our stay that we did not like. If there are any good deals in the future please let us know.

    100 per cent with every thing. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Staff were courteous and helpful. Night staff as well, we got back late and they were very helpful all round 100 per cent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on first morning bit disorganised. Had to ask for pot of tea .kept running out of food items e.g. eggs/bacon some delays between refilling. Otherwise very tasty and substanial.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool, sauna Jacuzzi v good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Food good value and plenty choice for breakfast even when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee from the bar . Pulled pints in fuction room where sour as like no run on it or not cleaned .

    Food good value and plenty choice for breakfast even when near finishing time . Staff lovely too .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very spacious and clean and tidy. My room was a great size.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Catering for coeliacs. Most of the menu offerings contained gluten, which was very disappointing

    I really liked the pool. It was clean if not a little hot to swim in. The staff were all very polite and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Good :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two course meal option actually made me pay more than if i just chose my two options off the menu which didnt make sense. Breakfast on Sunday morning wasnt good at all, they had nothing out at 10am and breakfast didnt finish until 10.30am

    Most of the staff were beyond helpful and polite. The rooms were immaculate and so comfortable. The view from my room was incredible and the food did taste gorgeous

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noting

    Upon arrival myself and my partner where welcomed with a lovely gentlemen who I think was the manner and greated us very professionally and even gave us advice on whats best to do but we opted to stay in due to long travels during the day but Staff where very good and couldn't do more for you any anytime when there was a query Top marks for the staff and management Would deffently go back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.2
    not good value for money, bit disappointing, wouldnt go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room floor was not clean, bathroom not cleaned correctly, looked like hotel was understaffed. Restaurant downstairs by bar needs more atmosphere Leisure pool needs a revamp, old and needs renovated on plus staff, the staff who seemed very busy given there was only a few of them were all very friendly and helpful

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Very large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in bar/restaurant was terrible. It was empty and waiting times were way too long for food. Food was too salty also.

    Room was large, clean. Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    2.5
    Overcharged us for dinner, never delivered wine we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overcharged us for dinner, never delivered wine we preordered to the room, no staff to be seen for over 20 minutes when trying to check in for our spa appointment and all our emails ignored when we complained. Manager promised us a follow up email after check out that 9 days later we have still not received. Average food, overpriced drinks and no customer service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Adequate for our needs of a stopover but would probably stay somewhere else if they had similar pric
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a lick of paint. Decor looked a bit tired. Dining room could be arranged better

    Chap on reception couldn't be faulted, very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    2.9
    As i said the floor staff were very friendly but under...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely but no senior management to give direction .House kepping staff very not very well trained left our room at approx 11.30 and returned at 6.30 to find towels dumped outside the door on the ground .Full on argument at 3.15 in the morning from next door 304 rang reception didnt seem too bothered .

    As i said the floor staff were very friendly but under trained .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Carnbeg hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well Jacuzzi was cold plus got breakfast in bed that wasn't up to my standard but everything was all good but not what we paid

    Staff was great and lovely hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff were not very professional and our meal was not nice we had terrible service and the pool wasn’t up to standard the showers were cold no hats were available the jacuzzi was cold and the changing rooms weren’t clean. We ordered drinks firstly I wasn’t given what I ordered then our meal took forever to arrive and our starter was brought out with our main dish we asked nicely could we eat the starter before the main and we had to retrieve our own cutlery cause it was not brought to the table .. our starter was to share and we weren’t even given two side plates and it took the waiting staff at least 25 mins to clear the starter when finished. Then our main meals arrived and they looked as though they had been cooked since they were initially brought to us . My chips and peas were cold and there was a skin over the peas and my partners dish looked like it had dried out from being under the light in the kitchen .. we then were told they needed to bring us the bill as they were closing off the till and no desert option was offered. A second waitress came over to repeat that the bill was going to be brought over cause they were finished and when the bill arrived I had to let them know it was only food and the beverages hadn’t been included which I was then told they’d print a separate receipt. It ruined our evening and it was extremely disappointing after paying well for this stay. I have worked in the service industry myself and my partner runs a pub we thought it was very poor to treat paying customers that way and not even to check or be anyway apologetic was totally unfair as the restaurant wasn’t even busy at this time.

    Room was a nice size and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far out of the town, grubby tiles in bathroom. Not a spa bath as advertised. Door to balcony couldn't be opened. Not worth the money for a suite...

    Food in the bar was very tasty. Staff were lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Can't wait to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold breakfast

    We really enjoyed our two night stay here. Very friendly staff, great food, clean room, comfy bed, great spa and leisure centre, beautiful views, relaxed atmosphere and amazing coctails. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Bed very comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening bar staff could be more attentive. had to ask for a menu after a period of time waiting and ask 3 times for glass of water.

    Bed very comfy. Staff freindly and helpful particularly reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had lunch there and food we ordered wasnt in stock we were told 10 mins after we ordered. Asked for coke as drink wasn't in stock either. Very disappointing. Also paid for executive double room and the room was tiny. Breakfast also charge extra for coffee which is very strange.

    Staff were very friendly. Andrew was very helpful at reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Joe the night porter was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room check was v.poor. There was beer and red bull left in the room and the remote control was missing..

    We we're upgraded to a suite which was lovely unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy it fully.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything else was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount that we paid we were sure that breakfast was included in the rate. We ordered it to room and when it arrived the waitress asked for 34 euros.

    Everything else was just perfect. Staff excellent and so friendly from Manager, reception down to night porter.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    great experience really enjoyed the spa facilities, pool was lovely temperature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only thing i could fault was the the time between main course and dessert in the restaurant, there was a full restaurant that night, but staff did apologize for the delay

    Everything was great, staff really helpful and friendly, especially Mia one of the waitresses.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.9
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained all night so there was a horrific noise in our bedroom (we couldnt sleep with it) . Curtains hanging off the rails, dirty

    Nothing the worst hotel we have ever stayed in in Ireland. Dirty, overpriced and very old fashioned

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Staff were extremely attentive and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was lovely , but the small things you had to ask for that's would automatically be given in other restaurants.

    Staff were extremely attentive and friendly. Lived the pool and gym

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Attention to detail required!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food - we had to send back two main meals. The first time we had the pasta and it wasn't cooked properly so swapped for the pork loin which unfortunately was very tough and chewy! And both didn't have taste although we're presented well. In the end we just moved onto desserts! The manager was very helpful though and resolved our concerns! Room - the bath towels were very small and wouldn't wrap around us! Hair in the bath and some webs above the door. Some more webs could be found in the wardrobe and in the entry way. The temperature gauge for the room wasn't working so we woke up and it was freezing in the room! No plug sockets near the bed, could only find one by the tv opposite. Shower pressure very low so struggled to wash my hair properly as well as the temperature gauge being stuck. There was no shower gel in our room and it took 30 minutes for it to be delivered which wasn't ideal as we were in a rush getting ready for a wedding! I showered without. Facilities - iron and board were low quality and could do with being upgraded, it took me a long time to iron my shirt ! Called through to reception a few times but couldn't get through so ended up having to go down myself to get things for the room. Overall the value for money wasn't right for me, I would have expected a bit more quality!

    The bed was very comfy and we had an excellent sleep. The staff were very polite and the restaurant manager resolved our food issue perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Lots of potential, given time ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service. Wrong advice given at check-in re availability of 3-course dinner offer. Young waitress couldn’t resolve issue without losing the head a little. Experienced manager helped by offering a round of drinks. Family room far too small for 5 people; one of us didn’t sleep on a proper bed. Breakfast check-in a mess. In sum, lots of people trying, but an awful lot of staff training required. If successful, this could become an excellent hotel, as facilities are good.

    Excellent swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Getting better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window did not shut properly, mattress needs attention. Just missing the extras you'd expect in an executive double, could not see the difference from standard double. Far too expensive

    Staff are very friendly, improved breakfast from my last stay, some lovely views, has been refreshed and generally on the up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was lovely, when Restaurant not too busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping was poor standard. Top of Window covered in Cobwebs, even though the staff opened the window daily. Bed was not made up but just had duvet thrown over rumpled sheets. Breakfast servings and tables were untidy for late breakfast, and not enough crockery available. Lots of staff but did not seem to be tidying up quickly enough. May also be down to messy guests!!

    Breakfast was lovely, when Restaurant not too busy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with the shower. But the reception sorted it our fast.

    The room was spacious and comfortable with all that you needed for a short break. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff make the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the steam room didnt work..and the shower area was filthy.

    The staff were very friendly and attentive, they're customer service skills were impressive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    House keeping running late even though was 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping running late even though was 3.30 on a Saturday didn’t get checked in until 4 Asked for a double and got 2 single beds Shower wasn’t warm enough temperature and not good power Was advertised as a luxcury corner bath which it wasn’t

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room are OK, but when we arrived we were given the keys for the room but then the room was not finished to be cleaned... we found a dirty towel ''supposedly clean'' but gave it back to the cleaning lady. There was also a hole in the ceiling. Pool area and hamam are really dirty and in bad condition. There was a smell in all the facilities which was not making it realxing nor enjoyable, so we didn't spend much time there. Then our dinning experience was even more disappointing. The waiter really lacked of professionalism and knowledge. We had two waiters who did not speak to each other so none of them knew what we order to the one before .... We were forced to order main course even tho I explained we just wanted starter first while enjoying our drinks and the food later on... So we ended up ordering main course too but they brought our meal before starters which was not how we wanted to spend our dinner night.... Then I had to ask two times for water, and the waiter brought only one glass while we were two... She also brought our bill without asking if we wanted dessert or coffee... We told her we wanted a coffee, she brought it without spoon so my husband asked for a spoon so we could mix the sugar ... she brought only one spoon..... I am really disappointing of my stay I was hoping it could be more relaxing and enjoyable as a 4 stars SPA hotel should be

    The massage treatment we had at Sonas was really nice and the two therapists were really professional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.0
    Lying about room sizes, Cusomer Service is terrible. Won't be coming back ever again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is lying about the room sizes, their Suite is listed on booking.com at 295m2 but in reality is far far from it. It has also listed "Hot Tub" in the description and there was no hot tube in the room. So be careful what you are booking as you might get something else and there is no way you will get your money back as they don't care. Customer service is terrible, i've email them few days ago and still didn't got the reply. Will never go back there as they are lying to customers and not supportive. Customer Service non existing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Very happy and bar staff We're very friendly
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't really like the fact that the breakfast was an extra 10 euro each . As most hotel we stay in breakfast is included in the price ..

    I liked the way the place was out in a quiet place.. There was a debs on the night we stayed but the hotel and staff handle it very well there was no messing out of the kids there went loud would wouldn't even tought there was a debs very well handled

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    No breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no breakfast included in the payment which was very disappointing

    Lovely room with a nice view and very family friendly. Also very clean, comfortable and well kept.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    The beds were quite hard , the grounds and hotel was lovely...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been softer the grounds I would have prerfed if there was more to do ..

    The beds were quite hard , the grounds and hotel was lovely staff outstanding nice and helpful , when we arrived there was no cot in the room which we had requested! Wasn't happy about this, I will say we rang the hotel numerous of times to find out more details, communication was 1/10 disappointedby this , food was great but very expensive!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Food was cold, debs function, silver service a joke, please...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was cold, debs function, silver service a joke, please be aware that you will be charged €100 deposit until you leave, supposed to be a four course meal we only got three courses, how they got a 4 star rating is beyond me as I have stayed at 3 star hotels that functioned properly. I will not be staying here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    The view from the room overlooking Dundalk Bay and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room overlooking Dundalk Bay and the Cooley Mountains was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful and any areas we were in were immaculately clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    The food, was delicious
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carnbeg specials cocktails didnt taste the same as last time, Last time I went it tasted more like a sex on the beach, this time it was far to strong to much of a cranberry juice 😂

    The food, was delicious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    The room was nice and airy, lots of space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found used black hair extensions behind the kettle in our room when we went to make a coffee. We only got 2 milk sachets and when we asked for more to go with the 6 other coffee sachets we were told we can only have what's in the room, a bit disappointing really.

    The room was nice and airy, lots of space

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, lovely chicken wings in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little worn but no real complaints

    Very friendly staff, lovely chicken wings in the bar. Art, the pool attendant, was so helpful and nice he should get a rise! Would love to see the football pitches back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall we had a good stay and I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work properly in our room and although I asked for it to be fixed while we were out for the day, it was still the same when we came back.

    Nice clean modern hotel. Lovely breakfast. Live music in the bar on Saturday night. Went to the pool on Sunday after breakfast and also used the sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, great for a weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was excellent and very spacious. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning again soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some members of staff need training. Some of the waiters didn’t know the layout of the restaurant and put food on the wrong tables. They didn’t ask who was eating what so they just put it on the table and walked away. Bar staff were slow to serve drinks. WiFi is very slow.

    Excellent food. Very clean hotel facilities and a clean room. Excellent value for money. We had an excellent waitress who was very efficient but by the looks of things I think we were lucky.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Good but often stayed in nicer hotels for the same price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel. Girls lovely in the swimming pool very helpful as I brought our baby swimming for the first time. Not the cleanest hotel that's the only downfall bathroom's downstairs in the reception area grubby looking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.0
    Be careful of the revolving door which wasn't working I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Following up on the incident which resulted in me having a CT scan.

    Be careful of the revolving door which wasn't working I had the misfortune to walk into what I thought was an opening but instead walked into a plate glass door and am now suffering from concussion. The manager the following morning seemed concerned and offered us a complimentary stay but since then I've heard nothing from him not even to see if I'm OK.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    4.2
    It was just okay. Not great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor, layout of restaurant. Seats too low for tables Breakfast - scrambled eggs were watery, no yoghurt left. Crockery was dirty Staff didn't appear to know what they were doing.

    Gym

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.6
    Well to tell the truth, it claims to be 4*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well to tell the truth, it claims to be 4*. And I can only blame ramada hotels. Because the overall problem was based down to management above. The management on duty were attentive and seemed to cate to the customers needs, but the hotel claimed to have been renovated earlier this year, and doors not closing properly in steam room (under seats grubby too) and sauna. paint on the skirting boards on the way down to pool area. Dead flies all over one if the stairwells. They bar didn't look new, also the staff couldn't cope with pressure and we're forgetful all the time on simple orders. Overall it's not a great establishment. Also breakfast counter didn't seem to have the basics of a hotel portraying such standards. And I wasn't going to complain other than I received this email

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back soon easy enough journey to tayto park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a wait for a drink at the bar

    The kids really enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was very nice live music was exceptional very pleasant singer and craic was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    Not impressed. ..Won't be rushing back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Hair in the bath, dressing table obviously hadn't been dusted, chocolate on the light switches and mucky finger prints on the TV. The carpet in the bedroom was covered in stains and the walls were dirty. A good steam clean and lick of paint would go along way!! Very disappointing

    The pool was nice. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.8
    Staff were very rude at the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very rude at the bar. They had items on their menu but when I went to order they said they have none.. this happened on both days. The price of the room did not reflect on the room. Bathroom was very poor. Promised mountain view but view was terrible. Will never be returning here again. Complete waste of time and money. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked one of the suites. I was under the impression that we would have a Jacuzzi bath but it was a normal bath but a bigger corner one. This needs to be advertised better. The room itself was lovely and big with balcony but no chairs or table on it which would have been nice. The restaurant was nice and we were greeted by member of staff and Sat down. We then waited 20mins to be brought menu. pleasant girl took our order. Our started came before our drinks. Service was so slow! We then went to bar after meal. My partner stood at bar for 20 mins before being served. Once served he asked for 2 gin and tonics and was told by male waiter that one of the girls would get it. A girl then served him and told him another girl would get it. Knowone seemed to know prices or know what they were doing yet there is a gin menu!! The bar wasn't that busy but when my partner stood for another 20 minutes waiting on second drink we just decided to leave and go to bed. The whole experience has put us off ever returning.

    The staff were friendly. The singer in bar was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    Horrible customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was poor. First of all the bedsheets were dirty with a big old stain, they had been washed but the stain was still there. During the first night we went to the bar downstairs, we sat down and waited for 10 minutes but no one came so I went and asked them if they could give us a food menu. Two minutes after the waitress came and gave us one. We were waiting for more than 30 minutes when a couple sat in the table beside us and were served in seconds. Upset because no one had served us we left. The next day I went to the reception asking for a "do not disturb" sign. The receptionist was very rude and told me there should be one in the room. After explainin him there was not he agreed to bring us one.

    The room was big, the facilities were very pleasant, modern hotel with new features.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    The breakfast and leisure center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy when we arrived due to a wedding. The acoustics at the reception are bad. Had to pay extra for the breakfast.

    The breakfast and leisure center. Nice swimming pool which was open at 7am as well as the.gym

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Good ,apart from curlybap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curly haired staff member of staff on a saturday she kept hovering over us to see if we had finished our food plus she sold us a pup ie a fillet was not a fillet but a sielion, otherwise all was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    The place in general is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Restaurant closes at 9pm. I arrived at 9.15 and the girl who was in the bar was not flexible to allow me to order dinner. I had to drive away into the town to get food. 2. Breakfast can be improve with fresh fruits. 3. The guy in the restaurant should not clean the seats and the table with the same cleaning cloth.

    The view from my room to the fields and the mountains. The room was huge. Very good bathroom. The guy is reception was class, he told me about many places to visit. The building and the facilities are new. I didn´t use the pool but I would like to come back to this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay - but would need to update the surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that the location of the hotel was lovely but that the outside was a bit jaded looking and the branding logo at the entrance looked very amateur. It needs a complete facelift.

    We had a lovely suite as we had been upgraded. We slept really well even with the very warm weather. Our suite was spotless. The staff were very nice. We would definitely go back there. The location is close to the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Located close to Dundalk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located close to Dundalk. Very comfortable, friendly staff. Great size swimming pool on site. Special mention to waitresses we were chatting over a drink with friends and didn’t realise the time- but staff went and checked and we had a lovely meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    very relaxing and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite out of town but taxi service good and only cost 8 euros

    lovely setting and very friendly staff. lunch and breakfast very good. beautiful view from room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.5
    i had booked a executive double room , in the description...
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i had booked a executive double room , in the description on the website it stated that the room had a hot tub, which we didnt get, it was a a double room only but paid for the executive room a little more expensive!, this is false advertising, not happy as this was a night away for my birthday celebrations, I inform reception at hotel and was told that i was lucky to have a bath in my room and that was the hot tub!, and that the Executive room had a king size bed!! so we had a big bed , our bed were 2 singles pushed together, will not be returning to this hotel or book through booking.com again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing. Comfortable. Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Facilities, staff and room cleanliness were all perfect. Comfort was amazing too. Great location outside of the town easy to get to

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, staff friendly and helpful, food excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vaping indoors, in bar and restaurant.

    Great hotel, staff friendly and helpful, food excellent, leisure facilities were very good. This was our second visit, and will be back in the near future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    The bed was comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pubic hair in the bath, on the sides and on the ground. I asked the reception 3 times and cleaner once. The receptionist came up in the end and cleaned it, humming away to herself as if it was nothing. I had a one and a half year old with me and just felt i couldnt wash him in the bath.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Better then any of my stays at other hotels, I think polite staff made it welcoming
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont think there is any thing i can say I disliked

    I loved it Although it could be doing with a few more activities As am.not a big drinker, golf etc at the hotel would of been more fun!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows hard as stone, booked for B and B and the staff tried to do us out of the breakfast. All fur coat and no knickers, won't be staying again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    I would choose this hotel again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed one night, bed only. The reception was very good. The room was exceptionally well laid out and very comfortable. A very comfortable, above the norm room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were far too hot and when requested room to be close to the elevator about 2 weeks beforehand, we were put in the second most futherest way room from the elevator.

    The staff were warm and welcoming, room was very clean and food was decilous for both breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Definitely would not be considered a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked fpr a superior double room and payed an extra €20 on top of a standard double, if the room we were in was a "superior double room" i wouldnt like to see the standard double. There was no even mini fridge in the "superior room" not what you would expect from a 4🌟 hotel. Our room on entering was dirty. Theyre were grapes on the floor from previous guests and the wall above the headboard was full of fake tan handprint marks (not very pleasant of a thought lol). When we ventured downstairs for something to eat and a few drinks, they firstly had run out of chicken fillets in the kitchen and the tiny part of the bar they had open was completely dead with no even back round music and completely lacked any atmosphere. The pool was small but still nice but the changing rooms were dirty and smelly.

    The grounds are really nice but could still do with better maintenance but was still quite nice to walk around. At 11 o clock that night we were peckish and with no option of any type of food in the hotel we ordered chinese to be delivered from "Golden Chopsticks". They delivered direct to the hotel and it was delicious!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    great hotel and we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we had only booked one night

    everything was first class.andrew at check in would be a credit to any hotel.the value for money here is excellent for accommodation and meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel and room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Husband and I got married the day before our stay. When booking the room I had mentioned this. On arrival the man at reception congratulated us on getting married and we went up to the room, 15 minutes after arriving there was a knock on the door and we where given a bottle of procecco in ice and two glasses! I thought this was compliments of the hotel only to be embarrassed two days later to learn my friends had arranged this to have something special for us. My friends had called the hotel specified we were newlyweds where they were promised we would get an upgrade and told the champagne and Note would be there when we got to the room. They had paid for the champagne asked for strawberries in the glasses along with a note (my friend offered to drop one up but was told they would do it). I was so embarrassed i did not thank my friends for the suprise, that i was lend to believe the hotel gave the champagne and that my friends thought i was goin to get a lovely suprise of an upgrade with champagne and strawberries in the room and it never happened. In my opinion this was handled terribly and so disappointed in the staff that lend my friends to believe they would do something nice which was never followed through on.

    Hotel and room was clean. Great facilities and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Will be coming again as soon as I can
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impressive. Beautifully located, great food, luxurious beds, friendly courteous attentive staff, spotlessly clean, excellent food. Keep it up you are brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited ages to get served dinner. nearly an hour went past and waitress came back to check what our order was and possibly only gave it to the kitchen at that stage. Breakfast was a busy time but still not really worth what we paid. it was nearly the same price as our dinner mains and it was not cooked to order and it was help yourself buffet. Nobody at reception when we went to check in. Left waiting a few minutes until somebody came out of a back office.

    casual feel to the place was nice. they accomodated us in the restaurant as we were late arriving and just got in before restaurant closed. friendly accomodation staff who gave us anything we requested when they knocked on our door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn't have been friendlier, when I had a little car trouble they helped me out straight away. The room was clean and a nice size. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing weekend away
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room me and my partner shared had very thin walls and could here people talk from the next room as our room had a door that lead into another

    The food was absolutely gorgeous and the alcohol was at great prices the venue is amazing and very relaxing the bed was amazing to sleep in very comfortable and staff were very helpful and extremely nice to us which was very welcoming for us and made it worthwhile going absolutely loved the experience it's worth going so sad we had to leave. Such a lovely weekend away definitely will go back for food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice big room, fancy looking but a joke of a bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water to shower or have a bath at night after a concert we went to. Grubby looking bathroom with exposed pipes under sink Just a standard bath, thoughts where getting a spa bath in the room. Bathroom door sticks to the frame, need a lot of force to open and close it. The fancy view we expected was over the car park.

    Big room in the suite room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    pleasant
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested ironing board and iron and never got it, was going to a wedding so had to borrow one from another family member staying at hotel

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.0
    We got told our room was unavailable at 8pm although I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got told our room was unavailable at 8pm although I had rang to confirm 2 hours earlier and was told things were fine. We were rebooked to the crowne plaza which was nice but offered no spa facilities. Was also told management would be in touch and have heard nothing from them (5 days ago). Extremely unprofessional.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: