Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lakeside Hotel & Leisure Centre 4 stars

Ballina, Killaloe, Ireland

#7 of 12 hotels in Killaloe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a lot really. Would have liked if body lotion was left in Bathroom every day. There was no fresh fruit, apples, oranges, etc left out at breakfast.

    The room was clean & large. On arrival there was no body lotion in the bathroom. The choice of cold breakfast was poor. The changing rooms in the leisure center were humid. No lift in hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying during a rare heatwave in Ireland and the room was uncomfortably warm. The breakfast was very poor-the 'fresh' melon wasn't fresh and the scrambled eggs were very milky and watery. Service was slow in the bar restaurant.

    The location is amazing. The leisure centre was gorgeous with a fun slide for kids, young and old! The food in the restaurant was delicious. The beds were very comfy. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold 2nd night. Rang reception.Nothing was done,had to ring again an hour later. Told it would be checked and she would ring back. Got no call but heating did come on. Poor.

    Excellent staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi Poor at our end of hotel. Morning breakfast was poorly staffed and a bit light on the essentials example bread, butter, and ketchup had to be asked and waited for.They should have been out already.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person on the desk at check out seemed stressed.

    Brilliant location with shops bars and restaurants very close by. Pool was great for the kids and the breakfast was really nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in room 300 which was a little noisy in the morning time I guess due to the breakfast room.

    Rooms were fantastic, clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff were amazing with their attention to detail. Breakfast selection was lovely and the setting is stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had one problem but once we talked to the front desk they went above and beyond to fix it.

    The breakfast was very good both mornings. We ate dinner one night and it was excellent. We only ordered main with large portions and great price. Our daughter loved the waterslide at the pool. We look forward in going back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom decor bland, a little cold too

    Small and intimate, cosy hotel, comfortable beds, lovely linen, beautiful location, great to be able to walk to other restaurants and town, very good breakfasts

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall was happy with everything,

    Room was comfortable & clean,staff very polite,had a lovely breakfast great variety.A beautiful view of the lake

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area is due to be refurbished to match the rest of the hotel, I will be back to check it out!

    The hotel is lovely, only the bar area decor lets it down, the rest of the building is fab! The staff here are tip top and the service is 5 star. We had lunch in the bar while watching the rugby and the atmosphere was great and very comfortable. We had a bottle of wine that was expertly poured and served to us in an ice bucket. That doesn't happen too often!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 4 fuzzy TV stations. Glad I brought Netflix. No spoon for tea/coffee making facilities, non stop young children running in and out of the bar/reception area. Horrible view from the room with large noisy extractor fan outside window.

    Location and food, good quality bar food and nice breakfast. Nice location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was as a smell of mould in the bathroom. You wouldn't notice it if you were showering, but it was unpleasant when taking a bath (probably coming from the bath seal at nose level).

    The hotel suited my needs as it was the venue for an event I attended. The staff were helpful and pleasant both in the hotel and the leisure centre. Would gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok where do i start, No hot water in both the rooms we booked.we decided to go back to our rooms for showers as the changing facilities at the pool were poor and freezing cold, we went to our rooms to find no hotel water in not 1 but our 2 rooms. Took us another half an hour to be located to another room. Switched rooms and the rooms were cold as the radiators were turned off. Smell of really strong paint in the hall and loud noise from builders who were working on rooms up the hall. Windows were old and the cold draft coming through was very bad. Also the windows did not block out any noise, every car and tracktor that passed by our window was loud,especially at 7 am in the morning when we were a Sleep. Other room had blood stains on the bed sheet and the duvet cover so looks like these were not changed since previous guest as it was on both the sheet and the duvet cover.Rang down to complain and was told oh the cleaning staff will be up. No sign of any cleaning staff before we had to check out. Disgusting !!! The bar was very small and found it difficult to locate a table for 4 guests. Food was poor and cheap The hotel itself was cold throughout. We came for a relaxing break and it was far from this. For a 1 night break we found so many problems and we are not ones to complain but it could not be hidden in this hotel. We had 2 adults and 2 children and we had to stay in 2 different rooms as they seemed to have no family rooms. Overall this hotel is very very poor, lacks appeal, needs a big revamp throughout.This hotel was very pricey for a 1 night stay so we expected quality and comfort. We are very dissapointed in this hotel would not recommend this to anybody. Not happy

    Breakfast was nice, swimming pool was kid friendly although the changing areas where freezing cold

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure centre needs a face lift. Changing rooms were filthy. Bar manager spent most of his time loudly dictating to staff,very off putting. Heating in room was non existent. We had no hot water on the morning of departure. No wifi in the room. Only 4 tv stations and only 1 of them had a clear picture. Breakfast was mediocre and staff were very slow to replenish items that had run out. Lovely location but rough around the edges. Disappointing.

    Nice spacious room. Good bar food. Nice lobby area. Lovely views of the lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little hot.

    Location excellent. Staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much for them - including searching for ginger ale in an emergency! Really enjoyed the whole experience and food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was annoying to hear a loud soud like afan cutting in and out and was hard to get to sleep.the couch like chair in the swimming area was broken when i sat on it.some .areas were cold eg the corridor where the family rooms are and the corridor leading down to the swimming pool.

    the breakfast and the food in general was very good even though i had to give back the mashed potatoes as they were cold

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV in the room didn't work. The sauna was out of order. The pool area was dirty. The stairs looked like they hadn't been hoovered in a month. We had tapas in the bar which were awful. The staff were not very friendly. We had to find someone to ask for coffee at breakfast. They started covering the breakfast with clingfilm 10 mins after breakfast finished. It seemed like we were annoying the waitresses by being there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy but ,as it was a Saturday night and they had a Christmas party on and the hotel had a number of match fans that ,could be expected. We were attending a concert and as I didn't know the area we wanted a taxi, the private hire they gave us the card for took us there but then didn't have the facility to get us back. As my husband is not too mobile following a stroke we didn't need that hastle I did tell them at the hotel and I think they took it on board but most people using a taxi from the hotel will want to be returned to it. Guests need to be aware of it.

    The location of the hotel is beautiful. Sadly due to personal circumstances we didn't get to use the leisure facilities . The staff are very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was so cold, when we complained we got no satisfaction. There was a lovely big stove but bad heat from it..

    Friendly staff, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast was amazing. Can I say the staff were wonderful, even one very kind staff member offering to run us into Limerick on her way home. Even though there was a function on we would not have known same other than we were told.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved everything.

    Everything about this hotel was top class from the staff to the rooms to the leisure centre to the food and atmosphere. It should be a 5 star.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was broken. The shower door was missing a handle on the inside. The people in the room next door woke me in the middle of the night, banging doors. Not the hotel's fault. Just thoughtless people. I will use this hotel again, now that I have found it. We found it difficult to find it the night we arrived. Signage on the main road in would be a great help. We passed the turnoff twice.

    The room was lovely. Bed very comfortable. Very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything! Staff very helpful & friendly. Great food! Child friendly. All requests fulfilled! Really comfy hotel. Parking at door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cant think of anything, just came home yesterday and nothing springs to mind

    Very Friendly and helpful staff at this Hotel. Have been coming to this hotel for 7 years with husband and daughters. It is "Home away from Home" in a picturesque town. Pool with Slide is a deal breaker for our kids 12 and 14 yr olds. Plenty of beautiful walks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath towels were a bit small and TV reception in the room could have been better.

    Lovely views over the lake. Relaxed and comfortable ambiance. Friendly and happy staff. Pool with indoor slide was a huge hit with the kids as were the pancakes for breakfast. Cookies and milk for kids was a nice treat too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel in good location. Gorgeous view. Would stay there again in an instant preferably in summer weather. Nice shops, pubs, cafés and churches. Not too far from Limerick if you are into shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    LIKED EVERYTHING BUT MAYBE ROOM PRICE COULD HAVE BEEN LITTLE LESS EXPENSIVE

    EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT WOULD DEFINITELY RETURN GREAT FOOD AND VERY HELPFUL STAFF AND THE BEDROOMS WERE BRIGHT AND SPACIOUS

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on back of hotel car park and delivery trucks made a lot of noise was not happy with that would request a front room next time

    Food and atmosphere around the area was very calming and relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some reception staff not helpful, asked could we be moved as we had a family room at rear and was very noisy with delivery trucks, and he just refused, we were there for5 nights so felt he could have done something. Apart from this overall hotel is value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault anything everything was amazing

    Absolutely fabulous hotel to stay in staff were fantastic views around it were stunning and food was gorgeous hoping to make it a regular visit extremely impressed with it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is spectacular! The grounds are so lovely you won't believe it and you have access to pool/spa!! The people are incredibly nice and helpful and breakfast is a wonderful assortment. The rooms are large and modern, the beds are super comfortable. This was our second stay and it was equally as great as the first time. We stayed 3 nights and wish it had been longer. This area is one of Ireland's lovely secrets -- I think it's magical :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had problem with room on first night whereby our room was next to boiler/water heater which woke us up when it fired up. The psuedo wooden floor by bathroom had lifted and as a consequence creaked every time it was stood upon - extremely irritating. Hotel then moved us for our second night to a superior room overlooking the lake which was very good but much smaller. Being of a cynical nature we wondered whether bookings made though Bookings.com were treated differently when it come to allocation of room. This is not the first time at other hotels that we have been placed in room next to a lift or stairway with inherent noise.

    Meals excellent, staff very efficient and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath plug wouldn't close properly was about the only problem which isnt a major issue

    We had a very pleasant stay the staff were friendly and the service was great the facilities were very well kept and they staff accommodated us with the swimming pool even when there was swimming classes on would highly recommend the place to people and a lovely pint of Guinness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle didnt work in room and windows in room could do with cleaning and wiping away cob webs. Some big spiders in there

    Dinner was lovely the nicest stake ever. The grounds were nice 2 and the water slide good for kids

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and comfortable but there was noise from the room below throughout the night (buzzing noise).

    The location is beautiful and the leisure facilities were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at little overcooked but still ok.

    We liked everything about the place. Bar food was excellent and the staff were exceptional. We stayed a second night and booked from hotel reception while we were there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the hotel I wasn't happy with the room we were given as the walkway for guests was directly outside our window so it would b easy for anyone to see into our room . I went to reception and they couldn't have been nicer . I was shown a few other rooms & was really happy with the new room . The pool was fantastic & the breakfast was great . The staff were very friendly & were really good with children especially Aisling . I would definitely recommend this hotel for a family get away .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The people congregated at the front door during the night smoking and drinking into the small hours the noise was way too loud.

    Everything about this hotel was great, the view from the room over the town and river was magic, huge room very comfortable, bathroom was mege as was the shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating system seemed to kick in with a bang every 10 minutes or so during the night and I woke frequently and had a fitful night sleep.

    Great breakfast. Nice bar area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved our stay at the hotel, sadly it was only 1 night. We would love the come back again for a longer stay. we loved the views from the hotel, also the garden.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only had 1 night...!!!!

    The Hotel and Leisure Centre was outstanding. The staff courteous and friendly, the facilities were unbelievably good. The leisure centre was fantastic, the breakfast gorgeous and plentiful with huge variety and it was the best sleep I had had for a long time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kids play room, kids can't swim before 10am . My car was damaged two nights in a row in car park (looks like it was hit by another door 😡)

    Swimming pool, but opening hours too late in the morning for kids😩

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had the best impromptu Saturday night party in the bar with a group of strangers and the evening singer that we've had in years. We laughed, we sang, we joked, it was brilliant!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows in bathroom 301 need attention The heating system needs to be regulated - could only have it either off or full on which was too hot. Heating in room 106 could not be controlled.

    Bed very comfortable Staff extremely pleasant Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all

    Room was comfortable with everything we required, food (pub & breakfast) was excellent and staff were very helpful & friendly. The pool /slide was an added bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was warm. The bedroom was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The hotel is well maintained and in a beautiful position by the river. A lovely place to stay with a hearty breakfast. Only wish we had longer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold when we checked in at 3o clock and heating didn't come on until 6o clock when we were just going out .Then it was on most of the night when it wasn't really needed

    Beds were extremely comfortable.Staff were very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    We enjoyed everything from the moment we arrived everything was fantastic. The best thing of all was the waitercame out singing happy birthday to my husband it was about and beyond his duty but we really appreciated it. I'll definitely be back again real soon . I'll be 40th at the end of July so looking for something to do for it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think bolier room was under our room very noisy with a shudder every time it fired up.

    Breakfast lovely great selection. Food lovely in the bar. Rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price , a friend of mine paid 75 € by booking directly through the Hotel. I paid 110 € for a similar room through booking.com that a massive 35 € difference (through website should be cheaper) not happy about this at all. I will think twice from now one before using your site

    confortable bed, location of the Hotel, staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no view from our window as it looks out on another part of the hotel.

    I asked for a travel cot and they supplied one for us in a exceptionally large room. There was a large shower and a bath.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water shower despite leaving it to run for a half hour. Informed receptionist at check out who advised it happens in the corner rooms ! Having booked with booking.com who claimed to be the cheapest deal my room was, forty euros than my companions who booked with hotel

    Lovely location. Excellent food both in the bar and breakfast the following morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom was very warm and we were unable to leave the window slightly open because of the strong winds and heavy rain.

    Wonderful range of breakfast food, all piping hot and extremely good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obliging and kind Staff, cleanliness, goood size rooms. Good value for money breakfast and evening meals If I had a negative, I wouldn't have lunch here. Sandwiches were poor and I was served a stale fruit scone this morning!!

    The staff were extremely obliging and kind. The hotel looks like it has has a really good renovation recently. Good interior designer. The lobbby area was beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Builders, noise, paint smells, sanders & dust, leads running along corridors- trip hazards- heating on full blast , had to switch off radiators

    Great location, staff, facilities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works, knocking down doors at 9am, paint & dust from sanding, electrical leads stretched along hallways , the heating on to burning point all night ?

    Staff , location , facilities etc etc

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had requested a quiet room in advance. There were building works going on at the hotel. Not unusual during a quiet January. We found this out on check in and were told works started at 8am!!! They continued all day. Not very relaxing to be surrounded by drilling, hammering and machinery. As a result we didn't spend as much time as we would normally in the hotel. Wish we were told in advance. We didn't get a lie in which was a pity. There were no walking maps at reception but when we asked we were directed to the tourist office which was closed.

    Leisure facilities Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great. Staff in the bar lovely especialy 2 Young People one girl and boy. 100% service. Polish guy in the bar very welcome and friendly. Room big and clean. Only the food in the bar was really bad. Overcooked pasta. Thanks to lovely Staff i didnt Pay for that and i did left this money as tip. They deserved

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had to wait 30 minutes extra over the check-in time at 3 o'clock, because they needed more time to clean the room. Some small repairs in the bathroom required

    the room was very spacious and clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the gangs of rampaging teens/pre teens that were attending a GAA event. They remained unsupervised with no interference by the staff, except when we had to request that they vacated the smoking area.

    Fab breakfast & Facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom needed updating, the radiator in it didn't work and the water had to be fiddled with to have a hot shower, the towels provided were tiny.

    It was in a great location, the staff were lovely and the pool, slide, steam room and sauna were brilliant entertainment for the kids.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our 1st mother and daughters stay as a Christmas treat. Our mam has been very ill for a long period of time. This was a great girlie night away. The room was comfy, food was devine and staff were excellent. Thanks for making it a great experience. We will plan for next year to stay again x

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have two pillows each on the bed.

    The bar/restaurant was so cosy with its open fire. The hotel lies along the river with stunning views. The water slide in the swimming pool was great fun, my daughter and I spent nearly two hours in the pool-lovely and warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like can fault anything it was spectacular.

    I loved every bit of it from the minute I arrived.my cousin and I brought our 2 little girls for a night away and they had a ball. The pool was lovely and the zacussi even better for the mammies to relax while watching our girls have a ball in the pool beside us. Food was excellent 5*. I loved it that much that I booked it again for the 1st weekend in March with my hubby and children. Thank you so much for your hospitality it was excellent see you all again in March x

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My disappointment started from the moment of check in unfortunately. One of my friends arrived before me and spoke to the gentleman at reception. She explained that it was in my name and he told her she would have to wait, which was fine, but He was cold and un-inviting to her. Upon my arrival, I checked in and paid upfront for my room. The gentleman that checked me in, was the same gentleman as previous with my friend. He did not make eye contact, he did not advise of the facilities on offer, he did not advise where breakfast was. Nothing! There were two other female staff members at the reception with him, both of whom looked nervous of him. We attended the event but the bathrooms that were available for the function room had no toilet paper for the majority of the night so clearly no one checked or was assigned to this. At approximately 9pm we asked at the bar where we could get a toasted sandwich and we were advised that they were too busy and that there was no one in the kitchen, it was now closed. We were staying in room 307 and this morning, between 6.30am-7am we were woken by the very loud delivery truck out back. This was then proceeded by, what sounded like a kids treasure hunt in the corridor, at 8am. We then called reception to query if we could have breakfast in our room and we were advised to complete the card on the door and they would drop it to the kitchen. We checked the door and there was no card, so we called reception back to advise and they took our order over the phone of 3 full Irish breakfasts for 10am. Not only did breakfast arrive almost a half hour late, we were then presented with a bill of €15 for room service (€5 per breakfast), which no one advised us about and I was advised by the young porter that he must collect the payment now. I was gobsmacked. Firstly, what warranted a €5 charge for room service and secondly, why were we not advised of this on ordering? Overall, my experience was not a pleasant one for €150.

    The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were too hard. Couldn't use them. Shower pressure disappointing.

    Lovely rooms, with a massive bed! Great view. Nice bar area and superb food with very generous helpings. Great selection at breakfast - something for everyone.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold - radiators not working. Informed that the heating controls are not in the room, so should have contacted reception at the time.

    Bed was large and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything in this hotel was fantastic from the friendly staff to the delicious food. I couldn't fault any of it. We had a wonderful time and will be back :D

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't stay longer!

    We loved the makeover at the Lakeside! The reception and public areas have been redecorated. Staff were fantastic, as always, and breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the water was lovely. The Hayes -Mc Gowan family really enjoyed their latest stay and are already looking forward to the next visit!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like it to be cheaper, & some staff are so efficient they miss the friendly rapport you get in some hotels, very professional, great workers, but that Irish friendliness just not there

    Brilliant room - love Balina & lakeside

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Food was lovely, room was cosy and bar staff were absolutely brilliant, really enjoyed our stay again 😀😀😀😀😀

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back of the hotel with a view of the car park. When we asked for a better room the very professional manager arranged this for us but charged another twenty euro. Which made it quite expensive. He did point out that this is stated on the website. I believe him but I didn't notice it.

    The location of this hotel is perfect. By the lake and close to the town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were woken at 4am to a loud noise of a boiler or pipe banging. It went on for a while and then stopped suddenly. Not sure what this was- I raised it next morning and the guy at reception apologised, said it had been mentioned by another guest already and a plumber would be in to check the pipes. It was quiet the following night so they must have sorted it. Breakfast areas were a little slow, tables could be cleared quicker, maybe it was just busy season. It is mostly self service but there is no designated self service area for coeliacs. - Gluten Free bread is not set out, but it should be, along with a separate toaster and perhaps GF pastries or cereals too in a specific GF section of the breakfast room like other hotels do. While hot food options are available in separate dishes the utensils are being shared in each dish. Guests were selecting hash browns, sausages, beans, bacon and eggs etc with the same spoons/ladles and putting them back in those dishes again- causing risk of gluten cross contamination. Over all it would be better if it was specified or on menu that the waitress could perhaps facilitate these type of orders separately. The Bar food was lovely, but again menus could be updated to specifically facilitate those with allergies in future.

    Had a nice comfy room with view of the lake and boats .& enjoyed the leisure centre. Staff were v friendly and welcoming at reception and bar & pool areas; and the young cleaners who were very kind and courteous, checked we had all we required and brought us extra water and towels.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Its a little out of the way. You need transport, but well worth the visit. Oh the crows, don't park under the trees.

    The holiday was very relaxing. Lovely weather, the grounds of the hotel were beautiful. Our room overlooked the lake - so peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to happy with guy on reception Didn't make eye contact with us when we were checking out No "how was your stay Was everything OK for you" nothing not even goodbye.Must say it wasn't very nice.

    Loved that we were upgraded to a lake view room It was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: