Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Abbeyleix Manor Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Cork Road, R32 VE24 Abbeyleix, Ireland

#3 of 3 hotels in Abbeyleix

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 640 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Would stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful, we stayed here as it was close to where my husbands Mum (who was celebrating her 80th Birthday) was travelling by horse drawn caravan. She joined us at the hotel for a special meal & to stay overnight. Thank you to Greg on reception for changing her room to the ground floor. Special thanks also to John & the team in the dining room for looking after us for her birthday meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing, a waste of money as I didn't get the sleep I desperately needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 1st key I got did not work. The 2nd key opened the door, but someone was already sleeping in the bed. The 3rd key opened the door to my room, which was like a sauna. The window only opened 5cm so not much air flow available, this window opened onto a main road passing the hotel so it was noisy. While the Night porter apologised for the errors about keys there was no mention about this by reception when I checked out. I only had 6 hours from check in to check out and really needed to sleep, between extreme heat and noise it was a total waste of money, I could have slept in my car. When I asked about air temperature I was told fans are available on request.

    The night porter was welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We only stayed for one night but really enjoyed our stay. The room was big and very clean. Bed was comfortable. Wi-Fi was fast. Very clean. Would come back again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    had an extremely warm room but once i rang reception they...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had an extremely warm room but once i rang reception they were very quick to deal with the situation and changed rooms for me...nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.3
    Good location, good bar menu, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Air Con in bedrooms! I’m aware that we are in the middle of a heatwave but hotel rooms can be very warm even in winter. All hotels should have air con nowadays, especially when there was air con in the halls and bar area. Breakfast wasn’t included in the price which for the price it should have been. Not a great selection for breakfast

    Good location, good bar menu, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.5
    Good quality, no frills, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable room at the end of a long day, a supper of soup, a club sandwich, a bottle of nice and reasonably priced wine. Nothing special in itself, but everything added up to a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.9
    It was a perfect base to get to Dublin early the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The barman said they don’t do cocktails....very disappointed.

    The Thai chicken curry was gorgeous and my daughter enjoyed her fish and chips so it’s definitely worth eating there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    I had a lovely stay because of the location and our family in the town. The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely warm and there was no air con. The food in the restaurant was disappointing and overpriced.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I did not like

    A lovely hotel with large rooms and beautiful en-suite. nothing was too much trouble. Resturant was nice. and breakfast was good. Staff were very pleasant. Easy to locate with loads of parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    Loved it and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could do with a lick of paint on corridors

    The family run hotel had a lovely welcome. You felt you knew staff all your life....best hotel I have been in Ireland, I mean friendly ..I know it's 3 star but made up for it with love food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    Definitely stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit outdated and in need of a spruce up, but still a very good hotel with helpful friendly staff and a great breakfast.

    Great beds very clean and a great breakfast. Reasonable rates and good facilities. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    4.0
    Disappointing and over priced for a twin room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kettle and lamps were broken in our twin room, you could easily hear everything going on in the room next door and the decor was dull and outdated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    Very good, friendly hotel for our overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed at the hotel with a group of friends travelling on the Wild Atlantic Way on our motorbikes. Friendly welcome, nothing too much trouble, good food, great portions in the evening and at breakfast. Decent room, clean and tidy with all the standard facilities. Beer was good too... would recommend and would return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.9
    Reception staff very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of noise coming from adjoining room, didn't sleep a wink!

    Reception staff very welcoming! We were late in after a wedding and the bar person was very accommodating in providing us with water etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Great for us as a stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived late at night tired and weary so we creeped in ready for bed so as not to disturb anyone but unfortunately we could hear the entire conversation of the guests next door. It was late and we were very tired and for that reason didn't enquire about moving rooms but I'm sure the guys would have accommodated us fine as they were lovely.

    Great location and breakfast on the Saturday was lovely. We went for a walk in the woods after breakfast by the river which was brilliant - nice and peaceful and a good way to walk off the massive feeding that you get at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.5
    Covenient overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception often unattended (evening) Bed linen completely creased & bed looked poorly dressed

    Breakfast good. Bed was comfy. Staff friendly. Big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    4.2
    Not a pleasant way to spend a Sunday night when you have to leave your family for work reasons .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived after a 3-hour drive at 9 pm on Sunday to be told that I could not get anything to eat as the kitchen had just closed- I said to the receptionist its just 9 PM and she told me the kitchen closed at 9 pm. I nearly begged for some food but she just stared me down and said no. I ended up in a chipper in Abbelyleix eating soggy chips. The bath had hairs in it and the noise level in room 109 was ghastly from about 4 am onwards as the road is very close. The lounge area was a disgrace as I tried to find somewhere clean to sit but any area that was free was full of debris and cups, saucers, food etc that had not been cleared away.

    not a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    5.8
    WiFi hardly worked in our room and the sheets kept coming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi hardly worked in our room and the sheets kept coming off the bed durning the night which meant an uncomfortable sleep. No one there to check us out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    Power off from 8.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Power off from 8.00 am was told it was affecting the whole area but the village less than 2 minutes walk all had electricity very embarrassing as couldn't see in bathroom no water and couldn't flush the toilet. Coffee which we paid for was revolting 3 people in my group of 4 thought this the other one had tea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay in the hotel, we had a bite to eat late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely stay in the hotel, we had a bite to eat late in the evening and it was fantastic service and the food was fresh, hot and just fab. We will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Will stay again on our next trip to Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedrooms are at one end of the hotel and bars and restaurant at the other so a very quiet room.The wife and I do not eat cooked breakfast but if you do the choice is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    It suited my needs as two rooms
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have preferred more tv channels or movie options (I brought portable dvd for children as usually not many options in hotels for children's tv) *not a complaint*

    Great customer service. Very helpful staff. A credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Relaxed and Enjoyable and lovely Sunday roast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lounge got very cold as the fire was not topped up. Not pleasant when you are sitting around. Evenings can be very chilly and it is just the end of April. Disappointing.

    Rooms were very spacious. Beds comfortable and quiet. Nice and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent room,clean warm and spacious.Bathroom warm and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was top class with local produce and good choice. We eat in the restaurant and had a very tasty meal which would satisfy the hearty eaters!! Best value hotel we have stayed in Ireland. Just booked again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    10
    Excellant all around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cosy comfortable setting to spend a few days ...... not too big and impersonal. Beautiful foyer with real fire! Friendly staff. Convenient to Mountrath where I was working for few days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    Good overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fee for the night i stayed was a bit high and option of beans and sauces should be offered at the breakfast, as breakfast quite dry.

    Even though there was a wedding on the night I stayed, it did not disturb me at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    I was only staying overnight and would consider staying here again. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was a little dated. Nonetheless, it was very comfortable for my needs. The bacon and caesar salad was not that. I didn't address it at the time because it was quite excellent if it had just been described as a chicken and bacon salad with lettuce, tomato, onion and dressing. Very fresh and good quality ingredients.

    The Receptionist was very efficient at resolving a booking issue even though the hotel was busy with a wedding. I ended up getting very quiet large bedroom as a result. Many thanks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    5.4
    Great but not so great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was "Silver fish" (small slugs) coming up the drains and flying around the bathroom.... couldn't give my child their bath and partner had to use the restaurant/bar bathroom down the hall as she has a fear of "creepy crawlies"

    Staff were friendly and food was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and hassle free.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television hand control nneded batteries. Quite annoying changing channels. Room service should check this as a small thing can be irritating. Otherwise no problems.

    Location. Staff helped me to get connected with my emails etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom floor needed updating. Small table needed attention. Second comfortable chair needed.

    Great space inside room. Bed excellent. Very quiet. Good WiFi. Not over heated. Good size TV.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Nice friendly staff; nice comfy bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. Great hospitality; staff were very helpful and always greeted you with a big smile. We decided to try the food out and that was also really nice. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Great experience of Ireland; we would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely staff, pity about the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was only ok. Vegetarian option was very limited and kids pizza and chicken was too spicy.

    The staff were lovely and very patient with the children.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.6
    Cosy atmosphere and according to my son it smelt posh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath side in our room could do with replacing. Could have done with a ceiling light rather than lamps around the room. Everything else was perfect

    Cosy atmosphere and according to my son it smelt posh. Very comfortable area between bar and reception where we could enjoy a family drink.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Holidays in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location,food , old fashion service, would definitely stay again .

    Great location, fabulous food , Manager Shiela went above and beyond our expectations,great service, highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.2
    Everything was really good.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like carpets on the floor or heating in the room; the heating was turned off immediately after I asked.

    Everything was really good. Staff are great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel apart from the noise in the mornings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very noisy, you could hear others in the rooms around you. It was hard to sleep in the morning time.

    Staff were very friendly and the food in the bar was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - I would stay again.

    Very relaxing, spacious foyer /lobby area with cosy stove.Great for long chats and coffee, Local walks great for children. Breakfast was great. the children loved the Coco Pops. Scones delicious/homemade

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful. Works were being carried out, but it didn't overly interfere with our visit due to the efficiency and friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.1
    Nice short break which was good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness could be improved around the hotel in particular the toilets at reception and function room were carvery was served due to the bar being closed

    Value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    10
    Comfortable and staff very nice and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept amazing the room was clean and spacious and close to the town and shops! Also the staff both checking in and checking out were so nice and friendly !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    7.0
    Comfortable rooms, great location on the motorway - service friendly but a bit casual
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not great - at this price it would be nice to have a breakfast included. In particular the pudding of the Irish breakfast was not so great. but the coffee was large and the sausages were good. On paying I paid in cash and did not get a receipt which felt a bit 'casual'. Also the booking was in the wrong name which was a bit strange. (there were 2 of us, and the name used was a mixture of both our names). Not a big deal but afterwards I had to double check that we'd not been accidentally charged twice.

    Large comfortable room, with big beds and a decent ensuite bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    7.9
    nice but a bit dated
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was very poor and noisy with the smallest of moves . I got up once to go and 5 seconds I heard the spring ping. very little sleep. Room 116

    Big breakfast maybe to big

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn’t recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise at night, from neighbouring rooms and the road right outside. The lack of wifi signal in the room. The food in the bar was overpriced and not fresh.

    The room size was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    8.8
    Great value and so convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't sure if the bigger breakfast options costed extras or part of the room cost.

    Bed was lovely and comfy, very helpful reception and great communication.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    7.5
    Will be back , handy pleasant hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the furniture / decor is a little worn in the rooms the table top in the room I had was very tarnished and clearly had lots of hot drinks on over time with no coasters nothing a sand down and revarnish wouldn’t sort, car parking can be a little difficult in the evening time , I personally wasn’t to keen on the evening menu selection

    Lovely quiet hotel, communal rooms lovely done with a fab warm log burning stove for guests to enjoy, breakfast was great Staff are really nice, hotel is easy to locate lots of parking , brilliant WiFi!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    8.8
    good overall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was overcooked unfortunately even though i had it in the first half hour of the service. curtains old and ripped on the inside. window seals dirty.

    very friendly staff and lovely inside overall

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.1
    Very busy with functions, service can be slow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots going on, reception not always manned, so waiting to check in and out, rooms can be a long way from reception & restaurant

    Clean and tidy good sized room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    5.0
    Stay average.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that smokers smoke out the back entrance as you enter the foyer to go to rooms. This meant the smoke was going up into the rooms. Room not very presentable carpets dull and while place need a good painting.

    The staff service was very good both at reception and in the Restautant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    8.8
    Was great
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs some refurbishment - new showers and dispose of the carpets please!!!!

    Everything was fine. Especially staff at reception and in bar very friendly and helpfull. All my requests were honoured and they made no problem about extending our stay by one night for the same rate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Rooms were nice and warm.
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are thin so both mornings the next room had crying children from 6am which woke us.

    Rooms were nice and warm. Handy location nice chilled out lobby was great for catching up with friends before a wedding the following day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasnt great my rasher was raw in the centre and the sausages were fatty. But all in all it was very clean and comfortable. We also had an evening meal and it was beautiful

    Hotel was lovely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful place to stay. Will choose again if I'm in the vicinity without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff absolutely made this place. They were amazing. So friendly, helpful, welcoming. They made you feel like the only guests in the hotel. Really lovely team.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Place was lovely, very friendly staff, room was immaculate...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great can't say I've any dislikes to this hotel, will definitely book again.

    Place was lovely, very friendly staff, room was immaculate and very cozy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.9
    Not bad for the money
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy on one of the nights as we were very mear to the carpark and function room. There was a wedding reception on so very busy with guests coming and going.

    The lounge and bar area was nice and cosy with the log burner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    5.4
    the staff was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room was dirty the curtain polls,the tops of the mirrors, pictures, and head bored had not been dusted, and on checkout reception wasn very friendly didn't even ask how our stay was

    the staff was really nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    7.1
    Great staff, poor hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls were paper thin so you could hear people talking, using the washroom, closing doors. Food was just ok and very little atmosphere in tbe restaurant/bar with soap operas on the tvs.

    Short walk to town centre. Lots of free parking. Large room. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    6.3
    Lovely location very central .
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lacked atmosphere particularly bar /dining area where staff not interested n their customer's

    Lovely location very central ..bedrooms spacious & comfortable reception staff v helpful & pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    5.8
    Good stay a bit dated but would return.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated decor in the rooms/ corridors.. some easily fixed problems with decor like places the plaster was chipped in walks/ceiling in room , looked worn ... taps have a lot of limescale in the bathrooms (there is a sign apologising for this but it still bugged me)

    Staff were very nice , hotel was very quiet, food was good will eat there again. Full length mirror in the bedroom! Room was large had hair dryer kettle etc .. wifi was excellent! Lovely room to sit in down stairs with nice comfy decor and large log burning stove lit was very cosy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    Nice and reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was not great the full Irish, rashers were not cooked properly. Sausages were cold my partner asked for scrambled egg it was dreadful not good enough for a lovely hotel , it was the last thing we did before leaving the hotel so it would be a lasting taught .

    The bed was so comfortable and the room was lovely and relaxing, the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    7.5
    It was OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was waiting at Reception to settle bill upon departure and a lady who seemed to be the owner was behind the desk and ignored me, and when I asked for service said that xxxx would be along shortly and then walked away. Not good

    Comfortable, clean, available. Nothing exceptional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    7.5
    A very pleasant stay with pleasant staff , good food at a very affordable price .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast options could have been a bit more imaginative , even for limited numbers .However they did offer porridge and freshly made scones .

    Check in was done in a tick. The bedroom was clean and tidy and had undergone renovations recently , freshly painted and new furniture. The rate was very reasonable . The staff were efficient and helpful. Dinner & breakfast was in the bar . Dinner menue limited but very understandable with the numbers likely to be staying on a Monday night . Steaks were excellent with all the trimmings . Blazing stove going in the lobby the following morning , very welcoming .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.8
    Good overnight stop off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at 4pm, room hadn't been cleaned. Given another room on the front. There was noise from the road all through the night.

    Staff were very friendly. Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    7.5
    very nice hotel and a nice little town with a variety of places to eat etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As the hotel offers check-out at 12 noon it means if you are staying more than one night your room isn't serviced until around 2-4 pm in the afternoon which can be inconvenient when you have been out since early morning and have returned wanting to relax, shower, etc.

    The hotel generally was well decorated and presented in the public rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    8.8
    It was good ... nice decor and we will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little more effort could have been made to keep the lobby tables clean when people had keft... never came across a bed as badly made in the room in any hotel.

    Nice friendly staf

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.8
    A warm welcome and really helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were a little cold, but had been at a music festival in the rain. Extra blankets were brought when we asked. The furnishings were a little tired, but fine.

    Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Someone brought up drinking water and an extra blanket in the middle of the night when we asked. Hotel attractive with excellent parking. Room large and quiet (at the back of the hotel). Excellent value. We chose this hotel to be near Electric Picnic and we were very happy with our choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    6.3
    the receptionist was okay she didnt tell us much information...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the receptionist was okay she didnt tell us much information when we were checking in like what time check out was or what time breakfast was or dinnner times etc the beds were okay not the best the hotel was very clean beds looked like they werent made properly it was only for a nights stay but expected more

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.6
    Large comfortable rooms. Ideal for overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heavily stained bedroom carpet. It would benefit from being updated. Traffic noise from Road side bedrooms. Kitchen ran out of mushrooms by mid breakfast and would not replenish.

    Large bedrooms. Rooms well furnished. Comfortable lounge. Good evening meal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.2
    Abbeyleix Manor House was a perfect stopover for us on our way down to the south coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were large and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of cereals etc as well as a cooked breakfast. Abbeyleix Manor House

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred the restaurant not in the bar. Also the package we had booked included evening meal, which was lovely however it was not clear that it was either starter, main course & coffee or main course, dessert & coffee until we were told that dessert would be extra. no real gluten free option for breakfast.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Also there was a wedding at the hotel and it did not impact on our stay at all, very well managed by the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    10
    super place to stay clean friendly and homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    evening meal was cold chips and veg where undercooked but place looked very understaff due to a wedding taking place an older man working was cleaning tables taking orders serving drinks and serving food by himself at one stage

    clean comfortable i travelled with family who requires use of cpap machine at night and accommodated our needs and requirements staff where friendly especially holly who was working at breakfast was very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sound insulation between the rooms could be better.

    Situatated by the local road with big parking. Easy to walk to the town, where you have 2 nice tradiotional pubs, some local restaruants and also a heritage house, where you can see the history of the town. We had a big twin room, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    Excellent comfortable and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the beds in our room was slightly uncomfortable my daughter found it hard to sleep

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel was lovely and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    5.8
    Hotel with potential, but greater attention to customer service required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a family room and were allocated a room with an interconnecting door - there were other residents in the adjoining room. However there was little or no sound proofing nor light proofing so when the residents next door returned to their room at night, it was terribly noisy. Especially when they started watching America's Got Talent at 1am. On complaining to the night porter he did not want to ask them to be quiet so instead moved all four of us at 2am! the hotel could have handled that a lot better - I would not go back to this hotel because of it. The receptionist the next morning when we were checking out said they had no option but to put us in the interconnecting room as there was nothing else free - yet the night porter had shown us that there were a number of free rooms the previous night.

    The lobby and lounge areas are nicely decorated and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Abbeyleix a must stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The receptionist was so accommodating.The meal in the restaurant was fab- so much healthy veg.It was a lovely walk to the village.The people I met were friendly.The village looked gorgeous with all the flower arrangements.A really nice time.I loved all the fresh flowers in the conservatory and all around the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very hot when we arrived. Nice big window to open, which helped a little, but room was so hot we had to leave window open all night.

    Staff very friendly. Room and bathroom clean. Had dinner in the restaurant. Staff were very good. Food was delicious. Portions were HUGE! Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: