Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Trinity Lodge 3 stars

12 South Frederick Street, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#44 of 93 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1123 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had known about the £25 shuttle service to the hotel from the airport! We paid £67 each way!😢

    Very welcoming staff! Gentleman on night duty took two of our luggage bags for safe keeping to hotel storage (3 days while we were on our Rabbies tour to Galway), provided us with a breakfast bag of delicious yogurt, pastry, etc the next morning, directions to Starbucks & local sites and upon our arrival back to the hotel we enjoyed a lovely large first floor room for our last night! We will be back & will enthusiastically recommend to friends & family! There was nothing that concerned us about the property! Perfect location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is heavy security - several keys to open several entry doors and even a FOB that you had to swipe to open an entry door and a button to hold on the way out. THEN the worst part of staying there was the shower. The shower was SUPER loud. This caused the room across the hall from us to get angry with us showering. He called the lobby complaining that we were showering. Then the lobby called us and asked us not to shower because the guy was complaining about the noise the shower was making. It was crazy.

    The location - conveniently by all the shops and a wonderful Italian Restaurant. The size of the room was fantastic but more than we needed. Two large king beds - only requested one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right by Trinty College and therefore very much near everything. Breakfast was great and their staff friendly and helpful. If you was to be in the middle of Dublin, this is it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. Breakfast was perfect especially bagel Benedict with salmon and local homemade yoghurt yami... were so good. Very friendly and helpful staff. We will come back. I can recommend this Hotell, but however not for people with reduced mobility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was ground floor - there was mold along edges of shower. Sunday breakfast only starts @ 8:30. We had to leave for airport at 8. So they offered us a bag breakfast. Dry croissant (nothing to put on it), jar of yogurt, sparkling water (?), banana. For $400+ room this was not value for money.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing, especially the manager @ the front desk & Chris on afternoon/evening duty! They allowed us to leave a few suitcases at the hotel business office while we were on tour a few days to Galway (since we stayed a night before & after our side trip) offered us sack breakfast one morning & enjoyed a full breakfast our last am. The rooms & beds were very comfortable (especially 182 on the 1st floor). Very accommodating & would highly recommend & stay here again! It is across from Trinity College, near the tour bus leaving area, coffee shops & restaurants!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disadvantage is that it is an old Georgian building so there is no lift, which is a problem if your hotel is at the top of the stairs as mine was. The hotel is also not cheap but that seems to be pretty common in Dublin

    Great location near Trinity college and a very nice, comfortable, spacious room. Breakfast was excellent with prompt service too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING WAS NEGATIVE. IT WAS A TERRIFIC PROPERTY FOR OUR NEEDS,

    We loved the location; the staff was fabulous and accommodating and very helpful; the room was charming; and breakfast was marvelous! We would recommend Trinity Lodge to other travelers to Dublin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great that there was an iron and ironing board in the room! :) Great breakfast options Heated towel rail Both bath and shower option Air Conditioning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was affected by a loud buzzing from a boiler close by. We were offered a 50% refund if we wanted to leave. Later we were offered a 100% refund if we got out within 30 minutes. I bought earplugs.

    Breakfast was good, nice food and plenty of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Currently a little building work at the rear of the hotel just be aware of that if you want to lie in.

    Lovely Hotel Close to Trinity College where I was teaching at a conference, The hotel is split over two buildings book the annexe if you can as that's where the breakfast is! full Irish Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was the bathroom sink water became scalding hot shortly after turning faucet on...no matter what way you turned the knob. (Shower was perfect though)

    Was just the right size... clean and comfy! Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator so getting up the narrow stair case (three flights) was challenging

    Proximity to everything - we walked everywhere - no need for car or taxi/ bus. Our stay included breakfast which was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the wifi was woeful, the TV didn't work and all round the place felt a little tired.

    The staff were brilliant and the location very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the key system was a bit complicated at first. At checkin it was necessary for us and another couple to wait almost 10 minutes to get a staff person to come to the door. She then told us that all churches in Ireland are catholic when we asked about the nearest catholic church. The room overlooked the back of a restaurant and thus opening the window was not feasible.

    The restaurant offered an excellent selection for breakfast. The location of the hotel was convenient to many places such as Trinity College, St Stephens Green, museums and the Grafton Street area restaurants. The hotel room was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you had to go to another property across the road for breakfast therefore we did not have any.

    Got an upgrade, room was fantastic, staff friendly,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift and it doesnt let you know this when booking

    The property was very central and the breakfast was fantastic and the waiting staff were lovely and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, quiet room, very clean, friendly staff. All you need for a stay in the city centre. As I travel quite a bit on my own I will look back at staying here. The breakfast bag for really early checkout is a great bonus!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the sheets were changed on the bed after each service of room. Same bed sheets were reused throughout our stay, which was roughly five nights.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet seat in our bathroom kept falling each time when you lift the seat it was very annoying. The noise outside ( I think builders were doing some work and it woke me up, early in the morning)

    The room was nice, spacious and very clean. We like tea and coffee facilities. The breakfast was alright. The Location is unbeatable! The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV in my room had poor reception and you couldn't really watch it the picture was so bad. When I queried this at reception they just said 'oh yes unfortunately that's how it is in room 2'. However this didn't really matter as I wasn't there to watch TV but to explore Dublin!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had very little hot water and after it ran for a minute the water was cold 😐. Told reception as we were leaving, she said we should have raised it when we arrived and it may have been sorted, she was really apologetic.

    Got room No2 , just decorated , it was fabulous. Receptionist was helpful and the breakfast was brilliant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were excellent and the breakfast made to order was the cherry on the top. Staff was very helpful and particularly Elena at the reception made my stay extremely pleasant and enjoyable. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an issue for us but there was no elevator. Clean, great location, good value, no frills option.

    Great location with multi-storey carpark just around corner which was very convienient. Breakfast in building across street was generous with good choice. Best value I've had in Dublin in a longtime.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 towels in bathroom felt more could have been provided and there was an industrial Air Conditioning Unit outside window which unfortunately was noisey all night and disturbed our sleep.

    Room (number 2 ground floor) was lovely and recently redecorated and was very well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trinity lodge was two buildings.

    The bed was very comfortable. Staff lovely. Very clean. Great location for shopping and going to the gaiety theatre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a short business trip, travelling with small hand luggage, having accommodation with all facilities in the room is a real bonus - tea/coffee, iron/board, lots of power sockets for recharging mobile and computer - makes a huge difference; it is surprising how few hotels and B&Bs across Europe have it all. Trinity Lodge does. Even the wifi has an access code, so security is higher than most. Starting the day with breakfast in the price that includes smoked salmon is a great start to the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy. Could hear air conditioning unit and fridge switching off and on during the night. Also noise from extract fans constant during the night. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was at the back and there was a lot of outside noise early in the morning. No sound proofing. We were told its a lodge not a hotel.

    Location was good and parking facilities nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were extremely hot. They have air conditioning but this blows straight down onto the bed... so you are either too hot or too cold. The only other bad point was I didn't know which way to turn the tap in the bathroom, when I turned it one way it was hot so reversed it and turned it the other way which was boiling (burnt my fingers). You have to leave the tap on for a few minutes to get it to cold. It would be useful to have a sign showing the hot from the cold as the water is extremely hot.

    Staff extremely friendly. Breakfast was freshly good to order and offered a great choice. Room very spacious and the Wifi was extremely fast. Great location. There is a pub around the corner that services excellent food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING @ all.

    Very quiet area.no noise had street view on second floor so saw the city stroll by, excelent location exceeded expectations by a lot. Room was large & clean & climate control in room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There a few things which let Trinity Lodge down. 1) There was no secure luggage area. 2) The bathroom in room 5 was shabby, very cold and needs updating urgently. This was disappointing. 3) Reception staff booked us a return taxi to the airport and advised it would be a certain price but the driver charged a lot more and I felt this was misleading if it is not a set price then please advise this.

    The location for great for exploring the city and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fraying a bit at the edges. Could do with a bit of a do-over but good value for money in Dublin terms.

    The hotel is superbly situated for access to Temple Bar and Trinity College. On a quiet road close to bars l, sops and restaurants with a great old-school Italian restaurant, Dunne & Crescenzi, next door. Great staff, very helpful. Great breakfast with no trouble cooking a special request for my partner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet had a very poor signal. I needed to do the check-in for the flights half an hour. The noise of a kind of a machine all the night in spite to stay in the last floor. There is not a lift but this I knew it. To use the coffee/tea machine you have to identify where is the plug and you need to keep it as the cable was very short or to put in the carpet.

    The bed was good for me as I had a double for single. Breakfast is very good. Personnel is very smiling and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms on alley side of the main building have single-pane windows and expect to be disturbed most of the night by back-of-house activities including recycling, garbage trucks, construction, etc. Our room was functional, but tight on space.

    Location near Trinity College and Centre City is great advantage. The breakfast is excellent as well with respect to variety and quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 flights of stairs can be a challenge to other people. Bathroom fan's in other rooms can be annoying

    Cosy rooms - excellent location. Very quite part or Dublin City so you get a good nights sleep

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a family room for four adults, breakfast included, another friend joined us for breakfast. While we were eating our breakfast a member of staff approached us to inform us in a loud voice that breakfast was only for three people and we would have to pay €25 extra. I informed her we would have no problem with this, even though I thought breakfast was included for the four occupants of the room. I also felt embarrassed as other guests were present and could hear the outburst. I spoke to the receptionist, explaining I thought breakfast was for four adults, she informed me it wasn't and I could take my complaint up with Booking.Com The shower was also broken and we had to hold it by hand to shower, which we also let her know about, she said she would take note but would not give us any discount

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on third floor no lift

    Our room was upgraded & we were given a complementary breskfast which was yummy!! Tge staff were very helpful & friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think prices could be a little bit lower generally in Dublin

    I loved the decoration and the old style of the hotel .The breakfast was SUPERB and the location next to anything you desire. The staff was extremely kind and helpfull as well as the breakfast staff . Will definetely visit it again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent to the venue we attended.nice period decor.staff pleasant ,available and helpful.

    39 steps to them room.no lift.this needs to be highlighted both for those who are elderly and physically challenged !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor comment: our room was on the third floor with no elevator - fine for us but not for older couples. Breakfast in the weekend starts at 08:30 - late for early risers! We just missed it because we had to leave around 08:00.

    Location is excellent - very close to Grafton Street and next to Trinity College. Temple bar just 5 minutes' walk. Despite central location very quiet. Breakfast was great, lovely choice of eggs and healthy options. Room was large and comfortable, so were the beds, plenty of space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Not hotel's fault, but a nearby building site seemed to be operating (illegally?) during the night, and was quite noisy sometimes.

    Fantastic position in Dublin city centre. Nice large room, large comfy bed. Breakfast only meal available, but VG - very nice helpful staff and good range of croissants, nice bread, nice cooked breakfasts, cereals, fruit etc. Excellent tea. Coffee OK. No gluten free cereal or bread though :(

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction going on behind us. We were on the top floor which was good but there was 66 steps to climb and no lift. We stayed there for 8 nights so that was a lot of climbing stair at least 3 times a day. It was very warm in the room and no single sheet to cover up with. Just the big comfy duvet however we did open the windows when we were in the room.

    Good location. Good breakfast. Friendly. They delivered take away breakfasts to our room on our early morning tours.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise in the room above us in the middle of night for the price they charge the room was very clean but very small the carpet on stairs is badly needing a change the receptionist didn't ask us was everything ok so we didn't bother telling them about the noise it's usually pointless having said all that I would stay agai n because of the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint is the IRON left a rust stain on my blouse. I know irons are difficult to maintain - and Dublin water may be rusty - my best suggestion is they supply irons with NO STEAM OPTION - or tall guests not to use the STEAM function. I ironed the rest of may clothes with the steam function off.

    Staff was OUTSTANDING in EVERY REGARD ! Location PERFECT. Bed etc PERFECT. Warm towel rack FABULOUS> loved that the windows had blind and drapes, so the room was perfectly dark for sleeping !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware there are stairs- we were on third floor so had 64 steps. Good exercise and it certainly makes you remember to take everything you need the first time!

    Large room with huge and very comfortable bed. Windows we could open for fresh air. Wonderful cooked breakfast, made to order. Very fresh fruit salad and pastries. Nice mostly quiet street in the very best of areas for sightseeing and dining. Walked to just about everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit noisy and if opened windows there was a lot of late night street noise. Ground floor room with large windows close to pavement so no privacy unless kept blinds closed.

    Excellent breakfast with plenty to choose from. Staff friendly, welcoming and helpful. Could walk everywhere we wanted to go from hotel - good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the basement room. View was a basement brick wall. No bath. No frills.. eg no biscuit with tea/coffee. For the price we paid we expected a few frills, a bath and some kind of view through the window.. not a wall.

    Breakfast was lovely. Room was nice and warm. Beds were comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tricky to find. The are a lot of stairs (but I knew that before booking).

    Friendly staff and a central location with secure parking just around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't know how to regulate the heating and it was REALLY hot. We had to leave the window open at night!

    The breakfast was great and the room very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were still charged for a blight that we could not use do to a hurricane. A little poor in spirit as we also took an extra might in place of

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers bit old fashioned but endless hot water supply. Very popular...often booked out!

    Fantastic location for eateries,galleries and museums.Grafton Street 3 minutes away .Big comfortable bed,in airy room.Excellent breakfast.Staff very pleasant. Have revisited several times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints.

    We had a lovely 3 night stay starting with the 2 ladies who greeted us at the reception desk, they were so nice and very helpful. They explained everything about the property, then walked us to our room, had our luggage brought over, which arrived immediately as we got to the room. The bed was very comfortable, the prior 2 B&B's were not, so we loved it. Everything was perfect!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could use a better way to store luggage, but it worked.

    We had a large room with a mini fridge and electric fireplace. It was charming and the location was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly greeting on arrival, were taken across the street to another building of Trinity lodge..very grubby hallways, told our room was on the 3rd floor. .no lift. Would not book here again

    Location suited our visit to Dublin

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleanliness, shower very weak. staff not very enthusiastic, nor forthcoming with recommendations. accommodation same price as holiday inn or radisson and yet the accommodation is very simple. felt like staying in a hostel.

    breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed an update as the curtains were coming off of the rod and the tie back fell off the wall. The shower had dark mold around the bottom also. I really had a hard time sleeping as well because the bed is incredibly hard, and I like a firm bed. The pillows are also very flat and not of much use. Not a good nights sleep. Probably wouldn't stay here again as I've stayed at better in Dublin for the same or less money.

    The location was very centrally located. The staff and breakfast were both very nice as well. I was upgraded to a larger room which was nice, however , it ended up being close to a garbage dumpster so I had to listen to bottles being dumped a good bit of the night. Also the the curtains were coming off of the rod. So the room size was wonderful and much appreciated but the room needs so TLC and the location wasn't the best as it overlooked the parking area for the cars on the ground floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to move bags and parking was a small challenge (dropping off bags then getting into nearby underground car park). Not major concerns as both issues were manageable.

    Very good sized room in excellent location in the city area. 12 o’clock check out gave us a comfortable half day to go visit Dublin Castle only 10 minutes walk away. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The order in waitressing tables was abit absent one morning at breakfast. Below footpath room so no view. Not a problem anyway.

    Room was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Nextdoor to a top Italian restaurant .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs!

    Location, staff were so helpful, air con in room, fridge, fabulous breakfast, clean,walking distance to shopping and Temple Bar area! Discounted parking in public car park very close

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible wifi. Rooms dated and in urgent need of refurbishment. Haven't seen a TV like that for over 20 years! Rooms very noisy with poor soundproofing - constant noise of doors closing and other guests walking around as well as construction work in the area. First room we were given (Number 12 - AVOID AT ALL COSTS) was very small. Unfortunately it also backed onto neighbours' bathroom with a power shower attached to the wall behind our bed. The noise when the shower was used was incredible - like having a drill next to your ear. Fortunately the staff moved us to another room which was larger and quieter, but still badly in need of updating. Very small shower cubicles, even where there was room for a larger one. Cracked and dirty tiles but cleaners clearly doing their best with poor premises. Overall, the hotel is about the standard of a modest B&B which I would expect to pay less than half the price for.

    Helpful staff, good location, excellent breakfast served promptly. Parking nearby at reduced rate when staying in the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room a bit small and crowded. Our second morning there was a problem in the kitchen so only the continental breakfast (cold buffet) was available, which was disappointing.

    Very helpful reception. Left my hat at the hotel at checkout. They called me about it and kept it in safekeeping for me for several weeks until I regurned to collect it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small tv.

    Big and very spacious room. Comfortable bed. They have a discount at the nearby parking which is really great. We saved a LOT! Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive.

    Location good but but pricey 3 nights $800 US. August 2017 no facilities other than clean nice room ensuite bath, and good breakfast. Old Georgian hotel so we took that into consideration. Would have tolerated if price was better. Had to haul our luggage 4 flights of stairs. The front desk person helped us. He was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated room with old tired furnishings and a massive desk! this was a large room which could with a tweak be very lovely. Room was on the top floor and very hot with no lifts which could pose a problem for some people. The young man who took us to our room could have offered to carry at least one of our cases!!

    Central location and great cooked breakfast options

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seemed quite expensive but perhaps Dublin IS expensive. Too many stairs to climb. Parking expensive although the hotel discount is 50% on the normal cost. To be fair. It is the centre of Dublin.

    Excellent location -- couldn't be better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 3rd floor - a warning when booking if this was a possibility where there is no elevator would have assisted us in making our booking

    Excellent location, nice room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept awake half the night from noise coming from upstairs,one visit to reception,one phone call did little to resolve the issue,so tired the next day I went home,losing out on two tickets to a All Ireland quarter final,a one night stay for €225 + €1 on arrival to be kept awake is not value of any kind,all anyone wants is a decent nights sleep when paying that much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    view from window. trashcans, with guys doing drug deals.

    Location excellent.Very small room at top of building.No elevator.Door lock malfunction .Had to call desk each time to open door. got same room one floor lower.Still very short of breath getting there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too small. Disappointed with room. Very dull and tired. Looked out on to a back street with homeless people sleeping day and night and urinating in the street. Very noisy Early hours of the morning from the restaurant next door emptying bottles. Not good value for money.

    Breakfast good. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom was a little out dated let the room down slightly, noise levels from building work.

    nice size room, excellent breakfast choice, good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have preferred an elevator but it's an old building and I was only on the second floor. This would not stop me from returning.

    The room was lovely - quite big and the climate was perfect. I often have trouble with rooms in a hotel being too warm for me. I had my own controls and could make the room quite chilly. The staff was friendly and very helpful, going above and beyond. The location was ideal and the breakfast was very good, with a large variety of food choices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ensuite needs to be redesigned to allow comfortable useage.

    Receptionists welcoming and helpful. Restaurant staff worked very hard to accommodate and serve guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double rooms a bit small and a bit of noise at the back of the main building but as you are right in the city centre you would expect a fair amount of noise so not really an issue for us.

    Perfect location, lovely staff. We were given a room upgrade which was fantastic. The other rooms are a bit small but perfect as a base for wandering the sights. Breakfast was really good with a great choice and again the staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is served across the street which was ok on a summer's morning but could be a little cumbersome in winter as you would probably need to take your coat etc.

    The bed was extra comfy. We were upgraded to a superior room at the back of the property which was very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wonderful Italian restaurant next door. Breakfast was excellent. We arrived by car and parked in a public car park around the corner. Trinity Lodge provided us with a parking voucher which reduced the 24 hour parking price of about €34 down to about €17 - well worth it for the city centre location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs on way in and carpet could do with a spruce up but that's just being a bit picky .

    The food at breakfast was top quality.I don't usually eat the fruit but it was so fresh and it was a Sunday .The muffins were great with chocolate in the middle and staff were very good. Bonus was a nice Italian restaurant across the road where we had a lovely meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: