Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sligo City Hotel 3 stars

Quay Street, Sligo, Ireland

#5 of 11 hotels in Sligo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1135 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good.

    Very central location - Staff in hotel very accommodating. Room very clean and comfortable. No traffic noise at night. Right in the heart of Sligo, near all amenities. Would love to visit Sligo soon and stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast was good but would have liked the options that were advertised for breakfast like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. At just under £300 for a weekend I felt it was a little pricey.

    Central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really every thing was as expected ...we would definitely choose this hotel again

    every thing in the rooms that you would want ie.hairdryer,extra pillows ,toiletries ,tea and coffee making facilities . Bed were clean and comfortable ...staff always helpful we had breakfast included in our stay which was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking limited at the Hotel but plenty of car parking close by and not expensive.

    Location as the property is right in the center of the Town and close to all the Restaurants and Nightlife.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member at check in was very blunt and cheeky about parking. Yes the parking is described as 'limited' but that does not give the right to be unhelpful and pass us off. We paid for parking over night which is fine. But we were told again in the morning there was no spaces and to go and pay for parking again on the street by the hour. When we went to check the hotel car park for ourselves and there was 4 spaces. So I don't know why she told us there was no spaces and she was adamant to make us go an pay outside. All in all, she made check in needlessly awkward and uncomfortable and she was far from helpful in the morning as well .

    Great location and nice and Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy on the Saturday night as a lot of the people out on the town seemed to pass by our window. It was fine on the Sunday.

    Great location not far to walk for anything. Lots to do within a short drive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was that a Hen party were very noisy late at night on the first night of our stay.

    The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Great breakfast & great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shape of the windows mean the room gets quite bright early in the morning because the curtains don't block the light. The windows could do with blackout blinds. Also some of the rooms seem to have quite old plumbing.

    The location is great for visiting Sligo and the staff are lovely. The room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was light and airy, nice well kept bathroom with clean towels every day. There was a good selection at breakfast and all the staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would stay again and are pleased to give a rateing of 10/10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and cramped. Curtain pole was broken and curtain was torn. Décor was very dated and jaded. Really overpriced for what we got.

    Central location. Very friendly, helpful receptionist. Great breakfast. Nice bar with live music.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Due to some unforeseen circumstances our party did not get to Sligo until very late. My contact with staff member, Katherine, advising of our circumstances was always helpful. While at the hotel another staff member helped with a laundry issue. Breakfast was good quality, plentiful, and attending staff member a pleasure to deal with. These things along with free parking made our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, about 20 kids running around the lobby, could not talk to my friend we had to leave. Room was very basic for the cost of the room. Light only half working in the lift. Ages waiting to be served for breakfast, food poor.

    Location only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A funky odour in reception area was always present. Poor bartender/ waiter in restaurant was on his own both mixing n serving drinks as well as taking orders and serving. Bad for him and therefore service suffered...not his fault but management's. He tried very hard n was very cheery despite!

    Staff very friendly and some good restaurants in short walking distance. Nice room, clean n good roomy bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found it difficult to charge our mobile phones because most of the outlets had round pins (not the 13 Amp flat pin Irish type).

    We thought it was nice that we were given a complimentary cup of cappucccino while we were waiting for our room to become available. The bed was comfy and the choice of food at breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy. Expecting a bit of noise being in the middle of a fair sized town but there was a lot of noise from inside the hotel as late as 3am. This resulted in 2 nights disturbed sleep

    Comfortable and clean with secure on site parking. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went into the bar at 2.30pm the staff member told us it was a lite bite menu only until 3pm so we decided to wait to 3pm as it was on half an hour's wait.Then at 2.55pm another member of staff came over to say that the bigger menu actually didn't start to 5pm..We just thought this was bad form on the hotels behalf.If we had of been told this from the beginning when we first went into the bar we wouldn't of minded at all to to be told 3pm then another staff member say no 5pm we were very disappointed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had initially booked a twin room for 7th april in March for 169 euro. Absolutely extortionate price for this room in sligo. I canceled and rebooked the room the week of my stay for 149 euro. It's disgraceful that a 4 star hotel in dublin city centre is 30 euro cheaper than 1 night in a 3 star sligo. This hotel is not worth anywhere in price range it has set itself. Delusional pricing.

    Perfect location in the heart of sligo town. Everything is with 5 min walking distance. Staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plumbing left a lot to be desired. There is little soundproofing between rooms. I wouldn't recommend staying here on a Saturday night. Parking space is limited and often the carpark was often full.

    Good location to explore the city on foot. The reception staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was very quiet for Easter weekend so not much atmosphere Plugs situated under the table so not the handiest to get at without moving

    Nice enough room, single beds were narrow but comfortable, our friends were in a double room and it was a very large King size bed. Rooms were very warm, clean and comfortable, could do with a few more hangers for ladies spending more than a few days... plenty of shelf space Nice bathroom, very clean and warm, I would have preferred a walk in shower but forgot to request that when booking. Very handy to shops, bars etc Car park at back of hotel, small but we managed to squeeze in. Breakfast was grand everything you needed in the morning. Lift to all floors and rooms beside the lift. Nice seating area at reception, plenty of comfortable couches with the bar adjacent, It was pouring the rain while we were there so put a bit of a dampener on our stay Shopping centre entrance directly across the street so handy to stay out of the rain....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is very little spaces to park your car. You can park it in the street in front of the hotel but you have to put up a disc,

    Clean, warm and comfortable. Perfect location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and it was a bit cramped also we were disturbed during the night by a man who was intoxicated also for the price i wouldn't recommend it.

    Location was ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked staying a few more nights, because Sligo turned out to be such a great town, so the only thing about the Hotel I didn't like was that I didn't stay longer! (Sounds more like I "didn't like" me.)

    The location is perfect, within walking/stumbling distance from music venues.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothin, there was absolutely nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    From we arrived the staff were wonderful, a lovely young man on reception, I didn’t get his name, we arrived around 8pm on sat 24th March, bar staff were lovely, hotel was very comfortable and in a great location, within walking distance to town, even in high heels it’s was a short walk,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutly lovely staff. Could not of been more helpful and pleasant. I would highly reccomend this hotel to others and we will be back again next year. 10 of us stayed altogether and everyone enjoyed their stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No music in bars at night. Could have nice cosy lounge

    Comfy bed. Room warm and clean. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Easy access to bars and shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to request a late check out with my booking.com genius reward as I was having a late night and wanted extra time but I didn't get it.

    It was in the perfect location and the room was lovely. The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem I had was the bar was closed too early and there was no such thing as a residents bar.. we were unable 2 purchase anything to drink as early as before 12.. I had asked the girl behind the bar about what time the residents would be stopped from purchasing a drink and she told me that when she was finished the night porter would serve us.. this was not the case.. I was left disappointed..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Draft coming through the windows Creeking floor boards in rooms above kept us awake General noise proofing was very poor could hear every little noise

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very weak, and room service breakfast cold.

    The bed was enormous and very comfy. Staff were lovely and we were allowed to park in the car park even though we were hours early and checked in early too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loved everything

    great heating with thermostat so we could adjust for comfort. comfortable beds. very friendly staff. had a noise issue with guests in next room that was sorted very quickly by receptionist. ate in the bar quick service and great choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Th weather ... lol...

    I love the room, was bright and the view was amazing... on the river and the mountains ... beautiful even though the weather was awful.... the location of the hotel is fantastic, in the heart of the city 5mn walk to everything... Hotel is very clean, and quiet, and bed is comfortable, good night sleep.....the staff is very friendly and extremely helpful....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have dairy intolerance. 1st hotel I've stayed in locally that doesn't have soya milk.

    great heat, lovely food, very clean, lovely staff, parking (though limited)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man on reception was so so kind, he had coffee and fresh orange juice ready for us when we were heading off to do a wedding (before breakfast) he made us feel so welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking when we arrived had to park 15 minute walk away and person at front desk was disinterested and didn't care. Bar food was very poor. Very overpriced would not stay again.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decent channels and no way to connect the tv to the Internet..

    Everything was perfect except there wasn't a smart tv.. only saor view which was very disappointing. Hotel needs an upgrade in services..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking spaces, though we were very lucky and found one easy enough. Location of electrical sockets a little hard to reach!

    The staff are outstanding. The reception staff and the bar staff each made us feel very welcome and helped with all our needs. Good food variety on the bar menu to suit all tastes and pockets and perfectly presented. The room was lovely with comfy beds and great pillows. Everything you need supplied in room, toiletries, hairdryer and tea/coffee facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small but minor complaint.

    Love vely view over the river looking west. Clean . Fantastic location. The Slovakian bar lady lovely personality as had the Irish guy. First class hotel who know their business. Will stay again .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are a lack of suitable power sockets in the room because of most are the vintage three round pins, now useless, Few sockets have been added but are not enough.

    Good old hotel, in excellent maintenance condition and kept in top condition

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a slight difficulty to connect the electrical (chargers and Pc) due to the incompatibility of the sockets, most are still the Vintage three round pins, can obtain the adaptors at the reception but it is not the ideal solution, the updating of few sockets will ease the difficulty. For a foreigner it can be a difficulty to connect the electrical. The shower is part of the old bath tub, not an ideal modern solution.

    The Sligo city hotel is an excellent hotel, right in the middle of the shopping area and near to all facilities, in my case I have chosen because of near to the General hospital. All is in top condition and well maintained. In spite of all the few difficulties encountered the hotel has a certain Tone, the structure of bricks is a distinct feature and can recognize the hotel from a distance. It give the feeling of the "old times" glamour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in 114 on the first floor and it was super audible whenever someone was passing by to the point of me waking up at night.

    Heating. This basic thing is sometimes a luxury in Ireland and booking a place you never know whether you'll be deprived of it or not.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like that the shower is over the bath as i find it can be a bit dangerous but as this seems the norm in most hotels it is something you have to adapt to.

    The roomwe had was large with huge windows. The staff were very helpful and parking on the grounds was secure with plenty of room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff where nosey in the morning outside the room. The bathroom could do with a working vent.

    Can't really fault the property it self, bar the radiators not working but once mentioned to reception a portable one was brought to the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could not find a fault happy about every thing

    room was great right in the heart of the town ,5 minutes walk to train station lovely break .we will be back for a long weekend after Christmas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were small and booked double room and was also single bed in there making room smaller bath was tiny and could hear everything threw wall 150e is ridiculous no resistance bar and extra for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed an iron and I suppose I should have asked at reception.There is no parking lot,but I was lucky and could park right outside the front door,also I was disappointed that there was not live music.There is no car park,but I got a spot right outside the front door.

    Yes.the breakfast was very good,there was nothing to complain about,but it was expensive,I expect the reason being it was a holiday weekend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was above bar, hotel was busy and it was easy to ear others downstairs and passing by in the hallway. For the money paid, it was not a great value.

    Good location. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to hot and window only opened an 2 inches, if you leave curtains open the street light comes in , if you close curtains then it's too hot

    In city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Location of this hotel is perfect, right in the middle of town - in walking distance of all the amenities, reception staff (same guy for check in and out) very helpful and friendly, bar staff and staff at breakfast all really cheery! Room was huge and the shower was great :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not much parking at this hotel. When we arrived there was one space available. We drove to a function we were attending and when we returned we parked in the public car park just a short distance down the road from the hotel. We didn't have to pay in the public car park as it was late on a Saturday night/Sunday Morning.

    This property is very central in Sligo town centre. The staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were upgraded to a suite and nothing was a problem for any of the staff. Hotel location is prefect for easy access to the city and all locations

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing obvious,

    Breakfast buffer very good, staff super, room bright & airy, no street noise. Location is perfect, right in the heart of Sligo. This hotel is excellent for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like a bath only a shower plus the steam from shower set off my fire alarm. Parking was a bit problematic after their car park filled up

    Heart of the town with friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband found staff very angry and slow in bar. They ran out of a lot of drink. Room very small for €121 with no breakfast. I wouldn't call it value for money.

    It served a purpose as a group of us were there for a party. I found check in pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Biscuits. There should always be biscuits.

    Beautiful dual aspect room with the biggest, comfiest bed I've ever slept in (and this was the cheapest room on Booking.com). Friendly staff, great location, nice and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise fair enough it might be the guests fault but I expect when I spend a lot of money for a room for a few hours to at least get some sleep

    Bed was big

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had changed my room to a room with a small double bed , for me and my son , a big story about a stag party, seen the room , had to park on the footpath out the back as there was no parking ,, So I checked out 2 hours later , and paid full price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..everything was catered for

    Comfy bed room spotless..location excellent. Would definitely stay here again..no need to bring hairdryer as the one in room was really good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found bar / lounge room fairly functional mainly because of its multi purpose us - no escape from the TV sadly!!

    Location in Sligo was excellent as was the parking behind the hotel. Receptionist was really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible WiFi. Why do these hotels under-supply bandwidth?

    Good location. Pleasant check in. Restaurant with good food on site. Nice-sized, quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a clean and convenient place located in Sligo city center. The staff there are very nice. Also they have live music in the hotel bar after 9 pm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Electric fault on the first night, shower head and water pressure was poor, food in restaurant was very poor only eat the once didn't want to chance it again

    Staff did there best and where very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed not as comfortable as anticipated and the access to the car park was not reliable. No ironing board or place to dry underwear.

    Ease of access to the town, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to water work in the town the water from the tap was brown. Staff forgot to put bottled water in our room. Apart from that everything was fine.

    The location, comfort and price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the designated smokers area and we were woken at 230am by inconsiderate smokers chatting. The staff handled our complaint about this very well.

    Good place in the centre of Sligo, easy walking distance of bars, cafes, restaurants and other attractions such as the abbey. Good secure parking. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant down stairs was a bit... grubby! The condiment holder was full of empty sachets, cutlery stained and could do with replacing... very basic. It could do with some TLC.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very suitable for babies in common areas (expected!), so just beware of the delicate decorations in tables and the likes.

    Great location, right in middle of town with a shopping centre just across the street where you can get TK Maxx, Next and much more, close to train station and by the water, staff was delightful and breakfast was good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was unsatisfactory.It was a buffet breakfast serve yourself which was fine but there was not enough food for the amount of people for breakfast i went up twice and it was first up first served.I did ask the staff and they said more was coming shortly but i felt i was beggin for the breakfast i had paid for i only had coffee and toast an 2 slices of pudding my husband had an egg and 1 slice of bacon. I did mention this at checkout but the receptionist told me she would look into it ?!? Dont know what that meant because we had to go elsewhere for breakfast .

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more pleasant to the customer not there to just finish their shift and get out.

    Breakfast was excellent well laid out and plenty to choose from

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable & the staff provided milk for babies bottle late at night and told us we could obtain as much as we needed & at any time through the night. This was excellent & we really appreciated it as it made things very easy for us travelling with a baby. Also lady on reception was very friendly & helpful. Parking for residents was excellent. A relaxing stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a more secure parking off street and the carpet looked old.

    The bathroom was nice, and the beds, but the carpets were a bit long in the tooth. The pub downstairs was great, met some lovely people and got some great travel tips! Michael at the bar and the night desk man were terrific, they took great care of us!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed is a standard Irish double so not very big if you're over 6ft tall (ca 190cm) The parking spaces are rather snug and it took some effort to get out when it was full.

    Excellent cleaning standards. The pillows and blankets were heavenly. Staff super friendly and helpful. Comfortable and friendly casual bar downstairs. I would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I found was music in bar was loud at night I could hear in room but stop after 12 & didn't wake up my little girl sleeping so maybe it just me!

    We had the bar food very nice staff helpful and friendly breakfast was good as we had 3 young kids the enjoy it. There was plenty of space for kids in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud in the room. There was some live music at the hotel's bar until very late hours. When I called the reception at 11:30 pm I was told it would be 15 minutes more but it was 1:30 am before the music finished. Would not recommend this place if you plan on having a good night sleep. Drawers in the bathroom very dusty and be careful with the curtains if you are allergic to dust..

    The location is great. Lady at the reception was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE STAFF WERE VERY HELPFULL ESPECIALLY THE MALE RECEPTIONIST AND THE NIGHT PORTER ON THE SATURDAY NIGHT WE CAME HOME AFTER A NIGHT OUT VERY HUNGRY THE KITCHEN WAS CLOSED BUT HE GOT US A TRAY OF TEA BREAD AND BISCUITS .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms with thin walls which allowed sounds of headboard banging from room next to ours keep us awake until after 4am. Understand it was not hotels fault but hotel should tighten up beds and headboards. We had respect for others and they should have had also.

    The location with easy access to go eat somewhere nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sligo City Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: