Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Woodhill House 3 stars

Wood Road, Ardara, Ireland

#4 of 6 hotels in Ardara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    A charming lodging in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a unique lodging. The grounds are beautiful and our rooms were huge. The proprietor, John, is everything one could hope for in a host: friendly, professional, a wealth of knowledge about the area. Staying there is like taking a step back to a gentler, more genteel time. Truly charming. The drive in was a little tricky for us as we were novices on Irish roads. By the time we left, this was no longer an issue. Whatever hassle we felt in getting there was overridden by the charm of staying in such a wonderful setting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and old stylish hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to ask for key to the frontdoor if you are coming back late

    Very nice and old stylish hotel. Good and quite athmosphere with a resturant and a cosy bar. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Has charm, comfort & personal touches that won't be found in your corporate hotels or indeed other
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all! A unique find.

    John the owner has a country house small hotel that feels like staying in a home ....lovely photos paintings artefacts. Lovely garden. He makes you welcome and chats. Staff are friendly and efficient. You don't , however, feel intruded on. 5 minutes walk from Ardara and close to many beautiful places. Would love to return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Spacious comfort in character filled house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred: * walk in shower ( rather than shower in bath) * table d’hôte quality food but from an à la carte menu * better signage to find the hotel

    Liked: *spacious bedroom *Balcony outside it, overlooking the gardens *friendly staff *good food *beautiful gardens *house oozing character, with old photos, prints, paintings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real gem. A quiet country setting with trees, garden, singing birds, and sheep next door. Our hosts were a real pleasure to talk with and very helpful with all our questions. The room was comfortable, breakfast was great. We would stay here again - maybe longer next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Old world charm in bucolic setting. Great dinner menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms big, immaculate, comfortable, nicely furnished. Decor could use a bit of freshening up. Still that did not detract from its old world country charm in its bucolic setting near charming Ardara.

    No need to go off site for dinner. Top flight dinner menu exquisitely prepared. Breakfast excellent too, but included in the price. It's a family business. Host and his son welcomed us very warmly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very attentive, our room was located on the first floor, the views from our balcony were spectacular! Amazing stay and we will definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    stunning views of rolling countryside and sheep;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    its a bit dusty in the window ledges and the shower was a bit old fashioned so I was unable to work out how to use it

    stunning views of rolling countryside and sheep; kind staff; old fashioned fading glamour; very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Very friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather expensive. The shower did not function. WiFi not great.

    Very friendly helpful staff. Good food and drink. Spacious room with a lovely big bath. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Idyllic, tranquil hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Everything was just perfect. The owner is a great host who shared with us best routes and sights in the area. The breakfast was wonderfully prepared (best omlette I ever had). The rooms are lovely and comfortable with some lovely viewes. The grounds surrounding the hotel are wonderful for a stroll after breakfast. It is trully a lovely, tranquil place in a wonderful part of Ireland and we will definetly go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Unique experience to be had - relax and go with the flow!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much:) only thing was a weak shower which would run cold every few minutes; also layout of the rooms a bit impractical - plug sockets at odd heights and places make it interesting plugging in the kettle or phones etc

    Beautiful gardens and setting, helpful and friendly staff, best breakfast ever, ten minutes walk from the village - take a torch for the walk back from the pub! Fridge in the room is a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location, a family run feel and high standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was really helpful & attentive. Travelling solo with a busy bar I expected to struggle to order food but staff spotted me & came to me first. Room was in separate building but felt safe, was enormous &, important for the time if year, warm. Dinner menu looked impressive & if anything like the breakfast, which was very good, tasty & well put together, I'll book a table next time. After a long day travelling I could not have been more pleased.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Maybe some decor in the room... but it is already perfect.

    I don't know where to begin! The room is not located in the main building but facing the wonderful garden, with direct access to it. Be sure not to miss walking around it, it's a gem. Very quiet. Very large room and bathroom with all the needed amenities, including some nice poetry books. Breakfast is great. Dinner there is excellent. As well as just relaxing in the bar having some drinks, chatting with John or listening to good music. We'll surely come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    A peaceful, interesting place to stay at Ardara.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Woodhill House is also a restaurant serving very good dinners. In a very quiet, picturesque location overlooking hills and with a historic walled garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Was disappointed in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom was very poor making it difficult to apply makeup. When choosing a room, the wording was misleading, i.e., double bed OR twin beds. In the US, that means either a double bed OR twin beds. It should read, double bed and twin beds. We were in a family room with 2 twin beds and double beds. The room was alright, however, not as nice as the photos shown on the internet. We would have preferred a nicer room with a double bed.

    Very quite, gardens were beautiful and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    OK but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room appeared very dated, with creaking wooden floor (a personal hate item). The TV (not that we used it) was not practically situated - seemed like an afterthought putting it in the room. One window was screwed closed for some reason. I found the dinner menu to be somewhat pretentious - it was OK but in keeping with my overall impression of Woodhill....OK but not great. I would say overall, I found it somewhat expensive for the impression it left...we have no reason to come back.

    This guesthouse gets great reviews but we found it to be just OK. It is in a tranquil area which may be good for a base if you like coming 'home' to a quiet location after a day's traveling. Nice that is has a small bar/lounge to use before dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    A memorable place to stay while visiting Donegal County.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful host with an attentive staff throughout the stay. Good location with beautiful gardens to wander around in; wonderful views. Top notch restaurant, a cozy bar, and a great breakfast made this a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    OUTSTANDING - can not wait to go back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a group of us traveling and our stay at Woodhill House was outstanding. We had run into car troubles and arrived much later than expected however, we were warmly greeted and the owner even made us late night snacks. The following day as we waited for the car repair, our bags were left on the site as we toured the village. Everyone at Woodhill went out of their way to assist us. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms spotless, breakfast was perfect! I will be going back for a much longer stay!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more options at breakfast and shower was really difficult to get at the right temperature, but there was a bath and plenty of hot water so it was fine.

    Staff were lovely. Beds comfy. Beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful place full of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful place full of charm. Beautiful gardens close enough to walk to the village. The owners and staff were warm and welcoming, the room we stayed in was large and clean and comfortable, I wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful quiet location with very welcoming and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful quiet location with very welcoming and helpful staff. The food both seafood and steak was some of the best I have ever had. The room was spacious and opened out onto a small secluded garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay, it was beautiful and a great village to explore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We were greeted by the son of the owner who was very helpful and gave us a good idea of the area . We had a great night out in Adana and Woodhill House was a 7 minute walk as accurately described on booking.com

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent customer service. Forgot item in room and john phoned to let me know it had been found in the room and posted the item straight to the house

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    A great stay in Ardara
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant staff, always at hand to help. We had great weather so the picnic area became a little beer garden! The fridge in our room was a pleasant Surprise!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the shower.

    We had a very relaxing stay at Woodhill House in Ardara. The staff is lovely and will do anything to make you feel comfortable. Perfect beds, big rooms, hearty and delicious breakfast and peace and quiet made the rest. I'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Ardara
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed our stay

    Quaint cosy rooms in the former coach house of the property. Delicious and hearty breakfast. Very friendly helpful staff without being intrusive. Lovely grounds. Very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Best guesthouse, very comfortable rooms and lovely situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pressure of the water in the shower was very low.

    Best guesthouse I have ever stayed in in Ireland. We loved the situation and we were cared for very well. The room was very comfortable with a nice new bathroom and a lovely view on the garden. I would definitely return here and recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Good location, character of the house and great gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the signs to property could be updated as they are very "run down". Lack of restaurants open in town at time of visit.

    Good location, character of the house and great gardens. Courtyard bedroom spacious and very comfortable with great terrace to garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather!

    Great view from a large room with antique furniture. Lovely old house with very friendly and helpful staff. Good food too, and a great area to explore. Lovely garden around the house.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Large spacious room, comfy bed, great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service regarding ordering food from the bar when not going for their 3 course meal.we felt like we were putting them out by not taking their only other option of 3 course set meal.which also surprisingly couldn't be offered as a 2 course otherwise we would have dined off that menu but felt we couldn't manage 3 courses.

    Large spacious room, comfy bed, great view.great tasting food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property John was friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful property John was friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We felt good in ourselves- a feeling enhanced by the view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could have fished.

    We felt good in ourselves- a feeling enhanced by the view of the river Erne flowing past.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Beautiful setting!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    A wee gem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big candles in fire grate

    The relaxed ambience and feeling part of a family history

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Perfect peaceful getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say anything

    Location, staff, house, gardens, atmosphere, comfort, surrounding countryside, food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great stay here - would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very roomy room.... more of a suite than a room....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Bed was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place i can say nothing wrong

    Bed was lovely. Views were stonishing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The weekend I got engaged 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect 😊

    The accommodation was lovely, the hosts were friendly, breakfast was amazing 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy plumbing good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    It was a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner did not talk much with us. It was more of a hotel with staff than a B&B.

    It was a beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful country setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting was serene and picturesque and the antiquity of the buildings were appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful house, garden and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Beautiful house, garden and views. Also fantastic service from the owner and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful scenery

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We loved our stay there and would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous grounds, excellent food and a charming host.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous..esp breakfast service..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power shower would b better rather than shower over the bath.. V small annoyance tho..

    Gardens are amazing..great location..brilliant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous..esp breakfast serbice8
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Luvly bathroom..comfy bed x

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    The owners and staff were brilliant, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. Location and views were unbeatable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    John was fantastic ,knowledgeable,kind and interested in us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    John was fantastic ,knowledgeable,kind and interested in us.a really pleasant man to talk to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    Would have preferred a firmer bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor was a bit tired.

    Would have preferred a firmer bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Recommend it to anyone wanting a break away lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a little warmer in the room

    Everything ended up superb location great breakfast great staff couldn't do enough room very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not so comfy

    Very nice house. Very kind host

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to hate .

    The whole experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Comfort of bedroom food staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fire lit when we arrived

    Comfort of bedroom food staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Different,secluded in the wilds of Donegal.Great destination if you want to get away from things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was ancient with only three channel's.

    very comfortable room.bed high quality. TV very poor with only 3 channels.Food high quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    The gardens are outstanding the rooms are beautiful the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardens are outstanding the rooms are beautiful the staff are amazing and the food outstanding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The food,staff ant the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    top notch John and James fantastic hosts will be back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    very lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely time, Food was excellent and staff were lovely very friendly and helpful, Grounds were fabulous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay - would recommend it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best breakfast - you could tell all the ingredients were of good quality. And it was delivered with a smile!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.0
    Lovely location, staff and breakfast, but needs a makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs updating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it is perfect.

    Kind and considerate people who really like to look after their guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Quaint house, in stunning surrounding with fabulous just 7 minutes walk outside the fantastic Ardara
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower had very low power

    The bar food is of restaurant quality - excellent. Our room was huge and overlooked a fabulous garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice garden Plenty space Good food and an exceptionally nice bottle of wine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Gorgeous place, excellent food, lovely and helpful hosts who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gorgeous place, excellent food, lovely and helpful hosts who helped us to find some of Ireland's landscape pearls and beautiful beaches nearby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Charming country manor house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great quality breakfasts. Enjoyed conversing with staff and owner!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.8
    Second stay at Woodhill House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower water pressure very poor

    Bedrooms very big in garden rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the coach house, lovely old place with a comfortable bed and very accommodating hosts. Breakfast was lovely also.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very relaxing and enjoyable stay

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.3
    Coffee and tea for breakfast not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea for breakfast not great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Real Donegal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular house, setting and host. We'll be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Old world charm in the Beautiful Donegal Hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table d' hote menu. Would have preferred to order individual items from a menu

    Location. Spacious rooms with high ceilings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful place and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wonderful and kind. Feels like the warmth of home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    10
    The owner John and his son James are truly heartwarming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing we didn't like

    The owner John and his son James are truly heartwarming and friendly people who do everything to make a stay at woodhill house a very pleasant experience

There are also 57 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: