Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prince of Wales Hotel 4 stars

Church Street, N37 T2P0 Athlone, Ireland

#9 of 21 hotels in Athlone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1859 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not open for evening meals. Bedroom overlooked street. We were awakened at 2 o'clock by noisy people in the street. Seagulls and pigeons started at 4 o'clock. Bin men arrived at 5.30 a.m. to empty hotel bins - parked right under our window. Workmen working 25 metres from hotel began at 7 o'clock. So our day began at 2 a.m. Not good!!

    Very large comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit grubby in areas. Handprints all over lift and walls. Public loos etc could do with refurb.

    Beds very comfy. Room lovely and spacious and clean. Staff v friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely warm in the room. When we opened the window. There was noise until 3am from groups of stagg do,s. We did not sleep at all. We have stayed here before mid week and it was fine. We should have been advised about the parties. Very disgruntled.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of rooms and bathroom are wonderful

    Need to ensure your room is not facing a wall - ask for one with street views. Also check that outside your room the fans are not located there as are very noisy if you open the window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the tables in the bar were all reserved when we went down for dinner and entertainment we ended up going out both nights

    The staff at reception and house keeping were very friendly the room was clean and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t fault this hotel in anyway..had a great stay.

    The hotel was nice and clean and room size is perfect the bathrooms especially it was so modern and it’s location is perfect. I booked a night for me and my sister as she had turned 30 I emailed to see if they could organize a little surprise for her upon arrival and we were welcomed with a bottle of bubbly in our room. It was such a nice gesture and special thanks to aisling for doin it for us. All the staff are so polite and friendly we got a lovely welcome when we got there. We didn’t have any dinner in the hotel but breakfast was really tasty. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will defo be back to it again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about hotel, roadworks nearby made access a bit of a challenge

    Great location in the centre of Athlone. Reception staff were exceptional, very friendly and helpful with directions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a wee bit tired.

    Good Air Conditioning. Comfortable beds, and because it is an older building with good solid walls there is no disturbance at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in Athlone around 1300h and speculatively asked the receptionist if our room was ready. No...it wasn’t, she averred, but she would ring us when it was. 1600h was normal check-in time, she reminded us. We strolled around the town – the day was fine and we were in no rush. No call came, so we presented for check-in at four. There were murmurings of apology, but it was clear that we had been forgotten about. Not to worry...we were checked in to Room 219. Unutterably bad move! This cramped double room looked out over the bin area, giving a richly panoramic view of the dirtiest collection of wheelie-bins of all shapes and makes imaginable. Such filth made the rear of the hotel look more like a landfill than a so-called 4-star hotel yard. There were dozens of bins, many open to the elements, with decaying food scraps clearly visible and providing welcome sustenance to starlings, magpies, rooks and ...God knows what else. To augment their diet, a large open bag of ox-bones lay there, a couple of metres from the kitchen door. Containers of filthy water stood idly around, decorated with grimy, hapless floor-cloths – and litter everywhere. Staff emerged time and again to dump leftovers, using their uncovered hands and back into the kitchen they loped – not before having a routine suck on an e-cigarette. The whole panoply of detritus was truly condemnable – I have never seen such lack of hygiene anywhere, and I include in that several visits to Hadean hostelries behind the former Iron Curtain. The hotel itself had little to recommend it – the lift and its carpet were unclean. The staff-members were uninspiring. Our room had faulty lighting, a hair-dryer that blew up, a shower with no safety mat and a bed that was far from comfortable. And the housekeeper barged in without as much as a knock or credible apology at 9.30am. Did I say 4-Star? Breakfast was below average for an hotel – the “full Irish” wept in fats and the coffee just about drinkable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't ready until just before 6pm. Booked a double room, opened the door to three single beds. Was never informed a double was unavailable. I had no time to look into getting a double room as we were pressed for time and as we only got the room at 6pm we needed to be out of the hotel by 6:30pm. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed as we had booked a twin room but the second Bed was a foldout bed not very comfortable but as we only stayed the one night it was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a small family party at the hotel and the staff were SUPER helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They were really, really happy to do whatever we asked with no fuss at all. Thank-you. Accommodation is comfortable and clean, rooms are a bit small if you get a standard room. Breakfast is good value too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kept awake all night by the music. Rang down to reception to complain and was told the music would be on till half 2 or 3 as there was a wedding underneath our room, music in the bar and the nightclub also. We were not told upon arrival that there would be any of these music events taking place. Wouldn’t stay again as first impressions last

    Room was clean and location was central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window sills and top of tables need to be washed, since people have dust allergies. The staff Were friendly and accommodating.

    The eggs were fluffy but the bed was not a cloud . The pillows were flat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was a little cramped and always full ie had to wait for another vehicle to leave before I could park.

    Room was spacious, bed was huge, bathroom with twin bowls and separate shower and bath was delightful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a Cappuccino at breakfast - Don't know what they gave me, but it certainly was not cappuccino or anything I would call even close to Coffee.

    Friendly Staff, Free Parking, Decent Breakfast (except the Coffee)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really great. Luxury bed and great space in room. Had a great nights sleep. Night porter and girl at reception desk very friendy, efficient and welcoming. Car parking facilities were easily accessible also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would suggest is maybe power hosing the outside of the building.

    Friendly check in reception staff. Good atmosphere in the bar area. Good selection of options for breakfast. Good fast service for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little greasy ! We didn't like having to circle the town to get to the hotel . The Main Street of the town was dug up & closed to traffic ,obviously not the hotels fault.

    Room was very comfortable & clean & we could open the window! (not always possible ) staff very friendly & breakfast was good value & freshly cooked . There was a good band playing in the bar till late .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast the first morning was very greasy didn find it appealing.. second morning was far better

    room was nice and spacious beds where comfy loved the big shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been included.

    The staff on reception were lovely and the room was excellent and very spacious. Breakfast was not included in the price of our room, though. The location so close to the centre of Athlone was a bonus, as everything is within walking distance. Good parking as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a meal in the bar and found the spare ribs were very hard to eat as they seemed to be under cooked.

    Lovely hotel with very friendly staff and in a great location. Ashling at reception was such a pleasure to deal with and full of advice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was having a argument with a woman at reception. I don't think she was staying at the hotel but still it was very unprofessional. We were just checking in and therefore this was our first impression and it made us very uncomfortable

    Very central, good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault but the traffic was appalling. A heads up about delays in a location would be helpful

    Location was great. Staff were lovely. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a club on the ground floor so we were a little concerned about the noise but our room was pretty sound proof

    Great breakfast, served quickly. Room was large and comfortable and the shower was very powerful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say.

    From the moment we arrived all was good, we had a lovely meal with friends and the service in the bar was excellent and staff friendly and helpful. We will return for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one particular lady working at the front desk was unwelcoming and seeemed uninterested. not very helpful and personally came across rude.

    very good location and comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking facilities.

    The location was excellent. Right beside lots of bars, restaurants, activities. The bar was lively with a good sandwich selection for lunch and the breakfast was really nice. Lots of choice and food prepared and served nicely. Check in and out was hassle free. I was with a hen party group so there was a mixture of room types provided, some were very big and some were normal sized but even the smallest of the rooms provided wouldn't be classed as small. Nightclub attached to the hotel but there was no interruption from this or complaints from any in our group re being kept awake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Aisling was so nice and helpful and telephoned a few days before the booking to see if she could assist with anything prior to arrival. Was so friendly, informative and professional on arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up at 7.30am to someone banging on my door and someone continually ring the phone in the room. Extremely disappointed as the purpose of our visit was to rest and relax.

    The bed was quite comfortable and really enjoyed the food in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I though bedroom doors were a bit gruby.. Roms really clean but corridor and lifts did not give a great impression

    Bedrooms lovely and warm and cosy. Lovely bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming any request we had was seen to immediately. The room was big enough for two and the breakfast was lovely with plenty to eat. Room was cleaned everyday .location was excellent. With a night club attached to the hotel you don't have to go very far. All round I would recommend this hotel Two shopping centres within a five minute stroll of the hotel .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    woken at 2ish with delivery or bins outside noise.

    helpful, flexible staff A delicious apple on leaving and facilitated with parking. and early check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception did not give out any information about breakfast or dining options , I was basically given my room key by one receptionist and had to ask room directions from the other. Room view was terrible looking out upon yard with wheelie bins and staff outside smoking. We paid 140 for this room and have received better service and views from more reasonably priced hotels.

    Location was great , amazing bars and restaurants nearby .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was disappointing on approach outside was dirty and run down looking, reception area was dull and dusty with dirt collected in a corner behind reception desk. Room was stinking of stale cigarette smoke, curtains and carpet needed cleaning window frame was filthy. View was non existent - dirty old buildings which were actually being painted on our first morning causing noise from 8am. Shower was mouldy along the tile/tray.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that there was a couple next door who were arguing throughout the entire night so I didn't get any sleep. However I did say it to the Receptionist the next day and i was compensated and they were very apologetic.

    The bed was very comfortable. Room was lovely and and relaxing. Very good location. Food in Bar and in Restaurant was delicious. Staff were very polite and nice. Hotel was very clean. Very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Through no fault of theirs there was no water in the hotel or indeed the town for the evenin. It came on next morning. Water was provided in a bottle. They could have contacted me beforehand advise may have decided to change location

    Very comfortable room, nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    Perfect location!!!! Reasonable fee, good wifi, free parking, bar/restaurant/club facilities right onsite which was great, amazing shower, nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entertance to the hotel could be improved

    Staff are very helpful, friendly and courteous. Lovely room, spacious, very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely food very reasonably priced served in The Prince Bar. Hotel in great location with free car parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water for 15 hours due to local water shortage. Breakfast room service late and order not complete (food average). Nightclub below kept us awake until after 3am despite being on second floor.

    Excecutive double - spacious room with good facilities. Excellent en suite with full bath and luxurious shower. Good wi-fi connection. Parking at hotel. Great location for shopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of room. Nothing to see. Looking down on very delapedated roof

    Extremely comfortable beds. Restaurant, coffee shop and bars very good and breakfast was excellant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff that were on duty the night we checked in & out the next morning, were the nicest & friendliest staff that i have come across, really appreciated that we were allowed to stay extra time in room, 1.30pm before anyone bother us, it was great to just sleep in & relax without someone banging on the door, every ten minutes. Didn't wake until 1pm !! room lovely and warm, & quite. Will deffiently be back !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful when driving to this hotel, they changed the system of one way roads in Athlone and we had to use 3 gps systems to find the correct way :-)))) Because of Emma storm the hotel wasn't able to provide water at all, no discount was offered to us, in the evening we can't use water at all, in the morning we had warm water, but our friends in other room had only cold water. We didn't ask for breakfast, so I can't say anything about that, we went only in the morning to the breakfast restaurant to have a look and it wasn't interesting for us so we decided to eat somewhere else on the way...

    good location, big parking place, good looking restaurant, comfortable bed, massage shower (if you can use warm water :-))

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the cleanliness of the reception area, lifts, common foyer are was disgraceful, it reeked of cigarette smoke, carpets were not hoovered, walls and surfaces in lifts were stained and grimy. The room itself was fine, very cleaned and well stocked etc. however walking through at check in and seeing how dirty it was we decided to not even try the restaurant and went to the "fatted calf" which across the street .

    Room was clean and bathrron was spacious, staff were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No information given on check in about wifi, breakfast, or how to get in and out of the car park....One doesn't always think to ask about these things after a long drive !

    The room was spacious and well fitted out. Excellent range of tv channels and also a DVD player which i made use of. Aisling ... ( I hope I have her name correct)...who worked at reception some of the time was absolutely excellent whenever i needed anything. Overall, the hotel was great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious, nice and warm. The power in the shower was great. Great selection of food for breakfast. The location of the hotel was excellent, near to all the nearby shops

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very disappointed to have got a single room at 95 euro when i spoke to other guests who shared rooms for €70. I didnt make breakfast and when i mentioned this at check out nothing was said. I have stayed there previous and was giving a free coffee because of this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed in the prince of wales a few times and always have an enjoyable visit. There is easy access to train station, shops and other facilities around the town. The only fault we had is that our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3. We were told it would be only a few minutes so we decided to have a drink in the bar and someone would come in and tell us when it was ready. No one came to let us know and after 40 mins we have to go and check ourselves.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our window was onto a flat roof and a adjacent building .But we didn't go there to just look out the window so wasn't very big problem

    Very central to all amenities .Walking distance to shopping centres , cinema , restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when checking out girl at desk just took room keys and didnt utter a word to us.

    even though there was a night club attached to hotel we didnt hear a thing. had great nights sleep. food in restaurant really good. will definityly be back,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our Room was exactly what we requested, very quiet, spotlessly clean, warm and cosy. Staff particularly in Bar even though very busy were exceptionally efficient and helpful. Bar Food excellent. Was there last year, just returned now, and hopefully will be back again next year for another three days.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite our room being a non smoking room it had definitely been one in the past. It still smelled strongly of smoke which was disappointing.

    Price was great, location was great, staff really friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no water due to a burst pipe in the town,so as you can imagine that was a complete disaster!! I know it wasn’t the hotels fault but had we been told when we arrived that the water would be off for the two days/nights of our stay we would have moved on to another hotel. On checking out we were told the manager would contact us by phone but as yet I haven’t heard from him.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very grubby. The foyer floors were filthy, dust and dirt. The lift floor was very dirty, the bedroom carpet was stained and while the room was ok cleanliness wise; it hadn't had a proper clean.

    Wonderful friendly staff, very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift walls were dirty and carpet on floor, strong smell of deodorant in room when we opened door, cushion covers and throws on bed were grubby with stains and covered in hairs, rubber bath mat was filthy covered in hairs it was disgusting I reported this to reception who said they would report this to management I did not hear anything back from management after I reported it, when we were checking out receptionist was calling us by someone else name? Don't know why I booked room and paid for it when we arrived with my credit card don't know why she would use someone else name and I did point it out to her,

    We checked in at 4.30pm front desk were efficient and friendly, plenty of parking and good location and good breakfast and bar food were good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, there was a party in a conference room on a lower floor, which was very loud in our room and went on past midnight. We were not warned of this.

    We enjoyed the stay and booked very last minute, so we were happy to get a place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, and relaxing. Lovely welcome on checking in, and was kindly offered to accommodate any further requests. We also got a call a few days before we arrived to ask if we needed anything on arrival

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that guests did not get priority parking. There were occasions I had to look for parking in the adjacent shopping centre and carry luggage back to the hotel NOT good !

    I loved the size of my room very spacious and I could spread out I loved the atmosphere in the bar area it was a great area to meet and chat with friends The food was good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, and very noisy. I've stayed before and had lovely rooms , but this one was very small.

    It is central to the town, so no need to drive or get a taxi . Everything is in walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has all one requires for a lovely comfortable stay. The decor downstairs needs updating and the exterior of the hotel needs to be updated but none of that takes from the lovely comfortable rooms which have comfy beds, good showers, are spotlessly clean and have all one needs. The food is reasonably priced, is of great quality and tastes great and most important the staff are lovely, friendly and provide a great service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't work the room temperature properly heating remained on all night not a bad complaint for most people. Young girl on reception seemed a little overwhelmed by 8 of us checking in together

    Value for money cost of accommodation was very reasonable that's why we keep returning 🤑

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilets in bedroom were not totally clean..... could do with attention to detail. silver on doors were dirty looking . it just made the room feel dirty . morning staff at breakfast could do with smiling.

    Dinner was delicious and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we were frst put into had a extremely bad smell it was disgusting that you couldn't stay in it. The staff move us to a different room it wasn't as bad but still had a bit of a smell. For the price that we paid it was definitely not worth it. I would not stay in the hotel again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely, spacious and clean triple room! The room was quiet and comfortable. The hotel bar has a great menu and had live music the night we were there. The breakfast was delicious and served fresh, with a good choice. The hotel is only 2 minute walk away from the Athlone town shopping centre, with plenty of bars and restaurants only a stroll away. Parking was free at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful esp Ashling who you felt 100% was happy to assist you in any way possible. The room we had was lovely with the walk in shower. Would def stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very noisey from the time we got there at lunch time , I brought this to the attention of the staff at the desk down stairs that I really didn't want this to be happening all night , noise of teenagers talking loudly and laughing. Unfortunately she said if she moved us to a different room chances are that room could be more noisey with the night club underneath. So I said no Il stay in the room I was in as it might quieten down later . So we went down for dinner in the bar and had to drinks , lucky enough the noise from the people had stopped. But shortly after when we went to go asleep, we found that our night was not going to be so relaxing , you could hear the noise from the night club ,large amounts of bottles being thrown in the bins throughout the night and people talking loudly outside . Needless to say we did not get to much sleep through out the night . My husband had booked this night in athlone as a relaxed night to shorting our journey to Galway the net day where we we're going on to celebrate my 30th Birthday the next night . The bed was very uncomfortable, the heating was up sky high in the room and we couldn't turn it down , although we did get the air conditioner on at some stage . During the night my husband went to the vending machine on our floor to get some bottles of water , the mechine must of not been in working order as it took €6 of his money ( the only change in coins we had ) and he never got any drinks ! From start to finish our hole experience just didn't go well, i brought our experience to the attention at the desk the next morning while checking out , the lady was nice but all she done was refund us €6 that had been taking by the vending machine and he name that she would look after us if we stayed again . I actually don't think I would go and pay to stay in this hotel again I felt she could of done more due to the poor nights sleep we had got !

    The hotel is very central. Close to all the shops bar in the town .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls. I was kept awake all night with the poor person in the room beside me throwing up all night.

    Clean and modern rooms. Comfy beds and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was space in the car park and on the reception told its full worst staff in the word lying to the face customers

    the receptionist is lying worst hotel in the word bad staff NO NO NO NO

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault it

    Last minute booking to bring my partner away for one night. Stayed here a few times and it's a great location, right in the middle of Athlone. We arrived late so had dinner in the hotel. Food and service was A++. Breakfast was great too the next morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information given about amenities from front desk staff

    Staff a bit hands off....no information given about breakfast, facilities or local area when checking in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect for our purpose. We weren't bothered by the view from the window (fire escape)

    Clean rooms. Varied dining options. All facilities in room. Great central location. Value for money. 2nd time staying at this property and would definitely recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Name of hotel could be clearer on outside of building. Wasn't crazy about colour scheme, but that is a personal thing.

    The location, room and bathroom were all excellent. Staff were all charming, efficient and friendly. Breakfast was very good, and it was a nice surprise that our breakfast was cooked to order. The only slight drawback was that the name of the hotel is not very clear from outside, so I was actually unsure that I was at the right location initially! However, once inside all was great. I will certainly be returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little awkward getting to our room, tucked back through what appeared to be a hidden door, up some stairs and around a corner (that was filled with a cleaning trolley the majority of the time). But in reality this was minor compared to the pluses of this property, which are hugely important positives.

    The location of the hotel in relation to attractions in town, and the atmosphere in the attached bar, as well as both the bar staff and hotel staff were great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right outside our bedroom window was a wall.

    Super friendly staff. Room was super spacious and comfortable. Bar area was fab and bar staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myself and my friends stayed in Athlone for my 30th birthday, as we all went to college in AIT. I would of expected free entry passes to the nightclub for staying in the hotel, however I was told "No" and that the hotel was separate from the nightclub, which sounds silly! The hotel advertises the nightclub on their website. This was a bit disappointing, myself and my friends attended the nightclub every week for four years of college, a few passes would of been a nice token on my birthday. We have a few more 30th birthdays coming up and will likely pick a different town.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Prince of Wales Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: