Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Solis Lough Eske Castle 5 stars

Lough Eske Castle Road, F94 HX59 Donegal, Ireland

#2 of 6 hotels in Donegal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 685 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovely place & excellent staff. nice little spa /pool area! Breakfast /dinner excellent ! Weather was sunny also 😎a rare event in the North West of Ireland !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant for dinner could have been better. Breakfast was lovely though.

    Staff were very very nice. Bed was comfy and shower was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in courthouse room without skylight. Dinner a little expensive for what is was but sti gorgeous. A couple of times the order of food (lunch) was incorrect but promptly rectified x

    Lovely breakfast! Darren at the Cedar was just such a great character! All staff very friendly and helpful!!! Pool was quiet and so clean. Spa treatments were above expectations!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    The staff and service make the stay at Lough Eske Castle an absolutely amazing experience! We have never experienced this level of care....truly outstanding!! A ten rating is definitely not high enough!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything... I could have stayed there forever.

    The castle and grounds were breathtaking. Beautiful room and lounge areas. Breakfast was great as was dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were so helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast and both bar food and a la cart were also top quality. Pool and gym were spotless and my wife rely enjoyed the spa treatments. Looking forward to my next visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The courtyard room did not get cleaned until 4:30 - 5pm. We had a wait on 3 occasions to start preparing for dinner.

    The food and ambience were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the price of 300 euros a bit expensive for one night really enjoyed the hotel but don't think I'd pay this amount again

    Lovely hotel Breakfast delicious great selection, room very comfortable and staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hotel with excellent staff. We were made to feel so welcome. The food was fab and the walk around the grounds is super. I brought my mum for a pre wedding relaxation trip and we could not have enjoyed it more. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a hotel built on an old existing castle. Dissappointed. Our room was large but an ordinary hotel room. Nothing special. For the price, the grounds were not kept like I had expected.

    The service/staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We sat outside for lunch. It was very hot. I asked if they had parasols for tables and they didn’t

    Beautiful hotel. Staff were so friendly. Food fabulous. Room luxurious. Walk around castle really lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Restaurant was very hot at times.

    Was visiting with my elderly parents. Hotel provided a wheelchair for my Dad to use during our stay. There was not one part of the hotel we could not access by lift. Dinners were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a jacuzzi/hot tub beside the swimming pool and steam room... it’s in the spa area and not everyone can use it.

    Everything... do not have a bad word to say about this place. Even the weather was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was huge and the bed linen was luxurious! My partner felt like a true princess during our castle stay. The history and photographs of the castle ruins before its restoration gave a true sense of history. The walking tracks in the surrounding grounds were beautiful. Staff were very friendly and efficient. The spa facilities and indoor swimming pool were excellent. This castle is a must visit if you travel to Southern Ireland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had issues with wifi in my room which was frustrating late at night

    So inviting and relaxing. Spacious room and bathroom. Very comfortable four poster bed. So relaxing to sit by the fire and read in the evening. Excellent and attentive staff. Breakfast buffet had many options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the food was very overpriced for not being that nice, I wouldn't mind paying for it if it was worth the money

    The staff were wonderful, the hotel from outside was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly disappointing as it appeared a little dated. The furniture was chipped in many places and the carpet had dirty stains on it. The bath unfortunately was not cleaned to a high standard either.

    The food served at dinner and breakfast was exceptionally tasty and well presented. The staff were exceptionally helpful and welcoming throughout our stay..especially the girls in the Spa. The pool and spa area are very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We all loved our experience. I wasn't expecting the property to be quite so modern in style. However, the experience was terrific, made particularly so by the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was good and well equipped however there were a few marks around the walls and we couldn't get the bath water hot the shower was fantastic

    Fantastic building and surrounding landscape staff were also excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro was very cold. We had to move away from the window seat but was still very unplesent sitting beside the stove with my jumper on. Room 219 looked shabby thanks to very poor painting. Cheep toilet roll holder never worked. Toilet bin was broken. Lots of dust. Brilliant bathroom. Brilliant food. Comfortable bed. Staff very friendly.

    The food in both the restaurant and the Bistro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't fault any aspect of the hotel at all.

    Loved this hotel. The staff are friendly, sincere and courteous. Food is excellent. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It is not a cheap hotel but it still gives plenty of value for money. Worth a visit and well worth a revisit!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    'Spa' facilities were very basic. Small cold swimming pool with the jacuzzi being cold bubbles in a small area of the pool. There was a separate steam room which was very good. Poor selection of wine; only one rose and it tasted so awful it was undrinkable. Despite politely mentioning this to the bar staff only another glass of the same wine was offered and the glass was not taken off the bill.

    The location is lovely and the front of the hotel is very impressive. We stayed in the Garden room and it was in a lovely setting. Furniture a little tired and the bed wasn't the most comfortable however it had everything we needed and the bathroom was beautiful. The food served throughout our stay was delicious and we particularly loved the chef cooking fresh pancakes and omelettes during breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent from the welcome at arrival, in the bar and restaurant. Close proximity to donegal town and other local attractions. Spa was also top quality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that guests of the property didnt get priority when it came to lunch time in the bar. 270 euro is a lot money for one night and I didnt think a 45 minute wait for a table at lunch was acceptable. Food was lovely though

    The breakfast was out of this world and the freshly baked cookies are to die for

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Path ways would need fixed. Quite loose in a lot of places.

    We loved everything esp the pool area where we spent a few hours lounging around. Breakfast was amazing with freshly cooked pancakes make in front of you :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist poor behavior very annoying with the check out timings.

    Very bad experience. Feezing cold rooms bad smell in the showers. Very polite and friendly catering staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only gripe we had was family with 2 young children were in room above us.....the children ran up and down the floor all night and early morning and was difficult to sleep........my husband was exhausted to drive home next day but i suppose was our fault too cos we didnt like to complain

    we loved the whole experience of 5 star.really lovely staff chatty and friendly,we stayed in a courtyard room which was nearer the spa was like having your own wee cottage but on a grander scale.dined in galley bar food was to die for and breakfast next morning with"bill" on the egg station.....well we dined like kings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was GREAT. i personally couldn't find a fault neither could my girlfriend.

    Everything from the fablous secret drive up to it. To the level off service you got in the hotel. Place is just perfect would be looking at this place if i was to get married.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in our room was a bit creaky and hollow so with two small children scurrying around the room we were very conscious of the guests below us and this did make it hard to relax.

    The staff were extremely helpful and the food at both dinner and breakfast was fantastic. The room decor was nice. The Castle itself and the grounds are lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities are dated and not as good as others, only thing that disappointed me however the treatments were very nice and the beauty staff were very good.

    Staff are excellent. Food is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tried to use the gym on Saturday afternoon. All the machines were being serviced / worked on and out of use. Went to the pool instead.

    Excellent rooms with really comfortable super king beds. Friendly staff Great evening meal and a fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite far away from the main public areas of the hotel. Down long corridors down stairs and the up in a lift then another long corridor.

    The staff were easily the best I have seen in any hotel esp Alan in the afternoon tea/bar area. He was so friendly, knew exactly what stage everyone was at with drinks and food, and very knowledgeable about the property. He made the job look effortless.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous views over Lough Eske, friendliest staff we've ever met. We had a courtyard room which was stunning right beside the spa so we could walk from our room in our robes down to it. The girls at reception were fantsstic for giving us information on attractions close by and couldnt do enough for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived after some freshly fallen snow had fallen and the carpark was ok then. The following evening however the carpark was an ice rink. We had parked up after dinner on sat night and my boyfriend had to get back in to the car and drive me to the entrance and go back and park, as it was too slippy for me to walk across in mid heeled boots. We stayed in the courthouse rooms and the path outside was extremely slippy. Some salt down and abit of deicing is the least I would expect of a school/public building never mind a five star hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and very attentive at a busy check in. We were shown to our room and our baggage taken in. The room itself was very spacious (bigger than my apartment). We had dinner in the bar which was nice and the bar staff were the perfect mix of attentive but also just left us alone too. The entertainment both nights in the bar were very good and made the experience even better. Breakfast was superb, we had breakfast in the room one morning which was very luxurious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff exceptional,welcoming, respectful,warm,made one feel special and cared for. Bed comfy, room exceptional. Afternoon tea wonderful Spa treatment, best I have ever had. Truly. Staff and facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really great place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were efficient and friendly. Will look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of swimming pool

    Breakfast was excellent and the reception staff were very friendly . Location of the hotel is outstanding and you could easily go to places like Slieve League , glenveagh national park and so on....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing stands out

    The location was absolutely beautiful, surrounded by woodlands and lakes and Donegal town was a short drive away. The place was spotless and beautifully decorated and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the options were endless. The extras in the bedroom were a nice touch and their choice of shampoos and soaps smelt delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very upset as I had phoned a week/2 weeks prior to staying and was informed there would be no need to book treatments we would get a slot no problem. When we arrived, we were told there was no appointments available and also that we would be unable to access the pool facilities. The next day we went for a walk down to the leisure centre, to be told we would of been able to use the pool facilities! We were very upset at this as it was my Mum's 50th Birthday and we had booked here specificially for a 'relaxing spa' weekend.

    The staff at reception and the staff in the Galley Bar were exceptional and very friendly and helpful. I loved the room, how comfy it was etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we where in courtyard rooms (beautiful rooms) but it was raining heavy when we where dressed for dinner the walk to the main building was lying in deep puddles even with the umbrella provided the pathway was flooded

    everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We seemed to be on a noisy corridor & our room needed some refurbishments. I believe these have started in other parts of the hotel.

    Beautiful building on scenic grounds. The bar and main areas are well maintained and comfortable. Lovely staff & breakfast. Fabulous bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely apart from my braised beef which was all fat i couldnt eat which was very dissapointing...although i didnt say that at dinner as the staff were so nice and i didnt want to spoil what was a lovely evening but would def not order it again as i was hungry for dessert when it came out which was amazing.

    Really lovely place...loved the pancak3s for breakfast also..really comfy bed and the lite samples of hair shampoo and comditioner and moisturiser that were in the room were amazing...loved them.spa was really nice too

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps, and this is only an observation is to have clearer directions from the back car park into the Building or directions to the front of the Castle Building, rather than through the Courtyard.

    18/11/2017 We cannot fault our stay in the Hotel. From start to finish it was just so relaxing. Plenty of parking facilities. The food was amazing. The spa was delightful. Cleanliness was spectacular. I have never stayed anywhere where the staff were so friendly and accommodating nothing was too much trouble this applied to all the staff members. Beds were comfy, the bathroom was stunning and Fresh flowers in the vases daily was a nice touch. Chocolate dipped strawberries to celebrate our anniversary was a complimentary treat arranged by a lovely receptionist. Live music in the bar and lots of quirky little places to sit and relax. We had a wonderful experience and we would totally recommend it. Such a Beautiful place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed was very comfortable. Staff were excellent and extremely friendly and professional. The food and wines were delicious. I am looking forward to going back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool a bit underwhelming (thermal Spa a lot better).

    Staff were very attentive and helpful. We got an upgrade as it was my girlfriends birthday,with a card and a cupcake so she was made up. Beautiful building and surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Property is just amazing, beautiful drive in to it, very striking when you arrive. Our room was beautiful and spacious and very clean. Great room to relax in. The hotel it’s self was delightful with three reading rooms where you can have tea/coffee and read or wind down with lovely fires lit for customers comfort. Staff were very friendly but not in your face, they were chatty and Informative, and it was lovely to hear the beautiful Donegal lilt

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really spacious room with under floor heating and extra large bed. Breakfast was delicious and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Pool was lovely and never over crowded.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor heating in the room made the place extra hot, all the windows in the hallway were open in November, and we slept with the window open as well. Staff was super helpful at the front desk, but tried to called from room and received no answer. Pain to have to travel outside to the spa even though they had changing areas there it wasn't fun in the rain and mud.

    Excellent staff everywhere on site and bar had best seafood chowder I've had, large rooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I both where disappointed with the swimming pool and spa. The so called jacuzzi at the top end of the swimming pool didn’t seem to be working and the water temperature had a lot to be desired for. Half an hour done us in the pool until we headed Back to the room for a hot shower to warm up abit.

    We stayed in a junior suite. 1st class!! Couldn’t fault it. The breakfast ran from 7 to 11am each morning. Great if your looking a decent ly in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa area was very basic, the hotel food was standard and the prices were very high.

    The beds were comfy, the surrounding area was beautiful and the facade looked great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As my first visit to the castle and after hearing and reading many great reviews I was very keen to visit. I had placed a booking for two rooms as the party was for 4 and we arrived just after 3.30pm. On check-in I was advised that one of the room was not ready and I would be called when it was. Given this is a 5 star hotel and check-in is from 3pm onwards I didn't find this satisfactory and asked for an alternative room which was provided, however I should not have had to request. The communal areas of the hotel are not what one would expect from a 5 star, the lavatories just past the reception area were not of the expected standard with empty toilets roll cartons left on the floors of the cubicles and the wash basin areas also not at the standard expected. There are several open fires placed in various rooms in the communal areas of the Castle which I would encourage staff to maintain during the more chilly evenings as it was quite cold in these rooms given the fires were almost out or very low. The fire in the library area wasn't lit at all meaning it were too cold to sit in this room. On checkout I was settling the bill part voucher that I had received as a gift, the girl on the desk advised final total after deducting the voucher etc. which was almost 200RUR more that it should have been as it transpired she had read the wrong calculated amount.

    We booked for afternoon tea during our stay which had a really good selection of savoury and sweet, additionally I would recommend the prosecco upgrade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive at 475euro for 2bb& 2 breakfasts for midweek!! Now its 325 euro same plus 40 for dinner and 30 for spa!

    room lovely and pool and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that I had to leave.

    Everything was top notch. Staff were all so friendly - not stuffy. Bathrooms were pure luxury. Just an awesome stay. Wish we could've stayed longer, and enjoyed the spa and indoor pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so nice and the spa and service was excellent. There was live music in the bar that night which was so fun and the guys were talented beyond my expectations. Breakfast in the morning was ALSO delicious with an omelette/pancake bar and full buffet of fruits/granola/meats/cheeses, etc. By far one of my favorite places that I've ever stayed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready on arrival Dinner courses nothing special and an hour per course Breakfast food not great plus queue to wait single chef cook a fried egg

    Hotel and grounds Room Staff all great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I didn't like , the weather wasn't great but the comfort of the castle made up for it

    Absolutely loved our stay in the castle , food was excellent and spa was exceptional the level the therapist was excellent , would love to go back ... Staff was very friendly and showed us around the hotel on arrival , each member of staff could answer any question we asked The fires lite leaves your experience in the castle 1st class

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was the start of our honeymoon and there were rose petals on the bed, lit candles and chocolate strawberries in the room after we came back in the evening which was a great touch. The spa and swimming pool was lovely. The bed very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor, especially for such a hotel. Without going to spa, only access to swimming pool and steam room (which wasn't switched on on Sat morning). Spa facilities ok, but not great. Two sauna's, one too hot (110C) to walk on floor or touch benches, other too cold (65C). Spa building is separate so you have to go outside to reach it.

    The staff are absolutely superb, probably best staff we have encountered in Ireland. Attentive but not too formal, which is nice for a luxury destination as this. The room was spacious and comfortable with excellent bathroom. Breakfast excellent and pleasant room to be in. Massage in spa very good. Very close to Donegal town, yet completely in the countryside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This hotel was simply a delight. You are really treated like royalty here. The room is huge and comfortable. The staff is excellent. The food is delicious. I especially loved the fireplaces! Zero complaints!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed the hotel and the area was good and easy for travel to the area which we enjoyed seeing Hotel looks most impressive and the lake was a lovely view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and the spa was great.

    Service was outstanding particularly Geraldine at front desk and Nigel in the Bar and Breakfast restaurant. They are real assets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing that I could think of

    we truly loved our stay here. it was a castle but felt more like a quaint cottage. so peaceful, relaxing and had such great charm. We walked the grounds, used the bikes to ride around and ate dinner and breakfast there. It truly was a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    spa is a little on the small side

    Staff were second to none. excellent. Food was extremely good, far better than most hotels. Beautiful property and location. Huge and tastefully furnished room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful castle. Incredibly comfortable room, the bed was a dream, spacious bathroom. Kind and friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and dinner too. We enjoyed the pool, highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am sorry to say I was disappointed with my evening meal. The menu was simply not to our taste, not necessarily the restaurants fault. A bit to fancy for my taste.

    Staff were very attentive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathing hood policy in the Spa (it is definitely not enjoyable to wear a bathing suit and a bathing hood inside the steam room, at least we were not used to wear headgear inside a hot steam room).

    Everything was simply amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot, we had to run the fan all night,we couldn't leave door or windows open as they were adjacent to walk ways

    We had a good room, good food choices and good entertainment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We borrowed some bikes and they were a little worn from being in the rain but what a great service to provide. THe bike ride was a highlight.

    Jordan the bartender was amazing. The rooms were lovely especially the heated floors and shower and the spa was to die for. The gardens were amazing too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where not overly friendly, waited along time to be take to room, room service spilt beer all over the tray, never got any compensation for this and the tray was never removed so room and corridor stank of beer, waited along time to be sat for dinner, never ask at reception had we had a good stay or not

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing all around - staff could not do enough, always friendly, going out of their way to make it an enjoyable experience, bar staff, dining room staff and spa staff were all exceptional - I have stayed in MANY hotels and this was one of the best experiences. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The rooms were very comfortable but extremely hot with no way to control the temperature. Appeared to be underfloor heating. The shower was poor. The shower head would not stay in the wall fitting. The breakfasts were excellent. We found the food in the bar OK but overly priced. The price of the food in the restaurant was excessive. Very pleasant and attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was lovely, there was nothing I didn't like.

    A very peaceful and tranquil setting. Room lovely and bed very comfy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved all the quirky statues dotted around the hotel and grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was AMAZING .. the most relaxing hotel and experience we ever had! We were celebrating being one year engaged, We will be back next year for sure

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance to initial bedroom

    Excellent after we changed the room . Solis have added 97 rooms to the castle and you can have a 200m walk up and down stairs to get to reception etc . Rooms are modern and comfortable but none has a view of the lake . Peaceful quiet setting and a good location to explore the south of Donegal . Helpful considerate staff . Excellent food . Much better than staying in Donegal town .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the staff in the spa area to be quiet dismissive. We were disappointed at the limited choices available there if a treatment wasn't booked. We only had access to the pool and steam room...it also would have been fantastic to be given more information about what was available to do in the hotel itself. We only found the TV room with the pool table as we were leaving! The hotel appears to be very popular with tour groups so be aware of this if you are looking for quiet time away from it all... the group that were staying on our visit were quiet loud at breakfast and around the grounds of the hotel.

    We were given royal treatment by Shan Kelly! She upgraded us to a beautiful room where we were gifted with chocolates and a thoughtful card. The main restaurant was fabulous too with very attentive and friendly staff. We had a lovely tour of the castle in the morning at 11am. It was very interesting and informative. The staff in the bar area were warm and welcoming too :-) It is clear that work is continuing to improve the appearance of the grounds. I look forward to returning!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Solis Lough Eske Castle traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: