Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The G Hotel 5 stars

Old Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland

#18 of 42 hotels in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1017 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and the hotel itself was just wonderful The attention to detail, and the service from the staff was exceptional. I would definitely recommend staying here, and I will again for sure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20mins walk to town but that's not really an issue. Lobby fish tank could do with a little clean. Price, but you do get what you pay for.

    Attentive staff. Really comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Espa spar thermal treatment House keeping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the bar and at breakfast was terrible. We felt ignored in the bar. We tried the bar 3 times and every time we had the same terrible service which is a shame because we were staying for 3 days and it was very convenience to come down to the bar.

    Very cool interior decoration. The 3 lounges are different décor but with terrible service. The Gigi Restaurant for dinner is a must!! Excellent food choices and great service. Great location with easy walking distance into Galway and Salthill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the dark hallways and there was no way of opening the window in our room at all just a large pane of glass very strange to have no window to open and I sent an email two days before our visit requesting some extras in our room but they never arrived bit disappointed with the hotel as they never replied to m email at all the room was very nice and clean though a bit overpriced for what you get and it's not a great location bit of a walk to the centre of Galway.

    The breakfast was very nice good selection and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor rather tired! No windows which could be opened in our Deluxe Doubke Room and Air Conditioning was not effective so the room was stuffy and very hot! We were not aware that the hotel was situated in the middle of a shopping complex and close to a main road until we arrived

    Good Breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff can’t do enough for you and extremely professional and friendly. Rooms are very comfortable and noise proof so we had lovely sleeps 💤. Loved our time there 👍🏼

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. Expected much better

    For the price I expected more. For example, breakfast was average, you had to pay to use the spa facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom were nice and comfy, and clean, curtains had holes in them, carpet was grubby not what you’d expect from a so called 5*... after paying to stay the night I later found out we had 2 pay an extra 20e to use the sauna and steam room area, this put a sour taste in my mouth! Over priced and over rated, no atmosphere! The pub across the road was much better, breakfast was good to be fair, we stayed in the 12hotel in Barna the night before and it would put this place to shame in every way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast offerings coming out of the kitchen are exceptional. However, and on a truly minor note: as we come from a coffee drinking urban culture, we found the coffee bitter (burnt beans = bitter coffee) but still better than what is offered in most Irish establishments. On two consecutive days the recycled scones were very rock like. On the third day another guest ignored my warning and later joked that I certainly was right. But, hey, not a big deal as other pastries and breads on offer were exceptional. Nonetheless, breakfast is a feast. The dining room staff is very attentive and pleasant.

    A very nice modern hotel with attention to contemporary architecture and design. The rooms and baths are spacious with large windows bringing in bright light even on an overcast day. The beds are comfortable and gratis water and in-room coffee is offered. If your room has a tub and you like a bath, these tubs are the best. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They seem to enjoy their work which makes for a comfortable experience. Nice breakfast with an abundance of choices. Be careful or you will gain weight. A short and pleasant walk into downtown Galway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors are somewhat intimidating, being long and dimly lighted. Good for a morning constitutional, though.

    The room was nice and spacious. Shower controls were easy to figure out but temperature control was iffy. Water pressure was ok. The lobby halls were impressively decorated. The colors popped out in a good way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just all a bit tired looking hasn’t changed in years of us going and the rooms are unbearably warm on first floor,no open windows,had to ask for fans

    The Spa is totally 5 star,massages and facials highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooling was not working in our room due to a problem with the damper and we had to move to another room that also did not have cooling on when we entered it.

    Spa staff were wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception on arrival, they looked like they did not want to be there and found them very blunt.pointed out it was non smoking hotel when I asked if they had a balcony. Know the irish laws hence asking about a balcony. Did not even explain or ask if we wanted to book to dine there. Must have been the leather jacket and doc martins that put them off

    The breakfast staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds super comfy. One of the best Spas I’ve ever been to. Thermal pool fabulously hot. Steam and sauna first class and relaxation room just beautiful. Cocktails and food wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is lovely but it's a bit pricey, especially considering some routine items are not included. Breakfast was included in our rate but only continental - a cooked breakfast cost an additional €17.50. And at dinner, vegetables cost extra with the main. And while we appreciated the hotel's quiet refinement, the lounge and restaurant lacked atmosphere.

    The bed was great. Staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing felt left down due to one of staff member calling with just an air can machine at 5 star hotel , after paying 300€ for a surprise night away

    Air con issues

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a bit cleaner. For a five star hotel I was surprised at the door handles had marks all over them and the lamp shade in my own room seemed to have blood on it. Also when we arrived they didn’t really give us any help with finding there facilities so we had to look around ourselves.

    I liked the staff they had great bubbly personalities. I loved the spa and I loved the bed. The hotel has a very modern look which is also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was about a 30 min walk to get into the city center but we didn’t mind getting the exercise too much

    Beautiful guest rooms and lounges/restaurant. Very comfortable bed. The service was great and the food was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom was small and there wasn't any place to put your own toiletries. There was a magnifying pedestal mirror on the counter by the sink but you would have to get down on your knees if you needed to look in it! The toilet seat was loose. I don't like the dark hallways and the whole place is looking a little dated and no longer on trend. But I have stayed in the bigger suites and I hear they are still a treat.

    We asked for a quiet room and it was perfect. It was a standard room on the bamboo terrace way in the back but had everything we needed. I had to turn off the fan because the light on it was a very bright green and would have kept me awake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. A long walk down a very busy road into Galway 2. Shabby..had a ripped curtain in bedroom 3. Disinterested, barely courteous staff 4. Badly needs refurbishing

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff so helpful and friendly and food was divine and so fresh really highly recommend it to anyone . Stayed for our wedding Anniversary made us feel so special thanks a mill G HOTEL Team keep up great work we will be back 👌🏻

    The whole package

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting 30 minutes for a full Irish breakfast which was so small. Toast came out 10 minutes later after we requested it with the breakfast. Requested drinks of a member of staff and had to wait 15 minutes, so walked up to the bar myself to collect. During the day when it wasn’t busy. Room was roasting and air conditioning didn’t work, something wrong with the heating. Had to change rooms. Tried to book the spa the day before we arrived, everything was booked out. Make sure you book at least a week inadvance of weekend bookings. Everything else was great, I wouldn’t class this hotel as a 5 star, I’m sure this will change soon. Needs better staff management.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sausages on the Sunday morning for breakfast were very pale, not fully cooked.

    Very good size bedroom. The food was very good. The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas are probably in need of a slight revamp and the quirky design and loud colour scheme may not be to everyone's taste.

    Very comfortable bedroom with nice extra touches eg glossy womens magazine and some nibbles. Great breakfast menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed here before it is not as it was the last time, charges for many things you'd expect as standard for a hotel of it's calibre. Trading off the name but not the same stay as I had there before. A nice hotel but dissapointed with the smaller details.

    Good location, nice staff, good bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is out of the city center. The room was unclean as was the sitting area on the lobby. The staff was kind of grumpy across the board.

    The bed was very comfortable. The spa was incredible!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dark red corridors, dirty carpets and sofas.

    The rooms are really spacious and the decor is trendy. A nice coffee machine in the room too. Plenty of pillows and the shower and bath were luxurious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seating was too big I felt like I was shouting across the room at the person beside me. No swimming pool. The hotel is highly price for room, but is ok for food or drinks.

    Food was very good, car parking very easy. staff were very nice and highly trained you could really see this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing their is no way you could say one thing wrong with the g hotel it's Amazing

    Room with a view the g Hotel is unreal..food staff theirs not one thing that could fault this hotel..comfort & very modern with the best location walking distance too all u would need for a good night's stay..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Left empty glasses in our room for two days, drink at bar very expensive, excessive to charge into spa area considering room prices. Generally the experience was below other 5 star hotels.

    Bed very comfy, all round good but not 5 star.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing was the carpet in the room had some stains on it, understandably as it is a light grey carpet v hard to keep clean.

    Luxury room, was fantastic loved the bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place , very good friendly staff Reception was bit slow but think had computer clitch and receptionist was flustered But just unlucky rest of stay was a+

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was fantastic here. Staff in particular stood out for me, the service from every member of staff was best I have come across. Hotel is so modern and quirky with different designs for different lounges in the bar/restaurant area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary cup cake and welcome card in room on arrival is a nice touch. The room and bathroom were a good size. The waiter service in the lounges was very good and cocktails are always worth a try. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the room were a little tired - needed limescale remover and a lick of paint. Also no mini bar, iron, hairdryer or ironing board in the room.

    The interior of the public areas were nice and staff at reception were very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In bad need of refurbishment....carpets with stains, chairs with fabric wore away, dirty curtains, shower/bath with lime scale and swollen water damaged bath panel... “definitely not 5 star standard”

    Breakfast was nice, comfortable bed & 1 o’clock check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked a shower that one can take in the hand and adjust temp. of water. don't like rain shower, found it hard to adjust temp. of water afraid of getting burned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool. The air con in the room kept going to cold after you would turn it on hot. The couchs in the room were dirty. You had to pay an extra €10 per person to use the spa each time you wanted to go there

    The cinema was close

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I was checking out there was a bill for drinks that I didn't have

    I liked the hotel it was lovely and the room and bathroom were stunning comfortable and relaxing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having been to the g 3 years ago I noticed some general wear and tear around the hotel since then that I really wouldn't expect at a 5 star. The chairs in the pink signature lounge were grubby and some a bit wobbly, the black and white carpet here was very noticeably stained. Same with the carpet in the bedroom - numerous coffee stains. Regarding the spa, I'd expect a bit more from a 5 star hotel in terms of snacks provided. Orange juice and 2 mint chocolates after our treatments. Most other spas I've been to have offered fruit smoothies and fresh fruit segments and/or mixed nuts. I'm being pernickity, but at 5 star prices I expect perfection!

    The staff were excellent - so friendly, professional and efficient. Our room was spacious and comfortable and very clean. Loved the spa! The thermal suites are fabulous and we were both very happy with our treatments. Again, staff there were professional and friendly. The food at the hotel is excellent. Broad choice for breakfast and everything we ate was lovely. Gigi's restaurant on Monday was exceptional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think for a 5star that is located just outside the city there should be a complimentary shuttle bus in and out of the city centre fir guests

    Lovely comfy bed relaxed atmosphere throughout

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel with extremely attentive and helpful staff. Food in the hotel restaurant was exceptional and the staff looked after my pregnant wife so well, especially the restaurant and Spa staff. Can’t wait for our next stay in the G, never disappoints.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was beautiful and the bed was super comfy. What a great relaxing get away even if only for one night. The spa was excellent and the restaurant was divine. Though the price was very expensive (170 for one night only with breakfast included) you pay for quality and this place had buckets. Overall a really lovely experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a complaint by any means our stay was great and we will be back but the big seats at the bar were a bit much and very far apart for conversation. But everything else was great.

    The thermal suite was great and my fiance said the spa treatment she got was incredible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing very helpful the room was unbelievable i would love to return to this hotel in the future overall I give this hotel 10 out of 10 perfect location and a great place..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was definitely cold down in the general area,maybe because it was a Monday night and the forecast was bad. Noticed plenty with coats on...

    Service was excellent and the breakfast was special..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall experience was great. Though a little disappointing to have to pay to use the spa and for only one hour sessions at a time... I loved the decor but my other half found it a bit pink!!

    Ate dinner in the hotel on the second night and the food was excellent! Really great cocktails too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room change. The first room was over looking "woodies". Breakfast cheese was old.

    The reception staff very good. Unfortunately I didn't get name of receptionist.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was okay but not 5 star standard. Also, our first room smelled of stale cigarette smoke but we then upgraded and this room was clean. Rooms are a little on the small side.

    Staff were excellent and very accomodating. The spa was amazing! I had a massage from Tanya and it was outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent from we arrived til we left. Staff was extremely helpful & went out of there way for you. My second time staying at The G & I will most definitely be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, stained carpet in room , stained carpet in lounge , don’t think it’s 5 star standard , was very excited to stay but felt it didn’t live up to the “hype” that’s attached to it :(

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 5 star hotel The hotel badly needs a face lift Entering the hotel the glass door n windows all needed to be cleaned Not the same hotel I stayed in a few years ago

    Staff were very friendly n helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool ; and wanted us to pay €40 each to go to thematic suite. Not very clean . And certain staff wer so rude . I would never stay here again. Room was looking out on a stone wall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food dreadful , bar food dreadful, manager just took no notice of left over food which was burnt .

    Loved the g hotel but the standards have dropped a lot over the past year or so .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra cost to use the spa facilities was not worth the money. We booked to use the spa thinking they limited the amount using the facility at one time however it was too cramped.

    Room was beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing bad to say about this Hotel.

    The decor was fabulous and the staff were exceptionally attentive. The food was delicious and the room was very large and comfortable with a view of the water. One of the most enjoyable breaks ever. I would highly recommend this beautiful Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like the price to include the use of the leisure centre. Did not mind booking it but in most hotels it is complementry unless you want treatments.

    The room The location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't use the thermal pool because spa was fully booked with treatments.

    Ordered rose petal turn down & candle light in room for small extra cost for special romantic occasion. Staff were so helpful & accommodating and the room was amazing & very romantic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything else was lovely

    the single bed was uncomfortable and i kept hitting my legs on the side of the bed.bedding was not changed for 4 days even though i complained housekeeping still did not change bedding it took two complaints for that to happen also pillows was not put into pillowcases properly and always looked very scruffy lastly rubbish was not taken away that again took four days for housekeeping to remove when i went to ladies toilet near dinning room,the mirrors where dirty i seen cleaner take only 2 minutes to clean whole toilets ,she used paper towels that are supposed to be used to dry wet hands and brushed around surfaces with that ,gold mirror is filthy i could not see properly . I know this seems im complaining but housekeeping should be doing their job not swipping over the surface

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival coming from a house with a broken heating system and a 4 and a half hour drive, we were put in a room I’ve cold with no heating then once I went down to reception we tried another two rooms to finally have one with heating on. Dampened the mood after a long drive.

    Friendly staff as always and a great hotel as I’ve stayed many times.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! its Perfect

    Its a Beautiful Magical place! Staff very friendly and genuine no false smiles you get in other 5stars! Beautiful Rooms and food is amazing. What else do you need?!?!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, decor is amazing as are the staff who are always very welcoming and friendly. We have been coming here for the last 6/7 years just before Christmas and hope to continue doing so as it really gets us in to the Christmas spirit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were limited and not very appetizing. Coffee was cold. We went for a spa trip and it was fully booked and we would have to pay €30 just to use the thermal spa which was also fully booked. Valet cost €10 since when do you pay for valet at a hotel you are staying at??

    The design, staff were friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    length of stay - not long enough.

    The Staff on arrival and throughout our stay were excellent. Friendly and efficient. The bed was so comfortable and linen amazing. Beautiful place. The Lounges were cosy and colourful. The hotel was nicely decorated for Christmas too. The only downside was was that we only stayed for one night. We will be back in January for 2 nights definitely. Although it is slightly outside city centre, the taxi fair was only €7 and took about 5 mins.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given a disabled room overlooking carpark. Would have preferred bathroom with a bath or regular shower/toilet and overlooking bay. Didn’t receive a bottle of Presecco that was purchased for us by friends staying. They were refunded but nothing else was offered.

    Food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too cold no atmosphere in the hotel outside the hotel was uninviting breakfast took too long and pot of tea was cold when the breakfast arrived I asked for a fresh pot when the breakfast came and I'm still waiting

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was not working in our room and we stayed for three nights all we were offered was a plug-in heater. I think for s five star hotel we should have been offered a room with working heating

    Food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got locked out our room for a period of time as the door broke. The breakfast wasn't great. I'm not a big fan of eggs. The thermal suites were limited.

    The rooms were beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The whole hotel was very beautiful and very clean. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely warm, even with the air conditioning on. I realise I should have said this to reception. When we arrived to check in at 3pm, our room was not ready.

    The staff were friendly and the facilities in the room are great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about this place what so ever!

    The rooms were amazing, extremely comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we will definitely be visiting again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the pillows... not at all comfortable or luxurious...:(. Bedroom was beautiful and linen was crisp and cosy.

    Liked everything... warm Cosy quiet and quirky ... lovely breakfast .. had dinner in the Lilac seats room... beautiful..!!! Experience Was Like being in Alice and wonder land.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to pay to use the pool...but I guess that’s to keep it relaxing and exclusive and not with people messing in the pool

    It was amazing..the room was spacious and the decor was stunning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptional, nothing was a problem, cleanliness was excellent and the food was incredible. I couldn’t say a bad word on this hotel. Really enjoyed and would recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to call reception immediately on getting to our room as I felt the room was not up to standard. Curtain rail was not holding curtain properly, bed was not very well dressed, bedside lamp did not work. View from my room was atrocious! Basically the room did not look up to 5 star standard. We were told we would have a change of room immediately! While I was very happy with the new room we were given, I was not at all happy with the attitude or manner of the gentleman who came to our room with keys for our new room. I simply wanted to show him the details of my displeasure with the room. While I did not feel I needed to justify my issues with the room, I would have liked a more attentive observation from a member of the hotels staff in order to pass on my feedback! This lack of customer service was very disappointing. Our new room was very nice and we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening. It was not very busy at the time, about 9pm. We were seated just inside the door. We both had steak and while the food was nice, I was not happy with the fact we were seated between two tables that had not been cleared or cleaned after previous diners. This surprised me and I thought that we may have arrived just after a busy service. However, the two tables remained as they were throughout our meal. I wanted to complain at the time but my partner told me not to as I had already complained about our room not long beforehand. After dinner we decided to have a drink. The staff were pleasant and courteous, but I must admit we did look at the options of booking a different hotel for the second night of our stay in Galway. It was getting late and we decided to sleep on it. Breakfast the next day was extensive and well catered. We decided not to have dinner in the hotel that night and went for a drink in a bar across the road instead. While we only stayed two nights at the G Hotel I feel very disappointed!

    The Hotel was very quiet at night. Breakfast was lovely. Clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have preferred a seperate shower to a bath & thought the bedroom decor was very bland after all the lovely bright colours downstairs & even in the hallways.

    love the decor & how quiet it was eventhough there was at least a wedding & a group on a 40th birthday we never heard a sound either night. loved the piano being played in the lounge on sunday.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The G Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: