Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St. Aiden's Guesthouse 3 stars

32 Brighton Road, D6 Rathgar, Ireland

#2 of 9 hotels in Rathgar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 653 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely guesthouse in a quiet area, a bit out of town but easy to get in to the city by bus or taxi. The owner was friendly and accommodating , and not only allowed us to drop off our bags early in the day, but offered us breakfast and coffee when we did so. The room was very clean, and bed extremely comfortable. The breakfast (offered on Friday, Saturday and Sunday) was to die for! We would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was bit of an issue - on street, luckily managed to find spots during our stay.

    Comfortable clean rooms - suited our purpose for a short stay very well , Great location with good public transport within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very weak and didnt even work during most our stay

    Very clean, very good amenities, bread and cereals provided for free, free use of kitchen, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a bed&breakfast establishment. The self-help breakfast was very limited. The kitchen where you have to prepare your own breakfast can comfortably accommodate no more than 2 people. It's an old house with creaky floors and poor noise proofing. You can hear guests walk along the hallway, taking showers, watching TV, talking, flushing the toilet, etc. The WIFI was virtually not functional from the bedroom. One would need to go towards the front of the house to get a decent signal. The window blind is made of white translucent material that lets lots of light in at night. If you have a car, parking can be a challenge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was quite far from the Airport.

    The host was very friendly. We arrived late and host made us a cup of tea and a slice of raisin bread. He also called us a taxi for early the next morning to take us to Dublin Port. Room was clean, beds comfortable and was well equipped with shampoos, hairdryer, etc.,as was stated on line. We didn’ get to use the wifi as we arrived late & left early the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!

    I loved the decoration, the staff was really welcoming and the room was clean, quiet and we had a wonderful rest as the beds were really comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, ensuite room, and spotlessly clean. Although no breakfast was included in the booking, all the essentials for a continental breakfast were freely available in an adjacent kitchenette. Very welcoming hostess. Convenient to a bus stop and city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly only negative was to be kept awake by a couple in a adjoining room arguing till 1am.

    Welcomed by Kevin, a true Gentleman , very helpful and made me a lovely cup of tea a cheeky slice of cake after a few hours travelling. Full of tips and allowed me to use the guests kitchen for my own breakfast as I had to be out the next morning at 6:30am for work locally. A beautiful residential area very quiet ,would recommend to anyone doing business in Dublin or tourists who are happy to be slightly further out .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older Home do have stairs to rooms but can see that by photos!

    Charming neighborhood, walkable, Marie friendly, accommodating and reliable! Shower great & hot! Bed very comply in room 6 anyway! Breakfasts grand!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Marie the owner was fantastic, she responded promptly to all my emails prior to arrival. The room was so much more than I expected, it had a luxurious home style feel to it with lovely little touches. The breakfast excellent, there was such a terrific choice of foods. The scones and brown bread were the best I have had in a long time. The location was nice and quiet but still centrally located. Could not recommend it more, I was staying for work but would highly recommend it for leisure also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Far from Dublin center. Breakfast was supposed to be included, but if it was hot it has an extra charge what's a bit weird.

    Nice and pleasant neighborhood. Rooms very nice and confortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely needs 2 new mattress in twin attic room.... Very uncomfortable and couldn't get a proper night's sleep. Springs were coming out through the mattress...very disappointing. Also no ventilation in the room and window had to be kept open all night.

    Location was good and owner was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    Friendly welcome on arrival by Kevin. He made me tea and biscuits which was a really nice touch. Room was lovely. The Guest House is in a very nice quiet area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like. Everything was great.

    I arrived in Dublin at an odd hour, not the time I had put down but couldn’t contact to say as had to go straight to rehearsal so had not got my phone. When finally got in contact after Kevin the owner ringing my phone, I had told him that I couldn’t get there to check in before the show finished at 11. Kevin was brilliant and went out of his way to ensure I was able to get in even at a late hour and everything was high above the standard I expected for the value price in a great location. The breakfast spread in the morning was second to none. Next time I’m in Dublin I will be looking to stay again. And I’d highly recommend it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We absolutely enjoyed our stay! It was very cozy and our host did everything to make our stay even more comfortable. He offered his help in every situation and gave us many good advices. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated in quite street away from City Centre with good bus links. Bus takes approximately 20 mins outside rush hour to Centre (during rush hour very busy and approx double this). Good selection of local restaurants & pubs in Rathgar and Terenure in easy walking distance. Accommodation clean, comfortable, warm and great shower in ensuite bathroom (there is also the added facility of a small shared kitchen available if required). Very welcoming and would use again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chairs and table in dining area too small for eating breakfast. Very cramped. Would have been better if a proper dining area had been provided.

    Bed was comfy, very quite location with no noise from street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was great except for the fact that the mattress I was sleeping on was very poor and it sagged in the middle. If the mattress had been good, I would have given a much better mark.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all, everything was brilliant.

    The room was amazing, nice comfy beds, own bathroom as well, can't complain on anything at all, loads of stairs all the way to the top but that gives us a good workout so no need to go to the gym ha ha, but overall amazing guesthouse, near shops, busses towards Dublin Airport, and not a long walk to the nearest shopping centre. Staff members were so polite and lovely, always there to help us when needed. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Guesthouse had a very warm atomosphere, was very cosy and well equipped. Everything was spotless, easy access and the host was very welcoming. I would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite draughty due to poor stripping

    Cozy place Good price Friendly staff Heating was working well all the time which is crucial at this season

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked for a large double bed and our room was not as to the photos. Room was approximately 10' x 12.6" and we had to ask for a fridge which was advertised to be in the room. Although this made it a bit cramped we managed. Although the room was not overly large it was in a peaceful part of the house so we had no disturbance at all and it was kept very clean with complimentary tea/coffee and toiletries and towels changed every day.

    Owners were so friendly and accommodating. We arrived early to drop off our luggage to explore Dublin and were welcomed with tea and toast. They also put out complimentary cereals, bread, jam, butter, milk and fruit for guests to use for breakfast if they did not want the expense of paying for a breakfast in local cafes nearby. At the weekends the owners do a tasty cooked breakfast for 8.50 euros with tea or coffee and lovely breads to chose from. The owners have a cosy, welcoming lounge for guests to use with a lovely coal fire burning. The street where the guest house is located is very charming with houses all with great character and all well kept. It took around 40 minutes to reach the centre of Dublin on foot, but buses run so regularly if you prefer not to walk. We also got the Dart train to Malahide which would recommend to do on a nice dry day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked the personal welcome that Marie gave us. Upon arrival we were offered tea & toast for two, which was absolutely lovely :) Bus 16 takes you to the city centre/Dublin airport and there are many local pubs, coffee shops and supermarkets in the neighbourhood if you don't want to travel far from the guesthouse.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was very rude to me on the phone due to our flight being delayed (which i apologised profusely for) never had decency to come to us face to face to accept our apology or apologise for being rude. We weren’t told until the last day breakfast wasn’t included in the price although I was lead to believe when you book a ‘B&B’ breakfast is included however we were charged extra.

    Clean room, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've had breakfast in the same area for a similar price three months ago

    The accommodation was as expected. I chose it for the position and the ease for getting into the city and to the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, absolutely nothing!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were ready to go the extra mile to ensure my comfort. I enjoyed the coffee very much!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount was taken off credit card although in confirmation email it stated that the amount needs to be paid on arrival and credit card details only to reserve booking. Also no milk provided on last day of my stay.

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Irish apparently don’t use washcloths. We even thought to buy some to use and they don’t sell them in most of the department stores.

    Clean, high ceilings, small kitchenette with silverware, cleaning supplies, microwave, toaster that was accessible. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was adequate with fresh towels daily. Mini fridge in room. Downstairs was a nice living room and fire place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely, we only stayed to sleep and breakfast but beds were comfy and breakfast tasty... The property and personal were lovely and kind

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - we were given tea on arrival in very comfortable surroundings and a warm welcome. An earlier than usual cooked breakfast as we had to go early. A taxi was kindly ordered the night before so we were on time for our appointment. We will return! We enjoy our stays there .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were shown a leaflet about the B&B where it stated that the B&B had a fixed price for taxi to the airport, i.e. EUR 28. That was not true. We booked the taxi through the B&B and paid Eur 30 for one person leaving at 4 am and EUR 50 for one person leaving at 9 am.

    The common area was nicely furnished. Cannot comment on breakfast as we did not have any. Noticed that fresh fruit was laid out in the morning. The owners were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marie was an amazing hostess. She was very accommodating and made sure that we had everything that we needed. The property was very clean and very Charming.It truly felt like our home away from home!! We will be back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing other than the operation of the geyser.

    As host stays in the same building there isn't any hassle of key collection or entry to the property. Luggage storage is there. As we didn't consume any meat he was gracious enough to provide us with extra eggs. Location wonderful. Easy to transport from Waverly to the appartment. Appx 15 min.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom did not smell clean Someone left empty cigarette packets and toiletries in the top drawer of the chest of drawers. The next drawer had someone's underwear in it.

    Location and self serve breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult, outside the property it was one euro per hour from 0700 to midnight otherwise you could tour around trying to find a space in back alleys etc but one possible place behind the property was very narrow dead end and was really scruffy with at least one car with all wheels missing.

    Staff were helpful and the place was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small but manageable. The towels were very worn out. Breakfast was ok but not the quality we d had in other less pricey guesthouses.

    Great location close to public transit, pubs, grocery store, cafes. It is also on a street with beautiful period houses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best Bnb I have ever stayed in, so warm and welcoming. I felt like I was staying at a best friends home whose mum knows you better than your own! I will definitely be returning and have already told everyone I know about it. 100% recommend! Thanks for everything :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking was way around at the back of the property but this wasn't really a problem.

    Very happy with this accommodation. Room clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated. Well stocked kitchenette available for residents' use. Fresh fruit freely available. Loved this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our main complaint is that our room was very small. While there was a chest of drawers and a closet, we found ourselves using the floor for our suitcase, bags, clothes, stuff. The bed was not comfortable. The pillows were hard and there was a heavy spread that made us too warm with it on and too cold when we took it off. The parking associated with this guesthouse is on a lane not far away, but farther away than you really want to be carrying bags and suitcases. In fact, we left the car in the lane for the duration of our three day visit and used busses to get to the city (2.70 euros). This was our first trip to Dublin. It was clear immediately that this is not a city for driving. There is a bus stop not far from the guest house. There is not a lot around this area. We found a couple of places to eat (and enjoy a Guinness).

    Our host, Marie, could not have been more friendly or helpful. Breakfast was superb. There were two large comfortable common rooms on the ground floor. The internet was good. Our bedroom and bathroom were very clean. There were adequate electrical outlets in the room (but none in the bathroom). We appreciated that a converter (Irish=UK->US) had been left for us in our room. There was lots of hot water and good pressure in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrival was very kind and personal- Marie offered tea and cake and gave us good tipps for our trip in Dublin. The rooms were really lovely and tidy. The warm breakfast which Marie offers additionally on weekends was delicious. Top accomodation at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Television was poor. We stayed 3 nights but on the third night moved to a new room which has a terrible bed.

    Very nice place. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was great. nice location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little tricky in a narrow back lane,but manageable and free.

    A most lovely house. I stayed in the attic room which was magical. The room was cosy,beautifully decorated and had welcomes lamp light on my arrival. I was also treated to a beautifully laid out cup of tea and home made rhubarb pie which was oh so welcome after a long journey. Sunday morning cooked breakfast was delicious. Monday morning was self service but made very pleasant via access to a kitchenette and delicious cafetiere coffee. I couldn't recommend this B+B more highly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were brilliant! Very friendly and helpful, had a lovely chat about the rugby! The building is beautiful and very accessible by bus or taxi from the city centre. On a whole great value for money, all the accessibility of a hotel with all the comfort of home! Will definitely be back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they needed to ne absent a voucher for a breakfast in town would be ok with me

    Out of five days stay only recieved breakfast twice.for other three days only a sorry note. I needed to burgal the kitchen to get food as I did not have money to buy a breakfast.Thete was no staff at the g/ house to discuss this. I found 2 notes at my room door saying.... Ther will be no brealfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I felt the need to complain about. - shower was a bit feeble and the towels were a little on the small size (for a slightly larger gentleman). I would go back.

    Quiet location, close to public transport and a couple of great pubs (The bottlers and the 108). Excellent breakfast. Fairly basic but comfortable room with tea and coffee. Also access to a kitchen and guest lounge. Pretty reasonable free WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding a parking space was challenging as meter parking operates on the road BUT....the owner kindly parked our car for us on a free parking side street within 100 meters, which was much appreciated

    Casual, friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our trip to Dublin was amazing! I haven't really experienced a B&B type place, only traditional hotels. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable we were. The house was beautiful and really old and very clean. We were surrounded by history. The house was in a pretty nice neighborhood, seemed very safe. Parking was a little tricky, had to go around back. Our hosts were incredibly nice and very accommodating! They offered a full breakfast and it was also really good. Wonderful place! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived,we were nicely greated,very friendly, the room was perfect,plus our car was also parked for us, a great place to stay,good value for money. id gladly stay there there again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more substantial breakfast would have been appreciated, such as hard boiled eggs or cheese that guests could help themselves to in the common refrigerator. Scones would also have been nice.

    Beds were comfortable and room was quiet. Liked the free bottled water in the kitchen refrigerator and fresh fruit in a bowl by the front door. I also liked the sitting room with all the books you could read. The price was very good for Dublin! I also loved the neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and helpful hosts, quiet neighborhood, easy bus access to central Dublin, great breakfast, cafes and stores within walking distance. Nice shared living room and small kitchen for guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very clean, equipped with everything you need for short-term stay. The owner is very friendly, lovely and supportive. The hall and reception rooms in the guesthouse allow to feel the best Irish traditions of interior design.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, as was bathroom. Wifi hard tog in. Bus system convenient but you need exact change in coins.

    Great location, breakfast - make your own. Lovely front room. Anna the manager was welcoming and helpful. Checked in early!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Met by the owner who was very pleasant and helpful. Secure parking for our 2 motorcycles. We only stopped for one night, but if we're in the area, we will book again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The distance with the city centre.

    The staff is very kind and helpful, it was possible do the check in in the late evening. Wi fi was perfect and the bus stop close.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet neighborhood outside Dublin, yet near good city bus service, pubs, food, shops. Lovely cozy sitting room and sleeping rooms. Friendly and helpful host.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful bow window room with the light and the peace of the decor (pine and beige and white) the proximity to the bus stop to ride to the centre of Dublin

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay in St. Aiden's Guesthouse. The breakfast was excellent, the room was very quiet and beautiful. We found everything we needed in perfect conditions. Marie was very nice and made us feel like at home. We really appreciate that she gave us all the facilities during our stay and in our check out. We will definitely go back to this place when we travel again to Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself seem old and the rooms are not soundproofed, so you can hear everything your neighbors say and every their step on the wooden floor. Also, without breakfast the price seems a bit high.

    The owners were kind, the room was very clean. You can park on the street in front of the building. There is a good wi-fi connection.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait an hour for my room; no curtains in room only blinds so was daylight in room by 5am. Could not get hot water out of the shower (owner managed it after a while); missing light fittings; no receipt sent on as promised despite email and voicemail reminders.

    Free parking badge issued for street parking; hot breakfast was good; staff and owner polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess was lovely and so accommodating. We got in on an early flight and she allowed us to check in and get showered after a short wait to clean the room. She offered us breakfast materials and even offered to call us a cab when we left! Lovely place, highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the City Centre, but just away from the noise and crowds. The City Centre is easy accessible by bus. My room was at the back of the property and very nice and quiet and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A very good experience!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The people at the hotel stayed up late for me to check in as I had a late flight and they also gave me an umbrella as I was going to an outside concert and it was heavily raining.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old suburb with large houses, the rooms have high ceilings and marble fireplaces. Unlike other B&Bs they have not tarmaced over their garden so parking is on street only and they supply a parking ticket (don't take a chance or you'll get the other kind of parking ticket) but parking is VERY tight late at night. Decor is simple and modern. The description should really state explicitly NO cooked breakfast is served. So if you're a tourist looking for the Full Irish experience, this is not for you. But there is a kitchenette with cereals (including oats for porridge) and fruit so that is just the kind of breakfast we'd have at home anyway. Being in the suburb it's about a half hour into town by public transport so my guess is that it's really best for business travellers working in the Harold's Cross - Terenure - Rathgar - Rathmines area. I'd stay here again for that purpose. Being in an old suburb, it's really quiet, you'll get a good comfortable night's sleep here. [Now, I don't know why the first question booking.com ask me is always "How would you rate the location of this property?" That has nothing to do with the property, it's the area, and I chose that. I picked here because all the hotels were charging outrageous prices (200-500 euro for a double) and even B&Bs in the area I wanted (Ballsbridge) were full or wanted 200 euro (200! for a B&B! Dublin accommodation has gone mad.) and this was only one in the price filter I applied. The location really didn't suit my purpose, a 45 minute crawl through dense traffic in the morning rush hour, but that's my choice and my problem, nothing to do with a rating on the property.]

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful couple! Our room was very clean and comfortable. It wasn't right in the city centre which we preferred as it was only a 10 minute taxi ride or a few stops on the bus so it was a bit more peaceful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing. Was hoping for 2 twin beds as was traveling with a friend vs a partner but that was information that was given up front so wasn't at the fault of the host.

    We were greeted at the door, offered coffee and or tea but decided we wanted to put our bags down first. An incredibly lovely tea and scones were set up in the front room in front of the window and our host asked for details in order to set up a cab to take us to the airport without us even having to ask. Was all very welcomed after a fairly long travel day due to delayed flights from Scotland.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible

    Terribly it's like falwty towers , looks were poorly and dated cobwebs hanging over bed , shower was a disaster , hose had all holes in it , moved to another room and there was no hot water , she said ok , wasn't too bothered , it was horrible never ever would I stay there again , it's not a proper guest house ,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the location but some may find it a little out of the city centre although i walked into town easily and there are also buses available

    Lovely rooms with very comfortable bed. Very clean abs a good size

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a little hard for me but that's a personal thing, for others they would have been fine.

    Calm, quiet, comfortable, lovely property. Excellent friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is just beautiful and Marie abc Kevin who run it are super friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it. It is easy to bus in and out inexpensively and cabs are easily gotten as well. The atmosphere is beautiful and each room is personal and you are taken care of from the moment you arrive till when you depart.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was a bit too short for my boyfriend, smell from the bathroom

    cosy & clean house, welcoming owners, small kitchen that can be used, easy to reach the city center Would stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly clean and warm rooms. This was the second time we have stayed here as my husband was getting treatment at St Luke's hospital. Hospital was close by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was fine.

    Upon arrival we were offered tea and coffee with a couple of fresh scones, which was very appreciated. Overall the guesthouse is very nice and Marie was very helpful and welcoming. The area is nice too and there are a few nice restaurants close by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfy. Very peaceful and friendly environment. Great location, only a short bus ride into the city or a lovely walk if you are up for it! Lots of little independent restaurants around the hotel, nice quiet area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful bed so uncomfortable cramped breakfast room poor options for breakfast hardly any food there n what was there was discusting Breakfast was awful worst I've had Bed side light switch behind bed frame very difficult to reach Very disappointed with shampoo n shower gel looked like a big bulk buy from a supermarket

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little! For the price, location and comfort I cannot complain about anything.

    Beautifully kept house with a very accommodating owner in Marie. Rooms were generous and were clean and comfortable, exactly what was needed!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: