Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of RiverHouse Hotel of Temple Bar 2 stars

23-24 Eustace Street, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#133 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1578 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had no airflow no aircon, ie window did open but aircon units outside and noise makes it not possible at night, stank of cigarettes and musty, very hard to sleep, bed was beyond its days, felt very over charged for what I received. Sorry

    The staff were helpful in location advice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy room no way of opening a window kept falling down, if a fire were to happen this would be a hazard. Toilet seat al broke handle to flush the toilet broke, bulb missing above bed, creaky floorboards could hear people walking above us. Rooms completely out a date need of serious refuburishment how this place is allowed to open I do not know.

    Plenty hot water

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awful! Pictures do not match website, dirty room, cobwebs, broken lights and plug socket fixtures broken, unfriendly staff, filthy bathroom with mould growing! Loud all day and night, stinking of smoke!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never normally write reviews so goes to show how bad this hotel is..The location is far too nosy, forget about getting any sleep. No lift available so if you have any luggage you will need to drag them up flights of stairs. The hotel is quite small which id get over but extremely dated. First impression was room was clean but then we found pencil sharpenings inside the bed and hairs on the sink meaning they obviously hadnt been clean since the last person. There was no hot water and the shower didn't work properly. The tv was an extremely old portable that barely worked and was hard to watch. Also be careful as in the small print there's a 450e accident deposit they may ask for and you get refunded next day-we weren't asked for it but it's in the small print and easily missed!!the staff were fine but the hotel gave more of an impression of a overpriced hostel then a hotel. Bed was ok but felt for a double bed it was small.i felt the hotel was taking advantage of its location and really didnt give a damn about its customers.over all wasn't happy with the hotel and wouldn't recommend anyone staying there-won't be going back!

    The location was pretty close to everything-3 arena about a 30 min walk if you wanted to go by foot-olympia theatre around the corner..everything else pretty close by and perfect for a night out in temple bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was boiling, booked a double bed but given two singles and also there was a small blood stain on one of the towels

    The location is central and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot, not very clean and bathroom was fixed with duck tape!! Elevator was broken and by the look of it, had been for a long time. (Furniture was placed on the front of the door.)

    Location was good, outside looked nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was nicely appointed but I had great difficulty turning off the shower; room itself needed redecoration; TV did not work; no view. Main problem was noise: extremely loud music until 1.30am.

    Convenient location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning , complained twice and nothing done about heat in the room Bath provided but not bath plug Window only opens 4/5 cms

    It was a very central hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot, bed was awful dipped in the middle really uncomfortable not great value for money really needs work doing on the rooms

    Location and nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the building is old and the bathroom shower had mold in the floor of it. The old carpet smelled bad.

    Very friendly and helpful receptionist and the rooms were very clean with comfortable beds and bedding. I like that there were two bathrooms and three beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was directly above the bar, where a live band played late in to the night, making the furniture in my room vibrate it was so loud and the music kept me awake until 2am. It was also really hot, the TV didn't work, the bed was uncomfortable (I could feel all the mattress springs) and everything about the whole place just seemed old and tired.

    Good central location, with lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small with double bed but the room for 2 people would be too small. The floor creaks with every single step which is pretty annoying. The hotel is located just next to the pub so you can hear the music clearly until the late hours. The bathtub was clogged too.

    Fantastic location, just in the middle of the Temple Bar. Great service, very friendly, helpful and open people at the reception. Great places in the area to eat, drink, do some walking and sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken doors, broken lights, broken lift, no smoking rooms which smelt of smoke, filth, mold, expensive but tiny rubbish rooms, mattress with 3 good springs...I could go on!

    I am sure when the hotel opened it would’ve been clean and basic it’s now neither clean or basic!!! My worst accommodation experience in over 20 years of visiting Dublin!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms bear no resemblance to the photos on Booking.com. Tiny rooms, no working TVs in either of the rooms we had, furniture chipped and broken, horrible dirty carpets, broken light in room, view was of building material being stored on the roof top right outside our window.

    The towels and bed linen were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's basic but clean and central. Ask for a room on a higher floor if the music from the bar will bother you as it is loud and goes on late.

    Central location. Good value. Big room for three lads down for a gig in the 3arena. We were on the 1st floor right above the bar but the noise below didn't stop us from sleeping. I had my fears after reading the other reviews but it was basic clean a bit tired in places but despite all that I would stay again and that's the real barometer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Repair and maintenance non existent just shabby shower fitting coming off the wall. No coat hangers.no tea or coffee in room no lip brush no hooks they had been ripped off.No telly the list goes on for 134 euros. They should hang there heads in shame.

    Cannot recommend this property.overpriced for this shabby hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room Tiny ,wheels on bed broken and sticking out. stubbed my toe I don't know how many times. base of bed on the floor where the wheels used to be, Hotel needs total upgrade/complete renovation. On a plus side, location is fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy. We couldn’t sleep because there was a pub next to the hotel and you can listen everything. The smell of the bedroom was awful. We change our room from the first to third floor but the noisy and unclear room was the same.

    The ubication was excellent because it is in temple bar. You can go walking everywhere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was mold on the bathroom ceiling, the bed's uncomfortable, the toilet seat was loose and it was damn loud. The only thing that justified the price was that it was central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where not the size advertised, ie a double room (as advertised was a tiny room with a double bed in it there was no room at the foot of the bed as it was touching the wall. It was outdated and not very clean!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reading lights beside the bed didn’t work, one was eve missing a bulb. We had troubles turning off the shower because the knob was almost impossible to turn. It took us a good 5min to do it. You could just tell overall that the hotel hasn’t had any touch ups in a while. Not worth almost 200€ a night. We only spent one night there so it was fine.

    As everyone says, the location is absolutely amazing. The late check-in (1am) was also no problem and after check-out it was possible to leave your bag at the hotel for a few more hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room on the 3rd floor: Lift not working, room too hot, no AC, window would not stay open, fire alarm went off three time in the night for no reason, shabby décor, sink broken, furniture chipped and stained.

    The hotel was very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a hostel. Fire alarm went off in middle of night and nobody came to reassure us. Door handle on room door totally wonky. No chair in room.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    False Fire alarm on 15.05 15 at 03.15 hrs caused the residents to run down the stairs in their pants. The same was repeated next morning on 03.30 hrs. Squeaky floor, noise until early morning hrs.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room, a lot of noise from the Temple Bar party folks the whole night, TV not working at all, took up to 10 minutes before warm water was available, wrong fire alarms during two nights

    Friendly and very helpful staff - great experience! Very central location at Dublin city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding and furniture very dirty, found labels from jan which means the room has not been properly cleaned in 4 months. No breakfast. No coffee/ tea maker. No hairdryer. Toilet doesn’t work and has not worked since we came into the room. Rooms are tiny and a bed just about fits. Very very disappointed considering I paid £150 for this mess.

    The location was very central and the only reason we stayed in this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down. Not worth the money. Disgusting mattress, no protectors between mattress and sheets. Blood stained mattress. Shower unbelievably poor, could hardly wash my hair in there. Run down, dated not particularly clean. Very disappointed. Not worth the £450 paid for it for a 3 night stay, rip off, dingy and unclean. Although over all, staff were nice people. Doesn’t make up for the run down over priced hotel or should I say hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and we were on the fourth floor. Outdated room, no tv as it was not digital and did not work. The fittings were shabby. Carpet was old and tired. Had to bend down to shower and the shower sprinkled not sprayed. Felt like a hostel not a hotel.

    The location was brilliant for Temple Bar. Bed was comfy and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very simple and outdated. Bathroom was broken with a lot of noise and could not be fixed. Lift was not working so you had to climb stairs everytime. Wifi was not working in the room on the first day. Keys have to be given to reception every time you leave, not a very secure feeling. I was offered another room on day 2 because of the noise in bathroom but the only other room i could have was on the 3rd. floor which meant even more stairs to climb, did not do it for that reason.

    The only good thing of this place is the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a dump. Dark, dingy, run down and dirty. Spoke to the manager saying my room looked nothing like the website, he told me to take a picture and said pics on a website never look like reality. Basically, all their pics are photoshopped. Location is central bar, i knew it would be noisy so i brought earplugs. But it felt like i was directly above the band. The lift didnt work. The handle on the door wasnt secure, so security was an issue. Parts of the room were falling apart, there were bare exposed electrical wires. The list went on and on. A hostel wouldve been better than this place

    Leaving

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood noise into the wee hours totally prevented any reasonable expectation of sleep. Overseas travel requires adjustment and this really hampered feeling good while trying to explore the city.

    Staff very friendly, answer all questions and always pleasant. Internet was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not one to complain but I do r not want people to go endure what I did. I went here for my mums 50th. The location was outrages! And there was no shower. I did not stay a night I booked a travelodge. When I called booking.com the contacted reception and they agreed to a refund of 161 euros. When I went down to sort this out the receptions was extremely irate he had clearly being drinking and had a pint on the reception table. After 3 days of callling and being told lie upon a lie. People claiming to be other people. The manager never being around etc I have given up and only revered 80 euros. Pleas save yourself the painful experience and costly experience I have had and book elsewhere!

    I can honestly say nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was broken in our room and stuffed with towels. Not sure why someone thought that laying towels flat in a hole in a bed would fix it, but it will tell you all you need to know about this "hotel".The fact that they knew the bed was broken but still allowed guests to pay to stay there shows a distinct lack of respect for thier clientele that can't be understated. When I told the staff about the state of our room they asked me if I would like a refund instead of trying to offer an alternative. Believe me I did not want to stay there either but it was 4 o clock and I had plans at 6, I didn't feel like trapsing around the city looking for another hotel. Eventually,we were given a second room which also had a broken bed and mold on the ceiling. The shower did not work properly in either room, one room was missing a kettle despite there being cups and coffee provided in the room. Everything was cheap and of abhorrent quality. Curtains and carpets stained, sheets as rough as sandpaper and don't get me started on the toilet paper. If you somehow still believe that you would like to give this place a "chance" don't for a second think that you'll get a wink of sleep. The noise from the bar downstairs goes on well into the early hours of the morning, it is temple bar so some noise is to be expected but this is excessive and the single glaze windows will do nothing to keep it out. Not that you could sleep on a broken bed anyway so the issue of noise is moot. It's an absolute disgrace to call this a hotel, let alone charge people €100 to have the displeasure of staying there. If you have the gall to charge people this much money the least you could do is invest some of that money back into the hotel and make it fit for purpose.

    I can't recommend this place at all, it's utterly atrocious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where should I start? Just awful. Dirty, smelly and just the worst I have ever seen. I tried to solve the smelly part by opening the window, but that didn’t work because it wouldn’t stay opened. I had to wedge the water heater between there to leave the window open. Neither the window or the door where really save. To open the window you just have to lift it(from the outside), and the door opens with a credit card. Tried to lock the door but just as you expect by now it didn’t work. Please read these commentaries people and save yourself a trip to this hotel. If you like loud Musik until early in the morning and not sleeping this is the right choice for you. First I thought that somebody was playing Musik in the room besides me but as it turned out it was the Pub just beneath the room. I bought a bottle of water to was my teeth because I didn’t wanna use the glass or nothing that was in this disgusting room. I drop some coins by accident and I considered leaving them on the floor. If you plan on staying in this hotel in the near future, than do the right thing and cancel your reservation and go live under some bridge. You are way better of. Please read this and stay away from this nasty hotel. P.S. one and a half day later I’m itching all over the body...

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to move rooms as my window didn't shut, the bathroom floor in the new room was a bit worn and the room had a foul smell in it as I went in.

    It was very central for all city centre activity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here a year ago and the room was lovely and clean however this time it wasn’t great. Bathroom could do with a refurb, it’s seen better days. It was very loud we had to have the windows open as the weather was beautiful but then the hotel had the heating on!

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel is very central it would do with a make over rooms are dated also music from the bar / nightclub attached to the hotel very noisy late into the night

    The management and staff are efficient and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My first impressions were not entirely positive but in the end I was very pleased with my stay.

    The room was comfortable and very quiet with a great view over peaked roofs and chimney pots. Worth the 5-story climb (no elevator). The shower in the bathtub was a challenge to use as it is tucked up under a slanting wall under the roof; better to use the tub. More than just acceptable given the really great location and affordability. And the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was more the size of a single bed. Loud music to early morning 2-3 am. But what else could you expect in Temple Bar 😃

    Perfect location in Temple Bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is next door to a bar so you can hear the night life, especially if the room is facing the street. There didn’t seem to be any control of the room temperature, and I think it would have been more comfortable if, as customers, we had control of the temperature or if there was extra bedding/blankets.

    It was in a very good location, close walking distance to many attractions and to the bus stops. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating throughout the entire stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift wasn’t working and we we’re on the top floor. We accidentally over paid by €10 and we didn’t get it back. It was a very noisy room but I don’t mean that people were making noise, the floors creaked, you bathroom pipes made noises and it sounded like the water was constantly running.

    Very close to temple bar pubs. Beds was comfy and the room was clean enough. Good enough if you just need somewhere to sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on your site do not match what I stayed in. The lift was out of order. The room had an awful view. The furniture was old and dilapidated. You could hear everybody stomping past and down the stairs. The noise from the bar below went on until the early hours. The shower would not turn off. The toilet didn’t flush properly.

    The location to Temple Bar area, River Liffey etc is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t a huge problem but around 2/3 am the noise from the pub next door got super loud and it was impossible to sleep with an open window but considering where the hotel is located, you can already expect the noise

    Everything about the room was the way i expected, nothing messy or dirty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very shabby, furniture falling apart and dirty, so much so that my husband refused to even unpack. Windows hadn't been cleaned for months so you could hardly see out. However, the view was not worth looking at as it was a section of the roof and that was full of discarded cigarette ends. There was approximately 3 inches between the bed and the wall. The room was very warm with no air con and the window had to be propped open by a coffee cup. The bathroom looked OK but I didn't actually use it as we only stayed for about half an hour, just long enough to book somewhere else, however, the toilet cistern was coming loose from the wall. The room rate of £120.00 per night is about 10 times what it should be. In fact, it shouldn't be sold as a hotel at all as I wouldn't house my dog here. Unfortunately, we couldn't find room photos before we booked and we were so anxious to leave that we didn't take any photos either.

    George the receptionist was very helpful. Location was very central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of reviewers mentioned the noise, as did the lady at reception when I checked in. They’re not wrong. Best time lights out as late as you can, because the band’s shaking the building’s bricks til 03.00. Or - like me - have enough pints to ensure the band are complaining about your snoring, rather than the other way round!

    Great location. Simple basic room. Friendly, honest staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I knew that there was a bar located under my room since I would have mentally prepared my self that they would have me up until 3am

    its locates in a great location to explore, eat, and shop. Great price for the room and staff are really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sign a complaint waiver when we arrived to notcompain about the noise - room was above a bar that played music till 3AM, DJ may as well have been in our wardrobe. Shower was terrible and covered bathroom and roof, had to take it off and shower from the under hose. Very expensive for rubbish hotel but great location. The photos lie or it’s another hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It could have been a bit cleaner, but it was clean enough. The main issue was the noise. There is a music club downstairs, which has its benefits, but it is loud at night. We also had very loud people in the room next to us, which really was a nuisance for the first 2 nights, although the staff did everything they could to help.

    Reception staff was very helpful and friendly. We felt welcome and safe there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understanding that it is old, but major renovations need to happen. The place is rundown with dirty looking curtains and floor. Mold was everywhere in the shower tiling. Came close to leaving first night but had already paid. Room we had was on the street and was loud all night long.

    Location was decent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't feel safe leaving bags to be held for the day before check in, we were told it would be better off to not leave our bags and to ensure there was no money or valuables in them as they were kept in a wardrobe at reception and management had no responsibility over the bags, staff not friendly or accommodating, very noisy - construction early in the morning and music from downstairs until late at night, terrible shower which was falling off the wall and got the entire bathroom wet, rooms not clean - felt grubby, our original room was on the top floor - very small. Staff had discussions among themselves while checking us in, had to leave key at reception whenever we left the room

    Good location, switched rooms without any problems

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every single thing about the hotel. It should be shut down. It’s a kip!! I found dirty clothes and underwear in the cupboard from a previous person who had stayed there.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While there was a notation about renovations underway, they were more extensive than anticipated. Elevator was out. I did not have hot water in first room. Switched rooms with no problem. Internet was spotty.

    The location was great; In the heart of Temple Bar / Dublin City Center. Price point was on target. Interacted with several different staff. Everyone was engaging and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but in a state of disrepair, everything was old, dated and the bathroom was dingy and frankly disgusting, so much so my son refused to get into the shower, the ceiling tiles were dirty and falling off in places. The hotel boasts it is family friendly, while they were great with my child, he had to wear ear defenders just to sleep as the noise from the club , nowhere on the site does it state explicitly that club mezz is actually attached to the hotel and this makes for a difficult and almost impossible night's sleep for adults if you are drinking in Temple bar and arrive home not really minding! Not at all what i was expected for 149 euro for the night! I would make this explicitly stated on the hotels page as anything is misleading. Only we arrived too late for any moves and no one asked me how my stay was and left me little opportunity to make any comment.

    Staff were friendly, hospitable and nothing was too much trouble! Bonus for the hotel. The hotel room could not be closer to the temple bar itself and handy to everywhere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in the centre of the bar district, so we were not able to sleep because of the club goers and partygoers. Great for someone who wants that, but not it you want to sleep at night.

    It was close to the activities we wanted to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this hotel, the facilities were appalling! Not to mention that the 'new' receptionist made an error and charged my card twice! The price might entice you but I will definitely pay the extra for a decent place to stay! We couldn't wait to check out the following morning

    N/A

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place was a dump! Whoever posted the photos of the property should be arrested for false advertisement. The floors haven't seen a vacuum for a while, some numbnuts set the fire alarm off (because they were smoking in the room) on both nights we were there. Elevator broken.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy and no warning about it. No working WiFi, no elevator, no blow drier (had to borrow one from front desk and being it back as soon as I was done in case someone else needed it)

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact the staff blamed me and my friend (non smokers) for smoking in the room and asked us to pay a “fine” so as the room was booked on my card my friend advised me to cancel it which I done and then when in contact with the bank they had said they “hotel” tried taking two separate payments one for €100 and the second for €60 and the first attempt was when we were still in the room without any consent given

    Leaving the next morning

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute shocking service very rude also manager wasn’t very nice to the trainee on the front desk.We went to the room asked for single beds and got double bed only to be told it’s the only room left in the place -very unlikely.Lost our key by accident and they were bribing us for 100e end up they asked for 10e to cut another key.Room door wasn’t safe and place was barely worth its money -never again tbh

    Nothing basically,just location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is aged and slightly run down. Rooms are above a bar and noise was definitely an issue. Although not hotels fault, fire alarm went off three times in one night. Smelled of smoke and window sill had a lot of cigarette butts on it.

    Location and staff were nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel is directly located in top of a bar. Its not just loud as hell, it is dirty, strange people living there and we was very scared by this hotel all night. Beds were broken and accomondation is horrible. Don't book this

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sadly, my girlfriend and I had a very negative experience here. We stayed over St. Patrick's weekend and whilst we knew costs would spike for the festivities, we ended up paying €660 for 4 nights for a twin room. We accepted the cost as of course demand was through the roof and we wanted to be a part of the fun! We would have accepted this cost and got on with our weekend had we not then experienced 3 of those 4 mornings without warm water from the showers. In addition to the lack of hot water we were also located (along side our 3/4 neighbours along the corridor) directly above the live band playing covers of Lynyrd Skynyrd and Brown Eyed girl on repeat every 30 minutes until 3am every night. The doors were almost falling off the hinges and were paper thin. Every time someone along the corridor closed their door, it felt like someone was entering your room. To top this off on the last night there were three fire alarms that occurred in gaps of 2 hours making fully sure that we did not get any sleep. The staff were lovely, welcoming and it's such a shame that they were not able to then, despite all of these humongous shortfalls as a hotel, accept and acknowledge their faults with fair monetary compensation for the lack of hot water and a good night's sleep they had charged for so greatly. I would not recommend it to anyone unless you are desperate to get a room in Dublin, then and only then as a last resort.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not one to complain and I have nothing to complain about

    perfect location for where we needed to be , its not the Hilton and wasn't expecting it to be but for the money I was more than happy the staff we spoke to were all friendly and down to earth would I visit again yes I would without a doubt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise , but was expected, also random drilling at 3am

    Room had great heating. Staff went above and beyond to help us including fixing our window at 10pm. Loved it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Card machine wasn't working when I tried to pay and the shower wasn't very good (head control and bad shower head).

    Location and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poky room, very tired fixtures and fittings. Poor shower facilities. Overpriced accommodation, paying purely for location of central Dublin.

    Location, location, location. Bed was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no temperature control in the shower and you risked getting scalded with hot water. The shower would vary from ice cold to dangerous hot in seconds at random.

    It’s location was ok but loud at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility needs to be cleaner. My non-smoking room smelled like smoke, and the overall room and hotel is rundown and awful. Its loud, there is a pub downstairs you can hear on the second floor. When I asked for cleanliness and other things they seemed to be out upon to do it. My request was for a clean shower curtain. I also asked them to vacuum as My floor was dirty. My stay was a week and I left here after the first night. It was that bad. Don't be fooled by online pictures. I thought it was old but we'll maintained and serviceable. Save yourself the headache and pay more for your accommodations. Awful.

    The only good thing about Riverhouse is it's location. Its located within minutes from Temple Bar and other attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were checking at reception to room 411 the gentleman at seemed embarrassed to be taking 200 euros from us, so much so that he tried to see if there was anything he could do about the price but couldn't. We soon found out why this was the case, the elevator was broken so we had to walk up to the 4th floor and the room and ensuite was tiny, smelly and dirty but the main problem was the noise!!! We did not get a wink of sleep with the constant noise coming from the pipes in the room and wall behind the headboard. I'm guessing they were either immersion or heating pipes but they were continually making loud banging and gushing noises over and over and over again, so much so that at 5am my wife had to put on head phones! You can imagine in the dead of night it would sound a lot louder than normal! We spoke to a different person when checking out the next morning and he apologised and said he'd get the manager to email us but they never did. I sent them 2 emails but no reply! We really feel that we were ripped off and that they are fully aware of the noise coming from that room!! Do not stay at this hotel, especially room 411.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should be removed from your website. I cannot express how ridiculously bad it was. After a night out, I came home to get j to my bed to find numerous small insects in my bed, in the bathroom, on the carpwt and around the dressing table area. I later found out that these were bed bugs!!! I thankfully didn’t sleep in the bed as I went straight down to reception to complain at 3am. I was infomred that there was no other rooms available. I then was told that a room from the area of the hotel which was being renovated could be made available. This was a double room with a small double bed. I was travelling in a party of three and had booked a triple room. Eventually the receptionist realised that there was no other option but to refund me in full (at his request not mine- although I was just about to ask!). We were then given an alternative room. It was a double room. A single room in the area of the hotel which was being renovated as became available (despite being told there wasn’t any rooms left!). The single room was not habitable. The bathroom could not be used. It was in the process of being ripped out. There was rubble, old titles and grime lying everywhere. The room was thick with dust (in asthmatic) and it was freezing. The heating was broken in that single room and the toilet was unable to be used as the plumbing was off due to the renovations. This resulted in myself and my friends requiring to share a small double bed (3 grown adult females). It was utterly unacceptable from start to finish. The only thing they did correct was refunding us!!!! I did attempt to call other local hotels for an alternative room elsewhere but as the rugby was on everywhere was fully booked. I will not be staying here again and will ensure that others are made fully aware of the filthy, disgusting conditions. I’m truly shocked that booking.com would endorse this hotel!!!

    This hotel should be removed from your website. I cannot express how ridiculously bad it was. After a night out, I came home to get j to my bed to find numerous small insects in my bed, in the bathroom, on the carpwt and around the dressing table area. I later found out that these were bed bugs!!! I thankfully didn’t sleep in the bed as I went straight down to reception to complain at 3am. I was infomred that there was no other rooms available. I then was told that a room from the area of the hotel which was being renovated could be made available. This was a double room with a small double bed. I was travelling in a party of three and had booked a triple room. Eventually the receptionist realised that there was no other option but to refund me in full (at his request not mine- although I was just about to ask!). We were then given an alternative room. It was a double room. A single room in the area of the hotel which was being renovated as became available (despite being told there wasn’t any rooms left!). The single room was not habitable. The bathroom could not be used. It was in the process of being ripped out. There was rubble, old titles and grime lying everywhere. The room was thick with dust (in asthmatic) and it was freezing. The heating was broken in that single room and the toilet was unable to be used as the plumbing was off due to the renovations. This resulted in myself and my friends requiring to share a small double bed (3 grown adult females). It was utterly unacceptable from start to finish. The only thing they did correct was refunding us!!!! I did attempt to call other local hotels for an alternative room elsewhere but as the rugby was on everywhere was fully booked. I will not be staying here again and will ensure that others are made fully aware of the filthy, disgusting conditions. I’m truly shocked that booking.com would endorse this hotel!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of an update in facilities and decor, just a bit tired looking.

    You get what you pay for. If you want somewhere cheap, near the city Centre or the Olympia theatre it’s good. I found the staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in our room when we first arrived , we were on the top floor but the lift was out of order , noise levels were really high from outside ,wasn't very clean

    The staff were lovely , great location ,and good music in their bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard to sleep with the loud whining noise from the plumbing in the room. The TV was broken with a bad signal and couldn't be watched. The view was overlooking whatever trash was left behind on the roof below.

    Extremely well located with friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Its was so so so Noisy due to construction work. The staff did apologize for it but thats a general Irish behavior, being nice and friendly, but the hotel was not good. Its congested.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower hopeless and would give you either hypothermia or third degree burns, but only at a trickle!! Tiled floor cracked with sharp edges! No plug in basin and overflow pipe on cistern hanging off! Stash window able to open if you had The Rock and one of his big mates to help you!! Room was clean but in major need of updating, 1970’s calling!! TV needed a decent Ariel but who need TV when you are in Temble Bar

    Reception very polite helpful and friendly. Location at the beating heart of Temple Bar, just what we wanted Room was clean with tea/coffee facilities and reasonable in size.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: