Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Great Northern Hotel 4 stars

Sea Road, Bundoran, Ireland

#7 of 10 hotels in Bundoran

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 923 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building and furnishings were old and tired and in need of some TLC. Breakfast was disappointing. We didn’t use the spa area as we were so uninspired by the rest of the decor. Wouldn’t stay again for that price.

    Location was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooftop view from our room and the sketchy steps down to the beach area.

    This is an amazing hotel! The view from the property was incredible! The staff was super friendly. The restaurant served good food and the bar area was relaxing. We really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to return again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better

    Huge fantastic bedrooms and bathrooms. Amazing location on its own. Comfortable sitting areas to chat with friend's, we will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just great. By far one of the best locations. Great property. I wish I had stayed longer. We will certainly return back someday soon. It was that good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food, no wifi, bed poor

    I would say it would only just make a 3 star hotel let alone a 4 star!! Whilst it looks fantastic from the outside the inside is dated, in need of repairs, paint and pictures damaged. No wifi access in room and when complained I was told it must be my device even though I could access when I got closer to reception. No fan on offer when I complained of the noise from smokers from the bar and the heat forced us to open windows. Food was poor and when we explained our child's egg was stone cold it was taken away, put in microwave and brought back without a word being uttered. I would not go back here again!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was beautiful,room was clean, shower could do with being updated,was staying as had a family wedding at the hotel,staff very friendly especially Jackie,didn't like the fact that you couldn't use your card to pay at the bar, beer wasn't good, complained about it, the bar man didn't want to know,he couldn't have cared less, food was lovely,breakfast could have been better, sausages very small, black pudding like a brick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was broken in room. Room had no hairdryer rang reception for 1 but it didn't arrive. Cleaners walked into the room 2 times on morning of check out be for the time.

    Location beside the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that the shower didnt work and the plumbing wasnt great in the toilet also mattress was dented on one side

    I got 1 euro off my stay as they didnt have change

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit shoddy with frayed towels and faulty shower door-not what I would expect for a 4 star hotel.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we first arrived we were checked into a room with the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept in but when we complained about it in the morning we were moved to another room which we were very happy with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area layout requires a more structured flow and more choice.

    Loved the setting, scenery was fantastic and the atmosphere relaxed. Ideal location between two beaches and a breathtaking walk, the location and sunny weather made our stay wonderful. Hotel was clean and comfortable despite being slightly dated in decor, staff were helpful and friendly. Would return again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small for the price. Bathroom tight and door wouldnt close. Breakfast very disappointing, just warm.

    Location is great, nice walk to town centre and beaches. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect . The staff were so nice especially the girls at reception. Couldn't fault this hotel at all... kids had a fantastic time at this hotel we will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did feel (more bf) that some waiters looked down at us at breakfast. But lovely breakfast with fantastic views most of the waiters are extremely nice :)

    Everything was great lovely hotel use of gym was fantastic good weights not just cardio :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Great Northern hotel is far from being great. The hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel as described. It’s in bad need of renovation despite rooms being done a year ago. Still using old fashion keys. Staff particularly at bar and reception bad mannered. Renovated room was of poor quality. No sound deadening around the rooms at all and at night every noise outside could be heard. Curtains throughout hotel had stains and rips in them and many windows throughout the hotel you could not see out of due to the amount of dirt on them. Obviously hadn’t been cleaned in many years. Swimming pool facilities had many health and safety issues including broken tiles, broken and splintered steps into the pool and jacuzzi temperature being so hot it would nearly scald somebody. Overall hotel outdated dirty and rough looking. Food of poor quality.

    Location and setting on the hill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is listed as a four star hotel and it most certainly isn't.

    Staff but other than that, it was a huge dissapointment for a completely ridiculous price. This hotel should not be allowed to advertise as a four star hotel. People have expectations when they book a four star hotel and make the decision to pay a bit more as a treat. I've never given such a harsh review before and the staff we dealt with were very nice, but be warned, this is NOT a four star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with water pressure in my room (too low) and with the toilet flush (much too slow)

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The carpets were deep and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and run down and in poor repair. The hotel in general is dated.

    The staff were excellent very friendly, the location was good, breakfast and bar food nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool and steam room were very good. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of everything. Stayed for dinner and the fish was excellent. Excellent location to beach and cliff walks. Nice place for a relaxing day or two.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is amazing, the staff are super, the hotel while dated is very charming...and did I mention the location, you're spoilt with incredible views of the coast and the Wild Atlantic Way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in room Swipe card wouldn't open door Had a view of a fire escape from the room Bar service shockingly slow no fault of staff

    Great location friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in our room was very limited even though it did have a window

    The location of the hotel was just perfect close to a beautiful beach. Staff in the hotel were pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was what we expected even having porridge on the menu for my other half who was impressed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in our room was very limited even though it did have a window

    The location of the hotel was just perfect close to a beautiful beach. Staff in the hotel were pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was what we expected even having porridge on the menu for my other half who was impressed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered dinner. Starters were out within 5 mins. The bacon in the salad along with everything else on the plate was in a fridge all day it was that cold. Bacon was horrible. The voluvants were not good either. Main course was OK. Breakfast was just out also.

    Staff were 100%. No complaints at all except the food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for the price the breakfast just basic no mushrooms or hash browns the smell on the carpet on the bedroom was awful wont e staying there again 4 star should be three

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The play area. The Jacuzzi. X

    A member of the breakfast staff went to the local shop to get non diary milk for my husband to put in his coffee...could not have been more accommodating and friendly!! Xxx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelled a little damp when just entered room but was clean and filled with all the necessities and more than enough towels for the whole family and aired out fine once window was opened

    So family friendly and very accommodating to our children (2 very active little boys) both in the manner with which the staff treated the children and the facilities for them...park included on site Decor is obviously old-school but is clean functional with all the appropriate facilities and nice wee extras like cosy blankets and ironing board and iron in the family room as standard As a family we had a wonderful return stay and hope for many more stays

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    false advertisment about music .it said on the poster charlie pride .on another country music persons website it said they were also playing .instead it was someone else .very disappointed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner was very small for the price they are asking , and the morning full Irish was missing the beans, mushrooms, hashbrowns ,

    the staff are really nice and very helpful , as the room was very clean ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a better view. Our room was directly over the bar. We could hear the music however, it did not go on very late.

    The bed was very comfy. The size of the room was great. The shower had great power and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroomwas great in terms of proportion but the shower needs attention and the bath board at the front has a lot of mould on it.

    The location is second to none. To get out for a walk along the coast after a day's work was a treat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was okay but this is an area where there is scope for improvement. The breakfast was a substantial with a good selection but was a bit lukewarm. The hotel was extremely busy and this may have been a factor.

    The bedroom were very modern and extremely comfortable. Also the view from our room over the Atlantic was exceptional. There is also a lovely coastal walk adjacent to the hotel. In addition, there is an adjoining golf course at the hotel with a discounted rate for hotel guests. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed - very uncomfortable aNd super old pillow! And lastly- the toilet seat! Damaged, yellowish!!! Also we didn't had water in the room . I understand every hotel is different, but basic !

    Location is good. Room in the 2nd floor is essential while making a booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Canned fruit salad not acceptable . No croissants

    The bed was quite comfy. Staff were rude . Breakfast disappointing because of the canned fruit salad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing!!!

    Fabulous service great food breathtaking scenery, had a terrific holiday experience and hope to return ? Staff very helpful too ( no complaints) only praise,!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a lot of maintenance work. When arriving we thought the building itself needing painting and looked grubby. The cups and saucers were dirty in the room so i rang down to reception to get some clean ones. Chair was broken in the room and my 4 year old fell through it. Rang down again and they came and took it away. The shower was cold and the bath not much hotter. The curtains in the room did not close fully and let in the street lights and lights around the hotel, shinning into the room, making it difficult for little ones to sleep. Noise from the other rooms throughout the night, especially the room above us. The swimming pool was freezing, although it said "heated pool" The staff in the breakfast room were not friendly at all. Just about got a hello. Showed us to our table but did not explain anything else or even take an order for coffee. Not even Happy Easter on Easter Sunday morning. cereal and bread/toast - not great for vegetarians - great if you want a fry etc No pancakes, much to my sons disappointment. Lots of things to improve on. When checking out the guy at the desk just took my card, looked at the screen and said that's it, bye. Not, did you enjoy your stay, safe journey. Customer service poor.

    Location of the hotel is fantastic. On the cliff top over looking the town and near 2 beaches and a lovely cliff walk around the headland. The large room with 2 double beds. The reception area, lobby and bar are lovely. Girls at the reception were very nice when checking in. Took time to talk to my 2 young children and gave them a little easter chocolate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parts of hotel a little run down - but they are in the middle of refurbishing so should be lovely an fresh for anyone visiting in the future.

    rooms quite spacious for a family of four, location for beautiful walks across the beaches, cliff tops was fantastic. Pool was nice and kids had a ball, it was a little small especially when half roped off for swimming lessons - but kids didn't care. Kids club suitable for smaller children. Breakfast on a menu basis however kitchen catered for every taste, just ask and nothing too much trouble. Bar lovely for something to eat and very relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that check in wasn't until 4pm wasted most of the day

    Breakfast was beautiful larger selection on offer. We had dinner in the restaurant 4 course for €30 and I have to say the food was beautiful and so reasonably price. Kids club brilliant. Staff were very friendly overall really enjoyed the stay would recommend and swimming pool was awesome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet smelled, problem with toilet seat. Overall the bedrooms were old and run down. Definitely not 4*. Not like photos on the website. On entering the room the paintwork was flaking off the wall.

    Bed was comfortable and rooms were warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The early checkout. No time to relax after breakfast and the pool. Left with damp hair because I was rushing. Checkout should be 12 and check in should be 3, not 11 And 4. Also the heat did not cone on till well after 8 we were quite cold in the morning.

    The swimming pool and food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in room we’re not offered another had to check out and drive 3 hours home to shower would not stay in that hotel again ever it’s appalling dated dump

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in bar was not acceptable for a 4* hotel . The breakfast was very very poor and the bedroom was old fashion and very dark and the bed was very small .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast temperature wasnt hot enough, Sorry but i like food scalding and hate cool eggs. Also mushrooms and hash browns would have made it a nicer breakfast. However the selection of fruit and other items was great, Mum said the porridge was really creamy and lovely.

    We were allocated a mobility shower which we had asked for but only if it was possible so delighted with that, Mum was thrilled to get a shower as we don't have this facility at home just yet. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lovely and the location but I did not like my room. We couldn't open the windows because the noise of the fans outside was terrible. The shower was very small. The people beside us complained because our tv was to loud. It was not a great experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soda at breakfast lol.

    The overall atmosphere was excellent. Staff were very friendly and informative,we were told about Wi-Fi being down up in arrival but we didn't mind as we had our own data. I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not the best Staff took other people's before even looking at us, had to get partner to ask them could we order

    Friendly staff at check in Room was lovely and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low pressure water availability on the morning we left. Couldn't shower as there was no pressure or hoy water

    Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the way the hotel has kept their original detailing on the exterior and interior of the building. The foyer seated area was very welcoming, warm and super comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was very expensive for 1 night for a family room . I think 200 euros was a bit mich for this hotel for one night they need to reduce their prices

    location was lovely and close to all amenities for the children

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lunch menu stated fresh hand made chips but they were frozen Fish was covered in a shell of oily batter soaked up by a napkin underneath - yuk! food stopped at 8pm on a Saturday night; had to beg to ask for a sandwich to be made for my elderly mother; they asked us to eat it in our room of they agreed to make it; I refused but we still got the sandwiches/pot of tea no room service Shower was broken; bath was stained; tiles broken in bathroom Taps broken in bathroom no cover on top Hairdryer not working Children running screaming in corridors breakfast buffet - aimed at children

    location breakfast - cooked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed over for the Bundoran Cara challenge and the hotel was very convenient. Such lovely views from the Hotel. Couldn't fault anything. Lovely place to relax and recover after the race and very welcoming....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was dated. Breakfast had cheap cereals, and the bed was really soft. The furnishings in the too looked really stained (ironing board) all very dated!

    Staff were very nice and friendly, the bar was nice to sit and relax in and the food was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was staying smelled bad and was not the cleanest. Both my business colleague and I availed of breakfast, sadly it was not eatable. My colleague got the small breakfast and he said it was as if it was just re-heated in the microwave. As I can not have dairy or meat I asked for some beans, when they arrived they were cold.

    The staff were friendly and were very good and doing their best to look after anyone staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they was not much to like onely the room nicewas

    breakfast was cold when came the leisure was not great all was cold that why no one was it them allso was a long walk to room for someone that not good at the walking. need more lifts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel desperately needs updated. The bedrooms are being refurbished and we were lucky to get a newly renovated bedroom. The reception area is cold, dated and not welcoming. It was so cold that we asked if the fire could be turned on and we were told that the fire has been broken for ages and its been cold in here all day! The bar food was decent but wouldn't rate the breakfast offer.

    The location is excellent and has beautiful scenery and stunning walks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold throughout the hotel, we got them to light the fire in the lobby which made it more comfortable, it’s very outdated and we ordered a family room In the hotel pictures it had 4 beds but when we got to the hotel there was only 3 and a camp bed set up. Bread was hard at breakfast but staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from window looking out on a roof. Bedroom too small and towels in bathroom too small. Toilet didn't flush properly . The foyer and bar freezing cold very uncomfortable

    The bedroom was warm bed comfortable and staff excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Utterly feel mis-sold! False advertising! We waited 90mins for a cold BLT sandwich & dry burger..the bar was full but had 1 member of staff on a Thursday. The decor & furniture is grubby & out-dated. The food is canteen like, basics! Every fry should include beans. The staff seem very drained but I can appreciate they work hard. No sky tv - 4 channels - 1 was frozen & another was news. No complimentary biscuits with coffee-a little goes a long way. We didn’t use the pool area because it was swarmed with children every time we attempted. There should be an adult period during the day.

    Massage area was the best addition to the hotel. Wonderful lady who provides excellent customer service & a beautiful setting. We enjoyed the comfort of the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in the room. Food was a big let down. And breakfast plates are far to small for the food itself. And bedroom was nice but freezing. Also moveable shower head would be much better.

    Location is fantastic. Also a good size hotel. Staff are very friendly. Its old fashioned and relaxed. And very close to the center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere was cold and chilly. The food was poor. Asked for a room with a sea view. Considering there was only a small amount of guests I was saddened to sea we were placed looking at a wall over the pool are.

    Comfort of bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather did not lend itself to walking during our stay - this disappointment had nothing to do with the Great Northern!!!

    The staff were so helpful and welcoming. Jackie on reception in particular went out of her way to ensure that our stay was most enjoyable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great hotel!!...the staff were so helpful and friendly!...the pool and gym were quiet which was very good because they are perfect for the fitness lovers!! All in all a great location if you are in the area!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower far to small. Breakfast was presented in a warm plate looking really nice but so disappointed as food was actually so cold it wasn’t fit to eat. Was offered another one by the waiter but after waiting first time around for over a half a hour then not been able to eat it the notion was well off me by then.

    Location is really good , staff were polite and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful hotel. Should only rate 2 star. No attention to finish. Would not recommend to my worst enemy. Place was freezing. Turned the heat off in January. Had to sleep with fleece on. Food was tasteless and expensive. Steam room and Jacuzzi was cold. Broken tiles. Poor plumbing. Not cleaned properly and the list goes on. Would never ever go back.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fri.Sat & Sun. The pool and leisure area did not open until late. We like to swim before breakfast and were very dissapointed not to b able to. For this reason we may not return😢

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unsure as to how this hotel has a 4* rating. Breakfast and room were both a disappointment. - No hot water - Awful central heating, room was cold - Both bathroom and shower room were very old, dated and uninviting. - Pictures are VERY misleading

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold, even though we had a family room with two radiators, they produced very low heat, so the room felt cold during the night. The pool was cold, especially for children. The breakfast, was below what I expected from a hotel of this standard, there was a microwave feel to it.

    The staff were very nice. Location. Enjoyed a nice curry in the evening at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food and great music and dancing. Breakfast was very tasty. The walk outside up back of hotel is a great walk always do the walk every time we stay at hotel and also good swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old run down hotel not 4 star standard bedding old bathroom old and unwelcoming cute in falling off grout and bath sealant black

    It's location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was a bit disappointed that the pool was cold due to the boilers breaking down and even the next day was still cold.

    beds were comfortable and we had an refurbished room which was lovely and spacious and bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. food was lovely though a bit slow of service which was due to the number of people staying at the hotel...but staff were very helpful and courteous. would definitely go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first night staying at the hotel we found that there was no heat in our room, so I approached staff working at reception and they put it on. An hour later there was still no heat so I went back down to be treated with little to none respect by staff..I was cut off very short and they told me they would send someone up and they sent a member of staff from the bar and after about 10 minutes the heat was on! Our room was excellent and was looking out over the beech and we love this but as it was windy at night there was an aerial outside our window and this kept us awake at some stages in the night but over all we would love to go back!

    The hotel was lovely, bed room was perfect size and very comfy! The food was lovely from the bar and breakfast was great in the mornings! The leisure center was fabulous and staff there was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every other leisure centre in hotel I was in opened at 6:30/7am but this leisure centre didn't open until 9am? The WIFI was poor in the room I was staying in but good in the bar. The breakfast set up was a joke the following morning. Queued for 25 mins for a table and waited 35 mins for my breakfast to come. In the evenings there is food served in the bar and restaurant, on busy morning's why can't this be the same setup for breakfast? Was supposed to be in Donegal town for a meeting at 11. But didn't make it until 11:20.

    The breakfast was lovely when it did come.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Flush lever on the toilet wasn't working great.

    Very comfortable, spacious room with a big bathroom. Breakfast was very nice. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. Parking just outside the front door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free standing shower No biscuits with the tea/coffee in rooms View from room was of a roof top and window barely opened Not informed on booking there was a wedding on that night. -music carried up to rooms until 3am. No parking available due to wedding party. Breakfast finished at 10 and check out at 11 on a Sunday. Breakfast buffet was poor- no cheeses/cold meats/scones etc

    Staff nice. Double and single bed in the twin room. Tea/coffee in the rooms WiFi good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lift was like snail going to australia, smell of paint everywhere, breakfast was a let down basically raw egg served very off putting

    the room was beautiful everything you need free wifi code given without asking

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Great Northern Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: