Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Great Northern Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Sea Road, Bundoran, Ireland

#7 of 10 hotels in Bundoran

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 931 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    4.6
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Firstly could not find the room, all the numbers are on the door frames, not facing you. The food never came after an hour in the bar, and kitchen was then closed so we left and got take away, Forgot my bedroom key going for breakfast., told girl at reception she rang household who never came after 5 minutes, had to call her again to come up and let me in. This hotel is nice, location is beautiful, the staff were all lovely but wud not return.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    Great stay in Great Northern, room was pleasant, spa then breakfast ,just what was needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything right now!!!!!

    Only stayed one night, but hotel is in fantastic postion, great walks from hotel, great views!Room was pleasantly cool on a rare hot day!!!Good range of choice at breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Great beach hill top location, with friendly staff, and brilliant facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quicker service at the bar. Bar staff were friendly, but it often took a long time to get a drink, which was a shame, because the bar is lovely.

    Staff were really friendly. Our refurbished room was fantastic, lovely and so comfy. Breakfast was nice and tasty. Facilities are really great here the leisure facilities include swimming baths, sauna,, steam and gym also. Great beach hill top location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    5.8
    Grand, but it was a 3 star stay in a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel does not compare with other 4 star hotels. Decor is out of date. The food was fine but compared to other 4 stars breakfast and bar menu were both limited. Lift not working properly. Swimming pool & pool area not clean, and health & safety issues (e.g. disintegrating cover on steps into pool =tripping hazard, black mould on the white pool surround & all over floats/swimming aids, etc.). Asked for small fridge in room (for food for small kids) and was told no! This is never a problem in any other hotel I’ve stayed in.

    Beautiful view and nice room. Good value trip. Outdoor amenities great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    WE had no problem parking the car outside the door and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant find fault.

    WE had no problem parking the car outside the door and access was very easy AS I had my Mother with me. It was a lovely room too and the food was very nice indeed. The rogue walk was lovely and beaches too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.8
    Wine in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Defenetely not 4 star hotel. Very old fashioned. Smell of the hospital. 30 degrees outside no air con in the hotel. The windows dont open properly very hot and bad sleep all night. Shower is disaster maybe 30 years old no presessue. Noises from the fan from the kitchen. Everything in the room is old. It ruined your anniversary night away. Night costed 130 euro and could not swap a room as all were taking!! Very disappointed would not come ever again. B&B would have been better quality!

    Wine in the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.9
    Bundoran break
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning and no room fan made available. The swimming pool. Jacuzzi and sauna area needs a deep clean

    Big old and lovely position hard working staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Stay was pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our stay and the fact that the weather was lovely made it better. We have stayed there before and knew we would enjoy it. The music and dancing at night was an added bonus. We ll be back again.

    this property has an excellent setting wiith golf course and sea as a backdrop. The walk around hotel is lovely. We enjoyed a lovely dinner in diningroom. Food was excellent. We wouldmhave stayed a second night but hotel was booked out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.3
    Close to all attractions and great location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to all attractions and great location Nice and friendly staff Great View Large bedroom with loads of space Substantial breakfast with good coffee Bright bathroom with lovely shower and bath

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Reception and bar staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From early morning cleaners along corridor check in not til 11 am actually opened our door twice while we were still in bed they trying to get into rooms from before 10 am .

    Reception and bar staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    The room was great and the view to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was difficult to operate. May I suggest having a set of instructions to use it. The dials on the shower were difficult to turn especiallg for people with pains. Aprt from that we were very happy with the hotel,especially the Staff. They are a credit to any hotel. Please pass on our compliments and thank them for that they did to make our visit to the Great Northern so memorable. Regards

    The room was great and the view to die for. The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.7
    Jackie the receptionist is an asset
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt that some of the hotels staff could do with a course on friendliness. Staff need to be more willing to be a lot more cheerful and look like they might enjoy working there. Few things in bathroom not working was very excited to see Jacuzzi bath in our room but it didn't work do very disappointed with that always seems same in hotels we stay in with Jacuzzis they never work 😢

    I have to say Jackie on reception was fantastic she has such a warm welcoming personality if the hotel had more Jackies throughout hotel it would be a lot better. She greeted me by my name following morning at breakfast she is a total asset to this hotel. She should train rest of staff as most of them seem pretty miserable to be working there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    6.3
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building and furnishings were old and tired and in need of some TLC. Breakfast was disappointing. We didn’t use the spa area as we were so uninspired by the rest of the decor. Wouldn’t stay again for that price.

    Location was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Breathtaking Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooftop view from our room and the sketchy steps down to the beach area.

    This is an amazing hotel! The view from the property was incredible! The staff was super friendly. The restaurant served good food and the bar area was relaxing. We really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to return again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.6
    The Great Northern says it all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been better

    Huge fantastic bedrooms and bathrooms. Amazing location on its own. Comfortable sitting areas to chat with friend's, we will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Everything was just great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was just great. By far one of the best locations. Great property. I wish I had stayed longer. We will certainly return back someday soon. It was that good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    4.2
    I would say it would only just make a 3 star hotel let alone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food, no wifi, bed poor

    I would say it would only just make a 3 star hotel let alone a 4 star!! Whilst it looks fantastic from the outside the inside is dated, in need of repairs, paint and pictures damaged. No wifi access in room and when complained I was told it must be my device even though I could access when I got closer to reception. No fan on offer when I complained of the noise from smokers from the bar and the heat forced us to open windows. Food was poor and when we explained our child's egg was stone cold it was taken away, put in microwave and brought back without a word being uttered. I would not go back here again!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    The view from the room was beautiful,room was clean, shower...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from the room was beautiful,room was clean, shower could do with being updated,was staying as had a family wedding at the hotel,staff very friendly especially Jackie,didn't like the fact that you couldn't use your card to pay at the bar, beer wasn't good, complained about it, the bar man didn't want to know,he couldn't have cared less, food was lovely,breakfast could have been better, sausages very small, black pudding like a brick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    6.5
    Location beside the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was broken in room. Room had no hairdryer rang reception for 1 but it didn't arrive. Cleaners walked into the room 2 times on morning of check out be for the time.

    Location beside the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didnt like that the shower didnt work and the plumbing wasnt great in the toilet also mattress was dented on one side

    I got 1 euro off my stay as they didnt have change

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location with friendly staff but decor and rooms need an update to maintain 4 star level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit shoddy with frayed towels and faulty shower door-not what I would expect for a 4 star hotel.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we first arrived we were checked into a room with the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept in but when we complained about it in the morning we were moved to another room which we were very happy with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.9
    Loved the setting, scenery was fantastic and the atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast area layout requires a more structured flow and more choice.

    Loved the setting, scenery was fantastic and the atmosphere relaxed. Ideal location between two beaches and a breathtaking walk, the location and sunny weather made our stay wonderful. Hotel was clean and comfortable despite being slightly dated in decor, staff were helpful and friendly. Would return again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very small for the price. Bathroom tight and door wouldnt close. Breakfast very disappointing, just warm.

    Location is great, nice walk to town centre and beaches. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a family nite away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was perfect . The staff were so nice especially the girls at reception. Couldn't fault this hotel at all... kids had a fantastic time at this hotel we will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic loved it can’t wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did feel (more bf) that some waiters looked down at us at breakfast. But lovely breakfast with fantastic views most of the waiters are extremely nice :)

    Everything was great lovely hotel use of gym was fantastic good weights not just cardio :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    2.9
    This hotel is not a 4 star hotel. It was overpriced for a bank holiday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Great Northern hotel is far from being great. The hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel as described. It’s in bad need of renovation despite rooms being done a year ago. Still using old fashion keys. Staff particularly at bar and reception bad mannered. Renovated room was of poor quality. No sound deadening around the rooms at all and at night every noise outside could be heard. Curtains throughout hotel had stains and rips in them and many windows throughout the hotel you could not see out of due to the amount of dirt on them. Obviously hadn’t been cleaned in many years. Swimming pool facilities had many health and safety issues including broken tiles, broken and splintered steps into the pool and jacuzzi temperature being so hot it would nearly scald somebody. Overall hotel outdated dirty and rough looking. Food of poor quality.

    Location and setting on the hill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    3.3
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is listed as a four star hotel and it most certainly isn't.

    Staff but other than that, it was a huge dissapointment for a completely ridiculous price. This hotel should not be allowed to advertise as a four star hotel. People have expectations when they book a four star hotel and make the decision to pay a bit more as a treat. I've never given such a harsh review before and the staff we dealt with were very nice, but be warned, this is NOT a four star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with water pressure in my room (too low) and with the toilet flush (much too slow)

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The carpets were deep and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.1
    Expensive for the dated decor and poor repair of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was old and run down and in poor repair. The hotel in general is dated.

    The staff were excellent very friendly, the location was good, breakfast and bar food nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.9
    Recommend for couples or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool and steam room were very good. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of everything. Stayed for dinner and the fish was excellent. Excellent location to beach and cliff walks. Nice place for a relaxing day or two.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, amazing views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is amazing, the staff are super, the hotel while dated is very charming...and did I mention the location, you're spoilt with incredible views of the coast and the Wild Atlantic Way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.8
    By no means a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No towels in room Swipe card wouldn't open door Had a view of a fire escape from the room Bar service shockingly slow no fault of staff

    Great location friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    A very relaxing enjoyable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in our room was very limited even though it did have a window

    The location of the hotel was just perfect close to a beautiful beach. Staff in the hotel were pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was what we expected even having porridge on the menu for my other half who was impressed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    A very relaxing enjoyable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in our room was very limited even though it did have a window

    The location of the hotel was just perfect close to a beautiful beach. Staff in the hotel were pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was what we expected even having porridge on the menu for my other half who was impressed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant night away and would go back but won't be eating on the premises
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ordered dinner. Starters were out within 5 mins. The bacon in the salad along with everything else on the plate was in a fridge all day it was that cold. Bacon was horrible. The voluvants were not good either. Main course was OK. Breakfast was just out also.

    Staff were 100%. No complaints at all except the food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small for the price the breakfast just basic no mushrooms or hash browns the smell on the carpet on the bedroom was awful wont e staying there again 4 star should be three

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable with amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The play area. The Jacuzzi. X

    A member of the breakfast staff went to the local shop to get non diary milk for my husband to put in his coffee...could not have been more accommodating and friendly!! Xxx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant family friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom smelled a little damp when just entered room but was clean and filled with all the necessities and more than enough towels for the whole family and aired out fine once window was opened

    So family friendly and very accommodating to our children (2 very active little boys) both in the manner with which the staff treated the children and the facilities for them...park included on site Decor is obviously old-school but is clean functional with all the appropriate facilities and nice wee extras like cosy blankets and ironing board and iron in the family room as standard As a family we had a wonderful return stay and hope for many more stays

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    false advertisment about music .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    false advertisment about music .it said on the poster charlie pride .on another country music persons website it said they were also playing .instead it was someone else .very disappointed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    8.3
    we had a nice chilled out time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner was very small for the price they are asking , and the morning full Irish was missing the beans, mushrooms, hashbrowns ,

    the staff are really nice and very helpful , as the room was very clean ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was convenient, comfortable, welcoming and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a better view. Our room was directly over the bar. We could hear the music however, it did not go on very late.

    The bed was very comfy. The size of the room was great. The shower had great power and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing stay in a beautiful part of the country.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and bathroomwas great in terms of proportion but the shower needs attention and the bath board at the front has a lot of mould on it.

    The location is second to none. To get out for a walk along the coast after a day's work was a treat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in an excellent location overlooking the Atlantic. Staff also very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was okay but this is an area where there is scope for improvement. The breakfast was a substantial with a good selection but was a bit lukewarm. The hotel was extremely busy and this may have been a factor.

    The bedroom were very modern and extremely comfortable. Also the view from our room over the Atlantic was exceptional. There is also a lovely coastal walk adjacent to the hotel. In addition, there is an adjoining golf course at the hotel with a discounted rate for hotel guests. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.5
    Average! Breakfast was average too! Location is perfect and staff very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed - very uncomfortable aNd super old pillow! And lastly- the toilet seat! Damaged, yellowish!!! Also we didn't had water in the room . I understand every hotel is different, but basic !

    Location is good. Room in the 2nd floor is essential while making a booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    4.6
    Location lovely but I wouldn’t go there for a hotel break. Staff very inhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been better. Canned fruit salad not acceptable . No croissants

    The bed was quite comfy. Staff were rude . Breakfast disappointing because of the canned fruit salad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel breathtaking scenery mouthwatering menu ( very well presented ) terrific time all r
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Every thing!!!

    Fabulous service great food breathtaking scenery, had a terrific holiday experience and hope to return ? Staff very helpful too ( no complaints) only praise,!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.8
    Needs maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a lot of maintenance work. When arriving we thought the building itself needing painting and looked grubby. The cups and saucers were dirty in the room so i rang down to reception to get some clean ones. Chair was broken in the room and my 4 year old fell through it. Rang down again and they came and took it away. The shower was cold and the bath not much hotter. The curtains in the room did not close fully and let in the street lights and lights around the hotel, shinning into the room, making it difficult for little ones to sleep. Noise from the other rooms throughout the night, especially the room above us. The swimming pool was freezing, although it said "heated pool" The staff in the breakfast room were not friendly at all. Just about got a hello. Showed us to our table but did not explain anything else or even take an order for coffee. Not even Happy Easter on Easter Sunday morning. cereal and bread/toast - not great for vegetarians - great if you want a fry etc No pancakes, much to my sons disappointment. Lots of things to improve on. When checking out the guy at the desk just took my card, looked at the screen and said that's it, bye. Not, did you enjoy your stay, safe journey. Customer service poor.

    Location of the hotel is fantastic. On the cliff top over looking the town and near 2 beaches and a lovely cliff walk around the headland. The large room with 2 double beds. The reception area, lobby and bar are lovely. Girls at the reception were very nice when checking in. Took time to talk to my 2 young children and gave them a little easter chocolate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing break in the hotel, great for kids and really lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parts of hotel a little run down - but they are in the middle of refurbishing so should be lovely an fresh for anyone visiting in the future.

    rooms quite spacious for a family of four, location for beautiful walks across the beaches, cliff tops was fantastic. Pool was nice and kids had a ball, it was a little small especially when half roped off for swimming lessons - but kids didn't care. Kids club suitable for smaller children. Breakfast on a menu basis however kitchen catered for every taste, just ask and nothing too much trouble. Bar lovely for something to eat and very relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Brilliant we all enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't like that check in wasn't until 4pm wasted most of the day

    Breakfast was beautiful larger selection on offer. We had dinner in the restaurant 4 course for €30 and I have to say the food was beautiful and so reasonably price. Kids club brilliant. Staff were very friendly overall really enjoyed the stay would recommend and swimming pool was awesome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    6.3
    Location was great for Tullan Strand beach which was stunning. Parks closed as out of season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpet smelled, problem with toilet seat. Overall the bedrooms were old and run down. Definitely not 4*. Not like photos on the website. On entering the room the paintwork was flaking off the wall.

    Bed was comfortable and rooms were warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.1
    Its a lovely hotel. The staff are nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The early checkout. No time to relax after breakfast and the pool. Left with damp hair because I was rushing. Checkout should be 12 and check in should be 3, not 11 And 4. Also the heat did not cone on till well after 8 we were quite cold in the morning.

    The swimming pool and food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    3.3
    Horrendous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water in room we’re not offered another had to check out and drive 3 hours home to shower would not stay in that hotel again ever it’s appalling dated dump

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food in bar was not acceptable for a 4* hotel . The breakfast was very very poor and the bedroom was old fashion and very dark and the bed was very small .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.6
    Well worthstaying
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cooked breakfast temperature wasnt hot enough, Sorry but i like food scalding and hate cool eggs. Also mushrooms and hash browns would have made it a nicer breakfast. However the selection of fruit and other items was great, Mum said the porridge was really creamy and lovely.

    We were allocated a mobility shower which we had asked for but only if it was possible so delighted with that, Mum was thrilled to get a shower as we don't have this facility at home just yet. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is lovely and the location but I did not like my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is lovely and the location but I did not like my room. We couldn't open the windows because the noise of the fans outside was terrible. The shower was very small. The people beside us complained because our tv was to loud. It was not a great experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I've stayed in, amazing location and very friendly staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No soda at breakfast lol.

    The overall atmosphere was excellent. Staff were very friendly and informative,we were told about Wi-Fi being down up in arrival but we didn't mind as we had our own data. I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay for a gig in the town
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not the best Staff took other people's before even looking at us, had to get partner to ask them could we order

    Friendly staff at check in Room was lovely and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.6
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Low pressure water availability on the morning we left. Couldn't shower as there was no pressure or hoy water

    Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    I loved the way the hotel has kept their original detailing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved the way the hotel has kept their original detailing on the exterior and interior of the building. The foyer seated area was very welcoming, warm and super comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    5.4
    it was pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it was very expensive for 1 night for a family room . I think 200 euros was a bit mich for this hotel for one night they need to reduce their prices

    location was lovely and close to all amenities for the children

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    4.2
    never again will I spend my money in such an awful place; they need to upgrade product and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lunch menu stated fresh hand made chips but they were frozen Fish was covered in a shell of oily batter soaked up by a napkin underneath - yuk! food stopped at 8pm on a Saturday night; had to beg to ask for a sandwich to be made for my elderly mother; they asked us to eat it in our room of they agreed to make it; I refused but we still got the sandwiches/pot of tea no room service Shower was broken; bath was stained; tiles broken in bathroom Taps broken in bathroom no cover on top Hairdryer not working Children running screaming in corridors breakfast buffet - aimed at children

    location breakfast - cooked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    Spectacular views out to the sea and golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed over for the Bundoran Cara challenge and the hotel was very convenient. Such lovely views from the Hotel. Couldn't fault anything. Lovely place to relax and recover after the race and very welcoming....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very nice and friendly, the bar was nice to sit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor was dated. Breakfast had cheap cereals, and the bed was really soft. The furnishings in the too looked really stained (ironing board) all very dated!

    Staff were very nice and friendly, the bar was nice to sit and relax in and the food was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    5.4
    Not a four star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was staying smelled bad and was not the cleanest. Both my business colleague and I availed of breakfast, sadly it was not eatable. My colleague got the small breakfast and he said it was as if it was just re-heated in the microwave. As I can not have dairy or meat I asked for some beans, when they arrived they were cold.

    The staff were friendly and were very good and doing their best to look after anyone staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    8.8
    Dont think it worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they was not much to like onely the room nicewas

    breakfast was cold when came the leisure was not great all was cold that why no one was it them allso was a long walk to room for someone that not good at the walking. need more lifts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    5.0
    Lovely location but hotel needs a drastic update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel desperately needs updated. The bedrooms are being refurbished and we were lucky to get a newly renovated bedroom. The reception area is cold, dated and not welcoming. It was so cold that we asked if the fire could be turned on and we were told that the fire has been broken for ages and its been cold in here all day! The bar food was decent but wouldn't rate the breakfast offer.

    The location is excellent and has beautiful scenery and stunning walks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic location but improvements needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults & 2 Children under 12)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very cold throughout the hotel, we got them to light the fire in the lobby which made it more comfortable, it’s very outdated and we ordered a family room In the hotel pictures it had 4 beds but when we got to the hotel there was only 3 and a camp bed set up. Bread was hard at breakfast but staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.1
    Good location right beside golf course. I wouldn't stay there again because it was so cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view from window looking out on a roof. Bedroom too small and towels in bathroom too small. Toilet didn't flush properly . The foyer and bar freezing cold very uncomfortable

    The bedroom was warm bed comfortable and staff excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    5.8
    False Advertising- 3* at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Utterly feel mis-sold! False advertising! We waited 90mins for a cold BLT sandwich & dry burger..the bar was full but had 1 member of staff on a Thursday. The decor & furniture is grubby & out-dated. The food is canteen like, basics! Every fry should include beans. The staff seem very drained but I can appreciate they work hard. No sky tv - 4 channels - 1 was frozen & another was news. No complimentary biscuits with coffee-a little goes a long way. We didn’t use the pool area because it was swarmed with children every time we attempted. There should be an adult period during the day.

    Massage area was the best addition to the hotel. Wonderful lady who provides excellent customer service & a beautiful setting. We enjoyed the comfort of the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.9
    Heaven beside the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No water in the room. Food was a big let down. And breakfast plates are far to small for the food itself. And bedroom was nice but freezing. Also moveable shower head would be much better.

    Location is fantastic. Also a good size hotel. Staff are very friendly. Its old fashioned and relaxed. And very close to the center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed had expected much more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everywhere was cold and chilly. The food was poor. Asked for a room with a sea view. Considering there was only a small amount of guests I was saddened to sea we were placed looking at a wall over the pool are.

    Comfort of bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    Wonderful memories were made during our stay which was made possible by the brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather did not lend itself to walking during our stay - this disappointment had nothing to do with the Great Northern!!!

    The staff were so helpful and welcoming. Jackie on reception in particular went out of her way to ensure that our stay was most enjoyable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Really helpful staff, good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Great hotel!!...the staff were so helpful and friendly!...the pool and gym were quiet which was very good because they are perfect for the fitness lovers!! All in all a great location if you are in the area!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.1
    Location is really good , staff were polite and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom and shower far to small. Breakfast was presented in a warm plate looking really nice but so disappointed as food was actually so cold it wasn’t fit to eat. Was offered another one by the waiter but after waiting first time around for over a half a hour then not been able to eat it the notion was well off me by then.

    Location is really good , staff were polite and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Great Northern Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: