Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Brehon 4 stars

Muckross Road, V93RT22 Killarney, Ireland

#11 of 43 hotels in Killarney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1959 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    It was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mom had a breathing machine that had to be used while she slept. The only way to have the power on required that a light be on. We tried multiple ways to turn it off, but had no success.

    It was beautiful. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Leisure suite was lovely. Food was very good quality - amazing spread for breakfast. Everything about the place was quality. One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Everything from bed to decor was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited shampoo and conditioner in room though I am sure I could have asked for more.

    Everything from bed to decor was wonderful. Breakfast was fabulous apart from the coffee

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on 2nd floor right next to lift shaft. Wasn't impressed that I could hear the lift going up & down. Not suitable for anyone who doesn't have a deep sleep

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast, overall lovely hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Relaxing and revitalizing. Will definitely return ASAP!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cracked sink in my bathroom wasn’t a good look but didn’t interfere with my enjoyment overall.

    The comfy sofas in the foyer and the fires were lovely. The spa was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful views of park and mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful views of park and mountains. The staff is nice...welcomed us with a special greeting on chocolate platter for our anniversary. pub is quiet at night if you're looking for a relaxing place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay. Recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, quiet, good for driving with ample parking space, clean, reception and restaurant staff very good. Housekeeping service omited small details. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Everything was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely! Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable; the view of the mountains was gorgeous. Staff was really friendly, especially the waiters! It was very convenient to have a bathtub and a shower. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel. A very high standard. We will definitely be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing with which to find fault Only regret is we were unable to stay longer than we did due to work commitments

    The room was excellent with very good housekeeping staff The size of the room made it feel like a suite The willingness of all staff to be helpful made for a very pleasant experience Would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice, would stay again depending on price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check at 4 is a little on the late side. Pricey hotel! And annoying that seems to be differing rates depending on when you book.

    Breakfast was lovely, lobby spacious and bar nice. Room tastefully decorated and spacious. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little dated but large rooms which were clean and comfortable.

    The breakfast was amazing! Lots of choice and yummy!! Loved the pancake machine!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Nearly Everything, best place I’ve stayed in for a long time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a sunny day, and you’d notice that the windows on the building weren’t particularly clean when they caught the sun

    Nearly Everything, best place I’ve stayed in for a long time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    When you feel that you had good value even for upper range price........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that deserves a note

    the Hotel is really nice , with some flavour of Hollywood style in the Lobby. Large and comfortable room . very good breakfast . large parking facility.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel. Great location. Warm and friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was excellent.

    Everything! Upon learning that we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary we were upgraded to a suite and were treated with great attention throughout our stay. We will definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    A Gem of a hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Myself & my partner love your hotel! We make an extra effort when in Killarney to stay in the Brehon & love each & every visit! Wonderful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed very relaxing have already booked again to go in November for a friend's birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room there used always be one and I have to say did not enjoy the bar food

    Room was lovely very clean and tidy loved the pool very relaxing enjoyed our stay very much one of my favorite hotels in killarney to stay In

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is central
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can enter the rooms at 4 this is a bit late, the carpet in the room had stains, the room-rate is a bit to pricey

    Very nice and tasty breakfast, Bed's are comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    The cleanliness of the room and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of personal service. The average selection of food in the bar and restaurant. The token gesture to providing parking for people with a disability - only two spaces and always in use.

    The cleanliness of the room and hotel. Mary greeting you for breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    We stayed here as a base for our drive around the Ring of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here as a base for our drive around the Ring of Kerry.This hotel is part of a very large Gleneagles group complex that includes another hotel and apartments, with an adjoining golf course.It seems to be mainly used by larger groups and for events, such as the wedding for which it was being prepared during our trip. It' is That said, it is efficiently organized, our check in was quick and, our room ready ahead of time. Our room was very large and comfortable, and well lit with a view of the golf course. Being outside Killarney city, there were no nearby restaurants, so we looked for a meal in the hotel. It has one restaurant and a bar which serves food, where we dined.The menu was limited, but adequate for the appetite if not the palate.Breakfast next morning, in the restaurant was plentiful. Staff was most helpful and friendly through out our stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Will be back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortably warm & the air conditioning would only go to 17c.

    The hotel was spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff all very helpful and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts excellent but restaurant menu disappointing and appeared not consistent with the general high quality of the hotel.

    Excellent staff all very helpful and cheerful. Hotel very well appointed and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    A really good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can never quite understand why rooms do not have plugs for hairdryers in front of a mirror..I had to get down on my hands and knees to unplug a lamp in order to plug in my hairdryer.

    The Brehon is great if you are going to the INEC to a show, which we were, so easy just to walk across to the venue.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    So impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not know much about the hotel when I booked it, but I was so impressed by the service and quality. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, then went down to dinner in the bar. The food and wine were wonderful; I had a perfectly cooked and very tender rib eye steak. Much better than I expected at a large hotel. Breakfast also exceeded my expectations; it was the first properly cooked fried egg I had on our two week trip and it was on a buffet! This is a large hotel in a popular tourist destination but the service and quality were amazing! This was an overnight stay on our way to County Clare but we were so happy with it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    "We Loved The Brehon and We Will Be Back"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! Unfortunately, I was quite ill for a few days during our stay, had a tummy bug(not associated with the Hotel)which meant I could not eat any breakfast on 3morns of our stay! When my hubby was paying cash for our stay, on the morn of our departure, he pointed this out to the lovely lady at Reception & asked her if she could take €20 off our total amount due but, unfortunately, she said she couldn't do this!

    Liked everything about The Brehon Hotel, from the moment we entered the Spacious Lobby! The Receptionists were so very cheerful & helpful, getting the Porter to help us bring our Luggage to our Room! The Bedroom was clean, beautiful & very well laid out! I loved the fact that we had a fridge/cooler in our room, as it enabled us to keep our drinking water & snacks cool during our stay! Our Bed was so very comfortable & quite large! Bathroom had a Bath but also a Separate Shower Unit which I loved, as the Water was always nice & hot! Breakfast was self-service & there was so much food to choose from, nobody would go away hungry! I noticed on a few mornings, when there was children having brekkie, one of the waiters brought them colouring books & crayons, which I thought was a wonderful gesture! All of the waiters, male & female were so friendly! A special word of thanks to Mary, who showed us to our table every morning & who also guided people who had never been to The Brehon before, through all that was available to eat for their brekkie!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    I came home a chilled out woman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look....The Brehon is a fabulous spot.. Really lovely staff, food, our room.. The Highlight for me was the Spa and everything there in. .... . A girl called Aim gave me an hour long facial and it was just superb...first class... . I want to come back.. The place is so well located , just 8 euros for a taxi into town but you could walk handy enough... 5 out of 5 for sure

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.0
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of atmosphere in the bar. Bar food not great for the price. Relaxation room in spa next to reception-not v relaxing. Overpriced for a mid week stay.

    Good breakfast. Decent size room. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Went here on our anniversary and were greeted with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went here on our anniversary and were greeted with chocolates and personalised Happy Anniversary card. Beautiful hotel and friendly staff. Enjoyed the complimentary use of the vitality suite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful holiday in the best hotel in Killarney!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no fault with the hotel. We were initially right beside the air conditioning unit on our first night and with the help of wonderful staff we were upgraded for free and slept so well all week!!

    Where do I start, the bed was incredible so big and comfortable! The food was amazing we are in the hotel every morning and most evenings! The spa was superb and not to forget the staff who are simply brilliant!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel In A Beautiful Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - within walking distance of main town centre. Beautiful rooms. Spa was excellent and the massage was amazing (exceeded my expectations).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Overall enjoyed out stay and loved Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit disappointing, would put it on par with a Jurys Inn and expected a bit more for a Deluxe room. Bags only brought up to the room after we had returned from a hike and followed up on them.

    Liked the location. Food was excellent and staff very attentive. Spa and pool were lovely too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    I would give this hotel 11/10 - they go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as they can
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a noise in our ceiling of our bedroom on the first night - pipes banging that was a bit annoying. And the pillows I found were not that comfortable they seemed very hard conspared to other hotels I have stayed at. Tv Chanel’s were not that good. you had to purchase the better Chanel’s if you wanted them so no real selection for watching tele especially if you were there on a business trip.

    I loved every bit of this hotel from the hotel itself to the room to the excellent food at the bar and of course the gorgeous breakfast which is cooked freshly first thing in the morning! And also they were truly amazing when I asked them to make it extra special by helping me with a little note and chocolates on arrival in the room for my fiancé’s 30 and they went out of there way for us with a lovely plate with treats and a message saying “happy birthday” written in chocolate, a personal note, chocolates and a bottle of wine - it really blew our mind that they went over and beyond for us truly made us love the place even more!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    TERRIBLE A NIGHTMARE EXPERIENCE I DO NOT WANT TO REPEAT EVER AGAIN EVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got LITTLE SLEEP THE FIRST NIGHT, FRIDAY, AND NO SLEEP AT ALL EVER ALL NIGHT FOR TWO NIGHTS!! The BAR WAS OPEN ALL NIGHT. FRIDAY NIGHT THE WEDDING PARTY DIED DOWN ABOUT 2.30AM AND THEN GUESTS SAT OUTSIDE TALKING, SINGING AND SWEARING. THE GLASS IN THE GLAZING WAS NOT STOPPING ONE WORD OF THE NOISE. THE DAY STAFF APOLOGISED AND OFFERED TO MOVVE US TO A QUIETER ROOM, THEY MOVED US. THE GLAZING WAS EXACTLY AS USELESS AS THE FIRST ROOM. YOU COULD HEAR EVERY WORD FROM THE PATIO AND IN THE STREET. THE SECOND WEDDING ON SATURDAY NIGHT I WAITED UNTIL 3.15AM TO PHONE RECEPTION AND COMPLAIN. ADAM ON RECEPTION, SAID THEY WERE GOING TO BED. I ASKED HIM TO GO OUT AND ASK THEM TO GO TO BED. 10 MINUTES LATER THE NOISE WAS WORSE. I RANG AGAIN. HE SAID HE WOULD GO AND GET THE MANAGER SEAN, SEAN SAID HE WOULD SHUT THEM UP, IT GOT WORSE. I RANG AGAIN AT 4,30AM AND ASKED THAT SEAN DO SOMETHING NOW OR I WOULD COME DOWN MYSELF. THE NOISE GOT MUCH WORSE. i CALLED RECEPTION AGAIN AND SAID I WOULD CALL THE POLICE. i ALSO WENT DOWN IN A WHITE BATH ROBE AND PYJAMAS. SEAN WENT OUTSIDE AND TALKED TO SOME PPL NEAR A CAR NOT THE NOISY PPL. i GUESSED HE MUST HAVE ALREADY SPOKEN TO THEM. I RETURNED TO OUR ROOM. THE NOISE PERSISTED AND BECAME LOUDER. I CALLED THE POLICE, (GARDA.). , i WENT DOWN AGAIN IN A COAT AND PYJAMAS. THE POLICE HAD ENTERED AND LEFT, THEN ANOTHER POLICE CAR CAME. I WENT ROUND GUESTS ASKING THEM TO GO TO SLEEP PLEASE IN A VERY POLITE WAY THIS WAS AROUND 5AM. IT TRANSPIRED THAT THE KILDARE GAELIC FOOTBALL TEAM HAD WON A MATCH AND THE FIRST POLICE VAN HAD COLLECTED THEM FROM KILLARNEY WHERE THEY WERE CAUSING A DISTURBANCE AND BROUGHT THEM BACK TO THIER HOTEL, THE BREHON. WE WERE IN ROOM 314, THEY IN 315. OH JOY. I KNOCKED ON THEIR DOOR AND PLEADED WITH THEM TO BE QUIET. NO SUCH LUCK. BY THIS TIME IS WAS 5.30AM. PEOPLE WERE COMING TO WORK AT THE HOTEL. WE WERE TOLD WE WERE IN A QUIET ROOM, LIE.WE WERE SHOWN TO A GRANDER ROOM WHICH WOULD BE QUIETER, LIES, ALL LIES.

    The building was beautiful and beautifully furnished and decorated. It promised to be luxurious just by its looks. SADLY NO SUCH THING. The day staff were lovely except one man who put the phone down on you before you finished speaking. Dominic? or Sebastion? You dont do that lad!! We loved Kamila and the lovely lady ushering you into breakfast. Kamila did her best to right the wrongs for us but they were unrightable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Wouldn’t stay again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From what I had heard about this hotel it was very disappointing.. the food was very mediocre for the cost. I expected a lot more considering the good name the place has

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was quite rude on arrival no information as too restaurant or breakfast, leisure centre.

    Spa was excellent, staff great at spa. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Rooms were clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Rooms were clean and spacious. Leisure facilities were excellent, vitality pool/sauna etc.. Breakfast was included in the room rate and the food was fab! We did have to wait a short while for a table to become available but there was tea/coffee served during that time which was nice! Bit outside of town but taxi in is €5-€7 which is perfect and can be ordered from reception. Receptionist very helpful on tips of what to see and do in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Beautiful staff especially the very nice elderly lady that welcomed us at the breakfast area she was so lovely and pleasant and really funny every hotel should have one of her

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing, Luxurious friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I had inadvertently booked the hotel for the previous night and the staff and manager knew it was a genuine mistake and accommodated us free of charge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    I had a very nice stay & left feeling that I had "recharged my batteries"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Friday I left the hotel @ 9am to walk in the Gap of Dunloe & returned @ 3pm but my room had still not be cleaned which was rather disappointing. I was looking forward to a nice shower & rest but instead ended up vacating the room again till after 4pm so that it could be done

    The staff were very friendly & welcoming in a very sincere way

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location in front of the green mountains was amazing ,, breakfast very good. The location is good as it’s a way from the city center around 15 minutes walk , So, it is in quit area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Picture Perfect😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hotel right down to the smalliest detail. Restaurant staff were so fantastic nothing was too much trouble. This was our fifth visit and our anniversary and we already booked for christmas 😍😍😍

    The Spa treatments were incredible 😍 Best ever

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Not the usual standard that we've known to expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This wasn't our first time staying here, and I found its standards have dropped a little. We had to eat dinner out in the main entrance of reception as the restaurant was too full, they couldn't accommodate for how busy the hotel was, and at breakfast we had to wait 20-25 minutes for a table, when we got in, no one asked tea or coffee, we had to request that ( and the only reason I bring it up is because that's the standard the Brehon usually is at, always on the ball) There was no menu out for extra breakfast options, again had to request this, and again only because we knew these are usually available. It was a very special night for us to be away, but for the price we paid for 1 night, thinking we'd get the usual standard, we would have been nearly better off staying in a smaller hotel on the Muckross Road that may have had a better attention to detail.

    Large spacious room, beautiful view, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay but seems a little short of overall four-star quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow service for bar food - think we were forgotten. No apology offered for the delay. We were only aware of buffet breakfast yet saw another guest receiving a special order egg breakfast!

    The bedroom, the reception area, the spa and the bar/restaurant were four star standard

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    A comfortable but expensive stay slightly too far from the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was increased purely because of the bank holiday and the hotel was noisy as a consequence. This didn’t reflect value for money.

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. It was easy to rent bikes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    BREHON
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Service knocked while I was in the bath ....to see if room was empty ........ 🙄

    Great base to see all the attractions in Kerry . staff friendly , helpful and professional . Breakfast well worth booking .... second stay at this hotel .... recommend !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing food - breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major to complain about, parking was a bit tricky as it is a busy hotel but we got a space around the back both days.

    Amazing food - breakfast and dinner. Really friendly, genuine staff. Large comfy bed, new refurbished bathroom. Spa area high spec free for guests. Good gym for a hotel! Nice sized room plenty of space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Generous sized bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While swimming pool is part of the hotel complex located in the Gleneagle hotel...it’s a bit of a trek through the car park especially in the rain!

    Generous sized bedroom. Friendly staff, lovely atmosphere and fab breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Thank you for a beautiful relaxing stay , the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you for a beautiful relaxing stay , the breakfast staff where just so heartwarming . Will return for sure . Looking forward to our return already 💕

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    The best we have ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel comes without faults

    The room was front of Hotel location with lovely view The bed comfort was just amazing had the most restful relaxing sleep while there The room ticked all the boxes and was in a lovely quiet peaceful location Would return to your Hotel in the morning and hope to do in the near future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Spa was absolutely brilliant, we really enjoyed the messages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was really cold the first night, but they fixed the issue immediately. It’s also probably best to avoid Mr and Mrs titles, I booked this for our anniversary and when we got to our room there was a card saying Mr and Mrs- when we are two females. Together. It’s 2018 it’s probably best to avoid assumptions. Another hotel we stayed at also left a welcome card but didn’t use titles, so maybe a friendly suggestion so as to not upset anyone.

    Spa was absolutely brilliant, we really enjoyed the messages.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no issues

    Everything was great. Room was beautiful. We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was lovely. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Absolutely lovely stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful time in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar food wasnt great, it was nice but just wasnt great, I wouldnt eat there again.

    Breakfast in bed was delicious and the hotel gave us a free upgrade to a suite which was unexpected and amazing, also the SPA is amazing and so nice and it was worth every penny!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location with a great bar and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was busy and could have had a bigger selection. We were asked to wait for a table three out of four mornings.

    Wonderful location with a great bar and excellent food. Beautiful spa facilities and pool. One of the most comfortable hotel beds we’ve experienced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    room was great, lovely hotel, staff great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool closed at 8pm and we would have loved to swim after a day hiking, bowls at breakfast werent very clean and all wet

    room was great, lovely hotel, staff great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Brehon hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was fabulous, great location staff very helpful, room was perfect and the bed very comfortable absolutely recommended this hotel and will certainly return again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price and location, which cant be helped but overall a thoroughly enjoyable night away

    Beautiful premises and the room was lovely, spacious and clean. Lovely AC and not a bad view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable Stay in Beautiful Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit odd to have to go through a wedding reception on second floor to get to the elevators

    Staff at breakfast were really nice and friendly. Good selection at breakfast. Pool area was nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    If we were visiting Killarney again, I would revisit this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good quiet location, excellent views from our room at the front of the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Delightful evening in the restaurant with good food. Breakfast buffet superb with plenty of choices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    In one word, amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was out of this world.

    The room was very quiet and the comfort of the bed was something else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed some remodeling.

    This is a large hotel not far from the center of town, about a 20-30 minute walk depending on the walker. Decor and layout date back quite a few years. Breakfast was good both buffet and a la carte. Dinner menue was good. I tried their lamb. It was cooked perfectly. It has a large parking lot. The staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Killarney. You will not be disappointed.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was perfect

    this hotel is by far the greatest hotel in Ireland. The staff are so professional and so helpful. We strongly recommend this hotel to every traveller. you will not be disappointed. Thanks to Karen Hussey for exemplary customer service. She is a credit to The Brehon. Karen we will be back again. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely luxurious hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't able to have a manicure as nail technician was on holiday, should have more than one considering they promote the spa so much and tried to go for a swim but spa doesn't open until 7am - need to make sure guests know this

    The Brehon is a lovely and very luxurious 4 star hotel. The bar and restaurant were lovely and the staff very professional. It's only a 10 minute walk in to the town centre so ideal for those who want to explore Killarney although the restaurant food was delicious and breakfast choice amazing including fresh honeycomb which was gorgeous. We had a great view of the hills from our room which was a bonus, hope to return one day, thank you all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only disappointing thing was the service in the bar restaurant. They were busy but staff were no where to be seen. We waited ages to order our desserts and cocktails. Table next to us left as they were waiting so long for their desserts. We ordered a mojito and apparently staff had to search the place for some mint. We would have liked to have ordered more but the wait was too long. Food was fine.

    Hotel is lovely and relaxing. Air con in room was a lovely bonus. The pool was fab. Breakfast was tasty and lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    lovely break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very little variety of non alcoholic beer or wine.. that was my only thing couldn't fault hotel in any other way

    location, spa pool area was fab.. wide choice at breskfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Already looking into my next stay at the Brehon I’m just home a day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I didn’t like it but I just feel maybe the bar food didn’t quiet live up to the the 10/10 experience of the rest of the hotel. It was still lively and didn’t take from the stay but just feel it’s the only are to be worked a bit on :) would without question be booking there again though!

    The atmosphere was so relaxing around the Brehon the location is breathtaking even from our room window! The hotel is to die for facilities, spa area and room are a 10/10!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    The breakfast service is remarkable, especially the intro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast service is remarkable, especially the intro from Mary who showed us around and explained ur options in the most welcoming way. Rooms and bathroom were superb- really glad to have chosen the Brehon! :) The shuttle service into town was an added bonus. Seeing the rolling hills of the nationalp ark from the window really made my time here even better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Always a pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Official check in time of 4 is quite late considering the price of the stay.

    Great hotel with lovely staff, comfortable rooms and fantastic location right across from the park!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, property just outstanding in my opinion this is a 5 star hotel cannot fault this hotel, second visit and not our last thank you so much keep up the great work

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Veey relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable stay. We didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit in need of a refresh, its all very brown and purple. But that's a personal opinion. I really liked this hotel.

    Lovely comfortable hotel, lovely spacious room, really clean, lovely bed linen. Fantastic Breakfast, rrally good valur abd Very friendly and helpful staff. No complaints whatsoever.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Had dinner in Danu Restaurant - food was delicious and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a pity that I did not have time to make use of the spa/pool (closed at 2000h)

    Had dinner in Danu Restaurant - food was delicious and staff were attentive. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast selection was good - loved the waffle maker and honeycomb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a wonderful hotel. The staff is friendly and helped with all of our local arrangements. You can have the horse drawn wagons pick you up at the hotel for a w I'll wonderful scenic tour through the park and town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    The brethon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault this hotel.

    Our check in was very welcoming.the rooms wre spotless and airy.food in bar was good.the breakfast was fab.well laid ouf lots of fresh fruit.great hot food.i would love 2 stay with this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The staff and very friendly and helpful, the spa is fabulous, the view from our room was fantastic and the beds were super comfy. I love this hotel and will definitely go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    i enjoyed it, no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing , everything was very good.

    My wife wanted to eat salmon and as salmon was not on the menu in the restaurant and the bar, The Brehon went and got salmon from another hotel. This was top notch service and I doubt if any other hotel would have done likewise. The hotel car park was very well organised and easy to access. There was a Harvey Davidson tour stationed in Killarney and cars were parked everywhere but hotel organised car park for guests well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Good quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are slightly dated. Its a good quality hotel but not luxurious. I got a good rate 275 for 2 nights inc breakfast. They say usually 400. I wouldn't have been happy to pay 400. Atmosphere it was very busy. Think this is good one for the tour buses groups

    The Brehons exterior leads you to great excitement, however the interior, specifically the rooms are slightly dated. But they very very spacious. Lovely robes and slippers provided and the bed was comfy. I didn't get to use the spa but it was included and seems very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight negative: Could do with more vegan options, and for the potatoes on the buffet not to be beside the black pudding, as it meant there were pieces of meat in the potatoes so I couldn't eat them.

    The staff were excellent. From check in (a lovely girl with long dark hair) to check out (the same girl!) and everything in between, they could not have been nicer. The breakfast staff were very friendly, especially Mary on the door, despite the chaos of a Sunday breakfast shift!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: