Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wards Hotel 2 stars

Lower Salthill, Salthill, Galway, Ireland

#41 of 42 hotels in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 419 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    No frills, clean, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find the breakfast room

    This is a great budget option. Very clean. However I couldn't find the breakfast room in the morning and had to leave without despite paying for it. You couldn't complain about what you get for the money. It's good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small for 2 adults and 2 kids only 2 beds and nothing for a baby to sleep in had to go upstairs to get to room with a buggy

    The staff were very nice and kind and they maid you feel welcome in the morning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Not that pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that secure. Noise from neighbouring property. Intruder into room at 6:40 in the morning who apparently had access to a master key. Receptionist was sympathetic but took no other action. Quite possibly the hotel were complicit

    Location and bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Thanks Ward Hotel, loved my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    All good at the Ward Hotel, staff were friendly ( please don't lose that Ireland ) room clean, with comfortable bed and plenty of tea coffee and milk, good breakfast. 10mins walk into the city, 10mins walk to the sea front at Salthill. Car park is quite small at the rear of the Hotel, had to park my car on the road at the rear of the Hotel, plenty spaces, quiet road and area. Great value and loved my time in Galway....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.8
    I wouldn't recommend or stay again until improvements have been made. Very over-priced.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    The window was broken and couldn't be closed. The interior was very dated. Shockingly overpriced. The shower was good and the bed comfortable, though I had to leave the heater on full blast overnight to compensate for the cold let in by the window. I asked for a spare blanket but it didn't seem clean so I didn't use it. The room and en-suite were very, very small. There was a table/dresser but no chair to sit at it, only a low stool. Also, the minimum score a property can achieve is 2.5, not 0.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed our stay in your hotel and felt the staff and customers were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt the hotel was a little rundown and could have been cleaner. (cobwebs and dead flies in the window of the bar area)

    Liked the atmosphere in the bar. Also liked that the hotel was near town and salthill. Staff were friendly and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    3.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room very small,, toilet and shower room tiny.. no room to move in shower or toilet old wardrobe and furniture in room ,, wooden windows fallen apart wood was rotten in frames.. hair dryer stopping every minute.. lock on room door falling out.. car park beside bins out the back of premises any very small

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    happy enough, reasonably priced
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv remote didn't work, tv very poor reception, pillows are old and could do with being replaced

    breakfast was lovely and breakfast staff lovely too - basic but cheap accomodation, shower/toilet room very clean and shower worked very well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Reasonable rates, and my single room included it's own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the hotel isn't very clear, but I could get in through the bar.

    Reasonable rates, and my single room included it's own private toilet. Breakfast was simple fry up and did the trick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Felt like home from home!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain in shower was blocked ,

    James one of the staff members was very accomadating & very helpful , & the whole ambience , made us feel like we were home from home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    coffee could be better for breakfast, dont like the instant coffee

    breakfast including in the price was excellent, great selection even for the kids. staff very friendly.close to the beach about 8 min walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice place that will be great once the laundry room is ready.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a washer and dryer listed here which is one of the reasons I picked it, but they were remodeling the laundry room and the washer and dryer could not be used.

    There was parking and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    A night in Galway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this hotel to have the possibility to have dinner there as I was arriving in the late evening, but there was no dinner even if a restaurant is mentioned in the hotel description. No good tv connection. Probably it was an issue with the antenna.

    The hotel is located in a quiet street. It is 10 minutes walking from nice restaurants. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Free WiFi. Nice pub downstairs where to enjoy a nice drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    There was a bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was creaky and uncomfortable! The TV picture was blurry, there was no where available to plug in the kettle that was safe! Upon arrival there was no explanation about breakfast the following morning, no staff around in the morning to help so I walked into town to eat even tho it was included in the stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Location is perfect between salt hill and downtown Galway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated and basic. But clean and warm. No complaints.

    Location is perfect between salt hill and downtown Galway. Owner was super nice and the music on wed was so nice !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Disapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way I was received in the premises and the lack of connection with staff! Distant and cold!

    I liked the room and the toilet with a bath as requested.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Clean generally, warm and comfortable friendly welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise levels were not good,in the early evening due to kegs and barrels being delivered and flung about. Didn't help for having a snooze! Better cleaning around the back of toilet area needs to be maintained. Toilet seats needs to be checked that they're tightly fitting. Bulbs need to be checked in bedside lamps. The kettle was peculiar as the switch was faulty and had to be kept pressed down by hand while it attempted to boil.

    Clean generally, warm and comfortable friendly welcoming staff. Check in and check out times are great and flexible. Very easy walking distance into town or very short taxi journey. Room and ensuite with shower were as required. The rooms were quiet at night. The price for the night involved was good as I'd gotten a good deal on booking.com. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, valuable, and quaint. Don't over look Wards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some small stains on the bedcovers and sheets.

    Absolute ideal location. Very friendly staff. I had read all the reviews and any bad reviews, I've proved wrong. Great value for money on weekdays. Cleaners are the most lovely people you could chat to. Quiet for thin walls. Heater worked fine and the hot water was perfect. I have zero complaints.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Totally enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor could be a bit brighter but the overall stay was perfecft

    The Hotel was warm n cosy very friendly staff great food very comfortable beds value for money great location and quiet it suited my husband and I as we just needed to chill out would definitely recomend to friends

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.8
    ok place, value ok for Galway , but will not return
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was hard as a rock, NO ENSUITE bathroom tho ..! !!!!!! Place was clean, but main light bulb was broken in room

    Location was good, bar downstairs was ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.6
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The radiator was not working , so the room got really cold, we tried to contact them, the staff was helpful but they could not do anything. And there was only guy doing everything in the hotel (bar included). They really need more staff and some restoration. The pub in the lobby is very noisy, we had a hard time to fall asleep saturday night. Then the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. And the price was really misleading, we paid an extra 50 euro for our stay, no one knows the exact reason ("just as in Booking.com")

    The location is OK, easy access to buses, beds are OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.0
    Quite neutral about the hotel - bar the tasty breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room at top of house for the money paid. Not sure if maintenance is up to scratch: light in hallway out; shower tray close to overflowing; no convenient plug for kettle.

    Reasonable situation if you are on foot. About 25 minutes from Galway centre; slightly less from Salthill. Good "full breakfast". Comfortable bar on ground floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    A good value hotel with friendly staff, with quiant but dated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit cold (we stayed in November) and the heater wasn’t very good. The room was basic and a bit cramped but clean and comfortable.

    The location was good and the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was very nice and there were good options available. The rooms were quiet and the double bed, although small, was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Wards is in a great location and provides full value at reasonable rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I can honestly say that there wasn't anything that I didn't like.

    I like it because the rates are reasonable and the food is excellent. Also, the walls must be thick enough that my music practices didn't appear to bother anyone. Also, I enjoyed joining the Wed. night session. It is only a short walk to Galway town centre. It was nice to have newspapers in the lobby every morning. Whenever I will be in Galway in the future, I will be definitely be staying at Wards.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Great bargain at great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things but walls are a bit thin and just happened to have someone in the next room who liked watching TV loud but only early in the evening so didn’t bother me much.

    Great place at a reasonable price and close to everything. Quick 10 minutes walk gets you in Galway city center or Salthill City center. Great host, comfortable bad. Home cooked breakfast was far better than in restaurants around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Walkable distance to town center and beach, quiet , no noise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some updating

    Walkable distance to town center and beach, quiet , no noise at night, I had everything I Needed in my room. Older building but it has character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    Spend a few more bucks and get a better place that is odor free, provides parking and hot water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in shower. Nothing but cold. No staff to assist with issue. Not good way to start the day! Non Smoking room smelled of cigarette smoke. Nasty. They advertise parking but really doesn't exist. There is very small lot behind building and appears staff parks there all day. No spaces for guests.

    Short walk to downtown Galway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom floor became slippy with condensation. Towels (3 for 2 pax) were damp from the start. Only soap provided, not shampoo/shower gel. NO RESTAURANT!! Yes - they do provide breakfast, but other than crisps/pringles, that is it. No assistance with getting bags to room. Basically - check in & DIY.

    It was OK for the 1-night stay we had. Good feeling in the bar - busy & live music. Room was on top floor (of 2) - taking stairs with suitcase had to be careful. Easy 10 minute walk on the flat to Quay Street Galway for loads of F&B outlets. Car park is at rear in another street, so satnav takes to front of building & car park is at back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Very satisfactory, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pub food would help on a rainy night.

    We changed rooms as the first room over the pub was noisy, but the second room was great. The staff were very cooperative, and gave us much attention. Breakfast food and service were great. 10 minute walk to town was good exercise for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Glad I took my hot water bottle and blanket!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was very small but that wasn't a problem for me and could have been quite cosy except there was no heating (this was mentioned to the lady that cleaned the rooms but not resolved), wardrobe rail was broken so had to hang clothes around the room, remote control on tv not working and only mirror was in the bathroom so was useless after a shower with all the steam! My friends was a lot roomier than mine had heating, wardrobe was ok and a mirror in the bedroom.So really its pot luck with how comfortable your room will be. As I said rates are very reasonable and if attention could be paid to some of the faults it would be ideal. Galway is great so no reason to spend too much time in your hotel.

    showers were very good with plenty of hot water location was great as it took about twenty minutes to walk into town so saved us money on cab fares. very reasonable rates compared to other hotels in Galway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Great value, very friendly and very centrail.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs might be a bit of a clime if you are old. More of an old style B&B then a hotel. Over all I would stay again and I was happy and great value for Salthill.

    Very friendly and very central. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Bath and a very good shower in a spacious bright en-suite. Good breckfast. Has an old style charm and a bar with friendly customers. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Good for a based to visit local sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls think could hear next door using toilet. Only one large and one small towel provided and room cramped.

    Accommodation connected to nice pub. Easy walking distance to salthill beach. Using hair dryer and could easily see in mirror!shower was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Staff very accommodating, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tired and needing updating. Food from bar was sandwiches only, not apparent when booking.

    Staff very accommodating, friendly. Comfortable. Small parking at back of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    Damp and musty room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minute we walked into our room we could smell damp. Room was really musty and old. It was like something out of fawlty towers. Stairs really steep- not suitable for older people. The room just felt dirty but we had no choice but to stay. Would put an extra €40 to our budget next time and stay in a proper hotel.

    Staff at breakfast were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Clean, friendly, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all good.

    Small but had everything, own shower/toilet (small but plenty of hot water), tea/coffee facilities, very clean. Had toiletries which I didn't expect for the price, breakfast was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.0
    Unfortunately I won't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old fashioned and doesn't look like it has been updated since it first opened. Everything is too small and needs an upgrade.

    The breakfast was delicious and the bed was comfortable but unfortunately not that big for two people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.6
    Needs a total refurb but a great breakfast and comfortable bed if that is all you are after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place needs a serious upgrade - it looks like an old man's pub and somewhere to lay down when they have had far too much drink to get themselves home - there is no excuse for looking like this. Extremely old furnishings/old fashioned decor and the ensuite is just a musty cubbihole - no space in there for a sink which is in the room instead. The rooms are cold and very small.

    The breakfast was delicious, the staff were lovely and accommodating when I needed to change rooms because the window wouldn't close and it was very cold but the beds are comfortable, thank God for these things otherwise I would have left.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Good stay for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning in the room could be a bit better (few cobwebs beside the wardrobe) and it was a bit noisy when other guests were using the shower and coming back to their rooms late

    Location was good, breakfast was really nice and room was compact but comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    We enjoy our stay it was a break for us and would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't the best as we seen other room on our way out their was no mirror or hair dryer all the other room did look good

    It was friendly good location the breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    A Galway Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always love to stay in Wards when in Galway. Situated in a lovely residential area it is so close to everything. Old fashioned charm, great local downstairs and value that can not be bet. Staff very friendly and helpful and a great nights sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice functional hotel/guesthouse with bar. Good value as a Base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny . Towels were mismatched for 2 adult's. One hand towel 1 bath sheet and 1 medium sized towel. Very dated but good value for the time of year

    Parking was good. Staff were pleasant. Breakfast was good. Bed was comfy. Tea coffee in the room & shower gels were supplied

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value / excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room basic and a little small, but that was what I expected, as I booked last minute.

    Great location. Basic accommodation. Genuine value for money. Big breakfast good quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    This property could benefit from a makeover and the smell in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was very small for two people and the place was really in need of an update

    This property could benefit from a makeover and the smell in the lobby could have been better, the place was immaculately clean and the staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, if you are not into 70's furniture then you might want to rethink.

    Liked the rate and the fact that it is just 30 min walk from town center. Also, rooms were dated but clean which is what matters most to me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.5
    the room was only just bigger than our suitcases.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not even going to start.

    the room was only just bigger than our suitcases. and nor decorated for twenty years (wood chip), shower was good pressure but the shower rose leaked all over the floor on the upside the bar was a nice place to spend time in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.3
    Overpriced and in severe need of a makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel was very down at heel , dingy and not to clean in places. In short it needs a complete refurbishment. My friends and I would not stay again and we would not recommend it to anyone else, even at half the price.

    The breakfast was ok. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Fun, Friends, 40th
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slight odour in the room, mix of cleaning products and potential damp - but overall really good.

    The staff were excellent, the location was perfect; breakfast brilliant. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in a lovely neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good hotel for your stay in Galway. I really loved the Salthill area and the promenade! The room is clean, comfortable bed and shower and the staff is very friendly. I would definitely stay at the Wards again when I go back to Galway.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.4
    Okay for a short,cheap no files stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had stained bed sheets with ciggarette burns, room was also way too hot. My car got blocked by other cars overnightand I had to get taxi to meeting.

    The location was great, shower pressure was was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Friendly atmoshpere, great family accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. They made everyone feel as they were long and distant relatives. Location nearby to Galway City a major plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had too much furniture in it and was very hot - could not turn off/down heating - but opened window!

    The location and price was great for Galway- staff nice and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    A handy hotel with character - within a 10 minute walk of Salthill Prom or City centre.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they were to charge at least twice the price the underlying '70s decor would need changing but the best has been made of the existing framework: the decor has been updated and the hotel would then lose the benefit of its character. I like it as it is. I haven't recommended it for families because the rooms I've been in are quite small but it would be perfectly adequate for many families. I'd have brought my own in times gone by when I wanted a comfortable venue within budget. It's near the beach and many Salthill amenities including cafes!

    Terrific value - making it possible for me to visit Galway more often. There's a generally quiet and friendly bar downstairs where I could enjoy a drink at the end of the day and tea and scone one morning. On my last visit there was exceptional music performed by a group of musicians, including a terrific harpist and accordian player playing in the area of the bow window. This small hotel is within walking distance of city centre and Salthill promenade in the other direction.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    2.5
    Horrible accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This accomodation was really bad. The room did not look like on the picture at all. The window was windy and it was really cold there at night, even when the heater was fully on. The wifi did not work at all in the room, although I reclaimed it, cause I needed wifi there. There was no hot water in the bathroom in the morning, just cold. The shower was very small (maybe 50 * 50cm). The furniture was old and damaged. O found a packaging of a used condom beside my bed.. Very bad experience, it is really not worth the price (60 EUR/night) and I am going to ask for a price reduction.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.5
    A solid and cheap place
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing much. For the price it was acceptable. Basic, old and simple.

    Price, atmosphere, bar downstairs. Not too far from city center and with a bus right at the door. Convenience store very close.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    cosy room
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cahill who looked after me was great.this place is a typical Irish style hotel!bit backward and made me laugh(in a good way)..my room was dated and small,but spotless and so warm.i felt like I was getting into my mums bed. it was soft and snug.a nest.i skipped breakfast but it looked delicious,I just had some good strong coffee.price was fantastic.i will most definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.3
    Average hotel but good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit shabby and very few sockets to be found until I discovered a socket board under the bed but this involved pulling out the whole bed to get it.

    Staff were nice and it's a great location, within walking distance of the beach and promenade. Good value for the €40 I paid but I wouldn't pay any more than that.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Made feel very welcome in a very homely environment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is at a premium but we were lucky to get secure parking to the rear!

    Had a pop up party and the staff at the venue couldnt have been kinder or more helpful! There is a lovely family feel to the place, its like being in a big cosey sitting room. We were made very welcome. The "can do" attitude that can often be lacking in bigger venues is available here in spades! Top marks for making it a very special stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.5
    All as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and so was the bathroom but it smelt either like damp or far to much detergent was used. A lot of very tight and low stairs were encountered getting to the room and found the neighbouring rooms to be between paper thin walls.

    The location of this hotel is very close to the city centre, a short 15 minute walk or 5 minute taxi drive, would recommend the walk unless you like sitting in traffic. The staff were very friendly, the parking was tight but a lovely location with many free areas. Not much around in terms of food unless you wanted to go to the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    5.4
    disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed room was small and very pokey certainly killed romantic nightaway very expensive for what we recieved looked a lot more up market on the internet the service das good but the room was a disaster we went to a function in galway bay and could have stayed there for another30 very dissapointed

    Bteakfasr

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Ideal location from city and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and wifi was quite poor

    Very friendly place rooms are cosy overall value for money and great breakfast especially the pancakes

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money, but could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely Tiny shower. Room could get quite cold which the heater took a lot of time to change, and only a very small parking area.

    Room was quite large and comfortable, no more than 10 minute walk from the town center, reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.7
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds uncomfortable, tiny room,bathroom tiny but if small person manageable ,only one mirror in toilet and too high over sink for me (5ft 3ins) .

    staff very friendly . location good not too far and not too close to city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    6.7
    Old style hotel wit a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very old fashioned Sockets hanging off the wall in bedroom. Rusty handrail in bathroom. Bedroom door in room 4 would not open for my friend. I think the hotel could be modernised at a relatively low cost.

    Location was excellent. Directions given were a little confusing. Staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was very satisfactory.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    Tiring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey in room 2 and unable to sleep. Noise from adjacent main road and from pub directly below our room, detracted from our holiday

    Location was good and breakfast menu

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    Great hotel with excellent breakfast and cozy pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi signal wasn't that great, despite having access points at every floor. But that was the only thing really.

    The breakfast was excellent and extensive! More than enough good fuel to start the day with. The hotel's pub was nice and the room was nice and clean. If you visit by car, you can park for free right at the front of the hotel alongside the road or at the back in the lot.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.5
    All in all we enjoyed our stay at Wards. The location as I see it is bang on. Your roughly half way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually this realy isn't your fault. We both have a bit of a problem climbing stairs. Luckily, just the one flight. We made it.

    Beds comfortable. Fine breakfast. Plenty there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Great location but in need of a face lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very dated and small. Walls are thin so can hear the TV and showers next door.

    Location is great. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was very tasty. Separate entrance at night to let yourself in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    2.9
    WILL NEVER RETURN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was booked for my parents as a wedding anniversary present pity the outside resembled a construction site and were given 2 Single beds manager did rectify it for Sat night but should not have had to rectify it in the first place!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Dissatisfied customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking area was surrounded BT rubbish bins.

    Only the location was ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Very nice, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walk from rail to hotel.

    Staff great, room great too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Value city hotel with good beer; all within short walk of the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice to have *good* beer in the same location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't answer that . Was no problems

    Meals were great . Staff 100 per cent . Highly recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Pint of Guinness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated,

    Pint of Guinness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Most comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most comfortable. Suited my needs perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.5
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: