Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schoolhouse Hotel 4 stars

2 - 8 Northumberland Road, D4 Dublin, Ireland

#31 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1067 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    The story behind the place and the rooms were different in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bed was big it was not comfy There were black stains at the window There was only one man at the reception and there was a customer with a lost item so he couldn’t serve us faster as we just wanted to check out

    The story behind the place and the rooms were different in design than other hotels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    An ultra charming and fun stay in a one-of-a-kind place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design and menu and feel of the restaurant felt off. Never felt compelled to dine there which is a shame, because the structure itself is so unique...

    The charm and history of this place had me on cloud nine, it's so special to roll up to the Schoolhouse and feel transported to another time. We had a double room that surprisingly had full floor to ceiling windows that opened up to a patio, which you could walk out onto - stairs led up to a small lawn adjacent to the bar. We loved walking out and grabbing a pint to drink on the lawn, right outside our room. Good location, easy to walk to many a wonderful place in Dublin, but just outside of the chaos of the city allowing a quiet stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Loved the onsite restaurant / bar, esp with patio...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the onsite restaurant / bar, esp with patio seating. Also, very convenient to both be situated on the bus route from the airport and have onsite parking. While they couldn't accommodate an early check in after my early flight arrival, they were gracious enough to store my bag and invite to me to sit and relax over breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly helpful staff, a comfortable quiet hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath was quite complicated and the shower curtain wraps around you when you are showering

    Very comfy beds. A little warm as the weather was unusually hot when we were there. The air conditioning works well but if the bed had a top sheet instead of a heavy duvet it wouldn’t be necessary to use the AC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Difficult to find anything bad to say about this place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find anything bad to say about this place. Great location, really great staff. Good food. Room well ventilated. A great stay. Thanks for The Schoolhouse.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    The schoolhouse inn is an adorably, quaint inn not far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The schoolhouse inn is an adorably, quaint inn not far from the center of Dublin. Quiet and peaceful street without being too far from the action! The on-site restaurant served a delicious bowl of mussels and tasty Guinness pie in a charming atmosphere! The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Very charming hotel at great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Very charming hotel at great location. Easy walking distance into the city. Lovely friendly staff and there are great food and drinks being served. Loved my room with supersized bed and charming decoration and enjoyed the musicplayer and my hot bath! Top of my list untill now 👍🏻😄

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault this place

    Loved everything about this hotel beds where very cosy staff where super friendly love the history of the place too. I would stay again and would highly recommend others to stay here too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Characterful place to stay with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ground level rooms had very limited natural light and were slightly airless and hot. Although friendly, reception staff could have been more knowledgeable

    The hotel has a lovely ambience with a great bar and restaurant in high vaulted old school rooms. The food was very good - we particularly recommend the fish and chips (some of the best ever). Room was very comfortable with a huge and soft bed. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Proximity to aviva stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome wasn't great. Noticed toilet roll missing in one of two stalls in both gents (reception and bar) soon after arrival.

    Proximity to aviva stadium. Unusual architecture. Quirky chain flush loo in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Old world charm in the middle of busy Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The Schoolhouse is a really beautiful boutique hotel. As the name suggests it is an old converted School. Lovely large rooms. The upstairs dining area is a delight and served a beautiful dinner. The bar area was lively and fun and spills out onto the garden area. A perfect overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice and friendly staff. Spacious and comfortable room even with a toddler.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door wasn’t really sound proof and we could hear other guests talking while they were passing in the corridor but nothing major. All and all we were quite happy with our stay in Schoolhouses hotel.

    Room was very spacious. We asked for a travel cot for our daughter and expected it to be squeezed between the bed and the wall but it wasn’t. There was plenty of room for her too to move around and the bed was extra big for us too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    It's a lovely old place and I sort of enjoyed it but it but left feeling a bit short changed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed that the place needed a little injection of money spent on it. The restaurant is large. It was a Friday night and the place was empty so not much atmosphere. The food in the restaurant was just ok for €100 bill. Wasn't overwhelmed. The biggest issue was that during the night I was woken by a strange noise. I eventually located in our bathroom. It was a kind of grinding noise which sounded constantly through the night. I recorded it and it sounded 5 times in 7 minutes on my phone. Sounded like a plumbing/pumping device. I mentioned it in reception at check out and the lady said she had never had this complaint before but would pass the information on.

    I liked the style of the place......very quaint and unique. Bedrooms comfortable and a good size. Nice area to sit outside and have a drink. Reception staff pleasant. Easy parking. Lovely being beside the canal and all the wonderful streets to walk about ........nearby pubs and restaurants were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Dublin Sojourn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dark in the room; lack of windows

    Great character; friendly & helpful staff; good food on offer;handy for bus stops; good size room & bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs at breakfast. Poached were cooked to perfection but too much vinegar. Rest of the breakfast was of good quality and plenty to chose from. Staff again were friendly, warm and efficient.

    Staff were kind, friendly and catered to our every need. Clean, full of character and comfortable hotel. Childrens movies in our "Prince" bedroom was an added bonus for my 5 year old son. Can't wait to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, friendly staff and a lovely food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee machines in the rooms could benefit from an update

    Rooms are all individual to give a boutique feel and the restaurant and bar do excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing visit and will not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in ideal location and the building is quirky and interesting... However.we found it shabby and the bar was dirty and not in good state..the hotel needs to be badly redecorated and brought up to a standard.

    The staff were friendly and the meal in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The location is great and a comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good location, it was an easy walk to all the attractions of Dublin. On site parking was a bonus. The room was large which was much appreciated. The staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, comfortable hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ironing board was broken, but housekeeping brought a free standing one immediately and were very apologetic. So if you ever have problems the staff will deal with it efficiently and with smile.

    We arruved early and expected just to leave our bags but our room was ready so we were able to check in. The bed is a great size and really comfy. And despite being close to the hotel bar, where people were laughing and drinking outsise, we did not hear a thing. The staff everywhere were friendly and responsive. The food at both dinner and breakfast was well presented and tasty. Look forward to staying again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Good breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Good breakfasts. Comfortable rooms. Helpful staff. Easy access to transport and tourist sites. Good restaurant if we wanted to eat in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Perfect for our brief visit to Dublin on a cold wintery spring day
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a standard 10% addition to the restaurant bill without being announced, that was replicated in the final bill not my additional 20%

    We left early and I had some questions about the bill that the night manager answered as best he could, the came out to the taxi to make sure I was answered

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was lovely, Lots of lovely details and a comfy, hug bed. Got a parking space right outside on the hotels property. Were even allowed to leave the car for a while after checking out. Excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.5
    WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows oh the Pillows vvvv uncomfortable - soooo hard had a pain in my neck - lol lol

    EVERYTHING WAS FAB FAB CANT WITH TO GO BACK. STAFF EXCELLENT - WHAT A PLEASURE IT WAS TRULY WONDERFUL

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent , loved it , will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon , was too hot even on a lower setting . No fridge in the room .

    Loved the atmosphere , the service & attention to detail . Very authentic hotel to the apt name “ the schoolhouse “

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Super comfortable bed, great staff, restaurant architecture...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath way too shallow. Not possible to have a good soak. Restaurant food did not live up to the quality of the rest of the hotel.

    Super comfortable bed, great staff, restaurant architecture and ambiance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location expensive will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception were not very friendly and one staff member appeared not to recognise us even after 3 days. The restaurant is a walk through to the public bar. Not very pleasant.

    Lovely room and good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Quaint little hotel, close to city centre but feels like a countryside hotel, quiet and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free movies weren’t available as service wasn’t working.

    Fantastic room on ground floor with outside access through bedroom doors. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Great value for money. If you are heading to the tourist areas, it’s a reasonable walk especially if it’s raining!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    The stay was enjoyable, would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting, on the ground floor, upper floor fine, breakfast service was a bit slow, & everything didn’t arrive at the time, choice of what type bread wasn’t asked for toast, lack of fitness facilities, need to check why my c/card has been charged when initially swiped after been told you won’t be charged.

    We moved from the ground floor to one upstairs, staff were very good as they gave us the room earlier

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Despite the lack of tranquility the hotel is very nice. I would return again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are very thin. I was sandwiched between a family room that had two young kids making noise up to around 11pm - not ideal for a business stay - and a room that contained a guest who snored like the sound of thunder. Kept me awake for most of the night. Again, not ideal for a business stay. I do appreciate the hotel can't foresee a guest that snores so wildly but they should have known better than to place a business guest next to a room with young kids. Probably could have asked for a room change but I hate to be an inconvenience and actually thought the kids would quiet down well before 11pm.

    Room was very comfortable and spacious. The biscuits are a nice touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Lovely, comfortable hotel in charming school house building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we knew it was a bit of a walk to town and were happy with that.

    Friendly staff, cute building, lots of parking, about twenty minute walk from the town centre. SUoer comfortable beds and big bathroom. Felt very luxurious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    Bed was very comfy, pillows did not match this level, Shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was rusted , could not have a bath as a result. sink was stained. Towels were very old. Breakfast was extremely poor, pancakes were inedible. No staff checked with us how breakfast was, very disappointing. We were not asked how our stay was when we checked out.

    Bed was very comfy, pillows did not match this level, Shower was good. Bar had a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    My new favourite hotel in Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was pretty limited, though we did get a space.

    This is like an old country hotel,right in the city centre, with giant beds and excellent food, at extremely reasonable rates. Staff are charming and helpful, there's wifi and patking,and everything was scrupulously clean. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    The location suits me very well and free parking is a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location suits me very well and free parking is a benefit. I enjoy the peace and quiet of the residential area and the atmosphere of the Victorian style.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location for the rugby and great bar at the hotel as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little dated , clean , but wallpaper coming off the wall gave it that dated feeling ..

    Great location for the rugby and great bar at the hotel as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Darkish rooms but just about value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water went lukewarm after 5 mins of running. I personally prefer very hot water. When i arrived back at 11:15pm the bar had closed early (before normal legal hours). I was offered a beer by the night porter but with no atmosphere there, i declined.. but it looked a fine bar anyhow.

    I liked the antiquated feel to this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Fine subject to the above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not book a car parking space. Got parked ok but why do they not charge a small fee for overnight parking. This is beside the rugby international. Also we couldn’t access the room before 3 and the international was at 2 so we couldn’t decant until after the international and post match drinks. Possibly warn guests that the lunch tables may be booked out by non residents on the day of an international.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    A real Dublin gem - would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location - easy walking distance to city centre. Room was huge, but cosy and very quiet for a city hotel. The hotel bar is a proper pub and a great place for drinks and food. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    It's one thing for a hotel to provide great service in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's one thing for a hotel to provide great service in normal circumstances, but it was impressive how all the staff at Schoolhouse Hotel managed to provide excellent comfort, food and services for the guests during Emma Storm in Dublin. Stuck indoors for 3 days due to the unprecedented blizzard, my stay at Schoolhouse Hotel was incredibly lovely, and I didn't feel the slightest discomfort while the entire city was shut down. The food is also excellent, the hotel is quiet and clean and the location is great as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Location was perfect 10 min stroll to Grafton street but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small thing the movies didn’t work on the tv 🙁or the plug hole in the sink didn’t work . Also while there is free parking onsite it’s very very tight but great to get it !

    Location was perfect 10 min stroll to Grafton street but nice to be out of the madness!staff were all very genuine and friendly,loved the old features of this hotel . The bed was the nicest I’ve ever slept in ! And the breakfast was great !great shower also !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    lived up to reputation, friendly, welcoming would like to have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    arrived early room available immediately location excellent hotel welcoming and cosy restaurant charming and food very good staff helpful and pleasant problem with heating, moved to another room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    I still think it is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to other customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two little negatives, when I booked in at around 4:00pm, I asked the receptionist to book a taxi for us for 7:10 pm and it never happened, we had to walk. In the restaurant, my main coarse included onion and I requested that they give me mushroom instead, as I didn’t like onions. When the meal arrived the mushrooms were laced with spring onion.

    Everything about this hotel pleased me, I eat an evening meal, and breakfast the following morning and found their food excellent as well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    King size bed was enormous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At night there was a slight humming noise nearby. It wasn't enough to prevent us from sleeping but I would choose a different room next time, one away from the stairs and lifts.

    King size bed was enormous! Decor was a nice change from new built hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice little place but could be a lot better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and en suite rather cold until air con kicked in. Better quality pillows needed as they were very hard and flat. Towels felt hard to touch. No green or herbal teas in complimentary tray. Kettle needed replacing as had seen better days. Lighting very dim, hard to see when putting on make up. It all needs updating within keeping of the building, looks very tired, we expected more for the price. Cooked breakfast needs better quality sausages.

    Quiet location not too far to walk into town. Staff very friendly, on site bar had good selection of drinks. Air coach stop nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Fascinating refurbishment of an iconic buidling
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV took some time for picture to appear, wasn't sure if I was doing something wrong as the audio came through straight away. Wi-Fi wasn't the strongest signal in my room, but operated adequately for my needs.

    Stunning architecture and historical building. Large, spacious room (Brendan Behan: rooms named after famous literary figures). Informative and interesting pictures and wall hangings. Comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities, nice bathroom with decent shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Very good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything.

    Wasn't my cheapest option,but when I saw this hotel advertised I feel in love with it,and was only £40 more then the cheapest.The aircoach was only €8 and dropped outside.I arrived after 21.30,so a quick drop off of my luggage and straight to the bar for something to eat as food stopped being served at 22.00hrs.Bar was lovely - live music(Andy was great)on a Thursday and Friday night.Open fires in both rooms,and atmosphere was relaxing.Staff were friendly and advised how I could find the nearest "Boots" and St James Hospital.Also learnt that Jools Holland stays at this hotel.I was impressed with my room "James Joyce" - kept with the old schoolhouse theme.Bed was very comfortable.Temperature was easily controlled by a remote control. Bathrobe provided and nice complementary tea/coffee/biscuits provided.The room was peaceful and had had no problems sleeping.When my friend(who lives in Ireland) arrived the next day,he was able to park in the hotel car park.Which was great,as it was €3 for 3 hours just outside the hotel.He loved the hotel as much as me.Convenient to walk into Dublin shopping area and temple bar,where we spent Sunday evening and a pleasant walk back to hotel to relax on the sofas in front of the open fire.I loved this hotel and will definitely be staying here on my next visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.3
    Can't wait to clean up and go home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of disinfectant on entering /nice to know it is clean but others places clean too but not that smell/ went into bar at 12.20 am Friday night and half bar stools turned up and bar men mopping around and swiping glasses from tables wanting to go home !! What time is the bar to close in a hotel /stayed in a lot of hotels as you can see but was not impressed with this/ won't be staying here again

    The room was very nice and lady on reception lovely too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    very comfortable bed. free parking --but very few spaces available- would not return here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    surly unsmiling indifferent staff ,cold room on arrival and problems even after seeking assistance to get heating operational.very bad lighting (for reading / Working in room. ) very cramped bathroom with stained bath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    It was a stay made by the real friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was bleak weather outside so the lack of good lighting around the hotel was noticeable, if that is a criticism there was nothing else to complain about!

    The staff were absolutely great so friendly and a credit to the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathtub was very shallow, but still enjoyed it.

    The room was amazing and the breakfast the following morning. A nice a quiet bar also. It was in a good location and the staff were more than helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    More D4
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pity that the route from reception to the bar is through the dining room Spoils the dining experience I feel q

    Location Historic building Friendly and efficient staff Food and beverages Comfortable warm room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    3.8
    Compared to a Holiday Inn Express in Belfast, this hotel was very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was two single beds pushed together, peeling wall paper, lighting poor, over priced bar food and nothing out of the ordinary. A hotel that needs to pull its socks up to be a four star one badly needs refurbished and not anything like stated online. Reception staff that are actually a bit more welcoming. Bedding that didn’t have holes in it.

    It central for our use

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Cosy small hotel with a good deal of charm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi in the bedroom was not good.

    It is an extremely cosy hotel , a little worn but comfortable and with a personality uniquely its own , certainly not part of an hotel chain. Free parking in D4 unheard off and one of the main reasons I will opt for this hotel if its available. Other simple things like bottled water and biscuits in the room , not always provided in the larger hotels without a charge

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Comfy night's rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little shelf in the bathroom would be handy if 2 people shared the Oscar Wilde room.

    The beds are really comfy and the location is close to Dublin center, but in a quiet location. Just right for a great night's sleep!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel, well located, friendly staff, great breakfast, great showers, comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor is a bit tired and and there was no view from the window but given that we didn't spend much time in the room wasn't a problem for us.

    Lovely little hotel, a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Dublin. We had the breakfast included option and the menu was as comprehensive as you might expect and the fry-up was lovely! The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate with the usual array of soaps and gels and a nice fluffy robe to wear after using the fantastically powerful shower - guaranteed to get you going in the morning! Additionally the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, which was great, because it's easy to eat and drink yourself into a stupor in a city where every other building is a bar or restaurant. We plan to return to Dublin and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was very difficult to negotiate with a larger (SUV) vehicle.

    The food, wine and standard of service. Comfortable bedroom. Friendly, efficient reception staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    2.9
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as a returning customer I was very disappointed with the overall state of the place. last time was superb and that is why I booked this again. however, when we got our room we went straight out again to shop and then went to dinner and show. we weren't back until late so it wasn't until about 12/1am when i was using the bathroom and the side panel of the bath fell through. it was clearly a patch-up job because someone had tried to wedge toilet roll in to keep it together. the sink was blocked and every time you used the toilet the cistern would be a constant drip for 20 minutes. it started to smell really bad, which we didn't realize when we first went into the room because the smell of bleach was overpowering-clearly trying to cover up the smell. overall, it was very uncomfortable and all I wanted the next day was to check out as soon as possible. I will not be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for Dublin City Center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - great hotel.

    Nice hotel with a great location for walking into Dublin city center. The room was warm, clean and comfy. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Our breakfast the next morning was excellent - one of the best I've had in any hotel - made me sorry I didn't eat in the hotel the night before!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was quaint and lovely, but a little over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very cold in the mornings. Two mornings in a row there were no plates or bowls at the buffet until staff were prompted. Bathrooms are small (not an issue) but means ventilation is poor, an extractor fan would be a good touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.5
    Not good would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was terrible we met friends there and paid extra for deluxe rooms with fridge and the room had no fridge we waited 1 and a half hours for breakfast after telling them three times that we where still waiting other people just got up and left,in the evening we also had something to eat it took over an hour for the sweet to come so bad they said that there would be no charge.on news year day at night we where told to Finnish our drinks of at it was only 10.30 when we stay in a hotel normally you can drink late if you wish this is what I told them and she said that we don't have a license for this what I find hard to believe .we paid Euro when we left only to find out later that the money had gone out of my bank as well after a disappointed phone call to the hotel they did put the money back into my account

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service was under resourced. The one waiter was doing her best it was not her fault that the management does not ensure there is enough staff. Service from the kitchen is too slow. Both mornings the restaurant area was cold.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value for a short stay in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room (back yard)

    Beautiful old building with lots of character. Rooms were quirky and comfortable. Has a lively bar and superb breakfasts. I highly recommend it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    nice time, probably would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom walls were thin -people woke me coming in at 5am and their ensuing lengthy conversation kept me awake! Carpet at foyer was very dusty when I arrived and it put me off initially- not a good first impression

    Bed was huge and very comfortable. location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, fabulous food and freindly,helpful staff. Will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be helpful to have a safe in the room. Items can be left in safety deposit at reception but its not really practical.

    This is our second visit to the Schoolhouse. It is a lovely little hotel with a beautiful bar and lovely restaurant. Good location - a wee bit of a walk into the centre but a pleasant stroll. There is also a Dart station nearby. This time we caught the Aircoach to and from the airport and that was great as it drops off and picks up right outside the hotel. Everyone in the hotel is so nice. The manageress in the restaurant even brought me a honey and lemon drink because my throat was sore! Very quiet rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with great character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn’t stay two nights.

    This was our second visit and have already booked a third. Upon arrival, the car park was almost full due to a wedding. One of the staff stood in the only spot available while I got my car from the street. The staff and food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast were priced very well for Dublin and were perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, central but quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor irritation was the canopy over the bed. Personally think they are unhygienic - dust collectors.

    Great location, central but quiet. Attractive building, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    From our arrival to our departure everything in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    From our arrival to our departure everything in the Schoolhouse Hotel was perfect. We ate in the Canteen Restaurant on site and the meal was fantastic. Our room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable. The staff were so helpful. We will definitely be back to the Schoolhouse and would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Room and bed v nice and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bed v nice and spacious. View could have been better- but service and hotel in general v nice and great value for money last minute in Dublin

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing and fun, such a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely although my friend was a tiny bit disappointed with the Maxwell House coffee!!

    A lovely warm welcoming room. Comfy beds and lovely bathroom with a great shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Pleasurable but there are other hotels that give more value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no internet connection in room. Basic bathroom with only an overhead shower and a bath too undeep to sit in, bathroom needs complete refurbishment. Very lumpy duvet that had been washed too many times and a heater that was very difficult to operate.

    Lovely building and gorgeous looking restaurant/bar. Very nice Irish breakfast for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    A suprise 2 night stay for my husbands birthday,.. Easy to get transport into central Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have anything that caused issues so nothing we didn't like.

    The hotel has lovely character,the bar and restaurant has cosy open fires,.. Great cooked breakfast with ample selection,friendly and helpful staff throughout. We would definately stay again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Great value, good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel. Lively bar but very quiet restaurant. Room very good. Car park busy and difficult to park a van. I will stay there again if available when I next book

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    A must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Spectacular hotel..Shall be back

    Everything. Ate in the bar, excellent food. Best bar food I've ever had. Craft beers great. Beds comfy (and massive). Showers were fantastic. Staff meanwhile friendly and extremely helpful. Also, the building itself is beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    A wonderful boutique hotel for an old Dublin experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only major complaint I had was the wifi. Our room was the end of the hall and the wifi signal did not reach that far. Additionally, even where there was wifi, our devices could connect but stated that there was no internet connectivity. Other than that, a wonderful stay.

    The hotel was very nice. The staff was incredibly friendly and the rooms were beautiful. It had a luxurious 19th century feel to it with 20th century facilities. The bar was very nice looking, with good selection of drinks, though the large screen TV and pop music took away from the ambience a bit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very limited and tight so not good for large cars be aware

    Lively area and close to the centre the hop on hop off bus great way to see the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being as it's Dublin 4, it's a little bit out of town, if you don't like walking.

    Nothing not to like about the property, if you like old Victorian buildings. Bar was well stocked, but had locals using it, so was more like a pub, so great atmosphere. Restaurant was fantastic, had a lovely piece of Venison & breakfast next morning was the best hotel breakfast I've had in an age.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: