Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sligo Southern Hotel(Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo) 3 stars

Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland

#7 of 11 hotels in Sligo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1477 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel very shabby. It's tired. Breakfast area had less atmosphere than my boarding school ( Ireland in the 70's} dining room. My whiskey glass was what I can only call a disgrace. Scuffed from wear and splattered with calcium marks. It was so bad and seeing that the barman could have been a martian I decided there was no point in pointing it out to him.Excuse the pun!!

    Location is excellent. Parking a treat, very easy access to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired looking for the price I have stayed in a lot better hotels all around Ireland and the rest of Europe.Noisy at night everything seemed to be complicated from working the shower to ordering breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room with single beds was a bit tight. But the bathroom was updated and there was a closet to hang clothes.

    It was convenient to the bus and train station. The air was of an old grand hotel with large sitting areas in a formal but not stuffy fashion. It had an exercise area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room unfit for use as severe smell of chlorine from leisure centre we could not sleep due to breathing difficulties and we we now have severe sinusitis and my wife has had to take antibiotics.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet on bed too heavy for the summer season. Bed too wide.

    The old style interior. It makes it comfortable, and there's always something to catch the eye. The open shower in bathroom is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was hot and stuffy ..no airflow. They said they were having problems and gave guest who complained fans. Very rough night sleeping not having at least a fan

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was poor quality . For a double bed we had two singles pushed together . Not ideal .

    Great location . Staff were lovely . Food was very Good . Good place to stay .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet could have had more pastrys. Irish breakfast was fab

    The staff were so helpful and welcoming. It was lovely to see so many locals eith knowledge of the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other than the size of the towels nothing. I would recommend this hotel.

    The rooms were lovely clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom great. Bigger towels would help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a lovely surprise on our travels. The staff were very friendly and helpful. . We enjoyed the bar as well as both dinner and breakfast here. Our room was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym facilities were dated and only 1 treadmill. None of the bikes were connected to give times and distance.

    Comfy bed, good location and parking, bar food was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been a little cheaper it was lovely though, the bedroom could have been a bit bigger we thought it was a bit on the small size.

    The location was good close to the town and train station was right next door and the bed was comfortable staff where alsof very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the menu could have been better. Unfortunately we got some hard chips. Not a great variety of desserts.

    Room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Loved the décor and the Foyer area. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The staff on reception couldn't do enough for us and other guests, they went beyond being friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu for the bar could be a bit more varied, but the food was lovely.

    Lovely room - quiet and cosy - was studying for an exam in Sligo the next day, so enjoyed the peace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    While the hotel was wheelchair accessible, I wouldn't say it was really wheelchair friendly. Also had to ask for heating to be put on (which they did do right away). No blind in the bathroom and clear glass!?

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff made a mistake with a food order.they apologized and gave us a round of drinks on the house.very accomodating and friendly staff and I think they made the trip great.i ll be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the weatherdelighted

    very happy with hotel and staff in general.the only draw back was the weather if you can improve that we will go there again.thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisey. We were placed directly across from the elevator and we were kept awake the entire night by the noise of people arriving at our floor. Our floor was also very noisey in general with lots of noisey guests thinking it was ok to shout and laugh as loud as they liked at 3/4 am. It was certainly the worst nights sleep I've ever had at a hotel. On departure the receptionist didn't even bother to ask if our stay was ok and seemed put out by us making her do anything.

    Good location, 5 minutes from town. Decent cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our main issue was that the coach tours which presumably make up a large portion of the hotel's business tended to make a lot of noise in the corridor at 6-7am banging doors and talking loudly. The swimming pool/spa area is a bit run down and the breakfast wasn't great (but hotel breakfasts rarely are to be fair). The time delay on the sensor operated lights in the hallways is a bit too long and could easily catch someone out.

    An old fashioned hotel with a good range of facilities for your stay with a great location right next to the train and bus stations and a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of town. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, there was slightly intermittent wifi and the staff were professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feather duvets & bed uncomfy, took recptionist approx 5 minutes to answer phone - not her fault but probably under staffed - Pretty disappointed with our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for food after 9.00pm informed kitchen was closed . Couldn’t give us a sandwich even though we were residents . My husband had just been discharged from hospital.

    Comfy quiet spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Dinner was cold on arrival and had to be taken away for reheat. Still cold on return. Breakfast boring. Rashers pale . Probably microwaved. Pudding undercooked. Not at all appetizing.

    Old world feeling about hotel and smiling chatty recepionist

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The diffifulty getting in to hotel late at night. Ended up standing outside in freezing cold because I did not have mobile phone to ring number on door. Surely in this day and age a better system could be used.

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room just a little too warm but everything else great.

    Very helpful staff. Excellent/convenient location. Beautiful interior and facilities. Generous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found the food to be terrible here - we decided to have dinner on Saturday evening and when it came it was swimming in grease - chips were so greasy and I myself ordered a chicken stir fry and it was swimming in grease. We decided to eat else were - Sunday night we were left at the hall door for ages and rang the night porter a few times and he eventually showed up.

    Room was old but nicely laid out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative is the shower. Very poor flow from shower head not powerful enough.

    Hotel and rooms decor was very nice, relaxing lounge area and good sized bar. Hotel carpark was in an excellent location. Reception staff very friendly and room servicing cleaning staff also very cheerful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette smoke smelt in the bathroom and it was a little dated for the price

    Hotel was located well, breakfast was delicious and beds were comfortable but bathroom smelt of smoke and my friends T.v would not work

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building. Terrible elevator. Staff says we have to check in after 3. Even it is2:30. High price for the nice and not worth it.

    It is just not what we thought 4 Star

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. I could feel the springs on my back through the mattress. You could hear every footstep in the room above. Lots of creaking and sounds of doors opening and closing. Seemed like the walls were paper thin.

    The front desk agent was extremely hospitable and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    The location was excellent and less than two minutes away from the train station. The city centre was only a short walk away. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful ,especially the housekeepers, the receptionist Lisa, Zoltan and the bar staff. The swimming pool was inviting and heated. The hotel itself was very clean, given its age and the décor reflected the time it was built - no need for any renovation. The range of choice for breakfast was impressive. We would most definitely stay there again and would enthusiastically recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you book a double room that costs €114 for the night you would expect a double bed in the room not two single beds stuck together,

    Good location, good parking, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we were put in a room right next to the elevator...it was noisy in the room from the elevator mist of the night. Luckily when I complained we were moved to another part of the motel. The rooms were very hot. Wee had lovely thick quilts on the beds but it was too hot to sleep under them.

    Staff that were helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too short. Housekeeping issues, dirt on radiators,wires sticking out, visuals of stuff inside windows not considered. Lack of attention to detail, in summary.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints at all

    our room was very comfortable the lighting was the best inmy estemation, as I usually have difficulty in reading in hotel rooms.Breakfast was delicious and the staff friendly and helpful I recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On the first night (Saturday) the lights in the bathroom and wardrobe area were'nt working. Also I did not get much sleep since I was directly above the residents' lounge even though I had requested a quiet room. To be fair, I was moved to a much quieter and bigger room for the remaining 4 nights, but the loss of sleep was diificult to catch up on.

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price could have been better... expensive for bed only.Room far too warm and bed far too hard.. Had to open windows all night and heard a lot of traffic noise.. got up with very sore backs...

    The breakfast for good value for money.roo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Electricity in the morning. I had to leave hotel with wet hair. Staff never even mentioned powercut or said did you enjoy your stay??? I handed my key and receptionist took it without even bothering eye contact

    I loved the location and easy parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe bit entertaining in the evening.

    Breakfast was very good ' service fast.evening meal special very good on two nights that i eat there.beef and plenty of pork on another night same top class.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would appreciate a “do not disturb” sign to hang on the door, not necessarily a complaint but something I would personally prefer to have as I had the cleaning service repeatedly knocking on the door and shouting questions through the door.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the room and en suite were immaculate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is old and some parts could do with a touch-up.but that didn't distract from it's charm.

    Close to the centre Short walk. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice onsite bar and dining Lovely feeling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO BATH WOULD BE GREAT IF WE COULD HAVE CHOOSEN TO HAVE ONE.

    THE BED WAS REALLY BIG AND COMFY THE SHOWER WAS GREAT AND REALLY HOT BUT I MISSED THE BATH. THE STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND AVAILABLE.THE LIGHTS BLEW IN OUR ROOM ON ARRIVAL NO WAITING OR QUESTIONS JUST ANOTHER ROOM IMMEDIATELY AND THE OFFER TO HELP MOVE EVERYTHING. THANKS VERY CLOSE TO TOWN LOVELY SITTING AREA AND FIRES EVERYWHERE TOASTY WARM AND COMFORTABLE

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey in particular the bar

    Excellent location in town close to all you need Excellent facilities very modern looking and staff are very polite & courteous

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar staff were less than friendly. We spent Saturday evening in the bar.We were there for about 4 hours. The Bar girl on duty served me maybe 10 times. She never made eye contact and was belligerent to say the least. Im sorry to say this but I have to be honest. Attitudes are contagious but hers was not worth catching.

    ROOM WAS EXCELLENT. QUIET AT NIGHT, BED WAS EXTRA COMFORTABLE. COMPLIMENTARY TAYTOS WERE A LOVELY TOUCH.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff inexperienced. Waiting long time for bar service. First room we looked at had no view and was very dark. Little bit further than walking distance to town.

    Nice mood in hotel. Rooms newly refurbished. Breckfast great value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV stations particularly RTE 1 were not good because of bad signal. not a major considering I was out all day.

    Breakfast delcious the croissants were fresh and fluffy. Lovely the garden. very pleasant staff. Lovely ambience generally in the hotel. Lovely red carpeted corridors. No noise. warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the price was a bit expensive especially as breakfast was not included as we initially thought it was

    Room was spacious and warm bed was very comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of local recommendations. Not suitable for anybody who is not fit!! Stairs everywhere. I asked for a shower rather than a bath as I have rheumatoid arthritis but didn’t get one.

    Staff were friendly but not sure of what facilities were available locally e.g. I arrived after travelling from Cork at 9:30 to find the kitchen closed and no hope of getting even a sandwich!! I asked reception for recommendations locally but she couldn’t help. I went out myself only to find a fabulous restaurant ‘Coach Lane’ right across the road!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    being ultra fussy . we had difficulty with the room door lock - and i have to say once reported it was fixed immediately :). Very early check out at 11am

    good sized comfortable room and very clean. Hotel is in a great location 5 minutes walk from city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it

    Brilliant hotel clean pleasant staff excellent food can highly recommend excellent location walking distance into town. Plenty to go and see if you want to go out and drive. Would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friends got the room much cheaper on the Lidl site I am a shop local person and ring for the room twice the price . Very disappointing to here some one can have it for eighty euro!!!!

    Good location nice breakfast and nice booking staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No downsides . would have liked a few days more but will likely be back again .

    Very comfortable older hotel. Had a very relaxed time here. Easy to find and handy for getting out and about. We strolled into town in the evenings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities were not good jacuzzi was either not working or turned off, steam room was not working. Sauna was working but the spoon left for to distribute the water was no good.

    Location to he town was fantastic we parked at the hotel and walked into the town. Staff and hotel in general was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right next door to the train station and walking distance to the city centre. Beautiful hotel, comfortable rooms , spotlessly clean , great breakfast, peaceful seating in the lobby with fireplaces, nice pool and fitness room .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, warm & cozy... Perfectly located in town.. Lovely breakfast, buffet style and cooked to order option.. Friendly staff and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooom was lovely. went for a meal in the restaurant on friday night service was terrible starters where under cooked main course was cold fish was soggie chip where part raw and dessert was like it was lying for a week dry off and horrible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way to warm , we couldn’t sleep even with the window open . I was told that they had the winter setting programmed . I recorded over 25 degrees in the room .

    The staff , bar , food and atmosphere was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too big and fluffy for my personal taste.

    Hotel still has a lot of character, yet modern and comfortable. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned big key and fob. Electronic key cards would be easier to carry.

    The room was clean and as you’d expect but with the added bonus of bottled water and Tayto crisps as well as the usual tea coffee compliments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'double' bed was two single beds zipped together. There were single mattress protectors on each of the two beds, which were then bunched up in the middle because of the two beds being zipped together, and this left a very uncomfortable join ridge in the bed.

    The hotel was warm, which was great for January. Overall it was a pleasant stay and there is lots to like about the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom very small. I would not have liked to be staying any longer.Nowhere in bathroom to store toiletries.Toilet squeezed in beside shower.

    Breakfast was good. Room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar lady was not very friendly and had a bit of an attitude. Food was not very nice and quite pricey. Car park needs to be marked from the entrance to the hotel. Did not like all the steps up to the entrance especially with a wheelie bag

    Bed was very comfy. Bathroom was small but adequate

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't want to appear negative - trying to be constructive! Don't put half frozen prawns into the salad in bar food - ruined it. Improve quality of coffee at breakfast - like dish water! Don't have such intrusive music in dining room. Don't place us next door to the only other 2 people in the dining room at breakfast! Get brighter reading light by bed.

    Enjoyed being able to relax en route to a funeral, having had some stressful days prior to this event. Very good welcome from staff. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cosy and comfortable hotel with spacious rooms. Nice and warm on a cold January day. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Lovely post Christmas escape.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting staff at the restaurant could be a little bit more smiley, Wifi signal was a bit poor in our room

    Very clean, the front desk staff were very kind and attentive. The hotel is very well furnished and the pub/restaurant is pretty good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place in general was delapidated and needs a lot of work done to bring it up to the standard they are charging for. Ever heard of silver fish? Bathroom was crawling with them. I love a place with character but this was pure neglect and destroyed any character the place had. The leisure facilities were in shocking condition, promises of fixing the jacuzzi for years and nothing done, broken tiles in the pool and filth on the bottom of the pool is just unacceptable. That not being bad enough the wheelchair access ramp didn't open until 10:30 or so as it was the bar entrance. I was on crutches and had to use stairs in the early mornings as I went out to get a breakfast worth eating.

    Great location and friendly staff. Room was comfortable and the lounge area in reception is lovely in winter with fires on the go. Free car parking and everything only a 5 minute walk away was also good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The above

    Could smell smoke from the next room and had problems booking as they wanted a credit card not my bank card and I don't have one so I had to pay in full before I got there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we could really find fault with, really enjoyed our stay.

    We were upgraded to a mini suite which was really good, plenty of room and very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhere to sit down in front of a mirror to use hairdryer, apply make up etc. Waitress attention at breakfast could have been a little more attentive - we had to attract her attention and ask for tea for 2, a very small pot arrived!

    We arrived very late, following unexpected hospital procedure. The room was booked and paid for via our son in the UK. Receptionist was expecting us, check-in was swift and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very rude at check in. It was almost like they were doing us a favor by letting us stay there! I have stayed in many hotels across the country, and the world, and this was the first time that I have felt this way. The room was not as advertised on booking.com, it was very small and I better pictures were used on the booking.com website. The room was very noisy, could hear everything from the hallway and other rooms. This made us feel as though we did not have much privacy. The general ambiance was unsatisfactory.

    I did not like anything about my stay here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is awful especially the bar food. I went put to eat on the second day I wiil never stay there again. It was not value for money

    The room was pokey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not that clean. There were hairs in the bath from the previous people

    Everything was fine . Especially the staff which was so helpful and friendly. I loved the open fires.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl who served food in bar brought down latte and soup and left it on tray such bad manners and no one else in bar.Not impressed wouldnt eat there again.

    Bits left in bathroom crisps and water lovely gesture

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly person at reception, stayed on for an extra night but bathroom wasn't cleaned during my stay even though a cleaner had visited the room. Still water not replenished either. Breakfast food offering is average at best.

    Restaurant staff were quiet friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a five star hotel and it doesn't pretend to be. But it has tons of Victorian charm, and the decor is fresh and appropriate, the rooms are comfortable, well-equipped and warm, the staff are terrifically friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was spot-on. Right next to the train and bus station, and an easy five minute walk to Sligo town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of dust, especially on the mirror. Cold rooms, it was difficult to park the car as the car park was overcrowded, Wi-Fi was not great

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: