Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Burren Atlantic Hotel & Holiday Village 3 stars

Old Coast Road, Ballyvaughan, Ireland

#13 of 16 hotels in Ballyvaughan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    Odd and unwelcoming, unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Following a weird welcome upon arrival, we were shown to our room. The hotel interior looks slightly modern, but does need upgrading in parts. There is no "do not disturb" sign to hang on your door, minor detail but if you want to be left alone for the day you need to key your door from the inside leaving the key intact. Breakfast was ok, not cooked freshly, I think it's like the breakfast in the delis in shops across Ireland, precooked and heated up. We were out in other bars on our night staying here and when we returned we thought we would have a nightcap. The bar was open and lights were on but there was nobody manning the bar. I knocked and got attention of the owner, I asked if he could serve us a drink and he responded "Really, most of the other guests just go to bed" I replied with "We would like a drink if that's ok, and if you would like the business" he mumbled and served us our 4 drinks, we had two rounds and we sat in the huge bar area - just the 4 of us. This bar and restaurant, hotel and spa have so much potential, I worked in hospitality myself for 25 years. But I retired when I needed to as it is too physical. This owner should retire in my opinion and maybe sell on the property and enjoy his retirement. I felt terrible being served by him almost 14 hours a day. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend staying here because of the way the place made me feel, it was unwelcoming and odd.

    Good location, rooms clean, beds dressed daily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    Confusing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay is overpriced at €140.00 per night, there are B&Bs that have a better feel in Ballyvaughan. Upon arrival we were advised in a nonchalant way that our final night was not available to us (we booked for 4 nights, so we checked out a day early because of the lack of care in advising us we would be short a night). The bar is a beautiful bar, but it is completely empty. There's no music, no life, no atmosphere like the rest of the West coast bars. There is one barman, he is the owner that runs front desk, the breakfast service and the bar - I literally felt bad for him because I do believe he should be retired. Breakfast was ok, it's not freshly cooked I believe it is ready to go and heated up on the pass. If guests are 5 minutes late to breakfast they will not be served, this is something I witnessed. Also eating breakfast in the breakfast area could be compared to eating breakfast in a convent, dead silence, No music and just a weird atmosphere and the sound of chewing and cutlery scraping. The Halycon Spa that is advertised is not open or functioning, I think if it was then the owner might be doing the pedicure himself anyway so that is probably for the best. The restaurant is open to the public for dinner, but due to it being constantly empty, no one goes in to eat there. I think with the right management and some proper injection of Irish culture this place could be a hit. Such a beautiful building and view. No charm whatsoever, not enough staff. It was genuinely like meeting an Irish Basil Fawlty - good intentions not unfortunately it misses the mark.

    The rooms, through overpriced were clean and big enough. The location for staying in ballyvaughan is perfect. The good comments end here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large room, great bed, bar and restaurant was very good, very good breakfast and the property is well maintained. The village of Ballyvaughan was the biggest surprise, only Small, but has a couple of great pubs and restaurant. This village was the the biggest surprise on the tour around Southern Ireland.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Overpriced hotel lacking charm but in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overpriced, nice staff but breakfast was a bit slow. We were only given a menu after sitting down for 10 mins. No sea views in the hotel. No newspapers available even to buy. Limited dinner options.

    Nice location, easy parking, clean quiet rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.5
    Hotel was very quite, breakfast was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner done eveey thing, there was no food available from restraunt, there was no atmosphere as advertised music but there was none.

    Hotel was very quite, breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place to be in a wonderful part of Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room window could not be entirely closed. No big deal as this was summertime and night temperatures were correct, but a bit disappointing as everything else was perfect.

    Nice welcome, great bed size, large confortable rooms, great breakfast, very nice surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, modern but dark room and gloomy breakfast space. the business/ airport style is out of place in this lovely location and the hotel is seriously understaffed... only one man doing everything begrudgingly and not caring about customer experience. I would not recommend this place!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel!! Ideal location for what we had planned!! Staff shortage definitely is an issue as it was based on luck almost that there would be anyone at reception. If you did however need to find someone you would have to go looking in the bar/ restaurant or ring the number found on the front door which unfortunately was not answered for us. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Has extreme potential but was left down with the lack of staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay with very comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff on check in desk.

    A really good hotel with friendly helpful staff and excellent well cooked tasty breakfast.Well located for touring the Burren and Cliffs of Moher.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    I would not be going back to ballyvaughan again. Had to drive to kinvara for food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food in the hotel and was advertised for food from 12:00 to 21:00. Unless you count tea and a scone food???? Nothing like what was described on the website.... beach 12 minutes walk??????

    Hotel was clean and a nice premises. The curtin pole fell down on my 5 year old little girl and when i reported it at the reception desk it was not fixed nor was there any further action taken by the hotel during our stay. My daughter could have been hurt badly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in bar & restaurant was slow, same person seemed to be doing check in, serving bar at night and serving breakfast in the morning. We stayed on Sunday night, bar was very quiet, very few customers. No music. Breakfast dining area, you could hear the silence, a bit of background music would have broken the silence.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable hotel. Owner seemed to be doing a lot of jobs as short on staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music was very loud on Sat night. Bathroom was bit shabby in reception ( first impressions)

    Owner served us breakfast after 10 a.m cut off. Kind thanks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    We have stayed here before and will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was hoping the spa would be open, but as with many places in the country, it's impossible to find and keep professional staff at this time.

    The owner, Kevin, is a soft spoken really friendly man - nothing is too much trouble for him.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location, very clean comfortable room , good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark interior, no facilities merely bed and breakfast and bar . Spa exists but not open , paints lawnmowers etc entourage to some areas . One staff trying to do reception , cook and serve breakfast , clean rooms attend bar . At times no visible staff. Hot water not constant . Fire alarm went off twice one night . Has potential but not as advertised at the moment

    Excellent location, very clean comfortable room , good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Lovely hotel, fab location pity about the Staff or lack of it - seems to be a ONE MAN show
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff or LACK OF IT - same older man checked us in - well took the payment, didn't tell us anything about the hotel - breakfast time etc. same older man served in the bar but waited 13mins before he turned up to be served- he was probably checking someone in ! website says food served but they do not do food and in the morning several people left the dining room without any breakfast as they had waited so long to be served - same older man serving breakfast as well

    hotel very nice rooms and beds - location is perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Monks pub up the road , great atmosphere , brilliant food ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa advertised , not functional. Gym advertised , not functional . Couldn't book dinner as they have no chef . No entertainment of any kind in the bar. Seriously under staffed . Breakfast not even remotely like what's advertised on the site . Unfortunately , no atmosphere in this place. Serious pity as it should and could be a beautiful place to stay . Awfully badly managed in my humble opinion .

    Monks pub up the road , great atmosphere , brilliant food , amazing staff , welcoming and inviting place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    It was close to the Aliwee caves and the scenery was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner. We had one interaction with him and it was completely off putting! He is really rude. He Gave the whole stay a really negative feel and there was absolutely no sense of comfort while staying there it was a gloomy place - we did our best to stay out of the hotel and get a look at the lovely scenery and eat at local restaurants to avoid being there, in the hotel! Avoid!! Having stayed in a beautiful hotel the night before the contrast was insane!!

    It was close to the Aliwee caves and the scenery was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Burren and cliffs of Moher
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom hand basin tap has a tendency to drown you if you don't control the pressure.

    Clean room and comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Pleasant and polite staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our recent stay at the hotel was superb. The room was super clean and the bed was most comfortable. There was plenty of parking on the hotel grounds which made our arrival and departure very easy. At check in we met this lovely man “O Callaghan” from Tour in Cork who arranged a drive for us, to and back from Gregan’s castle. The traditional Irish breakfast was a lovely touch the morning after. All staff we so professional and nice. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks to all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location & hotel but get more staff to provide the service for customers to keep them !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one staff member running the hotel check in, bar and restaurant !!! So we had a long wait for drinks & food so we gave up & went elsewhere! The one chap working was running round like a blue arsed fly apologising all the time. (Sorry money spends anywhere).

    Loverly hotel and ideally positioned in the bay at the side of the town, the room and facilities were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    I stayed here from June 1st to 4th with my partner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to come home and we didn’t want to 👀😊

    I stayed here from June 1st to 4th with my partner. Everything about our stay was lovely and we could not have asked for more. Kevin & Mark & the other staff were very helpful & friendly. We will be going back for more. 😊💕

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    During my stay Mark was working at the reception and also at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During my stay Mark was working at the reception and also at the bar. He took great care of all of his guests and I felt very welcomed and comfortable as I was traveling alone. Thank you very much for great service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable as we are very familiar with the area and the location of the hotel was perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved by introducing more choice on the menu e.g. a cold meat,cheese option and a fish (such as kippers) dish. Also “homemade” Irish soda bread would be a welcome addition

    The bedroom and bathroom were very good and comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    i would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very slight odour in the corridors but rooms were clean & comfortable and i found the staff friendly enough

    Trip advisor reviews were poor for this hotel and after reading them i found this hotel better than expected after reading the reviews. It is a 3 star hotel run by a small number of staff but it was fine for our 1 night stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Friendly staff,Very relaxing, lovely location to explore the burren and coast road was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New manager Mark was so friendly and helpful,and chef Mike cooked us delicious steak ciabatta.. Kevin was there to give us our tasty breakfasts..beautifully decorated hotel, lovely quiet location but easy distance to the village..it was exactly the quiet relaxing break we needed!thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab rooms with really comfortable beds and so close to all amenities! Only a short stroll away from everything. The shower was powerful and the rooms and hotel grounds are clean and tidy. I'll definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bar and restaurant were closed.

    It has a lovely view, is close to the village. It is close to other bars and places to eat. It also has a warm and friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.4
    False advertising - advertised a spa but no spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advertising, Hotel has huge potential

    False advertising - advertised a spa but no spa.. seemed the hotel was being ran by 1 man. Breakfast being ran again by same man on check in he seemed to be ran off his feet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and management, very quiet and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel wasnt lit up very well, we drove past it once before realising we passed it, restaurant wasn't open for dinner as there weren't enough guests

    Welcomed by the owner, escorted to our room, breakfast included, lovely bar/restaurant called Monks two minutes down the road, across the road from the pier

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    won't be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bad smell off damp - place had been flooded a while back - It is overpriced - other's from group only paid€79 in a really bright warm hotel in village - breakfast ok - could be a lot better . Also light in rooms very bad .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Will defiantly going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that the pool and leisure centre were not open but hopefully things will improve and they will be able to reopen this section of the hotel.

    Great weekend here earlier this month. Was a bit unsure of the hotel after reading some poor reviews of the hotel, but we couldn't fault our stay. Room was lovely and spacious and clean. While staff levels were at a minimum it did not affect the service we received. The breakfast we got was super.There was live music on the Saturday night in the bar which was a great bonus as we had been in the village and it was very quite with no music, so was fantastic to have something in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    NIGHTMARE HOTEL at dampness .com
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management very eager for me to pay up now attitude and take my debit bank details and no credit, not impressed. And also rung me when 10 minutes away from hotel to tell me he was giving my reservation to someone else ... A very bad service. Never going back.

    Nice breakfast , staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is out of main season there was inadequate staff who communicated poorly. We had to turn on corridor light ourselves to find our way about the hotel. There were no outside lights when we returned after dark.

    A very comfortable and quiet room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark and cold..no heating on..musty smell...shower overflowed all over bathroom out to bedroom carpet..could not use it

    Bed was comfortable...room clean...breakfast good when it eventually came!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    OK if you want a relaxing break on your journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we wanted to eat in the restaurant we were told they had no food, so dinner was not on. The advertised wi-fi was only available by going downstairs to the lobby. The host, though pleasant, was unavailable a lot when required. It seemed there was only two staff for a large place as that. It is quite an isolated place, so not a lot to do.

    The food we ate at nearby places was very good. The breakfast at the property was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Satisfactory! The hotel needs more staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No info in the room. Public areas were not clean. No spa and conference room was a storage room. The feeling that the hotel is losing money and customers!

    Room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.3
    Stay somewhere else - seriously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attempted to check in at 18:00 and we were left waiting for almost 30 minutes for the manager to serve us. When our room was allocated to us, it hadn't been cleaned from the night before so we had to wait for the room to be serviced. No one offered any apology, explaination or offered to take our bags - we were just left standing in reception and told to get our room key from the cleaner when she had finished. The hotel itself, while reasonably clean, was completely soulless with zero atmosphere. The staff were so unhelpful and frankly ,flat out rude - with the manager being the biggest culprit of all. There were issues with the electrics in our room with only 2 wall sockets actually working, the TV broken and no wifi. When we raised this with the manager he responded with 'why would you come to the burren to watch TV and be on the internet' - totally missing the point. Wish we hadn't stayed - a complete rip off.

    walking distance into the centre of Ballyvaughan

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    3.3
    The staff is running it to the ground. Sad, but keep away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was either not available, not helpful or even insulting. I can't judge the service, since service or empathy was just not present. One receptionist was turning up her heavy metal music super loud, not even caring that I was struggeling with a buggy to open up a door. Another threatened us to charge for things already broken in the hotel. We were so happy to leave this place after 2 nights.

    We had at least some towels in the room. Yeaahy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.2
    DISASTER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel.. awful.. bad management, all wrong.. no atmosphere... couldn't care less attitude.. could be a wonderful set up, but it will only bring ballyvaughan down, and what a pity, such a stunning part of the country.. would not advise anyone to go if looking for a quiet nice break away... amusing to a point the lack of service, and the eccentric way, but not if you booked and paid good money, and had small children. booking.com to my mind should not have this hotel on their site... and to complain about lack of service and facilities is futile... breakfast and the lack of, cheap produce, shower boiling hot in the morning, warm in the evening, and flooding, flow quicker than the drain!..tv not tuned in...and family with baby put in adjoining room...

    the location was fantastic, the burren is beautiful... the pubs and food and restaurants in the ballyvaughan area and surrounding area fantastic.. great food great Guinness! the burren perfumery a must, with coffee shop...ailwee caves also a must, and the chocolate makers, ice cream makers.. beautiful place..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    décor was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff... very unhelpful...... really a one man band. the owner seem to have been -1. the receptionist... 2-bar tender..3-waitier... 4-breckfast cook................. cant say he had the personality for any!! ignored us while we sat in the bar waiting to order so we left and went to a lovely place down the road . sign saying there was wifi( this didn't work ) no Vodafone reception in the hotel. no fone in the rooms...... there was open mic in the bar that night but we didn't go to it ..as really that's not entertainment if you have to provide it yourself . if I had read the reviews before we booked I wouldn't have stayed .

    décor was lovely... breckfast was fine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa was advertised but was not open when we got there.

    Very friendly staff especially the Brazilian barmaid who was very efficient and always found time to chat to all the customers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Bit of a Faulty Towers hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As per comments above

    No one at reception when we arrived.Had to wait approx 15 mins.Same person doing reception was also doing the bar too.For peak season hotel was very quiet .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one at reception when we arrived. I had to search for someone to check us in, found one staff member (a cleaner I think). She tried to call someone to help us but to no avail. She had one room ready and allowed us into this room. When we arrived back the gentleman at reception said there was no record of our booking. We eventually got booked in and told breakfast is served between 7am and 11am. We arrived down at 8.15 or so to find the hotel again without staff and the door to the restaurant locked. We eventually got breakfast after 9.00am (stale cereal).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    A great place to stay in County Clare
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel was great - the location was really central for exploring the Burren nearby, and Kevin, the hotel manager, was really friendly and accommodating! The rooms were lovely - very spacious, and the bed was absolutely massive! We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return one day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish the wi-fi stretched to the rooms. But was availabe in the lobby.

    Rooms lovely. Nice breakfast. Nice bar - altho the bar is so big it loses atmosphere. Staff great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was to the back of the property with the view of a ditch. Was very disappointed with this considering the location of the property. Bed was uncomfortable couldn't sleep.

    Lovely location. Rooms nice and big. Food was lovely. Great shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Good 3 star hotel (B&B)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room requires some basic maintenance, e.g. the majority of sockets were not working.

    Facility wise this is somewhere between a B&B and a hotel, e.g. one person manning the reception and bar - you just need to be a little patient :) Big room with large bed and plenty of room. Nice fruit salad and vegetarian cooked breakfast in the morning served by attentive member of staff. Great live music on Saturday night, brought the bar to life. Excellent location in Ballyvaughn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    flying stay@@@
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was closed for a period of time and on opening some facilities are not available including the spa, the interior is spacious and bright but the rooms need some updating as regards carpet, sockets all need to work,sink in the bathroom needs to have water, no toiletries ,tiles are stained and should be replaced, overall time may make a difference but at present the amount paid was not value for money, breakfast was superb but a lack of any fresh fruit was disappointing . overall disappointing.

    We liked the location as it is accessible to all restaurants & pubs, would recommend monks restaurant book a table in advance as it is quite busy.Very accessible parking with plenty of spaces.Quite near the pier to enjoy the wonderful scenery which is also visible from the hotel. Staff welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Great location, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, especially the owner Kevin. Rooms were lovely and bed very comfortable, breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice. Couldn't fault it, we had a great time and will definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast is great ,staff that were there were very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Understaffed ,cold shower ,could do with turning on a few lights and some background music

    Breakfast is great ,staff that were there were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Manager good sense of humour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building very plain on outside but smart inside though all rooms very dark. Need more Accessabilty rails better positioned in bathroom.

    Manager good sense of humour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    So much potential.......................but................
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of customer focus. No hot water in our room during the day, when we queried this with reception we were told that as we were the only guests the hot water had not been turned on! We were assured that we would have hot water that evening, again it didn't materialise, the man on reception told us that it was a complicated system and the water had to travel a long way and if we kept the tap running it would eventually come through.......it didn't. Maybe it was piped from Dublin! We had arranged to meet up with family that evening so couldn't wait around any longer. The following morning there was still no hot water, we complained and to be fair the 'man on reception' did offer to come and look at it for us, a bit too late as we were, at that point checking out........ My sister and I were disappointed, we were hoping that as the hotel is in an enviable position within the village, and potentially has so much going for it that it would be a success having been closed for some time. Sadly, at the moment this doesn't appear to be the case. We were hoping that this hotel could be our base in the future as we visit Ballyvaughan often. Based on our recent experience I think we will explore other options.

    The twin bedroom was spacious and clean. The bathroom was modern. The waitress who served our breakfast was very personable, efficient and smiled!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    4.6
    Not a good experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above...very unkept & dirty...shabby but if properly run has potential....no other guests only ourselves!

    Service non existent...no one at reception upon arrival so had to go around hotel to find someone...very poor overall...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    3.8
    FAULTY TOWERS IN EARNEST
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falsely advertised. No evidence of any other guests. No WiFi in rooms though brochure states differently. Strong smell of must on corridor. When I asked for receipt of payment the owner stated 'Do you need it?. Only 2 TV channels though the owner very adamant that there were 9 channels. No remote for TV. A man who I gather was doing a few jobs on the premises brought in at least 6 or 8 remotes from other rooms but not one would work. No heating on in room - apparently it is a central system - all rooms heated at the same time as stated by the owner yet no evidence of any heat. No hot water therefore no shower/bath. Breakfast - a joke. The chef was 'gone away. No menus - no variety- no presentation- no effort - very very basic.Not as outlined in brochure. We did NOT stay after the first night - we left and came home early. I paid my money in full. The owner made it clear that no refunds are given. I think the price was shocking for the service therein. Very badly managed and I am surprised that Booking .com have this premises on its list. Disgraceful in today's world. Would not recommend same to anybody.

    Location was good as near to Cliffs of Moher and not too far from Galway

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    3.3
    Do not book his hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was rude and had no record of our booking. We were given a house with 3 rooms instead of 4 hotel rooms. The accommodation was dirty i.e. Large pile of dirty bed linen in the living area, dirty cutlery and utensils, cobwebs everywhere and an appalling breakfast. The owner Kevin told us he had a couple of million euros in the bank so he didn't care when we complained. The staff tried their best in particular MJ on reception but do not spend money staying here.

    I cannot recommend anything about this hotel other than the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.4
    Fawlty Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel has the WORST and I MEAN THE WORST service in the history of hotels. Just think Fawlty Towers..... That is all i am saying. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    4.6
    Don't stay here if you are looking for warmth and luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhappy man on reception, not welcoming. The place looks dowdy and musty. It is dying for a scented candle or some tea lights and a flower or two. It really is a miserable place to stay. The bar is dark and sad, the restaurent also dowdy and sad. I would never stay there again. Unless someone goes through it and lightens and brightens it up.

    The location is the only thing this hotel going for it and it's proximity to Monks Restaurent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful room but unfortunately no staff around when we stayed on Tue night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately only the chef/maintenance man was there on check in. We and another couple were the only guests, so bar and restaurant (which looks beautiful) were not open. The one in town was also not serving food on a Tue night. Ended up at packed fish restaurant Monks, which was great but need to make reservation. Lovely owner, just a shame he wasn't around until evening.

    Beautiful room, quiet location, clean and nice bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.8
    Well below par
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very under staffed and I felt sorry for the 4 people that seemed to be running the whole hotel. The lady that cleans the rooms was also working the checking desk and serving the bar all at once. I got a smell of stangant water around the lobby and halls. The breakfast was very poor also.

    Central location and the decor was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    A work in progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We last stayed in this hotel in 2009 when we first visited Ballyvaughan to participate in the Clare Burren Marathon Challenge. At that time the hotel was newly opened and had the feel of a quality 4 star hotel. Since then it has had quite a journey: First it fell victim to the financial crash and then just as it was about to reopen a devastating flood set it back. So we were really pleased to see it open for business once more. Accommodation-wise it still looks like a 4 star hotel with our room being spacious and well appointed with a decent bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable and the window looked out onto the Burren. On our first night it did have something of the feel of the Marie Celeste as we barely encountered any other guests and the staff appeared to be a bit thin on the ground too. The breakfast choice was a bit limited if you did not wish to a cooked one but was sufficient with a really good fresh fruit salad. As the weekend progressed more guests arrived and it started to feel like a hotel again. My feeling is that as they try to get things going once more they are operating on a shoestring and consequently making do with the minimum complement of staff. Given this the hotel is comfortable and clean with the rooms being serviced daily. They will however need to invest in their staff if they are to get that 4 star feel back again. My fear is they could get caught in a Catch 22 of needing a greater volume of guests to secure the income to invest in staff but not being able to achieve the higher client volumes without more staff. I hope I am wrong as I would really like to see this hotel flourish once more and I wish it well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    Good first impression but going quickly downhill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa closed even though it's advertised. Lack of staff. Bar person was ignorant and incompetent and had clearly no interest in the job, has no place in this business. Hotel had no atmosphere. Too expensive for the facilities (or lack of) on offer.

    Decoration, modern. The two waitresses were pleasant, helpful and professional

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    Rooms comfortable and breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were completely inefficient and unhelpful -we heard from a local person that the hotel is in receivership and they clearly don't care about their customers! It's advertised as a luxury hotel with spa-we were informed that the Spa is broken and no apologies!! I am not happy that Bookings.com are not aware of theses details

    Rooms comfortable and breakfast good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant, quiet, friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This was a clean, friendly hotel with free breakfast and wifi, within walking distance to town and shops. Located near the pier with a view of the bay from the front of the hotel. This is not a fancy, new hotel, but I enjoyed my stay there. The staff was very personable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    An unforgettable getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that was disappointing was the quality of wifi, but as phone reception in the surrounding area was poor, it was understandable.

    This hotel was such a great base for seeing the Burren, with some stunning scenery. There were very few people staying here which was a wonder as it was such a beautiful hotel. The room was really modern and spotlessly clean and the bed was something I'd expect to find in a 5 star hotel. It was really comfortable and we got a great night’s sleep. There is a great seafood bar a two-minute walk up the road from the hotel, and the shops and pubs in the village were just a few minutes’ walk away too. Breakfast was a delicious big fry up with lots of tea, toast, cereals and fruit. Would just go back for the fry alone. The staff were so friendly and very obliging. We had a drink in the bar, it was quiet…. like we were the only ones there but we had a lovely conversation with the owner. He was very nice and friendly and was full of stories. Apart from the lack of wifi, this hotel was faultless, and very charming. We found it to be the perfect place for a quiet get away and we will be definitely returning very soon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    The black pudding in the breakfast was the best I have ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room had no backround music . It was soo quiet it was difficult to talk without the room hearing

    The black pudding in the breakfast was the best I have ever tasted

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi was just available in reception area & no RTE1 or CNN on room televisions.

    Location, the staff (owner & lovely hardworking lady & bartender) Breakfasts nice too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Near and far enough away from home, for an relaxing night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should have some background music playing all the time, the silence in the hotel lobby, bar and restaurant was a bit uncomfortably ! The hotel needs more staff, same person poured our drinks and checked us in! No residence bar, quite a few guests looking for a night cap just after 1am , but no one to be seen at all! This hotel has huge potential if only staffed correctly ! Location is class and the restaurant next door "Monks" is top class!

    Near and far enough away from home, for an relaxing night away! Hotel is super clean ! Rooms are large and the bed is super comfy! Bedroom Wall's are paper thin though! 🤔😜

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    If you want the Burren in your bedroom, this is the place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was early in season and there weren't many people around to have a sense of 'buzz' in the hotel.

    Our bedroom was fabulous, and the bed was huge and very comfortable, but best by far was having the Burren in the bedroom - the big windows opened out right onto beautiful limestone landscape, flora and birdsong.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.0
    Great potential, but no hospitality skills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ants on the lockers.when we asked to move we were given a room the next day in the evening that hadn't been cleaned. The man on the desk didn't seem one bit bothered with how our stay went.

    The location was great,overlooking Bay and walk to village.decor in hotel very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Room was very spacious and the bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was plentiful but food was only ok. Didn't tempt us enough to try dinner.

    Room was very spacious and the bed comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Stay that exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel last minute and I am delighted we did...the room was massive and spotless...the breakfast was lovely and the location ideal...no issue really bar they could do with a bit more staff...in saying that the staff they do have were wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    nice quiet motel at reasonable rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist could barely speak English and wasn't very helpful. The free WiFi didn't work in the room, only in the foyer. The man doing breakfast was gruff and unfriendly. Good hotel, but let down by poor staff

    Very large comfortable room with a king size bed. Nice quiet location, and nice new looking hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Gem in the Burren.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I really enjoyed my stay and I will be back very soon.

    Everything! Room was big and cosy, bathroom spotless clean. Staff so welcoming and friendly. Perfect stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.1
    Great product badly managed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, service, service The owner plodding about like he never saw the inside of a bar in his life

    The room and breakfast was very good but service very slow bar staff terribly slow with the exception of one

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    2.5
    False advertisement. Everything looks so perfect on the website but everything was opposite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst experience ever. We paid enough expensive to find out there that restaurant is close, no wifi in room, everywhere dusty. Overall everything was bad.

    Big bed

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75