Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fota Island Hotel and Spa 5 stars

Fota Island, Cork, Ireland

#6 of 28 hotels in Cork

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1461 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    really excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the first morning for breakfast, it was not really explained that we could have availed of a more extensive menu.

    Wonderful location. Excellent Concierge. Really comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Not a golf hotel resort, more like a kindergarten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Rather disappointed as we chose this hotel for its golf but unfortunatley we went during the Irish children's holiday (different from the UK) and the hotel was like a kindergarten. Prams, pushchairs and lots of small children everywhere. Not conducive to a few day's relaxing golf. Golf course is fantastic, hotel is fantastic, food is fantastic BUT far too "family friendly" for us to consider returning. When asked the reception did say it was better in May or September, so if tempted then go then.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Bar food could have been better for the price we paid, was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar food could have been better for the price we paid, was over cooked as if it was sitting in an oven too long. We were also given the wrong times for breakfast therefore we missed breakfast which we had paid extra for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.5
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would recommend Bath Sheets rather than Bath towels! But this is a minor detail!

    The astmosphere, the staff very helpful and frindly. Great place to go and unwind!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Welcoming, luxurious, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have worked as a Hotel Manager in the past and am highly critical. I couldn't fault this property!

    Wonderful welcome at reception. Beautiful room, quiet and with a terrace and view. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    the location, the spa and the facilities of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was limited items, if you don't have your own car, it will be difficult to find taxis especially the hotel located a bit far from the town.

    the location, the spa and the facilities of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Couldnt rate our stay highly enough. Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was excellent. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Our room was just perfect. The food was amazing. Cant wait to go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable Bar food finishes at 9 Then Resturaunt finishes at 9.30 but Is a set menu €49 Has to travel to golf club next morning for something to eat after 10am with pregnant partner

    Rooms were clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which is very minor is that u think the purple back lighting in the bedrooms needs updating, it's feels as though you are sleeping in a nightclub! Other than that everything was perfect

    Excellent food and lady at reception very accommodating when we needed a bigger room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could laid out a little better as you had to walk in and around other patrons tables to gain access to the buffet area.

    Great Facilities, Location and Room. Got Discounts for the Wildlife Park at reception also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great spot to relax and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food. Lovely surroundings. Both indoor and outdoor spaces lend themselves to relaxing. Lovely trails around the woods for running - met 3 red squirrels and a fox! The missus said the spa was top notch too. Great buffet spread for breakfast and a nice menu of hipster eggs also. No interest in golf so can’t comment. Staff very friendly and efficient at all times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A pleasure from start to finish, genuine warm welcome and hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at Fota Island Resort have a genuine friendliness that makes this place uniquely special. The hotel, its facilities, location and atmosphere make any stay in this wonderful hotel an absolute pleasure. Food was of a very high standard in particular the selection at breakfast time was mouth watering.Can't wait for my return trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The breakfast is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like leaving to come home ... 🙈 such a fab relaxing place

    The breakfast is amazing. Food in the golf club is good value and lovely location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful, will defenitely be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful Hotel and wonderful staff particularly our receptionist Kellie who looked after us. Absolutely gorgeous Hotel and grounds, great food especially breakfast, good room and lovely bed. Exactly what I wanted for a weekend break.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    The welcome and follow up from customer relations was a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome and follow up from customer relations was a nice touch. The whole grounds building and room were excellent. Breakfast very tasty, will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    It was beautiful and I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest I really don’t think this could have been any better

    I was traveling with my 4 year old daughter and they went above and beyond to make this a special experience for her, they helped carry our bags to the room and once we were settled in the brought up a teddy and a bed time storey book for her it was such a beautiful touch. When we went down to dinner any staff that had helped us when we arrived would ask my daughter how was everything by name and ask her did she need anything and for a mother on her own it made the trip so easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing for a five star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn't feel like a five star hotel. Five star prices but not five star quality or service. Food in The Amber Lounge very disappointing. Side salad consisted of lettuce leaves only and no dressing. Staff had to be reminded about our orders. Service at bar poor and staff unfriendly. Bedroom was very ordinary for a five star hotel.

    There's a lovely golf course if you are into golf.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy hosts in a restaurant during a football match. It was disappointing that the match was even shown on TV in a restaurant/bar area.

    Place, surroundings, provided service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    The hotel it's self is beautiful but it's the staff that made my visit even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only dislike is that I had to leave

    Had a wonderful stay, the staff where wonderful and friendly, food was beautiful and my room was every thing I could want

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    For what we got, very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only having access to a standard pool jacuzzi n sauna, not full thermal suite. Unsupervised pool, I had to report unattended children disrupting the pool, which didn't stop their poor behaviour. only two loungers around the pool limited opportunity to relax in this area Outside works Chainsaw going off near the bedroom before 9am Limited bar selection from whiskey to Non-alcoholic beers No table on balcony Hate to be negative but above were a real let down to the experience

    The grounds are beautiful The room was comfortable Staff attentive and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful quiet room and location of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is not until 4pm and then have to check out by 12 so don't get a whole day there.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, room and location was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel. Spectacular Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have so much to offer (within the hotel and surrounds), they should have a bedroom guide to what's on offer. They do have excellent information in the lobby, including walking trail guides from the hotel.

    The weather was exceptional , which does play an important role in a resort hotel destination like this, with its own extensive, landscaped grounds on Fota Island. In what was perfect light, looking out from the hotel was like looking at a picture postcard (if a postcard could be viewed in HD!). From the grounds, you have a choice of 3 walking woodland trails around the island, some short and one 7.5km. Walk early in the morning and you'll meet lots of rabbits and, if you are lucky (as we were), the native Irish red squirrel. The Hotel itself was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    A happy stay, with the exception detailed above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that the Booklet detailing the Hotel Facilities normally found in Hotel Rooms was not provided. Calls to Reception took up to five minutes to reply. The first excuse given was that the Booklets had been removed from Rooms as a new version was being printed, which didn't make any sense whatsoever since it left the Guest without any information as to your Facilities. When mentioned at Reception when we checked out the Receptionist expressed an apparent amazement at what we had been told, which gave the impression that the excuse given earlier may not have been truthful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were amazing and the location is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast with food stored in old warming units that build up with steam and as a result make the food soggy. In my view a five star expensive hotel as this should offer more at breakfast and try something innovative and new, not just stick to the same old buffet cooked breakfasts and omelette. Even if not willing to try something new, then at least make the breakfast a la carte as the pricing of the rooms suggest more.

    Staff were amazing and the location is incredible. Breathtaking views. Best hotel I have stayed in across multiple countries in terms of service and scenery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The whole place is amazing from the drive up to the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drink was very expensive €7 for a pint bottle of bulmers.

    The whole place is amazing from the drive up to the hotel from the entrance to the perfectly cooked steak. Bed was so comfortable. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything else was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rang guest services for towels the morning we were due to check out, we were left waiting an hour for the towels to arrive.

    Everything else was fantastic. Staff were brilliant, food was great, room was comfortable, clean and spacious. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely beautiful hotel with lovely food and clean, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a member of staff at the spa on Weds 30th May at around 7pm who was extremely rude. I felt she belittled and looked down on us and it made us feel very uncomfortable. As a result, we didn’t book any treatments which we had originally planned to do.

    Beautiful location, clean and comfortable room with a very large bathroom. Restaurant for evening meal and breakfast was lovely. Hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Luxury and Serenity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small issue is that the television signal and choice of stations is really poor. No big deal for us, but should be much better in a 5 star hotel.

    We stayed here before...we just love the area and the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    We got upgraded to a suite , considering we didn't book...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got upgraded to a suite , considering we didn't book directly with the hotel we were very happy , the room was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious, and concession into wildlife park an added bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Rooms were very modern in comparison to the rest of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the Amber Lounge was incredibly expensive for what it was - €17 for what could have been an oven pizza. Won’t be eating there again. Poor quality ingredients at breakfast, particularly the sausages. Seems much more effort was put into the non-cooked breakfast. Very poor water pressure in the shower.

    Rooms were very modern in comparison to the rest of the property, and very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was nice, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt that the resort was pretty overpriced for the service. Was expecting more 5 star treatment ie... When you walked in there was no one to greet you and direct you to one of the receptionist on Tuesday afternoon. Noticed a few other people also looking perplexed when they walked in. No one there to take your bags Upon arrival.The food was average, bit overpriced. My husband ordered a glass of house Malbec, we were charged 15Euros a glass with dinner but when looking at wines by the glass the next night noticed Malbec was 9.50? We ended up eating at the elm tree down the road 2nd night and it was more enjoyable food and half the price. I had the pregnancy head to toe experience. It was ok but at times the massage was a bit too light for my liking. All in all the hotel was good but just pointing out a few points that does not make it value for money.

    The hotel was nice, clean and comfortable. It was a good location to go to local attractions. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, beautifully kept
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are travelling with children and would like to use the pool note that there are two child sessions but otherwise adults only. Fair enough but nobody told us when we checked in; we had a VERY disappointed 3 year old. Also, there is a shuttle bus to the Wildlife Park so do ask what times it operates. It would be great if the hotel had a family leaflet with all the information visitors with children would like to know, that’d be a great improvement to an otherwise great hotel.

    Super facilities, excellent breakfast, rooms very spacious, 5 Minute drive from Wildlife Park and Fota House.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    The spa policy will have me reconsider future stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable ( too firm ). The spa segregation policy was demeaning, would prefer to have the extra charge included in the booking price.

    I always enjoy my stay @ Fota. Reception & restaurant staff excellent. Food always good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    V good except for hiccup on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daughter in law had pre arranged by phone that we be in rooms beside each other. Didn't happen on checkin so had 2 wait a while to get it sorted. Had to insist on rooms side by side.

    V pleased with everything overall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Everything was fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. 10/10!!

    Everything was fab! Location was so close to Cobh, Fota island and cork city was a quick drive. Bedroom and bathroom were fantastic! Staff went out of their way to help- shout out to Sam at reception. He was AMAZING!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely room with exceptional bathroom. Spa facilities are very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheet on the bed was not tucked properly and moved while sleeping. There was too much on one side and too little on the other. No mattress protector under sheet. Just a little more attention to detail on the beds.

    The spa facilities were excellent and very clean. It was a very relaxing area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Amazing time and a beautiful location - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would suggest more transparent pricing on drinks at the bar. I ordered an aged whiskey which, unbeknownst to me, was 40 euro (almost $50). I paid the tab and enjoyed the drink without raising a fuss, but had I known how pricey some of the drinks were I would have ordered something else.

    The staff was amazing. My wife sprained her ankle our last night and promptly received first-aid treatment from Niamh and her front-desk staff, of whom John was trained in first aid. He bandaged her ankle and gave pointers on how to care for it the morning we left for the airport. We loved the spa, especially the hydrotherapy pool - a great way to unwind and end the day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Shower wouldn't turn off and when we spoke to staff it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower wouldn't turn off and when we spoke to staff it seemed to have this issue for a while. Also would expect that guests would have access to the hydrotherapy pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Fab Fab Fab. Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed little uncomfy. Bit noisy when u move in it.

    Stayed there Fri night (Mary 11th) Staff friendly & welcoming. Liked every thing. Just wish i had more time there to experience it all. Room service was great at 1-30 in the morning.Ordered chicken ceaser wraps. Best ever. Food was lovely. Loads to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food way to to expensive

    Everything was excellent except the price of the food 19 euro for a burger and chips ridiculous and a small portion at that but ither than that I have no complaints

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Stayed in the hotel with my 2 young daughters and family we had a wonderful few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find any fault

    From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed , very friendly staff extremely helpful , lovely relaxed atmosphere Nice rooms , food was of a high standard , breakfast had a lot of choice , service staff and bar staff very helpful / friendly Pool / Spa area brilliant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with our stay here. It was quite obvious that the hotel staff were not prepared for the busy bank holiday weekend. We arrived at the hotel at 3.30pm and told our room would be ready at 4pm and that they would give us a call to tell us when the room would be available. It was just after 5pm when we got that phonecall. Prior to receiving the call we were told that we could leave our bags at reception and they would be placed in the room for us. When we eventually got to our room the bags had not been left there for us. I had to go downstairs and wait a further 30 mins for our bags to be brought to the room. While waiting for the room we said we would order some starters to tide us over before heading into the city. We ordered soup and some chips and they took the best part of an hour to arrive. The room itself was lovely except for the bed which was 2 single beds pushed together. Is that really 5 star quality??

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.4
    Staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was cobwebs in the room around the lights & the lamp was broken - menu in bar had run of of food Fri & Sun night - main female toilets were filthy & toilets were blocked.

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a USB socket in the room. Minor detail though, as everything was perfect! Sets a new benchmark for us.

    Wonderful bed, very quiet room, amazing food!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Refreshing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little glitches which do not match four star rating. Broken kettle which was only replaced after three requests; shampoo and body wash tubes almost empty,and slow service during quiet periods in restaurant. Please note that these criticAl points did not diminish our enjoyment.

    Really friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely friendly staff bedroom was lovely and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the pizza from the bar menu. The food from the bar on both nights wasn't very hot. Could habe been sitting in kitchen for a while before being served to us. For a 5 star hotel the food could be improved

    Lovely friendly staff bedroom was lovely and comfortable. Chocolates and a birthday card in the room on arrival for my husband was a very nice touch. Pool area very nice. We weren't told about the separate hydropool area by staff we only found out about it from talking to other guests which meant we didn't use it on our first day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel and staff that make you feel special :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    This place is everything you would expect and more from a 5 star hotel....the check-in computers were down on arrival so the staff took our bags and brought us into the restaurant and supplied free food and drink of our choice and as much as we wanted, great touch...The rooms are very nice and the bathrooms are to die for, very deep baths and the showers are so good you wont want to get out :-)...Staff were amazing also, especially Yoko on the check in desk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Everything, thoroughly enjoyable two night stay from start...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Thermal suite may be disappointing if not used in conjunction with a spa treatment.

    Everything, thoroughly enjoyable two night stay from start to finish! Beautiful food and perfect relaxing environment!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.5
    All excellent except bar food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the bar wasn't great beef ribs were swimming in gravy and the burger was pretty standard. The main course was expensive considering the main dishes we got.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    A fabulous relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing!

    Lots of facilities indoors and out and beautiful surroundings. All staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble even with a toddler in tow. Food was amazing and the indoor pooll area was really inviting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    Bathroom was big .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet was leaking ...not really 5 star...also tv kept skipping. I was really looking forward to staying and getting a 5 star experience but it felt more of a 3 star disappointment !!

    Bathroom was big ...shower great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Breakfast worth it. Extortionate prices for food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seriously .... prices for food. So we decided we were hungry, but not hungry enough for dinner but more of a snack, possibly bar food. So we headed into the bar and ordered 2x burgers and fries. 39 euro. Seriously. Thirty nine euro for burgers and chips. I thought this was extortionate. I wont be ordering again for that price. I can only imagine the price of food in the restaurant. It would want to be out of this world but havent heard people raving about the food either. Also, what i found also annoying was, we (2 adults, 1x 1 year old), were placed above either the bar or function room where music pounded until 130am. I dont mind that happening when its just us 2 adults but when we have a 1 year old with us and waking the child, i did not find this encouraging to rebook.

    Breakfast worth including in your rate. Best selection of foods. There is an additional menu for breakfast on your table including waffles and french toast etc. Dont be fooled with what is front of you, plenty more in the kitchen and delicious. Room was sooo comfortable. Plenty of space. Bathroom perfect, spacious shower and separate bath and spacious bathroom itself. Up to date. Playroom for children with toys.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    A little disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got upgraded to a suite which was nice but found previous guests door key in the dressing gown pockets which question wether it had been washed we also found nail clippings in the room. Very disappointed

    The staff where very friendly and helpful and did there best to put us in a lodge as they had overbooked Dispute booking 6 weeks in advance. The lodge was lovely if we where going ther to do self catering.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    I loved every part of my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved every part of my stay...the bed was like sleeping on a cloud, room was lovely, comfortable, clean and quiet... shower was amazing, breakfast yum 😋 all the staff were more than helpful and friendly...5 stars from me

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no towels. Had to wait 30mins for someone to bring towels to room after I called down. Breakfast was poor. Irish breakfast- sausages were very overdone and some burnt. Staff very slow during breakfast and we went down quite early. Had to asked 3 times for our coffees and extra butter. One staff member said “sorry I forgot” Overall not completely impressed and disappointed as always wanted to stay here.

    Nice surroundings and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Perfect relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we tried to book dinner reservation on sun morning but couldn't get a table for Sunday evening at any time..

    On arrival on the 11th about 5pm..we were greated with a lovely girl on reception.. Don't know her name but wish I got it now.. She was a young blonde girl.. So friendly and super helpful and even gave me and mam free passes for the hydra pool for mothers day..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    I enjoyed every minute of my stay.. We were upgraded to a suite it was gorgeous.. Staff were so kind.. Hotel was spotless 100% will go back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed very uncomfortable for us as we have bad backs bar food excellent a bit pricey also i found spa prices expensive

    Food excellent grounds great hotel great staff lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    A little slice of relaxation heaven in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underwhelmed by the breakfast. Eggs just tasted different. Huge choice for it however. Pots of coffee would be nice instead of little cups. The bar menu for dinner was very limited with no chicken choice, most unusual and the restaurant menu was just too many rich foods which didn't appeal to us.

    Great location..So much to see and do. Beautiful large room, beautiful bathroom. I fell in love with the hydrotherapy pool also!! Nice travel cot for the baby with a teddy gift as a souvenir, lovely gesture!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hotel with even better staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the breakfast as we requested room service but we didn't get everything we asked for

    The staff were very attentive and the meal in the restaurant was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Not worth 5 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow and hotel in general was not clean, went to the bar for a few drinks after eating in the restaurant and it took a member of staff about an hour to pass us by asked him to clean the table of what was left after someone had been eating he came back a have it a light clean leaving food and strawberry ice cream still on the table room had cobwebs all over it covered in dust the table and desk had dust all over it and the service was very slow there also information is passed on from 1 staff member to other when they do a shift change, wasn't the best 5 star hotel I've stayed in

    Beautiful hotel and surrounding area was beautiful nice a quite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Great one night stay, we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely one night stay and couples message in the spa. The staff were great and very friendly. The king delux room was very comfortable amd clean. All round great stay and we will be coming back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    When can I go back?
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whirlpool in the swimming pool wasn’t overly hot - if it was meant to be jacuzzi like!

    Bed was so comfortable. Hotel was so clean. Our room was right beside the lift down to the spa so that was brilliant. Bedroom robes were so soft. Spa was so comfortable and peaceful. Complimentary access to the thermal suits in the spa as guests. Food was beautiful in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Staff were lovely and friendly. Grounds were beautiful. We were given discounted access to the wildlife park too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay, but we feel a bit ripped off now
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we just found out we were charged €17 each for cheese on toast (no garnish, no sides, nothing added) in the bar so this has left a poor taste in our mouths. I really can't recommend eating here.

    Comfortable room, lovely bathroom, very clean. Play room for children.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con broke. Shower broke. Boiling hot room. Tv kept going on and off. Very annoying. Shower head was very dirty and dust on a lot of items. Sensors for the taps were annoying as the tap went off when you walked near it. Only good thing was the Bed!

    The grounds. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a five star, the hotel did not meet our expectations. The rooms were very standard, hotel was cold and heater in room did not work. The spa area was again cold and water in jacuzzi was only warm, only one room in the hydrothermal suite was open and seemed like all guests had access to it. Also in the quiet relaxing area there were men drilling above us!!

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Bar area and service was excellent. Service in restaurant was very prompt and good service also.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were clean & smelled fresh, hotel in general was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered surprise to the room for my wife’s birthday it never arrived even though I was advised at checkin that it was in the room, and was then charged for it at checkout until I corrected them, some staff look very disinterested & did not want to engage with customers.

    Rooms were clean & smelled fresh, hotel in general was clean & tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Unique secluded warm friendly and ideal for location to wildlife park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu for the top restaurant away from bar is giving the customers no choice the bar food menu is way better and the quality of food is fantastic

    The toy for my daughter was a lovely touch and will always remember that thank you again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    Nice shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room were dusty. No mini bar in room the bed was 2 singles pushed together . Food was terrible well overpriced .id recommend going into cork city for food Bar staff were rude . This hotel is a 3 star at best .

    Nice shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault anything from this hotel.

    The bed was very comfortable, the breakfast was lovely, the spa facilities were more than expected. My partner booked this for my birthday and it was the most relaxing night away we have had.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Not likely to return
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast had all the usual items for a large modern hotel but the cooked items were cooked and left too long so unpleasant . Not good enough for a hotel of this rating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing for a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly lit car park with no signage Only one bed in room and had to request third bed after booking for 3 fold up bed provided Had to request coffee to be sent to room as only tea supplied Had food in bar area ordered the burger and a fish which were out within 5 to 6 minutes. The average wait in most restaurants for a freshly cooked burger would be 15 to 20 minutes. Bar service poor, staff seemed inexperienced. Robes provided in room had no belts and had to request from staff. Jacuzzi was broken and the water in the pool was cold.

    The receptionist was excellent and one of the staff at breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    A little underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has to ring twice to get the room cleaned. Bins were not empty, beds not dressed. Girl in the bar forgot our drinks order twice. Had to ask her a few times for them. Quality of breakfast only ok. Light in room flickering. Heat in room on first night was very uncomfortable. Mould on grout in shower. This hotel needs Francis Brennan to give it a once over. Location good and friendly staff but they need training.

    Staff were friendly. Location is good. Dinner was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    The greeting at arrival was wonderful couldn’t ask for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The greeting at arrival was wonderful couldn’t ask for better. The girl on reception couldn’t be more helpful. All the staff were so helpful. Will definitely stay here again 10/10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Out of 10 I'd say 5 out of 10 ☹
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light Switch broken, reading lamp flickering and not workn right.air con not workn. Sink and toilet dirty. Staff n th restaurant were slow and not enough attention and th restaurant wasnt busy (8:30pm th 5th Jan 18) we had to ask for water, bread And waited 20/25min to get served and just disappointed. And it'sth small tings that make th wkend . We booked at taxi @15:00 to collect us @19:45 and it was never booked for us and we were 25min late for our 20:30 date in a restaurant in cork city. Wen u pay alot of money u expect to get wot u pay for but we found it Very expensive and didn't feel like it was a 5 star and we spent €600 including food ,drinks, spa from th 5th - 7th of January 2018.

    Th food was nice and th reception staff and bar staff were nice. Entrance nice. Bed was nice. Th place looks lovely Breakfast was very good Spa was lovely , (my girlfriend said )

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: