Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Woodenbridge Hotel 3 stars

Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland

#2 of 7 hotels in Arklow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 931 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 90's decor.lack of signage to & from the room.having breakfast in front of a wall with other tables enjoying the views

    We liked the price, the view & the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the bed were my only discomfort.

    The friendly staff,service was very good. I stayed in the lodge the last time. Stayed in the main hotel this time. I'l be definitely back again ❤

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures advertised on this website are not corresponding to this hotel. Most of the pictures are belonging to 'The Lodge', a separate place but still attached to the hotel. This was not clearly stated on the advertisement leaving it to be very misleading.

    Great views from this hotel. Good food!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double charged for room so decided i would use extra charge on food and drink instead of refund to card ,folling morning they said i owe them 100.00 euro to my shock and had to do a lot of explaining in their mistake in double charge but eventually got it sorted

    ion great,Breakfast Good Evening Meal not so Good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main part of the hotel (bedrooms) are dated & the temperature was insane - it was a warm weekend but it was beyond hot in our room. Bathroom was dated.

    Main hotel rooms had 1 double + 1 single bed in each room. Lodge rooms are apparently much better. Breakfast was great. Staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were limited. Very noisey on a saturday night.

    Room service food: Vegetarain falafel with sweet potato fries Housekeeping, comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the wrong room, then the wrong key, then switched again when the door was off the hinges. After we were moved again another couple were given the keys to our room. And then the TV was not connected. When we approached staff they seemed indifferent to it all.

    That there was a restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in room didn't close. Eaves and window were filthy just outside room. 3 available TV channels. WiFi did not work in the room. Breakfast not included in booking.com price when I assumed it was.

    Location and local scenery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The balcony was very small with no furniture although it was too small to be useful. It was surrounded by trees and shrubs which obscured much of the view; some pruning might be in order. There was no shaver socket in the modernised bathroom.

    The hotel is rather dated but to be expected as it is over 400 years old. The room was clean with a very small balcony and a very comfortable bed. The food in the bar (the restaurant was closed but the bar had the same menu} was excellent with much of the food sourced locally. The staff, without exception, were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The hotel is set in a beautiful location opposite the attractive Woodenbridge golf course

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a smell of damp. The interiors of the room were worn and dated. We stayed in the lodges which were nothing more than a hostel standard. A poor hostel. The bathroom was dire, the water was either freezing or burning hot. The room and bathroom felt so unclean I could not walk bare foot in the room at all. To top things off I put a spare top I brought with me over the pillow because it felt so unclean and I slept with the duvet off. I could not wait to check out, only that we checked in so late after a wedding I wouldn’t have even stayed the first night. Also sending customers across a dark poorly lit car park in the middle of the night is ludicrously unsafe by anyone’s standards!!!

    Nothing was desireable about the Woodenbridge so much so that we checked out a night early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for quiet room on Booking.com booking form but was stuck in a room above the bar and there was noise all night which meant no sleep no apology from staff

    Location is good and met the requirements of the visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all excellent. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to travelers.

    The staff were excellent, friendly and professional. Food, rooms, shower etc. all clean and spacious. Very comfortable with a wonderful view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really lovely staff and the setting is beautiful. The food was lovely especially in the restaurant. We had breakfast delivered to the room and this was no bother at all and it was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area is too close to the dining area due to not having a divider between the two. I preferred the old bar ie not looking into the dining area. Just a small point, overall very little to complain about.

    Excellent breakfast and lunch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was in on this occasion was in the old part of the house, and was a bit drab and worse for wear, and could do with refurbishment. I have stayed previously in the newer part, where the room was of a very high standard.

    I'm a huge fan of this hotel - character, service, staff, location, food all very good, and the whole place oozes old world charm and character. See my previous review.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit if a wait for our food but we didn't mind. The only thing I didn't like was the headboard / bedside locker (all one unit) was loose so when one of us turned in our sleep the headboard would bang and slightly wake us. Other than that, we loved the place.

    The bed itself was comfy. Room was lovely. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TAB dinner menu in the restaurant didn't have a lot of choice, and there was no a la carte. Overall very average fair for a premium price. Dinner for two (3 courses with bottle of wine and a sambuca) came to €111- for over €50 a head I felt it wasn't great value for money. Breakfast next day in the bar area was a car crash- disorganized and messy. Food was fine just very disorganized. However- I really couldn't fault the staff in any way- very pleasant and helpful.

    smaoked salmon sandwich in bar was lovely, well presented and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful breakfast - nice variety - fresh homemade bread was great. easy checkin & nice room with a balcony and great views. we had a meal in the bar which had a great selection & live music was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and the staff were excellent and very attentive and welcoming and professional. My daughter and I enjoyed great food from the bar. Rooms very comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location for reaching Wexford and not too far from Dublin. Really old premises but decorated to a nice standard and very clean. Rooms were a bit dated but again freshly painted and clean Really friendly staff and a good bar menu Wifi was great and able to watch Netflix

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    what I said up above with my like comment no point in repeating myself . it is a grand hotel for quite night away fior relaxation the bar is nice and spacious too. the food good and great value like it

    rooms very spacious could do with better lighting a bit dull. the fire escape a bit too far away for my liking would like fire escape nearer. these are only small points but said I would let you know

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good not great presentation bad

    Bar area could have been a little warmer no atmosphere in bar too big and too open seats were stained drink very expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little - maybe the interior décor in the newly-extended part of the bar/lounge could be harmonised more effectively with the older parts of the building.

    The pleasant and helpful staff; the old-world atmosphere of a coaching inn combined with the comfort of spacious modern fully-equipped bedrooms; the genuine feeling of being welcome; their apparently effortless and unpretentious ability to convey a sense of wellbeing that is characteristic of a long-established but well-run small hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff and management were very friendly and obliging. Room spacious with very comfortable bed. Entertainment in bar very good. Excellent breakfast provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it’s an old hotel but bathrooms could do with attention rust on bottom of bath rusty bin rust on brush for toilet not tiled behind radiator towel holder loose mat for bath not completely clean on the plus side loads of hot water room 206

    Room itself comfortable remote could do with a clean the tv had only a couple of channels and reception wasn’t great snowy bed comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to small an cold. I had to sleep on the floor as my wife and daughter slept in the bed and it was too small for the three of us. We thought the room contained a double and a single bed but we got a cot instead.

    Scenery was beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to add!

    comfort and warmth of the restaurant - good food, open fire and staff friendly, helpful etc. Even though there was a wedding on you wouldn't know it. The staff were able to turn their attention to all guests in such an effortless manner

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find fault one night stay probably needed a little longer stay

    Liked the location.very friendly staff.and bed was enormous after a long drive it was nice to have comfortable bed to lay weary head.meal we had was beautiful and chilling by fire was the best .beautiful breakfast next morning.😄

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most comfortable relaxing atmosphere. So nice . Staff really friendly and obliging . Couldnt fault any aspect of our stay . Didnt want to leave . Had a brilliant weekend .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    the food was delicious, all the staff very friendly, on our first night we had not reserved a table for meal so when we found the lounge area completely full and we could not eat there, we were told we could eat in the restaurant and order the same bar menu there, this was very helpful . The bedrooms lovely and warm, not too many tv stations but it did not matter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and a nice surprise upgrade on check in also. Super comfortable king size bed and warm room and great food in the bar/restaurant set in a stunning location in Wicklow.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seem to be in the process of doing up the hotel. Unfortunately we were in one of the rooms that hadn't been done up yet, and it was a little shabby.

    Great staff, delicious food. Lovely location in the Wicklow mountains. Delicious afternoon tea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing we found was the beds where small although it was a double it felt small

    staff where friendly and location fantastic. food was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't given room type that I booked. Also restaurant wasn't open and only had bar food available

    Staff were friendly and hotel was cosy and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room for price , our room wasn't situated in the hotel it's self , it was situated in a completely separate building

    Very clean staff very friendly. Scenery was fabulous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could do with sliced fresh fruit and not the tinned version. (Note there was fresh uncut fruit)

    Great surrounding scenery and lovely view from balcony room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, the staff were rude, the food was awful, I was kept waiting at reception for 30 minutes and finally the manager refused to come and see me. I only stayed one night and had to fight to get a refund on my second night. couldn't wait to get out of there.

    Location was the only thing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was poor quality. Had dinner there and was disappointed, so walked 4km to Avoca Woollen Mills for a delicious lunch. We stayed in the lodge, outside of the main building. The room decor and bathroom could do with a little updating. It was a little nosy during the night, because many guests were there for a wedding party.

    The room was clean and cosy. The old building is beautifully set in a beautiful location. Staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spotless, laundry staff on the ball ,, food to die for ( that's the truth) and the views from our balcony were amazing

    From the time myself and my wife entered the beautiful wooden bridge hotel , the hospitality hits you straight away with the friendly staff and the ambience of the hotel,, Can't say enough about my stay for 2 days apart from Totally Enjoyable,,,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay here for a wedding! Stayed in the lodge which is located across the road from the main hotel. Setting is beautiful just beside the river. Hotel was lovely and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heating in our room, it was like an icebox. The receptionist also tried to charge me €70 for food and drink that I didn't order. Very unimpressed and reluctant to return even though the bar and staff were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    receptionist not very helpful.noisy as wedding on .put in lodge requested hotel .twisted foot in shoes down steps to lodge. .

    breakfast was tasty .staff in morning friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I looked at booking a room for a future visit, with the children in tow and there were no family rooms, meaning we would have to pay twice as much for two double which only fits 3 when there are 5 of us.

    Situated in a quiet rural area, despite this it was easy to travel into town and into Dublin city. The room was very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Easy to navigate between the main hotel and the lodge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lodge is not on same site as the hotel. Had to wait for receptionist to come from hotel to book us in.

    Cleanliness of room. View was beautiful. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only down side was the bedroom was too warm

    Staff were very good at there job and always helping you no matter what ever you needed The rooms were nice in the lodge and comfort was great The breakfast was fab great selection can not wait to return

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small but acceptable. Didn't have the character of the hotel. Most of the rooms are across the street.

    Small plain room more than made up for by friendly staff and authentic Irish music. They were very busy, small conference and then party of over 200 for funeral. Staff never complained, kept smiling and serving. Great attitudes. The Irish music was wonderful. After the Irish music a group of people sat around spontaneously singing rock songs, mostly Beatles. Apparently also wonderful golf nearby. Best atmosphere of our 4 week trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only criticism the menu is overpriced. If this could be improved , prices to reflect quality of food I would give this hotel a 5 Star rating.

    Beautiful Location in the vale of Avoca. Real old world charm hotel with lovely friendly staff, great breakfast & we had a fabulous bedroom, room 205. We felt totally rejuvenated leaving after a 24hr stay as the location really is stunning. We will be back & already look forward to our next break away here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the new part of the bar not very good, I had to go to the bar and place an order for dinner as we were sitting for 20min and no one came over to us.

    It still has the old charm and its out of the way not in a town or city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have years of experience working at banquets and weddings , although food was amazing well done to the chefs , that excellence was not followed through to the restaurant some staff (not all) could have been a little bit more friendly .

    We attended a wedding there menu was lovely and food excellent ....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only fault is paper thin walls in the lodge we could hear our neighbours but that didn't affect our sleep as it was in the morning... we even had a little giggle about it :)

    There is absolutely NOTHING to fault in the woodenbridge hotel and lodge! 5 star service. We love this hotel so much we're getting married here!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the place that we could say we didn't like.

    Everything about the place was just spot on. Within easy reach of all the beauty spots of Wicklow.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not know the type of location or hotel I was booking into and it exceeded all my expectations. It is far more the building, the location is close to a motor way, however far enough away to be in away for it all. I will remember for a while the feel of the mountains, that certain lovely evening chill you get in such areas. Across from the hotel where the lodge is located is a fast river. This is a great area to get lost in, in the nicest possible way. The staff were so helpful, light hearted and very much part of the positive experience. I feel lucky to have found such a gem, that I will return to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet needs attention as very slow in filling etc. Standard rooms have no view.

    Room was newly furnished, spacious, quiet. Breakfast very good in main hotel. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in the lodge was a nuisance weather was iffy so the walk back and forth morning and night was a pain.

    Good atmosphere at night and dinner was OK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better road sign directions . especially to avoid ending up in Avoca ( which took us twice as long to reach Lodge in darkness hours ex Dublin side of Arklow. Receptionist never responded by telephone to a telephone call follow up re early check in on the day ( for 2.30) - whilst we were en rout to a wedding in Arklow. Also was pre- requested at Booking. 4 pm in check in is far too late.

    plenty of good food and choice. lovely brown bread

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Very nice room in the Lodge, lovely view, 2nd time here & will be back again....we only stayed one night as we couldn't get a booking for another one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and too expensive for what they are offering.

    Very disappointing. The first room we were given was awful, stark, scruffy more like prison cell. Bathroom unloved and bare.. Moved to the one other available room, which was marginally more comfortable. The rooms were dark and tired. We had been there 5 years previously and had far better room.. The price did not include breakfasts which were €10 more each making over £50 more expensive than a far superior place previous night. Lovely location, scruffy hotel. Primary customers are male on golf breaks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No blind or curtain on a small window in our room - single pane glass meant that the noisy road outside woke us up. No extra blankets for bed. Was a little chilly.

    Bed was huge and the shower was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, the toilet didn't work. They were helpful, because the maintenance guy started to repair immediately ( he finished at 10 pm 😕), next morning the keycard went off, so after the breakfast we were locked out from our rooms. They were quick again, but these small things are annoying. In the bathroom, the shower curtain was dirty and the bar ( the curtain hanging on) was rusty. Next morning I heard that the guest in the next room was dealing with the socket and later she was at the reception complaning that no electricity in the plugs. The lodge was opened in 2004 ( said by the table at reception) and all the building was worn out, looked like no any refurbishment since the beginning only minor repairs.

    The location was excellent, close to the nature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From start to finish we were very happy there and lovely it and the places were we went

    We were very impressed by the location of the hotel and the landscaping of the area would go back again and recommend it to friends and family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was generous in quantity and variety, but the steamtray food was not as good as a breakfast cooked to order.

    Our accommodations were in the Lodge which was very modern, having been constructed in 2004. Our dining and breakfast were in the hotel facility across the street which was older and maintained lots of character. The pub food was very good and the breakfast buffet certainly adequate, however, eggs cooked to order might have been a better option.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were in the newer section (The Lodge), and it wasn't consistently staffed. I wish we could have stayed in the main building.

    There was a nice restaurant and bar in the older section.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken on the two nights we stayed by drunken wedding party. Walking from the lodge to the hotel for breakfast in the rain!!!

    Ideal for the golf club

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful private, calm and relaxing location. Full of nature and lovely walks. Food excellent along with music in the bar nightly. Staff lovely and hard working.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the volume of the music in the bar would have liked to talk to, not "shout" at our companions.We had a ground floor room in the lodges and I struggled with the heat in the room at night.I would have loved to have opened the window or have the option of air conditioning, but unfortunately we had a ground floor room with sliding doors opening onto the main entrance to the lodges. Bathroom was a little grotty around the bath and shower.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lounge/dining room very noisy and dark. Had to take the menu across to the window to read it. Also the receptionists seemed to know little of the local attractions. I asked several of them but got little change.

    While the hotel itself was quite ordinary the setting is magnificent. I was especially taken with the WW1 Memorial garden. I have visited many such memorials and this ranks with the very best. The site is within easy driving distance of the best attractions in Wicklow if not Ireland. No trouble passing 3/4 days despite the changeable weather

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Lodge Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wee bit inconvenient having to cross from annex to main hotel for dinner. Apart from that it was good.

    The hotel was in two parts, the annex was across a main road across a steep drop and had steps to the lower area. Comfy room and beds. , lovely spot. Had a great meal in the dining room across the way

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was originally booked at £89 equivalent to 99 euros. That was to include breakfast at no added cost. Confirmation by Woodenbridge was 109 euros inclusive of breakfast. On paying a/c reception said it was 109 euros plus breakfast but they offered all in at 120 euros which was less than 109 plus normal charges for breakfast. I sent you an e-mail detailing this but I have received NO reply.

    The room was generous and bed comfortable. Breakfast was good and facilities ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing more everything was excellent very enjoyable.

    It was clean and comfortable breakfast was excellent as was the food all round. Entertainment was enjoyable and staff were very courteous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked into the hotel but we were put in a "lodge" about a 100 yards from the hotel - to get to breakfast or the bar was difficult when it rained. It rained often!!! The music in the bar was liked by some but caused us to go to bed early!

    The location provides the opportunity to travel to local tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Lodge Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lodge bedrooms in my opinion not value for money. Very basic.

    We had a room in the new wing. Nice and fresh would request a new room. Staff were helpful and friendly swapped us from a lodge room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    can't think of anything I didn't like

    the restaurnts food was unreal strawberry daiquiri was top our room was perfect for couple staff very professional really enjoyed our night there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is stunning and you feel totally wrapped up in the surrounding nature. Found the hotel to be nice and quiet even with the wedding reception that was also being held there on the night of out stay! Breakfast was delicious too and the waitresses were very friendly. Would definitely recommended this spot for a getaway!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £400 euros for two rooms for 2 nights and breakfast was not included, breakfast is an extra 10 Euro per person, we stayed in five different hotels in Ireland and never paid for breakfast separately.

    Rooms allocated were not suitable, first room was furthest point from reception with lots of stairs for 2 elderly ladies using a walking aid and a child, second room was the oldest room in the hotel that had a musky smell not what I expected but the staff were very good at rectifying the problem and managed to change the rooms for us. Views were amazing and parking was always available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room above the the bar where the noise travelled, from the music and when it finished the setting up for breakfast was equally as noisy. Avoid room 111

    Excellent location for an over night stay traveling from west Cork . Great friendly atmosphere, all staff very friendly and efficient. We ate in the bar which was a good standard of bar food. Added bonus of two guys playing traditional Irish music.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: