Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waterloo House 4 stars

8-10 Waterloo Road, D4 Dublin, Ireland

#46 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 658 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but even with 2 large suitcases we managed nicely.

    The property is in a quiet area but a walkable distance to Grafton Street, Trinity College etc. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was great. We had a rental car and parked in the hotel’s parking lot three of the four nights. The other night (Saturday) we parked in the street. There are only about 8 spots.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whoever awarded this property a four-star rating is probably an elementary school teacher used to awarding golden stars for an effort. True, there was a room in which we could sleep but reception was non-existent, clueless and unhelpful. The whole establishment is two adjacent town houses which have been converted into a hotel by applying as little effort as possible. For the price we paid we could have stayed at a proper five-star hotel almost in any European capital. The whole hotel is very dated, on the verge of falling apart (the shower head could only be used in one position because moving it caused a fountain of water to spray the entire bathroom, etc.).

    The location of the hotel is relatively good, the street is not noisy, the city centre is within walking distance and there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific location! Excellent staff! Clean!! The mattress was very comfortable but the pillows were thin and hard.

    The location & the staff were excellent!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways with so many fire doors and turning very often,

    The best waffles ever😁. The hallways were a little hard to navigate with a wheelchair, but the room was in the lower level close to the breakfast room and with aa ramp to the outside. Very convenient. With a couple of safety bars it count be considered handicapped friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable mattress Double door between rooms=Clear snoring on the other side Cramped quarters Rooms bathroom but minimal room to set items down No outlet in the bathroom

    Nice location Hot shower Nice staff Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All well, had no internet on my tablet while in the room, but I think computer would have had a better reception, Internet at the reception was fine. Wasn't as important as having a bath though....

    Georgian townhouse with a lot of comfort, Very convenient location, comfy bed, I was looking for a bath and got one. good night's sleep too, still very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything I didn't like. It wasn't a problem, but it's about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the centre of the city.

    It is a beautiful building and room, very comfortable and clean, excellent service, good breakfast, good security and privacy. Quiet location but only a minutes walk to shops. Public transport also not too far.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really lovely, comfortable room in a charming house. Exceptional breakfast served in a beautiful solarium. The staff was warm and helpful, and it's located on a quiet residential street with great restaurants (try the Malaysian one!) and a Tesco just a quick walk down the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They called me back after check out because they couldn't charge my card. They should have checked at the check out and not after we already left. They called me 6x but I couldn't answer. When I called back, the girl at the reception had no idea of the problem. This was the only inconvenience.

    Very cosy room, comfortable beds, a lot of light, water provided, nice bath. Lovely patio for breakfast or just relaxing. Wonderful lounge, with free newspapers (The Irish Times). Parking for the car. Great stay overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like it was perfect for my 3 day get away.

    I liked the whole style of the building and the location and helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and the bathroom a bit dated (sink tap was either on or off and hot tap scolding!) We had a room with an adjoining door and could hear more than we liked from our neighbours in the night!!!!

    Beautiful Georgian building, very helpful staff-able to drop off luggage etc. Reasonable distance from town (approx 15mins from St Stephen's Green)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the staff were lovely and facilities very nice, my issue was the lack of soundproofing of the walls between the rooms. I booked this room mid week hours before I arrived as I was working very late for work and had an early start in the morning. I travelled alone, arriving at close to 9pm. At approx 11.30pm a very 'energetic' couple arrived in the room connected to mine. For the next 3 hours, I heard....EVERYTHING.... Now, as a solo resident, who had worked very late that day and with hours to go until arising for another very early start and long day....I was less than impressed. There were 3 other registered guests when I arrived...plenty of room to put this giddy and tipsy couple anywhere in the building but next to me... Some care in assessing residents circumstances when at this level of occupancy, would be valuable to retain repeat business......

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit surprised that there was not a bar, but was recommended Searsons which is literally a one minute walk. This had good food and a welcoming atmosphere. So not having a bar at the hotel was not an issue at all.

    The hotel is located in a good location for city centre and the Aviva Stadium. My room was small (but got to be expected in this type of property) but extremely comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and the recommendation of local restaurants was appreciated. The breakfast was good too. I would definitely stay at the hotel again and certainly recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff opened dining room early for breakfast for me as we had an early morning appointment to make. Staff were so accommodating to me it was really nice. The place had a real homely feel to it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight draught in the window which resulted in a slight chill factor but room lovely and warm otherwise

    The location was excellent and within a short walking distance of pubs and restaurants. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout. Bed extremely comfortable and a great nights sleep

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an older style Georgian house typical to Dublin so don't expect a modern interior in the rooms or bathrooms.

    Comfortable bed. Nice television. Complimentary water, coffee, tea etc. Good location. Easy, friendly check in/out. Swipe cards after hours for easy access. Parking available out front when I was there, fits about 8xcars. 2minute walk to Searsons pub in Ballsbridge. After 7pm on a Saturday there would be free street parking until Monday morning, as it is a fairly quiet street there would be a lot of free spaces around that area usually. On the way to Aviva stadium so would be busier when rugby games on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cons: The restaurant on site only serves breakfast. No room service, no Air conditioner/Heater that you can set for your room, only the central heating. Also room was smaller than expected and bed was veeeery soft which doesn't work for people who have back problems.

    Pros: Charming property, close to lots of shops and restaurants, clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remarks.

    We had the room from the back side garden. Silence dominated. And very kind and helpful staff. The house itself looks very nice and comfortable. Breakfast very tasty. Relatively close to the down town. Even walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was crowded of furniture, there was no space to put if not to open the suitcase, we have had to ask to turn on the heating to be able to take us the shower (they turned it off during the day!)

    The French guy receptionist was kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very clean, bathroom was very spacious. Nice location near the shops. Download 'My Taxi' app as it's helpful to book a taxi. Uber is expensive in Dublin.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle and hairdryer were older than I was and it smelt of burning plastic when in use. There was only full fat UHT milk available in the room, no fridge or other options- which I would expect with a 4* B and B.

    The bed and linen were comfy and the shower very good given we were on the 4th floor where water pressure can sometimes drop. The room was spacious with plenty of storage and wardrobe space and had an ironing board and trouser press (we didn't use them).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very dated, lots of broken and wobbling tiles, with grout falling out. The radiator was very rusty along the bottom as well. Overall it just needed a day or two of basic renovation. That being said it didnt detract from a great trip in a great city!

    The bed was very comfy and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture set up in rooms sometimes awkward. Double bed up against radiator so can only enter from one side, or bottom. My room had no 'hotel guide' in it so I couldn't figure out how to call my parents' room and had to get dressed and go to their room very early in the morning.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent. Convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait til almost 15:00 to book in.

    Friendly stuff and a comfy bed. Nice and clean with a strong shower. Lovely breakfast. Close to bust stop that goes into town centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower really hard to get in/out due to fixed glass Panel & position of sink. No supports to grab.

    Location, bed surprisingly comfortable as very soft.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cramped, but that can't be helped in an older building.

    Great location near the City Centre on several bus routes. Charming Georgian building decorated in period style. The on-site, off-street parking was very helpful. There's a nice lounge/sitting room on the main floor for all the guests to use.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One or two Irish staff and full blown Irish craik would have been a most welcome addition ; this in no way an adverse comment on the most courteous service given by all the staff during my visit .

    A lovely comfortable hotel ; well situated and very quiet . Staff friendly and helpful; bedroom very clean and well appointed and the bathroom , although small . Was lmmaculare .The breakfast menu was varied and the cooked breakfasts were first class . All in all a most enjoyable stay and would highly recommend .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am allergic to feathers. I suspect the comforter and pillows were stuffed with them because my allergies were bad at night only!

    Hospitality, location, room, food, staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No staff late at night or early morning. Sign to say ring 9 for assistance when no staff at reception, called this 6 or 7 times and no response.

    comfortable bed. reasonable bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly overpriced for what it is; the place could do with some freshing up, as it is all a bit dated (the room we stayed in, at least).

    Friendly staff, very good location, charming accomodation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furniture was dinged up, and it took several minutes of running to get hot water in the sink. The price of accommodation was quite high, although probably not compared to similar hotels in Dublin.

    Good location. We received free breakfasts for our two-night stay, even though it wasn't part of the booking agreement. The room was quiet and offered a good view of the surrounding area. The building was old, yet charming and tastefully restored.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a staff who always was in the parlor area. There was a strong lingering bodyoder smell in the parlor most of the time.

    Quiet, good food, helpful staff. The windows opened for fresh air. Convienent walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were excellent, very welcoming, calm and friendly. One morning I was 20 minutes late for breakfast but one of the staff members offered me a full Irish with tea and orange juice. Delicious and much appreciated!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in rooms is a little dull Some rooms are quite compact Shears over window would add a little more privacy for rooms facing main road

    Great location Comfortable bed Amazing breakfast Wonderful staff Sitting room with morning newspapers was a bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue are the steps to the front door for luggage, however, once aware that side door can be accessed this is not a problem.

    Delightful property, great location, breakfast menu delicious - dining area overlooking garden. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot for both rooms. The extra blanket in closet was SO ratty we could not use as a substitute to the duvet.

    The breakfast was awesome and should be included in booking.com fee. Staff accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plug was missing from wash basin in bathroom. Extractor fan in bathroom was broken. No spare blanket in wardrobe. Sound proofing was not great - I was disturbed by noise from other guests.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi in room. Plenty of hot water in bathroom. Delicious breakfast, served promptly. Room was quiet, no noise from traffic etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is not very efficient. We asked for repair of malfunctions (2 lamps didn't work) and they never fixed them. Ordered part of breakfast was mackerel and it was too dry

    Staff is very friendly. Bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is very rich. Continental part is very fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows aren't safe for children at all. Held open with a piece of wood so you have to shut them. Rooms are small. Some dust in the room in quite basic areas. Quilt cover torn. Receptionist isn't friendly and doesn't help you when you ask. Male manager or owner was nice and helpfulx

    Lovely road

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was warm and stuffy, no airconditioning and it was a warm few days in Dublin. No one really told me about breakfast so I wasn't sure about it. Also, when I went to leave on my final day (I stayed 4 nights), I left at 6:00 and no one was there. I needed to call a cab. I tried using the phone in the front room, but no answer. I finally slid my key under the office door at 6:20 and luckily, hailed a cab out front.

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was in Room 31. Dreadful very loud noises lasting over a minute every time flushed toilet. Adjoining room is 32 (?) - could hear every word and whisper and movement of couple who arrived late evening - i possible to concentrate on work, or sleep. (Hope they enjoyed toilet flush noises too!) Would recommend this room is unfit to offer for separate accommodation until a) plumbing fixed, and b) soundproofed from next room.

    Building full of character

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of far from all the main tourist action. Cost a little more than I really wanted to spend (but totally worth it.)

    The staff is incredible! Irene helped us so much, from making change for the bus, to printing out tickets to museums I had booked online, to marking our map with sights and bus routes. The breakfast is amazing - from the full Irish to perfect waffles - and the breakfast room is delightful. The wifi was really fast. The neighborhood was nice and quiet. Rooms are gorgeous and large. Nice parlor. Soundproof rooms and floors that don't squeak very much. Good water pressure in the shower. Bus stop very close. Good little restaurant district just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room, but that's a convenience. We had no complaints with our stay.

    The Waterloo House is in an excellent location, a safe, quiet and residential neighborhood. It is an easy walk to a number of wonderful restaurants. Thanks to Dublin's efficient public transportation system, you can easily take a bus to anywhere in the city. The hotel is clean and offers comfortable accommodations. We did not eat at the hotel, but at area restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was given was tiny with no bath The kettle and hairdryer looked like it was something from the 70s and the kettle was unclean There were no bath towels in the room so when we had a shower we had to use hand towels There was a trolley of cleaning equipment left outside our door The rate was expensive for what we got ie a small room with no breakfast - I've had better value for money in London and other cities. The manager did not come across very friendly Perhaps this is the only room of this size and I was just unlucky but for me it just was not worth the money nor would I give it 4 stars

    There was little about the accommodation that I liked except its appearance outside was pleasant , on a positive note the accommodation was ideal for a central stay with a 15 min walk to the aviva stadium in one direction and a 20-25 min walk the other way to the city centre which suited us for this particular trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very welcoming and really helpful. We were on 4th floor - great to have a lift! Quiet neighbourhood, comfy bed and great shower. Breakfast was spot on - the soda bread was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff and in a good location if you don't want to be right in the heart of Dublin. Good restaurants and shops within a block. Few minute walk to Trinity college and Temple Bar. Nice having onsite parking!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The folder of information in the room was very old.

    The hostess who served breakfast could not have been nicer! The view from our very quiet room was lovely. The breakfast room faces the garden and this made a peaceful start to the day. Evelyn, the manager, was most helpful. Dublin taxi drivers are the best!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to carry luggage up stairs to the entrance door. Narrow doors and hallways. A little dated and lacking in some convenience expected from a hotel. Actually appears to be converted apartments.

    Price was reasonable and with basic services but good comfort overall. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Genuinely friendly personnel! Good location with lots of restaurants in the vicinity. Direct bus connection to UCD and to city center, the bus stop is almost in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom light would not come on without the noisy extractor fan. Room next to kitchen noisy outside from 7.00am.

    Room was a good size with a good size bathroom. Nice to have a bath. Breakfast was lovely. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 32 was an adjoining room to 31 and the walls were very thin. Had to listen to our neighbors extra curricular activities. Would suggest requesting a room that wasn't adjoining to another.

    Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was great. Neighborhood was nice and quiet. Just a short walk to local pubs and eateries. The owner and staff was very pleasant and helpful with suggestions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, making our stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was superb. The B&B looks really nice, location in the city was perfect. City centre was a short walk but also enough restaurants and pubs in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little expensive. We assume it was because of the proximity to city center area. The room was not huge but a decent suze and the bathroom was a good size, the bed was comfy

    The breakfast was very extensive and delicious. The french toast was very good, not soggy and the Irish breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The room was quite comfortable, That the location in a quiet area, yet within walking distance of everything we wanted to see, was a plus, but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was what impressed us the most.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had s room with a connecting door but no one in the adjoining room on the first night. However on the second night it was occupied and it was like being in the same room , you could almost hear them breathing .

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After having stayed on the O'Connel Street previously, this location was not as central and walking to the centre was a bit too long. The only other thing we didn't really like was the bed, whereby the mattress had a slight incline towards the middle.

    The room and the building was nice and quite romantic, like an old mansion. The owner and the personnel were really nice and helpful. The common areas were cozy and all rooms were clean and with nice views on the street. A very good pub is only 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Easy to find and parking out the front. Lovely, helpful staff. Nearby hotel and restaurants. Short trip into the city. Did a Hpp-on-hop-off bus tour

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably just us,could do with reverse instructions for getting out of dining room!

    Loved simplicity, clean comfortable, great breakfast, very pleasant without intruding staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently not hotel fault but was charged far more in sterling than I was first told when I booked; no guide to tv channels and no radio; no blackout at windows so woke far too early;some little things not fixed eg bedside light not working and sink plugs detached from chain.

    Some charming staff eg Ukrainian breakfast room lady;quiet compared with rest of Dublin; breakfast touches good and unusual eg not cereal packets and owner makes own bread and muesli.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows did not have double glazing, it felt like open window, cold and the room was very smelly. When I wanted to leave - they did not want to give me the signed letter that i want back my money. Rude and arrogant receptionist Cassandra ( she said she was also manager- hardly believe ) she refused to do anything for me and she left me waiting about one hour because other quests want to check in. Later I decided to stay and she promised to give me small heater to make room warmer as she couldnt give me other room because I was sitting on the bed and the bed did not look tidy. After 10 min. she changed her mind and offered me other room ( she couldnt find the heater - I think because quests requested the heater as well - it was cold February and there was no heating in the hotel all day ). Is it difficult for receptionist say something like sorry, I do apologize??? I was only one who said please, thank you. She was rude, unprofessional. The other receptionist was another liar ( probably Russian woman ) - saying that the heating is till 12 pm - not true it was till 10 am and she mentioned to Cassandra that she showed me 3 rooms and I did not like them ( she showed only one room - because the smelly and very cold room n. 34 is not acceptable for money 99 EUR. I have to say it is very different that continental Europe. I do not recommend it at all. Absolutely disaster.

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could update their bathroom faucets so that the temperature could be regulated through a single faucet. Also, the shower curtain was quite flimsy, so it blew in and clung to the body.

    It was a wonderful hotel! So quiet, clean & comfy. Great value!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all.

    All the staff were lovely and friendly and helpful. I unexpectedly was unwell and they were caring and supportive. Cosy clean room. Great location. I definitely will be back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom a bit small. Basically it is a B&B type of property, but breakfast costs extra money.

    Own free parking was a great advantage; quiet location; we had very nice garden view too. City center is 30 min. by foot. Dining is 5..10 min. nearby.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of noise from construction outside. It only lasted for about ten minutes but the staff gave us breakfast free of charge for it. I felt we got too much of a good deal in the end.

    The bed was very comfy, the shower was fantastic, the staff were over-the-top helpful, the decor was charming and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No temperature set inside the room. I slept with the window open.

    Wonderful typical building. Easy access with comfortable room and hall Gorgeous breakfast (homemade waffle)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waterloo House is a pleasant and convenient BnB with the added bonus of free onsite parking. It is within walking distance of most city centre attractions, shopping areas the RDS and IRFU Aviva Stadium . The breakfast, served in a lovely basement is excellent. There are lots of nice restaurants and pubs close by. The staff and the owner are always on hand to help.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in any accommodation ( and I have traveled around the world). There was a bath so this also made us feel great before going to bed. I km from town meant no buses or taxis. Loved the place!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds a bit short and room very small. Showers a bit weak. Also rooms at front of property can be noisy because of traffic. Also fire exit light in room was annoying at night

    Good breakfast, great location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room a little bit tight for the furniture - left a note for a second towel in bathroom - however cleaner did not leave one.

    Lovely staff and management - very helpful and recommended a great pub for dinner nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was surprising that this hotel is 4* and has amazing reviews on Booking. Its really just average. The rooms are old and a bit dusty, the bathroom is spacious but not very welcoming and the free Wi-Fi is not working properly. The staff at the reception is very nice though. Overall, I was disappointed considering the good reviews.

    The hotel is in a good location walking distance to Ringsend, which is quite handy when you work around there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff so relaxed and flexible; relaxed about parking, relaxed about late night access, would have cooked me anything for breakfast. Great value right in the middle of Dublin. I'll be back

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our breakfast was cancelled due to 'hotel' issues, we received a refund for this, but would have preferred a breakfast. The room was small and window difficult to operate. The lift really needed a cleaning.

    The hotel was clean and of a reasonable qualify the bed comfortable, but suffering from a U shaped mattress. The car park was excellent and made for an easy check out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could probably have had a more quiet room.

    Location. In the heart of baggot street next to many of dublins best pubs and restaurants but off road. 15min walk from Grafton Street. All buses to to centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we found wrong on our visit. Very satisfied.

    Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. Very comfortable bed, great location. Highly recommend the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about this place. So elegant and beautiful. From the artwork to the furniture just simple style and elegance. When in the lounge room complete with original fireplace you really expect to see gentlemen in smoking jackets with glasses of Irish whisky in hand - it is that authentic. This Georgian mansion is in a lovely part of Dublin and is just a minutes walk from good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: