Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Davenport 4 stars

Merrion Square, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#56 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic, what more can I say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Fabulous luxury hotel The rooms were spacious & very clean had a good coffee machine, not the instant coffee most hotel supply. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location but a bit more attention to detail required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar. No food at all available later in the evenings and very surprisingly no crisps, nuts or other bar snacks available. No bottled water in the rooms. Also very surprisingly the bar man had never heard of a glass of kir.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    The statt topped the bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was small dark and gloomy certainly not like the photos, spotlessly clean but all the cleaning in the world would not make it bright and airy and welcoming, the hallway was the same, a work in progress if downstairs is anything to go by, the rooms from the photos must be hidden away somewhere😃 The downstairs reception area and bar have been beautifully decorated but for my daughter snd i the staff topped the billl, they alone would encourage us back, every single one of them were just lovely, At €260 for a double bed no breakfast it was an ecpensive pillow but it is conventionally walking distance to the aviva and it is THE PALE after all.

    The staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff delightful. Although I assumed it was, breakfast was not included in room rate - which was a bit irritating - and I was surprised to find a totally empty refrigerator in the room - if it was stocked, at least with water, that would have been welcome. Only other disappointment was the extremely high charge for a bottle of water in the hotel bar - 6.5 Euros - when it was on sale at Reception for 1 Euro ! Otherwise hotel was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    A very nice city centre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there's no fitness centre in the hotel.

    great location in the city centre. Walk everywhere, loads of pubs, live music and good restaurants in the area. The hotel has recently been renovated, nice decor overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable and comfortable but lots of room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choice limited, especially for vegetarians and those who do not eat pork. Could have better choice for cheese platter, juices and fruit selection. Staff not as attentive to your requests. Renovations going on. Flooding in reception area. Room price not competitive. No complimentary water bottles in the room. Other 4 Star hotels do n Dublin.

    The location was fine. The building interesting, but renovations afoot which distracts from my experience. The room was good but a bit costly for the price. Staff in general polite and helpful. did ask the receptionist to send me an electronic copy of the invoice, which he promised to do but till today I have never received it. He could not do it on the spot because of some computer access reason.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Very smart hotel; super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smiles from all three staff at reception when I walked in. My room wasn’t ready (it was lunchtime), so they kindly looked after my bags until I returned late afternoon. Thank you to Laura for allocating me a room in a quiet location. The room was far bigger than I had been expecting, and was very stylishly furnished. The spacious shower room was obviously new; shower was easy to use, and the products were really nice. Location: near Merrion Square, and a short distance from Connolly train station. Grafton Street, Trinity College are a short walk away, and the National Gallery is only 2-minute walk across the street. Breakfast (not included in the rate), was budget style: a fair selection. Staff at breakfast were charming. Many thanks to Rishi (hope I’ve spelt your name correctly), for looking after my bags. Summary: beautiful, stylish hotel with great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Shiny, but not my style, however, it was a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no hooks in the bathroom to hang a laundry bag or clothing. The 2 chairs in the room were too modern. They were very hard and not comfortable. It was nice to have 2 nightstands, but neither had a clock. During our previous stays we were impressed with the breakfast choices. This time, it was rather curtailed. Our flight from USA had us arriving at the hotel around 10:00am. We were told that there was a room cleaned and available, but we would be charged E25 for early check-in. Why be charged if the room is available? We paid as we were travel weary, but it was unfair.

    The location is great. It is an easy walk to shopping and sights. The remodeling of the bathrooms was good. the walk-in shower was a plus. As we had stayed here twice before, it was a treat to see that the hot and cold faucets were now combined into a single faucet. The water pressure was great as well as the temperature control. We enjoyed after dinner drinks in the bar. It was relaxing and the waitress was very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous room, breakfast and great staff especially the bar man
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive and not nearby which is a little bit of an issue

    The bed was so comfy and we got upgraded! The place is gorgeous and rooms were huge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great up scale facilities. Loved my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one minus (though not huge) is that the hotel restaurant does not serve dinner. So plan on going out somewhere for dinner - and, there are not many places close by for dinner, so plan to head closer to city center for dinner.

    Everything in the hotel appears to be recently updated. The room was comfortable with a great bed. The staff was very helpful. The lounge/bar was comfortable with great service. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Fire alarm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the fire alarm around 3:00 am. It was a nightmare. We couldn’t sleep two nights in a row.

    There was a problem with the fire alarm around 3:00. It was a nightmare. We couldn’t sleep two nights in a row.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Close enough to the city centre, if you don’t mind some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t as comfortable as I would have liked but sufficient for a one night stay and someone who doesn’t plan on staying in the room a lot.

    Close enough to the city centre, if you don’t mind some walking, so a good area! Had a lovely bar with really friendly staff. Room was exceptionally clean. Had a little kettle and tea bags in the room which I really liked. (I’ve stayed in quite a few hotels without this)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    All in all a good hotel but a bit over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the rooms could be a bit better..some broken handles and chipped tables. Gym was unavailable but they allowed us to use the gym in their sister property bang across the road. The gym there was very good. No restaurant or food available on the premise. Only breakfast.

    Well located. Very polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Surprising and disappointing. Normally Dublin Hotels while expensive, are good, friendly and hearty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - There was building-work going-on that they didn't warn me about and from 7am the builders were in the room above me. - I like it quiet at night, but had the constant hum of air conditioning, even though I switched it off in my room - The breakfast was the worst I can remember. I am a VERY frequent traveller, and the one thing you can count on in Hotels around the world is a good breakfast... but bacon with blue bits on, runny scrambled eggs, no nice pastries...

    - Nice room and good hotel location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gave us the wrong room - booked for 3 adults but put in a double room ( very nice) with no place for a third bed!!! Issued wasn’t sorted until 10.50pm & bed in second room was smaller- also no help given when moving room

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    the restaurant was not working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restaurant was not working. we could only get breakfast there. no dinner, no room service. we should have been advised of that before our stay. the parking is also difficult to get into as the boom system was not working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    An hotel in a historical building that can make travel to the times of the steam boats!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A discount at check-in would have been nice, since there was renovations going on.

    Amazing room and splendid location! We were notified in advance about the renovations in the Hotel! The best breakfast of the entire trip!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Rooms and bathrooms updated and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satish in the restaurant was terribly rude. Barbara in the restaurant was very pleasant and helpful.

    Rooms and bathrooms updated and clean. Nice location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    The location was excellent for restuarants,bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area refurbished to modern standard but we we're designated a pre refurbished room which was far from satisfactory.The noise from present refurbishing directly above us continued from 9am to 6pm .

    The location was excellent for restuarants,bars and sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't find fault with anything .if I was to comment on anything it would be the self service breakfast area in the dining room it could do with a bit more space

    The Bed was really comfortable theroom was beautiful all newly decorated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, at walking distance of all the major sites. The hotel looks brand new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The error fire alarm in the middle of the night due to an electrical problem. Thankfully we were granted a refund.

    Great location, beautifully decorated, looks brand new, good breakfast. The scones were delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm went off 4 times during Saturday night. Staff didn't know why or what to do. Immediate scalding hot water at high pressure from bathroom taps. Double bed jammed into corner so you could obly get out clambering over partner. Not good in middle of night. Service at breakfast very slow, food not replenished in timely manner, toaster broken. Advertised for tour bus tickets but had none left.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice room with the ambience of the old hotel and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unprofessional and unorganized staff unable to answer questions or answering questions wrongly

    Nice room with the ambience of the old hotel and comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location but rooms a bit dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dated and the bathroom was a bit shabby but I believe they are refurbishing at the minute. No restaurant in the hotel was a minor inconvenience.

    Great central location and very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged 5 euros too much for parking.Was in a hurry had no time to go and see about it.

    Hotel decor, great shower and central position.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.5
    Great hotel great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a king size room the room was small with not much free space

    Great staff Room finishes was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t stay long enough

    Everything from the staff to the facilities were absolutely top notch

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Newly renovated and amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor, but reasonably priced.

    Newly renovated and amazing location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Location is perfect nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small but nice tho

    Location is perfect nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A great hotel to spend your wedding weekend and will certainly be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was beautiful as was access to Exec lounge. Really friendly staff who made our wedding night special

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, location but very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost

    Key did not work in the door. Many hotels have sorted this issue out now - it is very frustrating Huge cost for one night stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    We loved the Davenport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the Davenport. It was close to everything and there were great restaurants in the area too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated, didn't feel like a 4 star hotel room at all. The food available was overpriced.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Being in a centrally located hotel enabled us to get to the sites we wanted to see very easily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All of the staff were quite helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    No food served in the hotel in the evening
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food served in the hotel in the evening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Location n breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location n breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay - not a bad word to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refurbished executive room was stunning - so spacious and bright. The staff were kind and friendly. Ideal location in the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    Good location, though it is to the side of Merrion Square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some of the breakfast. Tomatoes never quite cooked, sausages could have been better quality, prunes were dry, not enough liquid. Hotel a bit dated in style and could do with some refurbishment, eg in lift. Soft drinks quite expensive.

    Good location, though it is to the side of Merrion Square not on it, pleasant helpful staff, good-sized warm room, bath available, lashings of hot water, kettle, safe.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    5.4
    I booked a double room but they gave us a twin room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked a double room but they gave us a twin room. They were booked out so couldn't do anything for us. For the money we paid I would expect t o at least get what I paid for.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need to be updated. Expensive room only rate.

    Bed was comfortable. Mostly, I really appreciated the quietness of our room, as I'm a light sleeper.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    10
    nice bread, and glad to have fruit salad for breakfast too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Improving the coffee would make my stay even better. I had to walk to Caffe Nero for a decent cup. I also found it difficult to moderate the bedroom temperature.

    nice bread, and glad to have fruit salad for breakfast too.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed, though the advertised 'King'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor in the room is rather old fashioned and 90s corporate. No mini-bar. Rather depressing view of the back of some flats/businesses. Not a real King-size bed.

    Very comfortable bed, though the advertised 'King' was in fact two singles pushed together. Beautiful building from the outside. Shower was pretty powerful. Very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.3
    Stylish hotel close to the city centre, Trinity college in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    it was difficult to regulate air conditioning and heating - so first night was too hot for sleeping

    Stylish hotel close to the city centre, Trinity college in municipal parks. Walking distance to all important areas, and very well communicated with other parts of the city and airport. Beds comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.1
    The hotel is a little dated but staff are nice and it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked a king but we're given a double..We then had to change rooms. To be fair they upgraded us to a suite. The window looked onto the lobby so it was a little noisy in the morning.

    The hotel is a little dated but staff are nice and it's good value for city centre. Food at lunch time in the bar was very good.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.8
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor a bit dated in places - but wasn't a deal breaker for us. Didn't have breakfast as thought it was a little expensive and could have been included in the room rate.

    Staff very helpful. Bed amazingly comfortable (didn't want to get out of it) In a good location. We walked everywhere (other than to/from the airport) but the area was nice and quiet too. Room was spotlessly clean. Well soundproofed rooms! Couldn't hear other guests at all!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.2
    The rooms were very cosy and warm which is important in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was generally a little dated. Some complimentary water in the room would have been appreciated

    The rooms were very cosy and warm which is important in winter. The breakfast was fantastic and staff were extremely helpful and pleasant

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.5
    location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast needs to be given attention. Food was cold due to poor self service storage. Nice staff in dining room.

    location good.Comfortable accommodation. Good value for money,

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    Good location, exceptional staff, building (old theatre) of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Good location, exceptional staff, building (old theatre) of character. Traditional values. Breakfast was top dollar, when they didn't serve salmon, head waitress went to to a sister hotel and got some!!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    8.3
    Location was great for our family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location was great for our family...a short walk to Temple Bar but nice to come back to a quiet spot. Also great to have an awesome pub next door. The staff gave great recommendations.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    6.7
    Staff very friendly beds very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not enough seating or a nice lounge area to sit and relax in.Food wasn't anything to get excited about,my husband was given a code for the hotel car park but wasn't told that if there were no spaces he would have to use a lift to go down to the bottom floor?????????

    Staff very friendly beds very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    We traveled with older children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We traveled with older children ( 20 years +) and grandchildren. We all had a fantastic time. Thank you to all staff. Regards, Lawson Burnett

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.2
    excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    to see no fridge in the room was unusual for a hotel of such high standart.

    excellent hotel. comfortable room, polite and very friendly staff. great breakfast! location could not be better. Central yet quiet. Set in a beautiful old building.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    The location was superb, everything was within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was superb, everything was within walking distance. The staff were lovely and really helpful. The room was really big for 3 adults and very clean. The breakfast was also really good.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    7.1
    Location, food and the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately one or two bar staff and one useless restaurant person (Monday morning)! No offer of hot drinks, no offer of alternative foods. Tuesday morning was a great deal better!

    Location, food and the room.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.8
    The friendly staff, lovely breakfast and most important...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our bedroom was very noisy my husband didn't get much sleep due to engine like noise and shuddering through the walls Our room was on the 5th floor next to another an iron clad building with fans or air con units on top of building. When l mentioned this to the receptionist on departure she was very civil and didn't charge for breakfast.we were disappointed there were no car parking spaces probably due to marathon

    The friendly staff, lovely breakfast and most important close proximity for my daughter who ran the Dublin marathon. Staff were very accommodating with suitable breakfast at 6 a.m.lobby toilets were spotless

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    6.7
    Very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have been overcharged on the price quoted by booking.com and it is taking the hotel too long to acknowledge their error and reimburse the money

    Very well located

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    Stay not long enough have stayed before & knew what to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Feel cost for only staying there is expensive. Final cost was different to when I booked the hotel.

    Stay not long enough have stayed before & knew what to expect

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Location was great and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was great and quiet. Close to St. Stephen's green and Grafton St. Hotel was clean and nice for the price. Our room was quite large and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Good location only a short walk to main shopping,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was confusing, but luckily an American showed us the way and how to operate barriers.

    Good location only a short walk to main shopping, restaurants and attractions. Hotel staff excellent, breakfast good and food from bar very good. Old world charm.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    The Hotel is very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is aging and need major investments to upgrade and refresh it.

    The Hotel is very well located. The staff exceptional with one of the front desk taking us to the garage and explain how it work. IT is free but few blocks from the property. Room very well maintained nice linens and amenities. free computer.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    Bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Car park is hard to find, and maybe more info through the booking confirmation for the car park would be helpful.

    Bed was very comfy. Staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    8.3
    Casual food in restaurant very good, service very good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buffet breakfast, too much food, some food was cold. No other option at hotel for breakfast. Buffet breakfast was over-priced

    Casual food in restaurant very good, service very good, friendly people

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    This is a lovely hotel with a luxurious feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a lovely hotel with a luxurious feel. My room was spacious with a comfortable bed and fine linens. The bathroom was large and the shower excellent. Staff was friendly and helpful. And the Irish Stew in the pub was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.5
    I loved where the hotel is located and how lovely the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room service didn't answer the phone.

    I loved where the hotel is located and how lovely the staff where. The beds are to die for, the best sleep I have had in around 2 years.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.0
    The Davenport is in a fantastic location in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel shows signs of wear and tear. Too expensive normally unless you get a special deal.

    The Davenport is in a fantastic location in the centre of Dublin. Staff are friendly enough and rooms large and comfortable. Lovely imposing facade and entrance. Far too expensive considering it requires a lot of extra maintenance.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.5
    The location played large amount in decision to stay .
    • Couple

    Have paid same price and got more in Dublin so will always shop around

    The location played large amount in decision to stay ... Not as 4star as the ratings would suggest ... But good staff good facilities clean room and comfortable bed overall pleasing feel and would stay again would just check for special offers

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel in the centre of a beautiful city, short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel in the centre of a beautiful city, short walk to city centre, helpful staff, lovely interior. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, will be back!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    Efficient and friendly service at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    While room facilities were fine I really didn't like the darkness of the room, finding the lack of daylight quite frustrating.

    Efficient and friendly service at reception. Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    6.7
    Great location in a great part of Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The property is very tired and needs to be updated. The carpet and furniture are marked and stained. Towels were old and rough. No facecloths were available. Bathroom had water damage on ceiling. Property should not be 4 star but certainly has potential to be with updating.

    Great location in a great part of Dublin. Easy walk to other areas. Staff extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    I LOVE EVERYTHING about it, the sofa, the two bathrooms even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think the only thing I didnt like about it was I had no one to share it with (as in friend wise) other then that I loved it.

    I LOVE EVERYTHING about it, the sofa, the two bathrooms even the alarm clock that has bluetooth so you can play your music on it.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    10
    The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable. Easy walking access to all the places we wanted to go. Parking was provided for a slight fee.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    A quiet nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, fried items kept warm in warming trays so some items dry and not very appetising otherwise lovely granola yogurt fruit pastries

    A quiet nights sleep. Great to have reasonably priced car parking in such a central location

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    8.3
    The character, the size of the rooms & the huge bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The character, the size of the rooms & the huge bed! The staff were friendly & helpful. We would stay there again as it is right in the middle of Dublin, next to the museums, gallery

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    9.6
    Allowed us to check in to room early rather than have to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Allowed us to check in to room early rather than have to leave luggage them go back. TV did not work but was fixed straight away. Nothing was a problem. Breakfast great value.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    We arrived at this hotel to be told that they couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We arrived at this hotel to be told that they couldn't find us on there system..I was panicking but the lady at reception was calm and told us it was fine.Bookings.com still had us on there system but somehow had cancelled it on the hotels.The staff were fantastic they just sorted us out with other rooms (thankgod)!!Enjoyed every minute of our stay and will be returning soon..thank you again to the receptionists

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: