Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Trim Castle Hotel 4 stars

Castle Street, . Trim, Ireland

#5 of 15 hotels in Trim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 539 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I dislike is the fact I can never run a tab here so everything goes on one bill. I have stayed 4 or 5 times now and I find it a frustration. This is to do with credit card v debit card and ‘company policy’

    Nice hotel. Nice picturesque location Nice quality food. I like this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service was very substandard. Wait staff was disorganized ( we had 4-5 different different people serving us and they did not seem aware of each other) and the food itself was poorly prepared.

    Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left some articles on top of the wardrobe and I was covered in a shower of dust taking them down. WIFI kept dropping out but was fast when working. Breakfast was hard, unappetizing and over cooked and should not have been served. Staff need reminded that it is always good to engage eye contact and smile.

    This has been our first choice Hotel on many visits to this area. Reliable in the past and always highly rated. We will probably stay again although there is competition in the area and it is a fact that one tends to remember the last experience if bad. Breakfast room formally set out with white table covers etc. Good coffee. Fresh fruit and yoghurt available. Parking is easy with barrier system and costs only 3€ per 24 hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great ,the food excellent but the best thing I can say about this hotel was the staff from reception ,bar restaurant and even the cleaning staff were so friendly and helpful.It makes a huge difference to any hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was 2 single beds pushed to together sharing a double sheet.

    Very nice hotel. Food was excellent. Portions were huge.. 2nd time to stay there will be back :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Trim Castle for a wedding (the second in 2 years) and it was gorgeous as always. The food was nice, the room was stunning and the staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding reception being held on the main floor. The music (especially the bass) was excessively loud. We called front desk at 12:30 am because it was just so loud. Front desk said they would tell the DJ to turn down the bass. Music and bass stayed the same & kept us up well past 2am. Even with ear plugs you could still here the music and we were on the 2nd floor and other side of the reception.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet did not work in the room, what was a bit frustrating, but worked well in the entrance hall and restaurant. Moreover, parking costs extra (3 euros per night).

    In general the hotel is great. Location is perfect, the room is very comfortable, and staff very friendly. The room had a great view to the castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel overall was very clean and comfortable and a great venue for a wedding. However should one stay for a longer time it would require a leisure facility on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Stayed for a wedding. Brilliant from start to finish, staff were friendly and professional. Room was large bright, clean and comfortable. Bonus having a balcony to enjoy the weather and view. Breakfast was excellent and well organised. Great that we were able to check in early so we could get organised for the 2pm wedding ceremony. We will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No appliable

    Everything! I have been staying here for around five years and every time it never lets me down amazing staff excellent food and great service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service - just for 4 star we expected table service and choice but buffet choice was excellent and loved fresh fruit and yougert xx

    Lovely location, excellent quality overall and friendly and attentive staff 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a issue with the room - 1) There was coffee left in one off the mugs from previous guest 2) we found a pill from a previous guest sitting on one of the chairs- luckily my child isn’t mobile enough yet so couldn’t get to it!!! 3) were kept awake till 2am on the second night by music from a wedding which with a newborn is most annoying.

    Good quality ingredients on breakfast menu

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were boiling hot even though we turned the radiator down and opened the window. A bit of a sticky nights sleep!

    Lovely big rooms and very clean. Staff were very pleasant and my husband especially liked the chicken wings in the restaurant! The food was really nice and the view to the castle was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our friends were given a disabled room, they accepted it, as it was only the bathroom that was different from a normal room. I was somewhat surprised, considering we booked in September 2017, for our visit in April 18. I would of expected a normal room, booking so far in advance. Upon checking in, the reception staff took a while to allocate our rooms and were talking amongst themselves, so I guessed they were struggling to find us a room. Apart from this, I cannot fault the hotel!

    Liked Everything! Food and staff were lovely. Friendly staff, very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt like the carpet wasn't well vacuumed along the edges and in the corners. I didn't want to look too closely.

    staff was pleasant and attentive to our needs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not understand breakfast policy, one day it was buffet incl. warm buffet (only ready at 7:40 AM instead of 7:00 AM), the other full Irish breakfast on the plaste on the table. Besides, saw the waiter poring back into the bottle of the buffet, orange juice which was in a glass on a table from a guest, probably not used. This can't be, at least not in the presence of guests. Sink in the room burst!

    Location of the hotel is beautifull! Nice bar. Good parking. Perfect Free WIFI, nice personnel, clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to complain about

    I have stayed here once before and enjo ed it very much. the staff were wonderful and the food and accomodation were great too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitstly I totally understand why the €3 charge for parking is but just don't understand why it's not put into the room charge as hotel should provide parking Breakfast was a bit of a nightmare was 9.10am we were kinda killed for time but we had to wait for freshitems to be put on the counter but had to ask twice for this to happen

    Reception were amazing had problem with room was sorted within mins food fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff at checkin - were unsmiling, unwelcoming [ despite the late use of the sentence "you are welcome" ] . Eye to eye contact absent --- the computer screen appeared more important . When I VERY POLITELY said Id had never been asked the NAME of my room share -- I received a very defensive explanation of fire regulations etc etc. While all this may well be true -- there IS a way to deliver this information ---WITH an understanding SMILE and not make the CUSTOMER feel they had made a personal challenge to staff. !! . All other staff were delightful. Retraining obviously needed here.

    General decor, ambience , central scenic location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wedding was taking place on the Sunday of my arrival, I had requested a quiet room but I don't think any room in the hotel wasn't vibrating from the music at the wedding which lasted until 3am. I was moved rooms at midnight as the manager thought it would help, it didn't.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in this hotel for a family wedding. Excellent wedding facilities, comfy bed and superb location right beside Trim Castle. Great for wedding photos,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Was very clean and very welcoming upon arrival. Room was spacious and nice, with balcony. Restaurant was lovely, nice food with a beautiful view of Trim castle outside lit up at night, great service in restaurant also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl who checked us in seemed to have something of an attitude problem. It was a shame since the rest of the staff were absolutely lovely.

    We had a castle-view room, that was cool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local youths using hotel underground car park and hotel facilites unchallenged. Meant you felt unsafe about your belongings and unsafe for elderly customers.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for valentines night. it was cold in the dining room and a cold atmosphere overall. Tablecloths on tables would be nice as the tables are a bit grubby. Dinner was served on freezing cold plates. The restaurant was cold and not a great atmosphere in general. This hotel while quit new feels tired. Need refurbishment. On the plus side staff are really friendly and helpful and really nice which makes up for a lot.

    Location was good. Castle looks amazing from the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had dinner in the bar, service good but food very poor

    Breakfast was fine because I was there at 7.15am but a large number of breakfasts were cooked at this time and sitting there, what would they be like at 10 am?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar manager was rude. Younger of group brought food into the bar and rather than just explain hotel policy to only allow food purchased in bar to be consumed in bar he very rudely told them they couldn't eat there. When one of the older group tried to explain circumstances behind purchasing food elsewhere he was rude to him also.

    Good choice for breakfast but could be a bit hotter. Room were comfortable and spacious. Beds / pillows very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rain maybe don't think you can do much about that.

    My first visit to your hotel. found it excellent. attended my friends wedding everything food music and staff all very professional and excellent I'll be back again. Thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book to have a Wheelchair accessibly shower this we did not have it was pointed out to reception and they read my booking very apologetic but no compensation offered!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly dated, TV was brutally small & room was very hot, with no thermostat to change temp

    Location, Staff & Food were as good as gets. Got the Half board option, dinner was a set menu, steak was one of the best me & GF have ever had. Dessert & Breakfast were top notch. I think his name was Michael in charge of the bar, was incredible nice & great at his job. Checkout was great, extra hour in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was disappointing I'm not a fan of buffet breakfast and it was a little cold - I didn't complain as it was adequate for my purpose but had I been on holiday I would have been disappointed.

    The room was very big and well equipped the bed was comfortable and the bedding was clean and crisp. The bathroom was adequate could have done with a separate shower considering the size of the room. all staff were well trained efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two nights was too short. Next time will be longer. Missed out on the castle tour, due to the time of year.

    Hot crispy beef salad was gorgeous, as was the fish and chips.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    however I found the bathroom a little difficult as I am no tall, the bath was difficult to access. and the vanity basin was too high. also very hard to operate safe as it was far to low down.

    attended a family wedding, it was absolutely beautiful the detail of the whole reception. highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing tbh.

    Hotel excellent in every aspect. Couldn't fault it in any way whatsoever. From the very friendly staff at reception through to the bar and the room was great. Very comfortable. Not too warm but nice and cosy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could use more staff at the bar for a large function. Soundproofing is non-existant in the rooms near the function room Heating far too high in room.

    Stayed for a wedding. ceremony facilities, food, snack were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find any faults. Overall, it was a lovely stay, and definitely be back, time and again.

    Location was beautiful with views of the castle. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It was refreshing to see staff laugh and joke amongst themselves.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat could have come on a little earlier earlier as it was very cold last weekend. Also could have some live music in the bar a bit quiet.

    Ate in The Bar food was great lovely warm atmosphere would go again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was part of lip sync acts went for breakfast at 1035 and told it was over , bit much for 110 euro and when I returned to room I could nt get in !!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar prices are expensive. The coffee machine at breakfast does not produce acceptable coffee. The orange juice jugs needed cleaning.

    The double bed was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was lovely. The location was great. This was an unexpected stop on our trip because of Hurricane Ophelia. Even though many places were shut down the staff at the hotel was kept everything running smoothly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a gluten free option for breakfast and was told not available. . Most hotels have a section separate. Managed to buy a gluten free sandwich in the hotel cafe !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easier way to print out your boarding pass. They don't have a business center so we had to work with the front desk to print them out.

    The rooms are clean, the rate reasonable and the location right across from Trim Castle. They have a little outside terrace for guests to have a drink overlooking the castle. Trim is a great place to stay if you want to see Newgrange. We stayed there the night before and were on our way so we could be the first ones to sign up for the bus to the site. Trim is also only about 40 minutes from the Dublin airport. It worked well to stay there stay getting up for an early flight out. There are also some nice cafes and restaurant in the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - hotel was good and very comfortable, but modern style so if you are looking for quaint this is probably not the place

    We stayed here after being recommended the town of Trim as a good spot to spend last night in Ireland before flying home. The airport is only 50 minutes or so from Trim and we had an early afternoon so it worked really well. The Trim Castle Hotel is also right across the road from the Trim castle and we loved our walk in the morning through the town, along the river and around the Castle. A beautiful town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved every thing.

    I love when I go into a hotel and go oh my god this is lovely and then I know iam goi g to enjoy the visit and that is how I felt when I went in to trim castle the stag were lovely and could not do enough for us will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a lovely stay, only improvement our room took a long Time to clean the second day we were there.

    staff were very welcoming and friendly. room was big with lovely balcony, breakfast was very filling and good value, the hotel was very central with the castle right beside us. the shops and cafes were very near and great walks along the river, trim is a lovely town to visit would go back in a heart beat,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wedding party very loud on our floor starting late afternoon. Kids running up and down hallway without supervision. At the breakfast buffet other guests complained about the wedding party noise all night, even went to the front desk to ask for earplugs. This was on a weekday, not the weekend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful as I was travelling with someone who was sick, let us have late checkout and helped get her in to see the local doctor. Rooms were comfy. Very convenient location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bath was nice and clean - so i had a relaxing bath and my partner had one after me. Did not have to wait hours for the water to be hot. Would stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air-con in the building & the bedroom was stifling. Mattresses were hard & single beds very narrow, the smallest I have seen since childhood! Dinner was just ok, the menu unchanged while we were there. Room keys had to be changed several times due to lock-out & the car parking card failed to work on 2 occasions.

    The staff were excellent, good sized room, lovely breakfasts. The hotel is directly opposite Trim Castle & the roof terrace makes a wonderful viewing area. We were lucky with the weather & were able to make the most of the view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast on the two mornings were not up to four star standard. People beside us complaining as well. It was cold one morning and the eggs were not cooked properly . The second morning you could not cut the bacon as it was that hard and the eggs were cold. Baileys bar needs a revamp as well as its a little dated..

    The room was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not functioning. Room was as far away from the entrance as one could go. Quite a walk when the hotel was not filled and seemed like there were plenty of closer rooms. Breakfast buffet was horrible.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not available in the room as advertised. The problem appears to be long standing as a permanent sign is posted at check on counter

    Great location and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I f I had booked the room directly from the hotel it would have been cheaper. Guests had to pay for parking while it was only €3 per day visitors coming for a meal or a drink on Sundays had free parking. The drink. at the reception tended to be a bit pricy. with such a large crowd at wedding receptions I believe the prices could be cheaper.

    Attended for a wedding reception possibly the best venue I was ever at for a wedding. Rooftop terrace before the reception was splendid great views of trim castle. The food was excellent, Brilliant efficient staff. The meal was served without any delays between courses. The staff put a little show of there own while serving the top table, lovely touch. Hotel rooms were very spacious, comfortable and very clean. I would highly recommend this venue for a wedding reception or a stay for any reason.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine needs to be changed for breakfast. Cold coffee. House keeping knocking on door and walking straight in half an hour before check out time.

    Clean well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most Reception staff were not very friendly or informative. The water in our bathroom was not always hot. A sizeable pool of water collected by the toilet every time we showered. We had problems with our key card. We were unable to open the door to gain access on three occasions. The food was average. Staff were slow to replenish the buffet selection at breakfast. Wi-Fi was slow, and difficult to connect to from our bedroom. We have stayed in many hotels across Ireland and found Trim Castle Hotel disappointing.

    The roof top garden is delightful with an amazing view of Trim Castle and the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed very comfortable,Staff very friendly and attentive,food was excellent, easy parking,great view of Trim castle,had a great 3 days will use this hotel again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was ok!

    The location was perfect, we could see the castle from our window. The room was nice and comfy. The restaurant is very good and the waiters supernice. Parking was convenient and the fee was ok. The hotel has a nice store for buying presents.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't really fault the place at all.

    View was amazing and the breakfast was fantastic. The room was spacious and clean and room service was prompt.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a more powerful shower.

    An amazing hotel in beautiful surroundings. Food was fantastic, service was spectacular and rooms were restful. We can't wait to visit again. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was difficult to join and very slow.

    The hotel is a modern, upscale, and very comfortable facility. Best of all, it is located directly across from the ruins of a Norman castle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Weather. It rained for most of the afternoon while we were there.

    Location across the Road from the historical Trim Castle is great. The Castle tour is a must. The Restaurant was lovely. Just a pity it wasn't on the other side of the hotel where they was a fantastic view of the Castle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished I would have had more of a view in my window. The window itself was above my head so I couldn't see out. No big deal really other rooms had doors going out to a balcony. So all in all great room, great hotel.

    The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we booked through booking.com, we were only given the option of 2 rooms for 4 people. On arrival, we realized that each room could easily have accommodated all of us. As it was our last night together in Ireland, we ended up only using the 1 room. It would have been nice if we didn't have to pay for an extra room we ended up not using at all. Again, not the fault of the hotel, but with the booking site.

    The staff at the hotel bar was excellent. They accommodated our late arrival, and provided a wonderful meal, complete with the best gin & tonic I've ever had. The room itself was very comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tried to charge me at the end of our stay for use of the hotel car park. Tried to charge for a bottle of wine that had already been paid for at dinner.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a VERY LOUD party booked that went on into the early hours of the morning, and even in a room a couple floors away the noise kept us awake all night. Originally we had been put on the same floor as the party room! The only reason we had even been moved was because we requested a move to a different bed situation (not knowing about the party). The room we were moved to had a broken thermostat so we could not turn off the heat and we were much too warm, also keeping us awake. Because of this party, the hotel restaurant had been closed for the night and we got dinner in the cafe/bar (the meal was good). In the morning, I had an early flight so we went down to breakfast shortly after the breakfast service was supposed to be open. There was no hot food available, no coffee because the coffee machine was broken, and no one came to take our order for some time so we did not have time to order anything. We basically grabbed a yogurt and left.

    Good location, right across the street from the castle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room on the 3rd floor had a small window which you could not see out of unless you were standing right at it, would recommend asking for a room with a view when booking.

    Very friendly staff, lovely bar food and a beautiful castle beside you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay and the food in the bar was absolutely delicious. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for a swim to leisure centre. But staff did not advise us of classes on. Was told we could use jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and when we entered not allowed to use jacussi. Waste of time

    Liked everything in hitel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had to pay for parking in the your carpark we came last year and it wasn't charged but for staying in a hotel i would like free parking

    I loved the breakfast and how friendly the staff was and how comfy the bed was nice rooms also 😊

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking underground was confusing but finally understood that you paid reception 3 euros and they validate.

    We traveled for 19 hours. Landed in Dublin, picked up our car, and drove to hotel. It was early for our checkin but the reception was so understanding. She found us a room and we were able to shower and sleep. So thoughtful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were there on a Sunday so it was kind of quite. The location is easy to find and parking is wonderful. The location is perfect, across from the castle and the views from the room balcony is perfect. The room is very big and clean. Checkin was easy and the people that work there are all helpful and courteous. The breakfast is wonderful and very good. There were MANY choices and the room was comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about really. If I had to complain about something, it would be that when we first arrived, the hallway to our room had an odd odor to it. Almost like a mildew or musky odor. I didn't notice the smell on the second day though.

    Bed waso quite comfortable. Staff went above and beyond for the wedding and reception. We especially enjoyed the wonderful presentation of the main course during the reception. It was a very nice touch none of us at the reception were expecting!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints here. Everything was wonderful!

    The staff was incredible. We had to fly in a day earlier than planned and staff was extremely accommodating - even made us tea when we arrived very early at 6:45am!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the room much too warm even though we turned off the radiator and opened the window but that might be great for some in March.

    Clean, comfortable beds, plenty of space and a lovely shower. Across the road from Trim castle and a large park. Lovely roof terrace overlooking the castle.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Trim Castle Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: