Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Maritime 4 stars

The Quay, Bantry, Ireland

#8 of 15 hotels in Bantry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 985 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived back to the hotel after attending a wedding to find the doors locked and no one at reception. Another couple were already there trying to get in. 20 minutes of standing in the rain ringing the hotel before we managed to get in and we only seemed to get in because someone pulled up in a car who knew the night porter and rang him. Then instead of apologizing he got defensive and told us we had only been outside three minutes which is total nonsense. Reception the next morning were also defensive offering a flimsy excuse rather than an apology. Not good enough for the price of the hotel.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant served fairly standard quality food- ok but nothing special We found the wine list to be limited. The restaurant was very busy at breakfast so it was not s relaxed experience!

    Comfortable spacious room. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was fine

    Nice view of the water, too noisy to open the window but pleasant to look out. Good size rooms, good facilities for a touring holiday, we ate on site as we’d had a long drive and it was fine and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in our room

    The room we were allocated on.entry was dark. A tree was right up to the window and swarms of migies directly outside. I react badly to migie bites! No way could we leave window open. Our hearts sank. My main purpose of the stay was respite for a night as I care for my elderly mother. My husband returned to reception and asked for another room. A sea view and so much better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym did not open until 8am. Needs to be open earlier for visitors who are travelling onwards and need to leave by 9/9.30am.

    Hotel faces the harbour and we saw a wonderful sunset. Our room had a beautiful balcony from which to view all the surroundings. Breakfast was good. We had an enjoyable evening meal. The room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fan wasn't working in the bathroom. The shower itself wasn't working correctly. It could only seem to function in temperatures ; hot and super-hot! When I adjusted it to the luke-warm setting, it was still uncomfortably hot. I eventually tweaked it to a comfortable temperature but there was absolutely no power in the shower, not even viable to have a quick shower. The food in the bar was bland and over-priced. Overall, I was disappointed, especially when I was expecting a 4-star experience. I would have booked a guesthouse for half of the price , had I known. I rarely book 4-star accommodation , so I booked this as a treat. I have had much better experiences in 2-star hotels and guesthouses.

    The view was nice from the room. The bed was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any view from our room and it was wheelchair friendly which meant we didn't have a bath. I would have preferred to have been given a choice at check in

    The breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is across the street, so I would advise everyone to park and checkin without your luggage. When you get the key to your room you can then go back to the car for your luggage. You will then be able to get the lift to the bedrooms, but that is confusing also. Walking corridors and using two lifts.

    The location is good if you want to explore west Cork. It's in the harbour and there's a big beautiful Supervalu store facing it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room on 5th floor at the feont of the hotel. Woke early due to bin men outside, and then an hour later due to kegs being loaded on/off a lorry. Sound proofing on the windows was not sufficient and disrupted our sleep

    Staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and inviting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 3 nights and the shampoo and shower gel weren't refreshed. Wasn't enough for length of stay.

    Asked for extra towels which we received.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit cold in the room but nothing the heating couldn’t control. Would of preferred a room with a front view.

    Comfy bed and brilliant breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground car park was handy but tricky as entrance ramp is 2 way. Then access to hotel is confusing as you have to negotiate 2 different lifts & various corridors. Hotel is large & a bit soulless but has everything you need.

    We had a lovely modern room with a balcony. Large bathroom with bath & separate shower. Great location in centre of Bantry with view over Bantry Bay. Hotel was quiet & we got a great deal at €300 for 3 nights B & B. Good choices at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maneuvering from building to building was pretty difficult for people with young children and older folks the hotel itstelf is not laid out that well

    staff were extremely helpful and hard working

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really; everything was fine.

    Location excellent for visiting West Cork, including Sheep Head and Mizen peninsulars. We had a room with disabled facilities which were fine. Breakfast excellent although dinner not quite so good. Nearby O'Connor's fish restaurant was superbe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not impressed with the bar. Draught and smoke through the whole bar when people using smoking area. Horrible!

    Family suite was fantastic. Loads of room and comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to write here

    Absolutely in love with the room and the hotel. Great location, great room+bathroom, good facilities, good food, great experience overall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are hard and pillows were flat the shower was a bit difficult to maneuver getting in and out and it was be a bit tight with the handicap bar where it was positioned when Takl ng the shower

    Staff are excellent they are extremely courteous and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personally I had a bad experience with the food on the night on our arrival at the hotel bar which got the trip off to a rocky start. Based on the meal my partner had & the breakfasts, I must have been unlucky. Other than this I would have given 10/10.

    Great place to stay if you are spending a few days exploring West Cork. The hotel was spotless, the common areas & rooms were beautifully decorated & well kept. The staff were all very friendly & helpful making our stay all the more enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pull out bed was ok for the children but not overly comfortable. Pool should have more staff, should there not be a lifeguard.

    Breakfast fresh options were great, pancakes for children are always welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a couch bed which dipped in the middle and was very uncomfortable for my 13 year old

    Lovely breakfast .... pool area v good. Bar food v good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight odd smell in room , but contacted reception and was cleaned asap , noise of fan bit loud espc at night but these wud not stop me stayin here again

    We requested room wit bay view n got it , this is our second time staying here and we really enjoyed it as much the second time than we did the first time Bar very friendly and lovely atmosphere , staff very pleasant without being “cheesy”

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The situation with having to get a lift to floor 1 , walking right across to get another lift to floor 3. This should be remedied .

    Excellent staff , friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One particular member of staff at reception was a bit too big for her boots. And could do with a reality check.

    Lovely location. Fab venue was there for a wedding and the service was top notch. Excellant food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows, they dont keep the noise outside. But there are heavy curtains which do their job very good.

    Very friendly staff, great big clean rooms. Great food in the restaurant. Nice leisure area. Free underground parking. Best hotel on our ireland trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The female changing area at the leisure pool was very cold. A spinner to dry your swimwear would be useful.

    The bed was extremely comfy. Huge balcony with great views. Would love to have this room again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather! That's out of your control!

    The whole place was brilliant. Pool was fab. Bed was comfy. View was lovely. Staff were kind and professional. Shower was hot and had great pressure. Food was delicious. Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fabulous, had a big room with a view of the bay. All the staff were so helpful and friendly. The food is so tasty and fresh and the facilities are top notch, would highly recommend getting a treatment in the spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a delay for breakfast as all the hotels guests seemed to arrive at the same time. However when we were eventually seated the breakfast was worth the wait. Very good choice at buffet and you could also order from the breakfast menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for its standard,no fridge,no trouser press.Difficult to navigate to some rooms...no direct access from car park to reception. Bar food was bland.

    Clean,good location,great view if in front facing room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was lovely, extremely clean and comfortable so much so we found it hard to leave the room . We had a balcony which was a real plus looking out over bantry bay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults just perfect place for family to stay

    Easy access right next to everything amazing breakfast literally everything available lovely leisure centre rooms perfect warm cosy plenty of space have safes tea coffee iron bath is lovely in room balcony rooms so cool excellent views.Staff in breakfast and dining areas so nice ,reception lovely people too and even laundry staff gave me good local tips for sight seeing 10 stars all round

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the hotel one bit

    Gorgeous hotel, the bedroom was very big and spacious, the bed was very comfy. The room and the hotel was spotless. The food and drink were outstanding

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here a good few times before and i must say i had a very small room this time around for the price i paid.

    Bar food and breakfast were fab

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic,photos made it look more luxurious. It was noisy in the evenings with kids running in the corridors.

    Comfortable room, nice pool and good breakfast. Well located for a short trip to Bantry.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous hotel! friendly, efficient staff, the room was fab and really comfy and had a great view from the balcony. Dinner in The Ocean restaurant was delicious and great value. The leisure facilities are lovely too. Highly recommend this hotel for a cosy getaway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like was there was no A/C in the room but that’s only small :)

    I found this hotel very good , first time staying. Checking was smooth and the pool was lovely. Breakfast was also lovely , I will definitely stay here again :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was great but orange juice at breakfast was disappointing on both mornings. The hotel buildings were mildly confusing to navigate due to the way the older and newer sections were joined together when built.

    All staff were extremely nice & extremely helpful Breakfast was great. Attended a wedding reception there and food was the best we've been served at any function we've ever attended

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here back in 2013 and the hotel isn't up to par with how it was back then. The evening front desk woman was rude and the breakfast did not meet expectation, as the crepes were under cooked and when the staff was notified they did nothing to rectify the problem. the hotel has lovely interior but many things have fallen into disrepair. Our bathroom had broken tiles and the bedrooms light fixtures were also broken.

    We enjoyed the decor in the rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park not very well sign posted

    The staff, the beds were sooooo comfy ! We slept so well, asked and received a room in a quiet area of the hotel too. The receptionist was so helpful and even sent me the info on where they get thier pillows so we could buy some! THE Kitchen staff kindly allowed us to ring in our order as we arrived just after last orders and then gave it to us on arrival :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening Meal in the restaurant was very poor. Seafood chowder was very watery and the wine was very vinegary. The main course was nothing special either and I should have known when I saw an empty restaurant whilst other restaurants around Bantry were packed. Our room was awful, very dark room at back of the hotel, with glazed windows that you could not see out of and on opening the window it was looking over kitchen rooftop and very noisy extractor fans or some type of machine or boiler. We had previously stayed in this hotel three of four times and been given a lovely sea view room for a lesser charge so was disappointed.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    It was pure luxury, the staff were so helpful, the food was excellent and the rooms were perfect. I left items by mistake and the hotel found them and posted them on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value compared to other places we stayed during this year's trip. Wonderful location near the water. Clean and spacious rooms. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toiletries in the Bathroom were not too good very basic. If you improved on these it would give you the feeling of absolute comfort.

    The hotel staff were excellent and so friendly . The food in the restaurant was very very good and very reasonable. Overall a very nice hotel. The views from our room were exceptional and the room was a good size and very comfortable. Check in and check out excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole dinner and breakfast options. Arrived couldn't get a table as there was a 2 hour wait, had I known to make a reservation I would have, paid for breakfast and to be told there's a waiting time also, such a lovely hotel you think they'd manage the food options a bit better. Luckily the bar staff where helpful

    Bar staff were nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one checked whether our meal was to our liking. When we finished our main course our plates were left sitting in front of us for 20 minutes & we had to wait the same length of time for another drink. Staff were busy, it appeared, dividing up tips behind the bar rather than taking care of their guests!

    Food in the bar restaurant was very good and initially service was excellent. The town is lovely!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing. Very friendly. Special thank you to Caroline in the spa for my amazing massage. The location was great - excellent base for exploring Mizen Head, Sheep Head and Beara Peninsula & Bantry House is a must. The hotel room was spacious and both the bar & restaurant had plenty of options to choose from. Our kid loved the swimming pool. The parking was busy as it was bank holiday but we always got a space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is lovely but not much atmosphere as was very brightly lite, could make it a lot cosier by turning down the lights and maybe lighting some candles

    We had lovely biscuits left in our room for our anniversary which was really thoughtful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changing facilities at the pool not great for kids . Lacking in room . But this won't stop us from going again.

    Lovely place, great food , breakfast and evening meal at the bar was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was two singles pushed together, middle of bed was very uncomfortable and we had our toddler with us in the bed so had sore backs after.

    The staff were very friendly and the pool was lovely and not too busy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no water around the pool area which is necessary for people coming out of the sauna and steam rooms.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff couldn’t have been nicer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle in gym changing room too small and only 1 hanger for towel so easy to get wet. No atmosphere in bar very quiet for a Friday night. Bar a bit old fashioned too much red and velvet

    Bed very comfy parking private. Good location gym okay only. Good hotel for 3 star. Very pricey for 4 star. Not a 4 star in my opinion. Booking easy to do. Barman nice gave me a tasterisk of craft beer as I was undecided what to drink

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt the staff were very young and untrained. Bar food was well below expectations- food was served separately and cold. Drink never arrived and got charged for drinks which were already paid for.

    Breakfast was wonderful. Room was big and well maintained. Nice leisure center. Excellent parking and really fantastic location. Overall great value for money. Hotel also provided a welcome bottle of bubbles for a birthday we were celebrating!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids pool should be warmer,and changing area

    Really nice hotel , will definatly be coming back but more just one night , hotel , staff and bantry itself is the one place has to be on ur to do list

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar menu in the evening was a bit limited but adequate.

    I like the fact that each morning they have a special in the breakfast menu in addition to the buffet breakfast and I had eggs florentine one morning which was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that The Maritime has an easily accessible car park was a breath of fresh air on our UK trip. Hotel staff were welcoming;room was fantastic; as was breakfast. A great stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to queue outside restaurant in the morning while waiting for a seat to have breakfast

    The spa was lovely - I spent a very relaxing few hours there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening bar entertainment was a little lacking. Had some Irish musicians that were full of enthusiasm, but not a lot of talent, and to loud of a volume. More background would have been appreciated, most weren't there for a show or anything. Views are nice, but not as great as advertised.

    All the facilities were large, felt North American style. Large room, large bed, large bathrooms, large restaurants and facililties. All very comfortable and relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to a suite which was just the cherry on the top, the duty manager on our arrival was so friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant location lots of beautiful scenery around the hotel and short driving distance away. Clean, modern and comfortable hotel, lovely breakfast and leisure centre. Perfect for a relaxing weekend away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpark is hard to find, but once you've figured it out it was fine.

    We travelled with two small children, we had booked a family suite which had a separate living area to the bedroom. The staff were very friendly and curtious. We had a problem with the safe which took a day or so to get someone to resolve but I won't fault it on that, lets face it we all have very busy lives and they were very busy the week we stayed. We met the maintenance man who couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We didn't have dinner at the hotel as there are lots of places to eat locally, however the breakfast was lovely and very attentive service. I noticed other comments about it being awkward getting to the lobby as you have to use two lifts.. but lets face it that's first world problems really. When you have two kids who love lifts it was actually a positive !! and also meant your room was away from the main hussle and bustle of the hotel. All in all a great stay. We also used the swimming pool which was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner needs to be reserved and nobody told us at the reception. The machines with soft drinks were not working. Just one bottle of water in the bedroom and no fridge with another options of drinks. Heating was not working properly.

    The hotel in general was good but the facilities are not worth the price paid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could do with a clean and the girl greeting us on reception was helpful but spoke with a broad accent and very fast some of which we missed, however this did not affect our stay

    Great pool and good gym facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice Hotel, Excellent staff, Superb location. Loved Bantry town. Food superb in the restaurant. Breakfast menu had really good selection. Loved the local smoked mackerel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms at back had no view. There was a long queue for breakfast which wasn't ready and wasn't very good.

    Great location with good facilities and comfortable beds. Rooms at front have nice view of harbour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the Maritime for a wedding, staff were exceptional throughout and even arranged an earlier check in for us so we could get ready for the wedding at no extra cost. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing that comes to mind

    this was a repeat stay and found same level of standards as one year ago. room acceptable - parking very confortable and protected from Irish weather - restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got spa treatments and were picked up at the leisure centre however there is no relaxation room for pre and post treatment which I feel would give a better spa experience.

    Staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful, leisure facilities were not too busy so lots of availability to jacquzzi etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception when myself and my daughter arrived were not one bit friendly,won't be staying there again for that reason,the rest of the staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast terrible lots of staff wandering around collecting plates seemingly with nothing to do. All hot food was from buffet - were not asked if we wanted to order the special (kipper :-() or poached or boiled eggs - toast was soggy before buttering and produce was mass produced and generally not good. Room was OK but very weird arrangement with small corridor and adjoining rooms one of which included a lounge that could be open if we paid extra. We had to ask about the extra rooms as when we opened the main room door we felt like we were sharing. No fridge. Free water in resealable bottle - how long had that been there? Bathroom was OK but small shelf to put our stuff - shower looked good but was weak. Hotel located on main road over looking the bay and a building site - shared premises with a medical centre.

    Bed was comfy, good location, staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The town is super quaint with fantastic views and restaurants. The hotel is very nice and the parking is ideal. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic. I don't think there is anything we really didn't enjoy about this visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I put in a special request that it was a special birthday occasion and it was never acknowledged. Very disappointed with that service.

    The room was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought dinner in the restaurant was fairly average for the money. Not a complaint at all but it's a very family orientated so it may not be the best option for a quiet getaway during school holidays.

    Perfect location for Bantry, room was very nicely decorated. The pool and leisure centre was very nice. Staff were friendly. Well set up for families with children.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels very small and thin/worn.

    Beautiful decor. Very comfortable and large bed. Very nice staff. Free parking in hotel car park. Excellent bar food menu. Good location for touring.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think if booking you should request if possible a room away from the main road as it is quite noisy. Also I asked for a particular cocktail one night and the barman told me that although he was capable of making it he couldn't as his till didn't have a button for it and it would throw his stock off!

    The breakfast was so good we really enjoyed it. And the beds were extremely comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Breakfast in bed. Extremely comfortable rooms with a great view of the bay. Fantastic restaurant and good music in the bar on the Saturday night.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Maritime traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: