Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of RIU Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4 stars

23, Upper O'Connell Street, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#43 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5979 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Would come back for another stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, location, location. Rooms were lovely, we had food and drinks in the bar and the staff there were excellent. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Super clean modern room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the front of the hotel so it was a little loud in the morning when we opened the window but it wasn't a big deal for us!

    Super clean modern room! The bed was the best thing about the stay, so comfy! Shower was so big and spacious, tea and coffee maker was a nice touch and the tv was in perfect view of bed to chill out :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Central location, friendly staff, good food, nice bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was extra and you need to be a google maps ninja expert to actually find the car park with one way streets, no cars, access only signs etc giving potential for confusion.

    Very central. Professional staff. Nice bar and welcoming atmosphere. Ample breakfast with wide range of choices, Rooms clean and well maintained,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    All staff so friendly even all of the housekeepers, One lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff so friendly even all of the housekeepers, One lady at the reception desk with brown curly hair and glasses was particularly welcoming. 24 hour check in came in hand.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in a great location but a pity about the door staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doorman was a bit rude to my partner and I, he clearly didn’t believe we looked like we were staying there and he as good as said so.

    Got upgraded because it was my birthday to a room in the college wing. It was stunning, well worth the extra money, the shower was divine and the bed was so comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very big hotel with a lot of guests but even when not busy there was no welcome greeting on booking in and receiving room card. Even on asking how she was and her day... The following morning and then next were the same. Your hotels first point of contact... Shouldn't be. On returning to hotel after midnight I didn't expect to queue at the main door to prove I belonged there. A more guest friendly way of doing this... Such as presenting key cards to reception etc needs to be looked at

    The remainder of staff were lovely. Hotel, room, food, location were all perfect. Room service staff were great, bar staff, lovely guy who brought us to table at breakfast... All great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of the room could’ve improved but still acceptable

    Good value for money. The location is one of the best in Dublin nice for business and for pleasure. Parking with a worthy rate available just behind the hotel. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff wonderful location great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love staying here and do so on a regular basis unfortunately this time we where rudely awakened at 815 by the noise of drilling that nearly shook us out of bed if maintenance is being carried out surely it would be a good idea to make sure the rooms on that floor remain unoccupied when checking out receptionist seemed uninterested Bad show Gresham

    Friendly staff wonderful location great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    In the main, disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room allocated was not of suitable quality or matching that of our booking and was not worth the €300 price tag. Moved after the first night, however this experience spoilt our stay.

    Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with main attractions nearby. Hotel room comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good with wide selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    It was the most enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful. Room was really comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good. Close to public transport/shops/restaurants. We were very impressed with our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    We have stayed before and we allways feel safe , relaxed and well looked after in the Gresham .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave .

    Accomodation was spacious , very clean and comfortable . Reception staff were friendly and efficient . Great location . Bar staff provided great service . In lobby . Grand breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was even better than we expected and is situated on a very good place of Dublin City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the first room we needed an universal possibility to charge my camera. The second room had one and that was great !

    We liked the people at the desk, because they were friendly and always ready to help. Because I am disabled we got at first a room quite far from the lift, but after explaining the problem, we could move into another room, very close to the lift. Excellent help and understanding !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Classic charming hotel in the heart of Dublin, within walking of many sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fair to poor; service was very good but coffee was among the worst I had in Ireland, making me switch to tea & many "hot items" were cold. We had a room that looked out on roof tops & alley, but at least it was quiet for a city room. I am wondering why no hotels/apartments in Ireland have queen or king beds; full beds are too small!

    Room was bigger than I expected from my last stay 11 years ago there, but overpriced. Parking was easy & convenient to leave for the country the next day. It still has some of its old time charm but I wish they hadn't tried to go so modern with the decorating downstairs- it doesn't fit the old time elegance. In the midst of a heat wave, it was very nice to retreat to a well ventilated cool room & the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    love this hotel - staff are so efficient and i will defiantley be back to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was too expensive to avail of in Hotel

    Bed was extra comfy and the hotel is just beautiful and so centrally located for what we needed. My friend said it was the most comfortable bed she ever slept in. ;) We got good value for hotel in Dublin so centrally located. it certainly lived up to my expectations

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff were so rude, called 3 times before arrival to try and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so rude, called 3 times before arrival to try and book another night to be hung up on twice, tried to charge me more than double when I arrived. Would not recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Not what I paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for box room with 2 single beds and room was not clean breakfast was just ok croissants were hard cooked breakfast was tasteless just disappointed with the Gresham experience had stayed a few year ago under different management and loved it. Was away for a birth day and thought it would be a treat spent £318 to get worse conditions that my own home also did tell staff my feelings when paying the bill was told Dublin was busy that weekend so this was why we had a high rate stayed in room 331 if your planing a stay here double check there is better b&b in Dublin and hotels for that price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice and luxurious 4 star hotel in great location in Dublin with parking. Bar was very good with a great atmosphere and rooms very comfy with quality furnishings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable with excellent friendly staff good food and prenjoy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can still be on the small size but not sure if this is a result of booking indirecall rather than through the hotel

    New owners have given the hotel and facilities and modernised it so that it is a much more updated hotel in terms of atmosphere and appearance

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and comfortable, lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nightclub over the road near the holiday inn was a little noisy on Friday and Saturday night.

    The room was lovely, beautiful bathroom and the bed was very comfy! Great air con in the heatwave!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location to tour Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cost is expensive especially when staying three or four nights.

    Staff were excellent at the Grisham. They were friendly and helpful. It’s in a great location to see Dublin. Airport bus stops right out front so take it for 7 euros. Room was expensive but we did get up graded which lessened the iimpact. Plus breakfast was included. Would stay again here when in Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location..clean and comfortable but some staff members not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of the reception staff had a limited english vocabulary and wasnt very friendly...Iwas at reception for ialmost 10 minutes speaking to her ref car parking and she was abrupt and cold..another recepionist stepped in and explained payment procedure..we asked if it would be ok to pay in euro a bit later on..this seemed to be ok but after we returned to the hotel we discovered we had been locked out of our room !! This was completely unacceptable as our car was in the parking lot and had to remain tgere till we had a ticket from reception to ket it out..so where exactly did they think we go run off too..very very upaetting considering this was our 5th stay at this hotel..we tgen had to leave sterling at reception until we could get money exchaned.(my husband had forgot to.lift his debit cards)..which was only returned to us when we produced the euros...just an embarrasing and uncalled for situation to be put in

    Thecleanliness wascto be applauded..it was excellant..the breakfast was delicious..and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not particularly helpful. They appeared under trained for the jobs they were doing.

    Great location for shopping in central Dublin. Easy to explore nearby area. Good pubs and places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time I stayed in twin room and it was so small and dark. The bathroom is a bit outdated and not good. Breakfast used to be very good and various but got worse.

    Staying in this hotel for the second time now. The location is the best and that was the reason to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Location and price 149 Euro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style was sad and dated, bad carpet, bad TV-everything was just too old and ugly

    Location and price 149 Euro Great espresso machine at breakfast, nice bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Very overpriced, do not pay over 150Euro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and sad lobby, hallways, decor, old carpet, uncomfortable beds & pillows. Breakfast lower quality items, only bad brewed coffee and stale bread that I had in all of Ireland.

    Location of Aircoach to airport is right out front, Sixt rental car next door, Trinity College & Temple Bar only a few blocks-All tour company pickups and drop offs in front of hotel or few blocks away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Hated the stay and will never be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Too over priced. Booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 young kids. Sent us to a pokey double room and when we called to reception to tell her about her mistake she was rude and was adamant we booked a double when we had the email confirming a family room. We eventually got moved to other side of the hotel which was very inconvenient with kids, pram and bags. Food was absolutely poor and was badly over priced. Safe to say we won't be back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a refit, could see that some rooms were of a better standard, room facilities & quality fine but a bit tired looking.

    Great location, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, comfortable rooms, lousy breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast. Yo-yo service meaning we get up and down to go to various buffet counters. Cooked breakfasts particularly poor, only scrambled (tasteless) eggs or fried (hard-yoked) eggs, no poached or boiled (except cold hard-boiled) eggs, no Eggs Benedict, Royale, Florentine. Service involves taking plates away as soon as it looks as though you've finished, i.e. too soon. Very noisy unrelaxed atmosphere. To be avoided.

    Excellent location in central Dublin near shops and transport. Writers' Lounge very pleasant and good service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff responded rapidly to our requests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff responded rapidly to our requests. We were in a room where the air conditioning did not function. We were at first given a fan, and later moved to a different room. This was all handled very professionally and efficiently. We also liked the breakfast. Very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Two days in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amaizing.

    The location was amaizing.Walking distance from Temple bar.Hop on hop off bus stop outside the hotels front door ,also Aircoach stop there too.Helpful staff.Got an early check in, no problem.Due to coming on an early flight.Comfy beds,clean room,spacious bathroom.Excellent breakfast.Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    One word fabalous .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Came over from Scotland to meet my Irish family who were also staying there , we had rooms directly across fm each other which was brilliant, & we checked in early , reception staff were lovely & all staff fm cleaners to senior staff all smiled & made u feel very welcome , thank u again we had a fabalous time & will definately be back 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Luxurious, special hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed in the Gresham hotel before and always enjoyed our staybwhen we have. The staff are great and very friendly. We had breakfast and really enjoyed it, the hotel is so very special and luxurious you feel pampared from when you walk in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    All and all a good experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough outdoor seating at Toddy’s. Backed onto the roof, was woken up by some type of glass bottles or containers being thrown out at 1 am

    Good location to the Dublin districts, close to Connolly rail station and great continental breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    The Gresham is a centrally located, comfortable hotel that I would stay in again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like about the hotel. I thought it was quite expensive for an overnight stay without breakfast (€280 / approx £246) although prices and availability across the city were impacted by the concert we had come to Dublin to see.

    All areas of the hotel that we saw were very well presented. It has been renovated since our last stay and looks very well. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. The bedroom itself was a little compact although adequate for our one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing. Was expecting more from such an iconic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2pm check in but rooms not ready until 3.30 - left waiting in lobby Ended up on two different floors even though two rooms requested together. No tea in rooms even though tea making facilities advertised

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Room and food good. Staff in dining room excellent reception staff poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in/reception staff very unfriendly and ignored me for a time. Spoke among themselves in there own language. Very rude and cold

    The bed was amazing. Food lovely and plentyful. Dining room staff excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great city place tonstay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small problem with sensors in bathroom. Light automatically coming on when use during night. The flight stayed on for along time. After two nights,we had it seen to and fixed.

    Location was excellent. Easy access from airport and across tonality side of river.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Overall I was disappointed with our stay, for the money we paid it just didn't match our expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are outdated for the price you are paying to stay in them. The air conditioning didn't work in our room. They charged us an extra 20 euros for the car park.

    The staff were friendly and location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in central Dublin . Great breakfast, polite helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only concern was lack of detail shared about parking

    Good value for money. Central location for sight seeing in Dublin. Hop on/off bus just outside the hotel. The car park security man was most helpful and approachable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    The staff made our stay special .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had booked one night !

    The staff made our stay special .. in a busy place they took time to be helpful & kind & upgraded our room which took us by surprise !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great localisation, strictly in the centre, very kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great localisation, strictly in the centre, very kind and helpful staff, a beautiful and extremely clean room with a super comfortable bed and a modern bathroom, You can't wish more. It was my third stay in this hotel and I will come comeback with pleasure. Perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Hotels location was great, staff were very professional and helpful, hotel was very clean, bar restaurants are brilliant and the breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Top class Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything at this Hotel. Breakfast excellent choice, great staff, folk at reservation desk extremely helpful and pleasant. Highly recommended, will be back .

    Everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    Not the best experience, would only stay again for location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con did not work in the room, only notified reception on leaving as we did not turn on till late that evening after dinner ect, however my poor 3 yr old boy was dripping in sweat, it was like a sauna. No music in the bar, no tv, no atmosphere... my boy was even told to be quiet as he was in a adult place... €5.00 for a basket of chips, but expensive! Room could do with updating, but enough space, I have been in smaller family rooms.

    Hotel was very clean, breakfast was great and a massive selection to choose from, very well stocked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Our stay was magical 😊
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I'll fault is while sitting down having breakfast the staff are waiting to clear your table in front of you too soon maybe wait till the guest have left so you can eat in peace

    Amazing staff we were looked after by Maria room was amazing we had a great peaceful stay and will definitely be returning very clean and fresh 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Good except for the above issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to have room changed as there were towels on floor when we arrived at the assigned room and then someone was able to gain access to our upgraded room early in the morning which really disturbed us . . .

    the upgraded room was excellent in every respect as was the food and location and the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay...would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disappointment I had was I had booked 2 rooms as my son and his pregnant wife were travelling with us and the rooms were in 2 different parts of the hotel - their room was in the older part of the hotel and we were in the new refurbished end - it would have been nice to have been allocated rooms together.

    Hotel lobby very inviting, customer service excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. There are car park facilities behind the hotel. Checkin was quick and easy. All of the staff were very friendly. The breakfast is amazing and we were not rushed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Not 5 star - it won’t let me change the score!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the new rooms. The door fell off of the shower onto my elderly mother when I reported this to Reception they apologised and said they would get it fixed however on return to our room a little while later the shower door was still hanging dangerously off. On check out I mentioned it again only to be apologised to again. No action taken to rectify the situation at all - it could have seriously damaged someone or killed a child as the glass door was really heavy. Beware!!! The hotel clearly used to be a lovely place to stay but it is now looking very tired and needs a revamp!!

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Old but new
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok, but needed a paint job, and why oh why do they put the tea and coffee machine in the draw.

    The lobby was lovely and the room was big, and the breakfast was hearty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way, brilliant location, stunning hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect in every way, brilliant location, stunning hotel & especially good customer services. Popcorn in the bar was a huge bonus for our 3 year old son, thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was excellent and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excessive noise from Upper O'Connell Street, made particularly apparent as we needed to sleep with windows open. Light sleepers would be advised to have rooms away from this street. Also would have been very helpful to have a supply of knives next to the toaster as side plates and knives were not on table - had to ask each morning!

    Breakfast was excellent and central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in the city centre close to lots of amenities and sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location but not as safe to walk around at night as it is during the day.

    Great location. Clean, comfortable rooms. Very helpful staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Location great, really comfy bed, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping services listed some items such as a hair straightener that was available for guests and they didnt have any...my partner forgot hers. Don’t advertise what you dont have. Apart from that all was very good

    Location great, really comfy bed, great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    I love the polite and respectful breakfast staff. The housekeeping lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a solo female traveller, small in size. When I arrived, I was dressed shabbily because I had been walkimg around since I landed in Dublin at 8 am (after over 14 hrs of flight time + transition) and then most accommodations in Dublin allow you to check in only after 2. Furthermore I was not pleased with the previous accommodation that I had booked which was overpriced for a substandard room (lack of cleanliness, ventilation etc). So in all the last minute scuffle, when I reaced the hotel I was looking shabby. The receptionist did not take me seriously.

    I really loved the breakfast. A good selection and variety of food. I feel that I had to extend my stay just to try everything that they have. Hotel stay closely resembles Radisson Blu Hotel in Alesund which I loved so much that I had been searching for the similar kind of service and comfort in every other hotel. RIU plaza The Gresham comes close. I booked this hotel at the last minute when I was in Dublin because the previous accommodation that I had booked was poor and misleading. Thankfully I was able to cancel on the spot and found The Gresham on Booking. Com. I didnt mind paying more for the comfort and cleanliness and service. Glad that I did.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Riu Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, right in the city centre. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you.

    The rooms were spotless and quite large. The room had air con, which was a god send as the weather was very warm on our visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Buffet Feast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator gave up one night and we were stuck in it for a few minutes. Was a bit worried as the alarm button didn't help. Eventually it took off again itself.

    Convenience for the city centre and breakfast buffet was amazing with great selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Best location in Dublin for access to transit - airlink to airport, Luas, busses all out front
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some night noises in room and from outside - it’s an old building and some creaks and cricks were heard at night

    Room was huge - buffet was huge as well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    It's a lovely grand old hotel that has been modernised...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a lovely grand old hotel that has been modernised to an excellent standard.The staff were friendly and helpful and it's location is walking distance to all of the city and close to airportlink bus stops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    OK. Public areas, writers bar and toddys lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on the 6th Floor access not recommended, lifts and stairs. Water not great in taps and shower area. Didn't think it was great.

    Great Location and access to everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    The only thing that is good about this hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very old. The A/C did not work, the restroom was old and to access the shower you had to climb the bathtube, so for people with any kind of disabilities or injuries it is a problem. The cleaniness of the carpets was definitely late, towels were rusty. Breakfast menu was only ok, nothing special. Missed the traditional Irish breakfast items I was expected to find in such kind of hotel. Management was ok.

    The only thing that is good about this hotel is the location. Located at Upper O’Connel St, less than one block from the Spire of Dublin. Also, almost on the corner there is a dining called Murray’s, which is an excellent place for a traditional Irish breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    The beds were extremely comfortable, the staff were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room wasn’t great, but it didn’t bother me too much as the room itself was fantastic

    The beds were extremely comfortable, the staff were so friendly and helpful and the location is great, right in the center of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    On check in we were greeted by an abrupt employee who...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in we were greeted by an abrupt employee who continually talked over us and didn’t listen to the questions we were asking. The check in experience spoilt the trip and didn’t give a good impression to our Canadian friends who were visiting. ☹️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have like to have had a bath in the room rather than just a shower (although the shower was excellent) :)

    Great location north of the river. Good bars and restaurants within just a couple of minutes (2 right next door), shopping centre within easy reach and less than 10 minute walk to get to the south side of the river (Temple Bar, Grafton Street, Trinity College etc). Staff were very friendly and helpful, even offering a complimentary room upgrade as we were celebrating a birthday. Very comfortable rooms, well looked after and all the facilities you need. Would highly recommend staying here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Background bathroom light couldn't be turned off without turning off all lights

    The Riu wow factor when you walk in. Extremely comfortable bed. Ideal location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The Gresham hotel has been my choice place to stay for more than forty years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's all above

    Enjoyed everything except for the bedroom where the bed was extremely hard, not enough covers/bedsheets, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the noises from outside below at the back of the building listening to blowers from another building. That particular bed frame caused me to hit my feet on it. Why the other room as I had no use for it at all. Past visit's were comfortable as I mentioned on checkout next morning. I will return to the Gresham on September 10 and 11 for two nights and was given a phone number to request better rooms. Thanks for asking!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    The sensor lighting in the bathroom was probably too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sensor lighting in the bathroom was probably too sensitive as any slight movement in the bed or sheets would turn it on and light up the whole room. Other than the room was perfect and it was enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good location and a lovely hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were tiny (twin) but I expect thast's normal in a city centre location where rooms are not very big!

    The breakfast was a fine array from healthy to continental to full Irish. The bar was very nice and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    This one of those hotels that go back to an era of elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a bit hit and miss other than that no complaints. Will certainly stay the again

    This one of those hotels that go back to an era of elegance. Bid comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms with enormous baths. Great big fluffy towels and a TV with a decent variety of channels. Breakfast was everything you'd like to expect from a hotel of this standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Dublin overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed many times at this hotel I was disappointed in the room which was one of the older dated rooms. I have stayed in much nicer rooms at this hotel before so for what we paid I am disappointed.

    Staff were excellent very pleasant and helpful. New refurbished areas beautiful. Faultless location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Gresham Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot, 28 degrees even with Windows left open from when we arrived at 4 o clock and all through the night, couldn't get air conditioning to turn on.

    Everything else perfect location and fabolous hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    I will return again & thanks for making my stay safe & comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive.

    Staff very friendly. Very comfortable hotel. Breakfast was the best ever, a great choice. Ideally located in the centre of Dublin O Connell Street. I felt very safe for a woman travelling on her own.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    A classic hotel in the heart of one of the world's most vibrant cities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    OK, yeah, it's pricey--not outrageous, but you can do better price-wise. And even if you pick room plus breakfast on Booking, there's still a charge for breakfast--again, not outrageous, but a little unexpected.

    One of the grand old hotels in Dublin, in the heart of the city. A small but comfortable room, clean and quiet. Pleasant, helpful staff. Hotel has a pleasant, friendly restaurant/bar on premises, but right out the door are more restaurants and pubs than you can count. We could have gone cheaper, but we're glad we stayed at the Gresham. And BTW, breakfast is an excellent all-you-can-eat buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing.. will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was horrible we would love a front-facing room next time.

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful and breakfast was delicious, we stayed for my 21st birthday trip and the staff left a little cake with ‘happy birthday’ wrote on a plate. We were on the top floor and our room was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: