Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Salthill Hotel 4 stars

Promenade, Salthill, Galway, Ireland

#5 of 42 hotels in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2282 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Without doubt would stay at Salthill Hotel again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were particularly pleased with the beautiful view from our bedroom window. Bar food was excellent value. The ambiance of the hotel as a whole had a lovely warm feel to it particularly as you entered the hotel and got your first impression.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very friendly and there was parking at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small and I thought it would be a little nicer especially after seeing the lobby.

    The staff was very friendly and there was parking at the hotel. The lobby was beautiful, and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very noisey due to weddings on. Asked to be moved but still was noisey 2nd floor in new part of hotel (not as bad noise though), request to stay on a higher floor if a wedding is on.

    Nice hotel, good facilities, sea view, decent food, good bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Stunning Hotel, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main pool was closed for swimming lessons, and there were no dressing gowns in the room as described.

    The room was gorgeous, view was lovely and bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was unbelievable.. huge range of hot and cold foods. Didn't get a chance to go into the bar but looks fabulous. Staff were so pleasant and the hotel was very easy to find. Bus stop right outside the hotel and bean is right across the road.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Expensive hotel with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived during a noisy wedding reception. Complained about the thoughtless wedding guests allowing doors to slam/shouting etc. late at night and was given a E50 refund - spoilt what would have been a great stay. 30mins walk into Galway. Remember to take a swim hat to use the pool or pay E3.50!

    Excellent leisure facilities. Close to beach and quiet location. Comfortable bed and lovely breakfast. Coffee shop nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Excellent view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms expensive as were a little tired & dated. Breakfast absolute shambles-service very poor & quality of food not great.

    Excellent view! Service & food in the bar

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel... location was just so-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location description of this hotel is a little deceptive. There are 2 areas of Galway. We were informed by the desk staff that we could take a 5 minute walk into "town" or we could drive into the Old City which was a 20 to 30 minute walk. First, the town is not a 5 minute walk, more like 10 to 15... and the wind gusts off the ocean were around 30-35 mph! Add rain? Horrible! You couldn't even use an umbrella. And from what the locals told us, it's like this most of the year. We drove into the Old City and it was charming with shops and pubs. You'll need to pay to park. After that, it's a bear trying to get back to the hotel with several roundabouts and turns. WiFi connection was horrible. It kept cutting out as the signal was so weak.

    The Hotel was comfortable, the room and bathroom were updated and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our first encounter was a security staff in front of the building. He was very chatty and helped us with where to park , (underground garage and parking lot available), and with checking in, he even offered to park our car for us! LOL We had dinner in their pub... charming atmosphere and the food was very good. The staff in the pub were great but we felt bad as they didn't have enough of them to service the crowd that poured in from a group on a bus trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of residence bar, having stayed here previously and enjoyed the residents bar, quite disappointed that we couldn't get a drink. This would seriously influence my decision to stay here in the future.

    The pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good but the electrics were not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One socket blew in the room, we were given an extension cord. Turned on the bed side light and that blew all the electrics in the room. Missed our meal because of the delay and not offered a different room.

    Close to Galway

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great location along the prommenade in salthill with some lovely cafes, pubs & restaurants near by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom can become very warm after the shower has been on and it is very hard to cool down the room. other then that I cannot fault the hotel at all as you pay for what you get

    Great location & great value for money. Hotel is very clean and bathrooms in the bedrooms are very clean and modern. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone that is traveling to Galway and wants a hotel that is value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in room , a little tired decor, didn’t meet my expectations for the price . Not 4 star location, maybe some years ago but now it needs a fresh up and new furniture.

    nice staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Would not return there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked the room amenities I would expect for hotel in this price range. Workmen in our room when we arrived. No doorman or bellhop in view upon arrival. Complementary breakfast was barely edible.

    Very pretty, spacious room, with beautiful view of the water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.1
    Very relaxing and beautiful part of the county.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was only on a one night stay so no complaints. Would have liked more time to breathe some fresh air.

    Room very comfortable and early breakfast very tasty and plentiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    The staff in the bar were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The veranda was lovely but after a nights rain the chairs and tables should have been dried

    The staff in the bar were very friendly and helpful. The linen was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Poor choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Originally gave me a room using a service elevator which appeared to be in the staff wing. That was corrected but the new room's shower could not be regulated and door to bathroom was a death trap. Looks better in pics

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    I was really disappointed that for the price charged that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was really disappointed that for the price charged that there was no breakfast included. We bought breakfast as an extra on the first morning and just was not worth it. We went out the second morning. I did not like that you had to pay for the extras when the price for the room was high anyway. I would choose somewhere else in the future based on this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Mini break with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was a bit dated and had a balcony but we could not go out on it and it was covered in cigarette butts also outside main entrance was the same bed was very noisey but staff were really nice and the rest if hotel was very comfortable and clean

    The staff.... The bar and food.... Location perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issue with our room and cold water on the second day. Deputy manager sorted it out very quickly and professionally. Great customer service. Look forward to staying again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything looked a bit "out-of-date" and the rooms had poor sound insulation. The bed sheets had markings on them. The breakfast did not meet a 4* hotel standard. Quality and variety were not sufficient. The cheese for example moulded in its wrapping. Overall, the hotel is ok, but the price we paid was too high.

    The location was great. Very nice area and next to the promenade. Parking in an underground area was easy and included. Most of the staff members were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Great location, incredible view of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, incredible view of the sea. I proposed to my girlfriend with the help of the very friendly staff that made everything go smoothly, which took a lot of pressure off me. I would highly recommend staying here. I will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the bar slow and we always had to go up to the bar ourselves.

    The room was comfortable. Leisure facilities good. Staff at breakfast very good and attentive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay right by the water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was comfy and well appointed. Fresh air blowing in from the ocean. The restaurants had good dining options. The fitness center / pool were incredible. Quite a few options for cardio, weights, as well as an advanced weight training room. Pools were very nice. Breakfast was great with quite a few options to order hot food from the kitchen. Short walk right to the waterfront.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was excellent, Rooms need a serious upgrade loose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not good at all, Porridge was made with water and the rest was average. Restrauant need to learn how to cook Italian food properly .

    Location was excellent, Rooms need a serious upgrade loose the dirty carpets and fit wooden floors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing hotel in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little noise until around 11.00 pm because there was a wedding on. A tip when staying here request a room on the upper floors. Price was steep considering breakfast wasn't included, but not enough to put me off completely

    This is my go to hotel when I just need to get away for a night, it's location is lovely next to the sea and you can walk to the main shopping area of Galway in 20-30 mins if you want. Food is good and staff are pleasant. Rooms are very comfortable. There's a reason I am a repeat customer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Loved the gym, pool, sauna etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the gym, pool, sauna etc. Staff at reception and bar were lovely. Everything was clean and well decorated. Good location. Easy to get bus to city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed my stay . Would definitely recommend it to my family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldnt really find a fault to be honest .

    Huge bed ! Bar staff very friendly and efficient . Had breakfast in the room and ate dinner out so cant rate the meal service but all in all it was a great stay . Good location just 5 mins walk from Salthill town and 1 min walk from the strand/beach .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.3
    Not a 4 Star Hotel; all the rooms are jaded with broken beds, needs serious improvement/TL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms are tired & in need of TLC. Broken beds / mattresses. Showers in baths with no non-slip surfaces. No 4 star extras until asked.

    Great view from the hotel room & great staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    Not a r Star Hotel; all the rooms are jaded with broken beds, needs serious improvement/TL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A stinking, sub-standard double room which we hadn't paid extra money for. Second room had broken mattress & broken base of bed and a shower in a bath with no non-slip surface & I slipped & hurt my knee.

    The best part of our stay was the view from our room & most of the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the location and comfort of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to have an option for breakfast by menu, not just buffet, for a price on the menu.

    The amenities (pool, restaurants, bar) were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, modern and the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needing to purchase and wear swimming caps in the pool...

    Great location, friendly staff, modern and the rooms were great with a great view overlooking the water front!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Service in the restaurant was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smelled musty and the balcony was not clean and appeared to not have been cleaned for quite some time.

    Service in the restaurant was great. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    Room 442
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was terrible. No curtains just a blind that didn't even fully cover the window, overlooking a courtyard with alot of other rooms with curtains. We couldn't really open the window for air as the blind was then flapping away. Very disappointing but seeing as it was 2 nights we just stayed put. Lack of privacy was an issue though.

    The hotel is great superb location and we have stayed before and enjoyed it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Over priced for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were the least friendly so far on our visit to Ireland. The mattress was uncomfortable on one side. No water in our room and we had a sea view expensive room. The supper with room service delivered luke warm burnt toasted sandwiches with cold dry chips.

    The bar was lovely and breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception were horrible, dealt with 3 different people and they were all so rude. When we were checking in one of them was arguing with a guest it was very off putting. Requested late check out on the app and was told we could check out at 2pm but when I went to pay at the hotel for it they told me it wasn’t available. There was a wedding on so it was very loud up until about 2am or later, understandable but a late check out would have been nice especially when you can’t sleep from the noise. Cleaners stand in the hallways talking and shouting to each other from early hours.

    Comfy bed, great location, good facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    We had an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors leading to the bedrooms could definitely do with a repainting. We did not have a good experience in the dining room. The whole ambiance was not great and the service left a lot to be desired. Vegetables came late and we had to ask for potatoes. We mentioned it when we were paying for the meal but did not receive any satisfaction. We were not the only customers on the night to have this problem.- On the whole I was expecting a slightly higher standard as it is considered a 4.5 * hotel.

    The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable especially the pillows. The location was great. The sun was shining so of course added to our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and fun at same time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room only complaint

    Lovely staff , food ,facilities very nice location is just nice not to far from main attractions would recommend it family and friends

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous hotel shame about the food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food... the breakfast had very little vegetarian options i had tea and toast for and extra 30 per night for b&b!! and we had bar food which was awful I had a curry which was cold and the rice was mushy and my hubby had a carbonara which had a breaded chicken fillet on top again was all mushy and the pasta was inedible, I'd definitely go back to the hotel but wouldn't bother with breakfast or dinner on the upside the toasted sandwich for lunch was lovely

    The hotel itself is stunning the pool was brilliant we brought our baby there it was lovely and clean and warm, the beds were really comfy and the staff were lovely too. If i could make a suggestion to the hotel though a family changing room at the pool would be a great idea it was a bit of a chore trying to get my self and a 6 month old dried and dressed after, was back and forth to the lockers at least 4 times trying to get into the baby change area while he was rolling over on the changing table and I'm trying to get dressed it would be so much easier having an extra pair of hands there to help ...just a suggestion the baby change room was spotless in fairness.. looking forward to going back next year.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Luxurious and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was absolutely melted in the room even though the radiators were off

    The hotel is gorgeous 😍 .. well equipped gym .. pool facilities were fantastic, warmest pool water ever, it was just lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the rooms loads of marks on the wall the rooms were very stuffy couldn’t believe it’s a four star ⭐️ nothing compared to the Galway bay next door. That’s where we will be going next year very disappointed. I also requested a ground floor and we got 4 floor your landings next to be painted overall very disappointed. ☹️

    We loved how near it was to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall had a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First night room was noisy as there was a wedding and was quiet loud until 2am . They could change the menu in the bar but staff in bar was very helpful.

    Beds very comfortable and room spotless.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location, comfortable bedroom. The bar food was a disaster
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar food was the worst I have eaten in a lot time and would definitely not recommend eating here

    The bed was very comfortable. The Leisure facilities were fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Was traveling as a group of 3 couples and was all wanting to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was traveling as a group of 3 couples and was all wanting to pay our rooms separately but Booking.com took the money out of my account the night before, wasn't a problem for us but would have been nice if staff at the hotel had told us when we were booking in as it could be for other travellers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing and very enjoyable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No chance of early check in .3pm is the check in time .breakfast finished at 10am .bit early if you want a little lie in .

    Location .sea view .if you don't drive there is a very good bus service into city centre .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Great stay at the hotel and will be back soon maybe bring the kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ther was quite a few stains on the sofa and the back door was locked so couldn’t sit out on the balcony..

    Staff where very friendly and the food was gorgeous and fresh. An service was perfect.. definitely recommend the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    I liked the fact that it was spacious and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the food was poor and had a price imbalance.€9.50 for 4 chicken wings in a sauce as a starter and €14.50 for linguini with chicken.from recollection it was also supposed to contain bacaon and mushroom in a creamy sauce and i had chicken added. I certainly didnt see any mushroom or bacon nor was it creamy. I had the adidition of chicken which was a breaded fillet that i had asked to have sliced. It certainly did not live upto its name. What's more the starter and the main course arrived together.. I would recommend people to stay there but if you want something to eat go elsewhere.

    I liked the fact that it was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel , couldn't fault it ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault , absolutely amazing place to stay , couldn't be any happier with our stay will definitely be back , staff are super friendly and great help ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Omg it was such an amazing hotel, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the decor was fabulous, the bedroom was immaculate and the pool area and whirlpool was something short of spectacular, I would def come back again and again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Galway's best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way could I leave music and craic until 4am Best ever Galway's best hotel

    Great good a specially breakfast Choice and quality couldn't get to bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom v dark with ugly brown carpet. Socket too far from mirror to dry hair. Bathroom clean buy felt tired and dated. Bar area fantastic but smelt of stale drink.

    Location excellent. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was fantastic and the rooms and leisure centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the bar the evening we checked in and regretted not going down the prom or into Galway city as my partners carbonara was tasteless and my burger was raw. For breakfast the quality of food was very good but 2 out of the 3 waiters we dealt with were very rude in their attitude towards my partner and I

    The hotel was fantastic and the rooms and leisure centre were amazing too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was very clean Beds very comfortable Food excellent and staff very helpful Couldn’t have asked for better birthday present special thanks to all the staff at Salthill hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that some people just crowded in on top of us (we were seated ) in the lounge when the music started , the dance area was very crowded and too small an area for dancing ; from a health and safety perspective . Of course it was race week !

    We were particularly happy with staff who were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    I would highly recommend The Salthill Hotel .It is the ideal venue for any type of over night stay; be it The Galway Races : Business: Leisure Breaks. . The location is second to none; and staff are a pleasure to deal with. Spotless Rooms Comfortable Beds ...Super breakfast swim sauna etc....5 Star !.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel. Bad room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for sea view. Got end room with view of tiny yard where someone swept rain water early and woke us up. Constant buzzing sound in room - maybe water pump

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff members seemed a little impersonal. While generally they were very professional and business like there was a little lacking of personal touch.

    Wonderful comfortable bed. Room size. Staff were very accommodating and very kindly dried off our motorbike gear after the only wet day in 10weeks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    1st choice in Galway , would definetly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Supplement on salmon and beef.

    Hotel staff in the reception were friendly and professional , clearly knowing the needs of the guests. The restaurant is good value , except the 3 of the main courses have a supplement of 5/12euro . The breakfast is of excellent quality and even though the restaurant is busy the staff are attentive. The location is perfect for overlooking the bay , i did consider other hotels but was glad i decided to have a hotel by the sea .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    NEVER STAYING HERE AGAIN
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that if you didn’t get off a cie tour bus with an American accent you were treated like dirt on the floor. Ignored by bar staff waiters and met very coldly by reception espically because I booked through booking.com

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Salthill Hotel?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in room was small felt claustrophobic. Walls thin old part of hotel.

    Clean convenient but gone a little downhill. Have stayed on several occasions over the years but this was worst.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and fully featured hotel, bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very mediocre and badly managed. Croissants were gone at 9am and never replaced. The waiters were asked to bring stuff many times over and took some light yelling to get us some of the things we ordered (others never came and we gave up). Pancakes were awful. Just a bad breakfast experience over all. The couch in our room had lots of stains.

    Late check-in no problem. Gave us a nice room with champagne and chocolates for newlyweds (also nice rooms for friends). Huge bathroom. Great facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast buffet had a lot of options and everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was hosting a wedding on the day we arrived and it seemed like there was no staff to take care of the regular hotel guests. We could not get room service because reception would not pick up the phone so we had to go to the bar filled with wedding guests in order to pick up a bottle of prosecco to celebrate our honeymoon. Furthermore they refused to charge anything to our room so we had to go back to the room to get money which wasn't a great experience.

    The breakfast buffet had a lot of options and everything tasted very nice. Furthermore it was nice to have free access to the pool, sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    It was a very positive stay .We would have no problem staying there again and recommending to frien
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant that evening was a bit slow but we put it down to world cup matches on at the time

    Very comfortable spacious room and the breakfast was so tasty and plentiful .Loved the location so close to the beach and restaurants .Great car parking facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    service was very slowing in the bar both with food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    service was very slowing in the bar both with food and drink. We had breakfast delivered to our room, no fruit at all was on the menu which was very disappointing for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were originally in a room on the fourth floor where the walls were so thin we could hear the people next in the next room clearly even though they appeared not give spesking loudly. We asked at reception and were immediately changed to a room on the third floor which had much thicker walls. We had a brilliant, undisturbed sleep. The swimming pool was amazing and free of charge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    For the price I paid for the executive king with ocean views it was not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female staff was judgemental and made me feel a little uncomfortable. The wifi was non existent, the pictures of the hotel definitely made it look better.

    The view from my room was great except the balconies are just for show, you cannot go onto them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location, very comfortable bed
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on our honeymoon and thought we would pay for the top floor, sea views in the executive suite but Couldn’t look out of the window at night, due to an outside light directly in front of our window, which no one could turn off, until the maintenance man took out the bulb for the final night, had an issue in the bar also, where they got my food order wrong and never brought my wife’s out at all, then had to go through 3 different staff to have money returned, disappointing really.

    Good location, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    It was in a good location, not far from Galway Centre via...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a horrendous stay, did not get a wink of sleep. The walls must be really “thin” as I heard a TV on well into early hours of morning, moving of furniture all through the night. Voices of people returning to their rooms at various times early morning. The food was just okay. It really spoilt the last night of our holiday. This hotel was not worth the money. Too commercialised.

    It was in a good location, not far from Galway Centre via bus links which run every 20 mins. The room was good size and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location,lovely staff and superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we got was so warm,window only opened a fraction and there was no air con so the room was stifling all night.However the hotel gave us another room the following night which had air con and we were very happy

    Location,staff,breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with excellent staff, some guests behaviour ruined the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise on our floor from other guests banging on doors obviously in a drunken state was a disgrace. This behaviour went on from 12.00pm until 7.00am. Unfortunately it ruined our stay and wouldn't be allowed in any other country except Ireland!

    The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant and can't do enough for you. Food was good and the rooms very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Great--I would stay again if i wanted to swim in a really great pool while i was traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bigger hotel than i would normally stay in--but i'm glad i stayed because i really enjoyed the pool and the steam room. I think it's a great place for families because there is a play pool for kids and a separate lap pool for adults.

    I'm not really into the big hotel scene but this hotel has a great lap pool and steam room that i really enjoyed. I had been traveling for a few weeks--and my back was sore and the swim and steam did me a world of good. The hotel is little bit of a walk to the main area--but the bus is right outside ( if you're not in to walking) and there is a nice restaurant called Coco just a block or so away--where i had a delicious cafe Americano and a BLT. I had a great stay the room was very comfortable and the staff friendly and there is a nice bar and lounge area. It is a multi generational kind of hotel--something for everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went with my party of guys for my wedding. Some were woken at 6 am to highly motivated gym instructor, poor form. With this in mind the rating is very generous. Great location and staff were quite nice.

    I

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    i love salthill and the hotel is the best place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was at the very end of the hotel and hot hot

    it was lovely i was having birthday dinner in the prom the staff was lovely and food was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything about this hotel when I stayed here with my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortably hot even though radiator was turned off in room but other than that I would only have good things to say about my stay in the Salthill Hotel.

    Loved everything about this hotel when I stayed here with my nephew (8 years old) at the weekend. Beautiful breakfast of freshly cooked pancakes and maple syrup along side lots more to chose from. Leisure facilities included a beautiful hydrotherapy pool. Bus stop right outside if you fancied a trip in to Galway city from Salthill.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    2 night stay July
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and dreary very little light through small window. Service in bar for food was very slow. Not enough staff when bar is busy.

    The swimming pool is fabulous. Towels provided. Hairdryers free of charge in changing rooms. Plenty lockers available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Very good 25m swimming pool, very clean water and good lane...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hydrotherapy pool was packed with parents and their children when we visited so not a great experience. We stayed in an 'Executive room with sea view' ( €200 B&B ) basic room with no safe or fridge. Breakfast was a bit chaotic due to some members of a tour group who were rude and arrogant to staff and messed up the serving.

    Very good 25m swimming pool, very clean water and good lane training set up.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, great view. A little pricey for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have expected a few nice touches besides a bottle of water in the room No fridge is very inconvenient when travelling. I have medication that needs to be kept im the fridge and we couldn’t even cool our water bottles or have fresh milk for coffee And no top sheet... We had trouble with the air conditioner which was noisy and couldn’t be fixed until the next day. We were given a bottle of wine which we didn’t finish but again no where to keep it cold for the next day

    Overlooked Galway Bay. We had a corner suite which had a lovely view and was large Bar nice to have a drink overlooking Bay.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Salthill Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: