Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort 4 stars

Blessington Lakes, Blessington, Ireland

#3 of 5 hotels in Blessington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Room was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy- in the evening and morning with people going for breakfast. Room 229 down the hall from restaurant - main function on that evening and it was loud! Pity - otherwise very comfortable - will ask for room away from restaurant the next time . Solo Traveller

    Room was comfortable Breakfast was very good- lovely selection of fresh fruit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was really good.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Dinning room was so nice, bright comfortable room looking over golf course. Breakfast very nice. Warm plates!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing & enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there was a swimming pool there.

    The staff were extremely friendly & the room was spacious & comfortable. Food was lovely also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    wouldnt stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the view of the lake and the golf court was amazing

    For a four star hotel and resort it is at very low standards I stayed in three star hotels that have better facilities and higher level of cleanliness .Very dated , dirty toilet , no air condition , no hair dryer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful Hotel with wonder views and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised at how dated the reception area was and how jaded the carpets to rooms and restaurant and furniture around the lobby area was, I felt it needed a bit of TLC given how nice everything else was We enjoyed our stay except for the window quality in room 248 which was so poor we might as well have been outside, this particular room is at a very busy junction outside reception and walk way to car park so we heard all the wedding revellers coming into the hotel at around 3.30 am and then very early golf buggies bringing in dishes from the wedding venue up to the corridor and noisily making its way down the corridor to the service kitchen ( Service corridor really ) Then early departing guests bring their wheely bags across the courtyard so we didn't get much sleep unfortunately,along with a unfortunate incident at 7.30am where we were woken up for, it would be really nice to get triple glazed windows into this room as its only single glazed and a very noisy room ,it took from our stay which was a pity as everything else was really very nice and we had enjoyed it up to that point.

    I was really surprised at the quality of this hotel, i don't think I understood how beautiful the grounds, views gardens and general well kept property this is outside. We arrived during a busy check in for a wedding but rooms are not ready until 4pm so no point in trying to get in earlier but that was fine as we were touring the area anyway we were allowed to register so it just meant we needed to collect our keys on return which was perfect. The room are of a very high standard and Accommodation services was excellent and spotless rooms and supplies ect thank you. restaurant staff were really lovely we had a little hicup on arrival for our dinner but this was sorted quickly and professionally so no problem there at all. The food for dinner was excellent the chef know his stuff and i think the food is of high quality but the dishes and cutler didn't quite go with the standard of food but that was just a small thing, didn't take from the food thank you Chef !! All Restaurant staff we met were professional and friendly well done all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Extremely happy with the venue, service and friendly staff, would certainly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff really friendly and helpful. We were there for a wedding, venue really marvellous with the outside court yard a real bonus on this great weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    The standard of food for dinner was exquisite, really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard of food for dinner was exquisite, really fabulous meal, beautifully presented, great attention to detail, and fantastic combinations of flavours, both robust and subtle, as appropriate. Looking forward to returning for dinner some time soon. Very friendly staff,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows on bed too high for comfort. Would like the option of a flatter pillow. Maybe leave one of each for each person to decide for themselves which to use.! The bed itself was very comfortable. Just a small suggestion 😴

    Lovely hotel and very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Wedding dinner excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of building and painting going on which spoilt it. Main fault were breakfast staff. They were trying to clean before we had finished and even tried to take my wife’s side plate with buttered bread. Supervisor seemed clueless.

    Wedding dinner excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable find! Very helpfull and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, all staff were super friendly and helpful, from the girls at the reception, cleaners, night porter and all the bar and restaurant staff!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing and no way is this hotel deserving of a 4 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was filthy, dated and the shower did not work properly, it was either scalding or freezing. Some of the sockets were broken in the room. The glasses served at the bar were a disgrace with lipstick stains. Service was very slow and the food served was cold.

    The staff were quite nice, some more so than others. The staff in the restaurant were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly and it was great the bar was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen closed for an hour on the Sunday of the bank hol at dinner, which can happen, but it was really how the staff dealt with it that's the problem. Customers were obviously angry but no staff apologised or updated anybody. people didn't know if the kitchen would open again at all

    Staff were very friendly and it was great the bar was so busy and lively

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Bit of a disaster, it was too busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We reserved dinner for 21.00. We arrived at that time, but there were no tables available. We were asked to come back in 20 mins. we came back but there were still no tables. We went away again and finally were given a table. The staff were very busy and the service as slow. at 23.00 we still had not received our main courses and we gave up left and went to bed. My wife has Type 1 diabetes and was considerably physically distressed by not getting food after she taking her insulin injection. It seems that there were far to many people than the restaurant could manage.

    Breakfast was good. restaurant outlook was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Great scenery around hotel, Staff not up to standards and hotel needs Air conditioning!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and it's well needed on warm sunny days. We were on a ground floor and we didn't like the idea of having our windows open all night but needed them open!! The staff wernt helpful when checking in, the gave us our key card and off we went. Didn't explain where everything was in hotel, that we had breakfast inclusive or check out time. So unprofessional.

    Lovely scenery around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on reception weren’t always the most helpful! Key to our bedroom never worked once we left our room? And that’s where they became a little ignorant, Everytime we went back looking for a new card, They made me feel it was my fault???

    Most of the staff were nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a comfortable & relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could put a curtain on the window so people can't look into your room. The views are lovely but due to the levels and locations of some rooms & No curtain on the window people can see into your room which can be uncomfortable. Otherwise you have to close the main blackout curtain which cause the room to be dark which you don't want when its bright during the day or summer time when it's mostly bright.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    loved it
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it. There was nothing I didn't like apart from vegan options of food but the chef was very accomodating at breakfast.

    Everything it was warm comfortable clean. Staff were lovely location was so pretty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Great food,great location super friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small issue with shower, but it was sorted straight away

    The food in the bar was excellent, best chicken wings I’ve ever had, staff were very friendly constantly making sure you were ok. Loved it I’d go back in the morning

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.2
    Not as expected. Poor and below average. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were Not very Clean. Windows and windowsills inside were absolutely filthy and moulding. Closing curtains and hoping we wouldn’t open them wasn’t a great solution. Facilities poor. Nothing to do at the hotel.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    The bed was super comfy and breakfast and dinner were really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super comfy and breakfast and dinner were really delicious.. beautiful walks around the lakes and golf course. Staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the location. The lake and the walks are great to relax and feel refreshed. We had a suite and it was gorgeous. The food in the restaurant was top class.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    A home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the minute we arrived it felt like home. Laura at reception could not have done anything more to make us feel welcome. All the staff were so friendly polite and helpful. The food was amazing and very good value. I can't wait for my next visit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Shaky start, but overall a lovely one night stay. Would return again to stay in the main hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a suite in the Manor House when we first arrived. The room was freezing cold, windows were old and didn't shut properly, decor was outdated and looked very worn, TV had no reception and the taps exploded all over us every time they were used. Thankfully the staff moved us over to the main hotel which was much nicer than I had expected.

    Food was delicious. We ate in the Elk Bar for dinner, the chicken wings were up there with the best. Plenty of options for gluten intolerant including a gluten free bun with the double burger and gluten free toast for breakfast. Breakfast was excellent also.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.9
    Bar staff were really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds pushed together with an uncomfortable edging in the middle of the double and the noise made a good nights sleep impossible.

    Bar staff were really nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice, calm surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen and living room wasn't clean. Coffee machine was broken.

    Deluxe Suite was really nice and warm with separate kitchen with living room. Two tv sets (one in each room). Nice bathroom. Big balcony. Great view from restaurant. Really nice bar with fireplace. Great surroundings, quiet place with lakes and golf fields.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.3
    Hotel needs some work but mainly a good chef and waiting staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was at a wedding and food was poor. Also service between courses was poor.The banquet couldn't speak intelligible English. Would not book this hotel for a break. Breakfast was the best part

    Location and breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    It was nice. I don't think I would return though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was facing onto the car park. It took 40 minutes for our starter and an hour and a half to receive our main course!! My partner complained as we were starving. The staff member was very apologetic and offered us drinks free of charge and also gave us a discount. I thought that was really lovely of him. It was ok for the price but I don't think I would be returning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    3.8
    Food was very good.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room was a photo on the table from the the wedding the day before and in the wardrobe was a mass booklet which made me wonder how well the room was cleaned. The noise level in the room is appalling, you can hear everything from upstairs to in the hall etc. the toilets in the hotel were disgraceful, were very dirty.

    Food was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. The only downside was the area doesn't have anything around it if you don't play golf. Beautiful Place and Excellent Food.

    Best Hotel I've Stayed in Ireland, Excellent Staff, Beautiful Rooms, Restaurant & Bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both got steak and chips and onion and mushroom for dinner but there was only one large mushroom on the plate and one tiny onion.it was very tiny portion of onion and mushrooms.

    The rooms were lovely and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable bed, great food and amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a swimming pool but it did not spoil my stay not having one.G

    All the staff went above and beyond I would especially like to mention Heather who made our stay the best ever. I wish I had someone like Heather working for me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    Would never go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electrical works seem dodgy and the lights blew and sparked and the rooms are dark. You have to chase the water around the shower and the doors that lead you to your bedroom slam every time someone walks through it. It slammed all morning from about 5 am. Very loud hotel.

    Beautiful grounds and very nice beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay with the most beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hurricane on the Monday!!! - we couldn't get to the hotel until the Tuesday

    Hotel is in the most beautiful surroundings. Very comfortable facilities though a bit tired I think. It is obviously quite an old hotel but very nice all the same. Staff were very amenable, once we had any sort of problem they dealt with it immediately. Though the room cleaning service wasn't great. The first time I used the bath I could feel the scum around the top edge of the inside of the bath and it was obvious the floor hadn't been washed. It wasn't washed for the rest of our 3 night stay either. there were cup ring marks on the nest of tables and dried spilt tea/coffee marks were there. I cleaned them off myself. Crumbs on the carpet that were there on the first day were still there when we left.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was musty even though it was tidy. And the shower didn't work on the evening I arrived - in that the water was freezing. Which after a long day of travel was not what I had expected. This worsened by the next morning as the water was lukewarm. I had to wait to shower at the next venue - not good at all. The basics, such as these, are essential to have right to create customer satisfaction. Because everything after this, no matter how good tends to be overlooked.

    The location and the bed was of good quality and support

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Would probably not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not worth the price. The food and bar need a massive upgrade, as is they are both ridiculously over priced for the taste that's on offer.

    The location and hotel itself are lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    The amount of space very clean heated bathroom floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside golf trolleys being wheeled past window and if it was room on 2nd floor with balcony would be ideal

    The amount of space very clean heated bathroom floor friendly staff food was very nice also

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful except for the house keeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping was very poor and the only thing bad about this hotel. For example: we had to ask on two days for milk for tea as none was replaced. The bin was never emptied on the three days we stayed, cups were not replaced or cleaned ever. The bathroom was poorly cleaned on one occasion it looked to be that the shower was the only thing touch.

    A great selection for breakfast all cooked well, staff were friendly and very happy to help out at any time. Overall we would go back to this hotel and are doing so after Christmas. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and its staff to all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Tulfarris hotel was peaceful and relaxing in a luscious setting which is exactly what were after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head in our room 102 was not great but that was the only fault.

    The rooms were very spacious and modern. Heat was adjustable which was great. Bed and pillows very comfy. The reception staff were so friendly, the best I've experienced in any hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    good for golfers, that's it - bit far out from things
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no phone reception in the area and the wifi wasn't working very well for all of us.

    the beds were very comfy and the room was lovely and clean. Breakfast was lovely also

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice and relaxing
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite booking with bookings.com and presenting the voucher on arrival, on checking out the bill presented was higher as it was based on their rate as opposed to the booked price. This was corrected when queried though

    We had an enjoyable 2 days as it was an overflow stay after attending a golf outing there. It's a grand relaxing spot and bed is extremely comfortable. The food and restaurant is also a nice atmosphere and good food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    Bar staff were appalling - it was great to see so many young...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar staff were appalling - it was great to see so many young people being employed but they had no leader. Stopping in the middle of serving a drink to do another task leaving the customer waiting. Incorrect charging on more than one occassion ( UNDERcharged substantially) and when this was pointed out - nothing was offered for the honesty ! Just small stuff really but relevant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Perfect family gataway in a warm and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe glasses plates n cutlery to be provided in the suite but no hassle as the staff delivered all to us.

    We stayed in a suite and it was so family friendly comfortable and great value for money. Good in bar was delicious and the staff so friendly. Cannot wait to return. Thanks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Good price - €115 B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed base was 2 separate bases clamped together - which is no problem and quite standard - but it was only clamped at one end and the beds slowly parted during the night. The clamp at the pillow end was broken so there was no way to stop it. I read this complaint from someone else on Trip Adviser so they are aware of the problem.

    Good price - €115 B&B

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.3
    Won't be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked the deluxe suite, upon arrival the staff were friendly and all was ok. Went to room and discovered it was not the suite but a double room. Upon contacting reception to let them know about the error we were told there was a leaky pipe and that we couldn't stay in the suite and that they would make sure we wouldn't be charged for and that we would be looked after because of the error. Now I have no problem with the change of room( these things happen) provided we are told about on arrival which we were not. Then at checkout they still wanted to charge the rate for suite even though we were told it would be sorted. The girl had to contact manager again as there was no mention of it in system. We were told that we will receive a little discount, however we were charged exactly the same price as on booking.com. So overall not a good experience.

    Room was of a good standard, mostly clean apart from a few areas. Food was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    All good apart from very tired bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed attention. There was no loo seat lid. The tap in the sink was completely wobbly and the glass shelf above the sink was about to come off. The toaster at breakfast was next to useless - toast had to go 3 times. The staff were apologetic but couldn't do much about it. No problems with any staff- they were all friendly.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food in the bar was very good. The views over the golf course were very attractive. The breakfast was good. The ladies cleaning the room chased me up the drive with my toothbrush - it was so sweet of them to bother!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    The location piece and quiet very obliging staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit confusing was under the impression that was a leisure facility on the grounds that it the hotel however they have a wonderful spa therapist available on call for the hotel guests and I believe here name was Collette. Things so much x I'm thrilled that you were able to squeeze me in. You are amazing x

    The location piece and quiet very obliging staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay, friendly staff, exceptional comfort and lots to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better to be supplied with outdoor furniture for the balcony & crockery for the kitchenette. Not much choice on the restaurant menu.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable and we stayed in a beautiful suite with wonderful views over the golf course

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort is Blessington's best kept secret.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is definitely a 4 - 5 star hotel. It had a few spots like a room balcony railing that needed a lick of paint, or a ledge near a restaurant window that needed a cleaning of the visiting pigeon but this is Ireland. This is real. If it was absolutely spin and span well it would be in the middle of a concrete jungle instead of beautiful wild rural countryside where a bit of a golfer's turf gets left on the sturdy burgundy staircase. This is a golf course resort. It is what it is. Enjoy the visit.

    I found Tulfarris Resort and Golf Course in Blessington by accident. I had a bit over a week left of my 10th trip to Ireland and I have enjoyed staying with friends and relatives yet I felt like giving myself a treat as well as getting some work done for my site TheHollywoodTimes.net as well as my soon to be released book #RockNRollResilence due out in October. Enough about myself, lets chat about this lovely resort. The staff is great. They are very personal and within minutes whatever your request is, it will be taken care of from. Young Sean in the Elk Bar knew I wanted a pint of Guinness, not a half pint. Upstairs in the Lime Restaurant - the maitre Jay loaned me his charger so I could keep my phone charged as I awaited my cousin and her husband from Dublin to join me. Ann-Marie Nolan assisted me on personal requests for research material about the location. Now the location. It is a two story building with about 80 rooms with great views from both the ground level Elk Bar with comfortable seating for couples or groups. Upstairs in The Lime Restaurant is an even better up high view of the golf course and countryside. My cousins from Ranelagh had never heard of Tulfarris so I felt like I had just revealed a well kept secret of Blessington. The #IrishLadiesGolfAssociation were here and they seemed to be enjoying their stay as well. On the main bottom floor is The Beauty Rooms run by Cathriona with her fellow masseuse Janet. Well give yourself a treat or surprise to someone special in your life with a massage, nail care and many other relaxing specialities that they offer. Word has it that the Manor House which is used for wedding parties to stay will also have The Beauty Rooms there in the near future. The hands and hearts of their longtime experts is what I will be returning again to enjoy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only downfall is that the suite was pretty bare in regards to what is given in the room and considering the price of the nights stay. There were only 2 coffee capsules given for the coffee machine which did not last the 24 hours we has the suite as you can imagine . There were only 2 small bottles of shampoo/showergel and no bath robes which is what i would expect in a 4 star suite . Beautiful suite with beautiful views and spotless but i think based on other suites i have stayed in ( including 3 star hotels) there could of been some nice little extras added in . When contacting the property to ask for extra towels etc before arriving i got no response through booking.com

    Beds were like a cloud !! I stayed in the manor house on the Saturday night and a suite in the hotel on Sunday ( wedding ) beautiful rooms !!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Not 4star quality
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room booked but room was two single beds pushed together. Room wasn't as depicted online. No hot water in shower. Facilities tried to resolve while trekking in and out of the room over the space of an hour - was told that it may or may not work before we checked out! Eventually hot water came back just before we were due to leave the room. Then as my husband was in the shower, a fan fell off the wall above the shower. Walls and doors were paper thin - could clearly hear conversations and snoring from guests next door. Breakfast is very basic. Not four star quality and definitely doesn't warrant a price tag of 165euro for b&b. Wouldn't stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Room was excellent and comfortable, facilities as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If possible in accordance with local regulations, better road signage off of N-81 would be very helpful. Was easier to find in daytime of course.

    Room was excellent and comfortable, facilities as well. Hope to return for a week of golf within next year. Course looks great and opinion was backed up by the comments of those who played.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad quality and variety of breakfast We waited half an hour to get the rooms and when we entered the rooms they were still dirty and waited for another 15 minutes

    Area views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel in great setting but poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems understaffed. When I arrived there was no one at reception, so I enquired at the bar. They told me to return to reception and I had to wait some more time before someone finally arrived. He then could not find my booking even though I could show my confirmation email from booking.com. He finally got it sorted out in the end. I had ordered a delux room but when I got to my room I found that it was a disabled room, nothing like the pictures of the delux room which I ordered. Overall I was not impressed with my experience.

    The hotel itself is nicely designed and the surroundings are beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    The hotel is sorrounded with a wonderful golf course, our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is sorrounded with a wonderful golf course, our room was spacious and clean, the breakfast was delicious: fruits, full Irish breakfast, cereals, toast, soda bread and danish. It was especially comfortable that it was available until 9.30 in the morning. The staff was very kind, we were very satisfied with the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    A Mixed Bag
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no play area for children either indoors or outdoors. There was no pool area although you could use the facilities of a sister hotel in Naas reception informed me. This would be about a half an hours drive. The lighting in the public bathrooms is very dark especially for people who have to get ready for weddings etc in the bathrooms as their rooms weren't ready. It would have been a good idea to offer even to sell more pods for the nespresso machine at reception for those of us that like our coffee. More staff at breakfast. No one checked us in, the tables weren't being cleared, milk had run out on many tables, order for eggs couldn't be given as there was no one to give them to. There was no air conditioning in the rooms and on one of the hottest days of the year it would have been welcome. A key card was needed to be inserted into the power slot in the kitchen area and separately in the bedroom area in order to have power in both areas of the suite. I returned to the room on my own and my partner had his key card so I had to request a third card from reception to overcome this, it wasn't a huge problem but it was unnerving in such a dark room fumbling in the dark to find the power slot in the kitchen once I had the extra card. There was no air conditioning in the function room at the wedding reception only in the separate bar area. On a hot day with so many people dancing it would have been welcome. The toilets in the wedding area were nearly all blocked prior to dinner even and a plunger was left with the flip flops provided by the bride for guests in the ladies bathroom. More attention to facilities would be great.

    Tulfarris Hotel and Golf resort is located slightly off the beaten track but very close to great places to visit such as the National Stud, Kildare village and Newbridge Silverware. On arrival reception was very busy as we were booking in for a wedding and many guests were also trying to check in and get ready for the wedding which was taking place on site. Staff directed people to the bathrooms to get changed were rooms were not available. The room we were assigned was as we paid for, a suite. It was a very generous size on the ground floor with a terrace area. The kitchen area had a coffee machine, a nespresso if my memory serves me right. Three pods for the machine were provided. The sofas showed signs of many guests enjoying the facilities but that is to be expected. The beds were very comfortable and had lots of pillows and cushions. The bathroom was a compact size but had everything you need. Elemis products were supplied and the shower was so good I wanted to bring it home. The reception area is very comfortable and the outdoor spaces are well maintained. The wedding area is I assume purpose built and is really really beautiful. It has beautiful views of the lake and golf course and is far enough way from the hotel not to disturb guests there though only a few minutes walk. There were signed walks however I didn't take any of them so can't comment further. The food at the wedding was so so good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    could be a nicer place if the little extras you would expect from a hotel with this reputation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor cleanliness all over. little extra touches not there/missing . draught beer selection in bar poor and ordered beer was definitely not to required taste, beer was OFF.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    3.3
    This was a real disappoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a real disappoint. Hard to see how it has four stars. Felt quiet run down and badly maintained. There was a skip in view from the hall windows as we made our way to our room. The smell from the lobby toilets lingered in the air to the room and Bar. The bar floor had food walked into it. The seating was worn. The Guinness Tap had cobwebs on it. Didn't stay the night even though I had paid in full. Disgusting!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    When we arrived Kate the lovely receptionist up graded our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived Kate the lovely receptionist up graded our room, she was friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable and we dined in the Restaurant and had a lovely walk beside the lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely visit in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately when we dined for breakfast the floor was filthy, our shoes stuck to floor, the entry into the dining area had food up hallway. The scramble eggs had sat for so long they had a green tinge, I spoke to staff n they said they checked with chef n it was fine, but we could not come at them. The food should be cooked fresh as people request. We were there st 8 am n only 3 other people dining.

    The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Our room was so spacious and bonus balcony to ourselves. Beautiful grounds and gardens with walking paths around the golf course.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Not too Shabby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was double charged for my stay. Took 3 - 5 working days to be refunded. Inconvenient.

    Comfortable room. Staff were friendly, allowed us to change room due to personal dislike.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Decent Stay But Would Not Return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff let this place down majorly - mainly restaurant staff (reception were attentive and punctual, and very professional). Staff in the bars and restaurant were not up to par - took 43 mins for an order of 2 x Soup to be served, despite golfers (aka regulars) coming into the venue after our order and being served first. An empty plate was left sitting in front of us for some 20 mins (or the duration it took to drink a pint). They seem unable to concentrate on punters and therefore customer satisfaction did not appear to be a priority. On this basis - the fact that I would need to use the facilities/restaurants for more time than I would use the nice bedrooms - I would not return here.

    Bed was very comfy and the place was very clean. Beautiful views of the Irish country side.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Dissapointed
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website had a heading, pool and wellness and had massage written under it. I assumed it meant pool/wellness/massage and was v v disappointed to realise no pool. The bar area was dark and dismal The outdoor area had 4/5 tables only. When we left the property we realised we had been charged twice !!

    room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice large suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too firm for our comfort. We were surprised that there was no swimming pool, but could have seen that online if we had checked the fine print more closely.

    Nice large suite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely break away grounds are beautiful couldn't fault...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One fault was view from bedroom of small little car park back of hotel and noise from room next door and knocking on other doors at 3 in the morning

    Lovely break away grounds are beautiful couldn't fault staff one bit friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    The staff were effortlessly friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are a little thin so noise levels were a problem when some of our neighbours were raucous

    The staff were effortlessly friendly and helpful. The surroundings are breathtaking and conveniently close to the new Blessington greemway, Russborough house and the Sally Gap. Breakfast was really good and plentiful. I would highly recommend dinner in the Lime Tree restaurant. which was extraordinarily accommodating to me as a vegetarian in terms of choice and variety of dishes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    Friendly hotel, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It had to of been the hardest bed I've ever slept in and the pillows where as bad. Longer walks actually took place on main roads and not within the 'Estate' as I understood.

    The hotel was convenient for touring Wicklow. The Staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but noise from building in room next door spoiled our planned quiet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite we were allocated was next to a suite being demolished. Cango hammer going from 9.30 am to 4pm. We had to go away for the day to get away from the terrible noise. We could have been allocated another suite away from the building work as there were vacant ones . We got a 20e reduction on checking out but our quiet break away didn't work out

    Lovely surroundings out side. Lovely suite , very comfy bed. Nice food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely room in the old manor house with double aspect views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took ages for shower to run hot and sink taps made strange loud ringing noise when turned on. Loved old manor house but main hotel lacked character. Bar area was very open and noisy.

    Lovely room in the old manor house with double aspect views. Large comfy bed. Nespresso coffee making facilities in room. Good quality toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Short Family Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything met our needs.

    Very nice hotel, friendly staff, location was excellent for our needs which was to explore the national park, approx 20 minute drive away, breakfast and bar food was to a very good standard,overall very happy with this hotel and would stay again if in the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    For a romantic, luxurious night or weekend away you've come to the right place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't mad about the pillows on the bed but this is a minor complaint really!

    Location is outstanding, beautiful walk through the grounds to the edge of the lakes. Large luxurious bedroom and bathroom with superb views. Staff couldn't be more helpful and very welcoming. Food is excellent and reasonably priced, dining room views complement the whole experience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    just what i needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the bar seemed to just disappear we had finished our dinner and had to go to the bar to order desert and coffee.

    The suite we had was nice and big and really comfy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    5.4
    Staff were very Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors cold and grubby. Looked like the emergency exit door was broken and open all night. Myself my wife and our 11 year old had to sleep in the one bed as no sofa bed option offered even thou we specified 2 adults and an 11 year old on our booking

    Staff were very Friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups in our room were very dirty , milk out of date .We were in room 206 .I brought them to reception and they said they would get it sorted .On arrival back to room we had only one cup.We were disappointed for such a grand hotel , it's the little things count.

    Lovely comfortable bed and nice quite room.food Wonderful,complements to the chef's.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    5.4
    A nice place but do make sure to get a room where there is not an adjoining door for peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room whilst nice was an adjoining room with a door. This was unsuitable as there was utterly no sound proofing. We could hear the person talking on his mobile next door and indeed so poor was the sound proofing we could also hear the person he was talking too.

    A nice location and view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.7
    The place sadly seems to only be alive due to wedding events. I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in the suite didn''t work and required a mobile/portable radiator to have sufficient heat in the room. I was delighted that the birthday card was left for my partner but disappointed that her name wasn't on it (though the name had been advised on booking confirmation phonecall with Anne-Marie?!). My partner''s meal in Limetree was very good, however the steak in my "surf n turf" was poor!

    Stayed in the Sorrell suite. Bed was really comfortable. We ate in Limetree restaurant. Service was very good and with a genuine friendliness. "Anne-Marie" was very helpful during booking and my partner was left a "Happy Birthday" card which was nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: