Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Heritage Killenard 5 stars

Windmill Terrace, Killenard, Ireland

#3 of 5 hotels in Killenard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 692 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel with excellent facilities,our fourth visit in a year so it's obvious we enjoy staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a bit disappointed to see the menu hadn't changed since our first stay a year ago, however this was our fourth visit in a year so we obviously enjoy the hotel and food

    Excellent staff and clean rooms, evening turndown provided which you expect from a 5 star hotel but nevertheless good to see

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and amenities. Very friendly staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small thing - but had to drive around the car park twice on leaving as it is a large carpark and there doesn't seem to be any exit directional signage!

    Beautiful Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel and grounds. Room was spacious and well-equipped, but the beds were very soft. We had very slow service for dinner in the bar/restaurant, but they were very busy. We enjoyed a great round of golf.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Hotel was amazing staff and manager couldn't do enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was amazing staff and manager couldn't do enough for us, we had a wedding the next day and had a few blips they sorted it for us was so happy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and enjoyable- great place to get away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad bedside lighting. Impossible to read in bed. Please fix this. Bar food good, but considering this is a 5 star hotel, I thought it would be better.

    All the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. Hotel was spotless throughout. The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall due to meal disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant, ordered 2 steaks v poor quality, we returned both. Only offered 10% off bill and no real effort made with us by management, who was so young he just didn’t have the experience. Ruined our meal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, professional & friendly staff, great sized bedroom & fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say about the hotel.

    Lovely friendly staff and a great selection at breakfast. The Butlers chocolate left on the bed was a nice surprise. I am looking forward to going back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Our stay was very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Use of the spa was not free to all hotel guests.

    The staff were very friendly and the public areas were bright and spacious. We really enjoyed our meal in the restaurant and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Spotlessly clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Returning customers who were given a small room with twin beds. Asked at reception for larger room with double beds and told hotel full so not possible. Room was so small that I voiced my disappointment again with receptionist and she said she would see what she could do. Ten minutes later were given a beautiful room. Felt there was no need for all this as Hotel was not full and matter should have been dealt with on arrival. So disappointed as we love staying in this beautiful hotel which has fantastic facilities for a wonderful stay.

    Spotlessly clean hotel. Bar staff very good. Rooms beautiful and spa amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was first class, room bright and spacious, bed very comfortable , fluffy bath robes, beautiful bathroom . Food really lovely and all the staff, could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Very special birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Heritage made our stay incredibly special. From the hand written welcome note in our room, the fabulous day at the spa and the very special birthday meal on the restaurant. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Brill spa. Lovely hotel. Avoid walking track.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 5km walking track was a joke. I never leave a review so negative but they should not promote this until maintenance occurs and even at that, it's a waste of time. You can hardly see anything only weeds and are enclosed by trees. It takes an hour and you can't turn back once you start. (see attached photo of the start of the track) The breakfast staff should be way more attentive in a 5 star. We weren't asked for refills and they never cleared our plates. The evening menu in the restaurant is set and offers no a la carte menu. The bar menu doesn't list a vegetarian option which is also ridiculous.

    Beautiful decor. The rooms aren't exactly modern but it's very well done. Some parts may be dated...i.e., the breakfast room. It was the comfiest bed ever and really quiet during the night. Lovely piano music in the bar. The breakfast was lovely. The spa was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    If you like golf or having a spa treatment, go for it. Its too expensive if not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a 5 star hotel I was expecting a better room. Got the feeling we were shoved into a room down the end of the corridor on the fourth floor. For a bank holiday Monday you would expect the hotel to be empty so I expected to get a better room for what we paid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Not a 5 star experience. 3.5 stars more like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar seating and surrounds not clean. Bar food only ok, not 5 star quality. Hotel needs airing out particularly upstairs.

    Breakfast & breakfast serving staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor cooked breakfast. Sausage and pudding no taste. Weak tea.

    Exceptionally friendly professional staff. Reception and bar. Lovely in the SPA too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were extremely kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Nights B&B and 1 Dinner
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 small things, smell of food in the bar is a turn off (sat outside as weather was perfect) and the room was extremely warm. There is air con but it took a long time to kick in.

    Staff were extremely kind and friendly. The hotel is very beautiful, really enjoyed the spa experience and the 5k walking track around the golf course. Dinner and breakfast were amazing. Room was beautiful. Who doesn't love a fluffy white robe!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk outside to get to leisure centre/spa. Jacuzzi not working. Bar food expensive and only ok quality

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and room very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Love the hotel and amazing Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average - dry meat in the burger, poached eggs over cooked, etc. Breakfast staff forgot to bring us the milk twice and we had to remind them about the coffee and toast (Saturday 12th May)

    Staff, hotel premises and spa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything from the moment you get to the door the staffs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notting

    Everything from the moment you get to the door the staffs looked after you we had a great meal in the restaurant we are booked in to the spa the next day what a fabulous place top class thanks to Eva and all the staff in the spa very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice break from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good but the only option is to go for a set menu, which can be too much food for some people. It would be nice to have a la carte menu as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Luxurious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar menu for lunch and evening practically the same so having had lunch, did not want same choice again. Dinner menu in restaurant very pricey. Breakfast while great choice was lukewarm and bit tasteless. My husband choose egg and bacon but then had to ask for omelette to be made freshly, however it also was lukewarm and lacked flavour. Had to go outside hotel to gain access to pool which was small and functional....... would not spend a whole afternoon in it. Luckily weather was excellent so did the 5km walk around perimeter of golf course which is not owned by the hotel.... though same name.

    Luxurious room. Very clean and comfortable. Bathroom and toiletries faultless. Concierge, reception staff and porter excellent. Staff in restaurant friendly and helpful. Bar lovely with nice entertainment which was lively but one could still have a conversation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Shouldn't have to pay for spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think that guests should have to pay to use the spa - especially in this location where there's not much else going on. The service in the restaurant on our first night wasn't very good and again the food wasn't good value for money. The second day we went to judge Roy beans in the golf club and the food was amazing and service was fantastic. Overall, I don't think I'd stay in the heritage again but would definitely go back to Judge Roy Beans!

    It's a lovely hotel by all means and the staff are really nice but don't think it's worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in for any occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the nearby "Tex-Mex style" restaurant was a disaster. But that was not part of the hotel.

    Everything!! Staff: from the reception personnel, to the restaurant staff, and ending at the bell boy. Room: Large, clean, full luxury features, great view onto the golf course.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable visit. Top class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar/lounge in the Golf building could do with cleaning their windows and keeping their toilets rooms clean as certainly they needed a good cleaning. Also it took over 50 minutes for our main course to be served on Sunday evening even though no steak was ordered it was a very basic meal order which on average would take 10 - 15 minutes to cook.

    Excellent location. We really enjoyed our visited to Emo Court and Rock of Dunamaise. Andrew the Conciege was very helpful with a wealth of information of places of interest to visit locally and his personality suited his job as he was extremely friendly to my husband, son and myself. We also loved the music entertainment every evening in the lounge/bar. To be truthful we had no issues at all with The Heritage Hotel as food, staff, hotel and location all excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing no complaints at akk

    The cleanliness of the property was very good,The room and unsuite size were very big and spacious.The staff were all very helpful and friendly.I was very impressed with the breakfast.I have stayed in a lot of hotels worldwide and the choice and flavours were the best I have ever seen.My partner is a caliac and was very impressed with the choice.Overall We were very Happy with our stay and will be highly recommending it to friends and family and will be returning ourselves.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed my stay here- will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A vending machine would be handy for snacks as only nuts available in the bar and no shop close by.

    Very comfy beds. Afternoon tea was delicious. The spa is also lovely and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    I am a repeat customer- can't say much more!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer!!

    Bar food was very tasty- we both requested & got a lovely gluten fee pasta dish. Breakfast was fabulous too served by very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    looking forward to our next stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this was our 6th time back as its a lovely hotel & we are made to feel so welcome so this is why we come back ever year as we are never disappointed---my husband is a fisherman so a member of staff takes him down in a golf buggy to fish on a lovely lake on the golf course

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything was excellent regarding the property, room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to walk a bit (100m) from the hotel main entrance to the pool, sauna and spa area. It was raining heavily that morning and that was very unpleasant. We where told that the underground tunnel connecting two facilities is closed for a while now. The biggest disappointment was that when we arrived at the spa reception all soaked, the lady ask us if we need a swimming caps, and if we do, we need to pay 3 Euros per cap. As hotel guest, paying couple of hundred euros per night, you need to pay for a swimming cap ? I notice that the outside members of the Leisure center (yes, they rent to the outside members) did not need to pay for that caps, but guest need to. That was the first hotel in Europe I have been that charges swimming caps for hotel guests. However, the bathrobe and sleepers, that was provided for free, hence the disappointment.

    Everything was excellent regarding the property, room, restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Ecxellent throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here a few years ago under previous management when facilities were very good but food was so-so. This time everything was perfect,including the food .Staff were very friendly,helpful and efficient. We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Nights B&B and 1 Dinner
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even when a guest, payment of 25 EUR pp required when availing of spa facilities even if not getting a treatment. My previous experience in hotels like this is facilities are complimentary once a guest in hotel.

    They give you a complimentary bottle of water on check out. A nice touch I've not seen before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    The staff were extremely helpful and the room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the room too hot even with the air con on. You weren't able to set the temperature to a specific degree.

    The staff were extremely helpful and the room was lovely. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxation in its own setting - plenty to occupy you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is very little to dislike!

    Nice relaxing stay in the world of its Own land. 5km walk on site around the side of the golf course with beautiful views, excellent spa and leisure facility , bar with live music and comfort . This is a really good hotel for relaxation.Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, complementary bottle of water on exit from the hotel - small things and gestures go far.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable & relaxing. Staff are really helpful & friendly. Mr Phelan runs a superior hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young bar man served a person before me even though I had been waiting to be served (mind you it was bad manners on the part of the other customer also)!

    As we are repeat customers, we received a beautiful card & box of chocolates from management to welcome us back to The Heritage Killenard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail with the service could be better. Also, checking more frequently on the customers.

    Staff were very friendly. Facilities were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay but not much to do near by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desperate steam rooms etc for men and woman. Pool area is old fashioned.

    Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Lovely walk around the property. Relaxing break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the bar and although staff were lovely we were disappointed with the food. It put us off eating in the main restaurant. Instead, we travelled to Kelly's steakhouse in Portlaoise and had a great meal, we'd recommend it. :)

    Beautiful hotel with comfortable rooms, good pool and very relaxing spa experience worth the additional 25 euro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel with an average pool in a run down area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in an area with a bar and a restaurant and shopping units which were all closed down. One female member of staff in bar was quite rude and was poorly turned out in her clothing. A crisp white shirt and an iron would benefit her plus a lesson in manners

    Hotel was beautiful, very clean with lovely staff all bar one

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Female staff in bar restaurant very unfriendly and impersonal. Quite disconcerting to be met with hostility when asking for a fruit scone and wondering where was the drink ordered 5 minutes previously. Prices are at the top end but then again this is a 5 star experience

    Great bedroom, high standard of cleanliness and service, brilliant bellhop and great staff in main restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Luxury and relaxation, less than an hour from Dublin
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautiful, clean, luxurious, fabulous ensuite bathroom with nice towels, fluffy robes and slippers. It was a pleasure to spend time in the room and relax. The hotel also offers great leisure facilities to enjoy too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, relaxing trip in Ireland's midlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the poor and Jacuzzi facilities could have been nicer. They didn't feel like 5 start to me.

    Fantastic dinner at the Arlington and great breakfast the next morning. Staff were lovely and very accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Good facilities, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we went for food at the bar, we walked in and there is a stand with a book but nobody at it. There was reserved written on the seats. Girl at check in said nothing about reserving at the bar. Got seated fairly quick. Everyone that came in ran into the same problem, not knowing about the reserving. They sent you to the bar just to get more money out of you. There was plenty of empty seats when we came in. At check ing the girl at the desk told us all about the hotel, times etc... but by the time we got to the room. We forgot everything she said. Would of been handy if she just printed off a sheet of paper with all the information on it. Lastly....When we went for breakfast we got seated, the girl told us about the buffe and the menu and then left. No tea or toast offered. Wandered into the buffe, good choice. Picked afew bits. 10 minutes to get someone's attention. Ordered tea, toast and fried eggs, 10 minutes later only eggs came. Partner asked for a knife and fork when the eggs got delivered and the person just never cam back. Nobbled someone else to finally bring some tea and toast. Breakfast was eaten at this stage. I thought the service was poor. Lots of people running around. Yes it was busy but their was no one person serving our section. Lots of people were looking around trying to grab someone's attention. I just thought for a five star hotel, it had a three star service.

    The rooms are big and spacious. The bathrooms are a fantastic size with a great shower and bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    A four star hotel with five star pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ‘managers’ left a lot to be desired. Tables were dirty/not cleaned after other guests had left. Same managers were piling dirty napkins anywhere they could. Kicking the door in and out of the kitchen. food slightly on the cold side as well. All from a ‘five star’ hotel.

    Reception staff (Juste) and some of the bar staff (Dylan) were excellent. Helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Quiet, quality and relaxing break with ample opportunity for exercise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A great hotel, our third visit in eight months and we'll be back again! Great rooms, spacious and clean, love the evening turn down service We ate in the bar and found the food was of a high standard The staff are wonderful, friendly and accommodating from the friendly concierge to the waiting and bar staff and cleaning staff who all do a great job The hotel has its own golf course and Spa which we didn't use but other members of our party loved, it also has a 6 km walking/cycle route for the energetic Our return bookings are evidence enough of the quality and enjoyment we experience on each visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Five star service. Very comfortable and spacious room. Air conditioning in the room meant that it didn't get too warm. Excellent breakfast-plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The little touches made our visit special-like the milk and cookie left in the room for my daughter and the rubber duckie in the bathroom!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel oozes class, from the grand staircase when you enter to the little touches around the property, the attention to detail is second to none. The staff are so helpful and friendly and nothing is a bother to them. The spa is amazing and the treatments were just gorgeous 😊. The Heritage hotel is a hidden gem that I hope to revisit for many a year to come. All involved should be very proud and take a bow😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel with beautiful gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Spa and sauna facilities are not the best and it is open to public so expect it to be very busy. Also the working hours should be longer for hotel residents. 2. Breakfast is nice but tend to get very busy so the service slows down.

    1. Beautiful gardens and lovely scenery 2. The room and bathroom are well designed and very spacious 3. Parking area is free and huge which is a bonus for us 4. Hotel gives out shopping voucher and water bottles during checkout which is a lovely gesture 5. Steakhouse next door is a must to visit (not part of the hotel)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable. We never moved from hotel
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to walk out to spa facilities

    The entire experience from check in until check out. 5 km walk Spa facilities Food Staff were so nice and helpful Rooms comfortable and well equipped

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Loved the spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a delux twin. It was a bit cramped with the table and armchairs.The air con was so noisy that I couldn't sleep with it on and it was too warm in the room so we had a restless night. Full payment for the room and spa was taken at check in (highly unusual) - by a trainee receptionist. This normally takes place at check out! We ate in the bar in the evening and after filling in the docket I was presented with we left for bed. The waiter came running after us to say he wasn't able to charge the bill to our room (because the money had been deducted from my card at check in). I had to go back in front of other customers to settle the bill. This was quite embarrassing.

    Loved the spa. Nice bathroom. Liked the turn down service. Lovely bathroom. Bottled water on departure was a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was too much trouble, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast delicious could have stayed much longer but this was just a fleeting visit to attend a family wedding at the hotel. The wedding was lovely well organised the staff were very helpful and discreet not intrusive it still had the feel of a family wedding and not a corporate event.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel with friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout at 11.30 , would prefer even an extra hour

    Loved the little touches , name on tv when you turned it on , bed turned down , little duck for the bath , 2 bottles of water when we checked out for our journey home

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice rooms, breakfast basic for 5*, staff nice, noisy early morning, request room close to lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - very usual - not 5* had to ask for eggs benedict - no menu. Booked hotel 10 months before i stayed and was put in the very last room on the floor - had to walk forever. Over the store and guys were moving kegs at 8 am - little things but paying €160 should have been better.

    setting is lovely, bar area, reception area, very comfy beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    A lovely treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good weekend would have been fantastic if they had showed the rugby match in the bar, but that’s only a minor thing.

    Loved the hotel decor and the main stairs. Attentive staff. Nice room with a view of the golf course. Great service in the bar and tasty food. It was a nice touch to receive a discount voucher for Kildare Village also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower flooded the bathroom as it wasn’t draining properly The Omlette at breakfast was very dry and disappointing

    The staff were very welcoming and remembered that we had stayed there before. The room was lovely as was the food in the bar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave so soon!

    The junior suite was exquisite A special shout out to Ciaran he was excellent and so efficient at his job! A credit to your team!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    The lobby was amazing and staff were very friendly couldn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the way the swimming pool isn’t linked directly to the hotel you have to walk outside to get to it. As a five star hotel I also didn’t like the way other people could use the pool and have access who weren’t guests. I found this disappointing in comparison to other five star hotels I have previously stayed in.

    The lobby was amazing and staff were very friendly couldn’t do enough. The beds were also very comfortable. The breakfast was very extensive from buffet and also made to order breakfast off a menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited bar menu (but food was good). The bar was too small for the number wanting to eat there. Having to walk out of hotel to get to spa (it was very cold!). More info needed in rooms on facilities (found some lounges by accident!). Bathrooms maybe not 5* (though very nice).

    Great staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable hotel. Good food, Great Breakfast. Great spa experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms being upgraded, ours not yet completed, carpet stained. But room large and comfortable

    Great breakfast, very good selection. Lovely walk around periphery of golf course. Comfy beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of drinks were a little high.

    Pretty much everything, lovely experience, and this was our second stay in the past year. Staff are lovely, meal was fab and breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful weekend, relaxing, peaceful, good food and company !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of a glass of Pinot Grigio very expensive - source some better value wines by the glass !

    Beds are fantastic, staff very helpful and the breakfast delicious!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    The Hertiage is a gem in Killenard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had very enjoyable stay, room was spotless, bottles of water supplied in mini fridge, espa toiletries provided, turn down service with chocolates on pillow. Had lovely evening meal in restaurant, staff very attentive without being overly intrusive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Nights B&B and 1 Dinner
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar staff need to be more attentive to customers waiting to be served drinks

    Breakfast was the best I've ever had at a hotel. Efficient & friendly waiting staff in restaurant. Spa facilities luxurious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, couldn't complain.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, particularly those in the spa. Had a very relaxing stay, the room was lovely and quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous, great choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Nights B&B and 1 Dinner
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with getting a table in the dining room as we hadn’t pre booked.

    Breakfast was very good. The walk and swimming pool were a bonus and my friends used them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Great value, lovely hotel, more staff required when busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough bar staff on duty,you had to wait for your toast in the morning, while you already collected your hot Buffet breakfast

    The whole look & feeling off the hotel looked nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Bizarre service, disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered room service because one of us wasn't well and we did not want to leave the room. We ordered fish and chips and the goats cheese tart with a side of mash (the side of mash being all my partner could stomach as she was unwell). The starter and main were mediocre at best - the tart was dry and tasted of vinegar while the fish and chips were boring and Luke warm. The mash never arrived, despite me asking for it a second time and being told it would arrive in 10 minutes. I was then asked to come down to reception to pay with my card for dinner. Missing the point of room service - I did not want to leave my room. At about 9.30pm there was a knock on the door. Before I could get to the door, a staff member was in my room and asked if I wanted the bed turned down. Bizarre to say the least! Certainly not a time I want anyone coming into my room, particularly with half a knock of warning. Breakfast the next morning was bizarre again. The food was just grand. We were left without a menu for 20 minutes, which when noticed by management caused them to shout at staff members. Very uncomfortable for customers. Overall disappointing, particularly for the price.

    The hotel was lovely for Christmas. Staff at check in were helpful and pleasant. The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Relaxed & friendly atmosphere in luxurious surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Nights B&B and 1 Dinner
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything I didn't like...it was great

    The staff were fantastic... friendly & welcoming, which made for a relaxing staff in the luxurious surroundings. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Great experience all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff were very helpful.The hotel is class act.We did not get a chance to view the property as time was tight but what we did see was of a very high standard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a walk around the hotel grounds and golf course which is lovely but we felt it wasn't signposted clearly enough. We ended up getting lost as there were several parts where the path split in two and there was no indication as to which way to go.

    Very friendly helpful staff. Great bar and restaurants. Very nice afternoon tea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    We had an amazing stay at The Heritage, from the moment we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an amazing stay at The Heritage, from the moment we arrived the staff were very attentive and helpful. The ambiance in the hotel was lovely and all the facilities were top quality. I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure centre/Spa four star rather than five.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room was very comfortable with very appealing decor. Great bathroom. Lovely breakfast with extensive menu.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given bedrooms with disabled bathrooms, no baths or shower screens. The floor was extremely dangerous as the whole bathroom became saturated following a shower.

    The staff at reception were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing pampered break in the heritage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of meals in Arlington restaurant. I don't need a 5 course meal late in the evening. However the meal in the bar was more than adequate.

    Spaciousness of the room and ensuite. Good swimming pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    Not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's definately not a 5 star hotel as advertised. Food was very much average and for a 3 star and rooms have a dated, mis match design.

    It was clean. Staff were very helpful although very slow. I think this is due to how they are managed and not directly their fault.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice but it could be A LOT better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 B&B + 1 Dinner Special Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the lack of communication from the hotel when I emailed. It took a few days for reply and the last email I sent re booking spa treatments wasn’t replied to at all. This meant that we couldn’t avail of any spa treatments the day we arrived which was the day of my partners birthday & the entire stay was a surprise so it ruined it a little. I really disliked having to pay in full on arrival. I found it extremely tacky for a 5 star hotel. Especially as my partner was standing beside me and the trip was a surprise. The room layout & decor itself was lovely. The bed was very comfortable. The pillows were awful and lumpy. The room was very stuffy. The window barely opened. We tried to use the air conditioning but it was blowing out warm air (the window was closed when we used it). I asked at reception on the first evening if it was possible to have it seen to and I was assured that someone would be sent up. However, when we returned to our room many hours later the aircon still wasn’t working. Reception areas for check in in other hotels of the same calibre are a lot more cosy. The atrium is huge & there is a lot of seating around. It would be nice to have a cosy reception area where you sit with the front of house.

    We absolutely loved the spa. It was stunning! Really well set out, beautiful decor. The therapists all looked very well presented & professional. The “spa experience” was really lovely. We felt a little rushed as it was very packed. The dinner in the Arlington was absolutely delicious. Lukas was a fabulous host. Daniel in the bar was really really lovely & welcoming. Overall, the hotel is lovely but it could be a lot better.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: