Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ross Lake House Hotel 4 stars

Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland

#10 of 14 hotels in Oughterard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 87 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful, well maintained old house in a well cared for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, well maintained old house in a well cared for garden. Takes you back to a time you thought was gone. Friendly and helpful owners and staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    A wonderful place to roam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’d have loved to have eaten dinner at the hotel, but its vegetarian options were nil. Breakfast, however, was quite good with a hefty brown bread.

    While off the beaten path, the hotel’s surroundings are amazing, with a wonderful stream running through them. The staff members are also extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel’s exterior is delightful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Large Georgian house with spacious restaurant and welcoming staff. All very relaxed and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A kettle in the room would have made it extra special.

    Comfortable room, light and spacious overlooking the grounds. Henry is an entertaining host, Joe kept everyone happy in the restaurant and was a very efficient and friendly maitre d'hotel. Elaine and the other staff were always welcoming and efficient. It is a good location to explore Galway and Connemara. The hotel grounds are extensive and it is in a very quiet area. Pleasant bar area for a pre-dinner drink when Henry was always on hand to chat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not family friendly at all and reception unable to read an online reservation Dinner was ordinary home food and not high quality meat served—overcharged here Tennis court in disrepair Bathrooms needed renovation Coffee and tea should be in rooms

    Nice grounds and lovely gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Attention to detail needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the items on the full Irish breakfast were burnt! Very small TV which did not work properly. These together with the liquid soaps provided, gave the impression of staying in a standard B and B than in a 4 star hotel charging 4 star prices.

    It's quite rural location; good bed; good shower; Very friendly yet not intrusive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful property and house.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got there a bit late and in the dark and the middle of a rainstorm. We were well looked after but not offered any tea (something which I'd come to expect in Ireland). My husband ordered a drink from the bar but I had to ask for a cup of tea. May seem petty but it was a miserable night and as it happened we were the only guests.

    The room was beautiful, as was the house. The breakfast plentiful and delicious .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location to get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very little

    Ross Lake is an old Hotel with plenty of charm. Our room had lots of space and a 4 poster bed. The bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing. Breakfast was good and the coffee was fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    A perfect example of a country house hotel at an affordable rate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish we had been able to stay longer and take advantage of everything the hotel had to offer.

    It was everything one would hope for and expect in a country house hotel. The house was beautiful, the grounds lovely, and the staff attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful stay at Ross Lake Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't really say there was anything I didn't enjoy....

    My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Ross Lake very much. It's a very quaint manor hotel nestled into a beautifully landscaped and wooded area. The drive up the road with the babbling brook is so serene. Henry and Elaine were most gracious in so many ways. The food was excellent both at breakfast and at dinner and we enjoyed visiting with other guests, as well as Henry and Elaine in the parlour for drinks before and after dinner. The hotel is immaculate and we couldn't have asked for a better experience in Ireland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Peaceful little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little remote.Approx.3 km off Galway /Cliften road.Hotel was very comfortable with lovely lounge/bar and restaurant.Breakfast had plenty of choices and a very good dinner menu was also available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Charming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was only there for 2 nights but really warmed to this hotel. It's a bit off the beaten track so if night life is for you Galway is not too far away. The staff were delightful and gave me the feeling of good Irish hospitality. The food was very good and the hotel should be proud of it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is in need of modernising and updating. it's a 6.5 km drive from Oughterad.

    The property is an old country manor house with lots of character. The grounds are pretty. We paid €160 for a last minute double room with a four poster bed and a basic full Irish breakfast which was a fair price. I wouldn't be prepared to pay any more. The bar is cosy and convenient, given it's a distance from nearest town. It's a good location for exploring Connemara yet only 30 minutes from Galway city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Stay in rural comfort close to Galway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    We were warmly welcomed by the owner and his wife. The house is very comfortable and the room was lovely with a four poster bed. There is a lounge with interesting books and an open fire and a separate bar. The breakfast was good - we liked the fruit and the porridge was delicious - and the dinner was equally good, with fresh, local ingredients. The grounds are well maintained. Overall a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Cosy hotel and lovely suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like...

    Very comfortable suite. Cosy bar & sitting room, lovely friendly & efficient staff. Nice welcome from owners, working alongside staff. We loved it & would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Great experience staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds around the hotel, very good breakfast, nice quiet location and wonderful hosts and staff. Make sure to grab a drink in the cocktail lounge!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Great food and service in an elegant country-house style setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No adverse comments

    Lovely ambience, impressive, elegant bedroom (4-poster bed and comfortable armchairs), excellent breakfasts, very peaceful and quiet location, polite, helpful, friendly and capable staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    A fine hotel sequestered in the surrounds of the beautiful Lough Corrib.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    The food was excellent - delicious breakfast - great choice of food. The dinner was also superb. Excellent menu - prepared to perfection and served with style! The bedroom was cosy and extremely comfortable - would love a pillow like that at home! Experienced staff - trained to pamper! Garden full of beautiful azaleas in bloom surrounded by mature rhododendrons. If you are looking for a place to relax far away from the traffic this is it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    So much better than a chain hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a charming, manor house hotel. It is old-fashioned in the best way possible. The breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the drawing room and library bar. Both provided excellent venues to sit and chat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    4.6
    2 star hotel at the price of 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 star confort for the price of 4. The room was in a urgent need of renovation cracks everywhere. The bathroom looked really bad and the carpet looked like it was never changed since the house was built. Thin walls so we could hear all the noises from the other rooms. There aren't too many options for breakfast .

    Very nice and wuite area. Like you're back in time. Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    A pleasure which we would repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression walking in to the reception area; looks quite basic.

    The service was excellent. There was no tea making facilities in room. When we requested them, they were delivered to room straight away.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful property with lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although giving a 24 hour plus notification that we were leaving early, we were charged for an extra day. We had to drive to Ennis and back in the dark, and my husband was not, safely able to do that, so we had to cancel are booking.

    Excellent breakfast. Lovely owners very helpful, in every way they could. Beautiful spacious room with beautiful view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    A little piece of heaven in oughterard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Everything was great

    The scenery The food The four poster bed The ambience Everything was excellent Great value for money Suitable for couples or families with older children

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    sweet find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ross House Hotel was wonderfully quaint. The drive to the hotel was beautiful. The common rooms were perfect for socializing. The breakfast exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Traditional, country style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Traditional, country style.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in beautiful setting.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in beautiful setting.. wonderful friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous lush green gounds and garden.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Gorgeous lush green gounds and garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Location, staff and kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description of location

    Location, staff and kitchen

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. We will stay again in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Joe who served breakfast, very polite and friendly man.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay and evening chats with owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and friendly atmosphere. Quiet situation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. Very welcoming hosts. Definitely returning later in year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in the room.

    Very clean and comfortable room. Quiet location. Breakfast was delicious... Excellent choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaking shower head which made a constant dripping sound on the bath

    Excellent room and very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay but a bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal expensive and nothing special

    Lovely grounds Large room Great room for preme drinks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little away from the town but some people would like that

    Great atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and peaceful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced evening meal

    Good breakfast Beautiful location and garden Helpful receptionist Large room Very quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing break in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was tasty and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    A great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wonderful location and a genial host in Henry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    As good as it gets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food! Friendly owners and staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    It was so relaxing and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was so relaxing and very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    8.8
    Overnight stay with older parents
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the bedrooms

    Personal and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    A relaxing time in a world of another era. Total relaxation and peace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit off the beaten track.

    The quietness and old world charm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    The location was excellent and set in beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was excellent and set in beautiful grounds. The room we were in was stunning and the bed was comfortable. The lounge and the bar areas were luxuriously decored, in keeping with the period of the orginal house. Nothing was to much for the staff and the proprietor gave us detailed information regarding the local area - and we were rewarded with a fantastic view lough Corrib. Drinks in the lounge in front of an open fire was wonderful after a long day sightseeing. The breakfast was delicious and fresh. I would recommend this hotel, especially if placed in the rooms in the main area of the house.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    10
    The Ross Lake was an absolutely wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Ross Lake was an absolutely wonderful experience.The property is peaceful and beautiful with old world Irish charm. We were treated like family even by the resident cat. I would definitely stay at the Ross Lake House the next time we visit Ireland.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.6
    Delicious dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delicious dinner and breakfast. Great hosts, couldn't be more helpful. Fun to come back and discuss our day and chat in the bar very entertaining. Very welcoming, and charming hosts. Nothing was to much trouble. Wonderful stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    3.8
    Cleanliness and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed as hard as nails. No tea/coffee in room very disappointing. Creaky floors. Rooms too expensive Not value for money. Hotel very out of the way.

    Cleanliness and location. Breakfast was ok

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    2.5
    Owner was rude, rising damp, musty bedroom, reproduced cheap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner was rude, rising damp, musty bedroom, reproduced cheap furniture. Bed springs stick into you. Vomit splashed stains back of bathroom door. No extractor in bathrooms. Damp mold in bathroom and windows, curtains in bedroom. Photos on website about 20 years out of date. Should not have any star rating. A total disgrace and a health hazard. Do not stay here.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.5
    The house was old elegant, well maintained and lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ThIs has been a cold summer, there was no heating on nor any way to switch it on, consequently the room was a little on the cold side.

    The house was old elegant, well maintained and lots of character. The grounds were beautifully laid out. The room was stylishly furnished and spacious with a comfortable kingside bed. Staff were friendly mannerly and helpful. Breakfast was fairly good.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    2.9
    The architecture and landscaping were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location was too remote. The antique furniture was uncomfortable, the bathrooms were not clean and overall disappointing interaction with the staff.

    The architecture and landscaping were beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Serenity of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we did not like

    Serenity of location.Ideal for people who need quietness.Lovely gardens & trees.Not being annoyed by noisy patrons. Look forward to returning some time in the coming years.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    We visited Ross Lake house 5 years ago and the visit stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We visited Ross Lake house 5 years ago and the visit stayed with us..we booked again this year and enjoyed our visit just as much. Beautiful hospitality, food, location..

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were very few other guests staying in the hotel which meant the bar was extremely quiet and had no atmosphere.

    Friendly staff. The breakfast waiter went out of his way to help us on departure. The owner was also very friendly and chatty.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful place, hidden by trees and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful place, hidden by trees and gardens. In of the road. Only got to stay for one night, would love to have stayed a few more. Breakfast was freshly cooked and yummy. Good choice..

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Top! A very good place to rest!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Top! A very good place to rest!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.8
    Bed was really comfortable and room was nice and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food was overpriced and wasn't enjoyable. Very bland.

    Bed was really comfortable and room was nice and big.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Friendly relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly relaxed atmosphere. There was much attention to detail which enhanced the quality of the trip.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    The feel of the house and the beautiful location of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Limited breakfast options for vegetarians.

    The feel of the house and the beautiful location of the property.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.3
    The peace and quiet and the country surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The peace and quiet and the country surroundings

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    The owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.6
    Clean and Convienent Hotel with Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was not in all arrears of the hotel

    Clean and Convienent Hotel with Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    They treated us like we we were the only people there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They treated us like we we were the only people there

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    The friendliness of the owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The friendliness of the owners

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.2
    Classic hotel, with oodles of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Classic hotel, with oodles of charm. Room was superb and Joe, who served our dinner, was sublime - a truly class act.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: