Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rose Lodge Guest House 3 stars

Dyke Parade, Cork, Ireland

#10 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Cork

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 843 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big enough for one person and quiet as I requested, the bed was comfortable. One of the receptionist girl was very informative, helpful and friendly at check-in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously....not a thing to complain about.

    The Lodge was an art exhibit you could sleep in! Every wall, nook and crannie was a feast for the eyes. The staff were friendly and extremely efficient. The bed was beautiful and comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous. This is a unique property and would not hesitate to recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was doing the Cork hakf marathon so couldn't indulge in breakfast!

    Lovely friendly helpful staff. Decor was wonderfully unusual. Looking forward to return visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is a bit of a walk to the city center where the best restaurants and pubs are located. Not a big issue for someone who doesn't mind walking a bit, but it could be an issue for those who might think they will be located in the center of Cork.

    The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and the rooms were bright and clean. Breakfast, while not included, was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was very quirky and cute! Loved the decor. Our toilet was broken but they were quick to give us a different room and then provided a great breakfast! We loved the staff. Location is also very convenient to city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was tricky. A bit hard to find for us anyway, but worth finding.

    Nice place and well maintained. Staff was welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was great. Nicely appointed interior with artwork and 'feeling' Well done to the proprietors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very enjoyable stay. Staff were so polite. Beds and Showers were top drawer and breakfast was so tasty. Defintley be coming back on my next visit to Cork.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a bit awkward but the staff are very helpful.

    The building has very nice features. The layout and decor is quirky and interesting. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. The room was spotless. The location is handy. The bus route is near the b&b . The breakfast costs 10 euro and is worth every penny. They go all out for the breakfast. Fresh brown bread hot crossants smoked salmon ham and cheese board. Hot breakfast is cooked to your request. Cereals yoghurts and fruit is available. The staff couldnt have been more friendly and accomodating. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found nothing to not like.

    My husband and I really enjoyed the ambience of the house because the lay out and decor of it just made one feel very relaxed.We found the staff very welcoming.Li and staff could not have been more helpful.On arrival we got tea and biscuits.Breakfast was most enjoyable and food very good so we look forward to staying at the Rose Lodge Guest House again.A great find within walking distance of the city. Catherine, Wexford

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While it was written in the confirmation email, for a bed & breakfast to charge additionally for breakfast seems decidedly odd to me. This is especially so as for a single person, the rate is already 89euro.

    Its good to have parking in central Cork and the guitar in the living room was a nice little extra touch. Lots of interesting art and collectors pieces add even more personality to the period property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast order was wrong - probably a dialect misunderstanding, but my grandson didn't want to correct the lady when it arrived. It was lovely though.

    Cleanliness, the place was spotless, the welcome was lovely, the staff were very helpful and pleasant, I loved the art work in the house. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a little disappointing, although adequate, and I got the impression that the girls serving had not done so before - all a bit chaotic, if charming My biggest gripe is that the shower temperature is set at warm (rather than hot) which was quite irritating.

    This was a comfortable, and somewhat quirky, guest house, and I really enjoyed my stay. The art collection alone was worth seeing. The staff were super friendly and tried to be as helpful as possible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was EXCEPTIONAL! Cloda, and Emma checked us in, and gave us great service! The other staff members that we met were amazing! Location is perfect. Close to walking trails, and pubs!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren’t very well sound proofed Can hear neigbors snooring for eg (if that bothers you)

    Staff very happy & friendly. Room ready early.. clean bright.Deco is really fun

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very clean and comfortable. Quiet neighbourhood only 10 minutes walking from the city centre. Staff was very friendly for anything we needed. I would definitely recommend staying in the Rose Lodge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast could have had more choice: maybe porridge, pancakes, berries. Scones were all used up and not replenished while I was there. No bread generally available without asking for toast. It’s nice to be able choose between nice readily available breads and jams. Having said that my poached eggs were perfectly cooked and the full Irish I saw at other tables looked delicious.

    Extremely clean and spacious bedroom and ensuite. Great facilities, everything had been thought of. Beautiful house, very quirky, interesting decoration but still tastefully done. Lovely feel to the house. Extremely friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor/style doesn’t match the rest of the guesthouse/communal areas.

    Easy, free parking on site. Quirky decor, very close to the university grounds. Excellent jacuzzi bath. 10 min walk to town centre. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The selection of granola ,yoghurts and fruit for breakfast were a little limited.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and tranquil and the ecclectic art collecrion added to the cosy atmosphere!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not able to have a shower in the morning if my departure as the water was freezing and no matter what I did I could not get it to warm up.

    The staff were really friendly and the hotel itself was funky, the decor was cool. The room was clean and comfortable, bathroom was very compact.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't worst the money, only 1 egg with full Irish breakfast, the portions were poor, hungry soon after and we are not bit eaters.... just wish we had breakfast in town.

    Good location, short walk to the city centre. Beautiful paintings all over the guest house. Very nice staff. confy bed. bathroom bit tight on space but not a biggie.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Rose Lodge is just the most welcoming, cosy place I have stayed at in Cork. All staff were friendly and helpful. I arrived an hour late at midnight and was greeted with a warm smile that calmed me immediately. The bed was more comfortable than my orthopaedic bed at home. The place is immaculate and the breakfast was just right with the best coffee. Love this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and supportive. The hotel lobby was very trendy with their art pieces and toy animals. Despite arriving before Check-In, staff still allocated me a room. Provided information about the city and local attractions. Short walk to the College and City Centre. Quiet location. Room had en suite bathroom and comfortable bed, great for a nights rest, plus WiFi. Provided service for taxi bookings and early check out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small but relatively expensive; not sure if it is just one part of the inflated Irish prices.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. It is located just minutes from UCC and the city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is actually very little to dislike with at the Rose Lodge. There is some occasional variance on channels available to individual rooms - but I am advised that this has been due to recent high winds and is being gradually repaired.

    The rooms at the Rose Lodge are particularly well appointed, clean and comfy. All rooms are ensuite with well designed and fitted out in a modern style. Beds have pillows of multiple plushness and adaptable to suit your personal preference.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The challenge with any BnB is maintain a constant standard across rooms. If there's anything that has to be noted for failing to excel in, it would be in niggling about having consistent channel availability. Some rooms seem to have fewer channels than others.

    The Rose Lodge has boutique feel with great artwork and decor. It offers well furnished, clean rooms with a hospitable and welcoming feel. Accommodation is stylish, wifi solid and a warm welcome every time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We skipped breakfast because of early flight so cannot comment on breakfast but staff very friendly and very understanding when we had to cancel 1 night due to storm Ophelia. Would definitely stay there again. Ideal if attending UCC event.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have a top sheet on my bed as often hot at night.

    Just a lovely place very close to my sons student flat ( UCC) easy to walk around, close to everything 👌

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rose Lodge was our favorite place to stay in Ireland. It felt like home and we were surrounded by incredible art👍🏻The rooms were super comfortable and the breakfast delicious! It was only a short walk to the center of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great friendly staff. Clean and very large rooms and large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. Beautiful place and good location to center of town. Would definitely go back and stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable stay in very pleasant surroundings close to the city centre. Staff were very helpful with local information and ensured our stay was enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host and the staff are really nice like friends and they told us great information for trip in Ireland. It is also a beautiful Lodge, lots of goreous painting collections. The room are clean. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Rose Lodge guest house was in an excellent location as we were there to visit out daughter at UCC. It also included off street parking which was key. The hosts were lovely and could not have been nicer and more friendly. We would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the Cork area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have breakfast included in price rather than pay in Rose Lodge after stay.

    Staff was very friendly, room and all place very clean, breakfast very tasty . Location very handy close to centre-walking distance

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was very tight, but not a problem with a small car.

    The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was large and clean. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with recommendations for local points of interest. The Rose Lodge itself is very eclectically decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I noticed the car park in front was very congested and was glad I didn' t have to move a car.

    Staff courteous and welcoming. Bedroom comfortable and warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very clean, but shower tiles had some mildew, mold and crumbling grout.

    Large room and very helpful staff. Close to Uni where I was visiting my brother. I did not have the breakfast as I was generally out and about each morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking lot is a little tight (especially when the rental company "upgraded" us to a larger vehicle we didn't want). And the internet was very spotty.

    The guesthouse was very pretty and eclectic. Approximately 10 minute walk to the downtown area. The bathroom was very nice and there was good lighting in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect - staff were very friendly and helpful, room was very clean and we got water, tea and coffee for free. Location is great - nice 10 min walk by river to city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be better with a bigger TV in the bedroom

    Friendly Staff 16 euros in taxi from airport 15 min walk along river to town centre or around 8 euros in taxi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very tight.

    The property was very nice the decor is very new age and fun . The staff was lovely and very helpful with directions of where to go to eat and have a drink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished the bathrooms were more spacious with larger sink and everything. Also it'd be great if there's a socket by the bedside.

    Friendly staff that is ready to help you and answer to your needs. Warm greetings! Comfortable beds and quiet surroundings. Stayed there for 9 days and whenever I came back I felt at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little old but it was fine for 2 nights :)

    Free parking outside, room nice and clean, big comfy bed, 10mins walk from town centre and the girl who checked us in was lovely!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not as clean as it should have been. There was evidence of some mold around the floor edges. The bathroom door did not stay closed.Other than that the facilities in the bathroom were fine.

    Its location and the very friendly reception, and the eclectic but very interesting collection of art and sculptures throughout the house.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable at all - there was a dip in the middle, so my partner and I kept rolling into each other. The breakfast was also not very good. Parking is pretty brutal - we're from Canada, so maybe it's just us, but the parking lot was VERY small. It took us a long time to reverse into a spot.

    Staff were very friendly. The location was good, within walking distance of the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little tiny but nice, the bathroom definately needs a renovation (mould)

    Breakfast was delicous! One of the best beds I ever slept in! Everything very clean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location near University College Cork's stately & vibrant campus, and a pleasant 20 minute walk into the centre of Cork passing diverse shops, pubs and cafes along the way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little small and we had a room that faced the street so the room was a little bright because of the street lights but these are very minor issues.

    The host was so lovely and very helpful with showing us places to go on a map. The location is good but a little way out of the main area of the shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very dangerous road outside. Cars come around blind corner very quick. Be very careful getting in or out of taxis or cars outside the property.

    Lovely Staff. Clean rooms, quiet place. Great location, 5 mins walk to city centre. Is across the road from a fantastic public park with huge playground and a free museum about the history of Cork.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast very friendly and helpful staff would definitely recommend Good for small children we travelled with our 1 yr old and they were very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't as powerful as we like. Parking is tight to manoeuvre in to.

    Bed comfy, decor in living room quirky and interesting, friendly and helpful staff. Good location and easy to get to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are a mature couple on a research trip tracing my ancestors in Cork. We were greeted by a charming, bubbly, smiling, local girl called Clodagh. Two minutes in the door and I had a cup of coffee in my hand , my research notes open and a history of Cork conversation in full flow. I couldn't have been happier. Clodagh turned out to be a history student in U.C.C. ! This is exactly what Ireland needs ....... local people with local knowledge. Failte Ireland snap up this girl when she qualifies! We were happy with the bedroom and enjoyed all the works of art in the house. The breakfast was 100% and the staff all very welcoming and polite . All in all Cork was a lovely experience . I would recommend the hop on, hop off bus tour as a great way to see everything as Cork is very hilly for not so great walkers. We did the City Gaol tour and loved it. If you have time try to get to Cobh . I end by congratulating Rose Lodge , Cork City and Cobh for their absolutely beautiful flower displays .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is quite old and a bit noisy. Bed could be more comfortable and jacuzzi didn't work.

    Staff was very friendly, house looks nice and quirky with lots of nice art.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a problem, more something to keep in mind of traveling alone - location was accessible to city center and CUH but somewhat dodgy.

    I didn't have a chance to eat the breakfast but the accommodations were clean, staff was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to our liking. Top shelf !

    Our room was comfortable and the private bath modern and clean. The common area of the House was filled with wonderful art works, eclectic and exciting. Our breakfast was generous, delicious and well prepared. Service was friendly and excellent. Our host, Patrick was thoughtful and engaging, I enjoyed talking with him. He made me feel welcome and at home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertised as having parking but only a few spaces and no warning that spaces limited. On street parking limited to 2 hours.

    The Rose Lodge has lots of character with its quirky decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in our room needed to be put onto the hard rubbish on the street. It was very uncomfortable and passed it's by date.

    The breakfast was cooked to order. The staff there helpful and location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Patrick, the owner is so delightful and has an art collection at his B&B that is amazing. He has a staff of ladies that run his house perfectly I arrived after a long trip and the moment I walked in Leigh offered me coffee tea and brought me a little piece of cake and I sat in the waiting room and just relaxed she then asked me if I was ready to go to my room and she carried my luggage up the stairs for me which I very much appreciated this day was lovely it's right across the street from a beautiful park called Fitzgerald park and minutes away from the University of cork I highly recommend the Rose lodge

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a little difficult getting my suitcase up the stairs, but I did refuse help, so my fault!

    The art and decor in this guest house was lovely. The staff were really nice and accommodating and we felt very safe and comfortable here. Parking was a little tight, but our car did fit. There are quite a few stairs, but they do offer to help with the luggage if needed. It wasn't a really long walk to town. I liked the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fans!! So terribly hot in rooms that people in group woke up & couldn't sleep. Towel warmer on 24/7 so that added to heat in a room. We had to ask for information/city map while other customers received unsolicited information/map about nite life,restaurants,,etc. Complimentary water set out in sitting room not replaced when used. Very poor breakfast-an omelet was flat scrambled egg folded.Coffee carafe removed from our table before we were done. Buffet items were not replenished. We had to remind staff of incomplete breakfast order. Difficulty in explaining menu requests to staff. We spent 50.00 for 5 people on breakfast (1 person didn't eat)-felt completely ripped off. Was unsure who was the proprietor when checked in. I would certainly call before booking, to see if it meets your needs. I would give it a 2 rating at best.

    Clean enough. Had parking available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough car parking spaces even though it was stated online that car parking was available . Ensuite was quite small. It was fine for small person like myself but would be very cramped for a larger person

    Staff were friendly. Room was well equipped. Bed was very comfy. Breakfast was satisfactory. Just a suggestion; Perhaps some freshly made coffee rather than coffee made and left in large thermos pot would be more palatable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was a little dull compared to the interesting reception.

    The staff were wonderful, really friendly and helpful. The eclectic nature of the reception was wonderful. Also - the central location was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just right for me.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The decor downstairs was outstanding and quirky with beautiful original art. Breakfast was great with a good range of cold items and cooked options. The location was good. Not too far from city centre and close to bus routes. The room was just right for my needs. I was just staying one night. Room temperature was perfect. Very good value. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was so impressed with this B&B. Service was impeccable,we were welcomed on arrival and offered tea and coffee. We were also given strawberries. The B&B was so quirky and unusual,especially the reception room. Staff were so obliging and helpful. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it is perfect!

    The Rose is the funkiest, most vibrant, comfortable, cozy and welcoming BnB I have ever stayed in. I'd stay again as the owner Pat and the staff are beautiful people and so helpful guiding me around Cork with recommendations and wonderful conversation. The art in all of the rooms makes the guest house such an alive and stimulating environment. The spa bath in my bathroom was divine and I had a wonderful relaxing bath after a long day of travel. The entire guest house felt much like home and I would/will go back and stay again!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a most comfortable B&B. The accommodations are not what one would expect of a traditional Irish B&B. The main house and the rooms are beautifully decorated with a interesting art and artifacts. The owner Patrick was helpful and interesting to talk to and gave great ideas of what to see in Cork and Ireland. The staff were friendly and helpful as well. The breakfast included the Traditional Full Irish breakfast as well as other breakfast options for the lighter appetite. The food was prepared perfectly. The location was a 5 minute walk from the centre of Cork. This made it easy tp park the car and adventure out on foot. The University College of Cork is just across the street and is worth the walk through the beautiful grounds and historic buildings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi signal was very poor and breakfast had room for improvement.

    Our room was spacious and comfortable. The ambiance of the hotel is very interesting, with quirky decorations all over the place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Was a beautiful unique place to stay . The staff was very pleasant and very accommodating and the location was great and easy to find . We recommend a stay here .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Rose Lodge is a wonderful, eclectic property in beautiful Cork City. From the bright pink exterior to the funky array of artwork inside, this place is a must-stay! The property is located in a fantastic spot, within walking distance of the University, city centre, and incredible Oliver Plunkett Street. Our hosts and their staff were all very friendly and helpful, suggesting some great restaurants and sites. We loved our stay in Cork and would definitely return to Rose Lodge!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some street noise for rooms along the main road side of building.

    Staff, breakfast, and location exceeded my expectations. Adjacent to a lovely river walk, the University and abundant eateries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is a bit tight as it is a small lot.

    Great location, near UCC, friendly staff. Breakfast is okay. The walls on the lower floor are covered in art - it is a bit cluttered, but it looks cool. Restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff who went out of their way to accommodate my needs. Couldn't have asked for any more from my stay, would highly recommend staying here

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-fi is a bit dodgy.

    Best breakfast ever! No need to have a huge buffet - their tiny table provided the best breakfast you could have. All the cereal options, FRESH fruit salad (kiwi, strawberries, melon etc), smoked salmon, cheese, bread/toast, FRESH orange juice -and a great cup of tea on arrival with a muffin. Home-baked croissants too! That was the continental - am sure the full breaky was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unique lodgings with lots of interesting art. Very friendly staff, helpful. Location is close to the city centre without being to busy. Close to park and close taxi ride from the air coach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Cosy and comfortable room with a really beautiful shower. Everything was perfect and the staff was really nice as usual (it's not the first time we choose Rose Lodge)!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous staff, quirky and unique decor which made the whole place fascinating, great breakfast. Wonderful service and I can't wait to get back there to experience more.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: