Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (Adults Only) 2 stars

Mount Melleray, P51 A5X5 Lismore, Ireland

#1 of 1 hotels in Lismore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 426 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    A calm and comfy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a it was lovely

    It was the comfiest bed we've slept in in a very long time! The history of the place was interesting and we thoroughly enjoyed our kind welcome and tour by David. The unlimited free tea and books were a nice touch and we made the most of both in the cosy sitting room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    peaceful and restful breakfast very good to start your day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not able to get a drink from the bar after 8.30 only availiable when brigette was on

    the beds were very comfortable lovely greeting from peter and brigette and ann were very helpful and accomadating

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Peace and quiet !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid 45€ for a 35€ room as advertised at the entrance. Dissapointed not to be able to get an evening meal .

    Peace and quiet ! Very accommodating and reasonable at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel for a rest, with beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wi-Fi was not great (that may not be a bad thing!)

    Lovely restful stay, beautiful and charming old house, lovely sash windows with great views. Lovely grounds, great location to have a rest and unwind. Also, great value!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, lovely place to stay whilst site seeing around this beautiful island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately someone setting off the alarm early in the morning which of course wasn't the owners fault.

    A comfy nights sleep, nice and quiet. Lovely owners, very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place was rather dated, but hosts were more than amiable.

    Generally the room was clean and the bed comfy, loads of room, and location good for all visiting sites.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit old fashioned. Need to book dinner or you feel guilty. 'Restaurant' refers to mainly breakfast not dinner.

    Good if you are looking for somewhere cheap or to see the Abbey. Comfortable beds. Quiet. Very safe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    We would certainly go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was wonderful. The sun shone on magnificent rural views. An evening stroll to the Abbey where we heard vespers song and a cosy bedroom .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    So relaxing with a great breakfast in peaceful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom decor could do with some updating but in talking with our hosts l understand they plan to do this in the coming months.

    Dave & Anne were at all times welcoming & friendly. Our room was lovely, fresh & relaxing with great ensuite facilities. They had left an electric heater in the room if extra heat was required. There was good tourist information available & we were well located to travel short distances to see all. Both the continental & Full lrish breakfast were delicious & cooked to perfection each morning. There was a huge selection of teas & coffee always available & constantly replenished with a biscuit to accompany if one wished.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Will be back most definitely. Loved it........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not one single thing. Must tell others, this is a well run and homely hotel which shows off Irish hospitality at its best. Hosts were one of the best assets this hotel has. Well done David and Mary

    The hosts were amazing. The peaceful surroundings and the serenity of this place was so relaxing. The free tea and coffee was exceptional with many types of herbal tea. Lovely ginger biscuits were also free with the tea and coffee. This was available 24 hours a day in a relaxing and comfortable lounge. Other hoteliers take note.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.0
    lovely cooked breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hill up to the establishment is tough on a tandem after a forty mile cycle and at 76 years of age. Seriously though there is not much or anything wrong with this place as a comfortable and interesting stopover on a cycling trip.

    lovely cooked breakfast. not the cheap ingredients you get in some establishments. Nice sandwiches on arrival as we had not eaten and were on a tandem and did not want to go out. The grounds are very nice and kept in pristine condition. The location and scenery is grreat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant. I would be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were three friends and they didn't let us take a triple room even if our twin room had a double and a single bed in it. I contacted them by email and they said "strictly two people per room", but I don't really understand why they made my friend book a single room when they could have rented that room to another person and the three of us could have stayed together.

    Beautiful house, beautiful location, very comfortable bed and good pressure shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff was really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a kind of cold. Because I always criticize I have to do here also that my room was only locked by a normal beard key. Breakfast was nothing special compared to other hotels and its prize (by the way there is also a good cafe for breakfast Cappoquin)

    Staff was really nice and helpful..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Extremely comfy, relaxed atmosphere and excellent value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not applicable - all good!

    Extremely comfy, relaxed atmosphere and excellent value for money. The proprietors David and Mary were very welcoming and most pleasant throughout our stay. We would not hesitate to return to The Pilgrims Rest again and would certainly recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Cozy, homey, friendly, wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely place to stay! They have self serve real at all times, which was great, they serve delicious home cooked dinner which was delicious and they even have a full bar. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay in this cozy comfortable B and B.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous setting, great hosts and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous setting, great hosts and excellent value. Served a fabulous dinner quite late and at short notice . Also helpful

    Fabulous setting, great hosts and excellent value. Served a fabulous dinner quite late and at short notice . Also helpful IT lesson given !! Wouldn't hesitate to return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite a bit further from Dungarvan than we thought, given that it was the first Google result that came up when we typed in 'Hotels near dungarvan'.

    The bath was so nice after a long cycle. The pictures were also lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hosts, lovely accommodation in beautiful countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As weather was very good it was difficult to get air through the room, but that was only a minor complaint.

    Excellent breakfast, tea and coffee available in comfortable sitting room, very comfortable beds, compact en suite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    This is an excellent base for hiking in the Knockmealdown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an excellent base for hiking in the Knockmealdown mountains. The owner and staff were very friendly and the hotel provides very good accommodation at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Property was in a quiet location just as I expected and what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was in a quiet location just as I expected and what my partner and me wanted great value for money staff very friendly.. clean and comfortable room we have nothing bad to say about the hotel will definitely will revisit again.. we didn't eat at the hotel as we used it as a base to travel around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No meals served in the evening unless pre booked. We had to drive out for a meal. No tea/coffee in the room but it was complimentary in the lounge. However I like a cuppa when I’m getting ready in the mornings !

    Very clean. Friendly hosts. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    We will be back agan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely welcome, very good value. Dave and Mary are courteous, friendly and most helpful It is a super location, comfortable and cosy. We liked that we could have a drink outside in the garden. Good dinner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Welcoming guesthouse in lovely rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is a little slow and only available downstairs.

    The owners, David and Mary are excellent hosts. Beds are comfortable and great shower. Good, freshly cooked Irish breakfast. Plenty of secure parking. Nice walk up to the abbey in the evening and close to all sights of the Blackwater Valley. Guest’s fridge and free tea and coffee in sitting room are a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful place with good facilities, lovely hosts and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Peaceful place with good facilities, lovely hosts and excellent value. We just wanted porridge for breakfast and we were served a beautiful bowl of hot and tasty porridge.We were not charged for a full Irish breakfast and we do appreciate that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The ladies, Ann and Bridget, were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The ladies, Ann and Bridget, were wonderful. They welcomed and treated us with warm big heart. It is sweet memories of the ladies. Spacious bedroom with antique bathroom and self controlled heating. Well facilitated canteen. Great location to stop over. Feel very safe with restrictive security system from gate to doors! Happy days Ann and Bridget

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The house is neat--ask the owner about the history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The house is neat--ask the owner about the history. Location is kind of isolated, which isn't a bad thing, but there are no restaurants around, so you have to drive a bit for food. Otherwise, it's fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    authentic pilgrim location for those visiting Abbey, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    make sure you have your dinner in advance or with you sincevthera no bars nearby :)

    authentic pilgrim location for those visiting Abbey, very quite, relaxing and peaceful. great choice of books to read before going to bed :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful peaceful haven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Except hadn't realised the hairdryer was hidden under the wonderful antique bedroom dressing table that you had to unfold and then press up x sooooo different, but lovely!

    Excellent friendly, caring and personal service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Though It was okay, it should be advertised as a B&B instead of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more of a B&B than a hotel,and our room was just a bedroom - we had to go to the main lounge to sit and read comfortably. All meals were charged, and at a fairly high rate. There was no menu, just what they had on hand to cook that day. It was in a rather isolated location, with nowhere else to go for meals. Sounds carried through the walls.

    It was as advertised, adults only, the homemade meals were tasty, very much home cooking, the hosts were friendly. There was a well stocked bar in the dining room, and a lovely cozy wood burning fireplace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    The Pilgrims Rest is a very relaxing and chilled place to stay .. we would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Directions getting there where a bit confusing , make sure you travel to Pilgrims Rest in daylight and get yourself a good map .... the GPS kept getting us lost the map was a better guide ...

    Pilgrims Rest Hotel is a lovely place to stay , the owners were very welcoming .... the room was very clean ... the bed was very comfortable ... the surroundings are stunning..... I liked the fact it was Adults only .. The prices are very reasonable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    wonderful relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only regret is that it is no longer open to wander in if not a guest. We understand that this is necessary

    the room was very comfortable, warm airy roomy with a lovely view. we loved the doors, paintings etc. we were made to feel at home. There was a wonderful welcome on arrival , We found this place last year when we wandered upon it and were delighted to have tea and apple pie there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    One of the best places for an over night stay with Peaceful environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was slow as the signal strength in that area was low even in my phones Tesco and Eir so had trouble streaming videos etc

    I stayed in The Pilgrims Rest Hotel for a night with my friend and would highly recommend it. Its absolute worth for your money. You can book directly for just 35 euros. The place is very quiet and you can have a really peaceful sleep. The washrooms come with a bath which is lovely and everything is meticulously clean. The atmosphere is classy and has a vintage feel to it with lots of art display. The staff are super friendly and help you with anything you need. There is a decent breakfast available until 9 for 6 or 10 euros based on what you need. I liked the filter coffee at the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Very relaxing, comfortable and welcoming. .... a great choice. Would love to go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    We loved the warm welcome from David. He was an excellent host.....nothing was too much trouble. The room was cosy, clean and lovely and warm. Altogether a great choice for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely restful stay with s great ans welcoming host and a good breakfast eith plenty of choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have kettle I room for morning coffee but enjoyed having to go down to the lounge and getting to meet other travellers

    The room and bed were very comfortable and had a very good sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Very clean, very quiet, very comfy bed, everything required...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, very quiet, very comfy bed, everything required was provided, breakfast great & above all, the host was extremely attentive - would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay immensely.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a peaceful setting with incredible views of the local countryside. It is around the corner from the renowned Cistercian Abbey, Mount Melleray, in a small hamlet near the town of Cappoquin. (It may be worth noting that it is not easily discernible on GPS. Search for directions to "Cappoquin" and it is just 5 miles from there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We were treated very well and really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were treated very well and really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and warm and the price was very reasonable. Real peace and quiet. Some beautiful countryside to go walking in. Close to Dungarvan which is a great town. We'll be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Close to heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Located in a very scenic area incorporating Lismore Cappaquin Villarstown and Dungarvan suitable for the active, the historian, the shipper and those spiritually inclined adjacent to Mount Mellary Abbey. Warmly received and warm comfortable room with lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    As a first time visitor to Ireland,needing to stay near to family it was the perfect location for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The storage space was a bit limited for two people.

    The entire Tozer family went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. They certainly went the extra mile. We felt that we were staying in their home, but without any intrusion by them, but all of the hospitality given to people in a private home. The room was very comfortable and ample heating available. We only had breakfasts at the hotel which were served with friendliness and helpfulness. We felt totally at home. Thank you all Dave, Mary, Chris, Andy and Brigitte.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Lovely location in peaceful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely location in peaceful countryside. The staff were amazing and helped us in every way possible. We felt very well cared for and well looked after.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Just what I needed, I feel so rested
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have had the sunshine, can't blame David and Mary for that.

    I didn't think it was possisle to get a place away from the usual hustle and bustle of a hotel,until I came across The Pilgrims Rest Hotel, it had every thing I needed at that time ( last weekend ) David and Mary the owners couldn't do enough for me,they were there if I needed anything, but was left in peace, when I wanted it, but the main thing was the cleanliness, it was spotless, and smelt of fresh polish ( not sprays ) the bed was so comfortable, I slept through each night. I know now when I need to get away from the maddening crowed, The Pilgrims Rest Hotel is for me ,and at those prices, what more could you want.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    When you are sick of driving!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I saw somewhere on the website (i stand to be corrected) that they didn't do full Irish breakfasts at off peak times of the year and we were not interested in a continental option but when I went down to make payment there was lovely hot breakfast been served and they looked great!

    The beds were very comfortable and plenty hot water for the bath. Also, it was great value for money and the man at check out was a gent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Splendid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like at Pilgrim's Rest. Go!

    Was at Pilgrim's Rest for 7 nights. Out most days walking in graveyards and interviewing sheep. Whether returning from an area drive or the long drive to Kilmore Quay to hear Dervla Murphy, coming back to the comfy, quiet and warm Pilgrim's Rest was something to look forward to. Location is perfect. The inimitable Chris, and his wonderful helper, Bridget, and the other staff were no less than superb! Felt like home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful scenery quiet tranquil location with comfy beds so peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very peaceful quiet tranquil location which we were looking for and really comfy beds got a great rest and sleep. Also quirky sitting room in real old world style with tea and coffe making facilities to use free of chatge and biscuits in a tin. The man who owns the property very helpful and happy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like gate locked when raining had to get out of car to key in number for gate to open I know it makes it secure but could make exception when raining

    Nice warm clean accommodation. Very friendly excellent hospitality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    South Ireland great for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea coffee facilities not in the bedroom. You have to go downstairs into the communal living room although this is accessible all times.

    En suite for single room which was handy. Location is handy as a middle spot ... can drive to Cappoquin then Lismore and onto Cork in one day. Then the next day drove the other way to Tramore then Waterford.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    The property is situated in a fairly remote spot, but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some visitors might prefer a location much closer to a town centre

    The property is situated in a fairly remote spot, but the owner is most welcoming and very helpful. There is a comfortable lounge area and bar and the owner will offer an evening meal if required. Our bedroom was adequate and had a good shower. The breakfast was excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Great place , enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the proximity to the Abbey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that due to other commitments we could only spend one night there. We will return.

    Excellent accommodation. Everything was of extraordinarily good quality and the cleanliness was top of the range. Great value for money and next door to the wonderful Mount Melleray Abbey. Peaceful and with a well stocked bar for a night cap. Breakfast excellent and the owners are wonderful hosts, knowing when to enlighten us with their knowledge of the area and never being intrusive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic and friendly home from home luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was absolutely lovely, probably could do with a few more coat hangers in wardrobe, however, this just a minor detail.

    This is a lovely family run hotel, very welcoming and friendly. It is home from home. Our room was lovely and spacious with a single and a double bed, both extremely comfy and a massive en-suite. The hotel in general, our room, bed linen and towels were all spotless. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, however, the guest lounge downstairs is always open and has every hot drink you could wish for, we used to nip down in a morning make a pot of tea and bring it back up to our room, same at night when we came in. I cannot review on food as we did not have any meals at the hotel, we were visiting family much of the time and ate with family or out & about. There is options to have breakfast and dinner at the hotel and very reasonably priced too, there is also a licensed bar and lovely leather settees to relax on in the bar area. There is ample parking and electric security gates that are closed at night making vehicles secure. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again when visiting in future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Excellent lodging at an excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners of the property could not have done to make us feel more comfortable. The property offers an evening meal. Good food for a good price! We choose this property as we were visiting family in the area and what we enjoyed the most was being able to see the family farm from our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.2
    An experience that we laughed about afterwards but messed up our few days break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we did not stay for all the days we had booked ,only one night because of noise in a hall that was very near premises.The owners did not live in the building so my husband had to go to the hall and ask them to turn down music it was like something from faulty towers.....i could go on but it would fill a few pages.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    We had full irish breakfast it cost extra but was well wort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as everything was excellent

    We had full irish breakfast it cost extra but was well wort the money dave and his wife were excellent host's we had dinner there the first evening it was late when we arrived kitchen was closed but when we ask where we could go to get something to eat dave asked what we liked to eat as he had turkey and ham for the evening meals and if we would eat that he would have dinner ready in 20 minutes all veg home growing all cooking done by dave himself nothing was too much trouble so would give 10 out of 10 for everything jim and emily

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi

    Very nice, comfortable and friendly even though we arrived late and forgot to inform the manager. This is one important thing here, you MUST inform if you come in after 9:00 PM. Single rooms are good for value, doubles are much larger, nice and confortable. Excellent for value. Excellent breakfast, either Irish or continental. I'll be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous, Fun and Freedom
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I really enjoyed the owners company, they were fabulous to chat with and so obliging. The hotel itself was such an interesting place its decor worldly and located in such a peaceful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    My wife is gluten allergy, but they fixed the breakfast so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife is gluten allergy, but they fixed the breakfast so she could eat, bread, cornflakes,...........everything gluten free I suggest this B&B for people with gluten problem

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Awesome true Irish hospitality at a unique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like - everything was just great and only wished we could have stayed longer.

    Owners were amazing and the home cooked meals were delicious 😋 The Pilgrims Rest Hotel is truly unique and an amazing time capsule. The hotel was built in the early 20th century and it was a joy to stay the night at such a special place. True Irish hospitality in such a great place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Pilgrim's Rest was a both a haven to relax in and perfect base to explore stunning area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee facilities are downstairs in the communal area, so if you prefer them in the bedroom that might be a disadvantage. But there's a wide variety of teas, with biscuits thrown in, and a little fridge / freezer which was great to be able to store a few bits in.

    Exceptionally warm friendly down to earth hosts, who love what they do and made us and every guest feel so welcome. Very peaceful beautiful setting - you barely hear a car going past. Bed exceptionally comfortable, and bathroom very bright and spacious. Weather was hot so it was refreshing to be able to have windows permanently open. A real hidden gem. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    It was a very relaxing,peaceful and a home from home. a real gem in the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were so accommodating. Anything we needed flasks for picnic were no problem. Breakfast was excellent. Set us up for day. We were a party of eight celebrating my fathers 88th birthday with a trip down to his old school Mount Melleray. It is a very peaceful, homely, friendly place. Can't say enough good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Very pleased overall and excellent value! Would certainly recommend to others staying in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't work out how to get hot water for a shower.

    The bed and pillows were so comfortable and I had a good restful sleep. The owner was friendly and accommodating. Nice location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Excellent Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly welcoming. Period property solid dark wood, well restored. Clean comfortable good size rooms with sizeable bathroom/shower attached. Quiet nights sleep. Meals cooked to order fresh and tasty. WiFi. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    A very nice place to stay, with Very nice owners ,making all vistors feel very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More brochures with local information to aid their knowledge rather than having to need a trip into the local tourist office in Lismore, Although there is Tea,Coffee, etc available 24/7 elsewhere in the Hotel for all to enjoy, it would be more user friendly to have these in ones room.

    David ,Mary, & their Son work very hard to make your stay a thing to remember ,and along with a happy and relaxed atmosphere go the extra mile to achieve this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    The host seemed very pleasant and jolly and was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred tea/coffee making faclities in bedroom, as opposed to/as well as in a shared lounge, as a bit of privacy and downtime with a cuppa is nice.

    The host seemed very pleasant and jolly and was quite helpful and approachable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Loved it for many reasons. This is a place of solace for the soul, healing and taking time out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger towels in bathroom? Apart from that the room was very comfortable.

    The location was good, near the Abbey, in the mountains, helped on the day by beautiful sunshine The welcome was good and all efforts to please us were made. We enjoyed the communal area and talking to other guests The food was excellent and tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Best hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were lovely and couldn't of been more helpful the living room was lovely with lots of sofas comfy cushions and TV. The breakfast was vast and very fresh

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in country
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was different to what I was expecting. It is lovely and modern from the outside but a little old fashioned within. I was reminded of a convent parlour when I saw the lounge, especially with the cups and saucers. This didn't bother us though especially after the Guinness worked its magic. Great pint.

    The Guinness was excellent. We had dinner, which was cooked to order. Food was fresh and nicely served. Overall the hotel was quiet and very relaxing. The host was friendly and attentive. It was the kind of place that values the client. A far cry from soul- less hotel chains.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    An excellent place to relax in a very pretty location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel is in a very pretty location. The owners Dave and Mary are friendly and caring. The bedroom was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Visit to Mount Melleray & Pilgrims Rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Even the weather was good when I was first there but will be back again before my holiday ends.... Worth the extra few miles travel as much better and friendlier - and cheaper - that in nearby towns or cities.... Easy drive to/from Cork Airport too

    Very friendly and helpful proprietors, David and Mary. Lots to see and do locally from Mount Melleray Abbey and nearby towns of Cappoquin,Lismore (beautiful Castle) and Dungarvan (easy parking and good shopping)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Surprise find in the hills, great value and truly a place to rest a recreate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's in a rural location that we almost found by ourselves, but thanks to a helpful neighbor, we found it easily.

    Unique place to stay while visiting Lismore and Waterford, in the hills, near a monastery and famous Marian shrine. Very clean and simply furnished, comfortable beds and squeaky clean bathroom with divine tub to soak in after our long drive. Hearty breakfast. The inn keepers were friendly with good recommendations for places to eat. Interesting, eclectic art and pictures throughout the halls and books you could borrow. Fastest wifi we experienced on our trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Old-fashioned comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much

    Tea and coffee with 'real' milk on tap in a cosy sitting room and bedroom like a small country house- buried in the Irish countryside with creaky floors and old-fashioned door lock with 3 inch key! Good bathroom with copious hot water and fluffy towels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Helpful staff, clean rooms, great food, nice lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, very accommodating. Nice restaurant with a good chef, we had a great dinner there, and a wonderful breakfast as well. Very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    best stop over in ireland
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    this is just the most fabulous hotel, so beautifully restored and such fantastic people run it. Will always hope to get a room here. great food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Peace and Tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing for me to dislike about the Pilgrims Rest.

    This property is perfectly situated just outside Mt. Melleray Abbey. It is in a beautiful setting, ideal for touring around this most beautiful area of Co.Waterford.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Good home cooked food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could of been a little warmer but a heater was provided so not really a complaint.

    Excellent price for clean, friendly and welcoming accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    It is a very nice little hotel in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a very nice little hotel in the countryside. It was our second visit and we will come back again. The owners are very nice, rooms are basic but comfortable and dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.4
    A bit far out to be classified under the Lismore area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped room and above the kitchen / office so that we were aware all the time of the staff/family presence - thin walls so the sound travelled

    Coffee at breakfast was freshly made and welcome

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: