Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Glen Guesthouse 3 stars

84 Lower Gardiner Street, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#84 of 105 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1164 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally noisy road outside with single glazed windows - earplugs are a must. Breakfast eats is tiny and gets very busy in the morning.

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    5.0
    Close to centre and price + good size family bedroom clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not a lot of choice + cannot have breakfast before 8.00am + reception staff not very professional + no heating in the bedroom.

    Close to centre and price + good size family bedroom clean in off.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice, but next time somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showerhead was not functioning, either extremely hot water drops or none at all Got the room on the last floor, no elvator

    Next to lots of pubs, nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    4.2
    A place to sleep that I would not return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colours so dark and dingy - walls and curtains in common spaces quite dirty Reception was unfriendly and unhelpful

    breakfast was delicious and wait staff friendly Bedding and bathrooms clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    5.8
    One night only thank god
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the room was up super high and when reported to reception was told that all heaters were off and did not wish to listen, waving us off. The dial to adjust the heat was broken so resulted in keeping windows open all night just to try and not over heat. Shower head seal going so water pressure low. We stayed at another Inn earlier in Ireland trip and wish we were able to go back there. Lock to door was a bit dicky as well.

    Breakfast included was ok but nothing to rave about. Breakfast staff were the friendliest employees there

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    The male waiter who served us on the morning of the 27th of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated and the carpets/curtains could really do with a changing.

    The male waiter who served us on the morning of the 27th of September was amazing. Such a friendly and polite server. Couldn’t be more helpful. A lovely smile to start the day. I am sorry that I did not get his name.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    2.5
    Glen Guest House - don’t bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, old, very shabby, very overpriced. Breakfast service was awful. The young server was trying his best but was clueless. Eggs were cold and one was slapped upside down with yoke burst. Tea cups and saucers in room were stained from previous guests. Tea spoon still sticky. Linen didn’t fit the bed. The photo attached shoes a made bed!! Shower cap stuffed into drinking glass. I could go on. Very upset by the state of this accomodation and the price we paid. Booking.com should be more honest when selling rubbish like this to overseas visitors. First time in Ireland ruined. Unhappy tourist.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.7
    Perfect for a long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom could do with an upgrade and new mattresses would provide better nights for guests.

    Staff serving breakfast was super polite and helpful. Reception kindly booked our taxi to the airport which put our minds at ease. Location was perfect, main bus stop is only 3-5 minutes walk away, bus to airport stops right in front of the B&B. Tourist information centre is right around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place to stay, but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting In room, the shower was strong but not unpleasant because there's no shower head plus the extractor fan in the bathroom was poor.

    The full fry was lovely. Really polite staff. Beds were comfortable and strong shower. Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Hot water and breakfast made up for the nose upstairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from above room was horrendous. Bed was very uncomfortable on one side.didnt sleep well as either got woken up in the night or really early in the morning Needs a new mattress in room 15.. .

    We liked the hot water which was all the time so showers were anytime . Nice white towels and bed lining. Really lovely Sophia and also the young Asian and young Brazilian man who were so polite and went that extra mile to make our stay really good.location was perfect. Very convient if you want the shops in a couple of minutes. Best location we have had on all our trips to Dublin. With breakfast also included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    4.2
    An experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was falling apart and hanging out of the edge of its cover. The sheet, which never got changed despite us asking for our room to be cleaned, had an ‘unidentifiable’ brown mark on it which was gross. There was no hot water for the shower on the first morning, when we mentioned it the lady at reception mentioned something about the boiler, but never apologised. The shower had no pressure so the water just dribbled out. The breakfast was not nice - the bacon was awful, the toast (which took three asks for it to come out) was only half cooked, the other half having clearly not been put in the toaster. The waiter was very friendly and polite though, and he was about the only member of staff that was polite. One lady at reception was rude.

    The location was good. Nice and central. Easy to walk to the main sights and the airport bus stopped right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff very rude. Poor breakfast experience on our final morning due to one very rude member of staff running the breakfast area.

    Good hotel. Clean and what you would imagine for a guesthouse. Lots of staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.3
    Nothing fancy, but it does provide the essentials at a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing fancy, but it does provide the essentials at a reasonable price, and it’s well-situated to explore Dublin centre on foot. Very easy access to and from the airport via Airlink buses.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.6
    We stayed 5 nights, paid before we got to room, would have moved if hadn't paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dingy room, if travelling with more than carry on luggage you would have to put it out on a grotty balcony!..Our room looked over a dirty/messy courtyard...Walls between rooms paper thin, can hear people talking in adjoining room. Very over priced for what is offered!

    Location of airport bus stop right outside the guesthouse entrance...breakfast was good, and bedding and bathroom clean. That was the only good I can say about this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Good central location in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold and the windows didn't seal properly. Didn't seem great value for money but all Dublin accomodation prices are expensive

    Very good central location. Right next to the Bus Stop for the 747 bus to and from the airport. Very good breakfasts but a bit rushed and crowded. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked as family of 5 and got 2 rooms in 2 different buildings which was most inconvenient. I asked to change but man on the desk said he had no other vacant rooms to put the whole family in the same building. One room was unbearably hot and also noisy. Other room was over kitchen / dining room and loud staff woke us early in the morning and then when we got to breakfast we couldn't all be accommodated on the same table. It was a disappointing experience of Dublin and the backpackers hostel next door looked more appealing then the Glen Guesthouse sadly.....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    Unprofessional staff member ruined the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member accessed us of smoking in our room saying the maid could smell it..I asked the maid the next morning who said it was not us and different room.staff should get their facts right before making such insulting accusations

    Location close to city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dublin is a beautiful but really expensive city. Accomodation is really expensive for the service that is given. The ratio quality/price is very low, for that price you get a 4 star hotel downtown Madrid

    The location is great. 5 min walking from the spire. Breakfast was good and towels are changed every day

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast was hearty and well cooked!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is listed as a 3 star property but it's not. In fairness I am aware that prices in Dublin are notoriously expensive. We had somewhere to sleep at this hotel but that's it really. We were in the annex and it's covered in pigeon poop...This is really unhygienic, surely there's a way to keep the pigeons away? The building in general is looking a bit scruffy, the shower basin was cracked, the walls were scuffed. The TV wasn't working , we were told it was temporarily out of order but after reading past posts this seems to be a permanent problem. The kettle in the room was filthy, not with calcium, with rust. The redeeming factor was the breakfast, we were greeted with a smile by the Indian waiter who gave us an incredibly friendly service so thank you to him! :) In general we were disappointed. Most of these things don't cost too much money to fix

    The breakfast was hearty and well cooked! Both the chef and the waiter gave a great service and were really friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    Could have been better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi barely worked. The TV did not work at all. The noise from the street was very loud in the rooms. All guests were expected to leave their keys with reception everytime they left the building.

    The staff were polite and relatively helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    We loved staying at the Glen. Would have stayed 2 more days, but the woman at the front desk told u
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a single thing! Everything met our expectations!

    The room was sparkly clean, and the beds were comfy. A woman in the LAST B&B told us of a museum to go experience, and it was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Overall, it met our need for a one night stay, but that was it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was up 5 flights of stairs with no elevator (& no warning). Staff at check in was friendly and helpful, but not very clear on the expectation that we leave the single key at the desk any time we went out. The man on overnight corrected us on that in a rather grumpy manner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was very close to the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was old and was still using normal keys to lock/unlock the rooms. Breakfast was nothing special: There was only one type of bread, no yoghurt, and even though the menucard said there were five teas to choose from they only had one.

    The hotel was very close to the center of the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    It was clean and tidy and very close to the city centre no...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could do with some more towels on the room and air conditioning

    It was clean and tidy and very close to the city centre no more than a 10mins walk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, nice room, but please improve entrance area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception area needs remodeling. Until we saw our room, we were not impressed. Also a long trek through a number of doors to get to the elevator and our room. A small open area on that trek could be partially covered and made into a nice patio for guests. It's only a repository for dead plants and bird droppings as of now.

    Our room had been recently remodeled and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was quite good. Convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    2.9
    Not much here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot and no air con pigeon waste in all out door areas very cramped was well away from most attractions no parking although discounted still expensive

    Not much to like but had an elevator

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Best guesthouse / hotel in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...everything was good

    It's central location in the city opposite the Airport Link bus stop.Very friendly supporting staff and comfortable clean rooms.Great complimentary Irish breakfast to start the day. Appreciate Mr Gorar's assistance at the Reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broken, the whole shower head had fallen onto my sister mid shower.

    The location was perfect, just a walk away from everything and very close to the shops and bars. The staff were really friendly, and the room itself was cute and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing and stressful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is totally unsuitable for disabled people. The main building does not have a lift so carrying heavy luggage beyond the first floor is hard work. The extension is reached by a "maze" of corridors and series of steps. It does have a lift. In our room the mattresses and pillows were uncomfortably soft. The bathroom fittings were not "fit for purpose" and our bathroom was flooded due to a faulty tap. The water was dangerously hot . No warning, neither were there any instructions concerning fire drill or reception telephone number. No chance to try the breakfast as we had to change rooms shortly before needing to checkout.

    Nothing, except the location, as we had a bad experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Location in the heart of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some extra's not available. For example although there was an iron, there was no ironing board.

    Location in the heart of the city. Rooms were ok, clean with comfortable beds. Friendly staff with a 24h reception. We most enjoyed the great breakfast, delicious French toast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly, like a home from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff greeted us and were very friendly, they made me feel safe and comfortable from the offset. They weren’t too overbearing or intrusive and were able to help us with anything we needed. The room was absolutely spotless and much more than I expected. It had a beautiful terrace with chairs to sit out on in the sun. It was quiet and peaceful even though we were close to the centre of Dublin. The breakfast that was included in our stay was lovely. I am vegan and the staff were able to meet my needs even though I hadn’t given them any notice before hand. The location was perfect for us and there was a bus stop for the airport directly outside for when we left! Cannot fault, you have a lovely business and I will definitely book again if I return to the city. Thank you :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Hope to stay again sometime
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very hot no window or extractor fan, as was the room due to hot summer weather however we were on the 3rd floor and slept with the balcony door wide open and it wasn't bad at all.

    Good breakfast with lovely staff serving it. The room 25 had a balcony and it was at the back so it was quiet, no street noise. Location was very convenient. Far enough from Temple Bar to get away from crowds of drunk people but close to the Spire. 24 hours reception. Very clean. Housekeeping staff do a great job. Dublin prices are high especially over the weekends so it was good value for about 150 euros per night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Last resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great except it was worn, old and extremely noisy. Beds were very uncomfortable as well. There are many stairs to climb, when you have luggage that makes it difficult. Every time you leave you need to turn your key in and ring the bell when you return, then ask for your key to be able to go to your room. I guess you get what you pay for.

    The location was absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.2
    It was way too expensive only 4 channels on the tv all with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was way too expensive only 4 channels on the tv all with a bad signal. The lock didn’t work properly on the door. The breakfast was ok but it puts you off when people are sending theirs back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.8
    Never again at Glen guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in another building, last floor, very hot and very small. The bathroom was indecent. Never again here. Standard for german and englush people maybe, not for italians

    The central position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    For a weekend trip we would check in again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very small and there was only one 220V plug which, unfortunately, didn´t work – therefore an adapter is needed! The Information about a blow dryer in the room turned out to be wrong as it is only available to rent from the front desk on a first come – first serve basis

    The gentlemen at the reception on arrival and departure day were very friendly, for a short trip absolutely ok, the bathroom is clean. To the city center is a five min. walk, the breakfast is very tasty super scrambled eggs. Our room was in the backyard, that was great, so quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude when trying to check in Breakfast was average Had to leave the key at reception when you left the guesthouse Place was in need of some tlc

    Convenient location do accessing the city centre and the stadium

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Avoid if possible, cheaper better places close by.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had real potential, but décor very battered and bathroom smelt like a urinal. Crack in sink and toilet bowl may explain this. Shower control very stiff and when turned on sprayed over top of the shower screen. Couldn't turn on shower without being in the shower, and took a while for warm water to run through. Breakfast very poor; toast slightly toasted one side only. Meant to be quiet room but trash lorry comes down back alley 1 am and homeless drunk right outside my window part of the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    window could not be opened (at least not easily) and the room got really hot, specially at night, making it hard to sleep (no ac)

    location, bus from the airport stops just in front of the property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location and breakfast. Look carefully before booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great! And it was a good location for walking and catching public transit.

    This guesthouse was not at all what we expected from the photos. Our first room was on the top floor and was very warm. The balcony was a door with no screen, so no airflow. The desk man moved us to a lower room, where our balcony had pigeons living on it. It was cooler, but dirtier. We were booked for five nights, but ended up moving elsewhere. It had a great breakfast though. I would not recommend this guesthouse if room space and cleanliness is important to you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast staff was really friendly and talked to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wayer from the shower smelled weird.

    The breakfast staff was really friendly and talked to the guest at their language ( atleast german and french).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Good clean comfortable room in a good location and a great breakfast included! Everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fan in room and window only opened about 10cm so it was really hot in the room. There is no lift so be aware if your room is at the top (as was ours) there are a lot of stairs!

    The beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. Shower gel and handwash were provided in dispensers. Good sized room. 24 hr reception and very secure as guy on reception had to unlock the front door to let us in. Plenty of hot water. We stayed for two nights and beds were made and towels were changed after the first night. hairdryer provided at reception at no extra charge. Close to Temple Bar - 10 mins walk. Good breakfast with lots of choice (including cooked) and the staff were very good and kept asking if there was anything else we wanted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay for Dublin exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was amazing, this street is full of guest houses, but you can walk anywhere, no need to use public transport at all. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were OK, bathroom clean. We could kept the luggage at the reception during last day, which was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Comfy bed and really warm shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small. Patio window didn't open. Breakfast was very basic.

    Comfy bed and really warm shower. Located couple of streets behind main high street (o'Connell street), roughly 7 mins walk, so quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Fine basic guesthouse
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor reception from guy at desk, not very welcoming, talking to somebody on his headset while checking me in

    Rooms towards back have balconies, good water pressure from showers, didn't have breakfast so can't comment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Ok for a short stay, good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not enough clean, the bathroom was small and with several problems at the taps and at the toilet. The window glass was dirty with birds dung.

    The position is good, the bed was confortable with many pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    it wasnt bad bad it was bearable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    said it all abov e

    not a lot rfeally no air conditioning andf window would hardly open and no lift had to carry suitcases up to the very top of the buildin

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.3
    I have nothing to say to recommend this hotel. The information provided on Booking.com is incorrect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not recommend this hotel at all. There was no plug for the wash hand basin (!), and no hairdryer in the room. When I queried this I was told there was one at reception I could borrow. this is simply not acceptable when the information advertised suggests a hairdryer is part of what is included in the price. The television in the room was archaic and unwatchable and again this is not acceptable. I asked for scrambled eggs at breakfast and was given fried, and asked for soda bread, which was on the printed menu and told there wasn't any. When I raised these issues with the person I assumed was the manager he said 'It is not important'! And finally the parking is a significant hassle and the least the hotel should do would be to provide printed instructions in advance for their guests. I would not recommend this establishment to anybody.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location for fair price. Excellent breakfast, definitely booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows were not cleaned. I would not expect that, but there was a huge gull dropping right across them and that was not a nice sight.

    Breakfast was excellent and made fresh to order. Staff was wonderful except for one gentleman who had a bit of a bad mood whenever we took or dropped our key at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient and reasonably comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced for the quality of accommodation, located a bit far from Dublin city centre (but still within a 15/20min walk).

    Room for 3 people was large enough, beds were ok (not amazing, but good enough), breakfast was included and cooked fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    A 10 minute walk to Connolly railway station but the above mentioned issues spoilt my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I asked for a take away breakfast as I had to leave the on most days before the advertised start of breakfast. This was refused point blank. The extractor fan in the bathroom was extremely noisy.

    On the day breakfast was provided it was excellent and served by attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Listening to faucets coming on and doors clamping shut and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Listening to faucets coming on and doors clamping shut and keys turning in doors way into the night. For this cost they need to install keycard system.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    I thought I was booking two single beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I was booking two single beds. Instead I got a double bed and I had to share with my son. This was unclear when I booked. I couldn't change as there were no bedrooms available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok place to stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people in reception were not very welcoming or helpful on our arrival. The toilet seat was not attached properly and the bed was not very comfortable. There was no hair dryer and the room became cold during the night.

    Location was good, handy to get to our car rental. One redeeming feature was the breakfast. There was a great selection of cereals and hot meals to choose from. I had the French toast and it was delicious. The tea was hot and the ladies serving were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Good stay close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO WiFi connection in the hotel!!!

    Clean and cosy room with comfy bed and sunny balcony. Located close to the Bus station and city center. Coffee and tea making facilities in the room. The 24h reception. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    I can highly recommend this hotel. Real value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately, wifi didn´t work except the last day. Technical difficulties.

    Friendly staff, very good breakfast. Excellent position in the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant for the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very chatty at reception desk until our last day checking out, there was a pleasant girl on duty.

    The bed was very comfy and sheets immaculate. A lot of recommendations and leaflets to browse through to get an idea of where to go before heading out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was great
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist at check-in had no manners. There was no wifi available in the room. Walls/flooors were paper thin and I could hear all the neighbours voices. The tv remote was greasy and I had to clean it before I could use it. The curtians were not blackout curtains.

    The breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Other than the noise a nice stay, its basic but value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't help individual guests and the way they behave but the room above had a very noisy guest, at 2.00am when they first checked in, you could hear every foot step,the walls and ceiling are very thin, a complaint was made, the noise soon stopped,

    Breakfast was fine,staff helpful, at first there was no heating but it was soon switched on, room clean but basic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Very affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect, the airport bus stop is just next to the hotel and you can reach most of the interesting places by foot in a couple minutes. Breakfast was included and quite delicious. Room was very big and comfortable as was the bathroom. Internet connection was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Price was quite cheap, location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Portion of the breakfast was ok but it was more traditional English than Irish. Room size was ok but it was a bit cold inside. It was no hairdryer but it was writen on the website.

    Price was quite cheap, location was great. Few minutes walk from the centre. Ideal for someone who just need a place to sleep , dont want to spend a whole day in the room but wants a bit more privatness than in a hostel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect twin room for me and my friend. Breakfast included in the price which was great! Included a cooked breakfast too. 24h reception and quiet large rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    The location was great, bus to the airport has a stop just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    “Typical Irish Breakfast” is definitely not something that anyone outside Ireland and UK could enjoy.

    The location was great, bus to the airport has a stop just in front of the guesthouse.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic but clean and still value for money.

    Basic room but clean. Great location which is close to the Train Station, O'Connell Street and therefore everywhere is accessible by walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    Functional but basic.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv and kettle didn't work properly. No signal on TV and kettle only worked if you literally kept the level pressed until boiled. Poor Wi-Fi signal - had to use own mobile data on phone. Laptop didnt work. Minimal storage in bedroom. Leaking shower, toilet handle broken and cold water tap sticking. Fire alarm activated on Wed night, no explanation given. We evacuated to courtyard with other residents but returned to our bedroom when alarm stopped 10 mins later and no sign of any staff giving instructions. Paper thin walls between room, could hear other residents talking, moving about etc. Only residents allowed in building so visitors have nowhere to wait. But if all you need is basic accommodation at a reasonable rate, then I would recommend it as it's central and cheap

    Location was excellent, very central to O'Connell street and public transport. Good breakfast with very friendly dining room staff. Secure access. Residents have to ring doorbell and be let in by reception staff 24/7. Discount for local car park approx 50%. Bedroom cleaned daily with fresh towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.4
    Good location and ok price, but still slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby; needs a lick of paint on the walls and the furniture updating. Needs housekeeping to replace used coffee cups with clean everyday. They need to make sure they have enough food for demand; they ran out of soda bread and cheese whilst we were there, and the breakfast menu was very limited as it was. Disappointing. Staff were ok but not overly friendly, they did their job and that was it.

    Central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff went out of their way to offer breakfast earlier than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave key at reception every time you went out

    Staff went out of their way to offer breakfast earlier than set times as we had to be out early for a day trip

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    room 6 was next to the road , impossible to sleep very noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room 6 was next to the road , impossible to sleep very noisy., (TV did not work but no big deal). had to insist on changing the room after asking twice? next room in the annex at the back was very good. Unless staying in the back room the hotel should not be used for business purposes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant, safe and very handy for the centre of Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much really We booked 4 rooms and shame they had not had small repairs completed before our arrival. One room had a hole in wall where door obviously had previously banged into it & another rooms sliding door had cracked pane of glass No hair dryer in the room Bathrooms extractor fans bit loud Needed an iron - however was on loan from reception

    Bright rooms Lovely warm rooms 24 Hr Reception Good Shower with plenty of hot water Central Location Helpful Staff Plenty of food at breakfast Airport bus stop right outside entrance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Warm , clean and friendly , great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the breakfast , full Irish looked great but fried egg hardly cooked and the plate cold so within two minutes everything freezing. A hot plate and a cooked egg would have made the world of difference

    We loved the heat and cleanliness , power shower and plenty of towels , very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very hot all the time.

    Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Also let us check in earlier and later. Room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Definitely good value for money, excellent location with bus stop to the airport and great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi at the back rooms was rather troublesome and unreliable. Also as we live in times where on-line security & privacy becomes important, I would prefer the access to WiFi protected by password.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. Since the day one, they were trying to accommodate my needs in terms of early breakfast what I really appreciate. Room was nice with comfortable bed and proper size of bathroom and toilet, all very clean!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked our rooms together with the veranda as husband is a smoker and last they could have a smoke on balcony

    Rooms were nice and clean and comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    heating did not work properly. all the furniture is wore out, scratches on the walls, the paint peels off. this is a place of the same level as the most basic and cheap motel in the US for $50 or less, lower end. the floor in the shower is very slippy and somehow does not dry off. you should be careful there not to fall.

    Location is convenient, very close to the bust station to the airport and railways station. tea and coffee in the room. there is a breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    This Guest House was ideal for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that the bathroom was a bit dated and the toilet seat had some chips. The toast at breakfast was not to my liking. I buy bread recommended for toasting. It is not expensive.

    The bed was very comfortable. The pillows were perfect for me - not too soft. The room was at the right temperature. I thought the lighting was particularly good. The curtains were quite impressive.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: