Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Coach House Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Oranmore, Ireland

#6 of 9 hotels in Oranmore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 690 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mild odour of cigarette smoke in the room

    Bed comfy but room had a mild smoky smell. Didn't have breakfast Could do with hair dryer in the room Otherwise PERFECT!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a triple room as we were two friends touring on our motorcycles. We do not share a bed. The triple room was booked and paid for on arrival as it was shown as having two beds,a double and a single. When shown to the room it had a double bed only. What's more there was no space for another bed. It was not the triple room we had booked and paid for. We complained and made it clear the room would not do. The manager was not on the premises and was not answering their phone. Every other room was occupied, including the triple room we had booked which had obviously been given to somebody else. The young waitress and barman who were left to deal with the problem were able to separate the double bed into two singles and find and fit all new bedding. They made it possible for us to stay. When the manager was contacted we were offered a substantial refund and complimentary breakfasts which we accepted.

    Well situated with parking. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. The staff we met were very helpful especially the young waitress and barman who sorted out room out after the booking had been formed up.The matter was resolved to our satisfaction by the manager when he could eventually be contacted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More than satisfied with the premises just the way they are.

    The premises were in the middle of a beautiful town near to the lovely easy to access city of Galway. Parking at the rear of the premises was perfect for my motorcycle both secure and easy access. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well furnished. I ate in the bar downstairs with again staff friendly and informative. I ate steak that night which was cooked just the way I like it. Both filling and tasty. A good comfortable sleep followed by a good breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult. When we arrived, there were no parking spaces. We had to park at a city park a couple of blocks away, then at about 10pm, when the restaurant crowds went home, we had to go out and move our car.

    The breakfast was quite good, but we expected more options, given that it was a hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is small so it was first come first served. However this did not detract from our stay.

    Lovely atmosphere and the food terrific. Waiting staff attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little soft for my liking, however thats a personal preference and not the fault of the hotel

    The proximity to all things one would need on a short break: Supermarket, convenience store, pub etc. We could easily walk to the Tesco's up the road for supplies (we were on a road trip around Ireland)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking available but the spaces available are very convenient.

    Excellent location, well presented rooms, quiet. Busy staff were very courteous and helpful throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little basic on the day we did chose to eat in the hotel, however the evening meals and service more than made up for this. There is ample parking at the hotel if you arrive by around 1pm. After this the bistro and restaurant become very busy and parking is at an absolute premium.

    The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. We had food in the bistro, which was packed from around 3pm through to 10pm (so book in advance) and the restaurant, both excellent with no concerns. We would happily stay again at this hotel, it is surrounded by plenty of local pubs and restaurants, and is a great place to explore Ireland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view of the old cemmentary. I really enjoyed it but can understand that some people could not;)

    Good value for money. In little town but in centre. Bar and restaurant downstairs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in the town, compact room, but clean and comfortable. Lift available, free wifi, tea and coffee in room. Limited onsite parking. Lovely breakfast and meals in the restaurant downstairs. Thanks for a lovely stay, would be happy to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In one room we had a double bed and a single bed added which made the room fairly tight but adequate. Single bed best suited for a child not an adult.

    Reception Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was to difficult. When we arrived the rooms had been incorrectly configured (twin beds instead of double) which they quickly and with a “no problem at all attitude” rectified. Restaurant food was excellent, one of the best carbonaras I have had, combined with great staff. Having bar food and restaurant food on the premises was very handy. Parking on the premises very handy especially in the middle of a busy street. Location is close to other fast food outlets and a short walk to bus stop for a 30 minute bus ride into Galway city. Bus runs all day up to midnight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited car parking so get there early as it fills up with people going into restaurant. Pillows lumpy, they need to be replaced

    Spotless clean, lovely staff and restaurant great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike,even the delivery driver in the car park was helpful as we were leaving.

    Good choice of breakfasts. A small cooked breakfast is a great idea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed slightly too soft but I am fussy. Nothing else.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was spotless. Very good restaurant. Great value. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night and the staff were so accommodating, they allowed us to grab a bite to eat even though the kitchen was closing. The young gentleman on the receptionist desk was exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Excellent customer service all round.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for a very reasonable price

    Great location. Handy for Galway and convenient to main roads for Limerick, Athlone and the North. Homely, spacios and clean. Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great place. Staff were very helpful, Rooms were warm, comfortable and very clean. The food in here, both evening and breakfast were very good both in quality and quantity Small but adequate car park. I would certainly stay here again if in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go looking for staff to check in, and no one to hand key to on checking out, so just left the key on the desk.

    Good location, a few pubs close by. Food was pretty good, and not too expensive (unlike the drinks, but this turned out to be a standard for the town).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basically, you cannot promise there is a car park, when you only have 8 places for 16 bedrooms, and you have a full restaurant with access to it.

    The restaurant is a perfect fit for the hotel - very good for a few relaxing days, with a

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you can find something to complain about with this property, well that's a bad reflection on you as a person!

    I was visiting a relative in Galway Clinic which is only 5 mins drive away. Hotel is perfect, spotlessly clean, great bar/Italian restaurant. Extremely good value for money, £75 for 2 nights stay for solo traveller. Oranmore has all you require within dandering distance of hotel plus private parking on site.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar man kept disappearing when we were in the bar. He wasn't friendly and made us feel like an inconvenience. We had to ask for our change as he didn't bring it back to us when we paid for our drink via table service. He also doesn't know how to pull a pint of Guinness as he pulled it in one pour ☹

    Lovely hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking in hotel total hit and miss and this is very bad point make sure it does not happen to you shower was broken and we only discovered this when we really needed it so blatantly broke so it must have being known by staff room great for 2 claustrophobic for 3 adults with no view attic type no breakfast served after 11.30 totally stupid

    location is great right in centre of that part and the restaurant in it is great and staff in restaurant very helpful also shops garage you name within a stones throw

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue but onsite parking spaces may not be available as taken by restaurant customers.

    Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. An absolutely top notch breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely large bedroom, warm and very comfortable. We arrived well after 9pm but a late supper was kindly quickly arranged in the beautiful hotel Italian restaurant. Really well located for our tour of the west coast of Ireland.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    The staff were very helpful and friendly....the room was clean and comfortable....the food was excellent .....it made our stay amazing and we will be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone in a room close by must have left their bathroom extractor fan on all night, so there was a constant noise throughout the night but other than that the place was great.

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff were lovely and the room was comfortable. Parking on site is handy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was by the elevator so noisy during the night and the shower soaked the whole bathroom floor

    Staff were great. It was spotless, well located, very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a proper bar/lounge area separate from the dining areas. Beds were quiet hard. You could hear a lot of noise from the generators If you were in the rooms at rear of building

    Lovely Staff. Very friendly and helpful. Darragh was a gem Rooms were well decorated and very clean. We Food was fabulous and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was small but suffices for what we needed. Parking does get a little crowded especially on the weekend with what I presume was restaurant guests

    The restaurant down stairs was great for breakfasts and they did great Italian food too. The location was nice and close to Galway without being in all the hustle and bustle of the city. Check in and out was really easy and the bathrooms were modern and clean. Even when the restaurant was busy you really couldn’t hear the noise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here with friends and family as I had a party across the road. This hotel is a hidden gem and the room were so nice spacious and clean. Can't wait to stay again. The staff went above and beyond for us.5 star rating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking within the hotel could have been better sign posted. We drove right past it, as although you can see the hotel from the front the parking is behind the hotel so it’s more difficult to know they have parking onsite.

    The staff was excellent and really accommodating. Lovely room, clean and well kept. Close to local amenities and large supermarket.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tge room was cold on arrival.Carpets need to be clesned and we were on first floor overlooking csr park but I tbought thete was building work going on upstairs since it was so noisy...The noise apparently was the cleaners though God only knows where the racket was coming from. Curtsins need replacement as they dont pull together to keep out the light and breakfast greasy and poor.

    Receptionist

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door wouldn’t stay open to allow access to light at night. This is a minuscule complaint.

    Staff was wonderfully welcoming. Breakfast in attached pub was ample. Decor of pub was very inviting. Rooms are spartan but comfortable for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was VERY limited and there was no provision for hotel OVERNIGHT guests to have any priority over visitors to the bar or restaurant.

    Great food in the bar downstairs. Excellent breakfast with a welcome vegetarian cooked breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 2 in the morning the staff decided to clean the exhaust fan system for the kitchen which was next/ beneath our room. So loud scraping noises woke us up. The staff were very apologetic and told us it wouldn't take much longer. So some compensation was breaky in the morning. that was nice.

    Room was well appointed, we requested a triple room so one bed was a low bunk bed, not as comfy as the others, but served the purpose.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight smell of cigarettes in bathroom, assume last guest had a few sneaky smokes as all rooms are no smoking. Cleaned daily but smell still there.

    Everything and everyone was lovely. Rooms cleaned daily. Breakfast really good and staff friendly and helpful. Good cocktails too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friday & Saturday night were noisy in Main Street. Would’ve liked carpet on floor, not wood (noisy) Bath towels were nice, just too small for adults. TV channels very limited.

    Nice modern room, big ensuite & shower cubicle. Firm but comfortable bed, lovely pillows. We had a couple of really nice evening meals in Basilico restaurant. The breakfasts were excellent too!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I appreciated a lot the breakfast. You can choose between 3 or more different kind of them. The rooms are without fitted carpet and this is very good for me, big and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The parking area is small,, and can be difficult, though we never actually had to go elsewhere, just had to to wait while somebody got a take-away.

    The croissants were delicious! The hotel was very comfortable and friendly, and the staff perfect - our thanks to them all. And I was impressed that they were allowed go home before the storm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a circle of missing paint in our room about 6 inches across. It didn't affect us at all but it did make the room look a bit worn. However, given the price, location, and other benefits of the hotel, we would certainly stay here again.

    The mattress in our first room sagged to the floor. We mentioned it to the front desk and they quickly moved us to another room with a much better mattress. The next day, we saw a new mattress being delivered to our old room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We didn't have breakfast but we couldn't complain about anything. All the girls in reception were so friendly and helpful. Location was perfect. Would highly recommend it😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on a rainy night & had a little trouble seeing the property in the dark. An additional sign would fix that & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Wonderfully friendly reception person and a delicious meal at the attached hotel. Room was very comfortable and clean with a strong, hot shower. Bathroom had additional lighting above mirror & room included tea/coffee making facilities. Located just a couple of minutes drive to join M6 makes it very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Car Park was very congested. There should be an Entry to the Car Park & an Exit to avoid congestion & confusion.

    The personal approach of the Receptionist was very friendly & efficient. She is an Asset to the Hotel. Well done!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very poor lighting in our room. Needs improvement. Bathroom was ok. Only issue was the toilet was a bit tilted.

    Great location and great paid breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled with our 34 year old son on this leg of our holiday. Our room was good, bed was a double, so not the Queen that we were used to, so one of us slept in the additional single bed. Both beds were very comfortable. Our son, who is 6' 4", was in a better room than ours, however his bed was two single beds pushed together, which came apart as he slept. He asked if he could be changed to a room with a complete double bed, but this was not forthcoming. What made up for the shortcomings was the excellent staff at the hotel who were charming and helpful. The hotel restaurant food was very good, and the breakfast choices whcih were included in the price of the room were excellent. The meals were well presented and custom cooked just right. I would recommend the Coach House Hotel in Oranmore. One more note is that being on the 2nd (upper) floor of the hotel, our room, although a good size, had an opening skylight for a window, as did the bathroom. While in Oranmore, a visit to Oranmore Castle (Norman) situated on the shores of Galway Bay is a must. This is a short walk from the Coachhouse Hotel. A drive East along the "Atlantic Way" is also recommended for the beautiful scenery. The Cliffs of Maher are about an hour (plus?) away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area and stairs carpet could be improved.

    In centre of Oranmore village so very convenient. Parking is limited but is secure off street parking. Room clean and comfortable. Food very good and staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone parked in front of our car in the hotel parking lot, and stayed there all night. Somehow this wasn't a huge concern for the hotel desk clerk, and we managed to get out of the spot with inches to spare on either side of our car. This shouldn't have been allowed.

    It was centrally located within walking distance of several restaurants, which was good because we were too late to be served in the hotel restaurant. The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would prefer a better facility for residents to sit and relax after a long day touring the area. The restaurant is the only place you can sit and extremely busy on the nights we stayed. Although reassured by staff, it seemed mainly a restaurant business and we felt we were taking a table on those waiting for food. when all we wanted was a drink and to relax. The back section near the bar should be more of a bar area where residents can relax.

    Excellent value for a 2 day stay, the food was delightful with good menu selection. Our room was clean although smaller than impression given in photos.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I were dissatisfied with a room for $300USD that had no air-conditioning and an uncomfortable bed. The only window opened above the restaurant exhaust fan. To add insult to injury, breakfast was $8 versus complementary. Granted it was race week, but that's no excuse to not cover an $8 breakfast when you're gouging on room rates.

    The location in the middle of the town was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very warm as tgere was only one small window. as I am onky 5ft takk I was not able to open it. one of the staff did it for me but that just lrt in the noise of a large air conditioner below.

    the resturant and bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very reasonable rates even during race week. Had lovely dinner on night of arrival. Close to Galway city but we socialized in local pubs where there was great music and atmosphere. Nothing not to like.

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was expensive for a basic hotel but that was because it was the bank holiday weekend and it was also the end of Race week.

    It was clean, modern and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not included but was cheap as an extra and it was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking space at back of hotel was a bit small and tight for space. I was lucky to get a parking spot.

    Nice accommodation,reasonable price and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us, it was little too far out of Galway, however there was a bus stop near by with buses running on a pretty regular basis. Room was a little small, but adequate for a one night stay

    Hotel had all you needed for a short stay, with an excellent Italian restaurant on site. Breakfast was also good, with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was limited, but after waiting for a while, somebody left and we got a space. I felt that our room was lacking in natural light, because of the small window which was quite obstructed on the outside. Very little can be done about this, I guess, but perhaps a different price point for this kind of room would be a suggestion.

    Good location for what we needed. Friendly staff. The Irish names on all the rooms is a nice touch...I haven't seen that anywhere else.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff forgot to clean our room on the second day.

    We stayed at this hotel during two days, we had a cosy room, we got two twin beds instead of a double bed but this was not a problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had only one small window, so was quite dark. It also was a bit airless. The solution to that airlessness of course is to open the window, but alas the window was right near an airconditioning unit that was roaring 24/7. If you close the window, the unit is almost inaudible and then you can sleep quietly, except then the room becomes a bit airless again. Damned if you do, damned if you don't. We had the Tara room, by the way.

    Good in-house restaurant. Rooms have Gaelic names. The emergency exit stairs face a beautiful old graveyard. Oranmore is close to Galway, and if you intend to go there, take a bus, don't take the car because parking is quite costly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that there was a fault with the boiler- and in fairness that kind of thing can happen anywhere anytime. I would recommend better signage- I had a hard time finding it.

    Staff- the lady I dealt with on reception was top class- friendly, professional and helpful- and considering the boiler broke down and there was no hot water when I wanted it it takes a lot of skill to still keep a customer happy. She's first class!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was broken and a beside light switch didn't work. Had asked for two twin beds when they gave us a king. As we checked in very late we didn't bother to ask the hotel to fix these, but the staff seemed very nice in general and I think they would have fixed it if asked.

    Was there for a night to visit Galway. Great convenient location right in the heart of Oranmore village/town. Clean rooms and great value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception very poor. Waited ages to check in. Limited car parking.

    The on site restaurant was excellent as was breakfast. Location is excellent. Overall I would return. Very friendly people locally. Availability of good wifi which is a major consideration for my daughter.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception Area poor and stair carpet grotty.

    In centre of Oranmore so convenient to shops and restaurants. Secure parking. Room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fair bit of noise during the night could be heard from downstairs, from the room next door, and from what sounded like extractor fans outside.

    Staff were helpful, room was nice and clean although not sound proof!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were late booking and we got a room with 3 single beds, no need for the fold up bed as there were just 2 of us in the room, this extra bed made the room very cluttered.

    Mainly the convenience, very pleasant athmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small car park had to park on the side of the road. Didn't find the bed very comfortable woke up with a pain in my lower back. A bit noisy but it is beside a pub so it is to be expected

    Clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms very small and lots of noise at night from the kitchen area after 10pm. Friends had to call and speak to the folks at the main desk. Elevator not working during our stay. Not a huge problem for us to walk up 3 floors but anyone with disabilities would have major problems.We stayed for 2 nights. Knowing what we now know probably would have picked a different place in a different town.

    The food at the restaurant was good but the service was very slow.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't turn on heater - could not see readings on knob and long curtains hung over heater. I don't think the Irish use heaters much from my recent 3 weeks here.

    Restaurant in hotel so did not have to go out for dinner or breakfast. Very nice and helpful staff. Good location close to N18 so easy to get to after our trip to cliffs on our way to londonderry the next day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've spent a lot of nights in hotels over the past year and the bed (firm) was the best by far. Although a single room (expectedly small) it was super well designed, to the point that it seemed customized just for me, every feature where it suited me best. And the dinner with a friend in their restaurant ... Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service on sunday morning was a bit poor as there was only one waitress and it was getting very busy as locals turned up there for breakfast too.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Nice Italian food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to do activities from Galway it is a bit tedious to take the bus that runs once per hour and it is quite pricey to take a taxi.

    Oran More is a very small community and the hotel sits in the middle of the village. The restaurant associated with the hotel was very popular and usually quite full. It was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The serving staff in both eating areas need some customer service lessons. They were slow and some were not overly friendly. They seemed disorganized as if they weren't sure what each other was doing?! They definitely have a noise issue! The tile flooring in the restaurant area causes a lot of noise upstairs in the rooms. It is like having someone moving a chair across the room right above you! We even experienced it every night between 2-4 am! When we commented to the front desk she told us it was the cleaning staff! She said that she would talk to them about it. It did improve but I feel it is something that definitely needs to be fixed!

    It was a quaint little hotel. The front desk staff were always pleasant and helpful. The serving staff in the morning were always very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy throughout the entire night. No kettle and no tv remote

    The food was nice in the restaurant and the bar staff were very nice and efficient

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the Italian restaurant. The service was not friendly and the food was not up to our expectations given the high reviews posted. It was all in all, the most disappointing of the week. I would not recommend it.

    Room was a good size. Bathroom large

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a slight comment was the TV in room. Poor channels and picture quality.

    Staff are amazing. So friendly and welcoming. Could not do enough for you. From checking in to having breakfast on our last morning was amazing. Food in restaurant fantastic and breakfast was lovely. Wifi connection in rooms and communal areas brilliant and free. Rooms on the small size but full equipped and immaculate with great shower. Should have got staff names but makes no real difference as they were all so helpful and friendly. Great location in a small village. So handy to Galway city taxi €15 and we got like a little tour guide on the way from driver. Bus service is also available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park quite limited.

    Great there was an excellent Italian restaurant and bar as part of the hotel. Staff there were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic too. Nice informal and cosy feel to the place. Laid back but everything works.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.Bus stop to Galway nearby. Coach bus stop to Dublin not too far either. Train station about 20 mins walk but only stop there at certain times.Local taxi office nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: