Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 12th lock Boutique Hotel 3 stars

Castleknock Marina, D15 Castleknock, Ireland

#1 of 2 hotels in Castleknock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Little gem along the canal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom bit small. Couldn’t get coffee machine to work. No real complaints!

    Peaceful location. Lovely canal walk. No aircon but good Dyson fan supplied. Comfortable, clean room. Dressing gowns was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely boutique room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room - very cosy. You can hear the trains passing as they're directly outside the window but it wasn't an issue for us at all and it isn't that frequent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant is great too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, nice restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit cold - couldn't find any heater in the room. There was no chance to open the window to get fresh air.

    Very friendly staff, nice restaurant. The room were with a good nespresso machine - to start the day with a hot coffee. Well equipped with power sockets. The bed was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    excellent in every respect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    There was nothing that I could give a negative comment on. There was a slight crack on the toilet seat in the room and the hand basin but I appreciate that these things take time to correct. The food was excellent but there could be a little more in the way of veg, with the steak I had. The staff were excellent in every respect and I have stayed in many hotels on five continents of various standards from 4 to five star. Thanks for a great stay and I will more than likely return if I need to be in that area again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Eh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude as can be, even made rude sexual comment to my girlfriend. Our room was steaming it and they didn’t seem to care, the gave us a fan. I went back again and they finally changed our room. But they were terribly rude the entire time. It was also difficult to find front desk person, they were never at the desk.

    The bed and coffee were nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    great food, comfy bed will return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    usually stay for business at Castleknock or Crowne Plaza (Blanchardstown) but would return to 12th Locke if I got a room away from the railway tracks. Carpet down to my room (1202) was a bit grubby and seen better days but the rest of the hotel was well decorated.

    food was excellent both dinner & breakfast. Room backed on railway line and was conscious of footsteps on towpath at my window so as single female it made me a bit nervous but that aside I slept well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Not Value for Money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being charged differently from the booking. Door key failed to work on one occasion after long day. Translucent windows. Door fitted badly and a lot of light shone through the gap. The pillow cases were rough and painful. Didn't sleep well.

    The location suited us for our purpose. Water was provided in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet coverage not great in bedroom downstairs

    the lady we met at reception on Saturday and again on Sunday morning is what every hotel should have, she was exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, will be staying there again on my next business trip to Ireland
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have had a hairdryer in the room rather than have to call reception for one

    Lovely location next to the Lock, beautiful for a morning walk. Rooms are stylish and comfortable with all the facilities you could possible need. Staff are friendly and happy to assist with any enquiries that you have. Good restaurant attached and the food was excellent as was the breakfast with some fabulous traditional Irish fare

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely room, spotless clean but sadly didn't realise how close the train line was.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next to a main line train track with frequent high speed trains shaking the room !!! Expensive at 125 euro room only.

    Lovely location right next to the canal, sadly the tranquillity stops there as on the other side of the hotel is a main line train track which must have been about 20ft from my window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Great for train spotters
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to railway line. No reception staff on arrival, waited 10 minutes before we were attended to. We arrived at about 8.00pm, shown to our room which was really nice, within 10 minutes of settling in, there was a huge roar outside our window..... we were right next to a railway line. In the morning, we were woken by a train at about 6.00am, then a train roared passed about every 20 minutes. Not good if you want a lay in. When we opened our room blinds you were faced with a concrete wall then a railway line. See photographs. Staff were all pleasant and nice, room was very good however, limited evening menu and extortionate prices with a starter from €7 and a main course steak from €24 for an average tasting steak. All in all, we were happy we only booked in for one night. Don’t think we’ll be back here.

    Large free car park. Room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean with lovely coffee machine, free Netflix. Late check out and breakfast served until midday was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, friendly and nice scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had some bad luck with a couple of loud guests. The hotel handled it nicely and banned them indefinitely.

    Clean, friendly and nice scenery

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    A short but nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice 1 night stay with a very good breakfast at the beginning of our road trip. The room was clean and comfortable and there was no noise during the evening and night, so we slept very well. The man on the reception who helped and gave us advice about a rent-a-car problem we had (unfortunately I don't know his name) - THANK YOU, we'll never forget it!!! All in all, would stay again :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stay, but too expensive for what it is.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows of my room overlooked the bins of the hotel and a wall. Not great soundproofing - I could hear my neighbour in room next door

    Pretty location, lovely staff, nice products in the shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice boutique hotel. High standard of facilities in convenient location just outside M50
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    12th Lock is primarily a busy restaurant and most of the time the hotel has no specific staff (eg reception) available - you need to go into the bistro and ask for help.

    First class room facilities - everything to hand, premium toiletries, tea, coffee, bath robes etc. Good food in the restaurant which we used lunchtime and evening. Location good in quiet spot but still accessible for routes into the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Good for what I needed, comfortable and reasonalby priced for Dublin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    downstairs rooms were very close to the train tracks and a lot of noise came into the room. Not great if you wanted an early night. One of the staff in the residents bar was a bit offhanded but the rest were fine.

    The food was nice and the rooms were comfortable and well appointed. There was a good atmosphere although we were at a function so would have hoped it would be. Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.6
    Id rather drive 5 hrs down the road than return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to charge me twice while I already paid via Paypal. Room only a few feet from a busy Trainline. We couldnt sleep. Filthy hall carpet. Staffon check in and check out were nice but female breakfast staff quite unfriendly. Way overpriced for a poor nights sleep and poor breakfast

    Nice room and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I opened the blinds upon entering our room to be met with a wall about 10 feet away but soon realised why. The railway line was on the other side with trains very frequently, perhaps every 10 15 mins. But they were the electric trains of the Dart so not excessively noisy. They didn’t run through the night and started again about 6 am. It really didn’t bother me or my husband. If you think it a problem then ask for a room on the canal side.

    Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a super king size bed. It’s decor was modern boutique and the bathroom was spacious and very clean. We only had a bar snack in the evening which for Dublin was a reasonable price. The bar area was lively at night. The location is excellent for public transport with the Dart station very close by so handy for travelling throughout the Dublin area. There was also a local bus service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was lovely situated on the canal .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hairdryer in the room , though could ask for one from reception. Bit unusual.

    The location was lovely situated on the canal .The restaurant was fairly informal but food good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Atmospheric stay in boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only caveat: The hotel sits right next to the train line, meaning the train runs just a few meters from the bedrooms. Didn't bother us at all, but if you have a light sleep, this place might not be the right choice.

    Lovely room and excellent restaurant. Very good location too, easy and fast to get into Dublin. Excellent laundry service. Our cycling gear was obviously treated with much care and smelled wonderfully fresh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Handy location, good food and very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Handy location, good food and very friendly staff. You can take a nice walk alongside the canal and enjoy the view. There is also a big car park and nicely decorated dining space. Quick commute to the center!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Not too friendly but lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no friendly welcome to the place. Very impersonal. No-one at the desk and when we went to ask someone if we could check in we were kept waiting for a while. No information provided about the area or hotel and as we had just arrived in Ireland for the very first time, this was a let down.

    We thought the room was very comfortable and a nice touch to have a good quality coffee machine. Loved the canal being so close by too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed. Very expensive and not worth the money for a very disturbed night, in my opinion
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right next to the railway! And when I say ‘right next to’ I mean it! The bins were right outside my room and being filled up all evening and there was no soundproofing on the room door so I could hear the conversation going on next door quite clearly.

    The room was beautifully decorated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    lovely newly decorated room, lovely extras like nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were upgraded due to a mix up with our booking the room was tiny. Not easily accessible with a buggy, only has an old staff lift and you need a member of staff with you to use it. Train passes by room window.

    lovely newly decorated room, lovely extras like nice tea/coffee and lovely Milton brown bits in the ensuit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Adorable Inn outside Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the hotel but the noise from trains is a bit of a problem. However the nearness of the trains as far as traveling into Dublin was why we stayed there. Driving in to Dublin is practically impossible.

    Wonderful large king bed. Netflix! Restaurant and bar are great. Staff gave us a fan since the weather was so hot. During 2 weeks in Ireland this is the only place to give us a fan. Very close to train station to go into Dublin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Couple stay for show in City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Room was in basement so room quite dark and not well ventilated. We stayed when weather was 25 degrees so room was bit stuffy. Bar closed at 11.30 also very early for hotel.

    Fashionable. Walk in shower which is fab. Hotel is in beautiful location on canal. Fab coffee machine in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Not suitable as a business hotel if you need a quiet room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property is not suitable to stay for business purposes if you need a quiet room. The hotel back onto the railway - the first train starts at 05.38 - the whole building rumbles.

    Staff were charming, good food in the restaurant & the rooms nicely done out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nt anything to dislike about it..lovely walks because of its location. And it wss good value for money and near Bloom which we wanted.

    Location. Lovely friendly staff . The Restaurant ..lovely food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First night room was situated below kitchen and could here noise throughout the night and at early morning before breakfast, After issue was brought up, staff happily moved me to a better room.

    Staff were friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Great location close to city transport, airport and local pubs. Bar and restaurant were very good. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Beautifully disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was work going on in the hotel, which meant 3/4 mornings we were woken up by banging and shouting directly outside our room. None of this was told to us prior to our visit or on arrival, so it made our stay far less enjoyable. There was never an apology for any disruption to our stay, and nothing offered to compensate this. The in room mini bar prices where extremely expensive for what it was, we went to the local supermarket and stocked the fridge with our own snacks, for a fraction of the cost. I’d previously emailed the hotel telling them the purpose of my visit and if they could accommodate this and I’d pay the extra cost, this was ignored. I was unable to pay for the booking, the hotel only allowed payment on arrival, but as I got there it was an additional £30, which wasn’t explained.

    The hotel itself was lovely, beautiful location on the canal, the reason why I booked it in the first place. The rooms where clean, and well presented, and tended too every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff at reception and in the restaurant were extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dart went straight past our bedroom window and was extremely noisy also booked a superior king room and it was a small double bed in the room

    Staff at reception and in the restaurant were extremely helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    It is a nice place to stay, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is right next to the commuter train tracks. However that didn't bother us, but it could for others.

    It is a nice place to stay, pleasant staff. It is bit far from the airport, but on the canal locks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice location for a quiet stroll along the canal, after a busy day in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Rooms are in the basement, and in the back are along the train tracks. Luckily the trains don't run often at night, but if you sleep lightly this might be a problem. - We expected the upgraded room to be a little larger.

    Location on the canal is very nice for a walk or run away from the busy traffic of Dublin. Rooms are nicely decorated. Access to Expressways / Airport is good, and free parking in a huge lot is a definite plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.8
    Quite stressful
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description of the hotel online as being wheelchair/disabled friendly was extremely misleading. The Distance from disabled parking to hotel was quite long for someone in a wheelchair to travel in bad weather in particular (no drop off point). There was no one on reception all evening/night, tried to call numerous times, with no answer ever. The only lift was a very tight and claustrophobic maintenance type lift. Radiator in room wouldn’t turn off, it was extremely hot in the room, even when heating was turned off from mains, room was still very warm and uncomfortable all through the night which kept all of us awake sweating and very uncomfortable from the heat. The hotel seemed quite understaffed as well!

    The room and the facilities in the room were very nice. The staff we encountered with very friendly and the food we had was delcious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Over priced, style over substance. repairs need in room. excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Curtains in the bedroom were not functional. they didn't close. Too much light flooding the room at night time. Noise from dining area and bar directly over head. doors banging. noise from train line. Toilet seat was loose, bathroom light on mirror not working, no hairdryer, mini bar fridge was not working.Breakfast was very poor, over cooked and no juice, jam or marmalade as part of the breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel for quick getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice with the exception that just outside bedroom window staff were frequently walking by and there is also a train line , would request a room on other side of hotel if staying again.

    Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Annette on reception is great and had no problem with reserving a table for dinner and organizing a late checkout .The outdoor area beside canal was gorgeous, sun was out so made it extra special. Had breakfast and dinner and both were really nice . Bed was very comfortable and Molton brown products in bathroom was a really nice touch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall very good just room too hot
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was far too hot - couldn't turn radiator off so got no sleep Would prefer self service continental breakfast

    Room facilities excellent and lovely restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Lovely canal side, quiet location with good access to nearby railway station and local buses. Lovely restaurant and bar and excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Well worth the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains going right by the window very loud every hour until 11.30pm (should be cheaper for rooms beside the trains. We were asked if we’d like a room that wasn’t underground and I said yes but they gave us one anyways.

    Loved the place along the canal , lovely boats outside. Hotel room was absolutely perfect, and very comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel, but a heating problem meant we did not sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot so we could not sleep. The radiator control did not work and at 3am I went to tell a member of staff. Unfortunately it was not possible to turn down or off. My children did not sleep which was not a good start to a day of travelling. Hopefully the radiator issue can be resolved. The rooms are very clean and comfortable otherwise.

    The staff are really friendly. It's small, yet beautifully renovated. Food was great. Location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    We would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, attention to detail, bathrobes , molton brown lotions in the bathroom. Coffee machine with coffee cups and also to have tea cups. Champagne glasses as well as tumblers in the bedroom, nice gesture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My one and only issue is the room was v warm and I found it difficult to sleep despite the bed being amazing!!

    EVERYTHING!! The staff were outstanding from the moment we arrived. One young guy in the restaurant was so attentive and lovely. Wish I could remember his name. All the staff were so so pleasant. The location is gorgeous and quirky. The place is immaculate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Awesome hotel and great staff. We will definitely stay again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the mirror didn’t work and the towel rack didn’t work in our other room that we booked.

    Loved the room and the staff was extremely friendly, accommodating, and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No residents bar

    Really good breakfast. Fab location. Great beds. Relaxing decor. Fab staff who helped us out after we had to cancel two rooms unexpectedly after a death in the extended family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.6
    A nice restaurant was an only bonus in the hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took 20 min to wake up a receptionist 7:30 am. He looked overtired, probably because he was a waiter in a hotels restaurant a previous night. Breakfast started only 8:20 am. Rooms were underground. Stonewall was in front of a window.

    A nice restaurant was an only bonus in the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Memorable, picturesque, beautiful venue on the Royal canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were excellent particularly Annette and Danny who was in house for three days because of the snow yet remained good humoured and energised despite his personal circumstances. We had a family party scheduled onsite with three feet of snow to contend with so the staff really helped us to make the celebration happen-well done to all -great venue and wonderful food. Thanks so much for their understanding, patience and professionalism. Excellent customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    It was clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management of the hotel very bad. Stayed here on our wedding night and nothing was done to make it special in anyway. Imformed the hotel weeks in advance to ask for early check in and they didnt even bother contacting us to let us know if there was a room available. The hotel is nice and clean but not worth the money we paid. Wont be recommending it and wont be returning.

    It was clean and modern

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Staff in the bar and restaurant where fab 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered prosecco for the room for my daughters birthday it wasn't in it. Also we had a 10month old child . Website said the room was suitable for 3 people but there was nowhere for the baby to sleep . Had to ask for the prosecco and a cot if available for the baby to sleep in . Was under the illusion that there was a double and single bed in the room 😔

    Room was fab . Bathroom was fab

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay at 12th Lock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very difficult to find, we spent an hour driving around trying to find the exact location which was frustrating. It would be really helpful if there was an obvious sign at the start of the cul de sac which leads down to the hotel like there is for Bradys pub nearby on the same road. While the it is handy to have the train station just down the other side of the hotel I wouldn't walk down this route at night as it is very badly lit, not that this is the hotel's fault. It is just something worth noting.

    Very comfortable modern room with some nice touches, we enjoyed the bar in the hotel and breakfast was lovely. Staff also very friendly and helpful. Will stay again. Location is nice next to the canal. Thank you 12th Lock.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Lovely staff, well decorated room, such a shame the bedrooms were set in the ground
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wall a couple of feet outside the window, 8ft high, with a train running above it!!! No view whatsoever, hence low value for money!

    Excellent breakfast, close to train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely little spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was right beside train tracks! Had window open a crack for the heat. Noise not too bad,trains stop at 11.30 and I didn't hear another one til about 9am Sunday morn. But heard train maintainence guys couple times in night. Think rooms train side should be better priced!!

    Staff at dinner and breakfast were perfect. Couldn't do enough for us!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely bedrooms, great bar food, out of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train line runs by it (bring ear plugs and you'll be fine) and it's a bit far from city centre.

    Nice boutique hotel with nicely decorated rooms and lovely bar food. Very nice and helpful staff throughout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    It was great! No complaints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A designated smoking section would've been nice.

    The bathroom was so luxurious! It made me feel like a queen! The lady at the front was extra helpful and went above and beyond!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Breezy stay in Ireland
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred if breakfast was served a little earlier than 07:30, but in the end this wasnt a problem for me.

    Stayed here recently while working in the area. The hotel is right next to the canal, as you might expect being called the "12th Lock". You can expect to see a few boats, and maybe even a duck or two! There is also ample car parking available. I received a warm welcome from reception staff and despite arriving 2 hours before check-in opened (site I was due to working at was closed due to Storm Ophelia) the staff were able to show me to my room. The room was lovely. Nice and cosy with a nice big bed and spacious bathroom. Also had a flat screen tv, coffee machine and mini bar. First hotel I've ever stayed in that had in room Netflix! Breakfast in the morning was very good (Bargemans Breakfast very filling), with a selection of hot and cold options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel if you want to get up early!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early in the morning it's getting very noise every time a train passes the hotel. Impossible to sleep. It's as if the train runs straight through the room.

    Very friendly staff. Good restaurant. Location near a small river. It's easy to get to Dublin City Center by train. Just a 15 minutes ride.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Would return
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a train line running directly behind the hotel so if you are a light sleeper and want a lay in request a room that is the lock side of the hotel. Wish i had known this, but it wont deter me from booking again as the rest of the hotel features outweigh this.

    The location was beautiful due to being alongside the canal and having a lock directly outside, it would be lovely sitting outside if the weather permitted. Rooms are beautiful and clean with Molten Brown bathroom goodies and a coffee pod machine!Breakfast was lovely, great choice and all freshly cooked to order, even the croissants!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Hidden gem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite warm overnight. Windows open onto brick wall which wasn't an issue but noise from people passing overhead would have been. Only a slight inconvenience.

    Good choice of tea/coffee in room with the offer of fresh milk if we wanted. Close to train station. Friendly helpful staff. Close to shopping. Rooms well furnished.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Situated beside a canal. Lovely to walk on the towpath and view the barges. Very restful.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find if you don't know the area because you have to drive through a housing estate to reach it. My only complaint is that it could be signposted better

    Good food. Friendly staff. Lovely room. Rooms located downstairs so any celebrations upstairs did not bother us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for all snacks was a little annoying- a free biscuit would have been nice

    Gorgeous decoration, super helpful staff, good breakfast choices, great quality wardrobes, hairdryer, shower - really great facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice and cozy rooms with a very homey feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are train tracks behind the hotel ,where the rooms are but you only notice during the day so if you like to sleep late it might bother you. But minor set back

    Nice and cozy rooms with a very homey feeling.Great restaurant for breakfast and drinks eventhough not included in the rate the breakfast. Upon arrival we sat with friends at the restaurant had some drinks and surprise... it was on the house 😋

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Definitely good for an overnighter and nice walk available by the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very cosy but rather cramped for two adults and a 4 year old.

    Compact and clean room. Excellent breakfast and 5 minutes walk to train station. Would recommend to couples.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful setting, tasteful modern décor, excellent bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't stay more than one night!

    Beautiful setting, tasteful modern décor, excellent bathroom. Upon my late arrival after a long day of driving, the lovely man who checked me in offered me a well-needed pint on the house. Great place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.8
    Very expensive, lack of staff for guests. BREAKFAST DISPLAY self service recommended for the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the breakfast cereals were out of stock. One girl serving all guests in which we had to wait 20 minutes for our order & when it came half of what we ordered was missing. I wasn't very impressed at all given the price what we paid for.Definitely won't be going to stay there again jnder no circumstances.

    Shower& bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Very pleased with our stay at 12 th lock
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the restaurant the night we arrived and were really impressed with our meal and the service its just a lovely quiet hotel with great services.

    It was spotlessly clean really comfortable bed lovely friendly staff and finished up with a great breakfast My husband and I will try and get another trip down soon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    nice environment(apart from trains noise) excellent resturant and polite staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It all looks lovely, nice scene next to the canal, but what it doesn't say is that the other side is the railway line, a little noisy until about 10pm, but ok. I also thought I had booked breakfast, I ended up paying additional 12 euro on top of an expensive room, wasn't happy but didn't have time to argue as I had a flight to catch.

    Nice area, not the easiest to find, buts ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Lovely location, the room it's self was fantastic. The decor lovely and very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had dinner in restaurant, but where myself and my 2 children sat, we had staff members eating as well. Which I found of putting and again in the morning at breakfast. Had to ring reception regarding door banging as we where at the door at the bottom of the stairs but it was sorted. Heard a lot of noise from the railway tracks which didn't help with the young children.

    The staff where friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Really enjoyed the hotel, Staff fantastic and so helpful and attentive. Very helpful with our transport needs and late check out. The restaurant was amazing, lovely food, good price and great service, all staff excellent. We would highly recommend the hotel or even just the restaurant to eat We will be back justin & Charlotte

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent staff and good accommodation. The restaurant was very nice and keenly priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a little noise from the bar above and also outside late into the night. It was however a bank holiday weekend so it was understandable and did not impact on the enjoyment of our stay.

    The staff were very, very helpful and took time to help with directions and also helped to arrange to get food delivered as we arrived after midnight due to a delayed flight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    Discovered nice Irish lager at the pub.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was squashed with the two in my room. Hardly no leg room to walk around. Made me pay on the spot everytime I ordered a beer....distrusting the customers.

    Discovered nice Irish lager at the pub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Annette on reception was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated next to a train line. However they didn't operate throughout the night

    Our hotel room was spotless! Lovely Molton& Brown complimentary toiletries and even included use of dressing gowns and slippers. The Full Irish Breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    excellent stay - would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning - it was v hot

    The staff were v friendly and nothing was a problem. Emma was very helpful. The breakfast was excellent - so good that my husband took photos of it. Also, the bistro food was very good too. Molton Brown toiletries to take home. Lovely gesture.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.0
    Too loud to sleep in a luxe hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is next to train tracks, barking dogs and loud, very minimal sound proofing. Doors to hallway (in our basement room) were awful and extremely loud. Sleep was difficult.

    Hotel was beautifully updated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast it was waiter service so you could only pick off a menu, prefer the self service option at breakfast time, however the food was lovely

    Room was beautiful and very luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely go back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was friendly but a bit overwhelmed by huge crowds in restaurant (not hotel guests)

    Food was really nice and fresh, venue was really clean, classy and comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    It look's nice when you see the front of the hotel even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was it's right beside the railway track, but sure there is nothing you can do about that. The only other thing is the price for the breakfast and you don't get a lot for the price you pay.

    It look's nice when you see the front of the hotel even the room was nice can't fault it on its looks.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75