Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scholars Townhouse Hotel 3 stars

King Street, Drogheda, Ireland

#1 of 13 hotels in Drogheda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 584 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Oh my!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was over the top. We just walked around saying "Oh my!" The room, the comfort, the food, the luxury feeling, the friendly and helpful staff. Amazingly good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Great place for a couple of nights..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small if you have a lot of luggage, grand if you don't. Extra Charge for cappuccino at breakfast was a bit much ?

    Great hotel, well maintained old building, Staff were great. Breakfast was freshly made.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Stay for my last Night in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely friendly stuff, thanks to Will once more for Patiently helping me with all my queries Restaurant Serves until late, the Food was Great About 30min Drive to Dublin Airport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Staff was amazing, we arrived very late and their kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was amazing, we arrived very late and their kitchen was closing but they stayed open and even took our order from upstairs to make sure we got dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the major bathroom issue we had a lovely stay. It is a magnificently restored building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was extremely small and the bathroom was ridiculous, particularly the shower/sink arrangement. Anyone with even a small weight problem would not be able to get in and out of the shower because of the location and size of the sink. Nor is it possible to reach the waste bin. If I was to book again, I would make sure that I had a proper sized bathroom. I certainly would not stay in room 103 again. Sadly, The staff at the Tourist Bureau in Drogheda were woefully inadequate. The person we spoke to seemed to know less than we did, including the history of the Tholsel in which the bureau is located!

    The ambience, decor, history, food and staff were all excellent. The location was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellant, comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does not apply

    The hotel was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us, they actually went overboard and gave us a complimentary glass of prosecco each on arrival as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Time Travellers Rest...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was at the back of the hotel and the kitchen fan was on during the day... but was turned off at night. But I still loved the room & slept very well there!

    I loved staying here. It was quant, has great staff and my room was humble, yet fantastically comfortable. I will certainly stay here again! This place is a total departure from the usual pre fab hotels. It has lots of classy old furniture, paintings and channellers. Not one piece of Ikea furniture anywhere.. The breakfast is a full cooked breakfast in a lovely restaurant with beautiful morning light. I really did love it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Twin room was quite cramped for space with 2 suitcases.

    Central location, quiet, everything worked, good breakfast, comfortable room, friendly helpful staff, plenty of character. Sufficient free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some fruit at breakfast buffet would be nice.

    Loved the building. Very atmospheric. Fantastic historic building particularly with it's connections to John Holland who invented the submarine. Very good location also. Nice cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    short stay would visit again enjoyed meeting the boss,,,,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room décor a little shabby could don with repainting carpet dated

    lovely friendly staff, beautiful food, lovely décor in bar/dining room, lovely garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Good stay as there was easy parking, able to walk to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were allocated , there was no room to get in or out of the bed on one side! Fortunately we were given another room .

    Location was good and there was parking on site. Room was a bit small ,even after we were given a bigger room after looking at the first room we were given ! Breakfast was good and staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellentc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV remote fell behind the dresser which was not found till next morning. Light switch for bathroom was on wrong side of door. Suggest to just do a pull stringfrom light instead.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was nice and the food was good but the rooms were VERY small. Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms was extremely small. There was about a foot on all sides of the bed. The closet was about 8 inches deep. The bathroom size was fine but the area around the shower looked like someone had tried to put more sealant around the shower and got it everywhere. We asked to sit in the bar for a drink and were placed at a small table just outside the bar (in the hallway that is just outside the bar), There were people gathering for a large party and they gathered in the doorway of the bar. They were very near our table and people had to scoot along our table to get by them. It was very loud. It would have been better to put us in the corner of the bar. A waiter kindly asked us after we finished our drink if we'd like to move but the person that seated us there had also just handed us menu's for dinner when we asked to go outside. He couldn't be bothered to show us to an outside table. That person was the only person in our entire trip to Ireland who made us feel that since we were not Irish that he couldn't be bothered with us.

    The hallways are lined with antiques and the dining room and bar are really nice. The food was good. The fish I had was tasty. Good parking lot. Not too hard to find. Waiters in bar were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Charming boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stained glass windows enclosed the room so there was no external view. WiFi no good for WhatsApp

    Charming boutique hotel. Very helpful staff. Easy walk to town centre. Good restaurant and bar. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Experience genteel Ireland at this lovely establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The grounds are wonderful, we had wine and cheese on arrival in the garden by the fountain. Met fun people who we went to the pub with. had several incredible meals including the Irish Breakfast. Highly recommended. The staff is outstanding, from the kitchen to the bar to the front desk. Would go back in a minute!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, pleasant, civilised, an exceptional small family run hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small but they are of the period.

    Fabulous restaurant, great food! For history buffs portraits of Kings William and James stare down from the former schoolhouse walls, reminding one that for a short week in July 1690 Drogheda was at the centre for Europe's future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Classy stay, old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are former monks cells, so not big, but part of the charm.

    Superb hotel, lovely fitted out building with great staff. Bar Food was really good too and the breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    place was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are small and are tight. enough room to walk around the bed.

    stayed 1 night before our flight out of Dublin only 35 min drive. we stayed in 115 it must have been the chapel at one time windows where tall stained glass with a beautiful king bed with a canopy. bed was comfortable and shower has good hot water and pressure. we ate in the pub and it was one of the best meals that we had and we loved the food over there. they do a excellent job. we would definitely stay here again. breakfast was good in the am start serving at 7am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    It was wonderful and the staff very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was wonderful and the staff very accommodating. We had to check out before breakfast was served but they put out a little continental breakfast station for us so we could eat before we left.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Loved everything about this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like, it was great.

    We had such a lovely stay, room was so comfy and the restaurant and bar were excellent, will definitely tell our friends about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice place for a relaxing night or two in Drogheda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial bill included room charge which had already been paid through Booking. No real attempt to apologise which wasn't great. Food in restaurant was good but very under-seasoned. I'm not the type of person who touches a salt cellar in any restaurant, but if one was on the table I wouldn't have used it.

    Bar decor was great. Overall just a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.0
    Despite the room, the rest of the place made up for it and I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a twin bedroom and it was very small and old fashioned. There wasn't room to put our cases anywhere or to move around at all in the room. The ensuite was nice though.

    The food was amazing, both bar and restaurant. The building is simply lovely, steeped in old fashioned character. The staff can't do enough for you and are so cheerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and staff. Shame the breakfast let them down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing. The mushroom and tomato were not freshly cooked even though it stated “cooked to order”. Fried eggs overdone.

    Lovely four poster bed. Shower excellent. Staff lovely. The dinner was delicious and special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money and upmarket feel but bear in mind no work space in rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, just space for a double bed and the space around it. Feeling of space addressed by a big mirror mitigating claustrophobia, but no worktop, desk or table, nor space for it. I also struggled to get the morning shower to a decent temperature, couldn't get over low 20's even at maximum heating, a bit unpleasant...

    Excellent common areas, beautiful old English gentry style, wooden panels, etc., really beautiful and elegant. Real upmarket feel at a very competitive price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Bloody amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,tidy,nice hotel.. with flowers all around it smells amazing. Staff is great, so proffesional. Enjoyed every second of it. Ps beds are so comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous & look forward to visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel, lovely outdoor seating, friendly staff, amazing food, beautiful surroundings, rooms a little dated but comfortable, will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Step back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decor ... truly felt like a step back in time ... so imbued with history ...Will on the front desk was great... excellent value for money...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    The perfect place to stay for our visit! Didn’t want to leave this beautiful Town house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only tiny niggle.....Our shower dials were broken so my husband nearly burnt himself in the shower on the first evening - however this was delt with and we received a swift apology

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the staff were the most friendly, helpful and kindest staff I’ve ever met at a hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing. Emma and the whole team were helpful and friendly. Food was also excellent and the bar. Great value, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    So great a hotel I want to keep it my secret!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING! The bar and bartender. The front desk people were anamzing. Rooms and look of the hotel so charming. Restaurant food was world class as was the service. Great location and interesting town too. Loved the historic charm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was fabulous. The food was terrific and the staff couldn’t have been nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny! There was no room to have one suitcase open on the floor, much less two.

    The staff were most professional. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location within drogheda. Food and ambience great. Disappointing accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was ok, but definitely not worth price paid. Room clean but previous occupants opened toiletries on shower shelf. Very disappointed in breakfast, did not seem freshly cooked, reheated.

    Staff pleasant. Food in bar area v good. Nice ambience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Book this Hotel.... Fantastic.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all...

    Such a warm and comfortable hotel which oozes character. Staff were fantastic and the food was perfect. I had a single room for the night and it couldn't have been more comfortable. I will absolutely be making a return visit to this hotel after my experience and will be recommending it to anybody considering making a journey to the area. It really surprised me and exceeded all expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    COMFY HOTEL IN CENTRE OF DROGHEDA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ORDERED FISH & CHIPS & WHAT CAME WAS THE SMALLEST FISH I HAVE EVER SEEN & A FEW CHIPS......TO BE HONEST, FOR 17 EUROS I WOULD HAVE EXPECTED MORE !!

    BREAKFAST & FRIENDLY STAFF & VERY COMFY BED, ALTHOUGH ROOM WAS VERY SMALL !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television was small and because it was in the corner of the room it could not be viewed properly in bed. I didn"t like the scrambled egg at breakfast, which seemed to have been microwaved. But these are very small issues. Overall excellent place to stay.

    The room was small but with great design, and an excellent bed with quality bedlinen and pillows. Bathroom was also great. It was a very cold night but the heating was excellent. The hotel is really beautiful with lots of ornaments, pictures and plants throughout. The restaurant where breakfast was served is a beautifully decorated room. Almost everything about this hotel is quality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay to visit the ancient site at New Grange.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellent in every way! The staff went out of their way to help. The food for evening meal and breakfast was delicious and the room was warm, comfortable. The hotel is in a very interesting building which has been beautifully restored. We stayed in Drogheda to visit the ancient site at New Grange and the hotel arranged a taxi for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and helpful,lovely old world feeling in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightning in corridor a bit dark

    Staff very friendly and helpful,lovely old world feeling in the bar,the painting on dining room ceiling is a complete history lesson

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Dissatisfied and embarrassed.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being notified about the steep steps to the front door. I had mentioned that one of my group has significant disability, though he managed in the end - a kind of lift was out of order. Then I was locked into the indoor lift for about five minutes!!! My complaints merited an unsatisfactory and defensive reply.

    Location, cleanliness, breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    We had a great stay in scholars hotels great staff but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay in scholars hotels great staff but the room we had was very small and the bathroom was tiny if you were a big person you wouldn't get in the shower but I did enjoy my stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    Fine. Not worth the hype. There are better B&B's in Drogheda
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TINY room. Room was too warm. Hotel tried to charge me twice, had no record of my booking.com payment.

    Well located for traveling elsewhere in Drogheda.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    I would stry there again if we were up that part of theach country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to complain about

    The surroundings were elegant. The staff friendly and the bed large and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep followed by a tasty breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely stay but wouldn't stay a 2nd night unless the rooms were made a bit more cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are quite drab they could do with cheerful paint colours to uplift the dark wood in the rooms.

    The meal in the restaurant was fantastic as were the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love everything

    This is a historic property beautifully maintained, and since it was Christmas, decorated to the till. The restaurant is the best in town!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Great one night stop over, based on our room size, I couldn't stay more than that. Beautiful place t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms extremely small,not enough space to actually get out of the bed. You wouldn't want to be on the larger size as this would make your stay uncomfortable. You almost step into toilet,inorder to get out of the shower. Obviously,I cannot speak of all rooms here!

    Place in steeped in history and character. Used to be an old boarding school. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Excellent in one word
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    The reception we received on arrival was excellent, very friendly and helpful, a real pleasure, the same quality in the restaurant and bar. The hotel itself was very charming and comfortable and I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    VERY COSY HOTEL WITH GOOD FOOD
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM WAS EXTREMELY SMALL..COSY ....VERY LITTLE WARDROBE SPACE, ALTHOUGH ADEQUATE FOR A ONE NIGHT STAY, I WOULD LIKE TO THINK THE OTHER ROOMS ARE A LOT BETTER.

    I ARRIVED ON STEAK & CHIPS NIGHT WITH GLASS OF WINE OR BEER FOR 20 EUROS, EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY !! COMFORTABLE BED & VERY GOOD BREAKFAST

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Restaurant was excellent, some of the best food on our trip. Dining room and garden are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    A lovely stay in a beautiful house with wonderful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stunning place with such hospitable, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Everyone was well drilled they all knew their stuff about the food, the wines, the whiskies etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place, very unique and we enjoyed it thoroughly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm new to driving in the UK and accessing facility was a little challenging for me but well worth it!

    Facility was true to a bygone era. Magnificently decorated & elaborate in its old style charm!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Location is great and the staff is very supportive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very small, no air-conditioning and the TV set is from the last century.

    Location is great and the staff is very supportive and friendly. A class A restaurant with an exceptional food is a part of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    The decor and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is small, 6 foot bed but no room to move around it! No bath, just shower in a very small ensuite. No lounge area. Also we had light interference from the somewhere in the room

    The decor and staff were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    FAN TAS TIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only down side was the size of the bedrooms, which couldn't be helped as the property is very old and is listed. You have to decide whether you want a very large bed or more room to move around.

    The Hotel was beautiful very quint. Service second to non. The bar was oldie worldly. The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Childhood memories flooding back.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing that I did not like, very happy.

    The location of the hotel, breakfast was to our liking, and the hotel it self had a very homely atmosphere, it was quite pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike .

    Our stay was brilliant. A lovely old building very centrally located. Room although small was spotlessly clean and bed comfortable. All meals of a very high standard and staff extremely professional and helpful . We would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A memorable stay and a very good bargain. Close to Mellifont Abbey and the Newgrange Passage Grave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy off-street parking, beautiful landscaping, comfortable room, outstanding restaurant, great pub with delicious food and superior wine list, great breakfast cooked to order and with a good selection (I had a fluffy omelet, my wife had eggs Florentine)....We do not like duvets so we appreciated the top sheet and the blanket so we could remove the duvet and sleep comfortably.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    I loved this old style hotel felt very homely excellent will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was comfortable and functional but small as you only had room to walk around the bed and in one corner there was a tall unit with tv on it so it literally was a squeeze to get to that side of the bed I felt if there was just a high shelf for tv to be on there really was no need for that unit. They had the tea tray there also but I felt this also could be placed somewhere else. Because room so small it was very warm but if you opened window you could hear outside noise. But these are minor issues bed was so comfortable I really enjoyed my stay.

    Loved the ambience. The staff where so pleasant and friendly. Food was fabulous. Loved the lounge setting felt cosy and comfortable I felt like I was in my living room at home. Would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait for the receptionist to check out despite two restaurant staff advising them that I was waiting - when she did come out, there was no apology for the wait. Bedrooms are quite small but fine.

    Food is excellent - very good staff in both the bar and the restaurant Location is good with car parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    My stay was very enjoyable. I want to go back there and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was more than satisfied with everything for the three days I was there and really wished I could have stayed longer. I went to Drogheda for a family wedding and unfortunately didn't have the opportunity to sample lunch, afternoon tea or dinner at Scholars. Judging the standard of breakfast, I think I missed a treat.

    An excellent choice was available and the cooked breakfasts were cooked to order, attractively presented, perfectly hot. Tea and coffee were plentiful, as was everything on the buffet table, the brown soda bread was particularly delicious . I just wished I had more than one stomach! I was there three days so was able to sample different things each day. The service was absolutely first class, very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    The restaurant provided excellent breakfasts and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have low vision and the low level of lighting throughout the hotel was a problem. I have bruises for the times I walked into furniture which I could not see.

    The restaurant provided excellent breakfasts and dinner. The restaurant and bar staff were exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Scholars Townhouse Hotel is a fun quirky place to stay in Drogheda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small amenities not available

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Dinner in restaurant excellent. Eugene was a fantastic waiter. Ambiance was quirky and fun

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stay for birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are small....Glass of wine €8.50 is excessive in my opinion.My husband got scrambled eggs for breakfast but they were more like fried eggs and very greasy.Cold tap on bedroom was very noisy. In the morning the music from downstairs was too loud.

    Breakfast cooked to order. Eggs Florentine was delicious. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Great location and the building and grounds are lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Lovely cosy place, ideal location to walk into town and excellent food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed decorating to bring it up to the excellent standard of everything else.

    Excellent food every time we ate and staff reallly attentive and professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom a little awkward to fit the space available but that's what you get in converting old buildings. My room 109 also had some noisy electrical equipment outside which was quite noisy during the night. Didn't bother me but others might need ear plugs if light sleepers.

    The lady at breakfast was really nice as were the cleaning staff although everyone was friendly to be fair.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    We loved the Townhouse Hotel and will come back and recommend it to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we loved the hotel there wasn't much room in the bedroom an ordinary double bed would have been better than the king size one The shower door was a bit grotty and bodged up repair

    The helpfulness of the staff when we were running late . The food in the bar was great The breakfast was superb served fresh from the kitchens ... So nice Not To get a buffet breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautifully furnished room in an interesting building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot was full when we arrived due to restaurant guests.

    Beautifully furnished room in an interesting building. Friendly staff and a busy restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.5
    Thoroughly enjoyable - highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small yet met our needs

    Lovely unique interior, stepping back in time. Elegant dining room and excellent food Front garden riot of colour and beautifully maintained

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice staff. Great history with property and while some rooms are small, still a unique place to stay. Dinner and breakfast were both good. Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Beautifully appointed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    slightly larger room

    Beautifully appointed hotel. Excellent rooms, mine was quite bijou, but more than adequate and excellent staff. Good location, just above the main area of Drogheda.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Lovely place for our first ever trip to Ireland. Close to Newgrange, Knowlth and Hill of Tara which
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked air conditioning or a portable fan in room.

    Beautiful place to stay. Every staff member was very very nice. I loved the rich colour schemes and traditional decor. A wonderful place to stay. Food was very good. Flowers in front of Scholars were so beautiful and plentiful. Eating outside was lovely. Large parking lot is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Would return in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes, our room was a little small but the other features of the hotel made up for that.

    We had a wonderful stay at Scholars Townhouse Hotel. Driving into the car park and looking up at the magnificent gardens was a great start to our stay. We loved the bar and the friendly staff. We were extremely tired the first eveving and chose to eat in the bar and were not disappointed! Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and was sensational! Drogheda is a good base for visiting all the surrounding historic sites and returning home each eving to the comfort of Scholars is not to be missed. We also enjoyed the fact that the hotel is a favourite with locals!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable if a little small. The food we had in the lounge and for breakfast was fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't work. The room had stained glass windows providing no view, and only 2 very small windows that opened. The room was hot and the small windows did very little to cool the room. And, the noise from some machinery was very annoying. The fan in the bathroom ran constantly and was very noisy. The room itself was quite small with little space to move around the room. With the stained glass windows and small space it was quite claustrophobic.

    The restaurant on-site was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Good for a few days break in the middle of your vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and especially bathroom were quite small to the point where it wasn't convenient to get in the shower. To be fair, we did book the smallest room. We traveled by public transport, unfortunately there's no bus stops nearby the hotel. We had to walk a kilometer uphill with our luggage. The area doesn't have a lot of sightseeing opportunities.

    Cosy place, very friendly and helpful staff. We had the misfortune to stay while the whole area was having issues with the tap water, but the hotel instantly supplied large quantities of bottled water and anti-bacterial gel free of charge to compensate for this inconvenience. We very much enjoyed breakfast and dinner in their gastropub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    A very civilized hotel in an interesting gateway town for the Boyne valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had a large bed and no more than 18 inches on three sides of the bed. OK for me, but not for two people.

    A building of character with a very attentive staff. I used their casual dining in the bar, and the food was excellent. There is easy, on site site parking, overlooked by gardens and beautiful landscaping even though the location is urban. Public spaces well kept and nicely furnished. Convenient for the Boyne Valley, but also a useful airport hotel-took me 30 minutes in the early morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Great little boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware, the rooms are quite small due to it being an old building. Had a little difficulty with finding space for our luggage

    Staff were very friendly and very willing to accommodate. The food in both the restaurant and the bar was excellent! Location is very convenient to all the attractions. Also in walking distance to the many restaurants and pubs in town

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: