Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort 4 stars

Atlantic Drive, Downings, Ireland

#3 of 6 hotels in Downings

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 42 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because so few people were around it lacks atsmosphere but the rooms are stunning, very spacious and comfortable

    Excellent hotel but it was practically empty, very few guests but apparently it is busy from July until September

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good place to stay, although it seems to have lost some of its atmosphere. The evening meal is overpriced in comparison to what else is available in the area. But we enjoyed our stay and have no complaints. And am happy to recommend it to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mediocre bar menu and be aware that you have to be a guest to use this menu as one staff member informed us rather brusquely. Did'nt like his attitude so we walked out and dined in the town.

    This is primarily a golfers hotel but was ok. Was very quiet for end of July and did'nt appear to have many guests. Rooms clean and comfortable. Great view of the beach. Most of the staff seemed friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The resturant manager decide on our last day that because we were 5 mins late for our 10am breakfast table that we would have to sit at the naughty table. He stated that he did not have any two seat tables available. This is not a B&B, its a 4 star hotel and - sir give me two mins to re set a table would not have been a huge ask? his focus clerely was on setting up for lunchtime rather than the customer in front of them

    The resturant 'serving' staff were fab. Bell boy was very helpful. Reception staff were alouf.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Itwas our first time to stay at the Rosapenna hotel and we were very impressed from arrival until departure the ambieance and the staff excellent standard of service, room comfort, food couldnt have been better really enjoyed our stay just a pity it wasnt longer, will definitly be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast selection esp fruits was fantastic. Did not eat there as 1 - too expensive for our liking and vegetarian option poor. Like so many places veggie tends to mean lots of melted cheese. Why - all steaks do not come dripping in melted cheese.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, stunning location, excellent customer service, delicious breakfast, enormous bedrooms and enormous modern bathrooms. Cannot recommend highly enough!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellant staff very pleasant and especially the two staff at the pool/we felt that the long sitting room was nota place to relax in, it needs a bit of home comforts it feels too like a long waiting room /but the lobby at the front is beautiful /

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel reception staff were particularly welcoming and didn't offer any information on the area that we may have been interested in

    View from our room was fabulous overlooking the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit dated relative to other hotels of its type but fine comfortable and clean. WiFi a bit erratic.

    The location is second to none Food and friendly helpful staff also excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had difficulty turning on and off the shower. Would have liked some biscuits along with the tea and coffee in the room.

    Lovely big room with a great view of the beach. All the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Great service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was accused of not paying

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A friendly relaxing hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Walking along the beautiful beaches and dinner in the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great golf experience! Two courses each special in their own way. Staff were very helpful, room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sandy Hills had two temp we greens we were unaware of before we played.

    Convenient stay and play facility with 2 very good courses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was excellent. Staff were fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely, but table got a little bit crowded! Plus no croissants

    Room was beautiful, with beautiful view, gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No atmosphere

    Friendly Staff, good service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical Golfers hotel. You notice this if you are not a golfer.

    Bar staff very friendly. Beautiful beaches.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely breakfast with great views. Fantastic gluten free bread.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Good people Beautiful and challenging golf course

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    frindly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful scenery from dining room Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfy & spacious. Food was scrumptious, both dinner & breakfast. Porridge was delicious - perfect for Mama Bear !!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did not like having to give my mobile phone number for the access to the internet. Why so many questions to do before I could log in? Everywhere else just needs a password and you are in.

    The hotel was superb with excellent food and most comfortable chairs in many rooms. I liked the art work on the walls, much better than the usual hotel art.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Had been looking forward to break away and added bonus we could bring the dog! Sadly their idea of pet friendly and mine are very different. This hotel is Not pet friendly. Really disappointed left after 30 minutes after driving for 2 hours with a 9 month old baby!! Dog was going to be restricted to bedroom onlly plus had to come in through the back entrance. I understand the need for restrictions but bedroom only is not pet friendly to top it all we had phoned hotel twice and each time asked was it ok for dog to come, never told he wouldn't be allowed access around thehotel. Completely ruined our Easter weekend and 4 hour round trip with small baby and dog!! Would ask that they remove pet friendly status.

    NOTHING

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not particularly welcoming at reception. limited bar service - no cocktails same drinks cost 2 different prices on 2 different nights

    very comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we were only staying one night!

    This hotel was the perfect blend of old fashioned elegance, excellent service, sumptuous surroundings and modern comforts -we loved it and hope to be back!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe in room, no newspaper, no biscuit with tea in room.Poor WiFi mostly.Food overpriced/service charge.

    Staff lovely, good service. Martin, Niall and Paddy really great. Golf very enjoyable.Decor very tasteful. The

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    180 Euros per room bed and breakfast was woefully overpriced. Dinner steak was very well done overcooked and not as ordered.Desserts were served from a trolley 1970 style.Bed had large winter duvet too hot for summer use with no sheet as alternative.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of choices.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool changing facilities very very poor. Only superier rooms come with robes so you have no choice other than to use a changing room with no lockers, no shampoo and one shower., one small bench. Third rate in an otherwise fine hotel.

    Elegant dining and relaxing areas

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't think there are any bad experiences in this hotel. Only an unlucky one, The bulk gas delivery lorry at the rear of our room at 07.00hrs, sure it got us up early to enjoy Old Tom Morris in beautiful morning sunshine. There is always a positive depending on how you look at it. Thank U gas man.

    Our room 202 was excellent with separate dressing room c/w large fridge and t/c making. Shower/bathroom very large with a very powerful shower. Main room had two large double beds, only used one, so so comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cobwebs in the room. Only issue I had as I've a serious fear of spiders

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were hard and some parts of the hotel were cold

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beach side location was spectacular and the hotel itself was immaculate.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendliness of staff. Scenery!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent rooms Excellent evening meal/breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very poor breakfast

    Size of room

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable,good food and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Couple

    The charm of the staff. They had report. The food was excellent. In general a very well run business.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some bedrooms could do with a refurb

    Fantastic location and very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The excellent staff and the wonderful food.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, very comfortable surroundings and pet-friendly too!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception staff very unhelpful, nasty people.

    Location was good,2 minute walk from beach.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great atmosphere very relaxing wonderful history re hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price to expensive for this Deluxe room. Room is spacious but not specially luxurious. No mini-bar.

    The restaurant: good meal.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed atmosphere, location, lovely food and service in both The Bar/Lounge and beautiful dining room.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No gym

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent in every way. A delightful experience.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, views from the room, exceptional golf course, friendly staff, food and relaxed atmosphere.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: