Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St. Judes Lodge B&B 3 stars

24 College Road, Galway, Ireland

#31 of 87 B&Bs and Inns in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Location on the edge of the centre, easy to access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a room with 5 beds stowed in it, so there was almost no floor space left. It was on the downstairs level with a window on the carpark. Expensive, but that is Galway as a whole in the season.

    Location on the edge of the centre, easy to access.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Loved it, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The brothers/hosts are lovely. It was a last minute find as we decided to spend the night in Galway just a day or two beforehand. The location is perfect, just up the road from the coach station, tourist office, Eyre Square and the pedestrian-only streets, all easily walkable. I would definitely recommend staying here rather than any of the B&Bs or small guest houses nearer the square. It gets incredibly crowded and noisy, I can't imagine it would quiet down enough to get a good night's sleep. But at this B&B you can stay away from all that but easily get back and forth numerous times a day even if you wanted a brief mid-day rest etc. Free parking right out front was a big bonus. The breakfast is great, 8euros extra but well worth it to send you on your way.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The two brothers that run the property made us feel like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two brothers that run the property made us feel like family from assisting us with directions, suggestions of places to see and making us feel very welcomed. Delicious full breakfast , great laundry services on site with returned laundry folded !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Not really of the standard we experienced in other B&Bs in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny. The light fitting above one of the beds was held together with tape. The position in the attic was 3 flights of stairs from the ground floor, and the room was hot. There was hanging space for clothing but no cupboard or shelving.

    The location is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Good hosts, great location, clean/ well- run place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except for some road noise as we had a room facing the street which was a busy street.

    Good hosts, great location, clean/ well- run place, parking available so close to main centre ofvGakway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great accommodation, stress free booking and dealing with the management on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    good location, friendly management, flexible arrival back at night. This is a clean well maintained property. Didn't get an opportunity to sample breakfast, but this was because we were out late the night before. Parking free also as part of stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good location and car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast the eggs are not freshly cooked for each guest, they are kept warm in a bain marie (self service buffet. You have to pay extra for breakfast.

    Very good location, only 15 min walk to centre of Galway. Good off street car parking. College Road was not a busy road on a Friday morning when we arrived, so it was easy to get the car in and out again when we left. The room was quiet, light, modern and clean. The host lady was very friendly and helpful when we arrived. We liked that fresh fruit is availabe at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    If it's available, choose St. Judes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all!

    Service and accommodations were above and beyond our expectations. All staff we encountered were friendly, and the whole interior was relatively updated with light walls, plenty of light, and beautiful floors in our bedroom. Breakfast was a great value, and we appreciated the extra touches such as chilled drinking water available all day, chocolates on our bed at check in, and great water pressure in the shower! We had a top floor room with a great view of an inlet off the bay. Very happy with our stay here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Writing this on behalf of my mum Pat and friends from tne UK...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Writing this on behalf of my mum Pat and friends from tne UK who I booked this b&B for one night. They said they had a wonderful stay, the room was spotless, breakfast was great, location was near to the bus station and everything they needed. Sean and Donal was wonderful hosts. They would absolutely stay again. Thank you for making their time in Ireland enjoyable even for one night. Will be sure to book again when they return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, easy parking and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was small. Front room was noisy at night with window open.

    Great location, easy parking and friendly staff. Nice facility - clean and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Happy with everything. Will definitely recommend it to others.

    Lovely place with very friendly staff. Central location with off street parking was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Small plain rooms, but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a real B&B in my opinion. The outside is beautiful, and they made the rooms so generic. There was no coziness or design to it, it just looked like a motel room. They made it a very plain generic room, and it was tiny!! The shower was very very small, and we were right near the entrance and could just hear everything, everyone coming and going and every car that drove by.

    The owners were very friendly, and the location was within walking distance of the center. Wifi was good as well. Overall we slept well and it was fine for the one night we stayed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff was incredibily friendly, going out of their way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibily friendly, going out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. St.Judes was about a 10-20 minute walk to local pubs, restaurants and shopping .... but an easy walk. (About 10 minutes from the bus station) Our room was very clean and comfortable....A great deal for the price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, staff were so nice to us and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Great place to stay, staff were so nice to us and the room was so comfortable. Only a 5 min walk to city Centre so in a great location too. Would 100% recommend to stay here if you’re visiting Galway. Didn’t try the breakfast, we just went into the city every morning for it so can’t give a review on that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not reach the room # 8. You could get WiFi on the landing outside the room.

    Great location. Just a short walk to town and the new bus station. Nice room but sort of small. Lots of info in lobby. Good parking around back. View of water a bit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    The location is close for exploring the downtown area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, parts of ceiling is low so you bump your head if you are tall. Narrow staircase make luggage difficult.

    The location is close for exploring the downtown area. Nice view of water. Convenient breakfast option and will do laundry if required.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable place, checks all the boxes for location, food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit smaller than some. But perfectly comfortable.

    Really good location. Easy Parking, in/out. Very short walk to great pubs/music. Staff really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was super Small (especially the shower) but I found that to be across most of Ireland so maybe that’s just how they are there.

    Owners were so super sweet and loved the little map they gave us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Great location to town, and gracious staff with good breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big deal, you just have to let the hot water run a while.

    The owners were fantastic and very accommodating when we mistakenly overbooked. The breakfast was great as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff very accommodating but busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor street side Lot of traffic and people noise throughout the night with window open as the room was stuffy. Staff helpful and gave us a fan and noise not as bad the second night No lift Be aware breakfast is not included in the price, although advertised as a Bed & Breakfast Rusty coloured hot water

    Staff very accommodating but busy Off street parking available Good location with easy walk to main town area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Staying at St. Jude's helped make our short trip better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though the rooms were very clean, there was a strong smell of chlorine. I appreciated it because it meant things were clean, but the smell was a bit too strong and so we had to air out the room.

    Sean and Donal were super helpful, along with their staff. We made an error in a tour booking and they went way beyond expectations helping us figure it out and get it all sorted out. The warm welcome and assistance is reason enough for us to come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no personal touch or warm welcome. I sent an email to the owners to explain why I wasn't satisfied. Nobody has replied to my email yet.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Plenty of car parking, fantastic location would stay AGAIN and recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was lots to choose from for breakfast but the fry was over cooked! Overall it was a good feed to start the day 😊

    There was ample car parking, fantastic location right across from rugby grounds, 3 minutes from The centre of town!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced but convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought that €8 per person for breakfast is excessive given that we had to serve ourselves from food sitting in a heated container. I would have at least expected breakfast to be cooked fresh especially at the cost.

    Close to the city, friendly hosts, clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating. Overall, great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very accommodating to our schedule. We got in late Friday night and there was no issue. They also let us check out late and allowed us to leave our car parked in the lot while we explored the city. Just very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed, will be back! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you pay by Paypal, it will show as unpaid so make sure you bring your Paypal payment confirmation

    Really high standard of accommodation, super staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay ...you'd be hard pushed to find better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed (i have a superking at home so this was supersmall :) to me)

    Everything...... you couldn't ask for nicer staff and a more friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was fab and great value for money. Donal is a gentleman who obviously loves his job and that is reflected in the service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    We were given the impression that breakfast was included...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the impression that breakfast was included when we arrived. No one stated that it was extra, or how much per person it was. As we were staying at a bed and breakfast, I presumed it was part of the accommodation. It left a slightly sour note when we were paying to leave.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Welcoming, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to see if they would invest in mini fridges for the rooms because they are so modern and stylish.. they would suit the facilities better.

    The lady Tata was very warm and easy to talk to. Good spirited people all around. I liked very much that is was a family run business (twin brothers) with international workers. It also accomodates for all people (visitors, traveller's, workers, students).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t worth the charges and the owners didn’t seemed worried that we didn’t expect to be charged Bed and pillows not comfortable

    Location friendly owners

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Great owners and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The owners, Sean and Donal, along with the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We had to catch a train early the next morning, so they left the kitchen open (well before breakfast started) for us to grab some fruit on our way out. The room was very clean and comfortable. They always went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Breakfast buffet had plenty of food to fill us up before our day started. We would definitely stay here again if ever back in Galway. Short walk to bus/train station and all the shops in city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Ideal location for a night with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location for a night with friends. Less than 5 mins to Eyre Square. Owner is lovely. Didn't get a chance to have breakfast but it seemed nice. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    The place is comfortable and family friendly, excellent to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is comfortable and family friendly, excellent to stay with kids. It’s near to main touristic points and the center city. The staff is really attentive and the breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    good I would recomend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything good. I was glad we stay here

    THE breakfast was very good every morning. we fill up before we took off to see the Cliff of Moher and the caves

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location, clean, good parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included, water pressure in the shower was not great.

    Walking distance from all the main tourist attractions such as pubs, night life, promenade and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    I added breakfast to our stay after booking it through...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I added breakfast to our stay after booking it through booking.com and booking.com said the price would come out with the rest of my paypal payment but It didnt. I was able to pay at the property with card but had it been something more expensive it could have been an issue. To be clear I believe the issue is with booking. Com not the property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Everyone was super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was super friendly. We only stayed one night but found the location fairly central and the room was modern, clean and comfy. Breakfast was available even thought it was an hour after breakfast was finished for the day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location, close to the action in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unspectacular water pressure in shower to say the least. Soundproofing could be improved as it was easy to hear people moving about the place, coughing next door etc. The bed and general furnishings in the room were not particularly comfortable. I would be more disappointed if I had paid more that €50 a night for a double room.

    Good location, close to the action in town. Plenty of parking. Clean rooms. We had quite a discounted rate so found the value to be okay. Underfloor heating kept the room nice and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water wasn't very warm for both the shower and tap.

    The location was very central, about 5 min's walk to the center of town. The beds were very comfortable and bigger than we expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Welcoming and comfortable guesthouse very well located for Galway centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower room is well equipped but tiny. At €171 for a one night stay including breakfast, it is expensive.

    The guesthouse has an excellent location a short walk from Eyre Square. The brothers who are the proprietors are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. There is plenty of car parking available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Satisfied with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was on the dear side though I don't know if that was due to the time of year. €170 for two for one night is approaching hotel prices

    Convenience to the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Silet, comfortable beds, only a short walk away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice owner, Room was clean and perfect sized for two persons. Only a short walk from the sights away. Very silent and very comfortable beds. We will come back for sure! Thanks a Million.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.2
    Highway Robbery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked at one rate and was charged $22 more. I tried to discuss this with the hotel and show proof but they wouldn’t accept it. I also sent an inquiry to Booking. Com asking for help but they didn’t respond

    Nothing. The room was a horrible value for the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative. Could have been cheaper considering what you are paying for. Had to wait a while for the room to be ready but i wouldn't let that put me off.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. I would stay there just for that. The facilities are clean , comfortable but basic. Great location. 5 minute walk to Eyre square but far enough away to avoid the noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Clean, quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, quiet room. Easy walk to the center of town. Really friendly and helpful host. Charming dining room. Although we didn't have breakfast there, we were offered coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    I would certainly stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small thing bedroom was cold on arrival in early afternoon on a cold wet November day, but as I was out until later it did not matter as underfloor heating kicked in.

    Breakfast & service excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved Galway
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests before us had burned the cooking pot and it was very smelly in the room when we got there. The cleaning crew should have noticed that and done something about it before we got there. The manager did give us a room deodorizer unit which helped. But it was loud. So we turned it off at night and the smell came back. :(

    The location was pretty central. About a10 min walk into the city centre. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing two-night stay in October
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reading the reviews beforehand we were really lucky with everything: got a nice room from upstairs with windows towards the backyard, were not bothered by noises early in the morning etc. We only met the (really nice!) owners when checkin in and out, and didn't have breakfast. Beds were good for us, bathroom was roomy etc. Location is ok, it's a 5 minute walk to the bus station and Eyre Square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Good choice for a comfortable stay in Galway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As advertised, this B&B is in a great neighborhood with a very easy walk to the city center. Parking was convenient. Our room had an excellent view of the harbor and was very quiet. The breakfast and the owners were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Delightful hosts, well-run guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get the water above lukewarm in the shower in the morning.

    I received the warmest of welcomes on arrival, and the owner gave useful local information, including advice about where to visit on my onward journey. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Although the guest house is on a main-ish road, the double glazing means it was very quiet overnight. In terms of bed and breakfast, location is everything, and this is just a few minutes walk from the buzzing centre of Galway. There was a buffet-style breakfast of excellent quality, well-cooked Irish goodies. All in all, it felt like a very professionally run establishment, and I'd happily stay again on another visit to Galway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable guesthouse which was in great location in Galway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was a little unreliable.

    The location of the guesthouse was excellent. Close enough to walk to the downtown area, but not right in the middle of the craziness. Parking was included onsight. Room and bath were small, but clean. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Fab week in Galway July 17'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe only had hanging space and few hangers no shelving. Bed a bit too firm for me.

    Owners & Staff so welcoming friendly helpful. Breakfast Awesome room kept very clean Come & Go as you please yet always someone in charge there when needed. Nice walking distance from city centre good local shop nearby. On site parking every night and we were there fo 7. Great mix of Nationalities staying here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Didn't realise we had to pay extra for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it was

    Didn't realise we had to pay extra for breakfast. Turned out to be a rip off once breakfast was included. Small buffet for €8

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant Gem 🌟
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero- they've nailed it !

    This lovely property was largely and beautifully newly renovated. Our room was large, with lovely part-water views & was clean with excellent facilities and friendly, helpful staff ( thanks, Maria). The twin brothers who own the property were outstanding with their personable & supportive helpfulness in so many ways- there at the start to greet us. The breakfasts were excellent. This was the best B & B we stayed at during our 10 day road trip throughout Ireland! We stayed here 3 nights and had intended two, but felt so relaxed, we treated ourselves. We travelled Ireland and U.K. in this way for six weeks a couple of years ago, including beautiful Galway, but Sean and Donal gave us a whole new view of this vibrant city.... Note: we were doing a bus trip to the Aran Islands. Even though the bus terminal was an easy walk (5 mins) downtown from the property Sean gave us a lift down because my wife had a bad knee. She left her phone in his car. We called & spoke to Donal about it straight away. He called Sean & he was back at the terminal within 10 mins with my wife's phone with a big smile! These guys run an exemplary business & we cannot speak too highly of them! Outstanding! Roger & Gail Maxwell, Australia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    short stroll to Town Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish both hot and cold water from could come from one tap, don't see the point in having 2 taps More hooks to hang towels and shelving space to put toiletries in the washroom

    We like the fact that the B&B was conveniently located. The staff was super friendly and we he morning breakfast was tasty and we had lots more f choices in what we could eat!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    A+ stay in Ireland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely, clean B & B. Wonderful proprietors, Sean and Donal are! My sister and I were outside waiting on some family members to take off to our next destination, and one of the brothers brought coffee out for us without us asking. So sweet! I highly recommend this lodging!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    We did not have breakfast as we did not have time.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We did not have breakfast as we did not have time. It was a lovely clean, comfy, pleasant house & excellent value. "The Twins " that run it are very nice men.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Modern and clean, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very low pressure in the shower.

    Modern and clean, comfortable bed. Very friendly staff, we were offered coffee/tea upon arrival (even though that was well before check-in time)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was poor quality, for the extra 8 euros i would have expected something more. scrambled eggs were not good, as well as the fruit salad. room was very small ( for us it was fine as we stayed only one night)

    perfect location in a quiet neighborhod walking distance to the center. rooms are immaculate. b

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommend for a Galway city visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a fantastic stay at St. Judes Lodge! My room was lovely, spotless & very comfortable. Staff were super welcoming & helpful. Fantastic location, just steps from the heart of everything - I definitely hope to stay again!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable, friendly abode ideal location for city access,to stay with lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orange juice was not fresh squeezed is only flaw if I really have to give one, didn't bother me really

    Fresh crisp bed linen, spotless toilet,shower,comfy bed, lovely breakfast buffet style

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Staff was welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was welcoming and helpful. Located only three minutes away from the bus terminal and 10-15 minutes to the pubs and restaurants in city center. Clean, comfortable, quiet, and our room had a window facing the street that let in all kinds of light.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay, while I did not have breakfast during...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very comfortable stay, while I did not have breakfast during my stay, it looked and smelled delicious! I would recommend St Judes Lodge to all my friends looking for a comfortable, affordable stay in Galway City!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Clean room with great sea view, Friendly and helpful Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location (near the sea and walking distance to city center). Friendly and helpful staff (Donal drove me to the coach station because I mistaken my departure time, if it wasn't him, I would have missed the bus. Thank you so much!!) Beautiful view from the room (I can see the sea and I enjoyed the pink/orange sunrise right from my room!)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too far from central Galway

    Great bed, clean room with all amenities covered including hairdryer, free wifi, kettle with tea and coffee. Breakfast was great - excellent attention to details

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Had a great wee stay in St.Jude's!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    B&B owners were extremely welcoming and always had a smile on their faces. Rooms were lovely, and the breakfast buffet was AWESOME. Really set us up for the day. Really nice place to stay and only a short walk to Eyre Square.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything- it was a great place for a short stay.

    Comfortable accommodation very close to the centre of town. Clean and efficient and quiet at night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.8
    Great location but not super comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were rock hard as were the pillows...army barracks style. The room was spare and the bathroom was tiny...especially for multiple people. Lastly, it calls itself a bed and breakfast but the breakfast is not included.

    The location of St Jude's is excellent...just an easy walk to Galway nightlife and sights.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    All the way with this gem in Galway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. It's beautiful here. I'm a female solo traveller and was sick of larger hotels. The staff were lovely. My room 1A was so cute. I felt so safe and the location is central.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included! Needed more tea bags in room!

    Good location, easy parking, clean, friendly, welcoming, nice decor, easy to find ...our room was good sized for a couple

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Value, location and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More comfortable pillows. Herbal tea options in the rooms.

    Very friendly and relaxed staff. The selection of extra seeds, goji berries, chia seeds and linseed mixes were great and a nice addition to traditional cereal options!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    A real Irish welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host Donal gave us a real Irish welcome and immediately made us feel at home! Great location, only 5 minutes walk to the centre of Galway city with plenty of parking on site. The property is clean and comfortable with spacious bedrooms. Delicious breakfast, a great start to the day! Fast wifi. Overall, excellent value for money and a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.5
    A short walk to central Galway, train and bus stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the same price that I booked through Booking but if booked on their website I might get breakfast. I got a room on the first floor, behind the 'lobby', beside the staircase, toilet and brochures desk so it was quite noisy.

    A short walk to central Galway, train and bus stations. Spacious room and comfortable bed. Good wifi.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Very welcoming indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable, the room super-clean, and the quiet location at the back, overlooking the lough and out towards the sea, was a bonus. Very kind to let us leave our car in their car park when we turned up early, and gave us good advice on somewhere for a relaxing lunch.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.5
    One night in Galway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower wasn't great otherwise the room was clean and comfy, very good value and the price was just bed which suited us fine ( breakfast was offered at a good price )

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: