Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Teach de Broc 4 stars

Ballybunion, County Kerry, V31 C971 Ballybunion, Ireland

#4 of 13 hotels in Ballybunion

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Good overall but felt facilitieso didn't match the room rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in rooms Tea coffee station on landing with paper cups While breakfast was lovely there was no buffet for fruit cereals etc

    Nice comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable accommodation with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The bedroom was spacious, with a very comfortable bed. The food for dinner was first class & the breakfast was brilliant also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely Staff. A bit too far from Ballybunion town. Not for a young couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities didn't work but I did get a discount. Not a young persons hotel. Entertainment wasn't for our generation. Piano player was good but wasn't for us.

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay for golfing an long walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff an very comfortable room , next time I shall book evening dinner as it looked wonderful , an speaking with other guest highly recommended it , will definitely stay again !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Always a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a great stay! Rooms are large -wonderful sheets! Dinner is wonderful-we ate there 3 of 4 nights! Right next to driving range and easy walk to Ballybunion Golf course!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic.would highly recommend it & will to my friends. A great Irish welcome.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only comment we would make is pillows were fairly hard and if a visitor had poor mobility make sure to ask for a room with walk in shower as some were bath/shower. When we asked for a room change for that reason it was immediately accommodated with great politeness and all the staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. Great chef great breakfast & dinner.

    Terrific food, very attentive staff, a thoroughly perfect stay and will not not look anywhere else when visiting the area again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Great stay in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    If you are playing golf at Ballybunion, this is the place to stay. 100 yards from the Clubhouse so the location is the best. The rooms are really nice and the food was excellent. Staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Lovely overnight stay in Ballybunion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be improved upon

    The room was extremely comfortable and spacious A little bit away from the centre of town but then on the wild Atlantic Way exit so departing and continuing our journey around Ireland was seem less Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay. We'll definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great walk along the beach on the doorstep. Staff are excellent. We had appetisers before we went out and they were delicious. Breakfast was as good as billed. Everything is thought about and of an excellent standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    The perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was far and away the best place I stayed during my trip to Ireland. The staff are warm, welcoming, and so eager to accommodate any request you might have. For example, they took care of my laundry, despite my late arrival, and had it ready for me by the time I left early the next morning. The food is excellent, and the hotel is located right across the street from the golf course and very near to the beach. Plus, the rooms were huge, and the bed was oh so comfortable -- a really spectacular value for the price. I highly, highly recommend stopping here if you're traveling along the wild atlantic way.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    A great location for a relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was beautiful but was made to order, with no table spread or buffet which I would have preferred an option to get juice or coffee / cereal / fruit at our leisure while breakfast was being made, rather having to ask the waitress every time our glass ran dry.

    Rooms very clean and comfortable. Nice bar and dining area. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.3
    Basil and Cybil alive and well in Ballybunion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all welcoming had the feeling we were a pain in the neck, no restaurant opened on the night of the stay. Owner an obvious graduate from the Basil Faulty school,of hotel management.

    Location to Ballybunion golf club.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception lady was a bit frosty when we arrived. Popping out of the dark to let us in at night when we had a key was a bit eeerie!!

    Breakfast was excellent. Closes off a bit early. Room was very comfortable, linen and towels and toiletries top notch

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    In a word, outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aoife and Seamus run a tight ship here. Clean, modern, professional service, excellent dining (dinner and breakfast). Detrick (I think was his name) welcomed us upon arrival as if we were the only guests but this was a weekend night during peak season. All dining options in town were booked up so we scrambled and they squeezed us in last minute to be able to dine in their restaurant which was superb. Rooms and bathrooms were well-appointed, modern and immaculate. One of the highlights of our trip.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    Luxury on Ireland's West Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and person who greeted us and helped us could not have been more welcoming! It was just a luxurious experience all the way around. We highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice but wouldnt go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a king room-this turned out to be two single beds pushed together(very uncomfortable) also very noisey building, lots of door slamming and hoovers start very early i.e. 8am on a Sunday morning. Waitress during breakfast takes your order and weites it down but it always comes out wrong-very annoying!!

    The location was very good, food was very good also, the lady that met us on reception was lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    8.8
    Good Irish hospitality A class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a bit too big maybe offer a flat one too, a bit of a walk to town for older guests but fine if driving.

    Beautiful interior very comfortable, excellent restaurant yummy brekki. Perfect location for golfers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    10
    Do not miss this Guest House Hotel opportunity Teach Derek Broc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .. could not fault anything or improve things here

    Everything nice location nice place. Great friendly staff top to bottom.. plenty of parking & overlooking Ballybunion famous Golf club & course ... excellent all round

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The bed & pillows were comfy & the scones were “to die for”

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great location for go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Food at dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Golf and surf with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location next to golf club out of town. Piano player.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Superb location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location. Far exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Ballybunions gem and lap of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has thd little extra details of a 5* hotel. Very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults at all

    Food was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    The best location for golf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best location for golf

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    My stay was wonderful and I look forward to returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners and staff were amazing! Friendly, warm, knowledgeable, honest and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    A little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was big and comfortable the pillows were memory foam which personally I am not fond of The breakfast is brilliant the choice is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ..

    Third visit.. love this place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant family run hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Salmon for breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Salmon for breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best food in Ireland

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Friendly atmosphere and the welcome was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Friendly atmosphere and the welcome was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms and beds comfortable, breakfast one of the best ever, staff excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendliness of staff the room was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Go to teach de broc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant open for guests but that was our problem

    The lady could not have been more friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Great room
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little

    Great room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.4
    Clean good bed nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly

    Clean good bed nice room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Loved it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    _

    The ambiance was so good, The food delicious , the lift a huge help , thank you Teach de Broc

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    Everything was quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you are a golfer very little to do

    Everything was quality

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Stay here - perfect hosts and brilliant food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should reach into the rooms

    Excellent and super friendly staff - great rooms - great whiskey as well :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Well worth the visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Food was delicious. We had dinner and breakfast. Room was beautiful and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice staff and friendly service.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    The friendliness of the staff who went far beyond what was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the staff who went far beyond what was necessary to look after you. The accommodation was excellent and the food outstanding. I would have no qualms about recommending this wonderful family run hotel to anybody!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    The food in Strollers was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was way too warm for us the first night but that was easily sorted. Better too warm than too cold anyway!

    The food in Strollers was excellent. The bar and lounge area were cosy and relaxing. The entire property was immaculately clean. Decor was top notch. Aoife and Seamus were welcoming and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    Everything was great, manager was outstanding, went out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great, manager was outstanding, went out of her way to make our stay a great one. The restaurant was outstanding. The piano player in the lounge was a special addition.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    We were warmly greeted by Aoife upon checkin and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We were warmly greeted by Aoife upon checkin and the room was spotless and well appointed. The location next to the course was wonderful and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing not to like.

    Beautiful place. Location location location. Across from Ballybunion, near Tralee and Lahinch golf links. Would highly recommend this place. Owners live on property and treat you like family.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    What a surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a surprise!! We had a lovely stay. We booked last minute and pulled into the hotel after dark. They didn't even blink when we were last minute arrivals. The room as a treat for weary travelers - very large, very clean and a very nice view. Oh, and the breakfast was served quickly and was quiet tasty. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    From the moment we arrived, everything was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the moment we arrived, everything was wonderful. Starting with the front desk staff to the warm fluffy towels, comfortable bed, delicious meals (especially loved the French toast!!), to the warm hospitality of the owners, this is a winner.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    The proprietors Seamus and Aoife were wonderful hosts going...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proprietors Seamus and Aoife were wonderful hosts going out of their way to make us feel welcome. One of the most comfortable and friendliest hotels we have stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was absolutely fantastic, varied selection of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was absolutely fantastic, varied selection of foods. Bed was very big and comfortable. Bathroom was lovely. Complimentary bottles of water and biscuits in room on arrival.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    We recently stayed at Teach de Broc on a visit to Kerry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We recently stayed at Teach de Broc on a visit to Kerry. Without a doubt, its one of the finest hotels we have stayed in. The attention to detail throughout the hotel from the bedrooms to the restaurant is remarkable. Bedrooms are extremely comfortable and clean; we are still talking about the delicious breakfasts (and how we miss them!!!). We also dined in Strollers Restaurant; again the quality of the food was just fantastic. Even if you are just looking somewhere to dine in Ballybunnion, I would highly recommend dropping out to Teach de Broc just to sample their menu - you won't be disappointed!!! All in all, we can't highly enough recommend this gem of a hotel. It was comfortable and so homely and the perfect base to explore the beauty of the Kingdom of Kerry. Thanks to Aoife, Seamus, Dermot and their delightful staff for help making our recent trip to Kerry a most memorable time. Hope to see you soon again :)

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    The food in the lodge was unbelievable delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food in the lodge was unbelievable delicious! I had the sole and you would have thought it was caught right then and cooked and served! Great meal!! The breakfast was all homemade and made to order. The scones were the BEST I have had in Ireland. The restaurant is a MUST!

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    My friend and I had an AMAZING stay at Teach de Broc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My friend and I had an AMAZING stay at Teach de Broc. It is in a tiny, quaint little Irish town by the sea, and the property is set in beautiful rolling green hills and golf courses. The couple who owned it were so friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely. We loved our little luxury retreat here after weeks of backpacking!

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    9.2
    Teach de Broc is a lovely place to stay for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Teach de Broc is a lovely place to stay for a relaxing break. The staff were friendly and welcoming and so considerate of my elderly mother. This involved moving us to a room on the ground floor, opening doors and asking if there was anything else they could do. Food in the restaurant was great, I particularly enjoyed the fish. Breakfasts were a treat with specially baked bread, pastries and rolls and a wide menu choice. The hotel is situated in a quiet area beside the golf course. Beds were extremely comfortable and it was a very relaxing stay. Hotel is spotless and staff very attentive and welcoming. Ideal for a short stay or as a touring base for sightseeing in the area.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly welcome, great all around staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly welcome, great all around staff. Delicious breakfast we did have dinner here but if the breakfast is anything to go by. A good location for beaches or if you want to travel around Kerry.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    A very comfortable room.
    • Solo traveller

    A very comfortable room. Coffee at breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Fantastic, friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic, friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    Very welcoming with a lovely festive atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming with a lovely festive atmosphere. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff were wonderful, the food was exceptional and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were wonderful, the food was exceptional and the ambience just right.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Very close to the golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very close to the golf. excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    close to golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    close to golf course. wonderful staff and very helpful staff. Restaurant good food breakfast and dinner

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    7.5
    Amazing breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wlan weak in some rooms, surrounding is really golf only

    Amazing breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Lovely musicians.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of fruit for breakfast

    Lovely musicians. Wonderful to sit and enjoy

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Accommodation was extremely comfortable and the breakfast ex
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation was extremely comfortable and the breakfast ex

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Cosy, comfortable atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cosy, comfortable atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Teach de Broc is a great combination of modern facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Teach de Broc is a great combination of modern facilities with the charm of a small place.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    The warmth of the welcome we received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warmth of the welcome we received.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    It was a great spot with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a great spot with very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Good quality rooms, quiet location, ideal for walks and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good quality rooms, quiet location, ideal for walks and Ballybunion beaches.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Food, staff,management, general ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food, staff,management, general ambience.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: