Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Clarence 4 stars

6-8 Wellington Quay, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#27 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 675 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Very clean room, had everything needed and very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic enough. Expected more, but place seems to have dated badly. Room was facing into a small courtyard which was alive with pigeons very early in the morn!

    Very clean room, had everything needed and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend The Clarence for its location, staff efficiency.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception area dull.

    Bedroom very comfortable, linen, pillows and duvet excellent, Good shower in the bathroom. Staff excellent, very welcoming and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Hostile and inefficient staff ruined our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Promoted as the rock and roll hotel due to its Bono association this hotel has some style but no evidence of rock and roll. The rooms were clean and comfortable with excellent beds but our entire experience was ruined by the attitude of the staff. We had a frosty greeting for a 2 night stay here of a 4 night trip with our adult daughters to celebrate my 60th birthday. On returning to our room for the second night my daughter discovered that the maid had thrown away a plastic bag containing her prescription medication (needed twice daily), a weeks worth of disposable contact lenses and other essential items. Quite how the maid did this we couldn’t understand as it must have seemed that there was something in the bag. The hotel’s response to this was largely disinterested. The manager didn’t seem too bothered and failed to understand that we would then have to spend all the following day of a 4 day trip finding a walk in doctor to write another prescription and also an optician who would be prepared to sell us some contact lenses not to mention the need to buy the speciality cosmetics that she had lost. He agreed to refund 50% of the cost of one room for one night which was €135 - this has barely covered the cost of the replacement of the lost items. It ruined what should have been a memorable trip. I will remember this hotel but not for positive reasons. This is an expensive hotel costing €1080 for 2 nights and I won’t be returning, I suggest that you avoid this hotel if you would prefer a kind, welcoming service and a positive attitude if the hotel makes a mistake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very tired and although management has know for years that the air-conditioning doesn't work they have done nothing to repair it. The only cooling is from a noisy portable fan that requires you to fill it with water every few hours.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Balcony room added nice space and natural light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were prepared for the possibility of street noise, due to the location right in the Temple Bar area. That was definitely the case, but it was worth the trade off for the location. Breakfast was a bit pricey, but nicely done.

    Balcony room added nice space and natural light.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    2.5
    I was extremely disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So the room was tiny. The bathtub drain was broken. It was hot as hades and muggy in room. I believe the fire marshals would never ok it as there was nowhere to get out if a fire. Way over priced

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Fond memories, but bearing in mind the cost of the room a few niggles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 414: disappointing the window was misty, the plug didn’t hold water, air conditioning light was on but apparently hasn’t worked for some years. With the good bar fridge it was a pity you didn’t provide fresh milk.

    The concierge and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Like camping next to the dance tent at glastonbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open roof nightclub joined below our room. LOUD awful thudding dance music until 4am, not just general 'noise' which would be fine. Was in tears, no sleep defeats the object of staying in a nice hotel with comfy beds!! Never again, unfortunately

    Comfy bed(except for the noise) great location(except for the noise) from a sightseeing point of view, polite staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Not real value for money at the Clarence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire building, which must have been glorious in its heyday, is now tired in appearance, not exceptionally clean, and poorly maintained. The front desk staff, including the concierge, although very friendly, on three separate occasions gave us incorrect public transportation information. Although charging four-star prices, the facility is currently much more a three-star hotel.

    Great bed. Quiet room. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    Highly disappointing. Not at worth the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is outdated, and needs a complete renovation. Basics are lacking in the room - no hooks for towels, the lights are not connected requiring you to get out of bed to turn off lights, there is no plug for the hairdryer near a mirror nor in the bathroom, the tv is not programmed properly and has few channels - simple things which detract from the experience which one would expect for the price. The bar is extremely disappointing, and lacks character. I ended up staying at a nearby hotel due to a flight cancellation which put this hotel to absolute shame which was only 10 euros more including a full and amazing breakfast. My overpriced rate at this hotel did not even include breakfast.

    Location is good. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was so clean and the staff were very nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The problem with being in the middle of everything, however, is that it was very loud. It was a little hard to sleep at night, but that was also part of the experience!

    The hotel was so clean and the staff were very nice and helpful. We loved the location for a short trip on which we wanted to be in the mix of everything. The problem with being in the middle of everything, however, is that it was very loud. It was a little hard to sleep at night, but that was also part of the experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant customer service! I had a problem with the original room assigned during my two night stay - the problem was handled beautifully and rectified immediately without any drama whatsoever. A BIG thank you to James on the front desk!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.5
    Room was really noisy from bar/ club in basement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really noisy from bar/ club in basement. We were moved after requesting this & although this was done without a fuss & that room was a bit better still some noise from street. For price of hotel there should be some kind of warning about this prior to booking. Breakfast was really over priced Bit ramdom but I really didn’t like air fresher/ cleaning product used in hallways really strong

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Loved The Clarence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such an overall wonderful experience! All staff we met, from reception to restaurant to housekeeping, were friendly and so helpful! I'm vegan and the breakfast staff thoughtfully provided soy milk each morning without hesitation. Location is perfect and room is very comfortable and clean. Highly recommend!! We'll definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great night in Dublin!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was hilariously bad. Slices of cold processed ham under half raw poached eggs passed off as eggs benedict. The continental breakfast was also sad and mean and processed food. What a pity! Easy to remedy though....

    lovely deluxe king room with a very cute balcony overlooking Temple Bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy as hell. Music stopped at 2am on Friday and 3am on Saturday. I was on the second floor and it was so loud I could hear the lyrics perfectly.

    Nice staff, lovely hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot because heater is always on & cannot adjust temperature, they do provide a portable A/C unit; too noisy ( a bar in the courtyard)

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Overall very happy. Would stay again and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was warm and stuffy at night, but opening the window made it too noisy to sleep (party at restaurant below? surprising amount of noise until well into the morning hours and we were there on a Monday and Tuesday night).

    Rooms were a good size, well equipped and clean. Loved the location and overall character of the property. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    The location was excellent, right by temple bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We sadly didn’t get a room with a view over the River Liffey and instead was just a back alley so I would definitely recocmend trying to request a room with a view!

    The location was excellent, right by temple bar! We also had a really large room with an equally large bathroom which is always nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great location! I’d definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been bigger as it was extremely small. I did ask for a larger room but was abruptly put in my place saying they were full? I didn’t reply as the man who said this could have been having a bad day? We all have bad days!!!

    The location is great and it had one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Stayed at the Clarence before. Still quality but seemed to have lost a little of its edge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in-room coffee and tea were unpleasant. Didn't like the age old packets of milk. Why no bulbs in any of the desk lamps?

    Warm. Comfortable. Quality materials. Wifi v. good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud overpriced average hotel. Music from a bar downstairs until 4am. Expected some loudness due to Temple Bar location but not constant noise all night. The hotel itself is average and not worth the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    great stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff are great, room clean, lovely decor, and Octagon restaurant fab as always. Great value for money in a hotel that knows how to do elegance without showiness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, disco downstairs so must stay on a high floor!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to turn the radiator off because it made a really loud noise when on so had to sleep with no heating. I thought it was a tad odd we were given actual keys and not cards. Make sure you lock your room when leaving. There is also a night club downstairs. I was on the 3rd floor so didn't hear noise but colleague on the 2nd floor couldn't sleep - and it was a Monday night!

    My river view!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a little love, it's too hard and plain. There were no bulbs in the bedside or desk lamps. As always in hotels the room was too hot and stuffy at night. It all needs updating.

    Lovely, helpful staff. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.0
    Avoid room 506 unless you don’t need any sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically asked for a quiet room when I checked in as I needed to wake at 4:45am to catch a flight. My room was above a Bar/club with and outside area which didn’t close until 3am. When Checking our, the receptionist told me that they are fully aware this room is a problem and he would organise a part refund. I am still waiting....

    I have stayed at this property before and the experience was much better

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    A great spot with good access to public transport the Luas and very close to the main shopping area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints this time

    The location was excellent with ease of access to public transport The bedroom was great with the comfiest bed and a lovely view and nice and quiet for sleeping

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    A very nice and cosy place, very friendly and helpful staff, noisy at night
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not expect it to be so noisy at night( music from the bars do travel until 2:00 pm, people coming back to their rooms)

    Staff was very friendly and helpful Room was very nice Location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Stayed there as a treat for my daughter. Unimpressive and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to have dinner there but we could not get a table until late. Tried for a late checkout as we were in town for a concett. Best they could do on a very quiet monday afternoon was til one pm. If we were able to check out later without additional charge we would have had lunch, drinks and also dessert to the room.Very mediocre, would rate as a three star. Wont be returning.

    The only staff member that went extra mile was the bar man at lunch time in the octogan bar.room clean. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    A good selection of breakfast options and decent size room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a broken air conditioning unit and a radiator that could not be turned off, resulting in a very warm room. Unfortunately, for the cost of the hotel, I would normally anticipate a fitness room which the Clarence is lacking

    A good selection of breakfast options and decent size room. The hotel bar was ample in size and not too expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    A delightful stay in my home city
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a tiny squeak from the bathroom door, but they sent someone up to oil it the minute I mentioned it.

    The bed was beautifully comfortable and the room, 209, totally quiet. I slept like a log.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    The Clarence has a great location and the staff is helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has seen better days, is in need of a bit of an upgrade. Also because you are surrounded by clubs remember to bring your earplugs.

    The Clarence has a great location and the staff is helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.1
    Beautifully appointed; great value but be prepared for noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At approx.10.30 pm there was a lot of bass noise from downstairs; probably from an adjoining premises. It was the only part of my stay that let the experience down.

    I had a standard double room whuch was beautifully appointed. The furniture, closets, fittings, bathroom were all top quality and privided for a lovely stay. The breakfast was also piping hot, freshly made and exceptionally flavoursome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor is a little dated and starting to show signs of wear

    A comfortable hotel in a great location. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Pay for the location, but this is not a 4/5* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired. Does not look like it has been renovated for some time. Heating/air conditioning in room did not work at all (room had fans) bathroom was old. Furniture was worn. Room service breakfast was very expensive and not good. Way way overpriced for what you get ($300+ per night)

    Location is wonderful. Outside of building is gorgeous

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location, nice size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was insanely hot. We were sweating in January and there was no way to control the heat, no thermostat in the room. We couldn’t open the windows because the rooms all open up to the area directly above a late night club. Every night until about 330 am it sounded Iike we were sleeping in the actual club with the added joy of sweating to death all night long. We were so disappointed because we were really looking forward to staying in this hotel. This is our 18th trip to Ireland and we are sad to stay this stay ranks in our top two worse experiences.

    Great location, nice size room. Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Perfect one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot but I only found the aircon in the morning so my own fault.

    Beds very comfortable, lovely decor The staff were really nice. Box of chocolates from staff on bed for Valentines day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Near on perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom

    Our room was lovely and clean. Comfy. Spacious- spot on! Bathroom was lacking the full cleanliness.. hairs in the bath and urine still in the loo :/

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    We will 100% be back!! Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it would have been good if Bono and The Edge were knocking about- but there's always next time!! (Big U2 fan)

    The staff went over and beyond for us, myself and my boyfriend stayed in December and had such a good time we came back in February. As we had been there before they upgraded our room and gave us a complimentary bottle of prosecco! Absolute gentlemen in the lobby and the octogan bar was superb! The staff recommended a going down to the liquor rooms underground next door, fabulous cocktails and amazing decor, we stayed there all night!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was really nice and clean. The location is absolutely great and in my room it was not too load at all (so it was central but not noisy). I liked it a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location as a hub
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    few inconvenient items (the little things): heater broken, didn't get a bed sheet, shower didn't want drain correctly, TV before bed I had to wiggle the cable to get a signal. main issue: location close to the night club. fri-sun it doesn't stop playing music till 4am, so wasn't ideal if you wanted to sleep.

    really enjoyed the location and how close it was to everything else. walking was a great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.3
    I paid €150 for one night and they gave us a small room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid €150 for one night and they gave us a small room with an electric heater in it, the view was of Shute and pipes from the kitchen and also had pigeons nesting there, which I think is pretty bad for a room for that price , I asked could we change room and paid an extra €40 for a bigger room which I think should have cost €150, if I had paid an extra €30 we could have stayed in the westin hotel whos room was far superior.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little channels on the tv You needed a key to access the bedrooms by the stairs but anyone could go into the lift and go up to any floor

    The bed was extremely comfortable The shower was excellent The barman made me an excellent Mojito

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    minor tweaks would add make it a luxury experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too hot & the air con was not working &/ or there was no means of checking whether it just needed adjusting as there was no instruction manual. And no standard hotel manual in room with contact numbers etc. For a 4* hotel, I would expect a few more luxuries - robes, more towels, complimentary water. And a dresser / desk with mirror at the correct height as you couldn’t use mirror when seated. The decor throughout could do with a little updating. And I would not expext the main bar to be closed to residents by 11.30pm.... All just minor tweaks that would give the hotel a more luxury feel.

    The room was spacious & bed super comfy! Plenty of wardrobe space & particularly liked the curtain across the hall/ entranceway avoiding the inevitable shaft of light from under the door!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Will return because the location is great and the front desk staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too hot even after turning off the heat. Water in morning shower warm.

    Asked for a quiet room and got one. Very quiet. Everything we needed was in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite plain for the price. Faulty shower temperature control. Small bath towels. Bit worn and tired. Expensive for what it is. Characterless. There are more architecturally appealing boutique hotels in Dublin in this price bracket.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.5
    Not booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced for what you get. Bathroom and bedroom were dull and cheapl looking but comfortable. Sofa bed was completely unusable as it was in such a bad state and they covered it up with an ugly blanket. My friend slept on a small cot by the tv. Given the price and the name, I was expecting a lot more in terms of facilities, decor and qualitative. The price should be more in line either 3* hotel.

    Staff were friendly. Bathroom and bedroom were spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff, location, comfort make me want to return again & again. will go to the restaurant next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms in both rooms are ready for a refurb. Very clean but stains in one from wear & tear and wood surround warped in the other. Both have a thin shower curtain that touches your body at times...never a good thing.

    Staff were lovely and above and beyond service...early check in and enduring rooms were beside each other. Super comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    The best thing about the Clearance is its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seemed to be a lot of half finished work in the hotel. Many wires hanging from ceilings etc.

    The best thing about the Clearance is its location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    The Clarence helped make Dublin the fun stay that it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    The Clarence is stylish and comfortable and in the heart of everything. All staff were helpful and friendly. I would stay again and I have already recommended it to relatives.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Tired hotel that used to be the jewell in Dublin's hotel crown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Clarence, at one point was the only place to stay in Dublin. Unfortunately that accolade no longer applies. The hotel itself is tired and in desperate need of a refurb- the hallways look like an old people's home! Loose wires, empty odd vases stuck to the walls, old carpet...The bedrooms are basic but certainly NOT worthy of the price tag. It was a shame as I stayed here 10 years ago and had a very different experience.

    The staff are fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    It was our last night so we took advantage of the location and explored the area. Just felt duped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price per night I expect excellence. The window wouldn’t stay up. One side of the window was missing the rope. Easy fix. Bathroom could be cleaner, specifically the grout. Lastly, the bed was uncomfortable. I didn’t feel that the room was worth the price regardless of location.

    The location. It is in the heart of Temple Bar District.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    Very over priced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant booked for private function so residents could not eat in hotel! Hotel lacked atmosphere and soul

    Location very close to tourist attractions bars theatres

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in the heart of Temple Bar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to bring earplugs as it can get quite noisy at night. €3.50 for a bottle of water from the minibar is very steep. For the price of the place im surprised they don't provide a free bottle of water in the room.

    Clean, comfortable room and the housekeeping staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.2
    Painful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy bar staff Curtains falling down off in my room 409 No comfort/ambience in the lounge Five star prices with one star decoration and comfort

    Check-out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    LOVE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was HORRIBLE. As I was on vacation, I thought it was great to unplug. My daughter slept on the sofa bed and apparently it was not comfortable at all.

    We had a junior suite. I loved everything about the suite. It overlooked the River Liffy and was large for a European hotel. The bathroom products were nice, it was very clean, there were large windows for light and lots of storage space. The concierge was amazing and so helpful and the desk staff were very professional and courteous as well. We were early checking in and they were very accommodating. I loved this hotel and would stay again in that suite in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    It was a great place to stay in downtown Dublin. Great staff and great location for a sight-seeing t
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar closed unexpectedly our last night.

    The staff was professional. friendly, and very helpful. In advance, I emailed the hotel to ask about nearby parking, and the concierge answered right away with accurate and very useful information.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Bathroom was not up to date, leaky faucet, room needed more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was not up to date, leaky faucet, room needed more light. Breakfast was not worth the price, went to the restaurant next door, and cafe on the corner for great breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.9
    Not particularly pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Niose from Disco heard in bedroom prevented sleep. Paid for valet parking car arrived 25 minutes later than agreed return time

    Decor in hotel and view from room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, great location, wonderful staff. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Reception staff upgraded us on arrival which was very kind of them and a lovely gesture as we were spending our wedding anniversary in the city. Staff were also more than happy to keep our bags in a safe place until we could check in. Hotel location could not be better for enjoying Dublin City with great eating/drinking venues in comfortable walking distance Room facilities are excellent, very clean and bed was fantastic for a good nights sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel located in a fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The hotel is located in the popular Temple Bar area and situated next to a lively bar...because of this and the fact that we were staying over a Friday and Saturday night we did have a bit of noise coming into the room from the music and bar patrons until about 0300 in the morning. 2. While the WiFi was free throughout the hotel, I found it to be very slow and had to rely on using my cell phone service to have a faster connection when looking things up on the Web. 3. Thought the breakfast price was a little expensive (about 16 euro per person). Ended up going to Costa Coffee around the corner or McDonald's to get something a little cheaper and quicker.

    I stayed at the Clarence from 1-4 September 2017. I found the hotel to be very clean and the front desk staff friendly. The room was a little small, but not too small to be comfortable for two people to enjoy. The bed provided an excellent nights sleep as it was just the right softness and the water pressure in the bathroom was excellent. The location was fantastic for those who want to be right in the mix of Dublin, Temple Bar area and unlimited places to eat and have an adult beverage. Most of the major tourist attractions like Christ Church, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin Castle, and the Guinness Storehouse (just to name a few) are within easy walking distance from the hotel. I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin in the future who wants to stay in a central location close to all the action.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Lets just say been here many times and already planning my next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast superb, especially when brought to the room at time requested. Staff professional but friendly and happy to help. Octagon bar an amazing place to relax. Location out of this world. Hotel spotless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    OK but we are not coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food choices were very limited as im coeliac and the portion size of my meal was very mean. also i was served a cocktail in the bar in a water glass so thumbs down.

    i had an omelette for breakfast which i enjoyed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Room was large and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very noisy at night from adjacent bars etc. Loud music continued to early morning which made sleeping very difficult.

    Room was large and well equipped. Only booked a double room but was provided with a suite. Location was excellent alongside the river and next to the Temple Bar area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    A oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The junkies that are always on the quays in dublin outside the hotel

    Staff were just right , we asked them to book us a dinner somewhere not posh and we had a very nice meal at the winding stair .bed was very nice . Its lovely and quiet , if u want action its just around the corner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    In the heart of Temple Bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff never really responded to my request for an additional suitcase stand for the room. Part of the problem,I believe, was a language barrier, as most of the staff were not native English speakers. I didn't feel they understood what I was asking for. I asked 2 different people. Also the noise level from nearby pubs can be high especially if you need to open the windows. (No central air). Bring earplugs.

    I liked the convenience of the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Stylish, classy hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one surprising omission....there were no biscuits along with the tea and coffee making facilities! Tricky to get from local car parks to the hotel with a wheelchair via the cobbled streets of Temple Bar. Would probably pay extra for the valet parking service next time.

    We received an upgrade to an excellent suite with a river view. Desk staff were polite and helpful. Huge bed was extremely comfortable. Complimentary gowns and slippers were provided too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Superb location. Free upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel feels a bit dated & not luxurious as I was expecting nothing wrong with it but maybe my expectations were too high!

    We were upgraded to a penthouse floor apartment for free! The staff were very helpful at all times

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Windows on the Liffey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You know, the art in the rooms and the public places is a little too minimal. Some daring there?

    The view from my window was extraordinary. I stayed in the Clarence my first trip to Dublin, so returning was nostalgic. I was a kid with a backpack then, so they let me have a cubicle near the kitchen. I was fine with that. This time I was upgraded to a suite on the 3rd floor, surrounded by understated luxury, with a view of the Liffey. Loved Dublin, as always, but it was hard to leave the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Good Hotel for a overnight stay travelling the Wild Atlantic Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to Temple Bar area for restaurants and good pub entertainment's

    Did not eat in the hotel as the menus was expensive. Did not use anything from the room bar due to prices

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Brilliant location in the heart of Dublin, with wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant location in the heart of Dublin, with wonderful views of the Liffy. Being an insane U2 fan, it was a treat to stay in this hotel. If you're a true fan, take note of the artwork around the hotel ;)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was unusually hot the first day and the little portable air-conditioner they had in the room didn't do much to cool it down.

    Very old hotel, still had ancient light fixtures. Beautiful wood accents. Our door key was an actual key! We had our own little balcony overlooking Temple Bar and the view was excellent. We slept with the windows open at night. Room service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Upgrade to Suite, larger room with a huge terrasse with a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upgrade to Suite, larger room with a huge terrasse with a nice view on Dublin Hyper center of Dublin, everything reachable by walk Large choice of bars & clubs just nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Staying at Bono's was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't say that there was anything I didn't like.

    We were upgraded to the penthouse at no extra charge! What a great surprise! Great view, great food, great stay! The Octagon Bar was very nice as well!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night and were advised of where we might be able to get a meal, understandable as it was about 11:00pm, we headed out and then changed our minds and decided to do a little bar hopping as it was right in the party district, figured we shouldn't miss the opportunity to visit Temple Bar. The room was clean, the bathroom was fully equipped with what would be expected and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We finished with a nightcap in the bar downstairs and the barman was great for both a drink and a chat. We'd read this cold be a noisy hotel but we didn't have any trouble sleeping, could have been the Guinness ;-)

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: