Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stoops Guesthouse 3 stars

Stoops Coolattin, Shillelagh, Ireland

#1 of 1 hotels in Shillelagh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Really nice B&B, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very long wifi-password. There is no other house nearby. Why do they need a passwort at all?

    Really nice B&B, easy to find. Great house with a beautiful guests lounge. New bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a twin room and expected 2 single beds. But every twin room comes with a single bed and a king size bed so was a little cramped.

    Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order arrived pipping hot!! Had free reign of guesthouse, grounds and garden were amazing. Owners mum was lovely, very helpful and hospitable, couldn't do enough for us . They also have a lovely lounge room with tv and fireplace to chill out in. Only 8 bedrooms so it's never crowded !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    We very much enjoyed our 2 night stay and would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stoops is quite a long way out of the nearest village Shillelagh and there is only a takeaway there. We drove to market town of Tinahely to find a couple of reasonable places to eat.

    A lovely house set in beautiful countryside. All the bedrooms are attractively furnished and well-equipped. There is a large sitting room with TV for the use of guests plus a lovely garden. Breakfasts were excellent. Friendly service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.9
    Owners friendly and would be lovely venue in the summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a freezing cold night and the heating never came on. with a little bit of tweaking in the morning we were able to get it working but unfortunately we had a very cold night. Informed the management and they thanks us for letting them know.

    Owners friendly and would be lovely venue in the summer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    wedding guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Missed breakfast but they made me one anyway! Thank you! Didn't actually meet anyone when we arrived just got our own key and headed to our room. Didn't really see anyone who worked there, not necessarily a bad thing, we had the house to ourselves.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Stoops gave us the peace and quiet missing from our daily lives!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    It was in the heart of the country which is what we wanted. I don't know whether it was the fresh country air or the comfy bed but I had the best night's sleep I'd had for a long time at Stoops. Denise was friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bit of trouble with the key of the room that broke in the key hole and the last day no hot water for showering but once we notified the staff they really did there best to fix it as quickly as possible and find an alternative solution for us. The only thing is the phone number on booking doesn't seem correct because when we broke the key no one answered. Then we found in the house after searching another number which was the correct one so maybe it would be useful to correct that on the booking page.

    The house is magnificent with nice surroundings. The bedroom was comfortable but a bit small. No place to put the luggage. The common area was great and spacious. The view was nice. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Like in Grandma home
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect or almost perfect

    Very friendly staff, I felt like in my Grandma house, specific home atmosphere, No rush, Super attitude to customers: everything can be done

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Heaven in the Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish there was better internet access, I understand we were in a valley, but we needed the internet to check in for the next day's flights.

    The nature around the place, it felt like we were nestled in a hunting manor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Great People, Great Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stoops is in a fantastic, scenic location. The staff were brilliant, the breakfast was delicious and wholesome, as B&B's go this is about as good as it gets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Clean, adequate facilities, friendly staff, honesty bar
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Croissants good! Nespresso machine at brekkie but only three capsules available. When they were used owner told us there weren't any more. Very cheap orange juice and only one flavour of juice available. White pan for toast...no other bread. We were not we would like our eggs, no choice of fried scrambled or poached. Baked beans served with brekkie...not asked if we wanted, not typically Irish. No mushroom, tomato, hash brown or saute potato.No pots of tea served at table...tea bags and hot water for guests to help themselves. White pudding and bacon good, sausages cheap.Disappointing andbelow par for an establishment charging €62 per person per night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and we will be back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like.

    Firstly the welcome we got was so nice and friendly. Its a lovely place to stay. The decor is so tastefully done and there is a lovely atmosphere in the place. The bed was so comfy and everywhere was very clean. We would definitely recommend this place and we look forward to a return visit...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Kind hosts and a nice accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind and helpful hosts. They organized a taxi, picking us up at the wicklow way, as we were not able to walk any longer up to the Stoops Guesthouse. Nice house, nice rooms, nice view and a funny dog. Breakfast was delicious. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Like staying in a five star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I would say it was like a five star hotel with five star service and very accommodating and friendly staff ten out of ten for everything Rob and rose

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Had a lovely time staff were very nice place was spotless I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cold a night the heating never seemed to come on at all but loved everything else

    Fabulous place beautiful scenery and rooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    3.8
    A sweet start with a bitter ending
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not happy with the price that was advertised as €50 online,which I reserved,and received an email code and reference number.On arrival I was told that the price was €50 by the receptionist,who was part of the owners family.On departure we were told the price had jumped to €80,which was a shock.Why can't a B&B honour the price advertised and agreed online?I would advise travellers to think carefully before booking

    Coffee machine

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    Wicklow retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful views of the Wicklow hills. Recommendation of O'Connors in Tinahealy for dinner was definitely worth it. Also delicious breakfast breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.1
    hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address provided was difficult to understand and find. GPS had difficulty with the information given (no street name and number Far from convenient dining.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather on the last day

    Lovely Room/ Excellent Facilities but the staff were exceptional with their welcome and assistance during our stay. We had booked for 2 nights but were so comfortable added an extra night. We were made to feel at home and use all of the facilities - lovely to relax over a glass of wine and enjoy the sitting room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.7
    Nice,quiet place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall reasonably good place but would lose points mainly when it comes to detail. Our drinking glasses and cups were not spotless clean on arrival, we had to wash them ourselves,there was no fridge despite booking sites saying there would be one (we were able to use the one downstairs), tv in room only has two channels ( more downstairs). These are only small things ( except the dirty teacup) but if put right ,it would be a really great place!

    Location was fab, staff very nice, bed very comfortable, room was fine and bathroom was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Wonderful hosts and lovely estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in the middle of a heat wave and being American, we weren't acclimated to rooms with no air conditioning. Our hostess gave us a sort of portable cooling fan which helped a little. We ended up sleeping with the windows and curtains wide open and in the summer that means it's dark from about 11 at night until about 5 in the morning. So bring a portable fan and a good pair of eye shades if there's a chance of unusual heat. Otherwise this place was outstanding.

    Our hosts were perfection. Breakfast was amazing and hearty for a long day of sightseeing. Location is close to town, restaurants, Rock of Cashel. (We also got discount tickets to the Rock of Cashel from our hostess- thank you!) We really enjoyed walking around the absolutely immaculate gardens. We came from Powerscourt Gardens that same day and thought whoever is keeping the grounds here could also have a job there! Ensuite bathrooms were modern and well appointed. Large bedroom windows were wonderful. This is the perfect space for families- we had adjoining rooms of 1 king bed (rare in Ireland) and 2 smaller beds in the other room. Both rooms had bathrooms. It was a welcome relief to have some space from the kids!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean and the rooms were very nice. The house is very quiet. We got a yummy full irish breakfast, thank you for a nice stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Awesome place to stay, gorgeous house in lovely setting,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome place to stay, gorgeous house in lovely setting, nice grounds, lovely room, homely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    It felt like home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It felt like home from home. Very stylish and wonderfully peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Room and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one to greet us

    Room and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    the bed was SUPER comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was SUPER comfy. We slept like babies!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Stoops guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work

    Beautiful spacious guesthouse.room was spotless and comfortable.staff are very friendly and welcoming.highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Whould stay there again and would recomend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sign posting to the property were not there until you actully reached it.

    we were made to feel very welcome by the family who worked there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    great host, great breakfast, friendly environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great host, great breakfast, friendly environment. absolutely recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hosts, nice quiet guest house.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly not much signal but that can't be helped!

    Lovely hosts, nice quiet guest house. Comfy and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    we were the only guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was bland, but that was seemingly normal for Ireland

    we were the only guests

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay at Stoops
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast great, house amazing and clean, staff friendly and very helpful... fabulous stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Comfy beds, good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy beds, good shower. Lovely views and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is located in a beautiful countryside, The owner was very kind and caring. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing major

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place & lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast.Very friendly & helpful staff. Very clean. The area is just stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful breakfast each morning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was spotty!

    Wonderful breakfast each morning! Also very helpful, gave us lots of amazing places to go see in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Great Escape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be tiny but fresher bedrooms.

    Love the location and people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    All ready recommended to a few friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full Irish in the morning was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Excelent b n b

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Friendly and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rekaxed inviroment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Our 3 day stay was indicative of our stays through Ireland-very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine

    Hosts were very friendly & helpful & breakfast/accommodation was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet in bedroom omay downstairs

    The setting was to beauitful very qUnited just what we wanted

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly hosts. Very welcoming and relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly hosts. Very welcoming and relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    The friendly welcome and beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendly welcome and beautiful location. The house was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    First time at Stoops and would recommend it highly. Nice guest house in a great setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent. A nice big Fry after a long Wedding day. Very friendly service from Denise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts. Great house. Great food. Great crack!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Shower and wifi the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and wifi the best

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.7
    B&b it's self was to a high standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At 23:50 I went to my car to have a cigarette while in my car I was approached by a man with a torch who interegated me as to what I was doing there I was 4 or 5 metres away from the front door he continued to shine a torch in my face even after me asking him to stop he refused actually moving closer to me with it he gave me such a fright that it took moment to tell him I was staying there then when I did he said "ah sorry lad " and walked away I was incredibly upset I lay awake in bed for hours when I told someone in the morning she said sorry and that there was a lot of break ins in the area and when this lad seen me sitting in my car 5 metres away from the front door he must have thought I was there robbing the house that's why he integrated me and continued to point a torch directly in my face I was never made aware of a designated smoking area and she took my number and said I would receive a phone call with an apology which I haven't and that was it I am 25 year old man I have a feeling if I was 45 I would have been taken more serious will never stay again

    B&b it's self was to a high standard

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful gardens, weather was good, rear views were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful gardens, weather was good, rear views were fabulous, lots of space. I met Bill who was planting shrubs and constructing a bar outside, he was a lovely man. The house is huge with a communal lounge to relax, nice big breakfast room, food was great, i had a full Irish, the white pudding is amazing. Highly recommend, will be back on business soon.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    The hostess was very accommodating, sweetest woman!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Couldn't connect to WiFi - although other tourists could.

    The hostess was very accommodating, sweetest woman! Breakfast was great, accommodations were terrific! Would highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Checked into this beautiful b&b for a wedding, arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Checked into this beautiful b&b for a wedding, arrived early and got a late check out. This house is very spacious, good sized bedrooms all tastefully decorated. The breakfast room was lovely with its country style feel and handmade crafts made by one of the family members, this room leads onto a roofed terrace where friends joined me the next day for fresh coffee. The grounds are picturesque with so much going on and beautiful views over the valley. The family here are very friendly and warming people, the house has lots of ambience. The breakfast was excellent, plentyful, all cooked fresh to order. Thank you for making my stay enjoyable, fully recommend, defiantly will be back. Tia.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    5.8
    Pleasant helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    lots of mini irritations which left me feeling if you are going to do something please do it right!In my room there was a light bulb not working, and also the TV remote didnt work. While faults were fixed immediately, it would have been better if the room had been present properly in the first place. VERY small tv in room with just two channels to choose from. Poor selection at breakfast, and the fruit that was in a bowl was definitley past its sell by date. At €50 for a one night stay its not a B and B that I would be rushing back to in a hurry.

    Pleasant helpful staff. Bed very comfy.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    We was made very welcome, stoops guest house was very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We was made very welcome, stoops guest house was very clean & comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and plenty. The only downside was the weather.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    7.1
    It was a good stop off on our way to Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast served to late and there was no offer of anything else.

    It was a good stop off on our way to Ireland They did change the room for my mum who is disabled.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    At last a guesthouse where you can get out of your bedroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At last a guesthouse where you can get out of your bedroom and do things, we met with some other guests in the large sitting room down stairs. We also walked the gardens very nice. The staff looked after us well and we had lunch and dinner at Coollattin golf club down the road where we played, great course. Breakfast was fab, and the house was clean and comfortable, all we ask for, we would highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    The breakfast was excellent and yummy, my wife only wanted...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was excellent and yummy, my wife only wanted scrambled eggs on toast which is the best she ever tasted and the coffee was delicious. The house is clean and tidy and large with a room where we could relax for reading and TV. We spent the evening in, and Sean one of the family went and brought us some beers and we relaxed in front of the fire chatting and hearing about the History of the area including the Earls Fitzwilliam. We had a great nights sleep and would reccommend Stoops and Wicklow to anyone wanting to travel Ireland. A great experience.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    We loved everything, the staff, the service, the property is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything, the staff, the service, the property is stunning as are the views, the family are true typical Irish with a nothing is too much trouble welcome. Denise drove us to and from the village of Shillelagh in the evening and we got a discount at Coolatting Golf Club for food and drinks. We have already decided to come back in March for a weekend.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    3.8
    There was absolutely nothing to like about this b/b,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was dark & dismal, it only had one window, there was a missing roller blind & no curtains, one of the 2 small opening windows was impossible to close. The bathroom tap was loose. The extractor fan was exceptionally noisy. It was a cold night but there was no heating in the room at night or in the morning. There was no wifi signal. The breakfast was certainly not a typical Irish breakfast, we asked for Irish soda bread or Irish brown bread, amazingly the owners mother who was in charge at the time had no idea what we were talking about, the only bread available was ordinary brown or white sliced bread. You had to make your own toast by using a very old, worn out toaster. The so called 'full Irish breakfast' consisted of 2 small skinless sausages, 2 rashers of cheap bacon, a small slice of white pudding & cheap looking baked beans. The tea was undrinkable as the water had a very strong taste, on speaking to some German guests they described the coffee as also undrinkable due to the water. The person in charge wanted 80 euros, we paid 70 euros for the room, which in my opinion was far too much for this place, it was certainly poor value for money. It is classed as 3 star, how on earth they got that rating I'll never know. I have travelled extensively in Ireland for nearly 30 years years & have stayed in many B&B's, Stoops Guest House in my opinion is the worst I've ever stayed in, the majority of Irish guest houses are so much better & will always give a real Irish welcome & they all know what Irish soda & real brown bread is.

    There was absolutely nothing to like about this b/b, fortunately we only stayed for 1 night & couldn't leave quick enough!!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Excellent service, friendly staff, great facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent service, friendly staff, great facilities. Fabulous secluded rural loacation with breath taking views of the Wicklow hills. Loved the gardens, Bill seems to potter round the gardens, mr greenfingers, Densise was lovely and ever so helpfull, thumbs up to Stoops.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    4.6
    View out of the window at rear of house
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed awful - springs sticking through No internet Bed side light not working and none there to give us a replacement

    View out of the window at rear of house

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    Modern recent new build but much of Bedroom No.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The young lady who met us on arrival at 1600 hours was dressed in her Pyjamas and the room welcome brochure had nothing about property or local ammenities, just a threatening first page relating to theft of bedroom items, when mentioned this to Manager at breafast, it was said that other previous guests had complained.

    Modern recent new build but much of Bedroom No. 8 not finished, tile grout smeared over bathroom tiles, wardrobe walls not plastered, lights not working, the television smaller that a laptop, breakfast was well cooked and wholesome

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    A lovely guesthouse- the facilities are second to none, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A lovely guesthouse- the facilities are second to none, and as a weary walker- the friendly phone-call and offer of a pick-up from the Wicklow Way was hugely appreciated. Even though I stayed only one night, I think I met most of the family- wonderful, friendly people. I will be back!!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    An amazing place in the middle of nowhere, great staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was really wanderful!

    An amazing place in the middle of nowhere, great staff, breathtaking view from the window, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    10
    Very friendly hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly hosts! You van walk down to the golf club for dinner. Spacious room within very nice bed!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Lovely guest house, lovely scenery and really nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room, the food , the scenery and the host

    Lovely guest house, lovely scenery and really nice people

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great place gave us a lift to the begining of the wicklow way

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    5.4
    good location nice views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very noisy guests till 4am...boiler broke down overnight so noisy plumbing repairs at all hours..

    good location nice views

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    The staff were friendly and the location is beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were friendly and the location is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    Perfect bed and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect bed and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    The yard, the property, the dogs, everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The yard, the property, the dogs, everything.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.7
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wardrobe. No biscuits no yogurt at the breakfast

    The breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Did not have any bad experience there

    Beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    10
    we arrived late (after 11pm) and they stayed up to let us in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we arrived late (after 11pm) and they stayed up to let us in without complaint. Breakfast we delicious. Room was comfortable and kids loved the beds.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: