Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Park Hotel, Holiday Homes & Leisure Centre 3 stars

Shandon Road, Dungarvan, Ireland

#13 of 19 hotels in Dungarvan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 735 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Waterford Greenway and The Park Hotel a good combination
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seating area in the lobby was very noisey for any residents hoping to have a quiet cuppa and a chat.

    Great location,friendly staff, hearty breakfast,very convenient for anyone doing the Waterford Greenway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Was disappointed with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in the room when we arrived. Dirty tables and floor in the bar. Dirty teaspoon on our table at breakfast the next morning. Was given the wrong receipt when checking out.

    Good location, could walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    The good was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was situated to the back of the property. Our room was stiffling warm we had to keep the window open. There was a loud generator type noise constantly operating day and night thus out sleep was disturbed.

    The good was good. Accessibility to the Waterford Greenway was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very helpful and the location is perfect for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was far too small for 4 of us it was just an extra bed squashed into the room. The hotel is a bit tired looking needs a revamp

    Staff were very helpful and the location is perfect for the town and greenway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    We had a really relaxing stay at this Hotel and will stay again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could find nothing that I didn't like about this Hotel

    The breakfast was just beautiful and the location is perfect we walked into the town centre in under 10 minutes plenty of parking at the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Friends wedding
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the property and the staff the hotel was very clean. The view from the front of the hotel was lovely

    I liked the view from the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    First time in Dungarvan..impressed with the town...Greenway a big plus for myself ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obvious one...no lift to get to higher floor..other than that I could not find any other problem in the hotel..

    Nice bright hotel..lovely bedroom..fine large windows,important with the excessive heat at the time..meals were nice..served by friendly staff..visited the pool.no problem..understand a lot of work just finished on the gents and ladies changing rooms..looked impressive..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    It was so close to the center it was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was very grubby and leisure center was supposed to be finished but still a bomb site. Thought it should have been closed it was that bad.

    It was so close to the center it was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was disappointing. This may have been because both mornings were very busy. The public areas are in need of refurbishment.

    The beds were very comfortable, the shower was hot and the room was large and very clean. Even though the hotel was very busy, the room was quiet. The hotel is five minutes walk from the central quays area with some lovely bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    staff are extremely helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    holiday home beds were poor quality - hotel beds much better breakfast area could do with being made brighter and airier

    staff are extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff and nice comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cramped and slow..we felt rushed to finish up as it was a busy time. We were squashed in beside the people next to us which wasn't very pleasant

    Great location, friendly staff and nice comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Rather disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the ground floor, the outside of which seemed to be accessible to workmen/public. I was shocked to find that the window opening restraint had broken, and that the window would open fully. On examining the restraint fixing, I noticed that it was fixed to the window using standard posidrive screws, which could easily be accessed and removed from the outside if the window was left ajar. At the very least, security screws should be used, or preferably a totally different type of window security device used altogether. I did report this to staff on our departure, and they promised to look into the matter. The pool and spa were in my view a bit run down. It has the air of a municipal pool rather than an up market spa facility. No separate jacuzzi, just a bubble area off the main pool. The water temperature was also a bit too cold, and no shower gel/shampoo in the gents or ladies changing rooms. These are ubiquitous in hotel pool areas elsewhere.

    Convenient location, clean, tidy and comfortable room. Breakfast was good, although there were no plain croissants available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired & dull room.....badly in need of facelift. Room very dark....little natural light. Breakfast area could be cleaner.

    Free parking & bar area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing, from the moment we entered the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were amazing, from the moment we entered the hotel - helpful, courteous and fun! Special thanks to the bar man Culann, he added so much to our stay -

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location if wishing to use the Waterford Grewnway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the rooms despite being advertised. Gym closed for our stay and the way the pool was operating wouldn’t pass health and safety standards. Breakfast disappointing and cleaning staff walked in on us at 8am without knocking.

    Excellent location if wishing to use the Waterford Grewnway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    enjoyable ,comfortable ,friendly staff ,good food .excellent location if going on the green way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only small issue was that the TV could have been up on the wall ,as it was difficult to see if lying in bed.

    friendly helpful staff .We had a problem in our room no fault to the hotel and it was sorted in minutes ,that's what i call service with a smile..Room very spacious and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A good place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just back from a beautiful relaxing two day break .Hotel was lovely and so was the staff. Didn’t get to use swimming pool but maybe next time would love to go back sometime .I would highly recommend this hotel and dungarvan .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Will definately be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are very very warm. Stayed here in both october and july and found room to be very warm.

    Great location, very welcoming and friendly staff, lovely and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Despite negative comments above, we would (and will) return to the Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar staff were quite slow serving food and consequently, it could have been warmer. It was a very long time before staff returned to remove finished plates and take order for desserts (though it was not busy at the time)

    The Room and bed were very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    We had a good time but wouldn’t be rushing back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very dated and tired looking, smelly reception probably from carpets which need to be ripped out. Whole place needs to be painted.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.0
    Comfortable and accessible to waterford greenaway. Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious. Comfortable bed. The cold buffet breakfast was good. The main breakfast was luke warm and a hair on my plate. I was told these things happen. Offered an other. I declined. Day 2 it was better.and much hotter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable and not too badly priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets in the hallways were very worn and shabby. Auto curtains in the room didn't work that well. Views outside the back windows could be a lot tidier.

    Reception staff very friendly, location was good, breakfast was fine but cereals could do with a little variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely,basic hotel room. It was clean. Do not use the swimming pool. Facilities need a huge refit &c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not think the room was worth the money. Cost was on the high side. Room could do with an decor update. Pool was very used. Tiles off or coming up in changing area. Pool was cold. I was looking forward to a jacuzzi and was very let down. Not a proper jacuzzi. Was in the pool with kids playing in it. I was looking forward to some R&R time away from the kids. Steam Room was good.

    Bar was lovely. It was nicely busy which is always a good sign. Lots of staff around, good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    There were no crisps or peanuts available to buy at the bar,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no crisps or peanuts available to buy at the bar, so I'd to walk all the way to the leisure centre and buy some out of the vending machine. I was disappointed with this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Great convenient place to stay,
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect as close to main link. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good food and just a all in one package could not fault it and would definitely stay again.

    Great convenient place to stay,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Good apart from leisure centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure centre was not open to public on Sat 14th April. Only steam room open. Sauna broken. Pool was used by Irish Water and we were not informed until we got yo leisure ctr

    Beds very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel near the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered a toasted sandwich and chips in the bar, chips were re heated and sandwich cold, waitress wasn’t too bothered by this when I told her. There was a wedding on but still think our food could have had better attention.

    Clean rooms and reception staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Coming home
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    As always everything at the Park is excellent. Staff are friendly and nothing too much trouble. I have been staying at the Park for many years and made to feel welcome by everyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great place to base a family holiday. Very accommodating for travelling with a baby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff in the bar ignored me standing at the bar waiting to order for at least 10 minutes. In the end , I just walked away after not getting served. There was plenty of staff and although busy, they could have acknowledged me and come back. Cleaning staff kept removing the electricity key card after cleaning that was keeping the room fridge running. very disappointed in that. Changing rooms in pool were small and cramped and not good for trying to change a baby after a swim.

    Receptionist was lovely. A fridge was placed in the room for baby food requirements and plenty of space for the travel cot that we had with us. Breakfast was lovely and lots of choice and was pleased to see childrens cups and bowls available. Pool was big enough for a nice splash with our 8 month old. Emailed before arrival to make sure requirements for traveling with a baby would be accommodated. The response was quick and answered all my concerns.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed, especially as two of the 4 had never been to Ireland before
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast. We traveled as group of four adults. All of us have traveled extensively and the breakfast at the Park was very poor. Although it was cooked to order, the quantity and quality was below what we expected. My wife's poached egg on toast was a joke.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were more than happy with our stay! The pool area was good however some elements like access hallway from hotel to the leisure centre had a leaky roof and changing area will need upgrading soon.

    Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious, breakfast was very good. Very welcoming to children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Poor breakfats
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very poor breakfasts (1sousage,1 becon,1 egg,1 tomato,no beans). Could not get any more when I ask. very poor and old room equipment

    Cheap food in the bar. Hot main courses served compytly cold

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Over all we enjoyed our stay in Dungarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All areas of the hotel needs to be painted. Room on the way to lift looks tired and was not smelling fresh. Lighting in bedroom and bathroom not good

    Bed comfortable. Room clean. Great to have iron & ironing board in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Decent enough hotel, not luxurious, but good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurant in the evening was a little slow and a bit haphazard. Asked for a bottle of Rose and seems like we had the last one that was in the cellar - it was a decent bottle so that was OK, but it took ages for the chap to return with it (he said he'd had to put it in to chill) but then brought the ice bucket to the table. Bit odd, but didn't ruin the meal.

    Comfortable stay. Good evening meal with large portions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Nice big room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big room .bed was so comfortable that we slept on and missed the breakfast .had dinner in hotel quick service food was good value and delicious ..Cillian the bar man was very friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    The Park Hotel great location lovely friendly staff. Would recommend the Park Hotel as a place to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband & I were given a disabled room on the ground floor although we are not disabled . Because the room was adapted the toilet had no toilet lid which I find off putting .

    The Hotel was in a great location to the town centre. The staff were friendly and welcoming . The breakfast service even though it was busy was efficient and plenty of staff to seat & look after the guests . Breakfast was lovely and catered for all tastes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Grand like. Place needs a bit of a spruce up. Not great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bathroom, water took ages to drain in the bathtub from the shower. Shower itself was dated, and it flooded the bathroom floor. Sockets didn't work in the room, save one for the t.v.. smell of paint in the room. Window was falling apart. No guest information book. No pen and paper in room.

    Friendly and professional staff. Iron in the room. Quiet. Breakfast was nicely varied.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of updating especially the windows as too much condensation. Paintwork etc needs attention and slightly too dark furniture.

    Great location and great staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    enjoyable, great entaintment and good craic and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was cold weather in dungarvan that weekend ,but i have to say the room was cold i said this on morning we checked out and staff apoloyised and will pass this on to management

    staff,, location, great and dungarvan has great entainment in pubs and craic was great also

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Enjoyable will definitely return,very central to amenities and tiwn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from couple below arguing kept awake most of the nite, security were quick to respond when we rang reception.

    Hotel was like home away from home very comfortable,kids loved it.beds very comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Food, (Breakfast and meals in the bar area), were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food, (Breakfast and meals in the bar area), were excellent. Staff very friendly and efficient. Beds were very comfortable and rooms spotless. Really enjoyed our stay and plan to stay here when back in Dungarvan

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    felt the hotel was grubby , stairs behind reception needed a good clean , room was cold on arrival ,furniture very dated in room , reception staff very slow on arrival , & not the most welcoming , seemed disorganised , breakfast was only ok

    the view / location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only reason i didnt give it full marks is because they started doing maintenance work at half 7 on a Saturday morning. They kept up untill aftet 9 am. Very annoying.

    Food is devine. Room was lovely. Warm. Clean. Spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.2
    Nice Breakfast, but that's about it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude of some of the Head Staff was very off-putting. Contradicted themselves in a very "Derisive" manner

    Very Good breakfast, a Full Irish Fry and it wasn't greasy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    4.0
    I would not recommend this hotel. It is NOT 4* quality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, poor lighting and cold. I had to request a heater as the heating was not on. The bathroom was not clean. There were smudges on the mirror and there was a used razor in the shower. It was too cold to shower upon arrival, so I only discovered the razor the following morning. I left without taking a shower.

    Staff were nice. I was attending an event, and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    It's location - It's only 5minutes walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double & single bed in our room..Single bed- was very narrow probably more suited for a child..

    It's location - It's only 5minutes walking distance to town , beautiful restaurants & pubs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Donegal Football Team.stayed in this hotel. They created havoc for the staff & customers into the early hours of the morning. Singing out of hand noisy at 5 a.m Gardai had to be called. Both rooms either side of our room again staff members had to repeatedly ask them to quieten down. Turn down music upto 07.25 in morn. The very wonderful Manager solved this later in the morning along with their team.

    Friendly wonderful staff. Great welcome by Deirdre. Very nice helpful Manager.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is slipped in standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar very dull, needs more in it tables very close to each other, not very clean, no music on night of stay which was news year day very disappointed,

    Friendly staff, bed rooms very comfortable, very clean, and spacious, have stayed few times would love to stay again. Food was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was very poor, there is no centre light and it's really difficult to get ready with a poor lamp

    Good value for money and great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Your staff are a credit, stayed for a wedding but would love to return for a family trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly can't find a fault.

    We stayed over a wedding and were so impressed with every element. The staff were so accommodating and anyone we encountered would go out of their way to help us, even helping to carry bags, providing last minute breakfast room service and a slightly later checkout. The breakfast was lovely and we are only raging we didn't get to go to the leisure centre. An excellent wedding venue with 4 delicious courses and beautiful ball room and an overall great place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Generally OK but need to reduce noise levels for guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV was a bit dated. Wedding party over the 2 nights meant that we couldn't get to sleep until the early hours of the morning - having a room above the bar didn't help.

    Staff were generally very helpful. Rooms were spacious. Breakfast was great with a gluten free option available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay in very comfortable room. Good access to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leisure centre and Gym could do with updating. Pool was closed to guests from 5 pm to 7 pm on Saturday which is an optimum time for swimming due to lifesaving classes. Lessons were taking place for about 2 hours before that leaving only half the pool available. Gym is very basic.

    Quietness, room very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Location great for town centre. Staff at breakfast and in leisure centre were particularly helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    food excellent, bed comfortable, location great , staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were put in a family room with interconnecting doors , too noisy in the morning with young children next door waking early would have been happier to have been away from this section of the hotel as we are a mature couple with our children reared

    food excellent, bed comfortable, location great , staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Recommend strongly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room outdated. Smoking area too far from main bar and, difficult to find. Need to find staff member to turn on lights and heater at night. Ashtrays not cleaned regularly. - acceptable in pub, not in hotel aiming for 4 star status.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the staff had asked the parents of extremely badly behaved children to behave in the restaurant a breakfast and also in reception. the problem no doubt of going during what was a school holiday.

    Staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have cubicles in changing room of leisure centre as children were there for swimming lessons.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Bedroom was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and cheerful. I liked Dungarven alot and was very impressed with the restaurants and bars.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It really does need a good paint and bit of love!

    A worn out looking hotel, but spotlessly clean and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast was only okay, but for the price, it was fine. I would recommend it for a cheap, basic hotel that is clean with very nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel with friendly staff. Food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was very poor. Kept cutting out from our room. Needs to be sorted out.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and well appointed. Food in restaurants was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything

    We were very tired when we arrived here as we had travelled a long way. We were made very welcome and our room was lovely. Big comfortable bed, lovely linen and large bathroom. The restaurant was very nice and we had a good meal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    We had to leave very early (before breakfast was open) to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave very early (before breakfast was open) to get to the ferry and they kindly supplied a huge plate of bacon sarnies and coffee to send us on our journey

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location but needs attention!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in general needs attention. Decorating & maintenance. Wallpaper peeling. Paint badly chipped. Scuff marks plenty.

    The bedding and bathroom were spotless although bathroom does need maintenance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    One of the best nights I have had in a while, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much I didn't like. It was a pretty great stay. The television in the bedroom could be updated. The long hallways to walk through to get to the room were interesting and I thought I was lost, but definitely worth getting to the fabulous room. The view from my room was not great.

    The humungous bed! I liked the staff and the cleanliness of the entire facility. I liked that there was a delicious and free breakfast. I liked that there was a gym and spa next door. I wish I had more time to enjoy it. I especially liked the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location, really friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, helpful and genuinely friendly staff. Fantastic value for money. We were celebrating our anniversary and they upgraded us to the bridal suite which was a lovely treat. The leisure centre facilities were really good for a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was excellent, really good coffee and plenty of it. The hotel is in a great location, minutes walk from the the lovely town of Dungarvan and the perfect spot for exploring the Waterford Greenway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall a lovely hotel that with very small adjustments would make a great improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was very poor. Beds were too soft. Kettle was leaking

    The Staff were very pleasant and efficient. The Food was really good and plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could slightly fault was the service in the bar food area the staff are very friendly but not very efficient as in took a while for menus to get dropped to table and at least 25 mins for our mains to be cleared when we had finished

    Room was big and comfy and very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Lovely staff very friendly swimming pool nice and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiles falling off on side of bath and bit grubpy nó extracter fan... looking for such hotelchairs in lounge area torn onseats

    Lovely staff very friendly swimming pool nice and big. Lovely big reception area loved style off hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, if not exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small but given I was only staying for one night it was adequate.

    The room was clean & the bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    My stay at the hotel was relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice beds comfortable but the room was too small to accommodate 3 beds.

    Breakfast was very nice it was fresh served at the table. Plenty juices and cereals to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, room and pool. Unfriendly, rude breakfast staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were very slow to take my order, the lady that greeted us to take us to our seat was very rude and unfriendly. I had to ask four members of staff to order my hot breakfast and they still forgot the coffee. The stay was a very expensive for this hotel.

    Bedroom was big, comfortable and bright with a balcony. Pool was warm for our baby to swim. In town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Not great for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a cot when booking but had to have one sent up after we arrived, it was practically thrown in the door at us ( maybe they are under staffed? ) and when we went to put it up ourselves it was wobbly and dodgy on one end. We used it as we were only there for the night and so tired from travel. In the dining room and bar all the kids high chairs were broken with either unusable broken trays or no straps and a little grotty too. Children don't seem to be encouraged here. Pity really.

    Large rooms, this is why we chose the hotel, so we would have extra room with a toddler. Bar food was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay but disappointed with standard for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs in room. Room outdated. Old TV. Many parts of hotel could do with a freshening uplease with paint.

    Good atmosphere in bar...staff very friendly. Kids entertainment. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, convenient - would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor lighting for applying make up, especially if you are short-sighted! There is what would be a very useful mirror at the back of the open wardrobe but the light above it was not working. When you are short-sighted, you need to be almost touching a mirror with your nose to see properly. Also, a glass panel over the bath would be much nicer than a shower curtain, which clings to you. The curtain was too short, so water came out over the side.

    Breakfast was very good - especially the 'freshly cooked to order' items off the menu. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very peaceful at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our stay and the staff we felt were exceptionally helpful, friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that there were young children in the bar late at night and they were running around the bar and lobby and making a racket. When parents with young children are booking in maybe they could be told that children must be kept with them and not permitted to run around the bar and lobby area at night??! The breakfast room is a little cramped we felt but the excellent service and lovely courteous staff more than compensated for this.

    The beds were very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and most helpful. A very pleasant atmosphere. As two senior citizens were part of our group, we used the seating in the lobby area for drinks and food in the evening etc as they would have found the bar too noisy. This worked well for us as we could still hear the music.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Facilities excellent Fiona on reception was just excellent bar staff could do a little better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff would be the only fault I would have,we ate in the bar but as bar was full we had to take a table in reception felt a little bit that we were forgot about but food was excellent and good value would definitely stay again.

    Very family oriented we traveled with our toddler aged 4

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    It's location in what is a beautiful part of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar menu was very limited could have had a bigger choice.

    It's location in what is a beautiful part of the country.The rooms were clean & very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: