Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel St George by theKeyCollection 3 stars

7 Parnell Square East, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#83 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3351 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay at the Hotel st George Aprtments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location. Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the apartments which are located 5 minute walk from the main hotel complex. The staff were very welcoming, there for any queries we had. The apartment it's self was a perfect size for 2 people, great facilities. It was a 7 minute walk to O Connels street, perfect! I would highly recommend this hotel / apartment complex.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Great Price but hike from Hotel check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance from hotel check in was 2 long blocks. Location to city center, was 12-20 blocks and quite a hike, at the end of the night when we were exhausted. Value for the money, probably would have been worth it if we were in better shape to walk all those blocks.

    The size of apartment was great and wifi and tv channels was exceptional, in addition appliances were nice. Close to local store for breakfast items. Still hot in July and was told Summer was over. We had to leave windows open, and we were on a major street, and it was very loud. The second night, we asked for fans and were supplied them and they helped a lot. Were able to close windows for street noise. In addition, we were up three flights of stairs that we had to carry our large bags up, on arrival and coming back at night after bar hopping was a delight :{

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff lovely but wouldn't stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area not big enough. Not enough seating so had had to go out for breakfast which was disappointing. Room very small and walls very thin and we couldn't get to sleep because of the person snoring in the next room.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.5
    Worse hotel / apartment I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse hotel / apartment I have ever stayed in. The apartments are NOT located within the hotel. The apartment floor squeaks. The bedrooms have no air conditioner or curtains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.3
    A once off!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, cleanliness, appearance, no security staff, poor wifi,

    I knew I had booked the apartment but it was mostly the hotel photos that featured on booking.com, and that standard is what I was expecting. It was a grotty, shoddy apartment, not very clean, not a great area. I asked to be moved but it was not facilitated. At €185 a night I would Never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff, Nice location !
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small lift i think only two can ride at the same time and a lot of birds at night is a weak point.

    the staffs of the hotel was amazing and wonderful, they were really ready to help us. Also, the room was clean and neat

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff went above and beyond to assist us. The added touches didn't go unnoticed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great and bus No. 16 from airport dropped us at the front door for 3.30 Euro each. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and very happy. Room was very comfortable and nice that they provided us with a fan. Dublin was having a heatwave. Thanks once again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our short stay. Noted a few things that were not quite right, but they are minor. Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom (main room) lights were a bit odd. I had to turn the switch on underneath the light above the bed so it could be operated by the bedside switch. Only a bedside switch for lights one side of bed. Shower a bit tight. Shower took a while to warm up, seagulls were a bit noiisy. Other guests in the area allowed their doors to slam shut which isn’t nice. Perhaps you need things on the doors to stop them slamming as guests don’t seem to do this. No sign to say I could drink the tap water as wanted to boil it for tea... I know boiled is ok but I like to know. Cleaner started to come in the room before we had left. Didn’t mind but she should knock. Receptionist told us she had upgraded us to a family room on arrival, but pretty sure we didn’t have a family room (whatever that is) only a single double bed. Receptionist told us the Guinness factory was 20 minutes on the hop on off bus - perhaps 20 mins on a normal bus, but over an hour on the hop on off bus.

    Bed was comfy. Room was clean. Shower was nice. Tea, coffee and chocolate included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    A great location and really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is down the road from the hotel. Had to figure out the hot water ourselves as it wasn’t on when we got there so had cold showers the first morning. It felt more like an air BnB than hotel stay.

    A great location and really friendly staff. Took some family on a bus tour to glendalough. Most of the bus tours seem to depart from just down the road from this place so it’s really handy. Was the best value I could find in Dublin at short notice and during a Taylor swift concert which usually sees high prices. It really was fantastic value for money considering the other more expensive and lesser quality places on offer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great location, quiet and cozy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, quiet and cozy! The windows filled the room with light. The staff were helpful in providing tips on navigating the city. Breakfast was just right.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff was great! It was just a bummer after traveling all night to have to move apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very strong sewer smell in the basement bedroom and we ended up having to move. It was a lot of walking pulling our suitcases. There was 4 of us. The first apt we had to move from had 4 beds, the apt they moved us to had only one bed and a pull out. It was windy and some trim flapped outside the window all night!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Gritty neighborhood apartment (not hotel)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com was not clear until later in the confirmation process that this was an apartment managed by the Hotel St. George. When booking, book in.com listed our reservation as "one room, 4 people" at the Hotel St. George. Email communication from the hotel mentioned that we had an apartment -- surprise! The hotel managed the check in process, we were given an apartment a few blocks away in the opposite direction of the City Centre. A few blocks made a big difference as we were in a gritty part of town. Hotel staff tried to be helpful with parking tips, but parking was a nightmare. Their suggestions were street parking (which requires you to feed a meter and move your car) or the Q-park for €28 per day. The hotel offers a q-park discount, but it had to be booked ahead of time online and was difficult to manage. It took a lot of driving on hard to navigate one way streets and schlepping all over to get our car settled. The apartment was very basic in an out of the way area of town. No lift. We were on the 4th floor! Good thing we are in good health! Beds were horrible...lumpy. I'm an adventurous traveler, and don't need a lot of frills, but I would not stay here again. When using booking.com be sure you are booking the HOTEL and not apartments. The hotel looks nice, and I am sure the positive reviews come from people who stayed at the hotel.

    It was nice to have the extra room of an apartment. The living/kitchen area was a good place to hang out after climbing 4 flights of stairs!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Two nights in Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we could complain about regards the hotel.

    The hotel is excellently located for O Connell Street and only 20-25 walk from Trinity College or Temple Bar. The hotel staff were really friendly and very helpful with any of our requests. Our room was situated at the front of the building overlooking the busy Parnell Square but we were not disturbed by traffic noise outside. The room was clean and comfortable and came equipped with the usual tea making facilities, TV and hair dryer etc but to our surprise we also had a coffee machine and a cooling fan, temperatures ranged about 28 degrees C when we were there so the fan was very welcomed. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that but all in all a good hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t a double bed but 2 single beds of wheels so moved The automatic lights didn’t turn off in the bathroom all night and noisy fan

    Nice features

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice apartment, but could use better cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not as clean as I expect for a hotel. The sanitary seal was ripped on the toilet before I got there. There was a rotten apple core beside the coach, there was a musty smell to the bathroom and the bedroom was dusty.

    The full apartment was excellent and the location couldn’t be beat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.8
    The manager was very helpful after the complaint about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not know that they will send you to a different location if I have known that, I wouldn't book this hotel. The first apartment was full of blackflies and the bathroom had maggots.

    The manager was very helpful after the complaint about the black flies and maggots and terrible smell in the bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    I would like the owner to stay in one of his paper thin rooms , places like this give Ireland a bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SOUND PROOFING but I find in most of these cheap hotels they seem to have no regard for tourist , just take the money and run , it was a lousy end to a nice week in Conamara thank you St George.

    The walls are paper thin I could hear every word the obnoxious Americans in the next room were saying the place has very poor taste in the way the place was decorated it looked ridiculous, there is no way you can get a decant nights sleep with the paper thin walls .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Will stay again someday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have appreciated instructions on how to use the washer/dryer. Got our clothes washed but the drying was trickier. The room was right on the street so there are street noises with the windows open. But nothing too terrible.

    We were in the Apartment up a bit from the hotel. The location was excellent - right off the airport bus line, walking distance to the sites, several pubs nearby. The Cafe right downstairs was absolutely wonderful, great food, great lattes. We fell in love with Madigan's Pub on O'Connell street. Good food, great service. We arrived early and the staff at the hotel held our bags for us until check in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Public bus stops are very close
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is next to a takeaway. The windows face the its kitchen. The cooking smell lasts until the takeaway closes. The sound proof between floors is not good. Footsteps can be heard and felt clearly.

    Public bus stops are very close

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our apartment was right over a very busy street, the tramway and a 24 hour casino. Back bedroom was ok for noise but the front room (sofa bed) was noisy all night

    Comfortable, good value for the money. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but not super clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to use main bathroom or shower due to HORRIBLE smell, although the staff did quickly refund half of my cost for the night and addressed the issue with other staff members, bedroom has a very bright exit sign that illuminates the room so it's hard to sleep, apartment is a bit of a walk from the check-in, furniture is a bit used and stained

    We stayed in the apartment and it was very large, had 2 bathrooms, washing machine, bedroom was downstairs so it was quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Ideal Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel was ideal, we were in perfect walking distance to O'Connell street and everywhere else we wanted to go during our stay in Dublin. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again when next staying in Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Room was clean and comfortable with everything that you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the apartment was not in the most desirable area, also on a very busy Road, couldn't have the windows open for the noise of the traffic.

    Room was clean and comfortable with everything that you could possibly need, Bed was extremely comfortable,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    A good convenient place to stay, but some issues need to be addressed
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Were were given a quiet room at the back. of the hotel Each of the 3 nights we were woken by the steel doors in the yard would be opened (so noisey )then a vehicle would slowly back into the yard, Then all you would hear was bump.bump. then the vehicle would go and then the steel doors would be pulled over again.On the Wednesday night it happened twice. As we had to get up at 6.00 am we were not happy with it. We new the breakfast was from 7,30am. each morning we would inform the receptionist of this. Was always told we could have the continentle breakfast without anything hot but each morning no one knew we were going to be early for breakfast so we had to keep asking for the butter and the fruit etc

    The area and position of the hotel is good. buses outside hotel. Some of staff were very friendly and informative especially Caterena. Beautiful Georgion house,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing nights in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing I missed. It would be nice to have a small frigde in the room.

    It was a nice suprise to have mineral water, tea, biscuits and coffee in the room every day. Great size of room for a single and large bathroom too. I was able to check in earlier. Very nicely refurbished building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Great 3 bedroom apartment 4 min walk from hotel, highly recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in one of their apartments, a 4 minute walk from the hotel. Great value for money, lovely preparation of rooms, homely and would highly recommend for those going in groups to Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.9
    Absolutely nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways and reception were dirty. It’s like a hostel. The rooms are tiny. The breakfast is indescribably bad. The fire alarm went off at 7am and couldn’t be turned off for over an hour even though there was no fire or drill. I had to leave the premises as it was unbearably loud. No manager was on the premises until mid morning. Any form of refund for not being able to have quiet enjoyment of this overpriced joke of a hotel was refused. Avoid this place AT ALL COSTS. It’s the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in!!!!

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Short and aweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have told us they were taking the money from us on Monday 4th June prior to our arrival on Wednesday 6th June. We understood it was to pay on arrival.

    Very convenient area, small comfortable hotel, comfy bed and pillows, tea and coffee making facilities in the room and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location and OK for one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not really as we had hoped with very limited choice for vegetarians other than the cereal and egg. Coffee and tea were self serve and as there were staff on duty I felt they could have given us table service which would have been nicer.

    We stayed in a room only in the hotel and we were fortunate that we were given a room where the lift stopped as not all floors have access to the lift. We were also moved to this room after initially booking an apartment with Hotel St George and then realising it was quite a walk away from this actual hotel. We are in our 60s and did not feel like the prospect of carrying our cases along the streets after a long flight and Hotel staff were very accommodating in changing our booking to a room only however we did pay an extra $30 for this. The apartment would have been a lot more spacious than just a room but we did not mind as we were only staying one night. Had we been staying longer the apartment would definitely be the better choice. Reception staff were very friendly and organised a taxi for us the next morning on departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.4
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small room bad plumbing, thin walls

    The rooms were super tiny, walls are thin and the plumbing is bad. However, saying this the staff was nice in that they suggested we be on the 5th floor where it might be quieter.... and they were right. it was quiet. However because of the walls being soooo thin if we had had noisy neighbours it would have been a completely different story. .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, staff is friendly, nice and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of our room was quite small, however our friends got a larger room with a bath. This did not change much and we were still happy with our stay.

    The location is perfect and within walking distance to a lot of great areas. The rooms are quiet, despite it being on a busy street. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. It is perfect for a one to two night stay. We did not eat the food the hotel has to offer but they put a coffee machine in each room which I think is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved it stayed 2x
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apts are a few blocks away uphill which is a pain if you have a lot of luggage

    Perfect location walking distance to everything. Bus and Lucas within 8 min walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    overall very good would stay there again. The staff were really helpfull and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise transference from the rooms around the room we stayed in.

    The rooms were clean . Breakfast was hit and miss, if you timed breakfast right you were able to get a table. the front room where breakfast is served I feel is to small to accommodate the guests in the hotel if they all decided to eat at the same time. The food was hot and fresh good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Dorset apartments at St George Key Collection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family of four stayed at an apartment - was very tight and facilities were not worth the price. Also charge you ten euro per person for breakfast and food was not good.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, and the room was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the time we were staying there was a lot on, so we were charged top rate I think, which is reflected in my rating for value for money.

    Excellent location, and the room was quiet. Staff friendly and helpful. Everything clean. Plenty of choice for breakfast. The little box of goodies left in the room was appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Good Dublin stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight little stairs but that is normal for most buildings in Europe

    Handy location, well equipped, a great shower and comfortable bed. Also great to be able to leave luggage before and after our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    wonderfull hotel in a wonderfull city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing could be betterwe was well looked after

    very exellent staff , comfortable place , very clean would definatley recomend a stay and would return staff cant do enough for you ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Fine for the price we paid on offer, wouldn’t be worth the full cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was scalding hot at the coldest setting and the common areas, staircase etc were not really that clean. Some paint chipping and creaky beds. We stayed in the appartments

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Very good choice for group travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit noisy.

    Location was great, 15 minutes walking distance from the river, 5 minutes walking distance from the airport bus stop. Also, next to a bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great staff and very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not applicable

    The staff at the St George were amazing- can't think them enough for their kindness and helpfullness. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff. Also the apartment was very well furnished and clean! Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Loud apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very loud. Furthermore the shower was difficult to handle.

    The living room of the apartment was rather spacious. The bed rooms though were pretty small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good mid class hotel and good location in Dublin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets by the front desk all the way to the elevator needs to be replaced.

    It was a comfortable hotel. The staff a the front desk was very friendly and very accommodating. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet for a downtown hotel. Old hotel but the upgrades done to it are tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Really perfect 3 day visit , sun shining which made it even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife & myself really couldn't find any fault .

    Just a 5 minutes stroll to Henry Street , fabulous location , staff extremely friendly & the apartments were 1st class , it was my wife's first trip to Dublin as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    When I booked through Booking.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked through Booking.com on line the advertisement had a double or single bed option showing a bath and that I did tick the box for two single beds and when it was advertised as a bath in the section I was sure that was what I was getting. Instead I got a room with a double bed and there was a shower. I did question this at the property but said that was all that was left very disappointed for the price that I paid. Will in future have to review the best option of booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    The value of my stay was the location, but the room was small and very noisy long into the night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cramped and noisy! Reserved a room for three people and was given a double room with an extra bed for five nights. This was a dis-service for an extended stay. Would not recommend to others.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    We will look elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After checking out at 3:30 AM and told our paperwork couldn't be printed but would be e-mailed. The next day an added $20. charge was on our VISA. The e-mail paperwork promised was never sent. I believe we have a right to an actual statement, and I am curious as to why we were overcharged and misled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    A decent, though somewhat overpriced hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast offer was rather limited, with no real alternatives to the standard English breakfast items (eggs, sausage, beans)..

    The bed, the location, the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was not worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not worth the cost. No eggs until we were finished. Long line for coffees. One toaster. Long lines. Most expensive of our week in Ireland and substandard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was two blocks away, on the 4th floor of an old building. No elevator, some people would have difficulty with the stairs. Shower was horrible, the bed was clean, but the rest was shabby. A very old property, lipstick on a pig come to mind.

    The location is very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Mostly clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason the bedroom floor was crooked and sleeping was a bit of a challenge while trying not to fall of the bed.

    Mostly clean and comfortable. Location location location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing for the room rate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our third stay at Hotel St. George (previous visit September 2015), which, in the interim, has seen some redecoration and upgrades. However, new decoration and fancy coffee machine aside, we failed to see any justification for the significant increase in the room rate, particularly given that, at the price point, breakfast is no longer included. We knew this at the time of booking, but on reflection, just feels rather tight. The decor and attention to detail seemed to stop at the en suite door, with budget loo paper, tired grouting/sealant, wobbly toilet, loose basin tap and a shower that struggled to regulate a constant temperature. We'd be naive to expect too much from accommodation in the centre of a capital city, and Dublin is an expensive place, but given our previous two pleasant visits for comparison, and with little else to opt for in the vicinity on our chosen dates, I'm sorry to say Hotel St George fell short on this occasion.

    Good location close to local amenities, restaurants, cafes etc, polite staff, clean room with good facilities. Tasteful redecoration.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location in the heart of Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were bright and airy, very clean and well presented. The staff and management here were very lovely. We were very unlucky to find that the electrical sockets in our room didn't work, however, we didn't discover this until 2am on returning home. However, the hotel and management dealt with our issue, (which I realise was a once off) exceptionally well, and we would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.8
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broken and had to be held in hand. Wanted to rent movies as option was on tv. Staff did not have pin. Carpark was far from apartments if had heavy cases and unable to carry them.

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    the hotel a has gone down big time since we last stayed. Breakfast poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small and short. The milk for breakfast was sour and the member of staff had poor English so couldn’t understand what I was saying. The room was very small

    The location of the hotel was great , close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walks where a bit thin so could hear a bit of the room next door but not a huge issue

    We had a triple room, as was only for a weekend. So was great for what we needed. Breakfast was REALLY Good and the staff super friendly and will go out of their way for you. Was really Great location and easy to get to by bus and airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.6
    Disaster and never again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above. Pure disaster. NEVER again. Why would you want my partners ID.... none of your business....

    I didn't like anything really. Your car parking facilities ruined our night... it is not properly stated on Google maps and you've done nothing about it. I'm sure we're not the 1st to be sent on a wild goose chase... and my partner was asked for ID for what reason I don't know... if he had none what happens then... I paid for a double room, 2 turned Up, that should be that... it's ridiculous... never again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    3.3
    Staff ok but apartments are hideous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put into a separate apartment away from the main building and when we got there, we were horrified to see boarded up shops, a dumpster filled with piles of rubbish right outside our window and a man seemingly doing drugs outside. As a builder by trade, it was evident that behind the stud walling, rats or mice could be heard skittering around and could be clearly heard all night, much to our horror! The noise upstairs overnight was awful and the fire alarm went off very early in the morning. When we brought it to a staff members attention, he agreed that it was not good at all and showed no surprise in the pints and concerns being raised. In the morning, it was requested that the hotel either pay for us to fly home or find us somewhere else to stay. To be fair, they did find somewhere to stay and they gave us a complimentary breakfast but overall this was quite literally the worst place we have ever stayed in....ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.6
    Just about OK as middle class downtown hotels go, but not at that price point. Way overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing basically non-existent, both the adjacent rooms and the hallway were to be heard loud and clear. Tiny room, and a bathroom where a person of substance would have considerable difficulty getting in and out of the shower booth.

    Location, location, location. Good coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice building but rooms could do with some renovation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bath room was extremly small, elevator only up to fifth floor, furniture was already quite old.

    Nice Building; got a room on sixth floor with a nice view over Dublin. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    It was in a very good location. We stayed three nights and really liked it. Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer. I had to hold the on switch all the time to keep it working. Minor problem really but frustrating when trying to dry long hair!

    We chose to eat out for breakfast as multiple choices for eating in the immediate area. We really liked the accomodation though. Reception staff all lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    The comforters used for the bed and the couch were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the 2 flights of stairs we had to climb with our huge luggage with no staff to help. We also would have appreciated some water in the room, after our .5 mile hike to get there. The area was pretty shady too

    The comforters used for the bed and the couch were nice. It was nice to have a kitchen

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Horrible , bad value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our apartment was #5. First of all, we were surprised to discover that our apartment was located in a different address from the hotel (although walking distance). So we had to pick up back the car from the parking to drive to the new address. Then, we discovered that pictures on Booking were Photoshoped, or just done at a "right angle" to show that there is space and decent design & furniture. The rooms were VERY SMALL , and the bed was very stiff - old and very uncomfortable mattress; and in the second room the head of the bed was broken (detached) ... Also the shower was old, tiny and uncomfortable. The was very bad value for money, almost a scam. We paid 265 EUR a night, it was absolutely not worth it. This kind of apartment must cost 80-90 EUR per night at max! So it was way below our expectations and ruined our mood on the last day in Ireland... On top of this,we were informed that we had to clean the apartment before we leave. That was the first time ever I was asked such a favor at the hotel at such cost.

    The location was Okay, walkable to the center ( 15 minutes) . The apartment was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.- Breakfast could have started earlier. 2.- No option to cancel the booking without penalty. Full cost of stay had to be paid in advance, on making the booking.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing but carried on
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the apartment where the locations said but was then took around a mile walk to the actual apartment which was then up 6 flights of stairs with no lift, suitcases to be carried all the way to the top with no consideration to any illnesses or disability

    The apartment was modern and fresh

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 202 and two beds pushed together and one must have been quite old as had a big dip in. Maybe review replacement

    Great location, clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location to base yourself for a city break in Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some loud guests in a neighboring room kept us awake on our last night.

    central, within walking distance of most Dublin attractions, clean. Room had excellent facilities, TV with loads of chancels, proper hair dryer, hot water all the time in the shower, comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Good city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If people were in the corridor where our room was located and were talking we could hear pretty much every word that was being said. There was one day where this occurred at around 4am so woke us up.

    The hotel was in a perfect location for a visit to Dublin. The city centre is only a few minutes walk away and there are regular buses to and from the airport. Despite being in the city centre we didn't notice any noise from outside the hotel. The rooms were clean and the decor was in good condition.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    It was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really hot in the room in the morning when we woke up we felt a little bit sick because of the heat.

    It was a cosy room. My fiancé and I felt very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly hotel staff and convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Acoustic isolation is poor and you can hear clearly when people pass and talk in the corridor.

    The location of the hotel is convenient for restaurants, bars and shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant location and the room was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on one of the beds sank in the middle, thankfully we didn’t need it. The flow of water from above the bath shower was very slow. Shame breakfast is charged an additional cost of 10 euros each.

    Two double beds in the room with tea and coffee facilities and complimentary bottled water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    The location was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom's window isolation was really bad. I could hear the cars during all the night. That prevented me to sleep properly.

    The location was OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Great trip to Dublin but would have been good to have had a decent sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our major complaint was that we booked a triple room and requested 3 single beds. The booking site indicated this was possible. Sadly my friend and I had to share a double bed yet despite asking at the desk if this could be rectified nothing happened and we weren't given any feedback. It's really a bit too much when you pay for something you don't get! Not good enough.

    Location was very good. The staff were very friendly and willing to give helpful advice. We did not stay in for breakfast or food so cannot review. Rooms were clean and have the necessary facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed and wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and very steep stairs up to the fourth floor with luggage. Pullout couch very uncomfortable and bathroom very small and narrow.

    Clean and happy they had luggage hold.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    The apartments were a few blocks away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments were a few blocks away. It was difficult for check in and check out with luggage as well as for the free breakfast abc to get service like towels as they didn’t come every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    The location is great, the places of interest are within a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation seems to be a bit of a problem. One can hear guests in the room next door and those walking in the room above.

    The location is great, the places of interest are within a walking distance, the bus/tram stops are very close. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My room and bathroom were quite small but clean. I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: